(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Jilian,
Need to wear disposable panties cos during confinement, we'll have heavy menses and may stain our panties. So more convenient to use disposable so can use and throw. Not sure if you should buy disposable normal panties or maternity disposable panties.. cos me oso thinking about this now..

isttimemum,
wow, you are very good to think of buying those cheap panties. Are they good and tight enough to hold our pads?

Hi Jilian

Regarding sanitary pads, best is to get those really soft ones, b'coz my vaginal area would be very swollen and possibly got the cut and stitches. Then try to get really long ones since our lochia flow would be heavy.

I bought Mothercare materity pads 30cm (but no wings), each pack $3 now on offer and oso Softy cotton superguard 35cm with wings....

Morning, ladies.
How's ur rest?

Re: Maternity Disposable panties
Only bought 10pcs. Still looking 4 cheap n good ones. Don't think we will shrink so fast, rite? Else, got to get another set of smaller sizes to standby. =p

Re: Mother and Baby Mag
The last time I got a copy was truly from Malaysia. Think the Singapore group juz set up... ?? Becoz it is reflected in the editor group page. =)

Re: BB fair
How many of u going? I m asking hb 2 drop by Expo /w me 2gether after Dr Lisa's apptmt 2morrow morning. Hopefully most stalls open by 11.30am.. then not so crowded oso.

Re: Maternity Bag
Actually we can bring anything 2 hospital but depends on if the gynae allows. E.g. the admission officer who brought me ard that time, said can bring in even those fragance burner to help us relax.. but check /w gynae. Then TMC trainer oso said 2 bring ur hb's fav things, e.g. PSP/gameboy so tat we can kill time there while waiting 4 contractions 2 start etc.. Juz make ourselves comfortable waiting 4 bb 2 come n not b gan cheong. =p

379312.png

Smurfy, terrier

Any idea how long our menses will last after delivery? It's not really menses right? It's just whatever is left inside us.

1sttimemum,
You said CK panties as in Calvin Klein? Get from where?

Jilian
Maybe the east side want can have coffee/ dinner gathering before giving birth coz dun feel like waiting for so long leh.... like that can see the before and after....wahahaha!!! My sis say she did bleed alot but only the 1st week than after that she started to use her normal night sanitary pad liao and that would be more comfortable compare to the maternity want.

Koalarie,

RE: Baby fair
It's at taka not expo. The expo one is next week. Don't go wrong place.

When I went to tour TMC, I saw the burner there. So I think the labour rooms have burners so you just need to bring the fragrance. Unless you also want to burn fragrance in your room after delivery? Hehe if you confirm it, can let me know?

Koalarie,

RE: Baby fair
It's at taka not expo. The expo one is next week. Don't go wrong place.

When I went to tour TMC, I saw the burner there. So I think the labour rooms have burners so you just need to bring the fragrance. Unless you also want to burn fragrance in your room after delivery? Hehe if you confirm it, can let me know?

1sttimemum,
We will meet for dinner when I pass the things to you from MIM. I just hope we get it before we pop! Hahaha... I still have not gotten email from that about my order. So I guess stock is still unavailable.

Evon,

ya, BB fair at Taka, no expo. Don't go to the wrong place tomorrow.

I will be dropping by to take a look tomorrow after gynae appt at Paragon.

Jilian,
I read that only the first few days alot of discharge (lochia), so to use maternity pads. After that, can change to normal pads. Maternity pads are thicker so can cushion our perineal wound.

Not Calvin Klein lah... that want so expensive.... heehee!!! Those CK Departmental Store, the one at Chinatown or Bedok Central. They sell cheap panties but dun expect to be flowery, sexy or pretty lah, is just like what ppl like to say, ah ma panties but the support is quite okay compare to those disposable panties.... after wearing can throw or keep coz is cotton mah. You won't feel so heart pain also.
Disposable Panties: 5pcs for $4.90
Cotton Panties: 1pc for $0.90
So after all quite worth it, at least dun have to worried that it will torn or not enough support.

RE: Menses
Some can last as long as 2 months which i read up from some mag. but some for about 3 weeks to 1 month time and that really depends on your body and if your gynae cleans thoroughly. Why i say so is because heard from my ex-col that the gynae will put his/hand into the womb and clean out whatever is left inside and thus will have lesser blood clots but if the gynae did not do so, some will experience lots of clots and lumpy blood flowing out..... so that really depends alot and also the massage that help to push out whatever is inside. Correct me if i am wrong!!

RE : Disposable Panties

Watson selling 100% cotton disposable panties @3.90 for 5 pcs. Its free Size. Hv yet to try...

RE : Pads

Bought the Sofy Superguard 35cm w wings. Cos tats the longest pad i can find so far, n saw fm other tread mummies r recommending it...

Jilian

Ya, that's not menses, it's called lochia...Expected to last between 3-6 weeks loh...can imagine alot of flow that have been accumulated for past 9 mths!

jilian, i still hv the mags. forgot to say that they are not the most current issue hor. i think 1 - 2 months old, but since i got them free from the hosp tour, never mind right. anyway, u said just want to see how is the mag right. even if not current shud be able to get an idea? pass u when we meet

1sttimemum, good idea abt the CK panties. think i shall hv to go look look too :D

re maternity pads
i bot 1 pack maternity pads and 1 pack "normal" night pads, is this enough?

ssgal
maybe you can get 1 more pack just in case is not enough....coz believe you dun want hubby to go buy than buy wrongly lor. Yukie said Sofy Superguard 35cm w wings is good so maybe can give it a try. I have already bought mine liao, i have 2 Kotex night safe, maternity pad, normal flow so i think i have enough to last me for quite sometime liao coz i know for sure hubby will not go buy for me....

Sggal,
Sure, no worries.

1sttimemum,
Really? The gynae will put his hand in to clean??? Eeww... I go ask my gynae later. Heheh got appointment in the afternoon. But yup I also heard before that the massage we have after delivery helps to get rid of clots.

ssgal
i also not very sure but my ex-col say so and i just listen lor but seem to be true coz bb come out from there so hand is nothing liao.... wahahaha!!! When we give birth that day, we will not even realize that coz too tired and want to look at bb so take it easy lah.... but i rather the gynae cleans properly than to suffer later. Read about some accident that some gynae did not took out the percentals (dunno how to spell) and the lady got to go for op coz cause alot of pain.

Re: Pigeon wipes at Taka fair
It's $9.95 for packs of 3 coz it's a new product and it contains camomile oil. The $8.95 one is the old product as it contains jojoba oil. I've tried it by wiping my hands, I feel that it's good lor. heehee...mayb I'll get

Hi doggy,

Dr Ho is very steady and patient. He talks very little so you need to probe him for more if you're unsure. I think he doesn't want to scare us with too much unnecessary info!

His package was $600, but I'm not sure whether there's any change. You've have to pay for the detailed scanning and medication/vitamins.

I prefer to go during weekdays, either one of the 1st few or the last few patients. So that I'll just take time off and not vacation leave!

All the best in your pregnancy!

1sttimemum

No lar.. that was preciousbabe posting earlier on abt the taka fair.. not me...

I just came back from the taka fair too.. agree with preciousbabe.. there is nothing much to buy esp if you have gotten everything for bb liao.. just got pigeon nappies at 20% discount and some richgi long pants for bb (4 for $10) thats all..

Just came back from gynae visit..

BB weighs 2.7 kg @ 35th week.. which is a relief.. thought she would hit 3 kg based on her growth spurt the previous time round..

Gynae was saying 37th week is the earliest bb shld come out as that is when she is full term.. that is just 2 weeks away hehe.. anytrhing earlier than that.. bb might have to stay in hospital for a long time..

I'm not sure if this is a good book for parenting but think can have a look coz heard some good comment on this parenting book. "What to Expect The First Year. A. Eisenberg, H. Murkoff and S. Hathaway, 1997.

Hunniepot,
That's good news! I'm going for mine in a short while. Wonder how much baby has grown. I hope not too much, my gynae seems to disapprove of my weight gain. When you see me tomorrow you can tell me if I'm fat/big or not.

Daphne,
I think I will miss the finals leh if my baby come out earlier or on his EDD. My husband and I not Singaporean, hence our baby though born here is not a Singaporean either - so NO baby bonus. So no 3rd month maternity leave. My company only give 2 months. So even if I take additional 2 weeks only hit end of June.

Hi terrier, smurfy, preciousbabe & des

Received the goods from MIM already.. but they gave me 1 less warming shampoo.. finding out from them if I can get it from them.. if not.. des.. sorry.. might not be able to get your order for you.. will keep you informed..

terrier, smurfy & preciousbabe

Do let me know which days you guys are available to meet up next week for me to pass the stuffs to you? Will be good to meet at Bukit Batok if you gals dont mind

BTW.. good news... the delivery charge is waived

thanks.. paiseh.. me blur blur.. after got to run thru' n compile so many reports tix week. =p

Okay.. Hb b working tat week in the middle of nite.. so probably b driving myself there 2 take a look lor. =(

2morrow me got detailed scan.. can c bb finally... so exciting...

Jasminetea,
how's urs today??? Keep us updated lor. =p

Jillian

If you are talking about fat.. thats me leh.. I put on more than 20kg liao.. luckily this time round only put on 1 kg over 2 weeks.. but only 200g went to bb.. moreover.. Im already big sized b4 I got preggie..

Hunniepot,
I see your photos in the yahoo photo you not fat lah. You quite tall mah. So proportion. I'm short, so now I'm round I look like a ball. When I follow my hubby to go watch him player soccer on weekends, his friend will tell me no need to bring ball cos they already have one! Haha...

Jillian.. fotos are VERY deceiving.. Im heavier than my hb now leh.. problem is Im tall so I look like a giant now liao.. aiyah.. you see me tomorrow you will know liao..

Your hb frens very mean ah! Luckily my hb frens never say anything abt me yet cos they havent seen me in a long time heh

Re: MIM stuffs

Here is the breakdown of the cost per person:

1. Terrier
- 1 pack postpartum soak $5.90
- 1 large pack nursing mother's tea (fruity) $15
- 1 bottle of warming body wash $18.90
- 1 bottle of warming shampoo $19.90

Total: $59.70

2. Smurfy
- 1 pack postpartum soak $5.90
- 1 bottle of warming body wash $18.90
- 1 bottle of warming shampoo $19.90

Total: $44.70

3. preciousbabe
- 2 bottles of warming shampoo $19.90 x 2

Total: $39.80

Hunniepot

No problem to meet next week. Which day & time do u all prefer so that I can allocate the time? But I can't make it on next wed, thur, fri night.

Do u all want to find some place @ westmall for a short meeting?

terrier

I don't mind
Let me know the time.. flexible for me as long as it is not too late can liao.. what time do you finish work?

1sttimemum, ya, better to clean properly then to hv trouble later, but still sound eeeee leh.

jilian, later u ask yr gyne come back n tell us hor. btw, i thot as long as baby is singapore citizen can get the baby bonus? just make yr kid a singaporean lor. parents also must be ah?

Good afternoon Ladies

Re: Update on my bb

Finally got to know my bb's weight. She is 2kg at 33 weeks. Head diameter is 8.23cm. Her head has already turned. Gynae said very good weight and progress.

Evon, are you having appt with Dr Chin tomorrow? Very excited right!

Re: Taka Fair

Preciousbabe and Hunniepot, do you happen to know if the brand "Mustela" got any discount at the Taka Fair?

Cheers~

sggal,
Yes, at least one parent must be singaporean. Since both of us only PR, baby cannot be singaporean.

Ok I will report back after I ask my gynae and my antenatal consultant. I report back on Mon since not coming back to office and not likely to log on over the weekend.

I'll be seeing my gynae tomorrow at my 32 weeks. Very excited also..

daphne,
my hubby already plan to take some leave during that period, so he said can watch soccer and at the same time feed bb in mid of the night :p

hunniepot,
Thanks for ordering. If terrier is arranging to meet at west mall, then i will go along. If not, i'll meet you on sunday at your void deck so you don't have to travel to west mall.

jilian & hunniepot...
I am also very fat liao... now you imagine hor, i am 1.57m and weigh 85kg now so can say i am big and round and my hubby is 1.79m but weigh only 70kg. He always say if i one day fain and he is behind me, the hospital will have to save him first liao....

haha.. 1sttimemum, i'm also heavier than my hubby. we also said if anything, end up i carry him not he carry me :D

MagL juz sms me leh.. she b @ City Hall between 4.30pm-6.30pm.. but i can't leave office till 6pm n got to rush back 2 meet hb 2 come back to City Hall n she can't meet after 7+pm.. so wonder any of you order from her has asked her to send to u via post?

Re: World Cup
My house got no subscription to Football channel, so i not sure whether to subscribe only for that particular month. So that i can breastfeed and watch football at the same time. otherwise very boring to wake up in the middle of the nite.

koalarie, i hv a suggestion. maybe any of yr siblings or good frens work around there and can collect on yr behalf?

hunniepot
I knock off @ 5.30pm. If meet at west mall, I can be there before 6pm. Are you still coming to ur mum's place everyday?

But how abt Smurfy and preciousbabe?

ssgal
haha!!! I dun think i can carry him even if i am so much heavier than him coz he is just too tall liao.....

Koalarie
I have just collected from her yesterday at Tampines....

1sttimemum

My hb got a shock when he learnt about my weight.. refused to let him know till a few days ago when it slipped it out of my mouth.. he has been teasing me non-stop about it.. cannot tahan! Grr.. told me if he doesnt stop.. I will stop at 1 child then tie back my fallopian tubes so I will not get preggie anymore and be so fat again

Smurfy & terrier

No problem.. can meet you guys at west mall
I go to my mum's place everyday during the weekdays so no problem

Evon

Im meeting Maggie later at City Hall.. you want me to collect on your behalf, can pass it to you another time? Maybe get my hb to pass to you since he works in capital towers..

daphne

My hb already volunteered to take care of bb during world cup night time.. he said he will come home and sleep early.. then wake up at night and take care of bb while he watches the games and I can sleep..