(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Re: Maternity Leave
I'l be working all the way until my bb decides to come out. hee! BTW, my gynae's a big advocate for work and exercise. Moreover, i wanna stay at home and watch World Cup in June. Hee Hee!

Yukie

Will let you know the name of the shop later when I get home

Where do you all intend to hold the 1st mth celebrations? With relatives only or with both relatives and friends? Me and hb are thinking of delivering cakes and red eggs to our closer relatives and bring bb along.. think it is more sincere this way.. not sure if we want to have a buffet kinda celebration.. if you gals are interested to have more contacts.. I still have the caterer's no whom I engaged for my tea ceremony last yr.. the food is pretty good..you can check out the website at: http://www.meihao99.com.sg/

Daphne.. got 3 months Maternity leave ma.. can watch all the way till the final is over ma. =)

Wow.. looks like a lot of you re really going to work throughout.

Hunniepot, not really la... juz happened tat their next lift floor is at 6th floor n theirs is at other end of the staircases n so most of the family members ve been climbing stairs up n down for many years.

Anyway, probably can go on thread more often n probably b pt of coordinator for moms who are giving birth lor n then i report in the thread.. how's that??? CNA chanel. =p

Hee...Just came back from lunch and finished 1 coconut!! What a cooling drink to quench my thirst for this hot afternoon!! Yummy....

hunniepot,
I'm planning to hold Jayden's baby shower at home with buffet. Think it's more convenient for me as I don't have transport and it's very troublesome and expensive to travel around to distribute the cakes. So I'm just going to cater buffet and get a 4-5kg cake so that my guests can eat the cake at my place. I'll only send cakes to relatives who r not able to attend the baby shower.

preciousbabe

Guess we will be renting a car to distribute the cakes and eggs only to our uncles and aunties on both sides.. which is just about 7 to 8 of them.. see it as another CNY visit

Re: Buffet Caterers

These are the few caterers that my good fren recommended to me during my wedding. She's an event coordinator and she always source for caterers. If u r interested, can go to the websites to take a look.

- Continental delights catering services (CDCS)
http://www.continental-delight.com.sg
Must try: Chocolate eclairs!
Verdict: Set up normal, value for money.

- Fostre Pte Ltd
www.fostre.com
Must try: Mango crepe!
Verdict: Classy. but more expensive.

- Kriston Food and Beverage
www.kriston.com.sg
Verdict: Have interesting wedding set up.
Can check with them if they have any special set up for bb showers)

hunniepot,
Lucky you!! Only a few relatives. For my case, just my MIL side, already have more than 10 aunties and uncles. My FIL side also ard that number. So I'm expecting more than 80 guests for Jayden's bb shower. Now considering if I should split the celebration into 2 days, 1 for relatives and the other day for frens.

I definitely give thumbs up for CDCS. Used tix caterer twice for my x team's Xmas party last year and 2 years ago... as the food was great and they were on time for delivery and set up accordingly to what me n my team mates wanted. =p

The other one, organized by one of the NLB staff, during a regional library's opening, that caterer was Event Catering System.. Telephone number 63468433. Wow.. that one oso thumbs up for the food if not for the cost. =p

preciousbabe

Gosh.. you have so many relatives! I remembered that my hb side has abt 60 pple all at one time
(with all the kids) at my place during the tea ceremony.. and it is really very crowded.. and moreover that time I was wearing my gown and stuffs.. hot like mad even though we turned on all the air cons at home..

If I were to hold a buffet for Amanda's bb shower.. I will hold it separately for my family and my hb's family.. might not hold it at all for my hb's side as my MIL has this pretty weird thinking.. saying that we have "troubled" the relatives enough by getting them to attend my FIL & SIL's wake in 2004 & 2005 respectively.. and also our wedding last yr.. thus perhaps it is a good idea not to hold the bb shower for his side as we will have to trouble them to come down to our place again?! Dont see her rationale at all..
kao_confused.gif

hunniepot,
Yah, my hb side alot of relatives. My tea ceremony last yr was like 'WAH'! The whole place was packed with people and then still have some relatives couldnt make it on that day. So I can imagine the chaos if everyone turn up during Jayden's bb shower. I also have not included relatives and frens from my side yet...

Hmm...your MIL is really weird. It's an event worth celebrating mah. Y she thinks it's troubling people? At least invite lor, if they don't want to come then just send the cakes over. Hmm...for me I like to have celebrations coz it's a time for family members to gather and bond. Otherwise, it's like only during CNY then can meet up with each other leh.

preciousbabe

Think hold it on 2 separate occasions is a better idea.. it will feel more intimate if it is in a smaller grp.. at least can get to spend more time with each guest so they wont feel left out..

Yeah lor.. her thinking is very weird on many matters.. this is just one of it.. I also think it is an event worth celebrating.. moreover my bb is her first nei sun somemore.. haha.. then another of her weird thinking is that she so "zhong4 nan2 qing1 nu3" even on my dogs! My male dog has attitude problem and pretty difficult to handle and my female one is really very obedient.. and she likes my male dog very much and dislikes my female dog saying that nobody likes female dogs one.. *faint*

Wanna ask if any of you keen to get Nepia diapers..am thinking of getting 2pkts..need someone to share another 2 pkts for the delivery..(preferably staying in the East, Pasir Ris or Tampines)else very difficult to collect the diapers mah..

Has read many positive feedback frm the forum..

Now Nepia having promo..free delivery with every 4pkts..

$14/pkt
NB - up to 5kg (60pcs)
s - 4-8kg (54pcs)
m - 6-12kg (48pcs)
L - 9-14kg (42pcs)

hunniepot,
hahaa...your MIL really very funny. Then if it's like dat, then u better discuss with your hb if u want to have a celebration lor. Like wat u say, it's her 1st nei sun, furthermore, it's your 1st BB! Don't let her thinking influence your thinking lor. To me, if my MIL thinks it's troublesome, then I'll call up the relatives on my own, no need to trouble her. It's my 1st child, of coz, I want to make it grand and memorable.

Ya, I'm seriously thinking of holding the celebration in 2 days. Still in the process of discussing with my mum and hb. Both of them are against the idea leh. Can't figure out their concerns at the moment....

preciousbabe

Yah lor.. think I will discuss with my hb on that.. will like to do something grand for her as well

Perhaps you can find out from your hb and mum if there is a special significance in holding the baby shower only on 1 day itself?

the tread sure mobes fast...!!!

me intend to hold it outside... mayb a bunglow in changi or chalet... if chalet, will split into 2 groups... afternoon will b my close relatives n nite will b hubby's close relatives, our frends n col... total abt 90pax.

Thought of using the following caterer;

www.jacksplace.com.sg
remarks: hv used them for my ROM tea reception. Gd food n nice set up.

www.lavish.com.sg
remarks: interesting menu.

www.chillipadi.com.sg
remarks: looks gd...

www.fuszinpalate.com.sg
remarks: interesting menu.

hmmm... hunniepot, if my in-laws give such remarks, i won't b bothered to invite their relatives. Save my $$$$. Me too hv weird MIL. Watever she say is 1 ear in the other ear out. Can't b bothered.

yukie,
Actually I have thought of having the celebration at chalets but thinking back, it's actually quite inconvenient for relatives to go to chalets as most of mine don't drive. I remembered during my ROM, I actually had my reception at East Coast Chalet, in the end, only a few relatives turned up. Wasted my $$ in catering the food!

Furthermore, if hold the celebration in outside venues, have to bring alot of bb barang barang out. Imagine if staying at the chalet for at least 1 night, have to bring don't know how many diapers, steriliser, milk pump etc etc....

So this time round, will hold it in my house since it is more cosy and convenient to come.

My hubby cutted a plate of apples and handed them to me. At first I thought these are my valentine presents. So I passed him a container of cookies to him and said "happy valentine day". Then he said,"Oh yah hor, today valentine day hor! Wat! gave me a container of stolen cookies from your mom?" Then, I told him off,"Better than you, give me nothing. I thought that plate of cutted apples are my presents." Then we continue arghing... This is my valentine day.

1st month celebration:
I told my husband that I dun want a celebration because I remember my nephew crying so badly on that day because there were too many people. My husband insisted. I cannot imagine the amount of people in my house on that day. I think I will just have to give in because my baby is going to be my in-law side first grandson. *sign*

hahaha... maraquan, u n hubby so cute...

Tks Rach...! I super fickle minded wan... cannot decide on which wan...

Now i've another tinking... order nice nice food we oso cannot eat...!!! Wat a torture....

yukie,

u very funny..think we can eat liao lar..by then we finished our confinement liao mah..

that time i cater for 50 pax and all the food were finished by my guests..my guests were only about 45 of them nia..

well, u can give it a thought..

BB Shower

Guess i'll be holding it at my clubhouse...at least my house will not be so crowded..i can hold it on 1 day itself as my clubhouse it quite huge..so no need to split 2 days lor..easier for me, settle quickly then next day can go gai gai liao..heehee..

Preciousbab, at 1st thought of holding it at mum's home wan(bb will b look after by my mum)... but it will b a bit cramp lor... afternoon group abt 40pax n nite group abt 50pax... n there will b children ard. They will b so bored... at least if holding at outdoor, they can roam ard...

har... Rach, tat means thier portion quite small....?

Heard fm lots of ppl like my col's n relatives tat we can't eat certain fish n don knw which part of the pork for 100 days.... but if my mum gives the greenlight i will sup ka liao....!!! hee... i'm like a rubbish bin... everything oso eat...

Oh yah hor, come to think of it, if I hold the celebration in my own house, all the kids will end up downstair playing in the garden.

I think my cats will end up hiding in the kitchen.

yukie,

the portion not small leh..guess the food's gud that's y they managed to finish all bah..
i didn't know that we need to abstain from certain food leh..so far no one told me leh..

good morning ladies, have been very upset yesterday after seeing my gynea... He told me he wants me to go with induce in 3 weeks time cos of baby's size. My baby's head, hands and legs are normal but his stomach is really big.. He told me that i've been eating alot and tat's why baby's stomach so big.. so sad tat i nvr take good care of my baby..

Anyway, I'll be working till end of this month and wait for induce early March.. Hopefully my baby will be healthy by the time he's born..

jumbo

Dont be too upset.. your bb is considered almost full-term by the time he is induced right (37 weeks)? I believe he will be a healthy baby.. I was an induced baby too.. and I have always been healthy since young..

Yesterday talked to one mother.. who's giving birth to 2nd child..she said when she gave birth for her 1st child.. also induce.. doc insert 3 pills altogether for 2 days.. she waited 2 days in pain before she can give birth.. scary right?? pain for 2 days?? me think 10 mins also cant tahan liao..

by then, i'll be march mummy.. not april mummy liao.. keke..

hunniept, any new abt the cordlife from march-mum-to-be?? if not then i will go and make enquiry myself.. my hubby wanted to deposit baby's blood cord so much.. and we have very little time left

good morning, these few days dun noe y very tired. but last nite had a very good meal at Moomba - an australian restaurant at circular road. nice ambience, good food (but pretty small serving), good service but $$ also good. hee

jumbo

Whats your email addy? I forward the email to you?

The info from the march mummy is basically the same as what I posted on the forum a few days ago...

jumbo

sent the emails to you liao.. so you are also born in the year 78 huh? Same same

Think all mummies' experience is different lar.. my mum said there is no need for her to insert any pills.. they only wheeled her into the delivery suite and put her on the drip and then break the waterbag.. no pain at all.. only a strong peeing sensation thats all.. and moreover that experience for her is 28 years ago.. think the procedure shld even be better now..

Yukie

My hb dont remember the exact shop he bought the t-shirt from.. he said it is from one of the shops at Raffles Exchange (the shops at Raffles Place MRT station)

Evon.. dont know leh.. he only knows the shop when he sees it.. anyway raffles exchange dont have that many shops.. think can spot it quite easily

The brand of the t-shirt is: Lil Kid Big Attitude

hunniepot, had received and revert ur email.. thanks.. my mil also told me she was induced 30 years ago when she gave birth to my hubby... she said the same thing lor.. no pill but drip.. hmm.. but now medical technology changed so much liao.. hopefully will be a smooth one..

It's okie Hunniepot... will look ard when i'm there...

yesterday my mum bought 1 dozen of nappy cloth for $15 only at chinatown. No brand, but the lady say won't run out of shape. Size is 76x76cm.
My mum say the texture a bit rough but the lady say b'cos hvn't wash yet. Once wash liao will b soft... oso bought small small face towel got blue pink n yellow, 1 dozen 1.50 only! So cheap...

mummys... i heard fm my sil whom jus gave birth at TMC tat the breast pump can be purchase wif our medisave fm the hospital. But only 1 type. Single eletric pump, can't remember the brand, but it cost $178. At 1st she oso don knw... when she wanna pay the bill than she knw.

Yukie

Issit the goldfish brand of nappies that your mum bought.. got it @ $15 for a dozen as well (the first shop you see b4 u enter the mkt).. then ventured deeper into the mkt.. and found a shop that sells exactly the same type.. @ $11! Thus.. dont buy from the 1st towel shop you see.. cos the stuffs are quite ex..

The electric breast pump sounds like the medela single electric.. the usual price is @ $178..

Yes...!!!

Har...!!!
Lucky my mama only bought a dozen... lugi $3.5... cos ttl purchase $16.50, she deduct 50cents. Don knw wat brad it is... u bought it too...?

Yap, tink its Medela... lucky i didn't get breat pump yet... cost don knw will hv milk anot...

Yukie

Heh.. I also lugi lor.. felt so cheated.. so bought another pack from the other shop.. now got 2 dozens.. I havent wash yet leh.. intending to wash end of this month.. also bought the pigeon brand one.. compare quality..

wah... u bought so many packs liao...

Pigeon nappy cloth got 20% at Taka... hv done some research at metro/taka n kiddy palace last wkend to c which place got the best deal!
Will b goin to buy all my bb stuff tis wkends..

Wah.. finally the pigeon nappy got sale.. been waiting for so long thus decided to get it then at $25.40

Wah.. you still got energy to go shopping for bb things.. I got no more energy left to go shopping for bb things anymore.. I walk abit and get tired so easily.. luckily I got almost everything ready liao.. so no worries