(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi confused,
cheer up, ok? don't get upset over those comments/remarks. Huggies. Take good care of yourself now, nothing is more important than building up a strong body.

it certainly hurt and feel offended if someone called me like this, but if its jokingly, its ok.

wow reenie, u r making me very hungry leh!! =))
you must be a good cook...me very lazy now...now preggie i lazy to cook. Do you cook your own dinner and also for your hubby?

cakey, i think it's bcos we are more aware of our tummy, that's why we can feel it.

dear confusedgal, pls don't let your yr terrible SIL and PILs affect you ya...we are here for u !!! i feel like 'bishh' your sil and pils!!
'hugz'....think of yr mum, yr hubby and us..we are all here for you.

erowen,
i used to cook often before my pregnancy, now i pass instruction :p I also like to bake cakes/cookies. Will try to cook for family as i am living with my parents. We take turns to cook when we want, but not everyday.

My hubby knows how to cook with the guidance of me and mummy, like last night he cooked a tofu soup (boiled soyabean with ikan billis), stirred fried tomato prawns, caixin with oyster sauce and a fried egg.

I think its great to have him learning cooking, at least now he can cook simple dishes for me. He can make very good fried rice!

hi reenie
i completely agree with what you said, great to have hubby learning cooking.
yr hubby very gd, can cook fried rice and even a full dinner of 3 or 4 course!! impressive leh!!

my hubby now only cook minced pork porridge...before pregnancy i taught him this dish..wanted to teach him how to boil soup and cook simple noodles...but now too tired and my hubby very clumsy one! and also very chin chye, i teach him cooking once , i feel taking the pots and bang his head!! so now he can only fry eggs and cook minced pork porridge!! Cos i don't want to aggravate myself further..kekek. =))

hi confused, what happened? Your SIL is a very mean person, that remark was very uncalled for. Was your hubby there? You've to master enough courage to defend yourself one day. If she says that again, tell her "thank you. i hope you look like one one day too. maybe a bigger version because it screams prosperity"...

i had a very bad weekend too, thats y these few days very quiet...my cousin passed away at 24 years old. She was my jiemei during my wedding just few months ago, now she's out of our lives. My aunt was crushed, cuz she just lost her husband (my uncle) less than one year ago...now another daughter gone so suddenly.

do u have any taboos against attending funeral while preggie? i went to the wake for a short while to pass my "baijin" but didn't go to the crematorium...

Hi confused,

Ur SIL's mouth really bad man...dun be bothered by her, she must be jealous that u look better than her, and that's why she call u ugly names. I hope u are not staying with her.

erowen and reenie, you husbands are so supportive!! Mine also supportive but never in the kitchen because he is so chauvinistic....and never thinks that he belongs in the kitchen, he sez woman's job... know him for 7 years never seen him cook anything leh. i was his full-time cook when we stayed at the States for 2 years oso...

envy wo...

Hi reenie, I also like tt kinda soup, but sometimes, I will just omit the meat.. and add in black mushrooms, button mushrooms and gou zi.

Hi confused, ur pil and sil so mean!!! aiyo.. just ignore them ok! we are all here for u! Oh, for my first pregnancy, I was all stressed up cos of the 'devil-cl' thingy.. and I was back to pre-pregnancy weight and figure very fast! In fact, even during the first mth. As for ur case, U might wish to have a malay massage to tone back ur body?

wow.. thread is moving so fast today!

erowen, i did not get the detailed report on the spot cos it was too late for me to visit my gynae on the same day, so the hospital will mail it to her directly. but the sonographer did say that my bb is slightly larger than average.. at 380g.. think average is at 350g for 20 wks right? but she also said it's good. so shld be ok lah... for myself, think i gained a full 4kg this month! gosh! though i really dun look it, but the scales do scare me a bit.. but can't resist snacking! :p

lib, no problem... if i get some hand-me-downs for bb gals will pass to you..
today was walking through shopping centre n saw some really cute baby wear... but refraining from buying now cos want to get bb room n wardrobe space ready n see what i can get from frens n relatives first.. guess will try to get as much white clothes as possible... then myself will buy the coloured ones.. still prefer yellow colours..hehe.. the other day saw some Hamtaro series... really cute too! can supplement the piyo piyo, tweety bird, garfield series..haha!

confused... people say silly things when they are angry.. not worth fuming over.. just brush them off as ignorant people..

dear christina, i'm very sorry to hear abt your late cousin..my condolences....what happened to her?

since you have gone for the wake, so now don't think too much or dwell on it, cos you have attended it. So just let it be. Your late cousin will bless you , knowing that you have paid yr respect to her

thanks Lit, reenie n erowen for the an1 wei4. ya! its very mean of her to say tis. She even chase us away (the hse belong to my hubby) very suay1 to have tis kind family. And i only realised last week that they dont treat me as a family member, i'm a outsider.

Really thanks for the support

hi erowen,
my standard not very high, as long as the food is completely cooked and taste ok ok, i am fine
I enjoy his cooking and often praise him, so he will do a better job nxt time! hahahahaha...i bought a cook book for him before, a chinese one...and he learnt his first dish, Sweet & Sour Fish, impressed my mom and dad.

As long as our hubby try to cook for us, i am sure we will feel happy and the food taste extra "sweet"

Why not you try to teach him the "sweetcorn and carrot" soup? its easier if you have those slow cooker...just let it cook on its own. Another dish i can recommend u to let him try is "steam fish", which is pretty easy as well.

Steam Fish

1) Clean the fish ( any fish suitable for steaming, promfret or "ngoh hee" or cod fish)

2) Buy the sour plums ( get from NTUC, in jar form) you need about 4 plums to steam the fish.

3) Cut some tomatos into wedges/slice

4) Cut some tofu into square cubes

5) Slice ginger ( preferably young ginger) into thin slices or tiny stripes.

First,put the steamer (slivered wired steamer)into wok, add water till it touches the steam base. Boiled the water.
Get a plate, put the fish in, arrange the ingredients on top of the fish, especially the ginger and the sour plums. I slightly pressed the sour plums to let the juice come out easily later. Add the tomatoes slices and tofu.

2nd, when water is boiled, placed the fish in.

3rd, let the fish steam for around 15min to 20mins, its ready to eat!!!!!

hi erowen, thanks for your concern. It was what i needed to hear. She was hospitalised for suspected dengue fever, then discharged cuz doc said not dengue. a week later her condition went from bad to worse and she was admitted back to hospital again. doc says viral infection and she never woke up since. Within 5 days she was gone. Got multiple stroke and water in the lungs midway...

i think ttsh is a very bad hospital...the last time my grandpa got admitted never come out alive oso...

christina - oh no! so sorry to hear that. Dont be too sad yeah cos afraid it'll affect u n bb. My condolences. yeah! wat happen to her.

chemistry - i'm staying with PIL n SIL

Gals - ya! i oredi very sad liao n now even worse.(actually i'm trying to gain back my confidence n now crush by her) Actually i wasnt involved in the quarrel. I hear MIL n SIL attack my hubby n i cant tahan n later SIL say wait for FIL to come back. when FIL came back (with 2minutes) he oso attck my hubby (hey! 3 to 1 leh, how can)

miso - can go for malay massage now? Where can i do it?

chat with u gals tomoro. i'm going home liao. bye!

ting ting, i think yr baby's weight is fine, just slightly more than average. It means that you are eating well and staying healthy! =)

reenie, u are very good leh, last week my hubby cooked the porridge, but too bland and i was complaining, after that i got sayang him abit lor, but only abit. kekek, no wonder yr hubby got motivation to cook! Cos u so sweet to him.
tks for sharing yr recipes ya.

christina, gosh...it sounds terrible and...so sudden..what trigger the whole thing? How come suddenly infected? Did the doctor give a good explanation?
christina...you are not the first person to comment that abt TTSH...

Hi reenie,
So cute of you to pass the recipe!
Your steam fish sounds tasty, I can try to do one of the weekend. U noe how to do the cantonese style one? I am only good in Thai style..heehee

Talk abt Perfect Mum... Can't imagine I spent $300+ on the maternity wear at one shot! I think I siao liao. The one I go is Tanjong Pagar Plaza.

Hi confused,
Your SIL is really damn mean! U got suan her back? Dun let this kind of women climb on top of your head! Suan her!!

Hi Christina,
So sad to hear to hear that, pls take care of yourself.

confusedgal take care and don't think too much. No worth your efforts.....

cat tail, don't worry, it's normal. kekek, cos i also spent that amt in perfect mum! $315 to be exact. sigh....i went to the branch at kovan

Hi erowen,
U too! I tot I am exceptional..haha..
I can look for cheapest baby cot but when it comes to clothes, I can just buy without thinking twice. *Shake head*

hi erowen, doc sez he has never seen anything liddat....i was forbidden to go to the hospital cuz my parents were so worried...i'm okay, sad but also trying not to think about it cuz of bb.

u and cat tail so cute, i'm glad u found clothes that fit! I'm currently swimming in maternity clothes. very pai seh, always try out clothes but walk out of the shops empty handed cuz i'm too small..... so now i'm still wearing wrap dresses i used to wear before preggie. oso bought mango pants at bigger sizes....neither here nor there heh

christina , u very lucky, u are small size..me ballooning everyday...sigh
now i'm close to 60kg, abt 59kg ....from 54kg to 60kg...sigh

cattail!! high five!! we really sama sama...stingy on other things but splurge like mad on maternity clothes...

hi christina, take care.. not v good for us to go hospitals bcos of our lower immunity system n hospitals tend to have more germs... ur cousin wld also want you have deliver your bb happily..

hi erowen, dun think have been eating healthily..hehe.. this pregnancy makes me snack more unhealthy stuff than ever! but am monitoring my weight cos dowan to be over the scale too soon.. hopefully bb doesn't inherit my junkie habits!

i also spent quite a lot on maternity clothes already... until cannot tahan n borrowed some clothes from frens... but i prefer to wear pants n most of them wear maternity dresses... so no choice but to wear lor...

tingting, thanks. was feeling quite low today but after breaking outta the nutshell to tok to u all, i feel better already.

about junking, me too! I had kfc for lunch and finished every bit of my 2pc chicken meal. i'm always craving for fried crunchy food leh...then everytime i pass by marks and spencer, their potato chips make me salivate also....dun dare to walk down the snacks aisle in the supermarker these days..

erowen, i actually envy your weight leh. i'm still stuck at 48kg, not too good. if i hit 60kg, i'lkl be very happy! i'm very scrawny. my husband says i look like those kids in africa with protein deficiency...(big stomach but skinny limbs)

hi lib,
tks my nx appt is on this cuming wed.hopefully i will be able 2 noe.

Btw when u gals start wearing those maternity clothings? Coz nw i am still able 2 wear my normal clothings.
kao_confused.gif

Hi 5 erowen,
Sama sama..heehee..

Hi Christina,
U can try Perfect Mum cos I find most of their clothings are meant for petite size. I dun like dress so I bought a lot of pants & blouses. Dun worry abt your wt, it looks ok to me if u compare mine. I am worst, only 45kg for now....

Hi nicnic,
I am wearing the maternity pant now cos all my current ones can't fit in anymore. The top I can play around with my maternity blouse & normal ones.

Hi Christina, many hugs to u. I knew of one of mil's neighbour's case where the boy got chicken pox and sent to ttsh.. given a jab.. but the boy died. Turned out to be a wrong jab!!!!! How careless can these doctors be!

Hi confused, can consider moving out?

Hi erowen, we got the same weight leh! From 54 kg to now.. 60 kg!

Hi Christina

yes, do be careful of drs and also seek second opinion where nec. like my dd went to a recommended pd at katong who is supposed to be good but he sucks and it is well known in the industry... just my luck.

Hi miso, erowen... wah..u all gain weight fast fast hor.. i only 54kg now. my colleagues said my last preg also like that.. only tummy swell, the limbs all like skinny.. ethiopian

tingting, i also snack alot, esp recently...=( don't know why. i bought pringles, pungles and nachos last night, came up to abt $15 bucks plus. My hubby is telling me to watch those snacks.

christina, hope you are feeling better today.
wow, you are 48kg, so gd!!! i was never below 50kg ever since i turn 16 yrs old...after delivery, you sure you can slim down very fast one. For me, i can feel my butt and thighs expanding everyday. "Gek Sim" ah!!!

miso!! we are the same! but what's yr height? me only 1.53m tall leh, so very short lor. I look like a dumpling now. =P

dear cofusedgal, how are you today...hope u are feeling fine. Anything let us know ya

Hehe.. me got a hard time trying to finish readign this thread..

Hi confused, **HUGS**... Don't be sad.. we will all stand & surround you.. be there for you.. What i can suggest is to have a good word with yr hb and discuss wif him on this matter.. As u r still recuperating, u nid lots of support!!!

Hi NicNic, for me i only wear maternity clothes when there is functions, as i'm not working most of the times i'm wearing drawstring pants or shorts with t-shirt or straps lor..

thanks tingting.. so i book first liao hor.. hehe.. btw ladies in Hougang/ Sengkang & Punggol, compasspoint is now having great offers for bb to children wear.. real cheap, can pop by to see look..

So envious to some of u who snacks, I only take my regular meals (3x aday.) but still loves fastfood, last week almost eating fastfood everyday.. hehe.. however, still take lots of fruits when back.. now everyday muz drink green tea in the evening, if not wil feel bloated esp after dinner..

hiya, for those who already know they are expecting boy/gal, have you also started thinking about names? i find it so hard to get names for boys! think the current trend is for names to end with -den, like Brayden..haha... but it sounds too similar to my nephews who also have names that end like that...

hi ladies, hv u all started e antenatal class? i'm likely to give birth in TMC, so will like to attend class there. do we jus book it ourselves or thru our clinic? cos my gynae did not mention anythign to me on this.

Tks cat tail n lib,
coz me nw still a bit blur blur on when we shld start wearing e maternity clothings.

hi cookies,
me thinking of signing up bt i dunno when is e rite timing 2 register for e class 2 ?

lib,
Heard fm my colleagues green tea are veri "liang" can we drink tat?

Now MC at home cos down with sore throat and running nose. I got the feeling that preggie like us gets MC very easily. Yesterday when visit my company doctor, she offered me 2 days MC without much prompting. So nice of her....
Intend to sleep thru today as medicine making me very drowsy.

hi lib, maybe you can drink yakult or vitagen or yogurt milk to help digestion... I find they help.. cos tea are 'liang' and prevent iron absorbing.

Hello gals

aiyo! sorry for late reply cos juz now busy getting info so cant chat. Tis morning call HDB liao, cant buy HDB or Private cos hubby hse under SIR scheme
so got to wait. Actually we wanted to move out, but due to PIL n SIL not working HDB wont grant them loan so where are they going to stay cos got to pay full for the flat n dont think they have so so much $ abt 240k++.(i very soft hearted lor, cant let them stay bus stop right) so i come out with a solution, we buy over their flat. (Hope PIL willing to withdraw) But the problem is they keep avoiding us so how to talk to them?

I'm feeling a bit down after the quarrel. (whenever i'm feeling hungry, wanted to eat n i'll think of people calling me pig so i dare not eat

yeah! my SIL very hao3 ming4 cos got PIL n boyfriend to support her. (she didnt have to pay a single cent for the household, electricity bill, phone bill n maintenance fees) my hubby paying all this and aiya! even though she working she oso will not contribute anything.

Gals - thanks for the support.

Christina - really sad to hear abt your cousin case.

lib, tks for the info! i stayed in hougang! so it's metro or some kiddy shops at compasspoint? i can drop by when i visit my gynae, cos his clinic is in compasspoint.

cookies, i signed up for the class at TMC, but i booked over the phone...but yet to send over cheque. =) so i don't know whether i still on the list...kekekeke

ixwong, take gd care of yrself..take plenty of water and bedrest ya.

ya lib, don't drink too much green tea!! it's very very cooling, even those bottled ones...try yakult.

confusedgal, don't let those remarks affect you or how and what you wanna eat! don't care abt them...as long as you 'wen xin wu gui'...got nothing to hide and never do things wrong, no need to worry. And you also didn't say bad things to them, so next time yr bb will be blessed. think of it this way, you are accumulating gd karma for you and yr baby.

hi cookies
from what i underst, by 20th week can start. But i will be starting around my 23rd week. I'm 2 days away from 19th week.
It really depends on yr schedule and also the classes' dates...

aiyoh ix, rest well.. nowadays weather not very good leh.. drink lots of water & have lots of rest..

hi tingting, we have oredi tot of a name for my princess.. most likely will call her Kylie..

Thanx gal, i noe tea is cooling for us, but tink once a day is still alrite.. some times i do alternate with yakult.. still prefer hot tea leh.. try to cut down if can..

Ero, the offer is from Metro, but FYI some of the stocks are really old.. is still look alrite after washing.. tink they are juz another clearance stock..

hi lib, v tempted to buy bb clothes, but dunno if it's too early, cos we dun even have the cupboard ready!
if u have boy stuff can also pass to me..hehe...

Kylie sounds nice n stylish... somehow i think girls' names are easier to decide.. something sweet n pleasant... for boys, at least for me, i want something that's not too loud/macho (boorish) nor girly.. something that sounds gentlemanly but not too common... n must go well with hb's surname... hehe..

tks lib, i will pop by to take a look....=)
do you stay within walking distance of compasspoint?

as for names...ekkeke, i have the wildest idea...i'm a big big HUGE fan of Lord of The Rings. =))..i was just telling my hubby that i don't mind naming my daughter Arwen or some middle-earth name, if next time i have a boy, i will name him Aragorn!!!
i know i abit siao...and i know in reality i won't have such names for my little ones. So can only in my fantasy lor.

oh btw lib, the green tea you drink is those teabags type of bottled ones?

Hi erowen, me only 156 cm.. not v. tall too! haha..

Hi ladies, just to share with u all. I took this for my 1st pregnancy and I think it kinda helped with my labour. Not v. sure if it's becos of this, but I gather so..

Red Raspberry Leaf Tea
--------------------------------------------------

Red Raspberry Leaf tea is a marvelous herb for pregnant women. It contains an alkaloid called fragrine which is known to give tone to the pelvic muscles and uterus. This toning action helps prevent miscarriage, reduce pain during and after birth, promote more effective contractions during labour and hence a faster birth, and reduces postpartum bleeding.

Red Raspberry leaf tea also contains vitamins A, B complex, C and E as well as minerals like calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus and potassium. These nutrients are great also for prevention of anemia and leg cramps, and reducing morning sickness.

This nutritious tea can also be taken by menopausal women to promote healthy uterine tone and minimize hot flashes.

100% Organic Herbs

Directions:
Take one or two cups a day.
To brew, put 1 tsp of herbs in a cup. Pour hot water and infuse for 10 to 15 minutes before drinking.

Warning:-
Recommended to be consumed after second trimester because of the stimulating effect it has on the uterus. Please consult with your doctor before consumption.

This 50g pack makes approximately 75 to 80 cups.

Our Price: $10.00
Units: 50g

I may be ordering it again. But cos it's a big pack..can make up to 80 cups. I may not need so much, if anyone wanna share, pls lemme know. Tks!

hi miso
may i know who does it help yr pregnancy? do you feel stronger taking it? do you drink everyday?from which week onwards?
sorry for the questions ya, i'm pretty curious abt it. tks!!

Hi ting, i have now make some space in my wardrobe for my bb liao.. dun tink i will get a wardrobe maybe juz buy those tier drawers lor.. anyway they dun have much clothes to hang..

Hi Ero, no i'm not staying close to CP, but i'm a super regular thr.. oni shopping centre in this town mah.. so regular that i be thr like 4-5times a week.. haha can take VIP card liao.. i'm taking both the tea bag, & bottle form..

erowen,
i guess most men like to be praise...hehehe..a little bit will make them fly!!! try your luck
Next time he will cook better food for you!!! I have also snack on potatos chips recently and other stuffs...hehehehe...its ok lah, not everyday :p I take quite a bit of chocolate too! I also take dessert and jelly (cai yan). I craved for sweet stuff alot.

cat_tail,
i don't really know what style of fish i am cooking, probably teochew style :p Steam fish is very easy, never ask me to fried a fish, i hate the oil pop onto my skin. I panfried cod fish/salmon with teriyaki sauce before, its equally tasty.

Talking about spending $$ on maternity clothings, guess its time for me to shop!

Been so busy since morning today, coming into forum is such a leisure and relaxation for me....hehehehe

erowen,
just curious, what is the course you taking at TMC?? is it helpful? I will be delivering there as well, but i don't know about it. Can you share more? Thanks

hi gals, wow over the wkend nvr log on, so many postings.. me oso mc yesterday, like ixwong, sore throat and flu. last nite, my shoulder/neck area ache like anything dat i felt my hand like a bit numb, was so scared. good thing tis morning wake up, not so bad. think our immunity reely go down leh..must take more fruits..haiz.. ixwong, yr doc so good give 2 day mc, me oni 1 day..

talk abt lord of the rings,the other day was watching the vcd, tho' we not 'pandang', my hb say i better dun see too much of 'gholum' dat ugly creature..but i told him the rest of the ogres oso veri ugly, so no need to see the show liao..

woa..see all of u buyin bb clothes, me haven't buy anything for bb, feel so guilty.. some of the veri cute bb clothes quite ex hor. juz wondering, for newborn, we shd buy wat size huh? do we buy for 6mths old one? otherwise veri fast can't wear liao rite?? some bb clothes look really veri small..it's oso easier to dress bb if we buy tops dat open from front rite?

reenie, TMC class veri informative esp for 1st timers like myself (totally blur type). last wk, mrs wong brought us to the nursery room & showed us a newborn bb, wow the way she handle the bb with juz one hand, so scary but amazing!but the class is quite rushed coz she has so much info to give, and must do exercises..try to rem as much as possible lor..

hi timie,
take care
recently i have on and off headache too, i try to relax if i can. Thanks for the information on the class. Is it a one time class? how much is the cost like? i think mrs wong is so experience that she can handle baby with one hand, i saw some nurses doing that as well, as though the baby is very light to handle. I'm so clumsy, wonder if i know how to carry a newborn or help to bathe my baby :p