(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

thks for your email. i will surely dahan...

erowen, how u know ur new boss will be bitchy when she/he is only coming today ah? glad u have a good breakfast to kick start!

i long time never log in... so envious that some of you already know the gender of your BB.... me still have to wait till end april/early may.

i am about 15weeks, but no feel BB movement... can ask when should 1st time mum feel??

very sad, i developed rash towards palmer's anti-stretch cream.... *sian* hoping that rash will clear soon.

my company also giving me about 70+ maternity leave, but tot of extending to end dec 2005. hoping my supervisor will be agreeable... anyone of you thinking of switching to part-time after BB born??

enjoy your wkends!!

nicnic, same to u!

tulip, cos she's transferred from another department, so my close colleagues have warned me..sian, later will have meeting with her. sigh...she got all sorts of patterns and rules to follow one!! And worse, it doesn't apply to her, only to her staff!!

morning girls,
i am so glad its friday! badly needed some rest. Hope everyone has a fantastic weekends!

yesterday was terrible, i took a bus to interchange, when i alight, i felt a bit dizzy and broke into cold sweat, less than a minute, i vomitted out like a merlion!
Lucky i didn't dirty anyone walking near me, i quickly walk towards a drain and continue to puke...my hubby is so worried. That's not the end, i decided to take a cab to work from interchange and vomitted again on the cab!
lucky the driver passed me plastic bag....sigh.

When i reached office, settle down, work abit, finally packed my notebook back home and rest. Wouldn't have gone back to office if not for my notebook as i need it for morning meeting today at home. Really kind of weak after all the vomitting....

Today i feel so much better
But i feel so pai sey
to vomit in the public, its the first time!

Yes, it's Friday! Can't wait for the day to end soon! Work sucks & so are my superiors... *Urggg..

Hi ilmare,
Dun worry abt the bb movement, it depends on individual. I am 18 wks & I can't feel the bb movement too. Most of my frds can only feel it around 20 weeks so you will have a long way to go.

OOh no, sorry to hear abt your rashes. R u skin sensitive or allergy to anything?

Hi reenie,
Pls take plenty of rest & dun move around too often. U know moving too fast may trigger your dizziness as well.

reenie, take gd care of yourself. luckily yr hubby was with you then and the cabby wasn't so bad, passed u plastic bag.

don't feel paisay abt vomiting in public...cos preggie are like that sometimes..ever since i preggie, i more and more not pai say liao!!! Cos i can't be bothered, i'm the one carrying the heavy ball, so those not yet preggie will never underst.

cattail, seems like most of our superiors sucks!!!

hi cat_tail and erowen,
thanks for your concern
i am much better today.

maybe i was rushing off to work yesterday, walk alittle fast. Anyway, it was really a bad morning. Imagine,now my stomach is not that big yet, i wonder how to cope at a later stage, with a watermelon?

Hi Reenie,

I also experienced the same incident as you when I was in BKK 2 weeks ago. I think it has something to do with our gastric (dunno if this is heartburn or backflow). For me, it was due to the food I eat at breakfast plus I exert myself a bit too soon too much.

Felt so relief and well after the puking.

Hi ixwong,
Understand that horrible feeling. Its really upseting, especially in the early morning on my way to work...

i'm not sure what is the cause, but i felt almost fainting and cold sweat. After puking, i felt better but rather weak.

Take care too
Let's try to relax our pace...

Ya erowen, if not for that medical benefits & maternity leave.. I sure give them a good slap & follow by a kick on their ass..heehee

I read a book tat say during the 2nd trimsters, we tend to feel more dizziness thanks to our low blood pressure. I check mine and it is slightly lower than my usual one. So I have that feeling of dizziness last 1-2 wks ago. I almost fainted & I have to rest quite a while to get myself back to normal. So whatever activities we are doing, just slow down our pace.

talking about dizziness.. tue night was using PC then saw the screen become 'wavy' like moving.. and seems someone is gently shaking the big chair I'm sitting on.. got a scare thought something wrong with my blood pressure or my eyesight.. then later realise is because of the earthquake.. *phew*...

cat_tail, very true....that's why must really 'ren'....

for the dizziness, are you gals taking any multivit?
Cos i used to have low blood pressure too...but my gynae prescribe me the pre-navit (pink-coloured pills) and after taking it, everytime he measure my blood pressure he says it's pretty ok...

reenie, try not to walk too fast, stand up too suddenly or bent down and bent up, it will cause dizziness.....take gd care ya

hi erowen,
my gynae got prescribed me e pre-navit 2.

gals,
do u have e feeling of short of breath and nauseaous n ur vision becomes blur suddenly?

Ya erowen! "Ren"!! I always complain to my bb that this & this bully yor mommy. Sometimes, I even scold these ppl infront of my bb. What a bad example of MTB. :z

Erowen, r u talking abt the Obimin, the pink film multi-vitamin tablet for pre & post natal? I am taking it as well together with the folic acid.

Hi nicnic,
I feel breathless when I need to walk fast or climbing stairs. Did u do anything before when you have these symptoms?

Hi cakey,

I slept like a log & my hubby woke me up during the earthquake. We were pondering to go downstairs by lifts or stairs, and to bring along my 2 cats. Then later we give up & go back to zzzz...

phew... been bz these days.. very tired!

seems like most of u had low blood pressure.. me had high instead. hehe.. think must cut down on salty food.

i still at office... bad news, went to see my company doc and she thinks i kena some kind of pregnancy rash bcos it is spreading a bit to groin area. the best thing is have to "ren" till BB born. *super sian* my mind went blank when she told me.... want to bang my head on the wall.

just checked my maternity leave, company giving 112 days for 1st 2 child and 56 days for 3rd. don't know how HR calculated, 112 divide by 3 is about 37/month...

cat tail, i also can't climb stairs or slopes, feel like anytime will drop dead.

btw, obimin can help low blood pressure?? i am starting on it tomorrow.

hi cat tail,
i will haf all these symptoms out of sudden wnen i am standing.

i haf being taking e obimin wif folic acid every morning.

hi ilmare,
same as u i oso haf veri bad rashes ard my waist
area.

does anyone know is it okie to drink carbonated drinks.. e.g orangina?

Normally how often your baby movement per day? mine more active during evening but some days not that often.

i m in my 18 week is this normal?

i just went thru some of the old msgs and noticed that some of you also experienced rashes around the tummy... interested to know what med cream you used and how long before rashes disappeared??

nicnic, you and me in same boat... i tried very hard to ignore the itch but very difficult.

i been experiencing "bubbles brusting" and tapping feeling recently. is this BB movement??

hello,
seems like the postings from past few days missing?? thot the new motherhood site was down, just trying my luck to access the old site.. anyone knows what's going on?
kao_confused.gif

hi timie,

d new motherhood website is down due to hardware failure. so chin leng shifted d postings here. however, all postings made at d new website is lost as thr r no backups.

arghhh! heart pain! we had so much valuable information stored in the previous forum, recipes, what where to buy etc! i was supposed to send email to someone who recommended heidistacy, wonder if its tingting, or lib? preggie memory very bad.....now worse, no more reference!

hope we find people back here soon

oh dear! me haven't finish catching up on the past few days' postings! sigh..so much for technology..

christina, ya, veri bad memory & absent minded, jia lat..nvr mind, hope they come back to tis site soon, can ask them

Any of you bought baby cot mattress yet? I was given a safety 1st one by my fren but am unsure what type of mattress protector I shd buy. Cos the holes (which supposed to prevent suffocation) will be covered up by the mattress protector right?

We move house again ah..haha

I haven't bot any bb stuff yet, cos waiting for some sales goin. Furthermore buy too early also scare it will collect dust.

Hi guys

i was totally lost yesterday! dd got high fever so stayed at home to take care of her.. then while she sleeping i thot i can just surf net and talk to u all.. then cldnt find anything. so for those who are putting child in infant care.. just take note that child will fall sick quite often cos virus spread amongst children

anyway, i think i will do the list for all of you over the weekend on what to buy then you all can dl it into ur hard disk.. harddisk wont crash right? haha

hey christina, it was me who recommended staceyheidi lah.. u so fast memory fail? haha
their email is [email protected]

here's something i bought fr them.. can see?
270402.jpg

ixwong, i hvn't buy d cot yet. now waiting 2 c whether got any gd bargains.

tulip, tks 4 d compilation.

hahahah, tulip, thanks for the pix. Its darn pretty! Gosh, i've the impression that you're one good looking gal in that top. love at first sight for me too, since i've been dressed in frumpy tees. heheheh. its true, my memory very bad, supposed to email u then i forgot. forgot who somemore. so pai seh *blush*

how's your dd feeling? hope she recovers soon. meantime take plenty of water and fruits yourself to boost your immnue system k.

ohhhhh and thanks for saving our lives by offering to compile the list again. i really took the website for granted leh. never copy down all the tips and advices....thinking that they'll always be stored in the forum.

Hi ladies.. juz went to tollyjoy warehouse sale.. bought quite a number of items there.. if u r intending to buy things from tollyjoy can check out from the warehouse sale.. quite attractive prices..

Hi christina, i try to look good lah.. haha.. (staceyheidi is at katong mall, in case you forget... :p) i told my hubby. since this preg, i want to look feminine.. my first preg, i was into pants and shirts.. now i dun want to wear them anymore.. poor hubby.. have to pay and pay lah. now, i even put makeup to work.. my first preg, i so tired to do anything to my face.. these day, even i wake up late, i make sure i have to put my makeup. ha

dd now shld be better but jus to let u all know, now mcys compulsary that u must have dr letter before childcarecentre feed the kid medication. i was not v happy on wed cos i brought in fever medicine and the lady told me they cannot feed her.. then i ask her.. then how? u mean u leave my bb having fever is it? i think she was v shocked at my response.. so she said.. okay next time must have letter. usu i am v nice to them one lah..

hi lib, what is good to buy? am thinking of stocking up wet tissues (JL sales the 2tin plus 1 refill for $9.50, which i usu buy during 20% sale). other than that, i dun get anything fr tollyjoy

hi tulip,
can understand how you feel. i've never heard of that silly rule from mcys until you told me. its very inflexible, esp when medicine is brought in by the parents.

im very vain also, go out must put on makeup. my complexion got very bad during this period. its leaving little scars behind, so have to cover up with foundation before i'm ready to face the world again.

when does the warehouse sale end btw?

hi ladies, i got this list fr the forum somewhere on what to buy. hope it's useful..pretty long list but guess not everything is a must-buy..

Checklist of Purchases

BB's room:
Baby Cot
Musical mobiles/ Merry-go-round
Mattress (3" or 4")
Blanket
Bumper
Pillow/bolster case
Bedsheets
Mattress protector
Changing table (optional)
Cupboard/Chest of Drawers

Clothes for baby:
Mittens/Bootees
Cloth Diapers (Can also be use to wrap baby)
Nappy liners
Blouse/shirts - long and short sleeves
Suits - pants and long shirts
Rompers
Handkerchiefs (get plenty of them)
Face towels
PILCHERS (pants worn over nappies)

Baby bathing:
Baby wipes
Bath tub
Anti-slip mat
Changing mat
Rubber mat
Bath towel
Bath sponge (optional, small cotton handkerchief would suffice)
Baby soap/bath lotion
Baby shampoo
Baby oil
Cotton buds
Baby powder with puff

Laundry for Baby Clothes:
Buckets with lids
Basket for baby laundry
Nappy/clothes detergent/softener
Clothes hanger for drying mittens/booties/handkerchiefs

Feeding Baby:
Milk bottles (big+small) + teats
Bottle scrub brush
Warmer cum carrier bag
Thermometer (to use when baby is unwell)
Large pan/pot (for sterilising)
Tongs (to handle hot bottles)
Electric Steam Steriliser (Pigeon/Avent)
Milk containers
Bags/milk bottles to store expressed breastmilk

Misc:
Safety pins
Pacifiers
Thermometer (Check room temperature)
Nail clippers
Anti-nappy rash cream (Drapolene)
Oil for wind (Ru Yi or White Tree Oil)
Ziplock bags for checkups and outings.
Woodwards Gripe Water
Sterile thermoplastic tray with swabs & swabsticks
Polythene bag for soiled diapers
Dish/ container (to wash babys face)

Care of the Umbilical Cord Stump:
Sterile swab applicators
Sterile cotton swabs
Sterile container for cord spirit
Cord spirit

Accessories:
Playpen
Stair/door gates (If you want to separate your baby & pets)
Rubber protectors for bedroom doors
Highchair
Walker
Bouncer
Stroller
Pram
Baby carrier
Car seats

Toys & Playstuff:
Rattle
Mirror
Baby gym

Mummy Care:
Maternity Dress/top/bottom
Pyjamas with front opening for breast feeding
Breast pump
Anti Stretchmark creams
Nursing bras
Maternity bras
Nipple cream for crack nipples
Nursing pads
Disposible panties
Cotton panties (larger size when reach later stage of pregnancy)
Sanitary pads
Panty liners
Bedroom slippers
Painkillers (with doctors prescription only)

Other optional items:
Plastic bowl/ container, 10-12 inch diameter for both baby and mother
Electrical HotFlask (autoboil), quick access to boiling water for formula milk
Thermoflask without autoboil, for mums drinking water
Claypot or double boil claypot for mums confinement soup
Claypot or earthenware for cooking pigs trotters in ginger and black vinegar
2 pails for mums bathing and face cleansing.

timie, thank you. i'm warming up my printer now. this time i'm gonna make hardcopies before this precious list disappears again!

looks like i've to be prepared to spend thousands before bb arrives. car seats, cots and prams are soooo pricey! esp the good ones. these days i'm also cracking my head on how to increase my kitchen space. we went for the minimalist look so now there's no storage space for bb =P

thanks, tulip. will note that
do we need to get the breastpump before delivery or after? some ppl say they worrie dun hv BM, buy oredi waste money..

heheheh, yap have a great weekend! it was a relief having you timie and the rest to talk to this afternoon.

Hope we see more people online soon!

Hi ladies, the sale ends tomorrow.
I cant remember how much they are selling for the wipes (tub) as this is not a highly recommeneded brand for wet tissues.. As i do no have passed down mittens & booties, bought quite a number of sets @ S$1 per set...

All regular items are 20% off, some of the old products are in 30% off.. Ok lar, quite worth it lor..

hi everafter,

i jus went to e warehs sale too. its a small sale, nt many items. i dun think the nicer clothes r extremely cheap. but there are some average ones going at $1 or $2, didnt c much rompers.

i only bought a set of clothes at $8 n 2pairs of mittens n booties.

Hi ladies, been trying to log in but to no avail. Luckily Lib told me can still log into this old addie. hehe... btw, just a note to those who will be delivering at kkh, the spirit thingy for bb's umbilical cord.. kkh dun seems to provide for it. Had a friend who recently gave birth there and she has to buy it herself. Think for all other private hospitals..should hv.

today went to see gynae and managed to see tt I am carrying a gal! The blood test for DS is good too.. very low percentage and my urine test is good too. So ironic actually, for my first pregnancy, I am careful in my diet etc.. end up, my pressure is high, got sugar in urine etc... this one, i super heck care and ate anything!!!! No probs at all.. haha..

Hi everafter, u mean for newborn? Hospital will normally provide u with a pack of Pampers Newborn. But I see the advert on magazines on Mamy Poko Newborn, seems pretty good cos there's a U-shape loop to avoid the umbilical cord. Think I will buy tt. Daytime, will let nb wear cloth nappies.