(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sleepingdeer
I read from somewhere that setting the baby into a routine early will help them settle in earlier so I just did it since the day she was home. Not so sure if its the routine that helped. Sometimes, when she sleeps through fom 5pm and never wake up for her feed, I'll wake her up at 10pm to feed and change her. Otherwise, I wouldn't know what time she'll wake up for her feed and upset the routine.

cindy,
i use gauze dipped in boiled water. been doing dat since 1mth, so she's got used to it, will open her mouth once the gauze touches her lips. but dun try to clean too deep hor. i read some mummies clean too deep n the bb vomitted.

Re:burping
mummies, do u still burp ur babies? nowadays after feed, once i let her sit up she burps immediately. if she doesnt burp, i jus let her go back to sleep without burping. i dun do the pat pat on back thing anymore.

MIL
Tuesday I got home early and saw my MIL carrying Ariene walking here and there. I admit I was alittle rude but I got so pissed seeing that I "ordered" my MIL to put Ariene down. My MIL kept insisting that Ariene kept crying so she carry her. So, I told her when she cry, should check what she wants instead of just blindly carrying her. My MIL kept telling Ariene "sorry need to put you down cuz ur mummy don't want me to carry" etc like I'm such a mean mother. After she put her down, Ariene protested abit but I gave her the stern look, turned her around and patted her buttocks abit she stopped crying immediately. Ariene was hungry and instead of checking if Ariene's hungry or uncomfortable or wet nappy, she just happily carry and do NOTHING. So pissed. Afet

MIL
Tuesday I got home early and saw my MIL carrying Ariene walking here and there. I admit I was alittle rude but I got so pissed seeing that I "ordered" my MIL to put Ariene down. My MIL kept insisting that Ariene kept crying so she carry her. So, I told her when she cry, should check what she wants instead of just blindly carrying her. My MIL kept telling Ariene "sorry need to put you down cuz ur mummy don't want me to carry" etc like I'm such a mean mother. After she put her down, Ariene protested abit but I gave her the stern look, turned her around and patted her buttocks abit she stopped crying immediately. Ariene was hungry and instead of checking if Ariene's hungry or uncomfortable or wet nappy, she just happily carry and do NOTHING. So pissed. After that I reminded my MIL again that I don't want Ariene to be carried around for no reason as that will spoil her. Hopefully my MIL will remember or I'll have to remind her again. Sigh..

mongs
ya, i prefer mrs wong than betty. but both of them are good...

yesterday my gal was yelling, and my sis was 'shaking' my gal to make her quiet. she got scolded by me. :p then i told her, next time when she has bb, don't let anyone to shake the bb, if not when bb got use to it, she can nvr have proper rest.

Wendy,
my FIL also like dat, always carry my bb for nothing, push pacifier to her for nothing! my MIL also has this habit of "conveying" messages via my baby to me. super irritating.

i'm finding it strange that my MIL's pack of diapers can last longer than mine, although she looks after my gals Mon-Fri, while i'm only Sat & Sun.. i think she doesnt change her diaper regularly..

sleepingdeer,
i kind of follow the same routine as Wendy too. my gal has a habit of not taking any milk after 7pm. so i'll wake her at 11.30pm for milk then she'll sleep for 7hrs b4 next feed. if i want her to wake up at 7.30am, i feed her at 12.30am, 6am, means feed at 11pm. she's stuck to the 7hrs thing

babylon,
ya, more sleep is better for babies. when my gal was colicky, she couldnt sleep well and she didnt look chubby no matter how much milk she drank. once we settle her colic, she sleeps longer and became chubbier.

Tracy
your gal and my boy sama sama. can stand side by side liao =p

re: burping
my boy still need to be pat on the back to make him burp, but during night feed he will always drift off to wonderland before i got the chance to pat him. so i jus leave him alone and put him back to his cot. so far so good

may
me oso encounter the same thing. that time i itchy hand go and place a blanket which is fold into the size of a small pillow on place on my boy tummy. thinking that will calm him during his sleep ( he was quite a jumpy bb when he is younger) after a while my hubby rush in to check on him when he heard some sound from bb room. he saw the blanket was covering his face and he was struggling!! think he did his kicking pattern again which is bringing up his both leg 90 degree high. that is why the blanket landed and covered his face... got warning from hubby and dont dare do it again.

wendy,
u are very firm with ur MIL which is very good..
My MIL also pissed me off when we visited her on Sun. She positioned the fan to blow BB's head.. i was very angry. I asked her,can let the wind blow directly like that meh? She gv me a whole load of bullshit to say yes. I was damm angry.. when she left the room, i immediately changed BB's position. SO angry

avent is organising a talk on breastfeed and bb massage by Mrs wong at centerpoint nursery room.. on the 22nd ..$5 dollars I think.. but bbs are not allowed

re:pD Dr Winston Ng
got the recommendation from wendy and durianlover. went to him for my boy 5-in-1 jab. can say he is good and patient. he really know how to handle my boy. when he was checking my boy's eye, i told him about me having lazy eye and he did a check on me too! he really bother to explain things to you clearly which is what i like very much =)

rachel
is the waiting time to see Dr Winston long? need to make appt how many days in advance. thinking of bringing my gal to see him next week for development assessment.

sunny
I called on monday and make an appointment on tuesday monday. its fast coz no people when i got there, think its bcoz i got 10am appointmant.

cindy - i have not receive the CD yet..maybe i go check again today.

re:blogs
nice blogs that you guys have created. will go and create one soon as it seems easy to start one

Re : Gathering
can i know where it is? im also on leave on Monday, so might b able to join in and also, need to learn how to use the sling!!!

Re : baby vomitting
Celeste has been vomitting her milk once a week for the past 3 weeks... firstly cos she needs to be carried ard the house as shes very fussy bout drinking now and secondly, BEWARE she stuffs her fingers in her mouth and dig at her throat... she actuali was nauseated and she relai did threw up yest nite... it was very scary for me... out of a sudden, she kept quiet and then she went MERLION!!! i have told my MIL and maid to give her the pacifier shld she stuff her fingers in... better that way than to have her puke...mummies, do take note of this and be extra careful...

wendy,

i don't feel good abt this cos I can work till 8 - 9 pm sometimes that means that my gal's gonna "starve" till i reach home at 9-10pm.

sleepingdeer,

the problem is when i latch her on, she looks at me with super big eyes like telling me "it's okay mummy i will wait till you come back okay?" Super stressed for me leh.

mashy/sleepingdeer,

I am also not very good at using the sling. In fact, i am not using it now cos my shoulder aches after slinging my gal for 1 hr.

valerie,

i actually started bottle-feeding her 1 wk before i go back to work hoping that she will adapt. It has been 5 wks already and she still hasn't. I got scared seeing her like this. i mean, it's the same milk and she already got so much problem adapting, what if my ms became so little till i can't continue TBF? Won't she finds it more difficult to adapt? What abt eating semi-solids later? Or am i thinking too much?

SY,

Your blog is nice!!

valerie,

yours is very cute ... Kirsten's so cute...

seeing both the blogs makes me wanna start one for my gal but this mummy lazy lah.

mongs,

i have seen grace and yen peng before. I prefer yen peng. I find grace very discouraging leh. If i just see grace without going to yen peng, I would have stopped bfing already. Her comment to me was that my bb is sucking on an empty breast and "advised" me to give her FM. I was so discouraged and upset then my friend recommended me yen peng and asked me to see her instead. I find her very encouraging and warm. She answers all my questions quite promptly despite that she's very busy. It is only with her support and encouragement that I can continue to TBF.

tabbiesus,

i had the same experience with grace as well. she kept on scolding me for not drinking enough soup. When i said that i am drinking water, she asked me if i am making milk for my bb or making urine?!! Subsequently, if i have troubles in bf, i go to yen peng, even though i am charged higher cos i didn't deliver at kkh.

Hi Babylon,
hee hee, me stay at Hillview Ave, just behind bbt batok. You live quite near me then... can meet up next time

SL,
agree would be stressful to you, but try not to worry too much, babies are tougher than we always think... if they are really hungry, they will eat eventually... your gal will get used to it with time... hee hee, I dun want to think about introducing semi-solids... think that will be a whole new adventure with flying food everywhere

Wah, this Grace seems horrible huh... I drink lots of water too leh... so means water no use to make milk is it? Have to drink soup then got use?

sunny
good that you have already train your bb to the habit of sling.. I must try harder.

for lessen my mil burden, we have order Tingkat dinner already so I dun see the reason to got wet market...
I also know how difficult it is to take care of bb alone, I did told my mil she can bring bb down for her regular kopi and breakfast and lunch no problem.. my only request is not to the wet market, until when bb bigger perhaps cos I still think it's dirty there cos lotsa raw meat and fishes around.

God's Child
The merlion thing is really scary.. I expereince and I feel so sim tia after that...feel like crying also when she cry...

Hi Tracy,

My gynae also assigned Dr Keoy for my unborn gal. How's his consultation charges and package for the vaciinations?

BTW, do you stay around Bishan?

Hi Cindy,

I clean baby's tongue with cloth before bath every morning. I add a bit of salt into the warm water. That's what most of my friends do.

sl
agree with you yen ping is warm, encouraging and friendly. went to her once on breast feeding and to unblock the clog. she even asked me to come down during her lunch hour coz her appointment for that day is fully packed. at the end of the session she even gave me a dozen of glass bottle to store my EBM =)
oh yes, btw check with you when your fren be coming back from korea? hopefully he can find them.

God's child
my boy oso did that merlion thing once and it really freak us out. he really created a foundation and till now that scene still bury deep inside my mind =p

Re: Gathering
Anyone going from Yishun? Im thinking of taking a cab so can share if anyone interested!

Tracy, I think Ill go for just 2 hours bah, cos need to pump every 3 to 4 hours

Cookie, Tracy, I have to convince my hubby to let me go to the gathering cos hes worried that I have to carry so many things and sling her. Then told him I really really want to go and make friends, although still scared but cant tell him that. I havent even ventured out to buy lunch.

Re: Blog
SY, there is a step-by-step instruction if you click on the edit-me link on your blog to include other webbies, but a bit difficult to understand. Are you going to the gathering? I can show you how it works. Im also trying to figure out how to add videos. Got to ask my friends who have done it

Cookie, Wenyl, sl, just do it! I only update once or twice every week too, dont have to spend too much time on it, theres 12 years more to go to update it!

Re: MIL
Wendy, old folks seem not to understand that crying is the only form of communication a baby has, so most dont check what is wrong before picking up baby. To them, once a baby stops crying when carried and started again after being put down, means that they always want to be carried. I have to keep telling my ILs and parents that my baby seldom cries for no reason. Then they will slowly get the hint after that.

sl, sounds like you are still latching your girl after work? I was like you, super stressed when Kirsten rejected the bottle and kept rooting for my breast. I used to give in to her desires. But after I decided to pump exclusively, I have to ren xin wean her off and gave her a few days to adapt. After 2 days of crying, she got used to it. And my daily MS actually increased from 700+ to 900ml after I started pumping exclusively. *touchwood* so far, I havent gotten any blocked ducts like I used to because I always drain the breasts properly (Kirsten does a poor job on that). I havent regretted my decision to wean her off, although I do miss our breastfeeding sessions.
Dont think too much, your MS will definitely be affected if you are stressed. When your girl is ready, semi-solids shouldnt be a problem.

cookie
think your MIL dont like to be told by ppl what she should do la. some elderly is like that one. from the way she react when you talk to her so nicely can tell liao. do she listern more to someone? maybe you can get this person help to talk some sense into her. then you can set your mind at ease.

valerie,
my baby also root for my breast when I am back from work although i am sure she is not hungry.
I am also thinking of weaning her off my breast as I find her latching for the left side quite bad. I got mastitis twice in a month and have to be on antibiotics for both cases. how do you do it? you reduce the number of sessions gradually or you do it one short and switch to bottles at night? do you wake up in the middle of the night to pump?

mongs, when I had blocked ducts, Sister Lim from TMC helped me to clear them. Pretty good job and she's quite encouraging too. But I think because she uses her thumb and fingers, rather than knuckles, she takes a bit more time to clear. And plus point is, she goes to your house to do it for you and charges $50/hr and $10 for transport. Let me know if you are interested, can pass you her contact.

mongs, I do it one short (cold turkey) when Kirsten was about 10weeks old, so day and night, all bottle feed. When I started pumping exclusively, I pump every 3 hours in the daytime and once in the middle of the night. But I cannot tahan the middle of the night pump anymore, too tired, so dropped that and now pumping 6 times a day. But I heard from a friend, if you want to increase your MS, continue with the middle of the night pump.

Also forgot to mention that Sis Lim uses thumb and fingers so takes longer time to clear the lumps but less painful. Depends on whether you are the "chang tong bu ru duan tong" type...

valerie,
Yen Ping also use thumb and fingers. u mean there are LC who use knuckles? so scary! maybe u can pm me sister lim contact? does she work on sat? I am adopting the wait and see attitude now cause after a few pumps today, the lumps are getting smaller. may see LC tomorrow if I don't get better tonight.

mongs, using knuckles sounds so terrifying isn't it? That's what I heard from Sis Lim herself, so not sure if all the LC's at TMC do that. It sounds like a torture room to me, with all the half-naked mummies in the same room. So poor thing... I'm going to PM you now. Hopefully, you can clear the lumps by today! Jia you!

mongs, cannot PM you cos you didn't set it. Anyway, here's her home no: 64561169, she can accept voicemails too if nobody around.

rena, chenoa,
dr. keoy's first time consultation is $35, followed by $30 for subsequent ones. his 5-in-1 pkg is $569, abit on e high side. pls add gst.

chenoa,
i stay punggol, but my MIL bishan dats y

rena,
sorri, i may not be able to go ur pl on monday afterall
i jus got news dat my older nephew also down with HFMD today. so i beta stay at hm, dun wanna pass anything to any of u, jus in case.

gee, i was so looking forward to it. this morning i even took my bb downstairs in a stroller to practice for monday..

valerie,
me also was planning to reach rena's at 2pm and leave at 4pm cos my gal's feeding is mostly 2pm, then 5pm. but now can't go liao..haiz

mongs,
hope uur lumps clear off by tonight! i often got clots too, like once a week, but i hvnt been to a LC so far cos everytime i plan to go, the breasts seem to 'get scared' n the lumps clear off

mongs,
iron supplements? my bb on 70% breastmilk, maybe dats why not given, but iron will make them constipated, won't it?