(2005/06) Due in June 2005, Any 1

playgroup
Tang Ling, thanks for opening your place for PG. enjoyed chatting with you girls.

gymboree playgym
i'm on too!

Jaymom
good idea, on for trying again... btw, i dun work in RP but will go there for lunch to meet up with ex colleagues sometimes.

Feb CNY PG
Thought we should start the list early coz it is a busy period. Please block the date if possible, coz this is a special PG for Little Ian back from US!

We are putting up 2 dates : 10/24 Feb (both Sat). Please state your preference beside your name.

Date: 10/24 Feb (Sat)
Time: 4pm
Venue: TBC

1. Tang Ling > 10/24 Feb is ok
2. Mckee > 10 Feb (no choice coz 24 Feb pop liao)
3. Shane > 10 Feb
4. Anns >10 Feb/TBC 24(Feb
5 Jaymom> tentatively both dates are ok with me if i'm in SG, eagar to meetup with Ann & Ian!
6. Ixorarred > 10 Feb

<font color="0000ff">Gymboree Playgym @ Serangoon Garden</font>
Sometimes we all need motivation to bring the tods for activities. And I think going for regular playgym is good in the sense that we can meet and chit-chat (a bit) and there is commitment so we would most likely make it. Otherwise for me, today sky a bit dark, today a bit tired and didn't go liao.

Sat
At the moment only 1-2pm, 2-3pm &amp; 6-7pm.
No other available slots - all filled with classes, unless any classes are cancelled last minute, which we would only know 1-2hrs before the class.

Sun
At the moment only 6-7pm. But they are able to open 5-6pm for playgym coz there is no active class for the time-being. Looks like this is the nearest we can get so that tods get to nap before playgym.

<font color="119911">Frequency: Weekly or Biweekly (every 2 weeks - so we get to use new setup everytime - they change every 2 weeks)

Bus service: Gymboree can provide bus at $3 (return) for 1 adult + 1 tod. But because they don't operate the bus on weekends, we have to specially arrange 3-4 days in advance if we want.

Mummies interested, please state your preference of frequency &amp; time slot and I co-ordinate.

Members at $8 and non-members are welcome to join in at $15 per session.</font>

1. Tang Ling > biweekly, Sat 6-7pm or Sun 5-6pm

Opps... how come my name was taken off?

<font color="ff0000">Feb CNY PG </font>
Thought we should start the list early coz it is a busy period. Please block the date if possible, coz this is a special PG for Little Ian back from US!

We are putting up 2 dates : 10/24 Feb (both Sat). Please state your preference beside your name.

3. Shane > 10 Feb
5. caymom > 10/24 Feb
6 Jaymom> tentatively both dates are ok with me if i'm in SG, eagar to meetup with Ann &amp; Ian!
7. Ixorarred > 10 Feb

<font color="0000ff">PG</font>
all the gals look so cute lying down on the mattress relaxing at Gymboree...
if only Aeron dun have the class then I will join you all for playgyms... so many little gals... good for interacting...haha... the classes all are little boys only from the 4 classes that we have went so far...

<font color="0000ff">Feb CNY PG</font>

3. Shane > 10 Feb
5 Jaymom> tentatively both dates are ok with me if i'm in SG, eagar to meetup with Ann &amp; Ian!
6. Ixorarred > 10 Feb
7. Kiami > tentative 10 Feb

hehe... caymom's name is omitted from the list again. pls use this list to update

Feb CNY PG

3. Shane > 10 Feb
5 Jaymom> tentatively both dates are ok with me if i'm in SG, eagar to meetup with Ann &amp; Ian!
6. Ixorarred > 10 Feb
8. Caymom > 10/24 Feb

<font color="ff0000">Feb CNY PG </font>

Prg: Dinner(cater? or homecooked if i'm available to host)
Tods to come in CNY clothes, art and craft activies with ang bao ?

3. Shane > 10 Feb
6. Ixorarred > 10 Feb
8. Caymom > 10/24 Feb

<font color="119911">Gymboree Playgym @ Serangoon Garden</font>

1. Tang Ling > biweekly, Sat 6-7pm or Sun 5-6pm
2. Shane > biweekly, sat pm slots preferred. sun evenings might be occupied on some evenings.

<font color="0077aa">Dinner for mummies</font>
I don't mind too. Let's see if we can work out a meet up soon

Kiami
Nice meeting up again

Big thanks to you for collecting my ON
s purchases. I think i over kiasu, all bot 2T instead of 24 mths and the angmoh's sizes seems so big! Will take Jay ages b4 he can fit into them

tang ling,
thanks for photos! Going to print them out using the canon printer. K was in the 'high' mode yesterday, that's y u saw her laughing and shouting. She's supposed to be napping or sleepy but guesss she's overly stimulated. In the cab, she straight away K.O. must be super tired.

i like the gymboree set up. very colourful and vibrant. But I can't commit to regular PG cos we have family gatherings on and off. BUt I will join whenever possible cos K enjoyed it.

Jaymom
Now u know...kekeke imagine I already bought 3T... speaking of Ks...

and my boi cannot fill in 18mths-24mths for ON... so u see a boi in baggy attire for this CNY...

<font color="aa00aa">PG</font>
Prg: Dinner(cater? or homecooked if i'm available to host)
Tods to come in CNY clothes, art and craft activies with ang bao ?

3. Shane > 10 Feb
6. Ixorarred > 10 Feb
8. Caymom > 10/24 Feb
9. Erlisa > 10 Feb (but I cannot stay after 6pm. Gotta work )

it just strike me that Feb 10 is close to Vday too !!!! keke.... so we can celebrate Vday as well... then can get the little tods to make Vday cards for mummy and daddy ... hee hee...
thinking along the line of paper plate, cut red heart, stick, punch hole, string thru, write some words, etc, etc ....

good idea ?

but as experience shows, we'll most likely be the one doing 90% of the activity...haha

<font color="ff0000">Feb CNY PG</font>

We are trying to book a room for the PG, but not available on 10 Feb 4pm.
We could either have the PG 12-4pm (on 10 Feb) or some kind Mummy could volunteer her place so that we could have a more flexible timing?

Anyone?

Glayz
Aiyah, should have consulted our "Spree Queen" first. So the measurement chart is not reliable wan? I bot a pair of dress shoes for him but i think he can stuff both his hand and foot in it and still got allowance.

Me no problem with J-shopper or The Children's Place leh.

CNY
Shane, great idea on the angbao craft work but chances are they will be tearing them up rather than sticking them together!

crafts:
my concern is it'll not be very nice on the host's furniture when these kids start to run around with pens and crayons or draw out of the range. unless PG is held in function rooms.

Jaymom
J-shopper is according to height mah... and Children place cutting smaller..... so .....
Old Navy cutting super big... I was wearing Maternity S pants which is still super loose lor... and bought a S size top for hb that is larger than Asian L size....

Shoe I dun buy ON anymore... their cutting weird... I prefer to shop with my boi for shoes...

LV,
same concern. hence, decided to book a function room but too bad it's booked for the evening slot. however the morning slot is still open.

shane,
yesterday i walked past Macdonald and suddenly thought of celebrating the june bday bash there. It's priced at $7 per kid, min 15. They also have a host to play games. maybe we can consider that when the date is nearer.

Btw, u interested to bring E for julia gabriel weekend classes? I'm thinking of bringing K for weekend enrichment. Then maybe we can go together. Who else in our thread is attending? is it cherry or kiami? can advise on the rates?

LV,
not a bad idea !!! very reasonable ley. do they include cake ? is it a whole package thingy for $7 per kid ? I rem mac cake to be very yummy... i had mac bday before also .. keke...

re JG,
i got think abt it .. but i'm not sure yet. alot of factors to think about and most impt is COST
then 2nd thing is age. i'm really not sure how much our kids is picking up at their age.

JG is at Forum ? or United Sq ? I think USq is GUG ?

<font color="0000ff">Lv</font>
Hey I saw ur childhood pics in Kayla's blog liao, I like tat hat of urs! I'm wondering issit the pic that U having ponytails 1 have some resemblance in Ashley' ponytail pic?
650491.gif

Btw this is the rates that Forgetmenot advised me the other day for JG.

2 branches. 1 @ Forum (i think) , 1 @ Evans Road (BukiT Timah)

Registration fee : $36.75
10 Lesson : $477.75
Deposit : $50.00
Library : $9.98

10 lessons / per lesson is 1 hr

Think their trial only avaliable during wkday.
If u are calling, can pls check whether the trial is FOC? Thks!

twinklets,
there's 2 pony tails one, one is K and another one is me. The top left one is me. Bottom left is K. I think the laughing happily photo look a little like Ashley but dunno y the collage 'cut off' the top face

i just called and check. they said 10 weeks $488. The trial on the weekday is not free. I'm thinking of going for the trial next monday.
u want to enrol Ashley ? she's at kindermusic right?

shane,
it's a Forum. The weekend sat is at Evans road. Sun at Forum.
U know where's Evan road?

JG
trial is not free. It's the cost of one lesson.
Evans road is next to the old NIE/ old SMU that's along Bukit Timah Road (near Adam Road)

GUG
come for GUG leh.... nicole's there!

Lv,
Evans Road is pretty near to botanical gdns tat side. Think is those older bungalow houses?

Ya wud like to go for a trial, &amp; put on waiting list. Her KM will finish at April.

2 hours to do all the stuffs, I think is worthwhile.

Lv,
u using Picasa to do collages? Ok soemtimes ur pic will auto cut off 1. So when such stuffs happen, u juz need to crop tat pic to such a way when u collage, it wont cut off ur wanted areas.

Maybe Evans rd will be better.. cheaper parkg ? i sound so cheapo...

but it's 488!!!! *faint*

so each lesson is 2hrs with eng n chinese and for 10 weeks ?

evans road JG
When you travel along Bukit Timah in direction going towards Woodlands, you turn left into Evans Road.
within the next 100m, on your left is the old SMU, on your right is old bungalow which says Evans Lodge. JG is located in Evans Lodge.
If you miss it, you''ll come to the Prata Shop that's open 24 hours on your left.

Shane
parking is free!
but many many cars. i think hb may have to park along the road illegally.

thanks mckee...

i'm quite lost. so if it's JG, need to put on waiting list and all that ?

LV,
wat's ur preference ? forum ?

twinklets,
u already sign up to be on waiting list?
Evans road got parking lots for parents?
actually i tot put her in cc then can save a bit but i thought about it and felt it's better to enrich her as to her now, it's just play. when they get older, they'll then feel the difference of learning or playing and may resist for extra lessons if we sign them up later.

shane,
my preference is on Sat and preferably at Forum. But since like that, I must seriously consider which one. IF evan road is not too much of trouble when it comes to parking, maybe I'll go evan one.

mckee,
evan road JG is airconditioned?

LV,
same ley, i thot in CC gd enuf liow =P and maybe 1 weekend enrichment class, tt's it. don't want to pack her too much. i don't 1 2 become KS mummy too haha .. =P

She's already in Edufarm. Hvn't decided to con't or not. But if con't then I wouldn't be signing up other classes liow.

But i really want to put her somewhere that she enjoys, somewhere fun where she can learn as well.

wat's the timing for the classes?

i wonder if all these classes are pack with the mummies fm this forum keke... we all seem to be going to the same trials and classes ...

LV
JG cost more than GUG, and nicole is not there... hehe... so i can't tell you more info!
I've frens there, they did mention that the transition from Eng to CL periods, got big lag time. so you feel your $$ going as time passes.
other than that, they are happy with the classes.
When I did a comparison with them, the way they teach phonics is different from GUG. And it's my personal preference why I preferred GUG.

<font color="ff0000">Shane,</font>
Wow, v-day theme. Hahah... we force our kids to make us a card, but true that we will end up doing the card ourselves.

<font color="0000ff">LV,</font>
I like to have parties at Mac!
But hor, I confirm cannot join because still kena confined at home.

<font color="119911">RE: Enrichment class</font>
Seems like most mummies are signing up the tods for the more expensive classes. At the moment, I have no intention of doing so. My mom already think that I am super kiasu to sign cay up for phonics class. If she knows I want cay to attend more classes, she will faint.

Caymom
Same as u... I dunno will pop earlier or not....kekeke... but then may be TOO HEAVY...wahahaha...

Enrichment Class
All my collegues are laffing at me... becos all of them are singles mah... and like...ur boi so poor thing only 18 mths and start going for class liao...

And my mum, dad, sis, hb and aunties all also shake head.....

So I must think to continue the cheap cheap Edufarm or switch him elsewhere... but $$$ will be very tight...

mac parties:
i'm not sure if there are additional charges for the so called party host. otherwise $7 per kid includes a goodie bag and a happy meal. And a bday cake is additional at $15. Maybe I can check it out with my cousin who's a store manager in one of the stores.

shane,
the timing on sat is 9, 11.30, 2 and 4.30. sun on is without the 4.30 slot.
i'm not sure if they can let so many of us go for a trial at the same time. I'm supposed to call back on thurs to book a trial for next monday. Do u want to join me next monday for trial, i'm looking at the 4.30pm. weekday trial cost $44.

<font color="0000ff">Enrichment Classes</font>
Judging on JJ's performance at Edufarm, I don't think he is ready for sit-down type of classes.
JG &amp; GUG are also sit-down type right?

<font color="0000ff">Mac Party for Bday Bash</font>
That sounds like a good option! Yah, LV please find out more. Thanks.

<font color="ff6000">LV</font>
Photos: You are welcome.
You have a Canon printer at home? I am thinking about getting a colour inkjet printer, but dunno which - looking around. Yours good?

weekday trial
i'm not sure i can make it, tho' i'll like to try and see how good they are since the feedback so good.

LV, will u be able to check how many mummies they can accomodate ? Then i see how? thanks ....
the 4.30pm slot is gd.

caymom, glayz,
ya sometimes i do feel they are poor thing too...tt y always tell myself don't overdo it. i think once a week 1 class is ok... now they nothing to do at home is ok ..
i think it's worse when they start school. mon-fri go school then wekends got to attend enrichment somemore and it's not just 1 class, got ballet, piano, etc etc... just hope next time i wun do that =P can only say hope cos s'pore is so competitive.

mckee,
possible to share wat's the different in the phonics btn JG n GUG ? if not publicl, then via email ? thks.....

tangling,
true true ... tt's another thing to consider... E also not ready ley. unless it's something she likes like music and story telling....

Shane,
At the moment, I just want cay to have as much fun as possible. She seems to enjoy Edufarm from what I have observed so far. Maybe it's because she can roam around on her own, the things taught are simple and there is music for her to dance. For classes that require her to do more things, she tends to get frustrated. My hb expects her to do more enrichment as she grows older because he was brought up that way. I'm the opposite, I only want cay to enjoy herself, so if she doesn't like, I will not force her.

Cay
I agree with you. Jay attended Zoo Phonics for about 3 months now. My focus is for him to make some frens, socialise and have fun. Basically is to train up his confidence level. The cirriculum is not fantastic and i probably can conduct the same back home but the environment is different. You get to see how your kid interract with others ( teacher, classmates and parents)

For the first 2 months, i'm constantly embarassed becos Jay just like to explore and touch everything in the room. I'm always apologising on his behalf for distracting the class. After the 1 month break ( P.Hs), he's back to school yesterday. I'm glad to see some improvement, he can concentrate better during story-telling and flashcards. The best time is still song &amp; dance with all the props and all as well as art &amp; craft. He loved it although mummy is feeling abit bored with the repetition

When they are older and can articulate better, it will then be time to review his needs again. For now, it's fun time!

ballet? so soon ?? i nvr thot of ballet tho' the tutu look so cute. cos most ballet dancer like quite flat chested ...
so don't 1 that to happen to E, tho' it's something beyong my control.

i'm thinking of piano BUT only if she has interest. i learnt for a few grades then stopped