(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

oily,
where conducts social dance? err... i don't think i want to introduce "fighting" to my boys first. coz i have 2 boys. u know it can be rather chaotic. if i have only one child then i don't mind

aileen, how abt hip-hop related classes? saw in cc a lot of holiday progs that has intro course ... I saw Shawn n Glady's at Kidz Academy so they may be opened for kids' lesson but might have a min age. how abt let him follow the moves on Hi-5, think that's a good start for kids who are keen on dancing. Mine goes for gym coz he can do forward roll, backward roll, balancing, strengthen arm muscle, posture. Gym easier to pickup for young kids rather than dance... and as young as 6, they can go for social competition.

.ky.

hip hop? like very ah beng eh? no? hee. sorry i abit suaku. and i can't imagine my boy calling me "yo mum!" i think i will faint! hahahaha!
ya he is VERY into Hi-5 now. that's why i think he's got potential! haha! anyways, i think he's too young to join any dancing classes lah. like u said, i think gym will be another better option.

Hello mummies *wave wave*

Long time never log in, busy with work and kids, seldom log in to the thread liao.

Hows everyone?

Congrats to Mamapanda on 2nd pregnancy.

And Mashy is going to deliver soon??? so fast

Aileen

Clarisse is having her ballet class at Dancepointe. they have different kind of dance like Tap dance and Hip Hop, not only ballet, maybe you can consider.

Re: hip hop

Somehow when i see the kids do hip hop at the performances, feel like they're so 'zao shu'. The little gals do very sexy moves and the boys do groin thrusting. Feel not so nice lor.

zhimin,
I enquired at Dancepointe before. But they only offer ballet for 3yos. Tap dancing is only for 5yo and above.

mamachan,
haha ya that's right. angmoh beng! i don't want leh. i'm very cheena! haha!

Aileen
Alternatively is to look for those music and movement classes? That might be good exposure and fun for their age too. or you can come up with some simple "dance" moves at home to the music bah... he can copy and follow you!!! i.e. tap the right foot 1-2-3-4 and then left foot 1-2-3-4 and do some turns on the spot, wiggle the butt, shoulder rolls, etc etc. basically just to engage different parts of his body. Action songs are always fun as a dance to song... great for Tyler's age.

Aileen,
Music and movement is good not so much of dance more on movements. Nowadays many cc or kindy has but not the actual one.. Singapore not so pop till quite new.. I have just finish my exam on tat and will be going to different place to conduct classes and may set up a studio with other teachers..

Aileen,
My hubby's boss opening a chain of dance school. Just opened one at Thomson road. School of Dance. Will be opening one at Bukit Batok. They teach ballet,hiphop etc. for kids, not graded. 2hours per week, $20 per lesson = $200+ for 3 months. If you want graded also have lah, but will more ex.

Tracie,
I PMed u the groomer's contact quite some time ago. Did u rec it?
Any idea if School of Dance have min. age? My Ben also very into dancing but dunno where to sign him up.
Talk abt hip hop, sometimes we see a group of teens practicing their breakdance movement at the multi purpose hall near our blk. Ben watched & went back home n tried imitating their head spin. Of cos he can't do the spin but rather its headstand. So dangerous.

Wenyl,
Sorry, haven got time to check my mail earlier. Jus checked, got the contact! Thanks, will try next round of grooming.

Here's the website of the dance school:
http://www.the-schoolofdance.com/

They've got classes for those 3-5YO. The last time i asked Meg if she wanna learn dancing, she replied no.

mashy,

mine course is not totally dance but only little element. the most important part is how to use it in our daily teaching .. its very cool and fun and my teacher is very experience ..

need your advice...
i am shortlisting the childcare centre for my gal... one is just 5 min drive and is quite near my mil place. if my hb is not around e.g. on reservist, i still can bring my gal there easily.
the other one is 15 min drive and would be very rush to bring my gal there if hb is not around...

my preference is the one which is further away from our place... yx went for 2 day trial and liked that place a lot. but 'cos of the distance, i still can't decide whether i should let my gal go there. and the bus can't bring her back to my mil's place after school. sigh...

when choosing childcare centre, which one is your priority?
a) convenience, distance
b) teacher
c) environment
d) curriculum

CL
she went to little wonders at jln remaja near hillview for trial. i haven't brought her to the one near my mil's place so far.

Sunny
hillview far hor. Is there where Sleepingdeer's S went ? and I think i heard good reviews from my friend who send her kids there too

CL
your friend's kid also go little wonders?
i think S went to another one but it's near to little wonders.
ya, during school holidays, no traffic jam already 15 min. can't imagine when school opens, how long will we take to reach there... some more need to wake up to prepare lunch for her, bring the boy to my mil's place, then bring her to the centre.... really no need to sleep and can be wonder woman like you already. haha....

sunny
I will choose the CC based on

1) Environment
2) Convenience and distance
3) teacher
4) curriculum

If you girl enjoys the place, should let her go to the centre that she enjoys.

Rena,
what you are talking about sounds interesting. hey u need a sleeping investor for ur dance studio?? I'm very curious what course did u do? tot it's early childhood?

wenyl,
haha we should put ty and ben together. born on the same day, so got same traits?? haha!

tracie,
the school of dance looks cool! shall bookmark it. thanks!

Hi sunny

Are u considering for 1/2 day or full day? From Jln Remaja to come back to CCK area by bus if ever they do offer takes 45 mins min one-way.

I drove to Jln Remaja before on non-peak n long the main rd during peak ... it may take min 20 mins to get there in the morning. I didn't visit the other branch that u menetioned that's nearer but eventually if the convenience is greatly compromised, then I'll avoid considering it ever. I've never consider schools in Hillview area coz I know it's rather inconvenient. My kids generally are very receptive to new schools ... so far even those I find so-so, they'll love them. Sometimes it's easier to keep it simple esp u depend on your ILs right? Just assess yourself, what will u miss if u choose the nearer one.... a better structured program perhaps, but is there a way for you to supplement that yourself?

.ky.

mamachan
that's what i think, too. but the time taken to bring her there makes me think twice.

mashy
ya, my hb is going to bring her to another cc tomorrow and see her reaction. he said yx might not like it 'cos it doesn't have its own playground. haha...

ky
good thing to put my gal at cc near my ILs' place is that if she's sick when she's at cc, my IL can easily pick her up and bring her to see doctor or bring her home. and she can bring yx to cc in the morning instead of us rushing in and out to bring her there.

as far as possible, i hope that i do not need to send my gal to any academic based of enrichment class after she goes to childcare so that we have more family time during weekends and she can enjoy other stuff like swimming, music or dancing.

sigh... not easy manz...

sunny,
same as mamnchan, I will choose the CC based on
1) Environment
2) Convenience and distance
3) teacher
4) curriculum

btw, school is going to reopen. Pretty worried with the H1N1 virus.

Re: Dancing / music class
my boys shown no interest at all...asked my hb once, how abt sending the boys to ballet class...of coz he will agreed.

for me, convenience come first as we don't hav car nor in law to help.
same as KY, my son enjoys his current cc and refuse to change to new one although sometimes i'm not happy with the management style.
actually really peifu my neighbour, although he changed job from tanjong pagar to ubi, he still continue his kid at tp's cc coz he said don't want any changes for him. so every morning after drop his son at TP, he needs to board the train to ubi to work.. :p

Aileen
http://www.swingapore.com/ Check out this too. Aden loves to dance too. Even when sitting down during meal time, hear any music oso will shake his body to the beat.

And his teachers says he is most cooperative and attentive during music and movement. Ha ha scarely my big build boy wants to be dancer.

Sunny
cc is not a bad choice. Ha ha you dun make me feel bad because I do not have a choice.

1. Aden is more independent compare to charmaine though she spent 1 year in childcare but most times under care of grandparent.

2. There are more training on other things when we as FTWM do not have luxury in terms of time to teach them. Puzzle. You can never imagine Aden beating Charmaine to a 45 pieces puzzle when they are playing it for the first time. Initially I thot Aden could do puzzle because he likes the character Disney Cars. But yday I bought a princess one for Charmaine, he did it within 10 mins. This is one practice not done by me but in school.

3. If the curriculums covers well, yes weekend is time for other play stuff. Like now my kids can go for swimming on Sat and Charmaine has piano on Sunday and other activities on weekend.

oily

wow, i already changed my boy's sch dunno how many times. But now he's so used to changing schs, he's perfectly fine even on 1st few days at the new sch.

oily
kids are highly adjustable. My first girl ha ha 4 years old in nursery at nearby church kindy. Then from 5 years old , 1.5 years she goes to childcare. Then for next 6 months, she went to Maris Stella kindy for K2. Ha ha she adjusted very fast to all and she still kept in contact with her friends. It is her mummy who is busy and have to meet up and arrange outing with her fren's mummies.

Even my son. At 2 years old, he was in the same childcare as jie jie for 6 months ( jan - Jun). Then we stopped as we were tryin out with Helper. Finally in Oct , he joined Cherie Hearts. This year April, I switched him to Yuquan and he seems that he has been to Yuquan right from the start and so familiar with the teachers and parents even now is only coming 3 months.

CL,
Thanks for your recommendation. This one is good coz they take in children at 2yo. So just need to wait till end of the year when Ty turns 2 and can probably sign him up.

haaa.. tt's why i call my neighbour as 24 孝好爸爸!
CL, i saw the adv on yuquan, izzit really good? how's the ratio of teacher to children?

Chicken Little
Aden is impressive!!! My boy is now starting to be into doing puzzles. They seem to like puzzles at this stage.

oily
I believe our children are quite adaptable... I think it's me who will stick back to the same CC even if I'm moving house. But so long the CC is along the way to work, still can send him to the same CC for our case. But by then, I would have to switch my boy to full-day CC le.

Hi Sunny

So your gal is going to be there for fullday cc? I supposed you have to weigh yourself the pros and cons ... how often will she fall sick and I believe they can just get a cab to go to Little Wonders if such a need arises. I've changed school for ds#1 3 times and each time I consider very carefully with convenience as a top priority. The location of each school gets further away but there's a way for me to fetch if there's a need. There's the top reason why I'm only considering a pri school within CCK area as many mothers who have gone down the path told me that's a very impt consideration. Don't be stressed by cc selection; it'll be worse when it comes to pri school and I personally went thru' that down-n-up cycle ... got really onto me then. I have pulled ds#2 out of cc #2 which he loves but I had very serious 2nd thots ... he loves the playground n frens. he still speaks of them after 1 yr but he was a very positive outlook that his current school is better ... I think we need to learn how to adapt for the child to be modelled after. And oh yes, my original objective was only enrichments on weekdays and zero on weekends, but sometimes things do not go as planned. As when the child develops, you do realize there's certain gaps u need to mend ... many non-academic enrichment lessons do fall more on weekends than weekdays.

btw, a fren also send her kids to Little Wonders but after she got places in CreativeO, they went over ... there's always a better school out there, it's just whether will it break your back going for it.

Have u heard of FasTrack? not sure if that's the right way to spell it. It's a prog which parents can use to supplement at home at own time. It's rather comprehensive from the little I know but quite an ex investment. I know at least 1 FTWM using that and I don't dare to see the demo as I know it's beyond my budget.

I'm also putting on hold the idea to send K to a school for the 2-days. Don't rush into something that u r just not comfortable with. I think little kids can create a lot of fun if u have the time for them and they don't fuss as much as us, they just need our time. *sigh* sad that the school hols is coming to an end actually.

.ky.

Sunny

I feel that I will choose a school based on the environment and teacher. As I feel that these 2 are important factors to make a child enjoying the class.

My personal view is the kid should enjoy the class, if she rejects and in the long term, very detrimental to her development.

Mashy, Mamachan
there are a lot of other things Aden cannot do. Cannot colour within lines, cannot write properly does not recognise lots of things but puzzle ha ha he can do. Without me coaching at all. So only puzzle!!!

Chicken Little
hehehe, to each his own. Own time own target.
I think my boy is starting to color within the lines only recently. I draw stick figurines he can color the entire body!!! *faintz*

The only thing I feel need to "push" my boy is to soak him in 1.5 hours of Mandarin once a week at Berries... of course, to declare Wednesday as speak Mandarin day at home to him and with hb. Coz we ourselves too used to speaking in English.

CL

That's not too bad. At least he has something that he excels in. I guess in life, it's like that, we're all given 100% and we've to split them into the different areas of expertise. While we hope that we can be good in everything, we just aren't equipped to be unless we're just plain freaking genius.

My boy can't colour within lines, can't write either. He's good with climbing, recognising words and playing computer games (not that i want that) though.

Mashy. mamachan
Ya I not worry at all. I just let him go on his own. Ha ha he just enjoy singing, dancing, reciting his San Zi Jin though it is not clear but I know where he is at. Doing his puzzle and playing his cars.

Language wise I am not so particular because ha ha I soak him in chinese based cc. though they says it is 100% bilingual. The chinese teacher there cannot speak english and the english teachers are malays or indian so ha ha now way he can speak mandarin with them too. So he does switch efficiently between the 2 languages.

mashy
I'm too afraid to start introducing the computer to my boy at this age... I just showed him once the disney site and he keep wanting to touch the laptop after that!!!!

He on the other hand, likes to go to the arcade and play the basketball hoops and bowling games (like real life bowling but shorter).

CL

my boy is monolingual.
sianz... He only knows the colours in mandarin. Next time go ACS worse. Think he'll be one of those who takes syllabus B chinese.

mamachan
i also dun wan. But my hb is a computer guy lah. He even allocated xbox time in my boy's schedule! So bo bian lor. My boy loves watching pp play at the arcade esp the basketball hoops too! Yesterday we went to AMK HUb and he was so mesmerised by the game that they were showing in a computer shop. U know in AMK Hub, there's an air well between 2 rows of shop, he was watching it from across the shop at the other side.

thanks ladies for your advice.
just now my hb brought yx to the cc nearer to our place. The principal in-charge can recognise my hb. i find that we are so ks 'cos we visited the place for abt 4 times already. haha...
she's ok as well. hb is more keen on putting her there instead of the one at hill view 'cos of the distance and the traffic. so more or less will send yx there le. hopefully this cc doesn't disappoint us.

CL
Aden is so smart. my gal also likes puzzles a lot. but definitely can't do it within 10 minutes lah. haha... so far, her best record is 28 pc 20 minutes.

ky
ya, most likely she will be at the cc for full day.
when she was at the 2-hr playgroup, she fell sick monthly. at times, she would skip class for a week. my mil already upfront told us already if we send yx to cc which is further from her place, it's unlikely for her to bring yx back home if she's sick 'cos she needs to take care of #2. Since she already told us that, we don't pin much hope on her to pick yx up during the day.

which school you plan to send #2 to?
what's fasTrack? you got any link to this?

sunny

Re: sick at CC
i find that it gets better. My boy used to get sick all the time too. Then when he went to his 3hr playgroup, he was like sick once a mth. When he started kindy this year, it was abt once every 1-2 mths. Now he's pretty ok already. Not so easily sick.

any of your kids is left handed?
i suspect my #2 is a left handed. he plays using left hand more, flip books also left hand, pick up stuff from the floor also left hand. he's 16mth now, is it too early to say that he's left handed?
we are all right handed, so wonder how do you teach a left handed kid to write, eat, etc?