(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi cat_tail, yes tats y we preg are encouraged to look at nice bb poster.. so our bb will be expected to follow slightly alittle.

hi nicnic, welcome! weekend's a bit quiet here...

hi everyone, went for my detailed scan yesterday, and detected that bb is a boy
hopefully it's not his finger playing tricks on us cos at the scan sonographer said one of his hands is at his buttock area... hehe... but she seems quite certain so i think it's 90% accurate lah...

now i'm trying to decide on the hospital to deliver at... can't decide bet TMC n Mt A.. TMC seems quite focused on deliveries, and the setting is also quite cheerful, but it's quite busy n is also more expensive... Mt A is more serene but more hospital-like...

Hi nicnic, of cos u r welcome to join us! How many weeks are you now?

Hi ting ting, CONGRATULATIONS! Ur parents and in laws must be elated! I myself would prefer the ambience in TMC rather than Mt A. Have u taken a tour to look at it?

hi nicnic, welcome.

ladies, hv u all work out a list of things to buy for baby?? what are the MUST have and wat are the optional stuff? i feel i'm such a blur MTB, not really sure wat things to plan for yet.

hi miso, thanks. both parents and PILs are neutral on gender, so no obvious change in attitude.. :p but for me i was a bit wistful when passing by children's department n seeing all the pretty dresses n dolls..hehe... but either gender would have a bit of longing for the other, so only a long2 feng4 tai1 would be a perfect outcome for me..haha...

i've been to Mt A while visiting fren, and went to TMC for my scan yest... yah, agree with you on the ambience... both are quite on par... but Mt A seems to be more serene...

Hi Tingting, congratulations!!! As long as your baby is healthy, gender isn't the issue... Most imptly, is where u feel more comfortable to give birth.. Anyway TMC & MA charges are only slight difference.

Hi Nicnic, welcome.. do drop in as often mostly this thread will be more active during the weekdays.. So when is yur EDD?

Hi Cookies, so far i didn't draw out a list of things to buy, most of the times is i see it, like it, i buy it.. today, my HB juz bought a Max-cool NB pink romper for BB..

Maybe some of the followings you may consider as things to buy for your NB.
1) Milk Bottles (at least 4)
2) Steriliser
3) Tong + Bottle Brush + Bottle Wash
4) Shirt (Long & Short SleeveS)
5) Pants (Long & Short Sleeves)
6) Mitten & Booties
7) Bath Towel
8) Baby Wipes
9) Bath Tub
10) Handkerchief
11) Changing Mat
12) Cotton Bud/ Cotton wool
13) Baby Bedding
14) Stroller

** So far these are the things tat came to my mind..

just some of the items to add to Lib's list.

15) Ru Yi Oil
16) Drapolene (for nappy rash)
17) Nappy Cloths and covers
18) Hankerchiefs - lots!
19) bibs - if not, can always use hankys too
20) anit-slip mat to be placed in bathtubs while bathing bb
21) nail clippers or nail scissors with round ends - i only use it on bb's full mth

hm....can only think of these at the moment too.. hehe

Hi tingting,
Congratulations! A boy is a good start, and after that can try for a gal..heehee

My recipe really something too pai sek to share out. :p I put oyster sauce, light soya sauce, sesame oil, pepper, etc.. anything I see I put in..& fry with my bee hoon. *lol

Hi nicnic,
Welcome to be part of the MTB. A first time Mum?

morning ladies!
hope everyone had a great and relaxing long weekend...today really had to drag myself up to work. =P

welcome nicnic. who's yr gynae?

tingting, congrats to u! It's a boy! Was yr detailed scan process enjoyable? So far i think only timie has went for the scan...is it? I can't wait for mine, it's next week...

my brother's gf yesterday passed me one bag of baby's clothings from her elder sis (2 kids now)...got baby smell...so nice....i feel like hugging them to sleep.
So last night i was playing with these small small baby's clothings...they really looked so cute.

Hi ladies, good morning.

Hi nicnic, my bday falls on 24.09 and actually would really like a sept bb!!!!! Then maybe can 'pok' for the same bday.. but alas! hahaa..

Hi erowen, u very cute leh.. good to have some pass-me-downs cute bb clothings..according to old wife's tales, bb will grow strong.

hi erowen, cat_tail, thanks! the scan process was quite long n my sonographer was quite quiet. din want to disturb her in case she takes measurements wrongly..hehe... but seeing her so serious makes me a bit worried, dunno if there's any problem.. so in the end cannot tahan just had to ask her if everything's alright.. :p but the scan was quite clear, n can see more than usual scans..

i also would like my next kid to be a gal.. bcos boy cannot pamper n dress up too much mah...
may have problems finding 2nd hand clothes cos most of my frens' kids are gals... have to start searching for lobangs already...

hi miso, my hubby said i abit 'siao' , sitting there and smell and play with the baby's clothes. =P
ya my mum was telling me not to buy cos even after a few wash, newborn bb may not accustomed to the material and keep on crying. She prefers me to borrow bb's worn's clothings

tingting, were you given a report at the end of the scan?
btw for the bb's clothes, it's okie. i believe some of your frens will have white and blue or yellow or neutral colours's clothings...esp white. can still borrow. Cos they are really soft...

Hi nicnic, do share with us on your progress..

Hi Ero, haha, the bb's clothings really cute right?? see the way when u fold them to the wardrobe.. aiyoh.. how u wish our bb is oredi out now readily to wear it!!! hehe..

miso, so yr bday is in sept, hmm.. if yr bb is born in mid aug, u r able to celebrate yr bday and have a big feast..

Ting, my situation is juz opp of u. most of my friends wana to pass down is baby boys clothings.. and boys toys... too bad, mine is a gal.. got a great idea, y not u borrow your friend's bb gals' cloting and i borrow bb goys' clothing.. and we exchange.. HAHA..

Hi erowen, u really did tt?? hahaha.. u so cute!

Hi Lib, depends lor.. who knows my bday will be on the same day as bb's full mth celebration. hahaha..

tingting,
congrats! isn't it great to know the gender!
now u can start to buy and prepare the clothings, its so exciting!! i cannot wait for my turn to come.

erowen,
u so cute....i couldn't resist buying those baby's stuff too, but till now i only bought mittens and booties, a set of clothings, which is light green in color, comes with matching booties.

wow...monday again, its kind of cold and dark sky, take care girls, remember to keep yourself dry. I am longing for weekends :p work is alot.

hi ladies, just to share my new experience... these 2 weeks i began to feel the bb's movement in my tummy! At first not very sure whether it's my digestion or what but now i quite sure
Most of the time I felt movement on my innner side and occasionally the outer side of tummy will pop out gentlely. Hubby is eager to feel to but most of the time it stops when hb put his hands there.. maybe his hand too heavy or too warm hehe.. Then yesterday night he managed to 'catch her in action' and could feel the gentle kick! he's quite shock hehe..
I'm going to 19wk now.. I suppose most of us will be experiencing that soon if not now right?

hi lib, you bought yr bb's clothings liao? where you buy from?
ya ya, you took the words right from my mouth!! how i wish i can put on those clothes for my bb! so cute...
regarding the clothings, as long as yr fren got white/yellow clothings, can borrow, it's okie. cos newborn bb's clothings unisex one. i'm sure you also don't want yr bb to wear pink everyday right? =))

ya miso, that's why my hubby said i abit 'siao' lor..=P
if yr bb full month coincides with yr birthday, that'll be double celebration!

hi reenie, ya today's weather pretty cooling, from my office's window, the sky seems heavy and dark.

cakey, i'm also moving into my 19th week...so far i only feel light bubbles in my tummy, like suddenly there will be a 'pop pop' movement...
but yrs seems more active leh...=))

Hi cakey, me too felt the movements these days liao...though more like light tappings kind..hehe..but it's definitely bb's movements!

Hi erowen, yea...but I doubt so cos my edd is 18.08.2005...and my bday is 24.09...unless it's overdue.. hahaha..

Hi Miso... that's overdue by too much liao.... hahahah.....

how come everybody can feel their baby's movement but still i can't feel anything.... i'm coming to my week 20 liao.....

welcome nicnic.... who is your gynae and where will you be delivering at?

Hi Ero, haha.. no choice lar, we are all in the same situation now, tats y we can understand each other better... Haha..i depend lor, if happen to see nice ones wil juz grab it home.. normally from dept stores..

cakey, yr hb is so lucky, my hb has been trying every nite since the day i started feeling the bb kick.. but sigh.. he still can't feel it.. haha..

Hi worshipper, yalor.. very overdue liao lidat.. but if for full mth celebration, think for boys, can hold the celebration earlier or on same date. For gals, can be later. Tt's what I heard from old folks.. hehe..

miso, heard of that before also...and i wonder why?

it seems that zoe tay had her baby's full month, using lunar calendar. That's what my colleagues they all were discussing. anyway i thought she looked really nice ysterday and her baby boy is very cute...

hi lib, ya..yesterday when i was playing with the clothes, i found that they've also pack some babyblue clothings, looks very cute! i think baby gal can wear lor..anyway zoe tay's bb boy was wearing a pink trouser yesterday!!!

worshippertemple, don't worry cos the movements are very light...usually it's when i'm relaxing on the sofa watching tv then i feel it. anyway i only feel it 3 times so far...and no very active or obvious actions, just bubbles.

oh ya btw, i really think zoe tay's confinement is veryvery strict...she actually didn't use toothpaste, just chinese herbs to brush her teeth...i quickly asked my mum and luckily she said for teeth cleanliness it's better to use toothpaste cos we eat so many heaty and meaty stuff, not gd for the 'leftovers' inside the teeth.

phew

It's been a real long weekend for me. Went for detailed scan on Wed, MC on Thurs and PH on Fri! The detail scan can really see bb very clearly. The specialist can detect the organs, spine and the features on the face etc. From the detailed scan, they plot a few charts to show if your bb is big, average or small size. Mine turned out to be a average size. However, my placenta was a bit low. So will have to monitor to see if it moves higher next month.

Hi Erowen,

I also the same as u, always take out my bb clothes, display n see leh. It's so good that u got someone to pass down the clothes. Can really save a lot. Most of my friends have bb boys while my SIL who had 2 bb gals already given hers away.

Hi cakey,

Most of the time, my bb also stop kicking when my hubby place his hands on my tummy. So far, my hubby on managed to feel bb kick 2 times and that was when he had to place his hand on tummy for about 15 mins. Think our bb probably feel shy for daddy to touch them. kekeke...

hi erowen n worshippertemple,
my gynae is Dr Adrian Woodworth and i will be delivering at TMC.

hi miso,
i was born in e yr of rooster 2 same as my baby.

hi lib,
i m eager 2 noe e gender of my bb so tat i can start shopping for e clothings.

Hi erowen I also dunno y .. so funny hor? U know, my mil wore my ds in pink clothings sometimes during the early mths.. she say, lidat the bb will be easier to take care, cos generally bb gals are easier to take care u see.. now u see the pt?? hehe..

hi chemistry...
in that case, try not to walk too fast or carry heavy things...but i believe placenta will move up slowly by itself one...
btw it's a princess or prince?

kekeke, think we really love these bb blothings hor..now i'm thinking abt them and the smell!! gosh! can't wait to play with them again. kekeke

same as yrs, my hubby not yet have a chance to feel BB...

nicnic, i'm also seeing dr adrian...yrs is at sengkang or cck?

miso..really ah? maybe that's why zoe tay's bb very obedient yesterday, that was what reported in the newspaper. ahha, so maybe it was the pink trouser that did the trick. =)

Super tired today. Think coming down with flu cos throat is a bit sore today...

I'm now 19 weeks 2 days. Have been feeling quite a fair bit of 'bubbles' movements in my tummy. Was still wondering whether it's bb or just my own intestine....but from the description of all, think it's likely bb movement.

So envy those who had gone for the scan liao. Mine is scheduled only the week after.

Hi guys

long time no msg. me sick and tired.. ganna sorethroat & flu last week, mc for 2 days.. so effectively only worked 2 days last week.. boss not happy...

i think zoe tay v kua zhang lei.. even full mth must be on the news.. maybe next time her boy 1 yr old, go kindergarden.. everybody know.. never hear such publicity from pple like wong lilin.

did u all see her stretch mark/green veins all over her shoulder? maybe she put on weight too fast or last time she too skinny?

hi tulip, u feeling btr? must take extra care..nowadays weather no good le..

re. zoe.. cos she's ah jie ma plus so many celebc attending the celebration so the reporters die die must make some news out of it la...haha..

Hi Erowen,

My baby is gal. Gynae told us last month already. Detailed scan confirmed gynae is correct. I'm kinda of relieved cos parents and hubby had got quite a number of baby gal clothing during their overseas trip last month. Bb gals clothing are really cute. Last weekend, went to kiddy palace with my mum and saw this cute panty skirt for newborn, So cute and was so tempted to buy, but my mum will be going HK next mth and she look out for it when she's there.

hi ixwong and tulip, take gd care of yourself...drink more water and if you can, get more rest...i know how flu can really make us very tired....
ya, i think the bubbles you mentioned are same as mine...like pop, pop here and there. =)

chemistry, oh yrs is a princess. =) i also some hot pink small dress at kiddy palace, i really like it...tempted to buy too! =))
so gd, yr mum gg HK, heard bb's clothings are cheaper....can ask yr mum to loads for you. =))
btw chemistry, were you given a report after yr detailed scan?

hi girls,
me too experience some movement last evening, its very gentle kind of popping....seems like the baby is kicking.

i find its easier to detect the movement lying down and focus
My hubby sense it as well! I placed his hand on my tummy and ask him to wait quietly...hehehe

Hi miso

first time i had to see 2 drs and now i am still coughing.. dunno why. hubby scared affect bb. i said it is the bb who affected my health! ha.

but the weather is really lousy, bought dd for her belated chickenpox jap on sat.. dr said now chickenpox virus is in the air.

Hi erowen,

Yes, was given a report after the detailed scan. Tell the dimension of the body, limps, head etc. Also state if the organ, eye, nose, lips etc are detectable, placenta position, and whether the size is within normal range etc. But then before I passed it to my gynae, I didn't zap a copy to keep. Should have done so.

reenie, same as you, it's usually when i resting on my bed or sitting down on safe at home, then will feel it..at work i hardly feel anything, maybe cannot really focus lor.

chemistry, tks ya. the detailed scan is really 'detailed' ya..counting down the days to my scan next fri.

hi erowen,
maybe our babies find more comfortable and relax at home

hi miso,
do you know the operating hours of Perfect Mum? or their contact no.? Thanks. I might want to drop by this weekend.

hi, for my case it's usually after sitting down for some time say >15min then will feel the bb movement.. eg.like sitting in MRT, watching tv, resting at bed or even during my lecture time at my night course hehe...

Someone was talking about fried beehoon, my fave food! Sharing the simple recipe i always make do with:

1) Soak the beehoon for at least 1/2 hr
2) Cut up the veggies (cabbage, carrot or caixin)
3) Slice the fishcake or fishball (can add prawns/crabmeat/charsiew)
4) Beat the eggs
5) Prepare a bowl with oyster sauce + warm water mixed

First, heat the wok with alittle oil, fried the eggs first. Leave it aside and slice into tiny stripes when cool.

2nd, add alittle oil to the wok, add in the veggies, fishcake or other ingredients u have, once slightly cooked, add in the beehoon.

3rd, mixed oyster sauce with warm water pour into the beehoon, continue frying.......then cover the wok for 3-5mins. ITs ready to eat!

Sharing another simple and healthy soup i have been drinking lately:

Sweet Corn with Carrots
========================

2 sweet corn, chopped into pieces of 4 cm (approx.)

2-3 carrots (depending on pax), chopped into cubes

8 red dates

Spare ribs

=======================
1) Wash the spare ribs clean, boiled it once, throw away the water.

2) Then boiled the spare ribs again in the pot, add in red dates, sweet corn and carrots.

The soup will be very tasty if you boil it slowly for more than 2-3 hours....the sweetcorns can be eaten, the carrots too

hi nicnic, when is your next schedule appt? perhaps by then u may be able to see the gender.. truly understand cos we all been thru, haha.. nvr mind, for the time being juz buy generic colours lor, i oni start buying pink clothings after my detailed scan.. start to aim 1st..

Hi tulip, really got to take care of yourself hor.. weather is really bad..

juz now went to compasspoint with my hb and saw they are having some children's wear sale at the atrium.. We bought 4pcs of rompers at S$2.90/pc, 1pc of pyjamas romper at S$5/pc, 1 elle l/s shirt at S$6.pc.. Thinking that i mite not have that many of pass down clothings, so bought all these.. Ladies can see see look look.. dun wori on the design lar, juz wear these at home lor

Hi reenie, Perfect Mum's operating hours:

Mon - Fri (11 am to 7.30 pm)
Sat (11 am to 6 pm)
Sun and PH closed.

The one at The Arcade closes at 4 pm on Sat. The lady's name is Joanna Sin.

hi cookies,
i am now in my week 18
don't worry too much, its normal not to feel anyting if this is our first pregnancy. I hope what i feel is really the baby moving, not my stomach playing tricks.

when i saw the last ultrascan the baby kicks, i don't feel anything too, so don't worry
Maybe your baby is a gently baby.

hello gals

wow! tis thread beocme so active

miso - can i ask u whether how long does it take u to go back to your figure? Now i still having water retention. is it normal n how to get rid?

i'm feeling down n upset the last few days. Had a huge quarrel with my PIL n SIL during good friday. SIL call me bui3 ji1(in hokkien) fat pig

hi confused, don't feel upset abt it, your SIL is so mean to have called u this.. Juz ignore this sarcatism, she will oso be one 1 of these dayS!!