(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Yippee: Yup, I steam the liver first then when I wanna feed bb I blend it together with the porridge. Another way is to add the liver into the porridge abt 20mins before it is done.

Patsy: Did you get the fish from the supermarket? Or you got fish that's not fresh enough from the market? Ember rejects her porridge if the fish I use is not the freshest.
Alternatively you can remove the skin and the smell might be less obvious.

Kris: I got it from the supermarket. Haven't been brave enough to buy from the wet market yet!

Coffeedrinker: do you prepae all the food in advance or made fresh every meal?

I can prepare my porridge in 1 hour(exclude preparation)

I cook it using stove (fire).. if baby still sleep will put to slow cooker to preserve hotness.

I will prepare soup by putting sliced pork and sliced fish into a small amount water (about 1 bowl of water)about 10 mins

Cook the rice with the soup above , then put all vegetable that is finely chopped for 45 mins on fire

sharon,
You go NTUC and look for label : marrow Green., after you familar with this vegetable, can be bought from market

Wolfberry :
go to chinese herbal shop , it is called "Gou Qi Zi"
It is said to incease " bright eyes"
you put about 10 seeds in the soup.. but don't give baby eat (althought can be eaten).

sharon, I see that you are give your baby too much orange colour food.. almost every day for 2 time
these food cannot give more than 2 time a week (pumpkin, carrot, sweet potato).
best to rotate them and 3 days apart since the last orange colour food.
like monday, carrot..then thu use pumpkin.. but only either lunch or dinner

you check her fingers and toes see if a bit yellowish.. my gal have it on her nose .. now clear after doctor advise to stop for 3 week first.

Patsy: Heh.. I can understand. I was like you not too long ago! It's a matter of courage.. strange isn't it? I was afraid of looking stupid in the market. Ever since I went once I've become braver! Just stick to the same stalls all the time and before you know it the sellers will recognise you and even pick the best fish/chicken etc for you!
And if they dun you just casually say 'I come to you everytime you know!' *smile* 'surely you remember me??' *smile again* Heheheh... no need to bargain also can get discount like that!

Hi mummies.. can advise wat type of tofu u all use?? wah see wat Sharon and coffeedrinker prepare for their babies i feel very ashamed.. haha cos normally for weekend i will prepare the same food for Sherisse.. keke cos I only cook for her on weekends mah.. then the vege buy liao always alot no choice not to waste vege so I give her all the same loh..

ok decided from this weekend onwards to feed her different stuffs for each meal..

Kris
great, thx. Now at least I learn something otherwise the maid does it wrong I also dunno

coffeedrinker
Do u prepare Jasmine's meals on your own? I'm impressed. Though I'm a sahm, I'm no good with cooking at all, I actually dunno what are some of the veg you wrote in your posting
I went to check online what is wolfberry, zuchini, marrow... !!?? but cant find anything for wolfberry. hahaha!

coffeedrinker,
Thanks for the advise..will try to reduce stuffs for yellowish

But so far Sabrina's still not yellowish..lucky man.
Sweet corn. I buy fresh one.. my maid will take out the skin then pound till smash.
Salmon. cooked and chop till smash.

Kris,
Yaya.. when the seller get recognice you,normally they will discounts to you
i do marketing every week

Yippee,
I'm a working mum, my maid do the cooking. whenever i introduce new food, I also do it on sat & sun myself by cooking it for my maid to learn and see the reaction of my baby to the new food.

sharon,
2 ways to get to see Marrow:
- go NTUC, look for the label Marrow Green under vegetable section, It's like Zuchinni. but bigger.

- Another way, wait I go home, take photo , download and post here..haha

sharon,

think marrow is "mao gua" (read in chinese). looks like cucumber but greener and the touch is abit flurry feeling at the skin

Sharon:
Got a few questions :p
1) for green peas u bought those frozen type?
2) for salmon do u add to the porridge to cook together or cook separate then when want to feed then add in??
3) for brown rice powder u grind yourself?

San,
1) Ya is frozen one.
2) cook together with porridge , will take out and smash.
3) is buy from tho chinese siser shop, actually tis i brought it long long time ago, only start to feed my gal last 2 weeks.

my husband has commend that i give sabrina too rich..she is very strong and active.., we all too tried to handle her..

Sharon:
hehe.. which one.. blue one is my mum buy one put at my mum's place.. then the pink one is I buy 2nd hand from a mummy in this forum.. she uses that one at home..

Sharon:
ic.. Sherisse super lazy one.. when u put her in walker, she simply dun wan to stand or walk.. sigh.. hubby called her lazy bum bum..

Patsy.. zoe loves cod with pumpkin and broccoli..

Coffeedrinker: i actually find apricot sour! maybe those i buy not sweet
zoe loves kiwi.. can finish one by herself!

Kris: Zoe same w fish, must cook the same day i buy if not she refuses to eat..

mummmies: Is marrow green a squash?

about food menus,i don't have a fixed one but each meal (lunch or dinner) consists of a protein component and 2 different veg plus a carbo.. i'm running out of new foods to give!

<font face="Calisto mt"> SSL,

Janelle loves her Kiwi too. I usually buy e golden Kiwi den jus deskin &amp; mash using spoon prior feeding her</font>

coffeedrinker:
ya only weekends.. weekday my baby sitter will cook for her loh.. I don't need to buy ingredients for my baby sitter she will go and buy one.. normally by the time I fetch her home on weekdays she will have taken her porridge at baby sitter place.. My baby sitter feed her 3 meals of porridge.. for me on weekends, I feed her cereals for breakfast then lunch and dinner I will cook porridge loh..

Ladies just a word of caution, the American Academy of Pediatrics recommends against using walkers because they can be dangerous and can discourage your child from learning to walk on his own. Thousands of babies end up in emergency rooms and doctor's offices from being in walkers and falling off stairs or bumping into furniture. Walkers can give parents a false impression that their babies are truly mobile and can control their actions. Some parents even leave their babies alone to navigate their way around the home while trapped in a walker. Exersaucers, as well as door jumpers, are much safer alternatives, but neither leads to your child learning to walk earlier than usual. Interestingly enough, studies have shown that children who use walkers may actually learn to walk later than those who don't.

taken from here: http://www.babycenter.com/expert/baby/babydevelopment/6878.html

Fushiastar: am preparing Cod with pumpkin and asparagus for her tonight, hopefully her royal highness likes it!

ssl: i buy both and she seems to like both.. yep feed seeds and all.. can `see the seeds in her poo.. :p

patsy.. hope your baby likes it! tonight` i fed beef, carrot and broccoli.. zoe seems`to like this combi too..
i've heard abt e dangers in using walkers, esp the round kinds that you place babies in the centre.. too many times so only have a push walker for zoe.. and i always stand behind zoe holding her waist in case she falls..

Fushiastar:I think she liked it... it may have also been because i delayed feeding her until i knew she was really hungry!

just curious, how many here are FTWM vs SAHM? I've been staying at home the past month serving my notice before i start a new job and am dreading going back on 1st August!

coffeedrinker: Xaby sleeps on her cot. I only see this if she takes a nap during the day and no aircon. Not likely at night because the HB can't sleep unless the AC is at 16C! That's why I had to go buy a down comforter!!

SSL:
eh.. I use the FM scope (enfalac one) 7 scopes of nestle cereal then add in some Healthy Times cereal (agar agar one).. mixed up to half a bowl..

san

i put 4-5 tablespoon of cereals (usually 2 types). wonder if its too much? recently been feeding bb brown rice cereal too so not sure if its contributing to his weight gain

coffeedrinker: yes, sheet that's beneath zoe's head drenched w sweat!

patsy:
i'm part time working mummy.. tonight feeding cod,spinach,cauliflower..

ssl: 8-9 tep cereal w 7 tsp fruit..

yippee, i normally followed the cereal feed with 100ml of FM. my mum and sis saw brennan once a week and they find that he is gaining abit of weight. so i scare he obese lor.

Dun worry, can always check the bb health book to see which percentile does Brennan fall into. If he's also tall, then no problem at all. I understand after 1yo, babies tend to slim down a bit. That's exactly what we see for my neighbour's boy. So beef up abit for allowance also OK lah

Yippee: will make play dough today, could only find red, green and yellow colour but will experiment with green and yellow to try to make blue for Brennan

Fushiastar: how i wish my industry will accept part time work! was telling HB last night will quit work and start a business making home made baby food instead after spending the whole afternoon cooking yesterday

Patsy
That will make SSL very happy cos Brennan's mom is SSL. My boy is Kaiser. Hahaha..
Anyway, dont worry abt the playdough. If you have excess then make for Kaiser lor, no excess it's ok too.

yikes! sorry Kiaser, but if Brennan wants some too i can just make a bit more ! now i'm praying it'll turn out right the first time coz i only bought 1 pack of flour ;)

hi patsy

its ok. not introducing this for the time being

apart from GUG, Kindermusik, may i know what other trial classes are available for consideration thats not expensive. thanks