(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Hunniepot
I thought tea is better compare to coffee?? Tea contain less coffine mah.... Sorry, coz i dun drink coffee and tea is only once in a blue moon so i think i will never understand what are those feeling like..... but now started to drink raspberry tea so does that contain caffine??

RE: COffee
wow..not bad..seems like a lot of MTBs are coffee addicts as well..I'm already trying to cut down my coffee..any idea whether drinking Toka Ali coffee (bought from M'ysia) will hv any side effects on bb a not? I heard tt ginseng should b avoided & Toka Ali coffee hv some ginseng in it..

Koalarie
wow..ur bb sure respond fast..mine usually move when i'm eating..regardless of what..hee..

RE: MIM Showroom
Just asked my dad where the place is..guess rather inconvenient..so doubt i'll go down..mabbe i will order e tea from Little Dreamers instead..also thinking of ggetting their Warming range as well as e powder.

1sttimemum

Not too sure if raspberry tea contains caffeine.. but I think shouldnt be lar.. tea contains lesser caffeine than coffee.. but I still try not to drink too much.. used to drink 1 cup in the morning and another cup at night everyday.. but think if can tahan just tahan lor.. so I try not to drink too much nowadays..

Jillian

Thanks for the website addy.. huh? Theres no conclusive safe level of alcohol consumption.. then how? Abstain for another 6 mths at least after delivery? I'm not an alcoholic also.. but miss those times when I just chill out at a pub and drink with close frens and hb.. think there is nothing much to do in sg besides shopping and eating and watching movies??

Hi..
but heard BB fair next weekend at Expo, right?? Can go down there if MIM confirms got booth there... Rite?

BTW, any of u drinks root beer? I found tat the one Cream Mug indicates no caffine leh.

Tea has minimum caffine.. but if drink too many cups, can really b hyperactive n can't sleep @ nite. 1 cup's fine. I take up 2 2cups sometimes as I m using the tea pot type to make the raspberry tea n camomile tea.

Hunniepot,
same.. but i miss drinking wines especially in friends' weddings.

Imagine my hb not with me in Dec's wedding n i took one glass.. but b4 i'd take up 2 2 sips, another colleague who's a mom herself, took my glass away. = (

Then last Sat, a classmate cum colleague's wedding, I can't taste the wine also in his wedding...

n then tix Friday, another classmate wedding.... ahhhh... Soop soop..

Sigh..

My cousin told me if going 2 bf, dun drink. Else taste of bm strange n bb may not like. Not sure true or not. Mayb should try my own bm b4 drinking wine n after.. =p

Koalarie,
MIM not bringing their tea to sell at the baby fair. I called and asked already a few days ago.
Plus they no stock for several of their teas since yesterday.

Re: Raspberry leaf tea
I read their instructions, say by last month can drink up to 5 cups, so I guess the caffeine (if any) is minimal.

When is the Taka fair starting huh?? Anyone one going? I feel like going there for a look leh but dun feel like going alone so any mummies going.... How about going together???

ya, i also heard that bf cannot drink alcohol. in fact we were told during antenatal class that food with strong smell like durian also should be avoided. looks like we mummies will hv to tahan missing a lot of things... for me now, it's sashimi!

Re: Sterilizer
I was just wondering if I have a small metal steamer like those that can be used to steam pau, can I use that to sterilize the pump etc? Anybody knows?

Re: Coffee
Wow, so many of us enjoy coffee ah...next time we can go out for coffee gathering together...I most enjoy having a cup of black coffee plus New York cheesecake...yummy!

Re: Milk Bottles
Actually I oso only have 2 Pigeon (wide neck, peristaltic) bottles, 1 small Avent bottle and 2 tuppleware milk bottles. But dunno the tuppleware ones good or not leh, these come with the warmer set, given by my colleague.

Am thinking need to get some more bottles or not during the taka fair, b'coz my fren says need to standby at least 6 bottles or different sizes even for breastfeeding, then won't need to sterilize after each feed...

1sttimemum,
The nuk bottles only got normal size hor? I found the nuk teats very odd shape hor....it's so smaller as compared to Pigeon and Avent wide neck type hor? So cannot interchange rite? U mentioned all interchangable?

Evon

Yeah lor what to do? For the sake of bb.. got to give alot of things up!

1sttimemum

Tka bb fair starting today.. Im going down to see see look look after my gynae visit tomorrow..

terrier
I got the narrow neck ones so can change the teats but if you are using Avent than you can get those WideNeck from NUK or Pigeon.... My Avent's bottle is only to store my BM not intending to use to feed bb and the avent i bought is come in a box of 4 4oz bottle without teats. As for the teats, if bb dun like Nuk, i still can buy Pigeon or some other brands coz most of the teats in the market can used except for the wide neck bottle lah.......

Hi BBlim, gd to noe you are staying in WDLs. Which part, me at Dr 75.

Hi Hunniepot, yah, can meet for drinks after we pop. but also muz restrain abit, can no longer drink until drunk liao. At most, i will limit myself to 2 glasses. Got bb to take care

RE: Taka fair
Than who else is going after working hours huh??

Hunniepot
Please let me know if the fair is worth going coz if is not than maybe give it a miss liao.....

So boring today..... nothing to do in the office!!! And nothing to surf on the nets.... have any gals here bought the magazine Mother & Baby... i could not find any from the newstand or NTUC from Bedok.... this month mag seem to be pretty good coz it covers alot on preg. and bb i think.... so sad, know where can i buy anot huh?? Me going tampines today so has anyone saw it at Tampines? Please let me know coz trying to find for quite sometime liao!!!

1sttimemum,
me mayb popping there after work since got wedding dinner to attend @ Raffles Plaza. So, frm Raffles place then to orchard then to City Hall. =p

Hopefully, can leave by 6pm.. then meet my hb @ 7.45pm @ City Hall..

1sttimemum,
Me also a bit bored. But reading stuff here and there and IM with friends. Not easy to find the Mother & Baby mag. I also cannot seem to find. I want to see good or not before I decide to subscribe. But never read it before so can't tell.

1sttimemum,

i bought the Mother & Baby mag from Tapines, u know between Tampines Mall n Century Sq got a Magazine Booth?? I bought it couple of days ago, was there last night, still have the mag..Maybe you can go there n look look c c if still have or not..Btw, I'm going to Tampines Mall ltr too..
Going there for dinner wf hubby.

Hi Kyla, Jo & Wishbear,
Just tested positive and considering HK Ho as my Gynae. How do you find him? Whats his package like? Is it still $600? Any other charges? Also, his clinic is only at Mt A, so, u gals oni visit him on Sat or have to take leave frequently?

Rach...
Thanks, maybe go there c c look look. Today have to go there to collect Destini Cream from Mag L coz that day she forget to bring..... Thinking should i go shopping or go home striaght... hmmm hmmm maybe see how later.

Jilian
I got nothing to read and most of my friends are busy with their work so i only can surf net but dunno what to surf also..... too good life liao!!!

My bro asked me if I have started reading up on how to raise a bb.. so far I have only been reading up on pregnancy and its stages.. think it is time to focus on how to raise a child liao

Daphne, sure, we can meet up before pop. Finally got someone from the same area popping around the same time :D

Re: Milk bottles
i have bght 1 small and Big NUK bottles and 1 small pigeon. SIL have passed some old bottles to me but I tot of not using it till probably when baby is older.

Yesternite, have started packing incase last min pop.

Jumbo, congrats and keep us update on your birth details

I miss drinking oso...

1sttimemum,

oh..u collecting from her 2day huh..think i better call her n ask if i can collect mine 2day also..else i have to go TM again on Sunday to collect..where and wat time u meeting her huh??

Actually i read up some but just find the method very different from the way our parents raise us...... read is always easy but when come to the actual things, i feel that it is always so different.... Any one had good books to recommend so dun have to anyhow buy!!!

BBlim, me staying opposite 3M. You staying very near to my in-law. We can meet, not a problem, i drive. let me pm you my mobile no.

Re: Hospital Bag

i realise all of us are so focus on making sure that our hospital bags carry bb's stuff and our stuff. But anyone thought of bringing their favourite snack, magazine to help us to distress and make our stay a little bit more comfortable.

daphne,

k, then I pm u mine too. Next time Des, u & me can bring our darlings to CWP for mini meetups n shopping liao.
Tink I roughly noe where u stay now. Izit blk 68X opp. the white colored condo?

Terrier
Good idea..must c when is an appropriate time to arrange for a coffee session..i still prefer coffee by itself..cheesecake does get a bit too much when u hv an overdose ^_^

RE: Taka BB Fair
Hunnie, u gg for the fair tomo? Must rem to share w us what u c/buy..Im keen to drop by either Sat or Sun. Most prob Sun cos Sat is rather rush as I hv my anetenatal class tomo.

RE: Mothers & Baby
Is this mag from Mysia? I bought a previous copy b4 but dun really find it useful leh. Not too sure abt the current issue cos yet to c it at the newsstand. If really useful, dun mind buying also..anyone care 2 share what they hv in this current issues contents?

1sttimemum, jilian,
i got 2 copies of M&B mag from hosp visit to Mt A. can pass u if u want. i find it's so-so only cos most of the promos/ads etc are all for Msia. I find Family mag better

ssgal
I just went to tampines to buy liao....haven't see if useful but seem like everyone talking about it so grab a copy and have a look lor!!!

Was told that it can calm a bb.... but forget what is the actual benefit... All my nieces are using it. They each have 2 when young and usually they use up till they are at least 3 yrs old.

Hi all....
For those who r interested in the baby fair at Taka, I just went there tdy. Hmm....nothing much to see leh. 1 section selling avent products, pigeon products and gerber products. Another section selling bb clothes and toys. Then the final section selling strollers and cots. If u havnt buy steriliser, the promotion is $129 lor and it comes with 2 packs of avent wet wipes. Then the latest pigeon wipes is selling at $9.95 for pack of 3. Stroller brands include graco and aprica.
I've also checked with the cashier...no extra discount if u have taka card, can only top up points.

hi Hunniepot,
thanks for taking my orders for MIM and LitteDreamers.

Morning... finally friday!!

Nappy pant
Heard that some CL do not want to use nappy pants eg. my sis's CL said that using nappy pant is just the same as wearing diapers and would not prevent nappy rash. So during the confinement period, she just let my niece wore the cloth diaper by itself.

Taka Fair
Thanks for the info. $9.95 for pack of 3 pigeon wipes is not cheap.. I bought from Carrefour at 8.95 and saw same price at NTUC too.

Maternity disposable panties
Do you gals intend to wear this before or after birth? If we are buying this for after birth, how do we know if how slim our tummy be? The panties may be too loose for use to wear. My colleague said if for wear after birth, should buy normal disposable panties, maybe M or L size. Ai yoh, i bot 5 packets of maternity size liao

Hunniepot,
Thanks for the information.... than i think i dun have to go liao coz most of the things i already have.

Smurfy
Maybe what hunniepot is saying a new type of Pigeon wipes coz like you say, most of the places that i go, they are selling at $8.95 for a pack of 3..... i guess guess only lah!!

RE: Maternity panties
Are you gals intending to wear disposable panties for the entire whole month?? Me only buy 2 packs from Kiddy Palace but remember that they wrote 28" to 42" so i think i have no problem wearing them even after i give birth but still scare cannot wear leh..... wahahaha!!! Smurfy, if you think you buy too many, i can buy over from you coz i very big size so sure can wear....as for you, can go buy normal one if you are scare!!!

1sttimemum,
tomorrow i will pass by the fair and take a look since i am around that area.

As for the maternity panties, i oso headache.. i am not the very slim type. Dunno if after birth can wear normal disposable panties or not. But the maternity ones are abit too big.. think i'll keep them but also buy the normal ones too just in case ..hahaha.. haven't have period for so long, dunno still can handle or not :p . another colleague told me that disposable panties not comfy, she wore her normal panties (not disposables)..

Good morning!!!

Re: Diaper pants
Have some that is plastic, so that will end up like disposable diapers. The Bumwear type is not plastic. Those are one side cotton and one side flannel.

Re: Coffee gathering
Can't wait! Guess will have to be after our confinement huh?

Re: Taka fair
Thanks to those MTB who went and told us what's going on there. If I'm not wrong the Taka fair until 19th this month?

Re: Mother & Baby mag
Sggal, thanks for your offer. If you don't mind, and if you still have it when we meet for dinner, can pass to me then. Question: THe mag is from Msia? I thought it's the one published by Mediacorp? Sorry I very blur. Then which is the one published by Mediacorp?

Re: Maternity disposable panties
I haven't bought yet. How many should I buy and how come still need to wear after birth? Where can I buy them from? Scared bleed a lot issit?What about maternity sanitary pads? Are they much thicker than the normal Whispers?

smurfy
I also heard from friends that disposable panties cannot keep the padding in place and we will tends to feel super uncomfortable. I have actually bought some cheap cotton panties from CK which cost $0.90 per pc and i might be using them as disposable coz is about the same price. I prefer wearing them coz is so much more comfort compare to disposable wants.... i am actually wearing the CK want now so by the time i throw away, i also won't feel so heart pain liao!! I very aunty want