(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

<font color="aa00aa">forgetmenot</font>
I am using Pigeon bottle cleanser to clean my Avent pump. Where in the instruction booklet tat mentioned cannot used anti-bacterial bottle cleanser?

twinklets,

samuel also same... sometimes can burp very fast but sometimes can take more than 30min. If he dun burp successfully for more than 1 feed, I will feed him some colic drop from doctor... quite effective.

<font color="aa00aa">twinklets,</font>
Keane is on TBF and his poo is watery mustard colour. Once in a while, there is some greenish poo.

As for burping, after breastfeeding, I will sit him very straight. He will normally burp very fast. If he doesnt burp, I will let him lie down. If he feels uncomfortable and want to be burp, he will cry after a while. Then I will try to burp him again.

For EBM, the longest I will keep is an hour after warming up the milk.

Hello Mummies.

Wow ! So many postings for these few days. Finally can log in. Me still coping with looking after my bb. Just like sgmom, my MIL will come into the room when she heard bb crying and carry her away. I don't even have the chance to say anything or try to pacify my bb. Nowadays, i let my MIL to look after my bb until my confinement period over and i am bringing my bb back to my Mum home. My MIL and my bb sleep in the living room even though i xin tong also bo-pian as she thinks that i can't cope at nite and offer to look after my bb for me. As it is only a few more days before my confinement period on 19th May, i will ren.

Krazy - Just like you, my MIL also not really bother about cleanliness and i have to always remind my hubby of this and that. Now, i have no baby cot in my room. My bb sleep with me on the bed during the morning and afternoon and move to the living room at night. When i move back to my Mum home, i will set up the cot in my room. I have also decided to let my Mum look after my girl in future as my Mum is more "clean and hygience" and she is really patient too. Forget to mention that my MIL is a very very impatient woman.

hi mommies:
finally managed to log on. i would like to update all,
i delivered my bb gal, Lisa on 27th may 2005.:)
my birth story is as follow:
26th May 1pm
see gynae for checkup, dilated 1cm only. no contraction. gynae advise to induce.
3pm
checked in to TMC to induce the delivery.
6pm
contraction started
8:30pm
contraction become unbearable and at interval of 3min, ask for epidural. still 1cm dilated.
12midnite
2cm dilated
27th May 6am
3cm dilated
8am
gynae checked, 4cm dilated, broke water bag. my dilation was really slow and hoped that breaking the water bag will increase the speed. gynae notice that bb showed slight sign of distress and will decide when he comes back at 11am
11am
bb showed more serious sign of distress, i was getting worried cos each time my contraction comes, the bb heartbeat dropped. N my gynae had not come back yet!!
12 noon
told hubby that when gynae comes in, tell him that i'll consider e-caesarian cos i'm worried abt the bb.
12:15
suddenly bb heartbeat increase, and contraction v. strong. contraction so strong that i can feel them through epidural. gynae came in, checked and found that i'm ready to deliver and i can start pushing.
1:01
delivered my gal gal and she weigh 2.79kg

san:
this is my 6th day after delivery, and my milk ss just came in on 4th day, and the amt is really pathetic
.like a few drops.
yesterday went to see lactation specialist n went through the torture, n the ss is still pathetic!

like you, i still latch my bb at every feed and supplement her with formula milk. no choice... feeling like a lousy mother with no ss...lactation specialist ask me to drink lots lots lots of hot drink. i thot i did, but the results is still the same. quite demoralised.

other mommies who has gone through this stage, is this normal?? when should i expect to have like 30ml? i can't even express out 30ml. very sad... very sad for my gal too. she has been suckling v patiently, when there's probably no or v. little milk.

Hi tigger,
it can be found on pg 4 of the booklet,where it teaches u how to clean and sterilise the pump.

it states tt to separate all parts,then wash in dishwasher or warm soapy water and rinse.Do not use antibacterial cleansers/detegents.Sterilise in an Avent steriliser,or by boiling for 10 minutes,etc...

blurmom,
Congrats!!!!!!!!!

shane,
they have pull up pants..but is oni for size L and XL

blurmom: Its really normal wat u encountering. Keep latching your bb on as much as u can, the supply will be more establish like within 2 weeks. Drink hot drink b4 your express or bf your bb does help. Usually i will bring a hot water bottle with me to roll on my breast b4 and during expressing milk.

<font color="aa00aa">forgetmenot,</font>
mine was an older version pump...the booklet did mentioned abt the cleaning..it states.."Separate all parts. Wash in dishwasher or warm soapy water and rinse. Sterilise in an Avent steriliser,or by boiling for 10 minutes"...

It didnt have the sentence that says "Do not use antibacterial cleanser" leh...maybe I will call Cannon Avent to check. I wonder why cannot use this type of cleanser.

forgetmenot : yah.. I saw Robinson selling at $169 for 52x28x3.. forget to check the price at the exhibition, any idea how much they are selling at the expo?

Blurmom : Congrats to u first of all.. have yr rashes subsided? Don't be demoralised.. milk supply will come eventually.. for me, my milk supply only come in 1 week later.. at first, the amt of milk I can squeeze is so pathetic.. at that time, really feel like giving up.. but as days passes, after taking those papaya fish soups, fish dishes, horlicks and latching on Aaron, it really help to boost my milk production.. so don't give up. Also, remember to do massage on yr breast before expressing or latching, the best with hot towel.

sally:
this morning i told my mil that she has to learn how to take care of my girl. my girl was screaming cuz her nappy was wet so i told my mil. she raised her voice at me and said i still at home, i should do it. she said she is busy as there were lots of clothes to wash. then i told her, that she must treat me as "transparent" she must get used to it. she still insisted that i do it since i am around.

then when i told her that she must check on baby like hourly even though she is not crying... when i told her again my girl's nappy is wet like an hour later, she said.. no hurry lah... she is not crying. (roll eyes)
when i told her that baby's bottom must be dry, she used the dirty nappy to wipe... when i told her to apply more nappy cream, she said no need... i told her if not baby will have nappy rash.. then must bring to doc... she said wont! i dunno what to do!!! if i tell my hubby... he will say i am pressurizing him again!
i also very stressed!!

Krazy - I can understand how you feel. My MIL also thinks that she knows everything for bb. My hubby have to convince her before she agree to use diaper. Whenever bb cry, she will just open my room door and carry her away from my arms. I complain to my hubby so many times but he always tell me that his mum is anxious about bb. What about me ? I am also anxious about her coz she is my girl. I still remember that my hubby say that we will look after bb ourself when she is born but now everything change. Since that is the way, i have also decide not to let the neighbour to look after my bb and let my mum do it. At least i know my girl will not be sleeping in the living room in future and she will be sayang by my Mum too who is more "xi xing".

Mummies - Did any of your bb have rashes ? My start to have rashes today when she is only 1 week old. My hubby say maybe the FM is too heaty and suggest letting her drink more water. What do you all think ? Any question is Nepia diaper is it available in NTUC ?

forgetmenot,
Okie, u can call poshies and arrange for the meetup venue and time. See u tomorrow!

blurmom,
Congras on the arrival of ur gal!

Hi gals..

Isit a MUST for bb to cut botak during their first mth?? will they dropped hair after that if they did not cut botak?

pls advise.

thanks,
sharon

<font color="0000ff">as @ 03 Jun-05</font>
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummies To Be</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Deliver at</TD><TD>Gender/Name</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>adora</TD><TD>06/06/05</TD><TD>39</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ras</TD><TD>07/06/05</TD><TD>39</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>shalini</TD><TD>08/06/05</TD><TD>39</TD><TD>??</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janetan</TD><TD>11/06/05</TD><TD>38</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tankuku</TD><TD>15/06/05</TD><TD>38</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>shelle</TD><TD>18/06/05</TD><TD>37</TD><TD>??</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>shane</TD><TD>19/06/05</TD><TD>37</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>megtan</TD><TD>21/06/05</TD><TD>37</TD><TD>??</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD>24/06/05</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cherry</TD><TD>24/06/05</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>serrich</TD><TD>29/06/05</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>shekinah</TD><TD>30/06/05</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jamci</TD><TD>02/07/05</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>beanbox</TD><TD>05/07/05</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jia02</TD><TD>05/07/05</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>??</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummies</TD><TD>Pop on</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Deliver at</TD><TD>BB's Name</TD><TD>Wt </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poshies</TD><TD>23/03/05</TD><TD>03/04/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Gerald</font></TD><TD>2.8 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Icemilo</TD><TD>23/03/05</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Melody</font></TD><TD>2.85 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohy</TD><TD>28/03/05</TD><TD>16/04/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Samuel</font></TD><TD>2.6 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>ming</TD><TD>31/03/05</TD><TD>08/04/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Isabelle</font></TD><TD>3.05 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Funny</TD><TD>31/03/05</TD><TD>15/04/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>2.7 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tigger88</TD><TD>02/04/05</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Keane</font></TD><TD>3.51 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>KraZy</TD><TD>03/04/05</TD><TD>11/04/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Cheryl</font></TD><TD>2.34 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel79</TD><TD>03/04/05</TD><TD>06/04/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Miata16</TD><TD>06/04/05</TD><TD>26/04/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Keane</font></TD><TD>3.01 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tane</TD><TD>06/04/05</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Adam</font></TD><TD>3.5 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>linn</TD><TD>07/04/05</TD><TD>10/04/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Rayson</font></TD><TD>3.05 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_ones</TD><TD>07/04/05</TD><TD>14/04/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>3.13 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elaine</TD><TD>07/04/05</TD><TD>28/04/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Paige</font></TD><TD>2.44 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>shadow</TD><TD>10/04/05</TD><TD>05/04/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Hayden</font></TD><TD>2.76 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piglet77</TD><TD>11/04/05</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>3.8 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stephanie</TD><TD>12/04/05</TD><TD>18/04/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Aaron</font></TD><TD>3.18 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meow</TD><TD>14/04/05</TD><TD>15/04/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Sheryl</font></TD><TD>3.67 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>zyp</TD><TD>14/04/05</TD><TD>28/04/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Zavier</font></TD><TD>3.25 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dewdrops</TD><TD>15/04/05</TD><TD>20/04/05</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Xavier</font></TD><TD>2.7 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Carla_lily</TD><TD>17/04/05</TD><TD>29/04/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>2.9 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>sweatcorn</TD><TD>18/04/05</TD><TD>25/04/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Kaeden</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>oreo</TD><TD>18/04/05</TD><TD>05/05/05</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Javier</font></TD><TD>3.16 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>ariella</TD><TD>21/04/05</TD><TD>05/05/05</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Cloie</font></TD><TD>2.92 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>sgmom</TD><TD>22/04/05</TD><TD>04/05/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Valerie</font></TD><TD>3.27 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Florence</TD><TD>22/04/05</TD><TD>29/04/05</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Edie</font></TD><TD>2.81 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinklets</TD><TD>29/04/05</TD><TD>04/05/05</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Ashley</font></TD><TD>3.97 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>sweetbaby</TD><TD>29/04/05</TD><TD>01/05/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Clarissa</font></TD><TD>3.28 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>bloom_tan</TD><TD>05/05/05</TD><TD>18/05/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Clara</font></TD><TD>2.96 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>sharon(debragoh)</TD><TD>05/05/05</TD><TD>06/05/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Bella</font></TD><TD>3.21 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>picnic</TD><TD>07/05/05</TD><TD>31/05/05</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Bryon</font></TD><TD>2.33 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>JuneTen</TD><TD>08/05/05</TD><TD>10/06/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Ezra</font></TD><TD>2.4 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>hytten</TD><TD>12/05/05</TD><TD>16/05/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Constance</font></TD><TD>3.37 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elibaba</TD><TD>12/05/05</TD><TD>28/05/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Sandra</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jas03</TD><TD>16/05/05</TD><TD>27/05/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Shauna</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>westbb</TD><TD>17/05/05</TD><TD>23/05/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>3.14 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>bluesea</TD><TD>21/05/05</TD><TD>20/05/05</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>3.39 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evelyn</TD><TD>21/05/05</TD><TD>21/05/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Tricia</font></TD><TD>3.76 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sally</TD><TD>23/05/05</TD><TD>20/05/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Yingting</font></TD><TD>3.53 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blurmom
new.gif
</TD><TD>27/05/05</TD><TD>28/05/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Lisa</font></TD><TD>2.79 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>san(nesame)</TD><TD>29/05/05</TD><TD>26/05/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>2.71 kg </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
<font color="ff0000">Missing Mummies, please update us if possible!!</font>
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michelle</TD><TD>06/04/05</TD><TD>40+</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cmac</TD><TD>02/05/05</TD><TD>40+</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Reistan</TD><TD>11/05/05</TD><TD>40+</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tan(phobe)</TD><TD>12/05/05</TD><TD>40+</TD><TD>??</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mumof1</TD><TD>26/05/05</TD><TD>40+</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>LV</TD><TD>31/05/05</TD><TD>40+</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
legend
<font color="0000ff">MEH - Mt E, MAH - Mt. A, GEH - Gleneagles, ESH - Eastshore,</font>

<font color="ff0000">Do let me know if any of the data is incorrect, not up-to-date or left you gals out!</font>
<font color="ff0000">Anyone wants to join the list, let me know, thanks!!!</font>

288794.gif

morning gals...

congrad to blurmom!! welcome to the club....

hi forgetmenot..
will see u at jurong east mrt station later okie..

hi serrich...
yup reach them sms u lor...

hi sharon,
was looking for a good shop to do the taomaopi for Gerald, when i call one of them, they told me that bb's hair will start dropping by 2nd month and i did notice some of Gerald's hair start dropping... hope to decided one today...

gals,

anyone of u started using flash cards or other development material on your baby yet ? I am going to get a GD book to read and hopefully start samuel on flash card asap.... he is already coming to 2.5 months liao and still i havent done anything...

so anyone still interested in shichida ? I am still considering it.....

guess soon we all will be researching in enrichment programme... I am going to bring samuel to gymboree or kindermusik etc to trial when he learn how to sit up...

<font color="aa00aa">poohy,</font>
I have started using flash cards with red dots one week ago. Am interested in GD but have no time to find out more. Are you getting the GD books from library or intend to buy one?

Shichida is quite ex I think. Maybe when Keane is older then I will consider.

you juz rebonded your hair rite? Our hair will start dropping 3 months after delivery. Will rebonding makes it worse? I have very long hair, thinking whether I shd cut it shorter and rebond or perm it. Scared that the chemical used will worsen the hair loss.

tigger,

wat's keane's response to the flashcards ? Can focus ? ya shichida's exp and i read some website on religious link... so I am trying to research more first.. cos I wouldn't want to enroll anything detrimental to samuel's spiritual health.

I am going to buy GD books and make my own flashcards....

omg... i dinno abt the hair dropping ... i dunno whether will make it worse leh...

Sally : Aaron did have nappy rash when I started using Huggies..tried to apply J&amp;J nappy rash cream, but didn't help, so I changed to Desitin cream and nepia diaper, the rashes were gone in a few days time. Of course, I change the disposable diapers very frequently.. within 2 weeks, I can finish 1 packet of diapers. I have spotted nepia diaper at Sun Plaza's NTUC, cost $15.90

Sharon : It is not a must to shave the baby's hair bald.. it is juz the traditional thing.. the reason is because the head will be "dirty" because of vaginal birth..

tigger88 : how's the ameda's pump? I tot of getting Medela PIS but it is quite costly, and for ameda, not too sure, how efficient can it be.

Poshies : Can u help me to check the price for babysafe mattress (52X28x3), it is directly opposite Nepia's booth. Thanks. Btw, did u receive my mail?

Hi gals : Does anyone know where to get Desitin (creamy) nappy rash cream?

serrich and poshies,
Bad News!!! Cant meet u gals later liao..cos my mil just called and asked mi to help her to look aft my younger niece..
so sorry..u gals enjoy urself..

tigger,
ya lor..i oso dun understand y cannot use the antibacterial cleanser..btw,if we dun use cleanser to wash the pump n bottles and just sterilised it,can or not har?

stephy,
my hubby told mi tt at the fair,it is selling at $129,but i think it is selling at $125 leh..then think got foc crib mattress cover leh..

i'm still considering if shd buy or not..dunno if it will realli be more cooling as it claims or not leh..

btw,guardian got sell desitin nappy rash cream

Keane will look at the cards when I flash to him. So I guess he can focus. The instruction states to use the flashcards 3 X daily. I dun think the nanny will bother or have time for this when I return to work.

Do you know how much does a GD book cost? I am not sure if I have the time to make my own flashcards though.

Our hair will starts to drop around 3rd month and some can last for quite long.
I read this from some other threads in this forum.

<font color="aa00aa">Stephy,</font>
The time taken to pump using the Ameda one is half of what I take when using the manual pump. But I find that the Avent manual pump seems to be able to empty more thoroughly. What pump are you using now?

Sharon: I don't think it is a must to cut botak during frist month. I've been asking around what is the logic behind it. Most ppl don't know, they just follow while others said hair that baby is born with is "dirty". I read from a book about chinese customs, it is said the hair that's cut during the first mth is put in a red packet and sew to baby's pillow so that they will be brave. My hair was not shaved as a baby and I don;t intend to shave my baby's hair too.

hi stephy,
got ur mail.. .thanks.. will check the price for u... u want me to sms u the pricing instead? coz when i reach home not too sure whether got time to log in.... had send u a pm with my hp no.

hi forgetmenot...
got ur sms... too bad... mayb another time lor..

i got a couple of flash card from the goodies bag... i try showing to Gerald... sometime he will stare n it then he smile but there are times he fown at the picture... i don show it everyday... but now he super talkative need me to talk to him everynow n then.... haha noti boy...

poshies,
can sms mi the price of the mattress too?? thanks..

hehe..ur Gerald so cute..y he stared at the pic and frown?
btw,did u get any toys for him when he is just a newborn?

Tigger: How exactly do u "flash" those cards (did u buy or make urself?). Just show them for 1 sec? Do u need to say anything? Like "tree" if the picture is a tree etc?

How's the pump? I'm using the Medela dual pump. Think I wld prefer to pump every 3-4hrs even if I'm at work, so I thot it might be good to have another electric pump to put in the office. I dun think I wan to buy brand new.. hopefully someone I knw can loan me for 3 mths. Coz if I buy one (either brand new or 2nd hand), I'll feel very sayang if I only use it for 3 mths.. I'll then wan to use it longer.. but yet I dun wan to be so tied down all the time.

Poohy: Yest I went to the MOtherhood fair.. Nepia S size sold out liao. So I bot M size &amp; took 2 S size samples. Even cheaper than if we buy the carton right?

Twinklets: I try many different positions to burp Valerie. Non of the positions I use is fail proof so if position A cannot.. I'll change to Position B etc. But if she is deep asleep already, she wldnt burp. I dun normally burp her inbtwn feeds (I also on total EBM). Mainly coz she'll either doze off &amp; refuse to finish (means I'll have to wake up very soon again) or that she'll be very angry &amp; started crying. I'll listen to her "cue". Sometimes she drink so fast that she wants to catch a breathe I'll remove the bottle &amp; try to burp her while she pant. Once she cries for more feed, I'll prompt give her the bottle (whtr or not she has burp). Longest I've left the milk outside after heating up is also 1hr. Now I bot an insulator, the moment I see that she has doze off I immediately put the bottle inside the insulator. this way I've kept the milk for 1.5hrs before. I'll taste the milk 1st b4 offering to Valerie if she cries for feed. If after 1.5hrs she is still asleep I'll throw the balance away.

Forgetmenot : thanks for the info.. most probably I will be getting the babysafe mattress, juz want to know the price difference. I saw desitin selling at Centrepoint guardian but they only have the ointment type, I looking for the creamy one.. any idea?

Tigger : I' using Medela electic mini which belongs to my friend.. at the rate that I'm using, I think I will bust the motor sooner or later..

Stephy: How do u knw if the motor will bust or not ha? I'm using it like 6 times or so a day (3-4hrly), everytime 10mins+/-. Mine also from my cousin. If busted then very paiseh leh. Wondering if If's good that I buy one for myself

Are BB safe pdts that good? I'm interested in getting their infant pillow. Rectangular one. Once my BB's head shape more firm than I'll prob ditch my "hollow" pillow &amp; buy her the BB safe pillow. Got holes so if she flip &amp; turn it'll be safer.. she wldnt suffocate so easily.

forgetmenot: I didnt buy any toys. BB so young dunno how to play one la.. prob 3 mths onwards when they are more alert then I might buy some toys.

forgetmenot:
the first growth of hair after the shave will come out in patches... will take a long time before all the hair grows evenly.

not very true lah... my sis didnt have her head shaven and she has the thickest hair amongest us. i still remember she used to have very long hair in the past and when she cut it short, she was lighter by 3kg! hahaha

i went to the motherhood fair again yesterday at 4 pm and the nepia newborn and s size were already sold out.
i took a brochure from them for the placing of orders and realised that they do not cater to newborn and s size. they only have m size onwards. so does that mean that i cant order s size?

<font color="aa00aa">forgetmenot,</font>
our breastmilk is a bit oily, if dun use any cleanser I think not very thoroughly clean leh.

I bought Desitin Creamy for $10 from my Paed clinic. Will be going there today for Keane's jab. I heard the Medela motor is not lasting. If frequently used, will bust within a couple of months. But I am not sure if it applies to the dual pump.

<font color="aa00aa">sgmom,</font>
I bought the Flash cards. One side has red dots and the other side is the number with the words below. I will show him the cards one by one and say out the number. I am flashing the red dots now, as for the numbers, the instruction states to start flashing when baby is 1 year of age.

The Ameda pump is quite ok, can finish pumping at a shorter time now. As I told Stephy, I find that the Avent manual pump seems to be able to empty more thoroughly.

mummies:
i have been expressing my breastmilk to put into bottles to train my girl to suckle from bottle. so far not successful...
but i have a worry... cuz its been several occasions already... i realised that the amt expressed is very little... 40ml the most was 50ml. what can i do to increase the amt?
how to express and store when the supply is so little??
headache

sgmon, krazy

ya nepia very cheap at the fair... i bought 6 packs of s and 2 packs of M. got some pull up pant sample and lots of newborn and s samples.... very ks rite. anyway... samuel still can wear nb size thought he is abt 5.5kg already but i think better start to upgrade to S size. I got total 10 packets of S size nepia.... was thinking if he cant finish later (which I think he can), I wil just sell them away since I bought at such a cheap rate anyway.

anyway u can order S and newborn from them with free delivery. Last month, I ordered 3S and 1 NB from them... so it can be done.

re: GD books

I went to kinokuniya just now and the GD books are so exp... had wanna buy dr sears baby book but exp also.... no point spending so much on the books... din buy the flash cards cos i think i can do it myself... just a few red dots only hehe..

those who have dr sears baby book... how do u find the book ? useful ? I kinda like his style of attachment parenting... which we also practice currently.

sgmom : sometimes the pressure will grow weak and than strong again.. I also used the pump abt 6 - 7 times a day, abt 15 mins each time.. I have a friend actually busted her friend's, at the end she paid $109 for a new motor. I was at Mums &amp; babes the other day, the sales assistant told me that Medela electric mini is not for heavy usage, she tried to talk me into buying pump-in-style.. I guess she is doing her sales talk.. but really I'm tempted.. If u really want to get one, get it from the exhibition, it is much cheaper, in fact, I was with my friend at the fair the other day, if both of us were to buy, we can get at a better rate. We are still considering.

I'm not too sure whether Baby safe product are good.. but it is quite popular. I got the oval shape pillow with the hole in the middle, haven't let Aaron sleep on it yet.

Krazy : I have ordered Nepia diapers in small size.. infact, u can mix the sizes if u are ordering 1 carton. To increase yr milk, juz got to drink (eg. hot soups, oats drink) more and rest more.. and most important, latch yr bb on more often.

tigger88 : our breastmilk is not a bit only, it is very oily
Oh u got the cream frm yr paedia.. my first tube is from my paedia tpp, but too lazy to go all the way to TMC to buy.

shane,

GD is glenn doman... flashcard systems
The book teaches how to make use of flashcard to teach bb to read, maths... etc

Hi Sally/ ladies,
Me doing confinement at my MIL house also. Now I am only 3 days there, I find myself very lonely. Her house is also very messy and she is also not very hygiene. In a sense that they are old folks, the way they handle things is still the old style. Just for 2 nites staying here, every nite I complain this and that to my husband. This 3 days at her house, I really feel very sad. Not sure am I having post natal blue. I keep crying alone in my room. I really feel very helpless. Although pple said 1 mth times fly fast and bb is almost 1 wk old but I really can't take it. Now I am writing this, I tears just keep flowing. I really don't know why I feel this way. Maybe I am too lonely here.

Ladies, what is your advise to me? My hubby said if I really can't take it, go home and get a confinement lady. He see me like that he also very stress. I wanted to go my mum house but because she is staying with my brother, she said a confinement woman should not go to other pple house. So she don't want to accept me there.

Do you think I should get a confinement lady now? My mum was quite against it as she thinks later my MIL will feels that I don't like her and will be not happy about it. But then, I am the one suffering now and everyday washing my face with tears. I really can't imagine how am I to stay here for 3 more weeks.

san,

sorry to hear u are not having a good time at your MIL house. Try to relax and share with your hubby ... maybe something can be done abt the hygiene part ? if there is anything u dun like.. u may be able to convey to her via your hubby ?

for me, I stayed in my own house during confinement... my mum came by bring me food daily.. and helping me to look after my bb in the day... me and hubby took over fully at nite. u think that can be arranged with your mum ?

San,
is ur MIL the easy gg type ? If she is, just go ahead and move back to ur own hm and get ur own confinement lady. Beats feeling miserable everyday and in the risk of hvg post natal blues.

but if ur MIL is the not so understanding type then it's gg to be quite difficult to move out and she might think like wat ur mum said.

No matter what arrangement you choose, best to get ur hubby to speak to his mum.

San: Oh no sayang... dun be so sad.. If you can close one eye then ok (usually first one wk is tougher), but if u really can't take it, then quickly get a CL (never too late) or arrange something like poohy, possible? Just do what makes you happy. At least ur hubby is supportive.

bloomtan: How're ur baby rashes? Did pd give anything?

blurmom: Congrats

twinklets: Wah u're very patient, so is ur baby, can try to burp for 30min. My baby sometimes refuses to burp, after a few min, if she is not comfortable in burpg position, she will CRY liao. Then we give up. Dunno what can help in her burpg.

forgetmenot: i use Pigeon cleanser with the Avent pump. Sld be ok leh.The Pigeon baby cleanser didn't say antibacterial. It says safe for baby. :p

carlalily: My SIL told me diarrhoea is persistent watery tools, say a couple of times within a day over a few days. Yellowish/brown liquid/semi-solid stools seems to be quite normal. Isabelle sometimes also must gek quite hard in passing motion.

tigger88: Yar same bouncer, heh. Isabelle's rather fussy, sometimes she lie there for a while and will start to cry, occasionally she will sleep in there.

Btw what flash card did you buy? How much?

Wonder if the samples we get will do the job. Do we need many? We got some black/white ones in the hospital goody bag right? Motherhood Enfa's counter also gave flashcard; quality is quite good.
Red/black/white with pictures and shapes. Sometimes Isabelle will look at the b/w pictures, after a while she'll look away.

Things to look out for at Motherhood Exh:
1) NUK 30% off
2) Free Motherhood mag.
3) Nepia diapers $13 (only M-size and above)
4) Dumex Mamil Night Formula (only for 6 mths and above) $20 (buy 1 get 1 free); i didn't buy cos no one to share, want to try out 1 tin first
5) Enfapro's counter (goodie bag have quality flash cards)
Etc.

gals, just came back from paed...Keane didnt cry during the jab. Was very disappointed at his weight gain though. Paed says average weight gain for the 1st 3 months is 1kg per month. The 1st month he gained 1.1kg. Now, the 2nd month..he only gained 500gms...sigh!

Dunno whether he is underfed or what...Most of the time I latch him direct and his feeding interval is 3hrs (sometimes 4hrs). I feed him only when he crys for food. Recently started to make him get used to bottles. Trying to bottle feed him once or twice per day. However, he doesnt drink much. I gave him 120ml. Very seldom he can finish all. Most of the time he drank 50-60ml and refused to drink anymore or fell asleep...

I heard KKH pharmacy also sell Desitin creamy. I wanted to buy a few tubes when I was at the paed clinic but forgotten all abt it.

<font color="aa00aa">ming, shane,</font>
I bought the flashcards from Seiyu. It only cost $11.90. The brand name is called Kids Tools. This brand sells a couple of other infant development toys too. Carrefour also have.

Not too sure how many cards we actually need though. The package comes with only 11 cards. From 0-10.

hi poohy,
i don't think the real problem is bcos i m not satisfy wif my MIL. I can close 1 eye and my husband oso did give some instruction to her on certain thing. I think the real problem is maybe I feel too lonely here. Maybe i m not used to putting up here alone for whole day and nobody to talk to and it is not my house as well.