(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

MamaPanda
Oh that's great news!!! Congrats to you! So when are you due again?

hahaha, I'm seeing my gynae on 8 July too! to see if can see the fetal heartbeat by then. I suspect my EDD is end February.

MamaPanda
yes! I heard 14 Feb is CNY next year!!! My mom sort of grumble and ask why I always like to choose near CNY period then give birth. hahaha. Coz our #1 were delivered slightly before CNY period too.

I did the online calculator thingy, it says my EDD is possibly 28 Feb. I'll see what my gynae says then.

Hi Ky,

So you write using right hand but can use left hand for scissors and can openers etc?

I am of two minds whether to train Megan to switch to right hand..........

I was asking my boy if he wanted a baby didi or meimei. He, without hesitation, told me that he wants di-di. So can play soccer ball, basketball and all sorts of ball games with him! hahaha.

I hope 4 year age gap is still ok

Yuki

Yap. I'm really thankful my mum did force me to write with my right hand ... if I'm not wrong, she did it when I was 6. She'll hold my right hand and trace with me ... she told me this as I don't remember. I had observe my left-hand fren ... she had to lift up her hand to check what she's written and perhaps she's generally a slower worker, she's rather slow in finishing her copywork. personally, I'll correct my kid's writing only to use with right hand and leave the rest alone.

.ky.

Mamachan,
actually no matter what age gap would be good if the siblings can grow to love each other. My first dd is 5 yrs older. I think she is more ready to take care of sister and to give in and understand that bb sister cannot control herself sometimes. Of course if the age gap is smaller, they may be able to play more together, but may also fight more. I have also seen very close siblings of small age gap. Important is how you help to nurture their relationship

Ky,

Actually it's not good to change a left hander to a right hand. As this will confused their mind when they grow up..
Elijah is a left hander but he writes fast and nice.. Therefore I think it is case to case basis.. I have check with few professionals in this area and they give me the same answers..
Our prime minister is left hander too..

Because of my 6 yrs old son, I have personally spending times exploring 3G Abacus & Traditional Abacus.

After completing the 3G ABACUS instructor course, I have applied the methods to teach my son. It is very simple & easy to understand. As such, he has shown more interest in mathematics than before.

I am planning to let him take part in the INTERNATIONAL Grading Exam this coming DEC 09. If possible, I will let him take part in year 2009 competition.

Currently, I am teaching kids & parents the 3G Abacus.
If you are interested in 3G ABACUS, please email me.

mamachan
yo lady!! BIG BIG Congrats!!!!

the market rate for normal months can goes from 1.8k to 2kplus. CNY period can be 3k.

Mamachan,
Mine last year (Apr 2008) was S$2k. My colleague just did confinement during this year's CNY period. Was S$2.5k.

mamachan

i'm paying 1.8k for mine. Actually since u have maid should be easier on u. Just need to get maid to cook confinement food. D is in full day or half day cc now?

Yah.. Mama chan ,
Our CL charge our forum friends 1.8k only .. But it not thru intro is 2k.. Chinese new year is 2.7k but tat is our friend friend rate only..

Mamachan
dun worry about the age gap. Different age gap has got its own advantage. Both young young one, grown up together. Only parents more xiong. My fren's daughter is exactly 5 years and birthday same day, her daughter adore her brother. Mine is 3.5 years not much diff from your 4 years, it is good age that they do understand what you say and know how to show their affection.

Though my kids fight daily and jealous of one another, but when they show their affection ha ha it is very heart warming. Like on Sat nite, I came home after making Aden sleep at mum's place, he woke up in the middle of the night, Charmaine took over my role and pat Aden to sleep and even sing for him.

Aden will do anything for Charmaine and if he ask for water, he will make sure I prepare Charmaine's share too.

Of course parents has to make sure we treat them fairly and also spend some quality time individually. Especially with the elder one because they only can remember ha ha for a good 3 years , they do not have to fight for attention man.

Chicken Little
Thanks for sharing. Yah, I did plan for #1 and my #2 to be at least 3 years apart, so easier to handle and reason with #1. D so far is receptive to the idea of having a baby didi or meimei. Though he tells me he prefers didi.

I find it encouraging that when I ask him if he wants to kiss baby in my tummy, he's very eager and says 'Yes!'. When I first I told him of baby, he thinks I was hiding the baby under my clothes! LOL!

mashy
I'm hoping my mom will do confinement for me again. I really enjoyed her care... the food and tonics she makes for me is delicious! hahaha. My maid will be useful in cleaning the house and help my mom run errands. D is now in half-day CC. I plan to switch him to full-day when we are about to move house. Besides, I don't think my maid will do a good job with the confinement food...

mamachan

if your mom can do for you, that'll be best.
When u move hse then go full day ah? will there be too many changes in his life? Move house, additional bb, full day in sch... U may wanna space them out a bit so that he has time to adapt to each one of them.

mashy
I'm moving house likely year end... so slightly before the move he'll be in full day, so that we can focus on setting up comfortably in our new home. #2 won't come until maybe end Feb (I dunno my EDD yet). I think the timing all will be good. He's highly adaptable, so not much of a problem for us.

ladies, any idea how does CDA account worked for #2?
we will receive bb bonus of $4k, then have to deposit another $6K in order to receive govt $ to $ matching?

Oily
The $4K you will receive in instalment not 1 lump sum. Then for the CDA account, every dollar you put in , the govt will match the dollar at the end of the month so up to $6K

oily, re: cda, 4 instalments (6 months interval) till it reaches $3k (think so, can't remember exact). the dollar-for-dollar match can be at a lump sum as long as u put in the amt. I think it used to be a cap of $1K per yr but now they scrap the limit. I think before the 2nd child hits 7 yrs old (end of that physical yr)

mamachan, u may not need confinement lady, just perhaps confinement meal catering if u r more conscious on food. i had my hubbby n maid when i had #2 and #1 goes to 1/2 day cc then. Just followed receipe book ... a lot of fish soup, red date tea and herbal bath. in fact, i cloth-diapered #2 (as in the traditional white cloth type)with a maid but not #1.

A fren recently had #2 and #1 is 5. She feels that #1 (a girl) is jealous and feel short-changed. Only couple taking care till she goes back to work n so she feels like if both are busy n baby starts to cry, she's a little loss on what to do coz #1 is jealous. I don't feel my #1 was ever jealous of his brother but that's prob bcos we had 3 persons in the house n the nature of the older child; hubby's support on caregiving is very impt.

.ky.

CL, meaning i can deposit the bb bonus of $4K and top to another $2K in order to have $6K $ to $ matching?
sorry hor, a bit blur.

ky
Yah... I can understand that how the #1 responds to #2 depends on their nature. My first litmus test was carrying another bb in front my boy before a few times, he didn't make noise and didn't bother actually... and he was keen to carry the baby too, sitting down of course. Coz I've heard of stories from friends that when they carry other bbs, their own child will get jealous and refuse the mom to carry other people's bbs.

But of course bearing in mind that because #2 will be at home day in and day out. so... might be a different story.

oily
$4K by instalment come in cash deposit into your account and not in CDA. So you are free to use it to deposit CDA account when you received it.

Only for CDA it can only be withdraw for childcare or education purpose. Like for mine I used for their childcare and ha ha it is long gone.

It is like what Ky stated, I think they scrap the limit.

mamachan

hahha, other pp's bb are always other pp's. Will not go home with u, won't stay at home to snatch your toys mah. If own sibling, it's a diff story. Hope our #1 can adapt to having #2 ard...

CL and KY, thks for the info! hee.. i'm tempting to be sahm after my ML, so working out the finance now.

so far my son has been very sweet and acceptance with the one in my tummy. i wonder if he'll change when the real bb sleep in front of him!

mashy
eh...I carried the bb in my own house when my gf comes over with a play date. When her bb cries, my boy will freeze and eyes big big and looked worried... he will inch towards the bb and look at me. I assured him and ask him to tell bb not to cry and play with bb. hahaha come and ask me what's wrong.

Even when he tried to hold her bb while sitting down, and bb gets uncomfortable and starts to cry a little, he will freeze and dare not move. hahaha very cute sight of him and my gf's bb

hm ... how come I think got $3K only ....

prepare the child - can read books abt new babies, visit newborn babies, do crafts to welcome new baby, take out baby clothes n talk abt them (like remember u were wearing this? now didi is going to wear it), go shop for a new present for baby, transit him into a bigger carseat and tell him that the smaller one is going to be used for didi...

mamachan, ask D to help change diaper (like take out the little stickies at the side) .... actually I feel that kids like to think they are big already n wants to take on responsibility ... it's a good chance to train a "helper" .... oh, I don't carry my kids eversince they can walk unless it's from the car n they are sleeping or up the Bkt Timah hill! so they are perfectly ok if i carry another baby but yes, they'll stare at me wondering if I'm crazy if i ask them if i can bring the baby home.

hee!

.ky.

ky
$3K is correct for our Dec/Jan babies... recently they revised the amount to $4k for 1st and 2nd child...I think even those who gave birth to first child after Aug'08 can have CDA account too?

mamachan,
yupz, one small angbao for significance at the start of confinement. Then one more angbao at the end, amt depending on performance appraisal.

Eh, carrying others' bb will be different hor. Our kids may be OK with us carrying other bbs but not #2 and vice versa. Very hard to tell.

KY,
It has just been increased to $4k. The old batches like us is $3k only.

Tracie
hahaha... I'm sure others' bb will be different. I just pray that he will be open to #2 and be a loving and doting brother like some of the pre-schoolers here.
I know Rachel's D is super loving and doting towards his brother.

mamachan,
dun worry, jealous or not, #1 will still have some 'pride' that #2 is their sibling.

Sigh..I still remember the night my waterbag broke and Meg was saying excitedly,'di-di is coming out to play!'

mamachan

haha, rule of being a sibling:

They will protect their siblings from other bullies. Only they can bully their sibling. So other pp have to step aside.

So, they'll fight with each other but still love each other. That's how they grow up closer? :p Now it may be #1 bullying #2, later when #2 is strong enough to get attn, #2 will be the bully. hahaha. I don't think i've ever seen siblings who never fight and very loving to each other. Perhaps only for those with a huge age age.

mamachan
agree with tracie. #1 will show jealousy, but he/she will still love the younger one. my gal will fight for attention and always 'da3 xiao3 bao4 gao4' on what didi had done wrong and waiting for us to punish didi. but when people asked if they can carry didi back home with them, she will immediately say no and tear will start coming out. haha..

Mashy
I agree on the rule of being a sibling hehe...

Recently my boy bite Clarisse real hard and it left 2 red tiny dots on Clarisse's flesh. I scolded my boy. Then when my hubby came home, he scolded Declan again, then Clarisse told the daddy "Daddy, no need to scold him anymore, mummy already scolded him!" very funny. She somehow wants us to discipline didi when he misbehaves but she doesn't want us to overly reproach him.

Re : Speech Therapy
Damien can communicate very well compared to #1..but i realised that when come it come to certain words, he will have problem..
eg. dog become god..two become kwo..don't known..kon't know...shall i bring him to speech therapy or just monitor him for a while first.

belinda

my boy also can't pronounce properly. His 'five' is 'pive', 'seven' is 'heaven'. Think he has trouble with f and s. I'm letting him be, hopefully he'll correct himself later. i've a cousin who couldn't pronounce properly when young. I totally couldn't understand him. But now he's perfectly fine and all grown up lor. So i think they just need a little practice and more time.

Belinda
as of now, our children's jaw muscles are not entirely fully developed yet... so give him a year or two. Just keep reading to him and when he says "god" (dog), just say , 'Yes, it's DOG'.

Mashy
hahaha your sibling rule is funny...but I suppose they are true.

mashy/manachan,
thanks...i shall monitor him and give him more time..maybe your are right his jaw muscles are not fully developed yet..remembered that i just to mention abt his drooling problem..he drooled almost 2.5yrs old. even now if he is too concentrated with his thingy, he will foget to swollow his saliva....

mamachan,
i think will feel excited to the sex of the baby for #2.
But if i ever get pregnant for #3, think both hb and myself will choose not to know the sex of the baby until birth., in order not to get disappointed....hahahahaha

Belinda,
Same here...if ever ever God grant me & my hb another child, I told my hb I would ask gynae not to disclose the gender. Kekeke! Cos I always feel that mummy's mood during pregnancy will affect the child.

Mamachan,
Dunno why but I feel u may be having a gal this time. Heehee. Are u hoping for another boy to play ball with D or a gal to make a Hao zi? If my prediction is true, then D will be disappointed hor.

i have mixed feeling on finding the gender for #2.
1 hand i wish to know only on the day of delivery. another hand i wish to know now so that i can start buying clothes for #2. alrd gave away all the nb clothes actually. :p