(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

YES tracy
he looks sleepy always heehee regardless what time of the day hahahahaa.. like bo kui lidat heehee
I'm using Dr Winston Ng. Read that he is quite a nice doc so i used him. True enough, he is really nice. Quite patient, will bother to explain my queries.

sept03,
haha, i guessed as much. i realized he looks sleepy when he toks to adults. but his eyes open to full size when toking to babies..maybe dats y he's a PD

ya, heard dat Dr Winston ng is good.

SY , wenyl,

we must let bb know that we are not only the care taker .. that is why we need to communicate with them more often.. tell them stories even if they can't understand .. my son is like that too.. but after training .. now he loves me more..

mashybrain - wats the hotline no for mamex dumex gold?

morning mummies..wah so many posting to catch up. was laughing my way while reading. colleagues think i am siao! so much abt in laws but frankly are we very strict when comes to our IL? i just realise my mum yesterday didnt sterilise the bottles after washing. she said she got no time..need to look after my boy and then sterilise. and sometimes, she does not force my son to drink his milk finish. always left like 50ml or 60ml saying he does not want. but when i feed, he will finish them always. and this morning, she threw away 60ml of my EBM. i can understand she is tired as my hb is now on reservist so only she is looking after my boy 5 days in a row. thereafter which my IL will look after for 2 days. to think abt it, if it happens to my IL, i will definitely be unhappy but then comes to my mum, i tend to soften alittle.

May - i am also using sarong but does not require drilling? it comes with a stand and best is it is movable. why didnt u guys get the mobile one? btw, your mil is so funny but frankly she make sense too but pls tell her bb sleeping in sarong wil always have their pee dripping out. the bed may end up soaking with your bb's pee

hi rena,
i do read to my bb too.. was wondering if i should actually just read out or should i place a story book in front of him.
How do u do it actually?

sept03,
i'm still seeing Dr. Keoy. oredi sign pkg wif him. his bishan clinic is near my MIL's place, dats y we also stick to him.

i'm going back for review on 20th May.

during my last chk-up on 25th Feb, there was this couple b4 us wif a baby boy. dr. soong said the baby is jus a couple of days younger than mine. wondering was it u??

RE: Gathering at my place for SAHM....PTAHM

Haa haa..at this moment only 4 mommies coming over to my place on monday.. those who are interested just PM me or drop me a mail...

I am staying at bishan.. welcome to come at 2pm onwards... small teabreaks provided...its a time to take a break and gossip..haaa

sept03,
so coincidental. if i remember correctly, u r rather tall! i kept peeping at ur bb sleeping on ur hb's tummy n wondering boy or girl? cos ur bb was wearing beige rompers i tink.

Rena,
Count me in too. Can u sms me ur address? Tks! I really hope I can make it this time.

sept03,
I do read to my boy daily too. Normally, I will place him on my lap & the story book will be infront of both of us. Yesterday, I sat on the sofa with the TV on. And ....when I held the book higher to read, bb got edgy & started pushing the book away. I realised he wasnt paying attention & the book was blocking his view. He wanted to watch TV!! Faintz!

Re: Gathering for SAHM next Monday
Can bring your slings for those who know how to use? I desperately need to know how to use, so that when I need to run away from home, I can just sling bb and go!

Wenyl,
my gal is a TV queen already, haiz... if I am latching her on in front of the TV, she can be so engrossed with the TV on her left, that she forget to turn back to the right for her milk!

wenyl,

my pils also the same. Before the BB came, they would wait for us to eat together. Now, they eat first to spend time with baby. : )

rachel,

my gal also kept sleeping after her first 6-in-1 jab. It's normal - as long as there's no fever. She became right as rain the next day.

ssf,

how did you manage to feed your baby EBM? my gal still won't drink from the bottle if she senses that i am ard leh.

sl-i started bottle feeding my boy 3 weeks onwards so he is very used to bottle feeding. i also get my parents, IL to feed him too so to get him use to it when i start working. so far so good. he dun choose who to feed him. for your case, i believe when he is hungry, he will drink it no matter who feed.

hi sl,
thanks for the info.. i guess i should have asked. It totally slipped my mind.. its only this morning when i remembered that I should have checked if there are any package available..
so toot toot 1 me..

May,
Yours is really the champion!

PIL,
Haha, psychopath indeed!!!

Well, I'm actually okay when MIL din make any tonic but after birth and all those fuss over my boy just make me wonder. Only want the small one and not the big one huh? No tonic during confinement too. Cant stand it when she calls on every Monday after our Sunday visit to check how's the baby when back home? What do you mean? He wld fuss and miss you? Somehow it made me feel like i'm incapable to handle him. She just gets on my nerves. She wld be so sweet and get all physical with me in front of others and I HATE it. She wanted to do the confinement and to take care of my boy and i rejected both ideas. Knowing myself, sure will "jia bian" She was so mad. She appeared okay when i told her but called my mom and complained. Worse was she told mum she's capable of doing anything if she's really pissed! I'm damn angry when she said that. My mom was so stress caught between us. She's using my mom to convey messages and to influence me. I refused to give in and i guess all the nonsense I tolerated during preg just exploded after birth.

RE : Leng Liang
Mom said can give "pao sheng". Leng liang too liang. MIL suggested to mix barley water into milk sometimes but doc said he's too young for that.

Today brought Ariene for her 5-in-1 jab and an additional pneumococcal vaccination. She's 62cm, 5.75kg. She cried for 30sec but after that all is normal. No unusual sleepiness or fussiness nor crankiness. PD also ask me to feed her the panadol syrup twice, 6 hourly. The Pneumococcal jab is very expensive, need 4 shots monthly @ $168 each jab but I think its worth it cuz the bacteria causes brain & spinal coard damage, pneumonia, middle ear infection and blood poisoning if not treated immediately on catching the diesease. This bacteria is spread easily through saliva and breath of (something like the way SARS is transmitted) and babies below 1 yr are especially vulnerable to it. You may want to ask ur PD about the vaccine. I didn't give rotavirus as it causes only diahhrea and vomitting which is not deadly as long as baby is well hydrated.

sleepingdeer
mayb don't watch tv when you bf your gal?
for using the sling, you can 1st put the bb in the position that you wanna hold bb, then pull the extra cloth after that... i am still practising practising... everytime ppl saw my bb in the sling, they are worried that bb will suffocate inside. 'cos she's like 'kew' inside the sling.... i told them, as long as bb is able to zzz in the sling and doesn't complain, i dont' care. :p

ssf,

I went back to work after taking only 2 mths ML and now, my gal's 3 mths already - she still doesn't like bottle. She will only drink to keep the hunger away but not till she's full. She would rather wait till i come home in the evenings to latch her on.

baby poo
Oh ya, some mummies were asking abt poo. I asked my PD about baby poo also cuz Ariene did not poo for whole day yesterday. Its normal for babies not to poo for up to 1 week (7 days). After 1 week, if baby still has not pooed yet and stomach is bloated and hard with poo inside, PD will give suppository for baby to clear bowel. Babies on breastmilk don't usually have constipation problem as stool will still be soft even if they have not pooed for 7 days. For formula fed babies, give them alittle cooled boiled barley water or cooled boiled rice water to prevent constipation.

Grabbing things
Ariene has started grabbing things since yesterday. She's been dragging her bolster & blanket around. Her fingers are not strong enough to grasp a rattle yet but she did try grabbing her Grumpy care bear. She's also likes to do the gong xi act nowadays.

Colic
Her colic miraculously stopped this week. She has just turned 3 months on Monday. No wonder they call it 3-months colic..

sl
My girl also does the same. She drinks only 80-90ml from the bottle each time and latches on super long when I reach home. According to my PD she should be drinking 140ml per feed as she has only 6 feeds now cuz she sleeps through from 9pm to 6am, missing 2 feeds in between. However, PD also added that as long as she's gaining weight normally and developing, its nothing to worry about. Some babies just have smalled appetites. They will wake up for their feeds if they are hungry. If they sleep throughout, its fine.

Hi Wendy,
Ariene is long uh? My gal is only 59cm, cannot even cross the 60 mark... haha...

Re: Poo
Try telling that to my stubborn MIL, no matter what we say, she still say no poo unhealthy.... *banging head*

BTW,
Wendy, are you back at work already? Coz at the gathering that day, you were saying that Ariene refuses the bottle totally? Is she better now?

SL,
hee hee, I read about some babies doing that, drink very little from the bottle, coz they rather wait for mummy to come home to latch on... I find that very endearing, my little piglet doesn't bother about rubber teat or human teat, as long as it is teat, grab ah...!

Mamex Hotline:

6243 4404.

They are very hush hush about giving samples, say must send for approval coz not allowed to promote infant formula. Takes abt 2 weeks to get the tin.

Gathering?
I'm interested. Rena, i pm u.

sleepingdeer

Re: MIM slings
Same prob as you. Dunno how to use. Now had to use the lucky baby sling coz much easier to assemble and put him in. Washed the sling and end up got those cotton bits on the sling. Hiaz....

MILs,
I really dont look forward to going to my ILs place every alternate Sun (something I manage to convince my HB). His 2 nephews, although loves her a lot, never let her have a good nap and keep jumping up and down the bed. Once, my girl was even pressed on by 1 over-enthusiastic boy! Luckily there was a pillow on her and no injuries on her. Wah lau, for a moment, really wanted to strangle him, but the boy was very upset cos he didnt mean it. But after that, lesson never learnt Then MIL always pass my girl here and there like a toy like that and even dare say that Go to other peoples house, dont keep carrying her yourself. Alamak, I was only trying to burp her for goodness sake. FIL not too bad, doesnt dare to carry young babies but MIL is really interfering I get a thrill when Kirsten gets upset after they carry her, hehee Luckily, HB on my side, because he also cannot stand his Adams family, keke..

Surprisingly MIL was quite good to me after I gave birth. Know why? So we can have a second kid! Just less than 1 week after giving birth, she kept stressing HB and me to have a 2nd child. Siao ah! One ear in one ear out And Im the only caretaker of my girl. Only on certain days, asked my mum to help babysit her, since shes working. Luckily I have a wonderful and understanding mum!

Sleepingdeer, some of your descriptions are so funny! Good that you can see the lighter side of MIL issue now.

May, really, your MIL is so ingenious. What if someone trips when climbing the bed? Even more dangerous and likely than your girl dropping onto the floor

SAHM,
Rena, count me in SAHMs gathering! It will really help to encourage one another and at least get some social life too. I've sent you a PM too...

sl, I just force my girl to drink EBM, let her cry for 20min or so, when shes really hungry, she will drink I used to feed her a bottle a day, hoping that she will get used to it and like sleepingdeers gal, take any teat but it doesnt work that way. Then she got a cold turkey switching from direct breastfeed to bottle-feed. After 2 days, used to the bottle liao Hard-hearted mummy but I think easier to wean now than later

sleepingdeer
I started work on MOnday. Ariene cried a fair bit on MOnday for the first feed then subsequently for 2nd feed, she seemed to get the idea that I'm not around to comfort her and she drank from the bottle with only abit of crying according to my maid and MIL. I rushed home as soon as I can and was home by 2pm so she only neede to feed from the bottle twice this week. So far so good.

By the way, any mummie writing blogs for your babies? Hehee, I've been writing one for Kirsten and can add more links to it if anyone has... Very fun!

well wendy..

you really have to take it easy.. bb need to get use to you going to work.. if not later will have problem.. take it easy if not MS will go down due to stress..

celine
She has been sleeping more at regular hours at night since she was in my tummy. Never gave me trouble even when I was pregnant. After she was born, I just start on a routine so she can get the idea of day and night easier. Everyday, I would give her a feed at 9-10pm then wipe her with warm towel and change her into long sleeves and long pants. During first 2 months, she still need her feed at 12am and 4am but now, she only wakes up earliest 4.30am for her feed.

wendy,
ic... dat's good. my boy can sleep at most 5hrs at nite. hoping he can stretch longer. tried to feed him more at nite in hope that he can sleep longer but he can't finish...

Mashy,
yah lor, the sling keep giving me problem, but I so wanna learn so that if I still BF, I can do it discreetly... now my gal is like a 'ba zhang' inside the sling, very uncomfortable... bring your sling next monday lah, then we can play around. If Denmy coming, she can teach us

Valarie,
me too,I wanna learn how to write blog... think it will be a nice gift for bb when she grows up...

Wendy,
good to hear she is getting used to it, coz that time you mentioned she was very stubborn, dun want means dun want
So good that she can sleep through the night, do you think it's the night routine that make Ariene get the idea that it's sleep time?

Shannon still wakes up in the middle of the night. The problem with her is that she gets so little sleep in the day, that she is starting to get dark circles under her eyes, so every night when she sleeps after 8pm feed, we dun want to change her or wipe her for fear that she wakes up. Then 11pm she will normally wake up for one, and drop off to wonderland as soon as she is done... again cannot wipe... sigh

wow so much post to catch up... read until eye cross and couldnt' finish reading all..keke

Re: Avent descaling
I also using Avent sterilizer...
Err.. how to do descaling har?
pls advise

Sleepingdeer : I also looking fwd to it.. quiet an adventure for me cos gng without hb first time :p

so sad i can't join next mon. next one will try to go.

re blog
i started one too but not very creative...

http://mylittleemperor.blogspot.com/

can give me some ideas?

wenyl,
your boy is like mine. will smile and look at everyone except me but when he wants to sleep he will look for me.

rena
i do sing and tell my boy stories but very soon he will cry....

sleepingdeer, sure! Let's all learn together during the gathering!

cookie, this is not my first time but still a bit scared going out on my own with bb... I'll be slinging her so it'll be easier to take public transport.

hey valerie,
i jus signed up and it seems pretty to use.. thanks for recommending this. I think i will start a blog for my boi boi