(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

haha... my leg oso gets tired easily nowadays... jus as long i don stop n stand still for along time its still okie... tink it's b'cos of the weight of our tummy...

me still got quite abit of things to get done b4 hubby go overseas. Hv to buy aircon n get it install at my mum hse as the wan they r using now very old liao. Any recomendation...?

The shop which I always go to recommends Sanyo.. as the motor is quieter.. you can call them up and compare prices: KONG TAI ELECTRICAL TRADING: Blk 504 # 01-221, Jurong West Street 51. Tel: 6565 8970. The cheapest shop I found.. my parents have been going to them for 20+ years.. you can find the brand and model you like say from stores like Harvey Norman.. and then call this shop and ask for the price.. if everything is ok.. just tell them to deliver can liao.. no need to go down personally.. National and daikin can be quite noisy as it gets older..

Tks hunniepot! But Sanyo don hv inverter rite? Sanyo is gd cos ver cold. Me looking at Toshiba system 3 inverter. I thought they hv to come to my hse to c 1st than quote...? Will give them a call later...

hunniepot, the shop u mentioned is near my mum's place.. the things there are cheap.. ppl go the medical hall there to buy diaper and fm.. i got most of my grocery and daily neccessity from the market too..

yukie

oh.. ok cos the last time I went there was when I was renovating my place.. in april last yr.. so they might not carry sanyo anymore.. sorry didnt manage to help much..

jumbo

yup! that shop carries cheap stuffs.. and one of the shop assistant always gives us very good recommendations.. thus we always go back there..

The medical hall is the one just next to kong tai issit?

hunniepot, there're few medical hall there.. can go to the one next to kong tai or the one next to watson.. both shops selling cheap stuff but can make comparison lor.. not far away between the shops..

Afternoon all!!

Hmm...u ladies have any idea how to go about to book the multi-purpose hall at our HDB estate? Is it book from Town Council?

Ladies, just drop by at Albert Street and had my 1st coconut drink. Piang! Thailand young coconut very sweet and meat lagi good!

hmm...so quiet tdy??

Anyway, I'm so bored so I shall share what I'm going to do later with u ladies. Haahaa....

I'm going to Orchard to jalan! Yes, have not been to Orchard for..erm...see lah, so long till I lost count of the weeks liao. Haahaa...think I've not been to orchard for abt 1 mth? Wah...very long already hor? Anyway, going Orchard coz my shopping kaki told me GG5 having 70% discount. So poor me later can only see, cannot buy! Wah, really tong ku!!

Hmm....mayb I shall get 1 top and motivate myself to lose weight so that I can wear after my confinement? Heehee...anyway, 70% discount leh, if really see something that I like, can buy lah..then keep it till I can wear lor!!

What's your bb's weight till date? I got a shock yesterday from my checkup, bb oreadi 1.9kg @ 30 weeks. Gynae said my bb is on big side....make me feel quite depressed...

my little girl weigh 1.2 at wk 28 which is 2 wks ago... will b goin for my next check up which is next sat n bb will b 31 wks...

It's gd tat yr bb is growing terrier... don feel depresss huh... hugz...

My boy weigh about 1.4kg at 29wk.

Post-natal Massage
I am taking Mdm Rokiah.The package 5 days = $300 , 7days = $400 and 10days= $570 and package
inclusive of massage oil , application of herbs and a binder. Per session
takes about 1hrs 20 mins and there is no hidden cost beside the package.

daphne

I also took my 1st coconut drink today.. young thai coconuts are really nice.. I also finished up the flesh leh..

1sttimemum

Do you have Mdm Rokiah's contact no? May I have it?

My girl weighs only 1.1 kg at 29th week.. going to see my gynae tomorrow too and cant wait to find out how much she weighs at 33 weeks.. having my detailed scan tomorrow.. hope that everything is fine..

heard tat coconut flesh is high in cholestrol.. dunno true or not but i've been avoiding it.. had my coconut last nite from my mil.. o-e-shi-nei..

sad to talk abt baby's weight.. think my baby's the giant among ur babies.. my baby's weighed 2kg at 30 week.. last few days, at my 33.2 weeks, went back to check up.. baby weighed almost 3kg and his stomach is 37 weeks stomach.. tat's why doc said need to be induced once baby's mature (36 weeks considered mature).. and if by the time baby's mature and his weight and stomach still growing, then need to go for c-section

btw, my baby's head has turn downward liao.. he has prepare himself for delivery
doc said luckily he's active.. from wat i know from the mum had induction.. she was induced for 3 days and sent to labour ward for delivery.. there were 6 nurses helped to push her tummy.. and the gynea used vacuum when he saw baby's head..

Wow.. jumbo. U'd coconut juice?

I'd mine yesterday afternoon too but I got very bad stomach cramps at night. I tot it was contractions as bb also busy kicking.

ya koalarie, cos i'll be induce in 3 weeks time.. have to start coconut drink earlier but had it very late last nite when my mil reached home.. maybe the coconut water's too cooling for u.. perhaps u take half of it rather than one whole coconut lor.. my baby's very active these few days.. his movement was so strong tat i can see my tummy moving.. keke

U don't feel anything strange after taking the coconut juice? I was so scared yesterday night.. but didn't dare wake my hb up.. scared later he scolded me for taking coconut juice since mil has already forbidden me 2 drink??

I'm new here. What are the benefits of coconut juice? I'm very interested cos I like coconut juice but haven't been taking cos afraid too cooling. I'm currently 30 weeks. 2 weeks back my baby about 1.2kg. Got gynae appointment later in the afternoon. Will check on his weight then. I'm very scared he too big also.

Jilian, looks like ur EDD abt the same time as me... which date're u?

Don't worry abt bb... so long gynae didn't indicate anything durng last apptmt, normally'd b fine. =p

Which gynae re u seeing currently?

Sengkang mummies told me tat coconut juice got same effect as bird's nest; but becoz too cooling cannot drink during last month n it aids in fast and smooth delivery and clear the thing after delivery as well.

So, I tried taking... only 1 miserable cup.. not even from coconut itself. Sigh.

koalarie, i'm ok after the drink.. in fact, this is not my first coconut drink liao.. had it even when i was at my 30 weeks.. i think my body can take cooling stuff bah.. can finish one whole coconut at a time.. keke..

jilian, heard wat koalarie mentioned.. coconut will clean and clear ur tummy.. dunno how true leh.. but my mil told me it will make baby's complexion good too.. so i just drink lor.. used to take white fungus which has the same effect as bird nest.. now stop liao.. taking coconut water instead..

Mayb lor.. jumbo.

Yet, after drinking the coconut juice, i felt not so heaty.. or at least i m feeling cold while shopping at Raffles City since my pregnancy.

Jilian, my EDD same as urs leh.

But not sure may change as my gynae was saying my bb was rather "heavy" at week 27~28th week. She was like 1.3kg.. Or was it me.. Dr Lisa chin was rather worried when I put on another 4kg on my 7th month when I saw her. (At 6th month, I also put on another 4kg and so she cautioned me not to take much CNY cookies.. not even lapis cake).

Koalarie, wah what a coincidence. On my 28th week, doc found I had excessive amniotic fluid. So I had to go for a glucose urine test and he found out that I was pre-diabetic. Not a diabetic but if I don't watch my diet, can easily get gestational diabetes. So now I totally have to cut my sugar intake. So no cookies, cake and coke for me! Luckily not that long more to go. After my check up later I will know if my condition has improved. I also have bad water retention, but with this new no/less sugar diet, my feet don't swell that much also.

Hi Jilian,

I'm also 30 weeks, seeing Dr TC Chang lei... may be I ever met u there ; )

Office auntie said drink coconut juice is to get rid of the heat rash on baby, and flush away all the heaty stuff in our body.

I drank tt for my first one, my boy was ok, no rashes at all and he was rather clean, not a lot of blood on him when he was born.

My girl weighed 1.5kgs at 29 weeks. TC said good size.

Hi Jumbo,

I prefer induce, no stress, everything went well for my first pregnancy. It was different gynae in Gleneagles. I wanted to induce again, but TC Chang dun allow lei... sob sob I will talk to him again.

They will put the drip to induce contraction, guess the rest are just like normal delivery. U can choose to take epidural once they have started induction. I was very kiasu, I took epidural even b4 Dr burst my waterbag ; )
So dun worry, everything will go smoothly

Hi Mandy,

Maybe if you go on Friday afternoons for checkups.
I always choose Friday after lunch for my checkups. Are you doing the antenatal class in TMC? Maybe not since you're not first time mom. If you are, I'm in the Sat 4.30pm class with Mrs. BB Wong.

So coconut juice can drink until I give birth or should I stop at some point?

I scared induce cos I heard pain and I also scared epidural cos I'm scared of needles. I'm trying to go for natural birth. But I haven't discussed any such things with Dr Chang yet. But I got one long list of questions to ask him liao.

Mummies... i'm still tinking whether to engage a massage lady... reason is i've heard stories of ppl who couldn't hv bb anymore after the massage... n stories of ppl who can conceive after the massage... kind of scary... those who hv massage b4 always comments tat it will b painful during the massage. How do we knw the pain is rite or wrong...?

Just came back from my gynae checkup.. bb weighs 2.5kg at 33rd week.. meaning she put on 1.4 kg during the past 4 weeks.. above average size liao.. bb also turned head down but not engaged yet..

Yukie

I asked my gynae's opinion on malay massage.. he mentioned it is up to individual.. as it is more for comfort.. saying it is believed that it will help to contract the uterus after delivery.. but breastfeeding will also give rise to the same effect.. so I am still considering whether to go for malay massage too..

mandy, the lady i talked to.. she said doc insert pill in to induce leh.. she said she was in pain for 3 days leh!! so scary.. is drip work better than faster?? i'm really scare of the pain..

Yukie, me also thinking of engaging one.. hv ask mummies here to intro but havent decide who should i engage..

Done my preadmission at GlenE this morning.. for those who are interested.. here are the details:

There is not much difference between taking the hospital package and the citibank promo if it is for 2 bedder.. (at least for normal delivery) for normal delivery with epi.. hospital package will be slightly cheaper

Those items given free to us are:
1. 1 pack of 36 pc diapers (most likely pampers premium)
2. 1 tin of formula milk (depends on the sponsership for that mth; but we can request for a specific brand if we want upon admission.. it will still be free)
3. 10 pieces of loop maternity pads
4. milk bottles
5. 1 box of tissues
6. I packet of wipes

Any consumables over and above what is given free.. will be charged accordingly

The max. medisave claim is $1050 (from hospital package) + $450 (antenatal) = $1,500

Separate max medisave claim for bb (if bb is admitted) is $600 (depending on bb bill size)

For 2 bedder.. normal delivery.. the bill is @ $1,260 (which is not inclusive of doctor's professional fees --> have to check with your own gynae)

jumbo

My nurse also had to be induced for her 2nd child.. she mentioned that the pain only comes during the contractions.. as contractions are very strong when induced.. and she did not even opt for epidural at all.. so I guess it is really up to individual.. so try not to worry too much..

jumbo... if i were to engage a massage lady, i'll b using Mdm Rokiah... find her pkg quite okie n straight to the point.

hunniepot... tats y i heard too abt breastfeeding... still got 2mth for me to consider...

Hunniepot,

I copy this from Matters of the heart....

hi to all new mums,
Just would like to shared question and benefits of post-natal massage. I'm a qualified massage therapist with national & international certification and learnt all the traditional malay massage frm my 2 aunties who've got 30 over yrs experiences with post-natal clients. Mostly 95% of my clients are chinese and I've encounter question what's the benefits frm the massage, what can be done and cannot be done? Will I become slim or can I lose weight after the massage?

The purpose and benefits of post-natal massage.

For the past 9mth you 've gone throughout the pregnancy till deliveries of your baby, it sometimes makes a great changes to your body system. You may feel very tired, stressful and even depression. Massage really helps to improved blood circulations, reduces tense & tight muscles, relaxation and detoxification.Espeacially for postnatal massage it also help to get rid of winds,if there is still clotted blood in your stomach, it will be out with a proper massage and it helps constipation problem.With the traditional binder it helps to tighten your stomach muscles (depend on how long you could stand with it) as I will always advice my clients to hold with it at least till the next morning.

Can I bath during that period and can I wash my hair?
As for hygiene purpose I advice them to bath and get their hair wash at least 3 days once and make sure to get the hair blow dry completely. As I've seen few clients who wash their hair at night got very bad headache.

Aircon is better than fan. Try to get a good rest during your confinement if you have nannies to help around.
Enggorgment breast is the worse part. If you feel that the breast harden, quickly press with hot towels and it really helps.

I hope that some of the tips given is useful to all u mum. Feel free to contact me at 92716091 if you got any questions and I'm glad if I help.

vjunior, i'm not sure about coconut flesh contain cholesterol... but think of it, a bit logic leh.. coconut milk high in cholesterol and coconut milk come from the flesh.. correct me if i'm wrong..

hunniepot, i'm praying hard for 'not-so-painful' induction.. ^day dream^ keke.. my baby boy weigh more than ur baby girl at 33 weeks leh.. my doc said my baby weigh almost 3 kg liao.. so much above average.. i'm will cut down my food intake these 3 weeks.. try to maintain his weight.. dun want him to put on so much weight liao..

yukie, i'm thinking of looking for big size lady to do for me leh cos i'm so big size.. i scare small size lady no strength to do for me leh.. wahaha.. but i dunno about Mdm Rokiah but saw her posting on the thread.. u mind to share her package with me..

jumbo

Your EDD is almost 1 week b4 mine leh.. so your bb shld be heavier than mine and moreover mine is girl and yours is a boy.. think you shld still eat your normal meals.. but dont snack lor.. think my problem is that I snack too much thats why..

hunniepot, but my doc said my boy is almost 1kg overweight leh.. and from the screen.. can see his stomach so big.. heads, hands and legs are normal but his stomach is 37 weeks stomach.. buay balance leh.. my appetite's real good these few months.. think have to cut down on my regular meal.. me getting gancheong.. counting down to my induce date..