(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

hunniepot... everyday eat is too much lah...! Tink it's still okie to eat once a wk...
u buying the Bumwear diaper rite...? Look very nice leh... but find it quite x... don knw wan to buy anot...

Another alternative is take beef... but must b well cook...

RE : Leg Cramps

Jilian u r rite...! When i suddenly stretch my leg wif toes pointing forward the cramp will attack!

RE: Leg Cramps
Yup..i do calf stretching every night b4 i sleep..so depending on whether i'm lucky..sometimes only one leg, sometimes both...other than that, my sleep is often peaceful.

What is Bumwear diaper?? A new brand for bb diaper huh?? Heehee, never heard before so just curious..... When are we suppose to eat durian? Heard that by eating durian can give birth easlier but old wife tales so dunno to believe anot..... long time never eat liao, call hubby to buy tonight!!!!

Rach

Heheh.. I just came back from clementi central and bought some branded bb clothes from those factory outlet shops.. Got oshkosh rompers at $3 & $5; carter's romper & top at $5 each.. quite worth it..

Yukie

Yeah lor.. my parents have this thinking that eating durians everyday will make bb intelligent.. that is why my elder bro is so smart... and they claim when my mum was pregnant with me that time.. not durian season.. so that is why I am not as smart as him.. and now I am so scared of eating durians.. the smell itself will turn me off.. (it used to be my fav fruit BTW)

Yup.. getting the bumwear diapers.. saw it at the shop at united sq.. but didnt get it as it costs $25 each and 1 insert is $7 each.. got it cheaper at the bulk purchase.. no harm giving 1 piece a try first.. if good then buy somemore

wa looking at all u gals. i think my baby has very few clothes leh. dunno enough to wear or not!only got a few white tops with ribbons, some coloured tops and 2 or 3 full piece suits. i think total not even 15 pieces. <panic> how much clothes they need. we were told not to buy so many cos they grow very fast wor

sggal

Actually quite true.. no need to buy so many for now.. as bb outgrow the clothes very fast.. but I just cant resist buying for my gal.. the clothes are so cute (I have been buying clothes up to 24 mths of age)!

sggal,
no worries.. me too same same prob leh. =p

Hunniepot,
What's bumwear diapers huh?

I am so sian.. felt like going downstairs to walk walk.. got to do reports and so tired n stressful tat so much outstanding stuff to do and hand over.. =(

Mayb go look 4 ice cream 2 buy n eat 2 de-stress 4 a while. =p

2day even discuss on contiguency plan if bird flu epidemaic is to strike in office... How I wish can work frm home.... =p

Hunnie,
which shop in Clementi did u buy the bb clothes from? Hee..though i think i hv enough, still dun mind to get more for my bb. what r e sizes available?

RE: DUrians
1st time i heard tt eating durians will result in intelligent bb..hee..if so, i dun mind..didn't eat a lot during my pregnancy as my MIL said it's better not to..dunno why though.

1sttimemum,
Bumwear is the brand. The diapers are like shorts with snaps. So there is this pocket at your baby's bum where you put in the insert or the normal cotton diaper. Then you let your baby wear. This way you don't have to fold the cotton diaper and you don't have to use any safety pins cos the 'shorts' are secured with the snaps. It's sorta considered cotton diaper cos you change the wet insert after your baby pees/poos.

You can check out their website. Google bumwear.

Hunniepot,
Heheh looks like you may have another full load of washing to do if you keep on shopping.
I also got the bumwear diapers a few months back to try cos so cute lah. But yes I agree try first, cos some feedback that sometimes leak. Maybe different babies will have different butts, so some not so compatible with the bumwear diapers.

sggal,
I think I don't have that many pieces also. Don't panic, still got time to buy. Or else, cos babies are clean. So everytime they soil their clothes, just handwash quickly will do. Then you don't need to buy so many as they grow very fast in the first 3 months especially.

hunniepot,
i also saw so many cute things. i think there are more choices for girls right! but i dun dare to buy until deliver, then can see how big is baby. heard from some frens that big baby can't even wear those 0-6mths clothes

koalarie,
me too v sian sian. at least u can go downstairs walk walk. my office at industrial area. if go downstairs only full of container trucks

Re: Durians
Durians re very very heaty fruit... n tat's y ppl said, eat durian muz eat mangosteen (which's a cooling fruit).

Think better dun take... else later even > heaty not good, rite? Worse is to constipate.. how?

Jillian

I strongly suspect so too! Think I shld go out of my house w/o my ATM / credit card so I will stop buying things for bb..

The bumwear diaper can be used on newborns issit?

sggal

Yeah lor.. there seems to be alot of things out there in the market for bb gals.. think I wouldnt have bought so many bb stuffs if mine is a boy instead..

haha hunniepot, it continues when they grow up right. see how many women's clothes/shoes/accessories/bag shops there are compared to men's stuff. :D

i also bot 2 bumwear diapers to try. the girl in the shop said newborns can wear by folding over and buttoning the snaps on different locations. but for me i think will only wear those out cos so pretty, so most likely >1 month then wear.

sggal

Haha.. very true.. thus the cost of raising up a girl is more expensive than raising a boy?

Girls will need:

1. sanitary pads
2. make-up
3. all types of accessories
4. shoes
5. bags
6. hair / facial treatments

Huh...? Didn't knw eat durian will b smart...
will ask hubby bring me go geylang eat...

ya lor... bb girl stuff r so irresitable...!!!

Wah... koalarie yr co so kiasu ah...!

hee... hunniepot, forwarded the Bumwear website to my hubby n he too like it...
will b goin United Sq to c c look look tonite...

Hunniepot,
Yup can use on newborn. You got yours already? You can fold down the top portion for newborns so the diaper is smaller. But the owner of Bumwear - Rita, she advised that perhaps we want to start using the diapers after baby has passed out the meconium cos it's very sticky and difficult to wash away. So she said at the start can use disposable first. Then after that, use the Bumwear and put nappy liner between baby's bum and the flannel, so the bumwear won't get so dirty.

On her website, got pictures on how to let baby wear the Bumwear.

Can I ask you again where is the shop @ bugis that sell cheap towels and small hankies? My hubby can't find the shop leh...

Also, do we really need to get baby wipes? It's used during changing of nappies rite? Is it okay to just use cool/warm boiled water to wipe bb's bottom when change nappies?

terrier, i also not getting baby wipes, plan to use cooled boiled water and cotton wool. heard that it's better for baby's bum cos no chemicals, esp if yr baby has sensitive skin

yukie, warning... if u go to bumwear shop, u will be very tempted to buy everything. they got little shoes and clothes and all soooo cute. plus utd square got a lot of kids shops :D

hunniepot, i think better dun let my hubby see. he will faint when he realises how much things girls will need compared to boys. but never mind la, at least us mummies will hv fun shopping for them :p

hi terrier... don knw where is the shop at bugis... but i bought mine at chinatown Small hankies $1.50 for 12pcs n big towel $10 for 4pcs...

As for bb wipes, it will b more conveinient cos jus wipe n throw, don need to wash...

oh oh... sggal... tks for the warning...! Cos my hubby oso buay tahan not buying cos all those bb stuff r so cute...!
Must remind my hubby to remind me... hahaha...

Yukie

Haha.. agree with sggal.. I would have bought lesser things if I had gone shopping with my hb instead.. didnt buy anything from the bumwear shop cos my hb didnt allow me to buy when we were there..

terrier

The bugis shop is located just opp the si ma lu guan yin miao.. opp the front entrance of the temple is a flight of stairs.. if you stand facing it, the shop is right at the extreme left of the row of shops behind the stairs.. hope this helps

Yeah..i was feeling rather disappointed that most of the baby stuffs esp clothes are girls..thus unable to buy many also cos mine's a bb boy. Plus e bb girls' clothings are soo adorable. My hubby &amp; I managed to buy a cute overall for our bb boy..intending for him to wear during his 1 mth celebration..hee..long term plan eh?

HI Terrier,

The bugis shop is on the ground floor in the block opposite the temple. Walk from the hawker centre towards the block and you will see it right beside the lane. You cannot see it from the front as it's hidden behind some wall. If you approach it from in front of the temple, you have to walk past the first row of shops where they sell the herbs and haiwei to the 2nd row and turn left. IT's right at the end. Hope this is cear enough.

Instead of wet wipes, can use cotton wool soak with water to clean.

For those working MTBs, are u all intending to take 3mths ML at one go or take e 1st 2mths follow by e remaining 1 mth within a yr's span? Which is more advisable?

An update from jumbo:

She is currently doing her confinement at her mum's place.. no access to the internet yet.. but will log on once her hb sets up the internet for her..

BB Nixon

He is still in hospital right now as he is pre-term and as well as jaundice.. let's hope that he will be able to go home soon to be with his mummy!

terrier,
The bugis shop selling bb clothes and stuff is located at Blk 269. Just went there tdy to change my bb clothes' size and get somemore clothes for 6 mths and above.

Yukie,
ya lor. coy really KS. Tix few days b busy handing over n briefing the colleagues on my stuff so tat whether in such event or I in labour, they can support my stuff. =p

Hunniepot,
thanks for update on Jumbo.

Jumbo,
Pray 4 u ur bb b coming home soon. Take care. =)

chenoa,
Rite. That's what my mom said 2.. but she told me b4 careful tat best is to get the old type of cotton wool (those in round rectanglish one).. won't stick to bb skin when cleaning... dunno how true.

Re: Bumwear
Thanks 4 explaining.. I still trying 2 figure out necessary to get since got those stick-on nappies pantz. =p

Evon

Re: Bumwear

If you are intending to get those.. shld get it fast cos they are going to close the thread anytime soon liao

Hi Hunniepot, Chenoa, Preciousbabe

Thanks for your information. Shall go there and hunt again...

BTW, is there any specific type of cotton wool to buy?

Shylyn,
I'm planning to take full 3mths ML, so as to care as much for bb as possible. 2 mths seems too short for me...in fact, I'm comtemplating to take another few months of no pay leave to stay at home before sending bb to infantcare centre...

However, those with recent experience have been telling me that it's definitely not easy to just cope with a bb alone at home and manage housework... in the end, most ended up employing a maid....

Hunniepot,
Thanks for your update on Jumbo. Wish that her bb can recover and go home fast fast...

Just wondering if any of you feel tired or sleepy even if you have a good 8 hours of sleep??? I feel so tired everyday even if i sleep early.... just wondering how to make myself alert!!!!
I dun take coffee or tea....
378226.jpg

I am also planning to take 3 mths to keep bb accompany too.. and my mum say she will help to look after bb but does not seem very willing so if last min she say she dun want than i got to engage a maid liao and might have to take another 1 month unpaid to make teach and train her on what to do liao. But i am lucky in a way coz if i really engage a maid, i will leave it at my dad place so at least not bb and maid alone.

1sttimemum... me too feel very sleepy n tired after 8hrs of sleep... tink my leg oso can't tahan my weight liao... walk abit or stand awhile n it will ache...

hunniepot... me n hubby when Bumwear last nite n decided to getting it... reason is we find not very 'wei shen'. Cos the salesgirl say 1 bumwear diaper can last whole day or the most change 2 a day. I ask her though the insert can b change but the part touching the bb bum is still soak wif urine wat... isnt it goin to smell? Than she say can add liner between bb bum n the diapers. If tats the way, i might as well use cloth nappy...

Yukie

Not too sure leh.. I just wanted to give it a try to see how it works.. aiyoo.. I wont let my bb wear the diaper for the whole day! So unhygienic!

Seems like my bump has grown exponentially for the past 1 week or so.. have been bumping my tummy into pillars, car doors.. and it hurts!

opps... i mean we r not getting it... cos after every pee n poo still hv to wash... using the nappy cloth will b cheaper...
but the color really very nice lah...

aiyo! U better walk slowly huh...

my bb movement hasn't been strong tis 2 day.. kind of worried...
hubby say i worry too much cos i always 'hu shi ruan xiang' after reading those unfortunate post... keep wanting bb to kick n move every few min...

Yukie

Same here also.. my bb doesnt seem to be moving very much these 2 days either.. some days she moves alot and other days she seems to be sleeping the whole day.. think bb is just running out of space.. so dont worry so much

Hunniepot,
take care... Walk slowly n mayb cover ur tummy's outermost /w ur hand when getting out of car or pillows? Me got to do tat when going into MRT or escalator.. very scared ppl knock into tummy.

Yukie,
Me not getting either.

1sttimemum,
my agent's policy allows to take 3 months straight n cannot take the govt leave later... So b SAHMTB during these 3 months lor.
My mom n mil said'd pop by 2 help out during these 3 months.. but dunno how true oso la. Mom stays so far.. dun think want her to travel from Teban Gardens all the way to SK oso.. Then mil has back prob.. dun think good 4 her 2 travel from Eunos to SK too.

Luckily got PTM intro by another mtb.. hopefully she is "clean" n i can leave my hse work 2 do while i take care of bb.. But guess, like what Rach has shared /w me, guess got 2 watch her closely... hmmmmm...

Re: Maid
Ask a question.. if hire a maid n her employment address is my SK home.. but during office hours, if I place her @ my MIL's place to look after bb n help my MIL.. is it legal?

Anybody noe what are the procedures tat i need to noe of hiring a maid? (Only just tots.. only)

I guess its better to take 3 mths straight then. Seems like a lot of you ladies r doing so as well. My boss prefers that I take only 2 mths &amp; split e rest of the leave for a year..but Im wondering whether Im able to do so easily..cos u cant just drop everything to take leave as and when u want to. Hmmm..so for those working ladies, anyone additional to take over your job or split among e colleagues?

My bump also seems to be growing..last I measured was 36 inch..cant imagine, increase by 13 inch!! Not too sure whether it has increased further these few weeks.

Hi Koalarie,
Re: Maid,
You can do that but you have to bear in mind what is the top priority of your maid. To help look after the bb or to help your MIL while your MIL look after the bb. Usually my concern about these kinda of arrangements is that the poor maid end up having to 'look after' 2 households. The employer's home and the IL/parents home. In this sense it is not so fair to them because they should only be taking care of one household. But usually this is not the case as most of us would want to get the most out of our buck.

As for hiring a maid, you have a few options. You can go to a maid agency whereby they will do everything for you, or you can get a transfer maid which you can do the paperwork yourself or you can go to a country and find a maid yourself. You have to pay her salary as well as the govn levy and her board and lodgings. Also return flight tickets for her once every 2 years. As a first time maid employer, also have to go listen to a seminar given by the govt.

This is what I know based on researching on the internet as I was considering a maid also but most prob not getting one.

Actually very tempted to buy but after reading about the bumwear, i also decided not to buy liao. I think 1st is because of the cost than secondly, i feel mafan to insert so i think i rather use nappy which is quite straight forward lor!!!heehee, i very lazy one.

Other than buying Pigeon Disposable Breast Pad, did any one try or heard good comments about Avent or Gerber?? Thought of buying one box to try....

RE: Little Dreamer
Anyone going to order from them again can let me know....coz after buying their Warming Body Wash, i find that its abit too little liao so thinking to buy 1 more bottle. But the delivery is ex so thinking if someone can share or longban my order together.

Good afternoon Ladies

Shylyn, I'm planning to take 2 mths and the 3rd mth to be clear within 6 mths (I tot have to clear within 6 mths? That is what my HR said. Will reconfirm). Reason is 'cos I don't have duty cover. Everything unless super urgent have to pend until I come back from my ML. I feel if I take 3 mths, will be very tough for me to manage. I intend to work 4 days per week to clear the 1 mth ML.

My boss is quite flexible about this though of course he prefers me to take 2 mths. If my girl really needs a lot of attention, I will possibly go for 3 mths. Will see how it goes.

1sttimemum,
Where do you stay? I usually don't get my stuff delivered I go to the shop and buy them. I don't mind helping you get them if you don't mind picking it up from me. But I'm not planning to go just yet as my stuff is not available for collection yet.

Another suggestion is maybe you can call them and ask if they're participating in the baby fair that's going on next week at expo. So if they are and you were planning to go to the fair, then you can just collect from them there?