(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi erowen, I find it helps during my labour, I had a pretty fast labour for the 1st one. This tea actually helps to tone our pelvic muscles and uterus.

I took it arnd wk 20. Cant really remember but this one can only be taken in 2nd tri hor. And must check with ur gynae b4 taking. Just to be sure. Anyway, Lib has agreed to share with me. Tks!

confusedgal, dun be too bothered by wat other ppl say, most impt is u must eat well so dat bb will be grow well..

reenie, the classes run for 5wks and 6th wk is a doc's talk. Cost abt $160+ for wkends & $140+ for wkday nites. ya, the bb's neck & head so fragile, i think wd need some getting used to.

miso, my gynae told me not to take any herbs when i asked her abt birdnests,etc last time. is tis considered a kind of herbs?

hi timie,
thanks for the additional information!

btw, birdnest are ok, i taken it several times, but not too often. Try to take the birdnest or other tonic in our 2nd tri, after that, maybe should stop, my mother told me.

Hi timie, I think bird nest is ok.. but I only took it in 3rd tri. And not too frequent as it will cause jaundice in bb. Herbs..I took cordyceps. This is a kind of herb tea, u may wish to print out and check with her?

miso/reenie, thanx for the info. ya she says ok for birdnest and cordyceps, but dun take other types of herbs (dunno she referring to chinese or organic herbs). will check with her. oh so we shd not take birdnest/cordyceps in 3rd tri? mebe once a wk ok?

hello girls

Went to gynae today and he measured baby head, baby body + baby length of thigh bone... plotted on some chart and said my bb size average. Weight: 200grams. Strangely though, gynae told me no need to pay $ for detailed scanning. He said he can scan for me FOC... I wonder if he will scan the size of internal organs + check if heart got 4 chambers or not etc etc

Now, I am 17+wks going to 18wks. I think not very possible to measure from crown to rump liao as doctor did not do that today.

Found out gender today, I am having a girl! Actually hor (please don't flame me), I am quite disappointed as I've always wanted a boy. For the past 4 months, I've been addressing the baby as 'he' and not 'she'... but today my baby open legs big big for doctor easy scanning and I looked at the screen... asked the gynae 'is it a girl as the genital looks like lips'.. doctor said yes. However, doc knows I prefer a boy so said 'I will check again' and after scanning a few different positions, he declared, 'it's a girl'.

I am trying to accept the fact that I am carrying a girl but deep in my heart, I am hoping that during my next appointment which is 3 weeks later, doctor will tell me that it is actually a 'he'... but I don't think so lah.

I am very angry at myself for feeling and thinking this way as such thoughts are very unfair to my baby. It is not her fault that she is a girl and not a boy that I so wanted.

Hi angel,

Dun blame yourself. I haven't went thru the scan yet & same as you, I do have that strong urge of having a boy for my first time. But I ask myself what if it is a gal? I cannot be possibly keep on thinking that way or else I will gone mad! So I just take it easy & accept the gift from god.

How about thinking it this way, to have a baby is better than those who can't. At least we are still lucky to conceive.

Hi miso

u also take the red raspberry tea? i bought online but only drank a few cups cos i was afraid on the stimulus it has on the uterus. if any of you want it, i can pass to you FOC.. only pay me postage..

morning ladies!!
yesterday after my last post i couldn't find the thread liao...how come you gals can still post? =(

dear angel, pls don't think of it this way...take it easy....there's always a second and third child...right now yr bb needs yr love...take care ya.

lib, wah, u really regular go-er at CP leh! kekeke, anyway it's my hubby's fav shopping mall...for us, it's the nearest big mall in hougang. =))

reenie, speaking of chocolates, i have been eating them almost everyday! I always have a sweet tooth and now i need some bits of chocolate to get me through the day, esp in office when i'm bored..
for the class at TMC, it's exactly like what timie said, you can call TMC to register. They will ask you how far along you are now and then they will advise their schedule. =)
Do you need their contact no? i can find for you.

timie, take gd care of yrself ya. get plenty of rest.
ya for LOTR, whenever i see fighting scenes, i will close my eyes...kekekek

miso, tks for sharing the info abt raspberry tea leaf ya...me will try and find out more. It sounds very interesting....

hi angel, dun dwell too much on the gender of the bb... they are still the testimony of the love bet you n ur hb..

your gynae v good hor... do detailed scan FOC... mine is included in package price..

hi lib, the wardrobe is more to keep my stuff..haha! got to move some of my things out of my wardrobe to accommodate bb... also to store diaper n bb supply reserves... but more importantly, i want to get the room ready in case my parents want to stay over to look after bb, or last min need to get confinement lady...

abt names... i also like Arwen from LOTR, but it sound too similar to my suster's chinese name, so won't have a chance to use it...

Hi tulip, U only tried the red raspberry tea this time? I would be happy to get it from you. I bot it online too. Which webbie did u get urs? Just wondering if it's the same kind.

btw, any of ur belly button protruded? I think mine a bit leh.. and these days during office time, will feel bb's movement in the lower pelvic area.

Hi angel, do not be mad at yourself, it's ok to feel disappointed. Just let it out and get over it. She is afterall ur own flesh and blood! When she's out to the world, you will melt and forget all about ur disappointment! Trust me!

Hi miso, i got it from i want milks.. is that the one u got fr? i can mail u the item, cos i dun think i will drink it anymore (but before that let me check if it is still in the kitchen!). i am more concern abt being abt to BF my 2nd child. the first one, i only bf her 4 mths.. this time, i wish to bf at least 6 to 8 mths.

my bellybutton quite protruded.. if i wear softer fabric, can see.

Hi angel, the same thing happened to my hubby. but he grew to love our dd so much now. he said he will definitely love dd more than the coming ds.. somehow the bonding with the first one is very strong.. or maybe my dd cute lah. haha.. now she can swing to the music. the other day, we switched on the mtv channel, our dd was dancing to the music.. next time hiphop queen liao! haha

Hi tulips, yea.. it's the same one! Ok.. u let me know and also the expiry date hor.. tks ya! Actually u very good liao leh.. next time, after we all gave birth, think we can start another thread.. BREASTFEEDING! I only managed to bf my ds for a week.. cos I was so stressed out by the cl. I regret it till now. I hope to bf my no. 2 this time hopefully and give my ds some expressed bm to mix with is formula. Hopefully this way he gets more antibodies from it!

As I am typing away, can feel bb's movements more.. hehe, think more active during day leh.. night time, I sleep like a log.

morning ladies
Craving for wu xiang beehoon since last nite!!! i must have it today

hi erowen,
i think taste bud has slightly improved as compare to 1st trimester. Therefore eating and snacking alot :p I think i gain weight quite fast, hopefully all the good stuffs goes to baby....
No worries about the TMC contact, i can find it out on the website
thanks girl!

hi angel,
i'm sure you love your princess too when she arrive. I also feel that mine is a boy, just 6sense, if turn out to be a princesss, i love her as well
as long as baby is safe, healthy and good, everything is secondary. Cheer up

hi reenie
no problem! Just let me know if you need more info...my class is supposedly on the 30th of april. =))

miso, my bellybutton yet to portrude...mine has also been hidden...btw, some people said if your bellybutton portrude alot. it's a boy, if it doesn't portrude so much, it's a gal....

Good morning girls

Thanks for all the support and encouragement. It is a fact now and I can't change it so no choice gotta accept it lor. I just feel angry at myself for feeling this way about my baby girl. :eek:( Also, can't sleep very well last night(slept at 3am+ and woke up at 8am) ... afraid that bb 'pantang', know that I am disappointed with her and will leave me. I kept praying to God, asking Him to teach me how to love my daughter and not love her any lesser just because she is a girl. I can't believe I think this way as we are now in the 20th century liao and not in the 60s!!!!

The funny thing is I am the only one disappointed. My husband is very happy. He is now in Beijing and when I called to tell him the news, I can hear the happiness in his voice that he is happy that bb is a girl. He knows I am disappointed and told me that we should be happy and thankful with whatever God wants to give us. (How true is that!!!) If God wants to give me a daughter, he has his plans and reasons.

I sms my parents-in-law whom I am staying with. They are very happy as well. Finally they have a girl in their household. My parents-in-law have 3 sons despite trying hard for a girl. After 3 boys, they give up trying liao.

My own mother lagi funny. When I called her, she laughed and said it is my life that I have a girl first and go on saying 'actually hor, she asked fortune teller (she is a very 'pantang' person) before and the fortune teller said if she conceived a son first (I am the eldest), the whole family will be very cham (unfortunate) so she said maybe it applies to me as well.

Hi tingting
I don't know if what he did was so-called the detailed scan. I can't see blood flow and internal organs on the screen leh... He took only 3 measurement, head size, body size + thigh bone length to measure size of baby... that's all! I am quite tempted to visit Datuk Chew (the gynae with the advance ultrasound machine) to do a detailed scanning for $290 but it's so expensive leh... I can buy a good electric breast pump for that amount leh.... and also I am afraid that if I go, I am not giving my gynae face. My gynae did say that if I want the usual detailed scan, he can arrange for me and the cost is about $180+. maybe I will ask my doc on my next visit which is 3 weeks later but I will be at my 20+wks and a few days after I will be flying to Beijing to visit my hubby for 2 weeks. By the time I am back, I will be 22+wks liao. Is it too late for a proper detailed scan then?

hi angel
good that you have yr hubby and yr ILs support. Your princess will be very loved by them...just keep telling her abt this ya. =)
i have made arrangement to do my detailed scan with Datuk Chew next week, were you the one who recommended me har? ....i think so leh...

like u, i also abit paisay, cos my gynae has told me to arrange with his clinic assistants for date of scan with TMC, but i really hope to visit Dr Chew, since i heard his machine is very good.
i also scared i don't give my gynae face leh...
i have yet to inform him, but i will do so when i go for my next visit.

think 22th week still okie for detailed scan...why don't you give the clinic a call to check?

Hi Angel, don't blame yourself.. in fact b4 i knew the gender of my bb, i kip tinking tat is a boy.. well turns out to be a gal.. tink of it, so long as yur bb is healthy & growing well, boy or gal is not a factor..

Yar Ero, no choice leh, cos that is the oni mall in SK and has the widest variety of fast food & food.. FAST FOOD!!! YUmYUM

Ting, I have discussed wif my hb liao, actually given the clothes volume that we have our big wardrobe oso can't accommodate bb clothings liao, will get her a chest drawer to store her clothes + diapers.. but looking more into the plastic type and when she gets bigger, we will then buy the kids bedroom set..

Angel & Ero, TMC is oni charging close to S$100 for the detailed scan.. and it doesnt' matter which clinic u go to, most impt is u pay little & get the same result.. now is the time to save as much $$ as possible.. And from my detailed scan experience, there is a blood flow shown on the screen, a scan on all the bb's organs to see if is functioning well & also measurements were taken for each bb organs to ensure full growth

hi angel,
its better to do the detailed scan earlier around week 20 or 21, cos' if baby grow bigger, its tough to scan. I am doing my detailed scan at TMC as well, same as Lib. Normally its conducted on week 20th. Try to schedule one before you fly off to Beijing
Enjoy your trip and take care.

hi angel, i think 22 weeks is still ok.. actually normal machines for detailed scans are quite good already... is it necessary to go for such an advanced machine? how much more can it tell anyway?

hi lib, was thinking of that too.. hmm... see if i can clear my wardrobe enough to accommodate... shld be, cos i have to pack away my current clothes anyway..

ha lib! i also a fastfood junkie! I lourve fries...esp with coke. but nowadays don't dare to drink so much liao, a sip or two only.
btw do you find that the kiddy palace at CP is pretty big? But everytime i'm there on weekends, i really have to beaware of running kids in the shop, very active. so i have to cover my tummy. kekek

angel, u flying off to beijing? when....so gd, can fly overseas...

erowen,
not only you love coke, me too!!! i just had fillet O fish, french fries and coke last week! hahahaa...so tasty. I don't drink coke daily, once a while its okay. i finish only 1/2 a cup.

Nowadays i also allow myself to drink tea, sometimes kopitiam type, with milk or homemade tea bag without milk. My gynae says its absolutely okay to drink one or 2 cups a day.

Hi angel,
Glad that your family are happy u r having a gal. Before she is born, already got a bunch of ppl waiting to luv her. So lucky!

Tok abt fast food, I simply luv it! Somemore my hse is so near to the Kallang KFC & Mcdonald... anytime want to eat can just walk there. It's so hard to resist...heehe

cat tail...u live near there? tanjong rhu area is it? sometimes my colleagues will drive to that Mcdonalds to eat cos it's nto so packed during lunch time.
I used to stay in Old Airport Rd...blk 68. behind Mountbatten Pri School...think now demolished liao is it?

reenie, i also had fillet last week! in fact i went Mcdonalds 3 times last week, one for breakfast, and twice for dinner (fillet and cheeseburger)...jialak..now then i realise i went 3 times last week.
as for tea, i seldom drink, cos i'm more of a coffee lover, kekek, occassionally i will still drink, cos i love the perk-me-up smell and taste!! Somehow Milo can never do that for me.

hmm, u guys are making me drool over the fillet o fish already... n i'm supposed to eat home-cooked dinner tonight! unless i finish work late...hehe...

Hi Angel,

Gal or Boy still your flesh & blood and I'm sure u will still love them and they will bring u lots of joy when they arrived. Now, most important that they are healthy. In fact, i prefer gals, cos they are closer to parents when they grow up.

Hi Lib/Erowen,

Your fastfood talk make me drool man! After i'm preggy, i like to eat BK Mushroom Cheese a lot. Can eat 1 whole dbl patty burger myself! One week must eat at least one...kekeke... very fattening hor.

For those who are thinking of a name for your baby, u might want to check this out www.babynames.com. Give u a lot of choices for baby names and also their meaning. Think I'll be naming my gal Juliette or Sheyenne.

chemistry i also have the same thought as you...gals are closer to parents when they grow up..=)) But of course there are guys who are really fillial to their parents too.

ohhh, BK!!! i like the mushroon swiss also!! yummy!! very juicy!!!

hi angel,
how are u? i've also found out that i'm carrying a gal. was very disappointed like you cuz i've always wanted a boy and we've been calling the baby our intended boy's name for the past few months. this will be the 3rd great granddaughter for my side of the family.

i've mentioned this in my previous post before. My MIL even told me in front of my gynae that she does not want a gal cuz she already has one (my BIL's daughter). So u can imagine my disappointment when the gynae broke the news last week.

That night i kept waking up also, felt guilty for my reaction but now i've gotten over it liao. My friend who went through the same thing just delivered a healthy gal last month and she told me that boys and gals bring equal joy, no lesser than either.

Remember the "hao" character? Its made up of a gal than a "zi" too...thats what my dad told me... meantime let's just focus on giving birth to healthy baby gal, then try for boy later.

Cheer up ok?

confused,

feeling better today? eat what u want and dont worry about what your SIL had said. She wanted to destroy your confidence and by holding her words seriously you're fufiling her wish.

its a joy to eat and you deserve to eat well to regain your health.

quite tough to stay under the same roof with SIL like that, but i think you're a very strong gal and you've been doing a better job than her! Keep your cool, give her your secret blessings, that she gets married and get outta the house soon!

tulip, erowen,
are our bellybutton suppose to be protuding? My is not leh.. in fact it's flat with a very deep hole now...

hi cakey

so far, for both my preg it is protuding.. maybe later urs will protrude out when u gain the weight?
urs boy or gal?

hey chemistry

juliette is nice.. i was thinking of callg the second one juliet shld it be a gal.. but it is a boy.. so have to think of something else

tulip, my is gal.. to be confirm again during detail scan. Maybe my bb is small size so haven't push my bellybutton yet...

cakey,
mine is the same, a deep hole...seems like its more hollow than before pregnany...collect dust :p

Ooooo...BK burger, drooling already! i like the mushroom swiss as well!! or maybe whopper without the onions.

for me, when I had ds.. belly button was not protruding leh.. this time, i noticed slight protruding.

I had fish & chips earlier.. how abt u all?

Hi erowen,
I stayed at Pine Close along the Old Airport Road, the block that is just behind the wet market. Good food around but I eat until sianz...*lol. Not too sure where is Blk 68, cos I am still blur abt my neighbourhood. So where r u staying now?

My tummy is round but my limbs are skinny... look like those African malnutrition kids except I am whiter version.

Miso,
i had fish slice soup with Yee mee....hahahah...very tasty and full

tonite i plan to eat Wu Xiang Beehoon!!!!

reenie, lucky u. yee mee is my 2nd favourite noodles next to mee sua! nowadays dont like to eat rice but like slurping on hot soupy noodles.

christina,
me also like mee sua! or beehoon...hehehe...i try to eat some soupy stuff, quite like it, especially since my pregnancy. Just now i saw Tom Yum seafood...i am so tempted to order one!!! but resisted it :p

after my 1st pregnancy, i started to like pig kidney/liver mee sua.. last time i see pig organs (except liver), i siam.. but now i like it cos eat that during confinement.. also now.. hope i get to eat the vinegar egg (although i dun take the pig trotter vinegar)
that day visited my fren who is doing confinement.. smelled all the yummy stuff fr the kitchen.. her confinement lady knows how to cook all these stuff.. cool

hahahah, tulip, i love confinement food too. this is my 1st pregnancy but i've a colleague who makes fabulous pig trotters in vinegar for her DILs when they give birth. She's a cantonese so confinement style quite strict. She would make one huge pot then bring some to the office for us....with the vinegar eggs also...smells super heavenly..! if u crave for it now, crystal jade makes small portions under the tim sum menu..only in the afternoons!

reenie, i cannot tahan, last week hubby ate tom yum seafood i stole from his bowl!

hi christina

afternoon got to work.. where got chance to eat the vinegar egg.. sigh...

recently, i dun have much cravings but i decided i will start taking soya bean curd from jollybean twice a week so that ds will have smooth complexion. have to start investing now..

anybody going to buy lohongka birdnest? now promotion, buy 6 get 1 free.. not sure nice tasting or not

hi tulip, r u referring to those concentrated ones? those that we take about 1 teaspoon a day? it'll burn a big hole in my pocket if i buy 6 in one go. =P

christina,
not only tomyum soup, i miss my meee siam too!!! how to steal a spoonful when my hubby don't take tomyum at all.

reenie, hahahah u're a spice gal like me. i cant stop taking spicy food leh...i still take mee siam once in a while but am cutting down on sambal/ fermented shrimps. My mom says "hei bee" not so good for preggies cuz toxic. rojak sauce also must stay away from.

tulip, u getting the bird's nest? i've never tried before cuz i like to drink from the bottle with rock sugar. lo han kah very reputable, i think they have better grade bird's nests

miso,
my hubby don't allow me to take meesiam and tomyum because its spicy and sour at the same time. I took alot of chilli and even spicy shrimp paste during pregnancy...

christina,
i cannot resist spicy food, chilli is very important to me!
i take quite alot of sambal chilli and shrimp paste chilli...the "hei bee" u talking about...never heard its toxic? i think not too much its ok. I haven't take rojak for a long time!!! also craving for it.

hi christina

dunno leh.. scarly 1 bottle also cannot finish.. how to finish 6 bottles.. also not cheap.. maybe just wait for my mil and mom to make for me.

i think it is because of the coconut milk we cannot take too much cos may cos indigestion.. when i had my first one.. i totally lost interest in laksa etc.. till now i never really picked up speed to eat laksa/meesiam..