(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sunny

i think it's still too early to tell if he's really left handed. Why don't u just let him try with both hands? Maybe he'll be one of the rare few who can manipulate both left and right hand.

mashy
is it because the kindy's space is bigger compared to the playgroup?
the previous playgroup which my gal went to, the classroom was really small, it's like the bedroom size and accomodate 16 kids + 2 teachers. and the windows were always closed.
i wonder if it's a reason that she fell sick so frequently even thought it's just a 2-hr lesson.

sunny

no leh. when he was in the playgroup, it's classroom size with 16 kids and 2 teachers. When he went kindy, there's 2 classes in a room with 44 kids and 4 teachers! And now, he's in a even bigger room, but the no of kids and teachers are also a lot more there. I think it's prob coz he has built up immunity against the diff viruses lor. Even when he does get sick, he recovers much faster and doesn't need to be on the nebulizer.

oily
they put accordingly to MCYS it is 12 students to 1 but actually i never see more than 5 in the class.

I like their idea as their chinese teacher will progress with from throughout till K2 so she knows their learning pattern well.

Sunny
ya I oso think once she gets used to the environment she wont get sick so easily. Beef her up before starting and then I am sure give her a few months her body will build up the immunity.

Mashy
For charmaine , she started with left hand and I din know my mother corrected her till recently. From what I can see she is quite good in drawing etc she should have that creativity

sunny

think it's http://www.fastrackids.com ... I know Pat's schoolhouse is one who uses it inhouse and there are salespeople who goes ard demo-ing. 12 core modules like geog and science and a detailed of schedule of what a parent can cover with most things provided.

if there's a showing of falling sick, perhaps it's good to put Little Wonders on hold for now... moreover ur MIL has voiced upfront certain concerns n knowing sometimes there's just so much to "fight" over, try to see from all perspective lor. My hubby was the one who gave me 1 simple criteria that his dear son should not board a schoolbus at 2-yr-old ... he just nod his head when son's 5 yr old n he was very impressed when he see how independent the kids r on public transport... imagine K would stand on his own holding onto a bar in an MRT while I get to sit down to relax, coz he prefers standing ... sometimes it's not the mummy's that too protective, n it's good that your hubby voice his views.

I'm looking at Ichiban kindergarten coz it's just for 5 mths (Jul - Nov) n it has 2-days / 3-days option unlike CC which doesn't have, and schoolbus is just $20/mth for 2-days

.ky.

mashy
eh... i'm still quite early... so have to wait 2 more weeks then see gynae. Hopefully, all is well and will see fetal heartbeat. I was also abit hesitant to share the good news too soon.

CL/ky
Thanks! Now i even more kan cheong to look for a place!!! now just feeling ver tired.

mummies with #2
When you got pregnant with #2...were you more kan cheong to go see gynae as like #1? I find that I'm taking a slightly delayed time to see gynae coz I know I'm fairly early in my pregnancy now...last time with #1, so kan cheong went to make appt, ended up subjected with unnecessary stress of possibilities of ectopic pregnancy or if the pregnancy is viable or not. Then have to do blood test and repeat blood test to monitor hcg levels...

I'm seeing gynae 2nd week of July.

oily congrats too
is this your #3 ?

Mamachan
I am less kan cheong because I din even know I was preggy for Aden. Ha ha. But usually #2 you know what to expect so will not be so eager to see gynae yet. Even with #1 I only saw gynae at 8 weeks

mamachan

don't worry, it'll be ok.

haha, this is the #2 child syndrome. haha. I'm also not so kan jeong with #2. #1 will abstain from this food and that food, this one anything also go. #2 more bochap, don't even remember how many weeks i am, so have to write down in the calendar. I also booked for my 1st appt at Week 8, but unfortunately coz i started spotting, i had to go earlier just to see a small sac.

I only got a little more excited abt #2 when i discovered that she's a gal! hahaha.

oily
congrats to you too!!!!

thks everyone!
CL, is my #2..
actually i'm more kancheong to see gynae asap coz i have complication before this pregnancy.
but i'm more bochap in term of buying. haven't started buy anything except 1 set of fitted cot mattress cover from aussino! LOL~

Mamachan,
Congrats! So my guess was right that night over msn la....when u ask me when was the 1st time I saw my gynae when I knew I was preggy with #2. Kekeke! Do take care cos 2nd pregnancy can be tiring cos we still need to entertain our elder one.

Oily,
Congrats to u too!

wow..so many no2...congrats to u, oily!

mamachan - u go girl!! haha...congrats....congrats...its norm! i am also less gan cheong for my second one. even when i was having discharge, i also continued carrying C. my hb was commenting on how bo chap i was. even when it comes to food, i was less careful. i ate everythg and anythg. hahaa.....till today, everyone said bcos i ate everythg and anythg ...thats why my second one soooo active. for C i ate yong tao fu & fish soup almost everyday and he is so guai and also like tou fu..very gentle and easily frighten. haha...any truth to that ...i don't know...hee...anyway, congrats! so how? ya still gg san fran later this yr?

Hi Sunny,

I suspect Megan is left handed too. She tend to use left hand more often and holds the pencil better using left hand.

But sometimes she will switch to right hand when she's tired, then switch back again after a very short while.

But then again i notice she use scissors preety well with the right hand too. Maybe taught by school. SHe can snipped out shapes pretty well.

Indeed i have problem guiding her to write since she is using left hand and i am using right. Can be very awkward. And i read an article, you know, when right hander writes, we can see what we write. For left handed, the words/ sentence will be covered by their hand as they write so the writing may not be straight or neat..........

Hi Mamachan

Primary school registration:

Due to some changes, i will have to rely on my mum to look after my gals even after next year so i decided to enrol Ashley into Temasek Primary.........

Distance maybe a problem when CCA starts but i will worry about that 2 years later. Meanwhile just check out the school bus journey from mum's place to School is about 30 mins......... Is that acceptable?

As i think thru, this is also how i was brought up ...... taking school bus to school and take bus home on my own after CCA when i was Primary 5 onwards. So hopefully by then Ashley can be more independent.

One good thing about this decision is that i need not source for another school for Megan. She can continue with current school ..... I am quite sure she will resist changes since she is still very dependent on ashley in the current school. Till now - when ashley fall sick, she will also skip school because she won't want to go alone. SInce she will 'upgrade' to become the elder one when the younger cousin join her in the same school - hopefully she can be strong and set a good example in school. Ha

mamachan
congrats!!! for me, when i had #2, i was less kancheong. if not because of i had spotting at wk 6, i would probably only see gynae at wk 8. enjoy your pregnancy. :D

oily
congrats to you too!

ky
thanks for the link, will go and read it.

the ichiban is the new one at yew tee? during the open house, when i went there, they mentioned that they will provide transportation foc for 2 months. you wanna check with them again?

yuki
ya, i notice that my friends who are left handed, they handwriting is not as nice as those who are right handed. (no offence to left hander) maybe i can ask help from my BIL since he's a left hander. i think there are number of inconvenience if a person is left hander.

yuki,
hehe, also left-handers get their hands smudged with ink most of the time unless they train themselves to write with their hands not touching the paper.

mamachan,
congratz! I still saw my gynae early for #2 to ensure that it is not ectopic pregnancy. its just a scan, no tests etc. all those come later anyway.

yuki

i started taking bus alone as young as pri 3 leh. I took from AMK to Circuit road with my younger bro and have to change bus at the biddadari cemetry somemore. Then at circuit road interchange, i've to cross a major road (4 lanes)with no traffic lights to get over to the other side. See how 'fang xin' my parents are...

Thanks ladies

hahaha I nearly wanted to just wait till the appointed 5th August follow-up then see gynae. But thought maybe should get the check done at 8 weeks.

Belinda
actually, my hb and I had been ttcing since end last year...but my menses was super irregular i.e. 50 plus days cycle. So in April went to see my gynae for pap smear and help to reset my clock with some hormone pills (I think) from gynae. So I'm back to 28 - 30 days cycle.

Oily
congrats to you too!

mamachan

haha, i realised that someone must be sick in the household to get preggy. hahaha. I got preggy when my boy & hb was sick too. :p

Hi Sunny and Tracie,

Indeed.... i think those can openers etc are catered for right hander......Scissors too i think.

There definitely will be some challenges for left hander.

I don;t know if i should 'train' Megan to be right hander since she can use right hand to cut things etc.......purely for convenience sake.

Hi Mashy,

Wow, sounds like a long journey to school! With your younger brother?? How old was he then? Phew........

I recalled i have to cross this busy road and walk 10 mins to the interchange to take a bus home from school.

Then in Primary 6, i also start walking to bus stop at 630am (sky dark)when i was in the morning session.......

Yuki

He should be K2 then. That's not to sch. It's to my grandma's place. Last time the parents more fang xin, never worry abt their children's safety...

Mashy,

There are not so many temptations then.

Nowadays kids are more mature at early age. Ashley ask me what age can she hold a handphone by herself.

She has been watching too much TV, saying she wants a magic wand for her birthday and she can wish away all schools, homework, assessment books..........

I tell her if i have magic wands, i wish away TVs, cartoons, toys........ haha

hi sunny, yuki,

i'm left-handed but my kids are not. apparently my MIL is too but I never notice before coz she writes and eats with right hand. I was trained by my mother to write with right hand since young. It's more difficult to fit in when young but eventually it's no difference.... guess all the learning is at a younger age, that's why. rarther ok for me to teach my kids right-hand usage and I use normal stuff like scissor and can-openers. I know a classmate that writes with left hand - the book is slated to suit her n yes, side of hand is always smudged with ink.

hi sunny, yes, was told the foc transport ... well, the principal is aware that i'm looking at a couple of months commitment n if that's still available, i'll take it.

oily, congrats! no wonder u know the gynae's info so well when mamapanda asked.

.ky.

sunny
When my boy was at your boy's age now... he tend to use his left hand to "do things" like self-feed and hold items. We thought he might be left-handed too... my mom insisted to "correct" the use of his hands. But we noticed that when it comes to kicking balls, he will use his right leg more. OVer time, and in school, he would use his right hand more, for writing and doing things. So maybe at this stage, just observe bah...

Wenyl
was re-reading your post. Actually that night over MSN, I really didn't know yet, haven't tested myself, only suspected. So did my test yesterday morning lor... haha

queen
yah, at work I have to wear the surgery mask each time I'm in the clinic to collect patients' blood. If orange alert, have to convert to N95 mask... aiyoh, that is more unbearable to breathe with.

Mamachan,
When I read that you are preggy last night, first thing I thought was your job nature as well.
Anyway, take extra care lah... preggy ladies are considered of higher risk.

mamachan

be careful. Surgical mask can't protect u if the patient has H1N1 leh. U need to wear N95...

Today's newpaper reported that there were 2 preggies who had H1N1, are recovering well. So i guess it's not so deadly to preg women after all.

actually preggy are high risks from wat i read.
my colls asked me to wear masks esp our school will be reopen next wk..

queen
Thanks for thinking of me! Well, now the hospital to require all staff and patients to wear the surgical mask.

I think right now we should avoid all the crowded places... last night still can watch Transformers with hb and it was packed! Kinda regret watching with such a full cinema... I was a little paranoid that what if some of the families that just came back from holiday overseas.

I have 3 sets of lightly used St Josephs's Church Kindergarten pre-N school uniform to let go. One of the set is only 1 month old going for $10 and the other 2 is 5 months old going for $8 each, or $25 for all 3 sets. Original price @ $16 per set. All sets have been carefully handwashed with baby detergent only, so there's no change in shape.

ps: Save money. Don't buy new uniforms since they only use it for 1 year.

PM me for details.

mamachan
CONGRATS
When's your due date?

I went to see gynae early for this #2 cuz I had histories of 2 ectopics. Have already been confirmed that this is a normal pregnancy as the water bag can already been seen. Will be seeing gynae again on 8 july to see fetal heartbeat etc.