(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

it's ok jilian. will wait for yr post then and see u and 1sttimemum (and anyone else).

ya, i also always hv to refresh to see new posts.

Yukie
My mom bought Tollyjoy..guess there shouldn't b a difference. Yet to use it though.

MIM/Little Dreamers purchase:
Regarding purchase for confinement as well for bb, what pdts do u ladies got to recommend? Been reading thru e thread & realised tt some of u r purchasing certain items & i'm confused what items are they.

Shylyn
I have bought these item from
RE: MIM
Nursing Mother's Tea - Fruity, Red Raspberry Leaf Tea, Mother's Nutritious Tea 4 (Going to buy), Sling, Coleman Ice Brick (To keep Breastmilk cold)

RE: Little Dreamers
Warming Body Wash (Going to get 1 more coz only 120ml so scare not enough), Warming Shampoo, Dry Confinement Powder, Healing Bottom Spray

1sttimemum
So any reviews for the items u hv tried? I'm also considering to get the nursing tea, sling (got to further discuss w hubby) & bobby nursing pillow from MIM. Surfed by their website earlier..indeed a lot of pdts.
As for Little Dreamers, I was thinking whether to get the warming body wash, shampoo & dry confinement powder as well but then again, any difference from those herbs u buy from chinese herbal shop? My PIL are buying those for me..so not too sure whether will b wasted cos find them rather expensive.

shylyn
I'm not very sure coz haven't try yet so can't really give you any feed back but as the Red Raspberry Leaf Tea is quite good coz the some of them here has already started to drink..... But as for the bobby nursing pillow, i dun think is really useful coz mu sis have one and she say she regret buying so not too sure about it. Actually all this is up to indivisual but the sling is really useful.
As for the warming body wash, shampoo & dry confinement powder is actually different from the herb lor. What in my mind is, i am going to use all the above with the herbs for bathing but all my sis who have given birth did not use the above and they are ok.

hi gals, wow, the thread is really running fast... havent been able to log in.. was down with flu and m still recovering. Sigh..

Re: maternity leave
I will use up all the 3mths and might want to extend for another 2 weeks.

Gals, for those who have ordered the beansprout pillow, any idea when we will be getting? I cant really remember liao.

hunniepot,
is it too late for me to include my order for littledreamers? I intend to get the confinement shampoo. Actually, feel like taking a half day leave n go down their shop to c the actual stuff and probably to get a few more nursing bras from MIM. So far, i hv only bought 2 nursing bras.

Hi des

Sure.. where do you stay as I am ordering for the gals staying in the west area.. easier to meet up.. what are the products you are looking at? I will send the lady a sms tomorrow morning to update the final order.. anyone else in the west area who wants to get products from MIM? Do let me know by tonight..

Hunniepot,

I staying in the north area, woodlands... NVM, think i will try to go down to their shop one of these days. Tks so much

You sure? I stay in Toa Payoh actually.. just next to braddell MRT station.. you can come and collect from the MRT station during night time if you want to

Re: Bean sprout husk pillow

Hey ladies, Celyn emailed me on Tues and told me that we should start receiving the pillows from next week. Paiseh, forgot to post online and inform u all.

Hunniepot, thanks so much if u dun mind me meeting you at Braddell MRT station to pick up. I would like to order 1 bottle of the shampoo for confinement.

des

No problem lar.. Just one bottle right? Anything else? Will help you place order tomorrow but subject to availability.. will let you know tomorrow.. and can you PM me and let me know your contact no too? Thanks!

preciousbabe, thanks for the info. Been getting more and more excited since the dates are getting nearer and it seems like I still have quite a few things to buy...

Re: Confinement massage
I have also booked Mdm Rokiah from the feedback given and have spoken to her over the phone. she seems to be quite good and knowledgeable.

Hi 1sttimemum,
I think 1 bottle of body wash may be enough for 1 month leh...b'coz based on Bodyshop 250ml bodywash, it lasts me for more than 2 months liao...

hunniepot, have PM u my contact. thanks

Hi hunniepot

Paiseh, can I add in 2 more items?
1) Soothing PostPartum Soak (1 pack)
2) Nursing mother's tea - fruity favor (1 large pack of 100g)

It's okay if you 've placed orders oreadi.

Hi terrier, smurfy, preciousbabe & des

Here are your orders:

1. Terrier
- 1 pack postpartum soak
- 1 large pack nursing mother's tea (fruity)
- 1 bottle of warming body wash
- 1 bottle of warming shampoo

2. Smurfy
- 1 pack postpartum soak
- 1 bottle of warming body wash

3. preciousbabe
- 2 bottles of warming shampoo

4. des

Total:

- 2 packs of postpartum soak
- 5 bottles of warming shampoo
- 2 bottles of warming body wash
- 1 packet of nrusing mother's tea (fruity)

Orders closed liao.. going to place orders now

Re: Bean sprout husk pillow
Hi Preciousbabe, thanks for the update.

Hi Des, i stay 2 blks away from you, maybe we can meet up b4 we pop

Last nite, i had a dream. I dreamt that i pop. baby was abt 2.8XX. When i woke up, 4got the 4 nos liao. Even told my hb in the dream muz go buy 4D. So real. hee hee!!!!

tks shylyn...!
hee... tink i compare too much liao...

hunniepot... can oso drink DOM or Yumeishui(don knw how to spell) at home mah... :p

RE: Order from MIM
Aiyah..what a waste, i loggin late..hee..nvm, they still accept orders from the web right? Or do we need to go down personally to their showroom to view their products? I was thinking of gg to the Taka bb fair this weekend to see whether they hv similiar items.

1sttimemum
Hmm..in this case then can seriously consider getting the tea..hmm..though i'm not exactly a tea lover..still prefer coffee..pity they don't hv it in coffee version ..hee

Jilian,
I have just order my things liao but their Tea 4 two is sold out. So i just told her that if the stock arrive than maybe can add on if not than its okay....
Things i Order:
Warming Body Wash, Postpartum soak - 1 and two 4 two (If stock arrive). Told them my full name as Lee Meiqi.

Terrier
Thanks for e information but coz i used soap very fast and my body very big and fat so think better buy 2 just in case...hahaha!!!

Yukie

Hmm.. the smell very strong leh.. prefer those cocktails..
Havent drank it since I got preggie liao..

shylyn

You can order via their website or you can go down to the showroom personally.. think if you go down to the showroom and buy from them direct.. there will be no delivery charges..

1sttimemum,
Ok. Got your PM also.

Shylyn,
If you intend to go down to get and you already know what you want, maybe better to call them to check if they have stock. Judging from here, looks like their teas no more stock. So just in case you go then certain things don't have.

Hunniepot,
I'm DYING for a drink and coffee. Haven't had any since preggie. But breastfeeding also cannot drink mah right?

hmmm... y not take tis opportunity to kick off drinking habbit?
Tink as long we r breastfeeding its not a gd idea to drink... tats wat i feel lah...

Jilian
yup..was thinking of getting their tea..btw, pei fu indeed..u can tahan not to drink coffee..i buay tahan..at least one cup per day...hopefully bb no effect..

hunnie
hmm..was thinking of dropping by their showroomif hv e chance..i read tt they hv specific opening hrs..so think better give them a call b4 gg down

Want to find out from those intending to breastfeed:
How many milk bottles did u buy/prepare?
Did u buy all from same brand or different brands?
Which type/brand u buy?

Jilian
I cannot control so yesterday ask hubby permission if i can buy that Soothes & Heals Tea to try.... wahahaha than he say "Things that you want to buy even thou i ask you not too, you still will get it so permissionis given" Hahaha!!! Just email MIM and ask them how to use both item the Healing Bottom Spray and Soothes & Heals Tea. Make sure i know how to make full used of it else will be wasting $$ again.

terrier,
i'm hoping to breastfeed exclusively, but some how some how we got lots of bottles.

- Dr Browns x 2 (1 big, 1 small) we bought cos this brand was recommended by fren for anti colic
- Avent x 2 small, came with manual pump my fren gave me
- Avent x 1 small, free from antenatal class
- Tollyjoy x 6 medium (free from BiL but no teats, so we're going to use for storing only)

one whole kitchen shelf full liao! :p

RE: Milk bottles

Brand: Pigeon (wide neck, peristaltic)

Qty: 2 small bottles, 1 large bottle
(Large bottle is standby for later use on bigger baby. Since bottles need to be sterilise after each feed, think 2 bottles enough liao.)

Teat: Pigeon Perisataltic (comes with Pigeon bottle)
I compare with Avent and NUK - all interchangeableas long as wide neck type - and Pigeon ones are softer than Avent. Avent teats are quite hard and TMC recommends NUK for newborn. A mum recommend the new Aprica teats cos it's very soft but I have not seen them and not sure if it's softer than Pigeon. Some mums are using Dr Brown (q expensive) or Bfree. Will try other brands if baby don't take to Pigeon.

RE: Coffee
I think no problem to drink coffee if you limit your intake to one cup a day. But since I can tahan then I don't drink. But hehe I drink tea and sometimes coke so that also have caffeine, so in the end also same.

MIM/Little Dreamers opening hours:
Tues-Thurs: 11am-4pm
And on alternate Saturdays 11am-4pm. But you have to check their website which Sats they are opened. This Sat they not opened. Then next Sat MIM is participating in the Baby Fair so they prob not opened as well. But they opened on 25th March.

Re: Milk bottles

I haven't bought any yet.
Oh I got one in the free pack from TMC antenatal class. When you buy pump, will come with free bottles also. Or if you buy sterlizer. I think maybe don't have to buy so many yet, cos sometimes baby gift sets that your friends give you will also have bottles. Plus if you want to breastfeed in the first month, then you only need the bottles to keep milk if you express cos you're engorged. So no need that many. Also I read don't buy too many of the same brand just in case your baby don't like, especially the teats/nipples.

That said cos I'm planning to buy the Avent pump, I'm probably gonna get the VIA storage so no need bottles cos that one can get adapter and it doubles up as milk bottle.

Re: Milk Bottles

Avent - 4 (thats for storage of milk coz using the manual pump)
Medela - 1 (Comes together with the mini electrical pump)
Pigeon - 1 big and 1 small
Nuk - 1 big and 1 small
Nuby - 1 big and 1 small
Tollyjoy - 2oz (for water only)
But intending to use NUK teats coz all are interchangeables..... Hubby say i very kiasu which i think i am lor.... hahaha

Wah... 1sttimemum, u bought so many bottles....! Wat i've is 2 big n 2 small which comes free wif the NUK sterlizer...

1sttimemum,
Whoa!!! I can use you as example when my husband says I buy too many things.
Anyway what's the Soothe and Heal tea you talking about? The postpartum soak tea issit?

I see all the mummies here so prepared, I think I'm quite a slacker.
Ok better buck up.

Heehee..... at first only buy two but than think again go buy another brand than slowly become like tat liao.... so now i so scare to go out coz see liao than sure buy one lor

halo girls, how's everyone's doing? First of all, thanks alot for all the wishes.. And really greatful to have hunniepot for her kindness to post my latest update here.. So sorry that i've difficuty in accessing net at my mum's place.. using my sis's laptop using dial up but her laptop keep giving me problem and irritated me.. my hubby had helped me sign up with broadband and will bring me my laptop and modem during the weekend.

I'll update you gals with my "story" as soon as the broadband set up..

u gals gotta take care huh

RE: Baby Bottles
wow..i think I'm the really slack one..only two small bottles from Avent, one's free from my antenatal class and the other is from my SIL. I'm thinking of getting larger ones later cos thought tt I'll b breastfeeding my bb 1st..c how is it then if really unable, then bobian buy larger bottles to cope.

RE: Coffee
it's my fave beverage..really cannot go w/o it..hee..but sometimes i wonder whether the caffine content in one cup exceeded e recommended 300mg per day for pregnant women leh...cos it didn't specify the caffine content in any of the packaging leh. Anyone got any idea?

Thks Jilian, for e MIM openingg hrs...should hv went there just now..though not too sure where their showroom is at exactly.

Terrier
Hee..so u a coffee addict like me? Finally found a kaki

Hi Jumbo
Oh yes..read abt ur gd news!! Congrats!! Looking forward to ur story..the rest of us could definitely learn s.t from it ^_^

Jilian
Ya, the postpartum soak lah.... sorry short cut so write the sooth & heal tea lah... Hmmm, dun take me as example lah coz i pai seh leh!!! My hubby dunno i buy so many things coz most of the things i buy without him around. Usually when i go shopping, i will ask if his work OT on that day if yes than i will quicky buy and keep before he came home so when he saw things are piling up, i will say ppl give or sis give!!! Hahaha.... and best things is he never check his atm card!!! Shhhshh.....

Jillian

Think still can drink abit of alcohol right? Was thinking.. can store EBM for a few feeds then drink (but not excessive lar) and by the time bb finishes the EBM, the alcohol would have been broken down already?

I used to be a coffee / tea addict.. can take up to 4 to 5 cups of coffee a day.. but now I try not to take too much tea / coffee since I got preggie.. can tahan.. but have been taking it once in a while only

Shylyn,
We same same slacker. Hehe...
The MIM show room is Jalan Pemimpin. Tat-Ann Building. 4th floor.

1sttimemum,
You so smart. If I do that, in the end he will find out then I will kena scolding anyway. HAha..

Jumbo,
Welcome back. Quick post your BB photo and your birth story.

Hunniepot,
Yup can drink but I dno't know the amount and how long gotta wait before expressing or direct breastfeeding. But at most also can only drink one or two glasses? I think they have some sort of table that can check. I seen before but don't have it with me.

Jumbo
Great to hear from you!! How's your confinment and bb Nixon so far?? Tell us all your stories including what is the feeling of giving birth than to stay at home doing confinement and of coz bb Nixon!!!

I am so hungry....

Hi ladies, afternoon.

shylyn, me luv coffee too.. ve been taking one can of netscafe every working morning. =p

But I did notice tat after drinking, my bb'd kick kick a little bit.. guess, she is high too. =p

But of course, I dun drink during weekends or not in office.. so that try to control the caffine addiction.