(2006/02) Feb 2006 MTB

<font color="ff0000">ilim</font>
Hey, I have browsed thru the B&amp;B website.. so many fragrances for the shower gel. Besides White Tea &amp; Ginger, what else have you tried? Now is $9.50/bot, can we mix and match the fragrance? The other time u mentioned abt Japanese Blossom is it?

Sunshinekid
Me have used the japanese cherry blossom n Pear blossom both very nice it has flowery smell, if u wan to go for sweet smell will be sweet pea, country apple, pear berry. N u can mix n match the frangrance.

Sunshinekid
Forget to tell u me oso tried gardenia n white cherry blossom but dun like it.

Gardenia- got strong indian incense smell
White cherry blossom- too strong like spraying whole bottle of perfume.

Babe
I have been through your stage... got to tell u the fact, your supply seem to be lower than your bb's demand! Cos she took so long to suck but like not full n satify. N will wake up, cos she not full enough to go to sleep.

For me, in the end, I expressed milk out to accumulate to form meals for my girl. N I supplement 1 feed with formulae. At that time, I pumped 7-8times a day to form her 8feeds a day. N I latched my girl once a day to simulate how much she drinking at the current stage. But b4 latched, I stopped pumped for more than 4 hours to accumulate. I think your bb now drink at abt 2-3 hours interval.

This way, both yourselves and bb not so stress n tired.

To study how much your bb is taking now, u got to try out with FM, give her the max, like 100ml? N see how much bb can finished, then u will know. Of course u give use BM, but I think a bit waste if bb cannot finish lah.

Updated!!!

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Mummy's Nick</TD><TD>BB Name</TD><TD>BB Dob</TD><TD>Wt/ Ht</TD><TD>Type of Diaper</TD><TD>Type of FM</TD><TD>Caregiver</TD><TD>Address (Area) </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Mashy</TD><TD>Caeden</TD><TD>1-Jan-2006</TD><TD>5.8kg/59cm</TD><TD>Nepia/ PP</TD><TD>BM &amp; S26 Gold</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Bulma</TD><TD>Jarren</TD><TD>12-Jan-2006</TD><TD>7.3kg/ 62cm(4mths)</TD><TD>PP</TD><TD>BM &amp; Dumex Mamex Gold</TD><TD>Maternal Grandma</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Ah May</TD><TD>Sam/Ray</TD><TD>13-Jan-2006</TD><TD>5.6kg,5.1kg/55cm</TD><TD>NTUC(Day)/ Nepia(Night)/ PP(Gng Out)</TD><TD>Similac</TD><TD>Paternal Grandma/Maid</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Bochap (Siewlng)</TD><TD>Yu Jie</TD><TD>23-Jan-2006</TD><TD>6.18kg/ 61cm</TD><TD>Nepia/Huggies/Pet(Day)Nepia(Night)</TD><TD>BM &amp; Dumex Mamex Gold</TD><TD>Nanny</TD><TD>Pasir Ris </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Ivory</TD><TD>Zi Jie</TD><TD>23-Jan-2006</TD><TD>6.7kg/ 64cm</TD><TD>Nepia</TD><TD>Similac</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>CCK </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Sally Cinnamon</TD><TD>Sarah</TD><TD>23-Jan-2006</TD><TD>4.5kg/ 57cm</TD><TD>Mamy Poko</TD><TD>Enfalac A+</TD><TD>Maternal Grandma</TD><TD>CCK </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Smiley</TD><TD>Jia Hui</TD><TD>24-Jan-2006</TD><TD>5.15kg/ 58cm</TD><TD>Nepia</TD><TD>BM &amp; Similac</TD><TD>Maternal Grandma</TD><TD>Sembawang </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Ling79</TD><TD>Nicole Tan</TD><TD>25-Jan-2006</TD><TD>6.0kg/ 62cm</TD><TD>PP/ Mamy Poko</TD><TD>Similac</TD><TD>Maternal Grandma</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Gingerale</TD><TD>Annalisa</TD><TD>26-Jan-2006</TD><TD>3.32kg/ 50cm</TD><TD>Mamo poko(Day)Pureen(Night) pampers(go out)</TD><TD>Friso Gold</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>VonVon78</TD><TD>Marcus</TD><TD>26-Jan-2006</TD><TD>6.12kg/63cm</TD><TD>Nepia</TD><TD>BM &amp; Enfalac A+</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>Bedok Reservoir </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Venus</TD><TD>Corrine</TD><TD>26-Jan-2006</TD><TD>7.1kg/60cm</TD><TD>Mamy Poko/Drypers/PetPet/PP</TD><TD>BM</TD><TD>Nanny</TD><TD>Jurong East </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>BB Ger</TD><TD>Shayna</TD><TD>29-Jan-06</TD><TD>5.9kg/ 63cm</TD><TD>Mamy Poko</TD><TD>Similac</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Babycutie</TD><TD>Jayden</TD><TD>1-Feb-2006</TD><TD>7.18kg/ 60.5cm</TD><TD>Nepia</TD><TD>Enfalac A+</TD><TD>Maternal Grandma/ Maid</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Jasminesym</TD><TD>Jerry</TD><TD>2-Feb-2006</TD><TD>5.8kg</TD><TD>Nappy (Day) Nepia(Night)</TD><TD>BM &amp; Enfalac A+</TD><TD>SAHM/ Maid</TD><TD>Bedok </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>oscarsem</TD><TD>Tavis</TD><TD>2-Feb-2006</TD><TD>6.6kg/64cm</TD><TD>PP/Mamy Poko</TD><TD>Enfalac A+</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>jasjas</TD><TD>Chloe Choo</TD><TD>4-Feb-2006</TD><TD>6.3kg/ 62cm</TD><TD>Pet Pet</TD><TD>Friso 1 Gold</TD><TD>Maternal Grandma</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Jappooh</TD><TD>Elvin</TD><TD>4-Feb-2006</TD><TD>6.2kg/ 59cm</TD><TD>Nepia</TD><TD>Similac/ Enfalac A+</TD><TD>Paternal Grandma</TD><TD>Bukit Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>C2202 Cecilia</TD><TD>Clara</TD><TD>4-Feb-2006</TD><TD>7kg</TD><TD>Drypers</TD><TD>Dumex Mamex Gold</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Clementi </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Carebear (Carol)</TD><TD>Amelia</TD><TD>5-Feb-2006</TD><TD>4.43kg/ 57cm</TD><TD>PP</TD><TD>Enfalac A+</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Pasir Ris </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Sunshinekid</TD><TD>Annika Chui</TD><TD>7-Feb-2006</TD><TD>5.8kg/ 58cm</TD><TD>Drypers/ Nepia</TD><TD>BM &amp; Enfalac A+</TD><TD>Maternal Grandma</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Etelle</TD><TD>Ethan Luah</TD><TD>8-Feb-2006</TD><TD>7.18kg/ 66 cm(3 mths)</TD><TD>Nepia/PP</TD><TD>Similac</TD><TD>Maternal Grandma</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Amanda</TD><TD>Xin Ru</TD><TD>8-Feb-2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Drypers(Day)PP(Night)</TD><TD>Dumex Mamex Gold</TD><TD>Infant Care</TD><TD>Sengkang West </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>mtanlove</TD><TD>Amos Jaw</TD><TD>9-Feb-2006</TD><TD>5kg/ 58cm</TD><TD>PetPet/Mamy Poko/ PP</TD><TD>Dumex Mamex Gold</TD><TD>Paternal Grandma</TD><TD>Sembawang </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Violet Blaze</TD><TD>Lee Feng Kai</TD><TD>9-Feb-2006</TD><TD>5.4kg/ 57cm</TD><TD>PP/ Drypers/ Nepia</TD><TD>BM</TD><TD>Maid/ Childcare</TD><TD>Sengkang </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Wendy</TD><TD>Daphne</TD><TD>10-Feb-2006</TD><TD>5.55kg/ 60cm</TD><TD>Nepia (Day) PP (Night)</TD><TD>TBM</TD><TD>Maternal Grandma</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Fan</TD><TD>Ryan</TD><TD>12-Feb-2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Nepia</TD><TD>Similac</TD><TD>Maternal Grandma</TD><TD>Tanjong Pagar </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>elfstar</TD><TD>Jordan</TD><TD>14-Feb-2006</TD><TD>9kg/ 70cm</TD><TD>PP/ Huggies</TD><TD>BM</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>UK </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Koli Selina</TD><TD>Noel</TD><TD>14-Feb-2006</TD><TD>5.7kg/62cm</TD><TD>Nepia/ PP</TD><TD>Similac</TD><TD>Maternal Grandma/ Maid</TD><TD>Bedok Reservoir </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Claire</TD><TD>Tan Xin Ru</TD><TD>16-Feb-2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Pet Pet/ Sealer</TD><TD>BM &amp; S26 Gold</TD><TD>Maternal Grandma/ Maid</TD><TD>West Coast </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>LIM</TD><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>20-Feb-2006</TD><TD>5.4kg/ 61cm</TD><TD>PP</TD><TD>Dumex Mamex Gold</TD><TD>Nanny</TD><TD>Bukit Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>ilim</TD><TD>Keagan Wong</TD><TD>21-Feb-2006</TD><TD>6.5kg/ 60cm</TD><TD>Japanese Brand</TD><TD>Friso</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Feza</TD><TD>Aida Ellyanna</TD><TD>21-Feb-2006</TD><TD>4.4kg/55cm</TD><TD>Mamy Poko</TD><TD>Similac</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>Marsilling </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Professor</TD><TD>Alston</TD><TD>21-Feb-2006</TD><TD>5.6kg/ 58cm</TD><TD>Drypers, Pampers, Huggies</TD><TD>Dutch Lady</TD><TD>Grandma</TD><TD>Bukit Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>bulomum</TD><TD>Ryan</TD><TD>22-Feb-2006</TD><TD>5.1kg/ 56cm</TD><TD>PP/ Drypers</TD><TD>S26</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>hipee</TD><TD>Lisa</TD><TD>25-Feb-2006</TD><TD>4+kg/ 58cm</TD><TD>Fitti</TD><TD>BM &amp; Dumex</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

sunshinekid: paiseh.. haha realise tat i missed out replyin u... ya my gal goin for 2bd jab tomorrow liao... at 3month her 2nd jab leh... ethan took his second one liao loh... hehe

Formula Milk
i ordered 8 tins(my boy drink 1 tin every 6 days) from Dignus, the isomil came from netherland leh, expiry date oct 08 somemore, quite a good deal. the promo will end may 06 leh. but the delivery a bit screw up leh. they told me they will come at 6pm but came at 11.25pm!
bb out
today brought bb to tanglin mall to shop for furniture at 230pm and then went marina square till 830pm. my bb play and coo a lot, came back straight away KO.hee hee

bumbo chair
hi all, i was thinking of ordering bumbo, anyone interested? hmmm.. if we can get enough people then maybe i can order.

koli

Wah, so late then they come!

I just bought the bumbo with the Jan Mommies at $68. Maybe u can ask Rena for the contact. But the distributor ran out of stocks, think the next batch coming in the next month or so.

Claire

Wah, free jabs! But hor, 5-in-1 still have to pay. Unless u jab individually. Coz they don't include DTP which is in the 5-in-1 jab. Maybe BCG booster can go there lor.

Wishing all of you a Happy 1st Mother's Day!
ĸڿ!!!

P/S: Those who can't read the chars, go to View> Encoding > More > Chinese Simplified

was wondering anyone can help
jus gave birth 2 weeks ago and now expressing my bm. one side of my breast suddenly feel very sore since last night. been pumping but still feel the pain though less heavy. tried cleaning (scare clot) still dun work. now starting to feel abit feverish, if this still persist, wat doc can i see? my gynae? thanks!

milo66

Oh no, you might be having mastitis. You'll probably need to see gynae and LC. LC to clear the blocked ducts, gynae for the medication for infection. I also not very sure, haven't gotten that. Do it quickly! In the meantime, massage and massage with warm water. If not, take a hot shower and massage in your bathroom.

milo66 - yes, pls massage n massage. btw, bb sucking is better than pump. try to feed direct instead. take care.

milo66
Mastitis r usually caused by infection or plugged duct n the symptoms include fever n red hot n swollen breast n it usually occurs on 1 side. Several conditions predispose a nursing mum to mastitis like fatigue, stress, plugged duct, an adrupt chg in feeding pattern, engorgement, oversupply n using too tight or underwired bra. U need to c a doc n get plenty of bed rest n fluids.

U can n shd continue breastfeed ur bb while being treated, the infection will resolve more quickly. Antibodies from ur milk will protect ur bb from the bacteria causing the infection. Ur bb may b fussy while nursing as the sodium level in BM increase during mastitis. If ur bb refused the affected breast do pump out often as ur bb would nurse to remain comfortable.

Hopefully this info helps u...

Fan
will upload the chart next friday look out for your updates

Koli
i also want to order hee hee free delivery for 4 tins is it?

etelle: my update for Xinru is
5.7Kg and 63.5cm as of 3 months and 5 days... hehe

kohli: how much is the bumbo and how does it look like?? i might be interested...

Hi Gals

Just recovered from a bout of mastitis =( it was quite bad, somemore didn't go see doctor becuz I kept thinking it was flu cuz I also just recovered from flu (btw mastitis has flu-like symptoms). My breasts was so painful that I just felt like fainting even just leaving them alone, needless to say when I'm pumping it....almost made me wanna give up breastfeeding there and then. I really had to grit my teeth and continue pumping &amp; massaging very regularly (every 2hrs). Fever up and down for 3 consecutive days, somemore I had to go for a job interview during one of the days, was bad.

It was one bad experience that really frightened me off but looking at jordan and my promise to provide bm for at least 6mths then i feel guilty abt giving up so easily loh....

He also very smart, was very fussy over the milk cuz the sodium content makes the milk a little more salty...

Koli
Thanks. WIll call them and ask for the manufacturer and the expiry date before i purchase

Amanda
updated already will reflect it on next friday's table
hee hee

Et
u feeling okie now....wow u very noble leh....

Etelle

Yea feeling much better now. Not noble la, there are mothers I know much much tolerant &amp; noble than me liao...

Happy Mother's Day to everyone!

mashy brainz
oh, 6 mths.. guess i cant join the exercise classes at Amore gym then.. thanks for the info. Yen Ping is your lactation specialist at KK? Is she good? How much is she charging? Can i have her contact? I manage t build to 500ml by pumping every 2.5hrs, but think my boy has nipple confusion.. so he very impatient when i latch him on.

How do your bbs fall asleep? My bb sleep pretty well at night, from abt 9pm+ to 8am+, wake up for 1-2 feeds. But the problem is he has never taken daytime naps for more than half hour per session. My maid will carry him to sleep then put him down on the rocker or bed, he will wake up immed or after 15-20mins. He will take 6-7 such short naps a day. I read this book called 'sleep sense' , realise he shd learn to fall asleep on the bed on his own so that he can have longer sleep periods. But when I try to train him, he cry very hard leh, I very heart pain. How to solve his daytime sleep problem? Help, anyone?

mashy brainz
I just read your posting on your boy being happy about you breastfeeding him.. so heartwarming.. so good. I am really envious.
wat is this lact-aid? Both my boy and me always end up in frustration when i latch him on.. think he is not getting enough when i tried to latch him on. he kept pushing and "complaining". either that, or he is not sucking well. Wonder whether your solution would
help me also.

It is really tiring to express breast milk every 3 hrs.. and the amount i express out is not so fantastic either. only
enough for 5 feeds. haiz.. so sian and upset sometimes. i dont think i can go on expressing much longer though. haizz..

Hey, is expressing 50~60ml every 3 hrs a below average milk supply? My boy is taking an average of 100ml of formula now.

Bulma
Hey, i think i know u in person.. saw you &amp; your bb's pix. not so sure though cos u look abit different.. Did u happen to take antenatal class from KKH? We met several times at Punggol Mall Koufu food court.

etelle,
dun mention lah! got good things must share mah.

et
wah... i read ur posting, i can feel ur pain. salute u for your endurance and determination in breastfeeding.

jasminesym
last time my boy aso like your boy. take very short naps, longest is 30 min. everytime he wakes up from nap, he will cry for very long. i start to realise that he maybe a light sleeper and he is not used to sleeping on his back. had a very hard time during confinement and second month. then my auntie asked me to put him to sleep on his tummy. of course first few days also sleepless day and night cos worried he might suffocate himself. till he had enuff practise to toss his head left and right while sleeping down then i can sleep well. till today just have to flip him over when he looks tired he will auto sleep.(at night he can sleep from 12am to 5 am then wake p for milk then sleep till 10am.) perhaps u wanna try?

bumbo chair
brought bb to mothercare to try the bumbo chair. he can fit in the chair but his head still not very stable. will buy it when he is 4 months old.

Koli
you mean you let Noel sleep on his tummy at night ah. Not advisable if that's the case leh cuz hor at night we adults tend to fall asleep soundly and may not be attentive to bb leh. Best to put his om his back for sleeping at night and for day time you can put him on his tummy to sleep but must always keep watch.

Koli: thanks.. i go see see...

Jas: u wanna try to use towel to wrap ur boy up?? cause that's wat they are doin to my gal at the infant care.. cause she will always sleep for 15-30 mins max 55 mins then wake up... and after they wrap her up, she can sleep for hours...

etelle: actualli also dangerous to let bb sleep on tummy in the day also... cant possibility keep watchin bb all the day ya.. tat's why when infant care say wanna let xinru sleep on tummy and i say dun wan... let her sleep on her back..so end up they wrap her...

Bulomum
yupz took the KKH antenatal class =) r u the long hair small size mummy wear glasses one? hehe nowadays seldom see u at the food court liao lei last wk at food court i was just telling my hb nowadays didn't see the sweet looking mummy liao haha he also stil rmbr u =)

gals
life so boring without msn hahaha now i bocm got mon blues as well as fri blues so end up everyday also blues cos mon-fri at work no msn then sat and sun gotto tk care bb also blues =p

koli
i dun wan the bumbo cos jarren's thigh v big so i guess few more months he will not able to fit in

ya dun let Noel sleep on tummy at night lah anyway nowadays i also seldom put jarren on his back to zzz.. nowadays his preferene is to zzz by his side.. he hor pattern liao liao lah haha

ET and mashy
thumbs up for both of u for your perseverence in BF. if i were u two, i will give up liao

I agree with Amanda, if we swaddle (wrap) bb when they sleep, they can sleep for longer periods of time. The movements of bb's hands and legs will get in the way coz they cannot control their reflexes yet and this will cause them to 'wake themselves up". I still swaddle my bb at night. Last night din swaddle her and i had to wake up so many times in the night to pacify her coz she finds her fingers and start sucking them and can't go back to sleep.

Re: Sleeping on Tummy
Try not to let bb sleep on their tummy coz most cases of SIDS (Sudden Infant Death Syndrome) happens to bbs sleeping on their tummies. Although the SIDS rate are very very low among Asians, but i think it is better to take precautions. The best way is to let bb sleep on their back on a firm mattress.

Mummies, ask u all huh... normally after the injection rite, bb willl develop fever within 12 hours after the jab rite, i bring xinru to take the jab on sat ard 12+ then the whole nite no fever till yesterday late afternoon 4+ then become feverish leh...
I told PD that there are some red dots on her little fingers then she told me something like the bacteria is being 'ta chu lai' by the antibotics in her body.. anyone experience tat??

Anyone let bb sleep on playpen?? are the mattress bend at the middle due to bb weight?? how to make the mattress firm?? i using the latex mattress...

amanda
my boy dun hv the red dots when he had his first jab. he taking 2nd jab nx thurs cos he keep coughing so i keep postpone his 2nd jab

anyone started on cereal for bb? or let them drink juices? i bought the heinz apple juice and also the first bite cereal that is suitable for bb 4-6 months.. can i let bb tk huh cos my boy just pass his 4 months last Friday? izzit too early for bb to tk lei... any advise?

oh ya, my boy slept on playpen til he was 3 months old then he refused. Think it's hot for him so nowadays he sleep on mattress on floor. the mattress did not bend when he was sleeping in the playpen

bul: the red dot not after the jab have one.. it just appear then i shun bian ask the PD then she say its the bacteria being beat out... cause her body got antibotics.. haha PD say she very strong.. fight the illness and won the fight... hehe
my mom told me bb can eat at 4months liao..

my mattress like very bendable in the middle leh... scare will not be good for her spine...

jas
my boy used to zzz for 15-30mins when i put him on his back to zzz so i try n error lor n i find tht my boy zzz better on his side with a pillow or bolster to hug, guess every bb is an individual u have to try n error lor....

Bulma
my boy oso coughing n got alot of phlegm so have to postphone his jab too, brought him to yu guo for treament last thurs 2day bringing him there again for massage...anyway my gf told me it's better to start taking solid food when bb r abt 6mths, let their digestive system matured 1st lor or when jarren nx jab u ask pd lor....but for fruit juice not very sure leh me oso thinking of giving keagan juice when he turn 4mths.

Bulma
I read that it is better to let bb take solid food only after 6 months though our mums will tell us 4months. Taking solid only aftet 6 months helps to reduce the possibility of bbs developing allergies to certain food.

<font color="ff0000">Jasmine</font>
My gal is really a sleeping beauty. In the morning after her feed, she can continue to sleep till 11+am, then sleep again till next feed, wake up, drink milk and sleep again. The only time she is really awake is around evening time. I realised my girl is very scared of the hot weather. She needs alot of wind then she will sleep v soundly. So sometimes, my aircond can be switched on for many many hours. No choice, when she is warm, she can't sleep well. Just like us adults.

<font color="ff0000">Regarding fruit juices</font>
I heard fruit juices may cause phlegms in babies, so it is not advisable to start them too early. From 4MO onwards, can start them on rice cereal. Heinz one is not bad as it is not sweetened. But the Nestle one is v v sweet. My elder boy used to love it, until he refuse all other brands which are unsweetened. Now for my girl, I am not gg to start her off with something so sweet.

<font color="ff0000">Regarding sucking of thumb</font>
Do you gals think sucking of fingers is better or sucking of pacifier? My girl loves to suck her fingers so much! I am very worried she becomes addicted then when she is older, she will have out-of-shape fingers leh, esp the thumb. But she refused the pacifier. Other pple tell me to try another brand and see how. But lookg at my son who is so addicted to the pacifier even till now at 3YO, I have phobia for pacifiers. Really dun know which is worse, pacifier or thumb. Pacifier can throw away next time, but not the thumb.. :p

RE: Sucking of Thumb
This is really a tough question... i wonder too. I realised my gal gets very engrossed when she is sucking her fingers (she can't find her thumb yet), she will be oblivious to her surroundings. Sometimes she is so addicted that she will wake up in the middle of the night to suck... i know she is sucking when i hear the "schup schup" sound... seems delicious.. haha! When i am talking to her, she won't look at me. however, for pacifier... i am at least able to get some attention from her. For me, i think it's a balance between the 2... i can't decide which is better too
It's good for them to explore their fingers at this stage and a pacifier do come in handy during bedtime.

Bulomum

Yen Ping's no is 6394 8232 or tel: 6293 4044. I wasn't a patient there, so I was charged $50 for first visit.

You might wanna visit her first coz everyone's prob is different and may need different treatments. For me, it's low milk supply and my boy's suck is weak even though he likes to suck on my breasts.

<font color="ff0000">Summer</font>
Yah, I know sucking of thumb/fingers is part and parcel of growing up, so we should just let them explore. The problem is when to intervene.
Luckily for my girl, she is not the cranky sort so dun really have to resort to pacifier to calm her down, ie, shut her crying :D For my elder son, we had to whip out the pacifier quite early and it's really a saviour when he is crying uncontrollably. Pacifier is the only thing that can calm him.

Hi Sunshinekid,

Think of it this way... you can throw out a pacifier but you cannot chop off her finger? Dun mean to sound so cruel but personal view is it is easier to get them off the pacifier.
Many of my fren's bb suck thumb and they find it very very hard to kick them off the habit.

My gal suck on pacifier but I kick it off at 1yo. She does not suck her thumb. My boy oso taking pacifier now but I'm planning to kick the habit sooner.

But sometimes if the bb only likes the thumb or fingers, then oso no choice lor.

Sunshinekid
My niece now already 4yrs old still sucking her thumb, my sis dunno how to wean her off very difficult ah but for pacifier at least we r in control lor but like wht violet says if bb likes to suck thumb oso no choice....

Thanks for the advice! But do you carry bb before he falls asleep or let him go to sleep on his own?

Re : sucking thumb
It depends on individual bbs. Both of my older ones never suck thumb. My eldest girl sucked pacifier until 3YO. One fine day, she told me she dun want the pacifier and threw it in the dustbin. From tat day onwards, she never asked for it leh. My 2nd boy jie pacifier at 10mths, guessed he was not so addicted to it anyway. My 3rd bb loves his thumb, he can sucked both at the same time, but he sucks pacifier to sleep also. I think pacifier is better, we have more control over it, while his thumb is always with him, it is a more difficult habit to kick.