(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

good morning ladies!

saw some posts further up about looking after baby... any of u decided abt child care after yr mat leave? infant care centre or baby sitter or maid or ?? we're still thinking leh but i'm starting to panic, cos not much time liao.

jilian, thanks for checking with yr gyne abt cleaning the womb.

jasminetea, what is pre-admission??

Hunniepot,

Haha, maybe cos I'm short, that's why look younger than my age.

I think 3.4-3.5 kg still ok right? Even for natural birth. The Bumwear owner - Rita, her baby 4.55kg and she had a totally natural birth. No epi, no injection, no gas, nothing. So I believe it's do-able to go through it if we're mentally and physically prepared.

Talking about stretching, we can manually stretch/massage our perineum (the skin between our vagina and anus) with olive oil, so that the skin will become more stretchable when baby comes out. It would help avoid episiotomy/tears. I have started doing it since last Sat. I think need some practice, cos I'm not too sure if I'm getting the right area.
But my doc advised and during antenatal class also the consultant mentioned. So I figured no harm trying. Just don't massage/rub to vigorously or you might tear that area.

I finally got the baby cotton diapers washed. Just note that certain clothes, if you want them to absorb moisture better, don't use softener, cos softener will 'plug' the 'holes' in the fabric. That's why clothes like Nike dry-fit cannot wash with softener.

Jillian

Yeah.. 3.4 to 3.5 kg for bb shld be ok.. as long as I continue to monitor what I eat can liao.. huh? Rita's bb was 4.55 kg at birth? That is hugh leh.. and she went for natural? How do you massage your perineum?

Hunniepot,
Yeah Rita's baby was huge! You can read her birth story at the Bumwear website. She had a birth supporter - Pat Chong help her during her birth.

To massage the perineum, I put some olive oil on my thumb, then I stick half the thumb up the vagina with the nail facing away from me. So the pad of my thumb is on the perineum. Then I just push lightly towards the anus a few times and move it sideways. Basically want to stretch the skin a bit so that it becomes flexible.

Of course it's not a must lah. Anyway lots of asian women don't do it compared to the caucasians. My gynae says either we're shy or it's just not common practice here.

Thanks Jillian

Think I will give it a try.. cos am hoping to go for natural w/o episiotomy!

terrier

Yup.. my vagina area is also abit swollen at times.. not all the time though

Chenoa
Most likely..cos she's pretty alright..though i did have some bruises (to the touch) but no blue black the next day after she massaged me. Her name is Mdm Yati & she was my colleague's relative loh. Tot my colleague got to know her after she massaged for her after her pregnancy.

RE: Post Natal Massage
Btw, any ladies aware that is $350 the market rate or there's cheaper alternatives? Btw, do u hv any idea whether we need to have the massage for more than 7 days or 7 days is sufficient?

Jumbo
Ur bb boy is soo adorable..i was touched reading abt ur experience & nearly cried..but unable to cos I'm in my office. Cant imagine if my bb has to undergo such pain at such a small age..oh dear..think my eyes turning red & it;s getting awkard..anyway..do take heart..I'm sure both of u can go thru it together..guess bf is a matter of time & getting used to one another..so dun give up. I was thinking whether i hv e determination to persist should i hv problems w bf..

Sggal
My PIL will b looking after my bb after my 3 mths maternity leave..hopefully will b able to cope then..yet to know whether will get used to them living w me..but hv to try no matter what.

Shylyn,
The massage lady that I have engaged charges $350/7 days. The charges are around there I believe. And yes I have heard of cheaper alternatives. But cheaper doesn't mean better. Better to go by recommendation. Usually we have massage 7 days cos that's the package. You can choose to increase to more than 7 days. I believe it is different for every lady. For some after 2 days they see a difference already. For some they need longer. Why don't you try first? If you feel that after 7 days, you still want to continue, I think the massage lady will be happy to accommodate you.

Hi Sggal, my sister in law will be taking care of my bb when I go back to work.

You can do your pre-admission with the hospital once you got your admission letter from your gynae. Basically, the hospital will enter all your information into their datebase so that on the day when you admit, they just load up the information from their database and speed up your admission process

Jilian
Guess u r right..cheaper doesn't mean better but as we don't hv a base for comparision also diff to tell whether they r good..but i guess what's impt is tt u r comfortable w her. Hopefully i'll b those who are able to c a diff after 2 days..hee..any idea what process the massage lady will use beside the binding part?

Alamak.. my msg disappeared when I clicked back.. =(

Morning ladies... 2day super busy.. but thanks for giving me advice on that test, n what's engaged..

Jumbo,
Ur bb super cute... PRaise Lord tat he's home..
Dun worry on supply of BM. The trainer in yesterday's class mentioned tat dun give up.. keep putting bb on our breasts or to use pump 2 express milk regularly (keep to tell our brains to give more supply on bm).
If breasts a bit pain, the trainer shared to put cabbage leaf (must b chilled) onto our breasts.

Jasminetea,
Think I muz b too sotong on Sat that I didn't ask much questions to the nurse on the admission thing. She simply passed me the pre-admission letter to me and collected 400 bucks from me on gynae's booking fee and 36 bucks on the blood test.
Mayb 2morrow I go checkup.

Jilian,
mine's blood test.. according 2 nurse leh. To take every hour at 3 intervals n each take'll b broken into 3 tubes. But a good idea tat to bring books along to read. Thx. = )

1sttimemum,
GlenE b taking 1788 for one-bedded. U taking one or two bedded?

terrier,
seem like mine oso since 4 days ago. Even sleeping n turning frm one side or other.. I juz felt that tat area seems so sore.

Jilian and Shylyn,
Think $350 /7 days is on the cheaper end of the scale. But must see the duration of the massage and the materials included. I think quite reasonable if each seesion is $50. Those that charges $70 or $80 a bit steep leh....

Jilian, who's your massage lady? How's her package like? pls pm me details if you don't mind.

Koalarie,
My glucose test was gotta urine and then they prick my fingers for the blood. Don't actually have to draw out into 3 tubes. Wah yours sounds quite painful if have to draw out 3 tubes of blood.

Chenoa,
PM you already.

Koalarie
Me taking 4-bedded leh but dun know why so ex coz my sis told me Mt.A only put deposit $500..... I also very blur liao but dare not really ask them coz they are always busy.....

Hi Evon

Think the $400 you paid is for your own gynae's professional fees.. pre-admission is done at the admission counter at GlenE.. where the nurses record down you and ur hb's details.. no need to pay any fees during pre-ad... only payable upon admission

Evon & Jillian

The triple test I had.. had to withdraw blood 3 times as well.. over an hourly interval each.. super boring..

Hi Hunniepot, I was told to pay $1788 at my pre-admission at Gleneagles leh.

Evon, yup, as advised by Hunniepot, pre-admission is done at level 2, admission counter at the Hospital block. You can do the pre-admission when you go back for your blood test this week.

hunniepot,
What triple test are you gals talking about huh?? I have done a triple test when i am ard 4 to 5mth preg. but after that my gynae say no more test will be done liao..... is this the test to show if bb is normal?? Sorry, me abit blur

1sttimemum,
tix test's to check for any diabetics.

Hunniepot,
Wish not pain.. last time did @ GlenE same lab was painless.. though that needle was thick! Wish 2morrow all 3 times the same.. else hands got blue black.

Jasminetea, thx.. that's my intention. Mayb i will call up later to ask if do any hospital visit since hb b coming along.

Re: Hand/Fingers numb or cannot close properly?

Anyone of u've tix problem? It seems to be more painful when u re asleep.. n half way, u try to crotch the fist or move the fingers, the pain's rather bad that u'd wake up?

My gynae said it's due to water retentation.

But I a bit scared as my sis got high in urinal acid n got slight gout prob. Then hb oso got gout prob.. hopefully bb dun catch tix heritage prob.

jasminetea

Hmm.. maybe 1 bedder and 2 bedders has different modes of settlement? Mine is 2 bedder and was told only need to pay upon admission thats all..

Evon

It is not painful lar.. like ants bite.. dont worry
Bt cos got to poke the arms 3 times.. the last one was painful cos got to jab the same spot twice as the technician could not find any more veins to poke in my case..

Jasminetea/Hunniepot,
Who's the PD that assigned 2 u?

My letter put Dr Yip YY.. wonder where he/she's located.. No time to find threads yet..

Evon, my PD same as you. He is from Singapore Babies (opposite Dr Lisa Chin's Clinic)

Hunniepot, maybe pa. So weird leh. Anyway, never mind lah. Got to pay sooner or later.

Koalarie,
I had the hand/fingers problem during my 2nd trimester. Now better already though my right 3rd finger still have problems opening/closing once in awhile, then sometimes feel like it kena stuck at one position. Yup it could be due to water retention or carpal tunnel syndrome. In both cases, only temporary. Try to move your fingers around, e.g. wiggle them and don't sleep with your hands below your pillow. I read on the internet that some women use wrist supporters which helps with the pain.

Re: Pre-admission Deposit
Can opt to pay the deposit when you are doing pre-admission or when you check-in for Gleneagles Hospital. I already did my pre-admission but will make payment sometime this week when i do my check-up. Payment can be thru VISA or cheque. But to be noted is - any refund will also be thru VISA or cheque depending on your mode of payment.

shylyn, jasminetea, so lucky u hv PIL/SIL to help look after for u. for me looks like infant care centre unless we manage to find a good baby sitter.

anyone got babysitter to recommend in east area?

Hi Evon

Ya, I have exactly the same problem as u. All my fingers very painful when I sleep n wake up.... So I got to stretch my fingers or get hubby to massage and pull my fingers before I get up of bed

sggal
My mom will help me look after but dun think will last long coz she is the type who wants freedom and dun like to stay at home so i am also thinking like you..... either to find infant care centre, babysitter or maid. But end up, i will be choosing a maid coz check with some bb sitter that their charges is quite high. Weekdays - $500 than if going to bring back only on weekend that will cost around $600+ so if that's the case, i feel that having a maid is a better choice. I will bring my maid to my dad house every morning so i feel safer.....

1sttimemum, what's the cost of getting maid? i've not looked into maids cos i dun really wanna hv a maid stay in my house all the time.

sggal,
Same as you. Don't want maid. So now if all goes well, will leave bb with ILs in the morning then after lunch I fetch him home and work from home. Then no need maid. If whole day leave with ILs, my MIL wanted a maid.

sggal
What i know is that for maid we got to pay upfront of their 8 months salary which is $260 for in-experience or $280 experience (Indo) and insurance incase they run away + agent fees and that round up to be $2300+. You can also pay by instalment but i dun think i want coz they charge higher for that and than goverment levy $200 per month. So after the payment to agent, the 1st 8 months, you dun have to pay your maid but got to pay gov $200 for levy. I choose a maid is becoz at least someone to do housework for me while i can concentrate to look after bb. But if i were to get bb sitter, no one is gonna do housework and i think i will be too tired to look after bb and manage all housework myself. That's just my thought. There is always pro and con so depend how you weigh it.

Evon... me too hv the tis problem starting fm last week... fingers can't close properly, like tight tight... hv to open close open close afew time than feel better... another problem is, when i turn my body fm one side to the other side, my bottom back bone will hv cracking sound...

Me too don like hving a maid... tink i've to look after/look out for her more than the maid look after us! Lucky my mum is helping to look after the little ones...

Oh... evon, told my gynae abt the finger issue n he told me to lessen salt intake... don eat to salty food... soya sauce oso cannot...

Jumbo, yr boy boy look so cute n chubby...
U must jia u n don give up BF huh...
U really need to get a CL fast... as it will b very tiring for u... take care huh...

RE: Carpel Tunnel Syndrome
I thought i am the only mum who suffer from this... i have it on my right wrist and its very painful especially when i just wake up. The pain is so bad that sometime i could not turn my wrist.. went to see doc but say can't do anything and only can take pain killer. I did not take cause i dun think its going to help and i think my is quite serious coz i sprin my vein on the wrist which add to the pain too and th doc say the same things, cannot be help so must bear with the pain until i give birth before they could do a x-ray for me.

re maid - sounds like not cheap to hv maid also. besides, she prob also has no childcare experience? so prob blur blur like us also..... like yukie said, not sure if she look after us or we end up look after her.

i hv a part time cleaning lady who comes once a week, so housework not really an issue. more of who to look after when working. my PIL in Msia far away and my mum like 1sttimemum's mum, also not the stay at home type.

jilian, yr company let u work half day at home? is this gonna be permenant or only temporary for a few months?

Sggal
Well..guess Im lucky in a way cos my IL want to help 2 take care of e bb so at least both my hubby & myself r able 2 work at ease. My hubby v reluctant 2 employ a maid 2 help 2 look after as he still prefer own pple. Hmm, but unlike Jilian, my IL will b staying w us for e next one yr as to save a trouble of bringing e bb up & down ..so shall c how things goes.

Hunniepot,
thanks.. didn't noe it'd b Carpel Tunnel Syndrome.

terrier,Yukie,1sttimemum,
thanks. I tot I getting some weird prob.. told my hb abt them.. n he can't help doing anything but juz massage.

Yukie,
U mean salt-intake's the cause? But then if dun take enuf salt, later got leg cramps leh. =(

shylyn, both me n hubby reluctant to hv the maid, but my PIL stay too far away to help n my mum not the kind. so we hv this problem lor

Actually if there is someone willing to look after than we won't have to go through so much problem liao..... haiz!! Me really same like you leh, coz PIL wanted to look after but they are in Msia so far. Hubby did mention before to put bb there until 3 yrs old but i dun agreed coz i can't bear to be seperated.... so have to find some other..... alot of money concern when you want to have a maid or bb sitter or even infant care. I never chose a infant care becoz none of it is near my place and we dun have car so transport is a big problem.... Really got so many things to think and worry!!! Can get depress if keep thinking like tat

Sggal,

I'm lucky. Not really my company. It's my direct boss allowed. I told him if he is ok with it, I don't see why we have to involve HR.
Lucky for me, my angmoh boss is very family-oriented. He should understand since his wife is a SAHM and he got no maid either. Also cos my job is desk job and it's not really a problem accessing my company network from home since I have broadband. I asked if we could try out this arrangement first and if my performance don't deterioriate, that I continue like this. He was quite agreeable. So that solves the problem of the maid. I also have once a week cleaner.

Shylyn,
For me I rather be a bit inconvenienced than let my ILs stay with me. Hahaha.. So I'm ok with bringing and collecting everyday.

1sttimemum, actually since no infant care near yr place also might be good. less one thing for u to consider :p we got some near our place (planning to go visit them soon) BUT, looking at the price today, i nearly fainted. $1050 - $1500 per month! even with govt subsidy of $400, that's still a lot of $$$$$

wa, jilian, lucky for you. my boss also quite flexible. but since i dun hv anyone to look after for half day, i doubt boss wld be so nice as to let me work at home whole day, everyday :D hahaha i told my boss, i'll bring baby to office and leave in his room :p

1sttimemum,
I know how you feel. I only spoke with my boss regarding my arrangements last week. Before that I also kept on worrying non-stop about my childcare situation. Don't get upset. Talk to your hubby about this. I'm sure the two of you will be able to come up with a solution.

sggal,
if your boss let you work halfday at home. then you only need to find babysitter for the morning half mah. Then no need maid, just the once a week cleaner, will do if you're not fussy type.