(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hey ladies~!

hehe.. well.. i didnt expect d results 2 b overwhelming.. d way u ladies discuz ur pregnancy.. kinda make mi oso a little bit kancheong u noe.. my period is 27 day cycle.. so im confident dat im gonna deliver by end of sept.. hehe.. too bad.. diz yr i cannot hari raya. but my baby in tym 4 d $$$.... (*wink*) hehe..

dun wori.. since ive got a lot of concerned , kiasu n kancheong MTB frens here.. i will heed ur advice.. hehe.. thnx by d way~!

thanx for the feedback everyone!! much much much appreciated
i can't thank all of u enough

melissa, u're right, it's a little early to think about and finalise the birth plan. the reason why i started thinking about it was because my gynae's package only starts in week 20 and i was seeing her today, so had to decide whether to sign up or not. after talking to her again, i've decided to stay with her. she is nice la, and i guess it was just her nurses who prob forgot to tell me about the pills. ilovebabies, u're right. she IS the doctor and the expert, not me! so i should trust her recommendations for the birth.

anyway, for those ladies who were interested in TMC's FBI programme, i signed up today and the goodie bag is not bad - vouchers, some milk for mummy, 2 cds, a mag (Family), 3 books, a bag (quite ugly tho!), a mothercare catalog (which i almost paid $3.50 for at mothercare!) and some other little stuff. it's not that bad a deal if you pay with your citibank card.

so to answer ur qn daisybuttons, looks like i'm delivering at TMC! anyway, my gynae said it's better too coz her office is there and it's easier for her to check on me if i'm there. oooh, hypnobirthing! i'm thinking of that too! who does the lessons, do you know?

gembaby, that sucks! it's just like mine! i thought i could get 90 days, but it's only 84 in total.

joon,
nvm lah, plus clearing my leave, i am away fr ofc for a long period of time liao.

u signed up FBI? i am gg to do tt tmrw when i go there. the amt we paid can easily b covered up during our hospital stay and parentcraft lessons etc. plus some goodies.

yah better to take a gynae whom's ofc is based at the hospital u wanna deliver. easier 4 them to check on u!
me oso gg to deliver there.

watie,
if its any consololation, i didnt decide on my gynae until last wk & i'd juz seen him on wed
the only other time i went to another gynae was at abt 10wks cuz of spotting.

i guess depends on individual, i'm quite a laid back person so....if you feel fine & u had no complications wt 1st pregnancy etc, then fingers crossed that baby shd be fine too.

elo joon, actually i dun find its too early to think about birth plans leh.
if you read my post at 1.58pm, i did mention i also tot about my birth plans liaoz, and how i feel about whether to trust my gynae to carry them out.

oh about the maternity leave hor, i think its common for all that the leave is 84 days, BUT not working days. its 84 CALENDAR days. equals 12 calendar weeks. so it doens't make a diff if you take or dun take the 3rd mth at one shot. in fact, i think if u take separately, even better, coz then u can dun count the PH right?

hi gembaby, don't forget to use a citibank card to pay for the FBI. it'll be $98 instead of $168. what are parentcraft lessons? when's the good time to start on that?

hi sasha, i wish i could be as calm as you
i'm like a kan cheong spider now. so have u decided on ur hospital? i'm probably going to TMC (90%).

hi daisybuttons, so what have u thought abt for ur birth plan? the US websites i'm checking now are very detailed! didn't know there were so many things to think about. i would like to abstain from epidural, but i don't know how long i can "tong" man! phew...

helo joon, wah u still awake like me! hehehhee...me doing a bit of work, finally finished, can enjoy my weekend!!!
tmlw morning bringing my little doggy to see vet.....
okie lah, he's not exactly little, he's a full grown 3yr old sheltie hahahaa.

you have msn? can share ur msn id so can add you.

for me, i know i wanna try for no epidural, and no assisted delivery if possible. i am not keen on standing up to give birth, but i would like to be able to choose NOT to lie on my back. i prefer the side lying position. i am going for hypnobirthing like i mentioned earlier, and hoping for no episiotomy IF its not strictly necc. dun mind being strapped to monitor baby, but would like to be able to walk around to ease contractions if i feel like it at that time. as for cutting of umbilical cord, of course hope hubby can cut for me.
and one of my reasons for not going for epidural, is so that baby will likely be able to latch on immediately after birth to get the first milk that's full of the precious antibodies. wana bond with baby at birth.

actually i fell asleep after that, haha! but i'm a night owl, it's terrible, i usually sleep ard 12.30 and am up by 7am...

oooh u have a dog too! i like shelties, they're so fluffy & friendly.

as for my birth plan, i still need to read up more. like u, i don't want an assisted delivery unless it's absolutely necessary. i want to try w/o epidural first, but if it gets too much, i will prob take it.

what do u think are the chances of not having an episiotomy and no tearing? i read that some drs know how to massage the area so there's no tearing but that was a US website. i'm not sure if the drs here do that. have u heard anything abt that?

joon,
i guess maybe cuz this is my 3rd pregnancy so thats why am more chilled out
can understand why your anxious & nervous & excited since its your first & i felt the same too wt my first born.

i'll be delivering at KK since the i delivered there last time arnd & was well taken care of considering the kind of emergency i was in. plus my files are all there so they hv my medical history. also hubby is more comfy wt me having baby at KK cuz he thinks highly of the gynaes who's seen to me

as for birthplan, it is too early to say but i'm highly considering VBAC. my first 2 deliveries were natural w/o epidural whilst my 3rd was n emergency C-sec so hoping i can deliver naturally this time arnd!

PS: Mommies, Mothercare is having 15% off baby bsic wear: bodysuits, sleepsuits, layettes. Only today & tmr!

wah u gals are well prepared .. esp daisybuttons !
i din even know there is such a birth plan .. i tot all mothers go thru the same thing .. lie on the bed until ur bb is due ?? hmm my gynae never mentioned these to me before ... and also prob it could be too early ... well at least i knew it from u gals so can discuss with him ...

tks ...

joon,
yep, i noe of the citibank promo, signed up tdy alrdy.

parentcraft lessons r antenatal classes. there r altogether 5 lessons + 1 talk by a doctor at the end. usually we attend fr 20 wks onwards, so hopefully we wun 4get by the time we deliver.

daisybuttons is right. aft she analysed abt the maternity leave, i realised i was kan cheong over nothing. hahaha
it makes sense lor.

i oso dun think its too early to think abt birth plan, though not as planned out as u girls. better to read up more now and is aware of the choices we can hv.

hi gembaby, thanx for the info
i read up a bit on it online, but not sure if i'm signing up or not. are u?

hi sasha, u're right, it makes more sense for u to deliver at KK. did u go to the private suite in the end? when i went there for a visit, i was very impressed by the free coffee/tea/milo dispensing machine!

hi ilovebabies, u can check out this website for birthing plans...

http://www.ababyresource.com/Pregnancy/Birth_Plans/

i'm only halfway through... phew!

joon,
our 1st visit was at clinic B but can see hubby is annoyed by waiting time etc so kept hinting to him abt PS. plus keep complaining why KK no internet connection so he can log on wt his I-mate! so we might move to PS
Why did you change to TMC anyways?

anyone know how much roughly we need to pay ?? cash ? i went to the hospital tour today.. the guide say the hospital package & doctor package is different.. so i confused.

hey sasha.. being a 2nd tym mum does help.. not much complication 4 mi during my 2nd pregnancy.. juz dat i lost alot of weight during my 1st trimester.. its d same wif my 1st pregnancy.. so, im kinda laid back n cool abt it.. since my 2nd pregnancy is abt d same as my 1st one... now everything back 2 normal.. including my appetite.. but try 2 ctrl it.. if not.. i will hav diff burning off dat spare tyre.. haha..

daisybutton, i envy u alot.. i assume ur a 1st tym mum? goin frm d detailed birthplan u hav written... wen i was carrying my 1st child.. i was like u too..(im not trying 2 scare u or aniting..) i wuz well prepared abt my pregnancy n wen d tym really came 4 mi 2 deliver.. i dun care abt all d info i read on d net or mags.. i just wished dat d whole process wuz over.. d pain wuz juz excruciating.. n unbearable.. but i did stick 2 no epidural.. i juz took d gas mask(sumting lyk dat).. truz mi.. d pain is still der.. ive read abt d bad effects of epidural, n it freak mi out.. wen d whole thing was over, i was so sick frm inhaling d gas mask.. bt everyting wuz ok after abt an hr or so.. dat wuz my experience.. maybe u are much better in handling situation like diz.. every1 is diff..

hi sasha, ya! i heard abt those long waits at KK. if i was still a civil servant, i'd definitely go there, i only pay 40 or 60%. i compared the PS prices with a private dr and it's not much savings. so i decided to keep seeing my current dr and deliver at TMC coz her clinic's there and it's minutes from my place too.

hi gembaby, yup, was asking if u'd signed up for the parentcraft lessons. my husband and i thinking about it.
maybe i'll see u there!

hi olsen, i wish i could help u... i'm clueless as well! some friends have told me abt their bills, but it just confuses me. oh dear. i'm not a maths person.

helo gooda morning!

ilovebabies and watie, hehehe actually a birth plan is just something you would like to have. plan only mah, like what watie said, for all I know when the conractions come i may be screaming for epidural or just any assistance to make it easier, heehe. i can't anticipate how it will be, but at least make myself feel better to know i am doing something to work towards what kinda birth I want.

ilovebabies, dun think docs will talk to you abt birthplans one, u gotta read it up urself and if u feel u want something thats not really the usual practice, then you talk to ur doc...

joon, oh u like shelties ah! hehehe i love shelties leh, they are so affectionate and teh.
hehehehe. what doggy u have? how old oredi? hehehe so ciao, tmc also few mins ride frm my office, we prob work quite close..

sasha and joon ah, what is "PS" ah? i read a few times still dun understand....hehehee...blur... OH! is it private suite?

olsen, i also dunno how much in cash in the end we need to pay, coz it depends on ur type of birth (c sec or natural) and what medication u use i think. better ask the 2nd or 3rd time mummies here. but yes gynae and hospital package diff. gynae package usually refers to the consultation package, the money u pay to visit her during ur pregnancy.hospital package is prob the delivery fees of your gynae plus the hospital stay and all the associated things......

joon, sign up for parentcraft lah.
then we may meet each other there, hehehe.

hi daisybuttons

yes u r right it is just a plan... i asked my frens who already gave birth and they say they do not have such plans. all they indicate is epidural or not. which I think I will also just do that ... except that I want my hubby to be around...

hi all MTBs!!!!

how are all of u? i can see that there are many new names here, i hv not been followin up what is happening here and has lost touch......

anyway, i saw from the latest table tabulated, ilovebabies, i hv the same EDD as u, sept 11, and my baby is boy.

and i also realise that many of u has opt for natural birth WITHOUT epidural!!! may i ask how did u gals manage to know if u can ta han the pain or not? or did u all talk to ur grynae about this already?

Helo Dabee, welcome back.
hehehe i have no way of knowing if i can tahan the contractions a not. all i know is if i can help it, i will not go for epidural. it's a preffered choice lah, will only tell you how it goes after i give birth.

sasha, all the best in your VBAC plans, will root for you.
i heard many mums who successfully accomplished vbac so it's possible with some work and exercise i guess...jia you!

hi DaBee,
I had stated before that I will opt not to choose epidural b'cos labor is painful enough so might as well go all the way. All of my aunts, my mom and even my sister had natural birth w/o epidural and my threshold of pain is higher than my sister so that's my personal reason not to go for epi. Also I heard of lots of side effects using epidural. As I intend not to stop at 1, I am game to survive as healthy as I can for the next one. hehe. I'm also the kind who don't get scared of people's story that easily unless I've been through it myself.

wah melissa super brave ...

but i dunno how true it is even though some say ur threshold of pain is high .. cos we have never gone thru labour before ...

i wonder if we can state we want epidural, but then decide not to have it ?

Well it's true, I have no prior experience to labor but I do have experience in natural miscarriage at 14 weeks and it's painful like hell with contractions and all. I think it hurts 1000x more b'cos I'm going through all this pain to a baby that wasn't meant to be and it's no good news in the end. My heart broke into a million pieces. But i survived it anyway.

I hope we can stick together and live to tell all our birth stories. I would forgive myself and everyone else if we decided to go for epidural anyway. Full term labor - no joke man. Hee hee.

Hi morning,
Me too.. i dunno how high my threshold of pain. Of coz, ideally.. it will be best to go thru natural birth without epidural. U know, injecting the epidural could have side effects if it's not taken properly.

I've also heard that epidural can have adverse side effects... so that's why decided on natural birth w/o epidural... hope I can tahan the pain.

hi melissa: u are very brave, i shall tell myself to learn from you!!! when we do hv to decide to use epidural or not? must inform hosiptal or gynea eariler?

daisybuttons: thanks. good to get to read all your gals'posting.

ilovebabies: like that i remembered wrongly. duno who is the same EDD as mine and also Mt A. scully, we two can be in the same bedroom, i chose 2 bedder liao.

ilovebabies, what dec/jan07 thread??? u girls planning when to have the 2nd one liaoz ah? hehe.

melissia, right ho, me agreed that since our mothers can go without epidural, and so many of the ppl I know in this age and time, why can't we? hehehe. will try for without. but its true, we must forgive ourselves if any of us who initially choose no epidural decides to have it, coz labour is no joke man.....

ilovebabies and dabee, i think even if u say u want epidural or not now, at that moment during labour u can always change ur mind. coz when u experiencing contractions, the nurses and midwives sure ask if you want epidural. u can decide for sure then. but i know that when u are close to fully dilated, epidural wun be administered even if u ask for it, coz by then no effect and u wun be able to feel to push...

can i join in??i'm due in sept too...this is my 2nd bb..

Dadee,
usu will deliver earlier one...for my 1st bb,i deliver 1 wk earlier..

Re:epidural,
well..it realli depends on individual...i hve frens who deliver without epidural who i realli admire...initially i oso dun wan epidural...but when i'm in the delivery ward,both my gynae and my hubby encouraged mi to take...so in the end i give in...

actually mths before i delivered,my hubby already asked mi to take epidural..he scared tt i cant tahan the pain...n he said tt since now got it y i dun wan take..last time during our parents time,cos dun hve,they bobian so cant take it...

guess,i'm luckily cos i did not hve any side effects...

my gynae oni asked mi if i wan epidural when i'm in the delivery ward..but i noe tt for some,u hve to tell them earlier so tt they can ask the person to standby to administer it...

hi forgetmenot, welcome welcome !!

ya agree that our mothers has no choice lah ... somemore they are so thrifty

hi daisybuttons.... rem we said we want to create another thread after our delivery ? so that we can share our joy (and pains!) in raising our little ones

helo forgetmenot, WELCOME!
well its true last time our mothers dun have the epidural choice. but i do know many ppl nowadays have the choice but yet they survive without it. so i think...well, must hope for the best lah.
hehehee...

which day in sept u due?

ilovebabies, oh that thread ah, coz i wondering why issit dec/jan 07 thread? hehehehe so fast give name liaoz mah, so i confused. sorry sorry i blur lah. :p

hey ladies, esp 2nd time or 3rd time mummies, check with you something. does it make sense to invest in a good cot worth about $700 plus? that can convert to toddler bed, day bed and even single bed next time? its super solid, very nice, but exp leh. hubby quite keen on that but i wondering will we be spending extra? when baby grows into toddler, is it good to let him continue sleeping in a so called toddler bed, or better in a single bed? or even just mattress? i am wondering coz by the time baby grows up, i wld think we will start buying proper bed liaoz right? so our investment in a convertible cot will it be put to good use? coz i know most cots nowadays only about $200, $300s, but i find them a bit flimsy. but then baby will sleep only when he is very small so okie right? by the time he can climb we will upgrade bed?what age will upgrade his bed?

thanks for any advice.

haha daisybuttons, you very funny lah. actually i don't think we need to create a separate thread? just continue with this till we all give birth and meet lor..

by then the new batches of september mtbs will have a different thread called SEPTEMBER 2007 MTB mah...

hey question. what is assisted delivery? how come the charges are different for some hospitals?

helo melissa, assisted delivery refers to delivery using forceps and vaccum suction, not sure any other types?..... oh diff hospital diff ah? okie lah, think can be expected loh, diff places charge things differently i guess.......

daisybuttons,
i get sick of the same old stuff really fast so i wouldn't buy something that will last very long b'cos it's unlikely that i'll keep it that long already. besides ideas can change in future and i might want to buy something that fits the idea. besides i hardly see babies sleep in cribs when they're walking already. they usually sleep with parents.

Welcome Forgetmenot

Your hubby shares the same sentiments as my hubby. I was telling him I want to try without epidural, but he said no lah... better take lah...

So it's like, everytime we brought up the topic on epidural, he will say u better take.... hmm... think he scare I'll scare my head off and he will faint b4 I deliver.. hahaa...

hi daisybuttons

I will be taking over my niece bb cot cum playpen from my sis ... it can last till the toddler is abt 2years + .. so I guess it is a good investment ... not too sure if I want to continue using the same thing when the child is much older ...

rem that your child could be v tall ? so tall that the bed or ur cot is not big enough for the child.

melissa, thats true. i also worried i may get sick of that design after some time. about the comment on babies sleeping with parents, not all toddlers do that right? even so, sometimes they have their own beds, just that one of the parent may move into the kid's room to sleep with him? issit?

ilovebabies, my friend also giving me a cot and a playpen. but i am intending to put the cot from my friend at my parents plc. coz my parents will be taking care of the baby after my maternity leave. so need to buy one cot for our own house leh..... ur point about the kid being too tall for the cot, actually the cot i am talking about will solve that. coz i mentioned that it can be converted to a toddler bed and even a single bed you see.....hhhmmm.....really dunno leh.....

forgetmenot and emoments, hehee actually ur hubbies sounds like my friend's hubby.
he already told me he sure ask her to take epidural when she gets preggie, coz he can't stand the tot of her in pain...

helo mummies out there, what is the advantage of baby or toddler sleeping in a cot versus on a mattress on the floor huh? i see my friend's baby sleeping on matttress on the floor, with pillows propped up all around her, looks quite comfy and secure also leh....

daisybuttons

oh ur cot is a transformer ah ? haha then I guess not a prob lor .. then the decision is up to you whether u want to spend the $$.

as for the bb sleeping choices, I guess I prefer a bb in a cot as it means easier access to the bb, and not so cooling as compared to sleeping on the floor right ? and sleeping on the floor means u need to get so many pillows !! haha ....

in fact, some elderly do not like the idea of sleeping on the floor as I mentioned abv.

daisybutton,

$700 for a cot? dun u tink dats a little expensive? as a 2nd tym mum, i wldnt buy it.. i dunoe.. maybe its kinda over my budget.. since i have 2 consider d expenses of my 1st child..if its abt $200-300, i wld buy it.. if its $700.. its 2 ex 4 mi.. pluz new designs may appear in d market.. so i suggest, u tink twice lor..

but then.. if hav alot of $$ 2 spare... hehe... aniway u will be getting ur progress package $ in may.. hehe.. (*wink*)

hello ladies!

wow, on the topic of epidural, hmmm, i am open to it, though i wld prefer not to hv it if possible. coz not sure how i will react to the epidural eg side effects. BUT me, hvg quite a low threshold of pain, might ultimately give in, unless my cervix dilate so fast tt its too late 4 epidural lah!
else 1st time delivery using take at least 10 hrs to deliver. if labour time is too long, dun tink i got stamina to tahan.
prob b too tired to push by then.

hehehe so funny, i think it looks like usually the hubby will end up requesting epidural 4 their wives!

daisybuttons,
wow! tt sounds like a v gd buy, though the cot is exp. hmmm, we r all fickle minded. hehehe
who noes some other greater inventions comes up along the way and by then u might wanna ditch this cot for the better invention? hehehe, juz a thot lah. since its not cheap, perhaps might wanna reconsider. i do agree tt its v convenient and sounds wonderful.

daisybuttons,
thanks for the encouragement on vbac. hv not spoken to gynae abt it yet to get his views, maybe closer to due date i guess.

as for the cot, $700 is indeed a bit steep although it converts because reality is at the end of the day, you'd still need to get ur child a normal single bed.

i transfered my eldest girl to a normal single bed when she was abt 18mths old, slightly before my twins came home. of course i used a bed rail

wt regards to epidural, if you decided on using it, best to tell your gynae cause then you can choose your anaesthetist but i think depends on hospital....not sure really

btw, to all those mommies who've bought maternity wear, do you noe where i can find low rise jeans/pants cuz i dont like those that cover my belly....!!!