(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Diana
i hv also recently cut to 3 pumps a day n minimise latch on cos i dun want jo to be breast addicted then will be v hard to wean her off. i only latch her on when she is v cranky. other times she is ok with bottles. my supply oso abt 900ml now. i need to take half an hour to pump each time though. i realised if i only take 15 mins my milk is not as creamy, but im just so lazy to pump that long to achieve all the hind milk! when i pump at shorter interval, my milk is v thick n yellow. now that i have stretched the interval to 6-7 hourly, its less thick. now im contemplating whether to wean her off totally by 6 mths not. what abt u?

ilovebb, E-Ling and Diana,
Happy 6th months to all your gals! So fast hor? And really, give yourselves pat on your back for BF for 6 months. I'm still 1 mth short...

Brenda, I want the secret recipe too! Sigh... Really shedding hair. Not just dropping.

Anyway this CNY was really an experience. And the 4 days of 24 hrs bonding with Gabriel really makes me happy because he's finally acknowledging me as his mother! hahaha... he finally will smile at me. That day while feeding him at my aunt's place, he even stopped halfway during the feed to look up and smile at me. I was ecstatic!

My supply still not very stable leh. After that 4 days of latching on, I found that I can't produce the same amount from pumping as before. I hope this is only temporary since Gabriel is starting to drink more. However, he doesn't want more than 4oz each feed usually. So now he is feeding more often (about 2hrs interval). Is this normal?

blessedmommy, diana

i am still pumping 4 times a day, twice at home and twice at work. My supply is not that great so I wont cut down the freq of pumps. My friend noticed that Rachel likes to look at my Breasts and touch it. Then she asked if I BF her .. ahahha .. see Rachel is so attracted to it.

Anyway I seldom latch her, only once in the morning and when she is cranky at nite before her sleep.

I also plan to wean her off when she turns 1 yr old.

All BF mummies, jia you !!

blessedmommy

Me too need to pump at least 30mins, otherwise not able to achieve 900ml. You are right, if pump at longer interval, the milk is less thick. Usually I'll try to mix the milk well to make sure each bottle got both fore milk and hind milk. I still latch on Jac at night at around 11pm and 2am. I'm also worried Jac will be breast addicted, but what to do? My breast is still the best stopper and I like her to be on my breast leh. So sweet and lovely. Guess have to bear with it lor. But definitely will completely wean her off when she turns one.

dumpty

More frequent feeding? Guess it's a sign to introduce solids? My jac now is on 4*180ml EBM+ 2 cereals during day time.

phoebe.. the airwave is a good 5-seater cos it has a huge boot... but for u family.. u should consider a 7-seater alr.. haha.. what if one day u decided to get a maid? then with a car seat, ur maid might have to share the boot with ur stroller.. hehe..

e-ling
mine was a gift, so cant rem wat brand leh. but it can dbl up as a carrier if we dun use it as a car seat. but now tt R is much heavier, cant afford to caary him like tt. hands will break!

as a carrier when he was 1 mth old.

699799.jpg

yesterday in the car

699800.jpg

ilovebabies
thats so funny! i guess rachel has strong bond with ur breast hehe...

diana
yah true, the breasts still the best pacifier! even though jo latch on not as frequent now but each time she cry she think of the "human pacifier"

breastfeeding
blessedmommy. i take abt 35 mins 2 empty both breasts too. i pump 4 times a day on days tt i am wkg, 3 times on off days. not intending 2 stop yet so will continue to pump as usual, though supply is more than demand. haven introduced solids yet, so his might b drinking lesser when he's older. might cut down then.

diana
issit true tt longer intervals produce milk tt is less thick? i din notice if mine was like tt. i pump at 6-7 hr intervals oso.

eling

I bought Britax Royale Safe and Sound model. I think most of the car seat can hold bb up to 4 yrs old, also depends on size of ur baby lah.

blessedmommy

yeah so strong that she bite me a few times !! hai .. sometimes when she is cranky i tot she needs the human pacifier so I latch her, then she bite me and i scolded her. Then realised she wants to lie down and play. I realised she doesnt like to be carry when she is sleepy. Quite happy with this arrangement cos she has learn to sleep on her own.

Hi mummies!! I am back to forum!! Haha...

<font color="119911">House visiting</font> Bad thing! I dun like it! Jayden nv slp well and everywhere we go, ppl will carry him and pinch his cheeks... etc.. He nv slp well in the day.. at nite den can slp thru out thou in the middle of the nite he will "auto" flip over and lie on his tummy and slp..so scary!

<font color="ff0000">ang bao</font> I dunno should i give like tat anot leh.. But maybe is coz hb not working and i am the onli one contributing the income, i try to be fair lor... $4 each... Some, i unfair lar... $6 or $10... hehe... But most of them is $2... And i loss this yr... all my relatives & hb's relatives got 2 - 4 kids one lor... i onli got 1... haiz.. wad to do leh...

<font color="ff0000">PHOEBE</font> How much do i pay for the bbbbuuummmbbbbooo.....*echo*

<font color="ff6000">finger licking/sucking</font> Jayden is also sucking his finger working like as if a pacifier.. But, we will take his fingers out of his mouth... Coz by letting babies sucking their finger, in future, their finger nails will thin or their finger will grow a small bump.. not nice leh... in the past, my hb oso suck his finger like macam eat chicken wings like tat (according to my MIL), end up, his finger grew a bump.. ugly sia... So, now, i will onli give Jayden pacifier or his "chou chou" or let him play & play & play till he tired, den slp... haha...

Hi Phoebe,

It's just my mom, dad and FIL who gave a lot. My mom and dad gave $400, FIL gave $100, and my hubby and I gave $120. This comes up to $620 in total liao. The rest of the relatives gave between $4 to $20. Ang pow is like this.... your kid receives a lot, but you would have given out more. So at the end of the day it is probably the kids who are happy with their ang pow takings only... My parents went visiting with us, so my parents gave out lots of angpows and we also gave out loads. In return, there is only one kid (ie Clarence) who is receiving the angpows. Very not worth it come to think of it in $$$ terms. But there are the intangible benefits - bringing the kid visiting helps to keep the spirit of CNY alive and let him interact with the relatives.

You buying a car??? Now is probably a good time... hehe... We just placed a $5k deposit for a Nissan Latio at Tan Chong Motors as well on 16 Feb. The Latio basic is selling for $47.5K, while the Latio premium (comes with leather seats, better interior fittings, sports rims and CVT transmission) is selling for $50.5K. We chose the Latio premium, but not confirmed cos we are going for 6 bids. The price of Latio dropped by a lot. Last year this time the Latio was still selling at $60K plus. The Honda airwave looks good... Can seat 7 pax right?
The Nissan Sunny sells for $40,500 now.... my eyes almost popped out.

Hi jo,

No probs! You can go to the Stanchart branch at Vivocity. Opens daily from 10am to 10pm. Very convenient for working parents.
About the the insurance for the baby, we got Clarence hospitalisation insurance when he was just 2 weeks old. I think it is important to cover hospitalisation asap cos if (touch wood) any diagnosis is made later which renders the child "uninsurable", there will be a huge financial impact on the family as no insurance policy would then cover the ailment. As the incremental between the basic plan and the highest end one is not much for a person below 21 years, we got him the highest end one which allowed all private hospitals (eg MEH, GlenE, Raffles) and government restructured hospitals bills to be claimed. The insurance policy also covers post hospitalisation costs such as physiotherapy and recurrent visits. To downgrade from a high end plan to a lower end one is also immediate. To upgrade the other way will be contingent on the health of the individual at the point of upgrade. My husband was the one who sourced for it, so I cannot remember which company we got from in the end. I just recalled that we were considering NTUC Income and Great Eastern and Aviva then. I think we got Great Eastern. Anyway, you can look around. Life insurance is not necessary at this age. Education policy - can consider but we did not get for him at this stage.

Hi Brenda,

Thanks for sending the bola! Really no rush, but thanks a lot though! Let me know if you have not received the $3.35 this Friday, okie?

Will snap some pics of Clarence with his new toy the next time! And thanks for forwarding MediaCorp the montages! Did they say which issue the mag will the pics be published? I will surely grab one and frame it up!!! Hehe....

Hi edksd,

I got the KickFrog, not the AquaSeal. I posted weeks ago that Clarence is not keen to kick at all, hence an utter waste of money.... but my loss smaller lah... I got it at $49.90 less 30% during the Isetan sale.... Hehe.... very good at consoling myself.
Not sure if Little Pony's Wayne likes his toy though.

I don't know of any other car toys besides these 2. Anyone else here have any ideas?

Annabel: Happy 6 months!!!!

some boh liao pix to share...

<font color="0000ff">hmmmmm, can i have my share of food, please? that looks really yummy!</font>

699877.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Thanks, grandpa! Wow! The red bean milk shake really taste nice!</font>

699878.jpg

e-ling
Happy 6 mth to Amabel!
Yeh........ can start on goin onto solids, so fun!!!

blessedmommy
have you always fed jo w the bottle? I wanna wean sophie off the breast but she keeps refusing the bottle. not quite sure what to do.

dumpty
that's great! it's so sweet when they smile back at us when feeding... i love that! Sometimes i sing to her familiar songs n she'll stop for a while to listen and then con't... so cute...

edksd & phoebe
you gals so funny... talking about cars and car toys... i got a bit confused after a while...

CAR SEAT
yah same as E-ling am thinking of getting a car seat. We don't own a car so norm travel by taxi but when travel by car, wd like to have a car seat. What's a good brand n where's a good place to buy? Daisybuttons mentioned maxi cosi the last time. Quite nice... any other suggestions?

hi phoebe, my hubby says latio old men's car, he doesnt like the design.

mazda high consumption i think tts why we didnt choose it in the end.

our PI is jack's car. are u buying now coz of the coe drop?

what's ur current car? my hb says compared to hyundai matrix, airwave is defintely a lot more steadier to drive.

diana, u mean each pumping session u can get 900ml? or each day of pumping?

if it's the former then u're really my idol! i think many of u are my idol! me per day is abt 400+ml the most (maximum already).

i latch kai on in the morning, and at night and during sleep. i only provide my mom 3 x 110ml ebm per day for 9.30am-6pm. his appetite really small hor?

furthermore im still taking goat's rue, supply still so low. alamak.

so pls dun give up bfg leh... continue till 1 yr old at least. it's something only we can give our bb, nobody else.

edksd

It's the total amount lah. Each pumping I get only 300ml. How can I have such great breast?
Like that I can have triplets liao.

crystallized

I think the milk is thinner. But how much thinner then I don't know. Don't want to care so much lah, otherwise my husband gonna to complain I'm a perfectionist again.

edksd,
Well said! I still enjoy latching Gabriel so I think although my initial target is to BF for 6 mths, I may continue to do so. Perhaps not till he is 1yr old but as long as I can from 6 mths to 1 yr

Ling,
Yeah that's really really sweet especially when he used to be just another ungrateful boy. Hahaha... I told myself is my reward for carrying him for 4 days leh! From eve till CNY Day 3. If there's just me and my hubby, he'll refuse to let him carry so I gotta carry him all the time.

Diana,
So that means G is ready for solid? Now we are just giving him 3 x 1 small teaspoon of rice cereal everyday. More to let him learn to feed from spoon as well as to get use to food other than BM. I'm really struggling with my supply lah. In office I pump twice then at home once at night. Total can only manage about 600ml which is sometimes just enough for his daytime feed, sometimes not.

jrt.. enzo has the same fox top.. but dun u feel its hard to wear? cos the neckhole has no buttons? i feel so bad squeezing this head thru it.. haha...

phoebe.. if u need, i intro my PI to u.. his price v competitive..

emma
i got a maid for years liao.
so its me & hubby, maid, pri 1 boy (on the booster) and a baby on the car seat.

on a 5 seater, just nice lor. the maid will sit in centre to take care of both (left & right)

i have no intention to get a MPV coz its too expensive.

peachie / edksd
actually my 1st car

got my license last year. then preggie. so got to buy car now liao. else not convenient to ferry my kids to and fro my mums place daily. tats y now i camp at my mums place everyday and go back on weekend.

yesterday at tan chong (eunos), the latio is at $53K and the latio premium at $56k (both got discount of $2500). agreed the price of latio has dropped significantly as compared the launch price of $60k range. look wise, boxy lor. weird also. like the honda city.

as for the honda airwave, now at $57K (if i remembered correctly). price comparable to latio premium. seems to be a good buy too.

june
u got order the BUMBO sitter from the BP? didnt see your name there ler

the BP price is less 20% off normal price of $79.90

or are you refering to the BUMBO play tray? still pending reply on shipping charges. sigh

Dear all fellow <font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">HAIR LOSS</font></font> frantic mummies,

I'm just jumping in here to let u girls know that I'll post the solution later as I need to go out now.. story a bit loong la..

Pai seh.. pls be patient with me ya.. heh

ilovebabies, so cute that rachel will "admire" your breasts. hahaha!!

jrt, aww... R has grown soooooooo much since 1st month.. aww... his 1 mth pic is so adorable.

oh i think i bought the same pair of pants for my older boy. FOX baby, yeah?

june
so you refering the play tray huh?
got lar.
tat one post liao.

tats y i ask sitter or tray.
me now doing both the BP. both also called BUMBO. very confusing. haha

dumpty
there are many signs. Growing appetite is only one of it.

How will I know when my baby's ready?
Cues to look for include:

Head control. Your baby needs to be able to keep his head in a steady, upright position.

Losing the "extrusion reflex." To keep solid food in his mouth and then swallow it, your baby needs to stop using his tongue to push food out of his mouth.

Sitting well when supported. Even if he's not quite ready for a highchair, your baby needs to be able to sit upright to swallow well.

Chewing motions. Your baby's mouth and tongue develop in sync with his digestive system. To start solids, he should be able to move food to the back of his mouth and swallow. As he learns to swallow efficiently, you may notice less drooling. He may also be teething around the same time.

Significant weight gain. Most babies are ready to eat solids when they've doubled their birth weight (or weigh about 15 pounds) and are at least 4 months old.

Growing appetite. He seems hungry even with eight to ten feedings of breast milk or formula a day.

Curiosity about what you're eating. Your baby may begin eyeing your bowl of rice or reaching for a forkful of fettuccine as it travels from your plate to your mouth.

edksd
the fan was bot in taka b2 during one of their events leh. think the fan easily available elsewhere. the one i had is no gd coz when the fan is on, there r magic lights moving in different designs and R will b so mesmerized by the lights. dun think its gd. am gg to get another one wif no such magic lights.

Diana & DG
yeah, both top and bottom r fr FOX. i bot tons of it during the sale man. hahahaa
bot jeans and a few other bottoms but sad to say all were pretty tight 4 him though i bot 6-12 mths!

DG
yah R grew quite lot but his weight quite stagnant liao leh. hovering at 7kg+ only. and he still fusses during latching. this boy getting really the impossible.
he really trains me to b patient man!

Hi Phoebe,

Agree that the Latio looks weird.
But we got it in the end cos the fuel consumption is low (14km/l) and we like the spaciousness inside, plus the aluminium alloy engine. Wah, Tan Chong upped the price so much within just a couple of days!!! I suppose it's due to the stock right? We are buying from the existing 2006 stock which translates into limited colours. There were only red, pearl white, white and silver to choose from.... In the end took the silver one with black interior. Maybe they have run down 2006 stock and are selling the 2007 models now.

The airwave looks good too! Looks so much like a MPV!

Brenda,

What hair loss solution you came up with???!!! Me very excited!!! I am really going bald soon, at this rate I am shedding hair!

Diana,

Gabriel has all the symptoms except for the "extrusion reflux" and chewing. He will still push the food (cereal) out occasionally.

And yah, as I mentioned, his teeth erupted. So I think he is officially the 3rd bb to teeth in this thread right? After peachie's and Yuna's (hope I remember correctly :p)

jRt,
R still likes latte mah... Hehehe... so he gotta fuss then you'll be dancing wang mu niang niang so that he can get his latte!!!

Phoebe
I think i noe wad i wan le lar... after looking at the pix and blur-ing for a while... I wan both~ Haha... pai sei pai sei.... Holiday mood.. need time to tune back.. sorri sorri....

peachie
ahh..yes, if getting the 2006 production batch, got a further $2000 discount.
the 2007 production batch will cost more coz due to increase in manufacturing cost (according to tan chong. but we say they want to increase their price lar. there is no face lift or add on features)

diana
big car or small car, also must drive liao. i'm the new ahmad once the car arrive.

june
you want both? peng!!!
ok, wat color you want for the BUMBO chair? i suggest you quickly post your order in the thread now.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/684659.html?1172071438

will add in your order when supplier revert with availablilty.

jrt, let me noe if u mge to find another fan. the one i saw at kiddy palace which is oso the only one avail at motherswrk is v ugly, has a bird beak infront.

phoebe.. u new driver mehz? dun worry.. my sch got p-plate drivers drivng toyata wish.. hehe... so its alright.. as long as u are used to ur car.. no matter how big or small, its the same..
juz make sure ur turn radius bigger lohz.. hehe... aiya... dun say lahz.. i've been driving since 18, till now i still dunno how to parallel park properly.. muahahaha.. that day my colleague juz asked me y i park so long... muahahahhaha... so malu... i actuali park halfway, gave up and went to park reverse.. hehe... *blush* ask me race can.. ask me park... hmm wait long long.. haha

emma....haha...so modest..
me very lazy to go get a license. until last year then drag my feet and go learn. halfway then realize i was preggie. was 4.5M preggie when took the exam. worn loose clothing so they wouldnt detect it. haha

lucky pass. so no need to re-test. else by then tummy got bigger, they may not allow me to sit for test.

phoebe
airwave is nice. few of my gal frds r driving it. big boot space too! talkg abt big cars, then mine is really a tank. im driving a volvo xc90. im also the official ahmad, ferrying kids to n fro sch everyday. so this airwave is ur personal car?

ling
i latch jo totally during first mth. after that intro a bottle a day until her 3rd mth. thereafter, abt 50% of her feeds r thru bottles cos im so busy with the boys at home. bottle feeding is easier for me cos at least i know how much she drink n she wont be asking for feeds so frequently. n after i had the mastitis, i nearly wanted to give up bf so i only latched her once a day n i been hanging onto this pattern till now

Diana / JRT
i need to express for abt 30-40mins in order to empty breasts n collect all the hindmilk. if i take this amt of time to pump i realise my milk will be v creamy. if not its just whitish but not v thick.

actually in a dilemma now. contemplating to stop bf not cos i desp[erately wanna do something to stop my hair loss. there is a hair tonic which worked really well for me but pd said i cant use it now as its chemical based n toxic will enter breastmilk thru my bloodstream. sigh.... how how??

blessedmommy
er..i think it will be my personal car coz hubby says he dont want to drive.
like you, i will also be the offical full time ahmad.

breastfeeding
javier will be 5M this week. he has been introduced to FM 2 meals a day during day time and BM for the rest. will continue to reach 6M. after tat, i dont know liao.

somehow i find ss dip liao ler. then i'll be away 1st week apr for 6 days. during this period, will not have BM for baby. all the excess in freezer, he also drink up liao. haha..
next mth, will intro the semi-solid food to him.

blessedmommy, me want to apply those slimming gel. but didnt do now coz also concern of the toxic into bloodstream. like tat how to slim???

only can do it when stop bfg..

blessedmommy... wah.. xc90 is one of my dream car lehz.. hehe.. but cant afford a volvo.. best i can do is a subaru tribeca.. hehe... but its good enough alr lahz...

phoebe... i din even know u cant take test when you're preggie.. hmm.... realli ah...

dumpty
yes, sad to say, R still enjoys his latte sigh, at this rate, my wrist gonna "wear" out much faster than any of u mummies wif a heavier baby!
so fast Gab started teething? i checked R's gums, no signs yet leh. dunno wat he has been fussing all abt man..

blessedmommy
actually i think my milk quite consistent, initially i did realise the 1st 5 to 10 mins r v diluted but recently i think no more such issue. juz tis morning, i realised it was diluted as i was reading thru the postings while i express. hmmm, anyway unless i intend to cut down the quantity, i wun cut short my expression time lor.

emma
i realised a lot of ladies like xc. why huh? hubby bought that car for me cos he said its a safe car since i will be using it mostly to ferry the kids. before that i was zipping ard in a mini cooper. from a tiny car to a giant, takes getting used to. was in tears when i had to sell my mini away

i didnt know cant take test when preg. i remembered my frd took when she was 5 mths?

jRt
hey... must take care of your wrist leh... coz very easily can get injured. I have a few friends kena. THere was one time i also didn't carry sophie properly, for a day, so painful to carry her.
Sounds like your R like my sophie. These two days after CNY KEEP fussing. It's getting better. Yesterday keep on crying on n off. I also thought could be teething but nothing leh.

blessedmommy
mini? as in the new mini or old? i like...
i used to own a old one w my ex but sold it to my bro. Was very sad too. After that got scraped.