(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

Kelly, quite easy, I still have the montage files I used for Vol 1. Each page is 1 big photo montage mah. It's making the montage that heiheichuan, hehehe.

PILs here, they commission 6R version of the 2 books I did... so I just have to reduce 50% of my original montages to make 6R book for them.

Yuru,
thanks, very sound advice abt best at pt in time or else i'd be redoing things forever heheheh.
yah I looked again, and think the darkness is not that bad, I'm just being fussy. Anyway now I have to do the 6R books for PILs! My mum dun wan, she say she dun live so long to need another set. :/

sigh, today I was going to suction Irv's nose and Athena actually requested I do so for herself! And din complain after, even answered that it was much better after suctioning. Now I'm wondering if she's seeking attention from me. Just brought her out 1:1. But it seems to be such a recurrent issue... she will have her sibling for life leh. How?

YuRu,

DV = daily value

most of the supplements on the shelf will have higher than DV values. thats why I am still giving my boys the liquid multivitamins that are meant for 1yrs old and above.

pawprint, bearing in mind that she is just barely three and is learning to have to share everything with her sibling including her precious parents and the other adults she loves, I would do my best to fulfill her needs if I am in your situation. I am sure she is seeking attention from you, but you're her mom, of cos she will seek attention from you. Plus, its not logical to compare a barely-3 athena's behaviour with a 5-yr-old-athena's behaviour? Just because at this age she is insecure and needs more assurance doesnt mean she is gonna be like this forever (especially if you assuring at this stage) Like Faye also seeks attention from me, I also seek attention from Faye, and I also seek attention from my hb lol. I'd be worried the day we all dont need attention from each other :p

But then, this is coming from someone who dont feel giving attention to a child is a bad thing. I will give attention to my child as long as its needed and I can do so, it doesnt matter how its communicated to me. Parents who believe that children shouldnt be given too much attention prob will not agree with me heh. Thats just me lor.

yuru, from what I know, the DV is the minimum needed by body, not the maximum. Which means its not exactly the most ideal amount. I think the minimum amt of vit C the body needs is along the lines of like 25mg or something (I could be wrong abt the vit C, but I know its also a VERY low amount). But when our body is unwell or battling a virus, some people actually do need up to 3000mg a day.

Just like if the minimum fruit intake we shd have is 1 fruit a day, you are not gonna be hurt if you take 3? hehe

berry, pawprint,

I do agree about giving Athena as much attention as possible. my boys are 12mths apart so it was tough. my mum help for 5mths so I could have some one-to-one time playing with my older boy while my mum watch over the baby. then my dad and brother came for a holiday and my older boy loves the attention from granddad and uncle, so I got a break from both boys.

yuru,
yah last night finished submitting a 116pg, A4 version for PILs. then ordered invit cards for A's bday (I booked venue liao so shld b no changes... though 3 mths early!). I have 5 days left to finish as much of my A3, Vol 3...

berry,
aiyoh after that in evening she reuested HB suction her nose too. n then me again! where got kid want to be nose-suctioned??? we r trying our best for both kids.... just that sometimes it's still tiring to keep reassuring, to realise she's still insecure after all the 1:1s, etc. I carry Irv, Athena sulk. I carry Athena, Irv tries to muscle in too. Sometimes I wonder if I have to handle their rivalry... for the rest of my life.

anyone interested?

Foldable cardboard that turns into a fun coloring playhouse. Great for children activities in
schools and at home. The perfect gift for children with hours of coloring fun. No tools required
for assembly. Simple folds and it is ready for play and fits back into the original box for
convenient storage anytime. Safe for children. The inside of the house is free of tabs and sharp
edges. No limitation to imagination and creativity. Suitable for all kinds of coloring medium.

Terms and Conditions:
1. Offer is valid from 26th July 2007 till 12th August 2007
2. Items available @ Anthropology Homeware: 252 North Bridge Road #B1 77/78 Singapore 179103.
Tel: 63363655
3. Print this email and present it together with your FBI, SBI, JAC membership card to enjoy this
offer.

EXCLUSIVE OFFER OF $49.90

897341.jpg

just dropped an email to see if can hv free delivery if getting more pieces, or any discount price if getting bulk.

yuru, most companies should err on the side of caution, I doubt they will recommend a dosage that the child will overdose on. Otherwise sure kenna sued upside down, esp american companies. Plus, alot of multi vits are derived synthetically, the body will not absorb 100% definitely. Some sources say (not sure how true) that the body is only able to absorb 10-20% of what it takes in the form of synthetic vitamins. If you stick to label dosage and buy only from reputable brands (and dont mix different supplements unless you've calculated the total amt of vit X that the child is getting), should be quite safe.

Angelia, Faye has that playhouse hehe! Its not as sturdy as I thought, the material is quite flimsy wan. Very average product. Originally I wanted to buy one more for a friend, but after receiving mine, I changed my mind. :p

pawprint, I guess parenting has its tiring moments lor. How much you feel you are comfortable giving, its your call.

pawprint
i've been going thru all these attention-seeking for e past 12mths. tell me abt tiring. esp in my present condition, it's freaking tiring lor.

e present example is...edward is now walking independently for abt 4-5steps n he can walk fr a fixed point towards us. whenever he does it, i'll hug, kiss n encourage him. gabe copied him, saying "mom, i walk to u" expecting the same amt of hugs n kisses too. he is obviously seeking attention.

a mummy who saw his other behavior b4, said he's seeking attention n i shldnt indulge him (edward was 5mths old then n gabe was lying in edward's bouncer whenever he can). for a brief moment, it struck me tat i shld tell my boy 2 grow up n not regress. then again, my gabe's juz turned 2 and he's still a baby (2 me lah). how 2 tell him 2 grow up? i didnt change my behavior. i gave as much attention as i can 2 both boys. if i spent 10mins wif edward, i'll spent e same amt of time wif gabe. when i hugged edward n gabe wants one ASAP, i tell him all e time tat everyone takes turns. he now knows tat he has 2 take turns wif his lil bro cos there's only 1 mummy. yes, it's mentally, emotionally n physically tiring but i can try my best.

i still hv 2 go thru the same when #3 pops n i can only hope i do my best wif #3 as i hv done wif gabe n edward.

mayb athena'll grow out of it when irvin's older. btw, i do lotsa brainwashing wif my boys. i tell both of them tat they r best friens n if mum & dad r no longer around in tis world, they hv only hv each other. if they dun get along well n love each other, they'll hv no one else. i also tell them tat yes there r grandparents, uncles n aunties but no one is closer 2 u, other than ur bro, in terms of surname, blood group, looks, etc. gabe buys e story n i still telling e same story 2 edward often. mayb u try tat?

u r already doing a fantastic job wif ur kids. mayb athena's more sensitive n needs lots more assurance fr u, husband, grandparents.

hi kelly
congrats on having # 3.
Edward walking alry? tat fast

kelly / pawprint
I am having the same problem wif u all, what everi do wif Jeralyn, nicole wan. If i bath jeralyn, nicole will insit i bath her first. 1 drink milk other sure wan.
can u imagine nicole now sit on jeralyn walker just not to let her sis sit on it.
when go out she insist to sit inside the stroller and wan us to carry jeralyn.
she do everything or wan anythign jeralyn have.

the worst is jeralyn seem to know to fight for attention too. when she see nicole she make funny noise too, we cnat leave her any min.

kelly, thanks alot for commiserating, haha. Very tired. Think I am lucky both kids not say very HEAVY, or else u will see me getting shorter and shorter from carrying the weight, haha.
I gave up on Athena self-feeding liao, she see Irv fed, she insist she must be fed. Of cos, I cld try and start training Irv to self-feed completely... but that will be another Project.

wendy,
hey the sit-in-stroller is one benefit, hah! But we dun like to bring stroller much... hmm, maybe must change mindset and start using stroller more.

Pawprint, the playhouse you saw is coloured or the plain non-coloured version? It arrives non-coloured and I personally thought it looked far more imppresive on the magazine (some parenting mag where I read abt and ordered it).

Playhouse- One thing I really dislike about the playhouse was that since it came folded and compacted in a slim carrying case, this means that at places like the windows/doors/some part of the wall that arent supposed to have folded lines, it actually is folded. Of course you can straighten it out, but once folded, there will always be a deep bent line in the cardboard. And since its pretty thin cardboard, the windows/doors arent even straight after setting up, quite an eyesore lor.

Berry,
I saw a non-coloured sample that they set up for display, yup the cardboard is really very flimsy, but i thought the whole design outline rather pretty! I'd probly reinforce with some cardboard on the inside or it really won't stand up to even my gentle girl, let alone the boy.

Yuru,
yah tell me abt gender bias. That day my gf bumped into PILs while with me and MIL asked her, "why u dun give birth to another one, a BOY?". *I was speechless* My gf kept quiet, then MIL asked further, "ur girl same age as Athena hor?". *FAINT* After that my gf left quickly.
At least now I know MIL's words dun always target just me. :/ And for my gf, the silver lining is that my MIL's not her MIL.

Am sure Athena is close to me... but the younger one, I dunno lah. If I carry A, he will complain and want me. Otherwise he bohchap me at home. When A's asleep and I want to bond with him, I have no freaking idea how to 1:1 with him at home, so I bring him out lor. So I dunno if he sees me as "gai-gai" source.

pawprint,

my 1.5yr old younger boy wants to go "gai gai" everyday since less than a week old. put into stroller immediately stop crying. same with my 2.5 yr old older boy when he was small. My MIL also extreme gender bias. I just thankful my mum is okay.

Mummies, I am looking for Lego Duplo blocks in WHITE or CLEAR colour, as well as Lego Duplo Penguins. Anyone has these to let go? If so, please let me know, I'll buy from you as long as your price is okay.

pawprint
yes yes u right stroller is the only must thing to go out, I more than happy to let nicole sit on the stroller, more of to "tie" her down haha... or else she will be running ard. she wont walk adn insist I carry her, weekend I alway end up in terrible backache at the end of a day.
do take care, ppl alway say kids virus are the most "posioning" they spread the fastest. I never fail to get it after the small one recover

yuru
tat why weekend i am a mad woman screaming my head off hahaha.... i really cant handle 2 alone.
so kelly is our warrior.

wendypooh
hi-5, i also more than happy when gabe 1 2 sit in e stroller cos he wont run around mah, easier 4 us 2 do our shopping. hahahahaha!

let me list down the stuff gabe does...2 b a "baby" (like wat he calls himself)
1) used 2 bath standing, now sits in e bathtub like edward
2) wanna b cuddle like a baby when he drinks fr e bottle (which is once in the afternoon b4 his nap. for his bedtime feed, he drinks on e bed)
3) sits in e stroller, giving no chance 4 edward (we also happy cos husband n i take turns 2 carry edward n talk 2 him abt e surroundings)
4) wont self feed anymore except for a few spoonsful. edward's consuming more solids lately but more into foods wif texture such as potatoes, carrots, rice, fish
5) crawled around a lil when edward started crawling cos he saw us giving lotsa encouragement, hugs & kisses 2 his lil bro
6) when edward was practising his pincer grip, he also was using it a lot n 'teaching' edward how 2 do it (i wont say he's copying here but he was juz doing lotsa stuff 2 get encouragement, hugs & kisses fr us whenever he sees me & husband giving it 2 edward)
7) still insists on a bottle except i managed 2 stop him fr using for his morning feed. he now uses bottle for his afternoon nap n bedtime feed.

the only 2 stuff he didnt copy is
1) he still wont sleep wif his lil bro in their room
2) didnt pull 2 stand when edward was learning 2 do so

lately edward's walking independently more. he's also able 2 stand up on his own n walk a few steps b4 dropping down 2 crawl again. when i do e usual (encourage, hugs & kisses), gabe came 2 me n has been saying tis "mom, didi walking now so dun carry him". i guess he has been waiting 4 e day for edward 2 walk so i dun hv 2 carry him anymore (i've been telling gabe tat i need 2 carry his lil bro cos he cant walk).

when i was toilet training gabe (he was successfully toilet trained last dec), whenever edward poos in e diaper, gabe would smack his butt n said, "notti didi, must poopoo in toilet". hahahahaha! i used 2 smack gabe's butt whenever he made a poo puddle at home mah...

pawprint
u wont get shorter but leaner. more muscles? slimmer? does irvin like food as much as athena? mayb hard 2 teach irvin 2 self feed if he cant sit still for food or like food as much as athena. i've yet 2 come across another tod who likes food as much as athena n can sit still n eat so much during buffets.

get well soon ya.

wendypooh
edward does seek my attention too when he sees me do anything wif gabe. so e only 1:1 time gabe gets wif me is when edward naps. then again, i dunno if it's bcos he wants my attention or he juz wants 2 b involved wif wat gor gor is doing but i know when gabe's sitting on my lap or when i'm hugging gabe, he makes a beeline for me n tries 2 climb onto me too. gabe usually would say, "didi, take turns. mom's hugging me"

kelly, haha a fren just commented that Irvin likes to eat. Both kids got my genes lah. I'm hoping the short genes escape Irvin somewhat... :/
gd thing is both ur kids same gender, i think Athena can understand what my MIL says (gender preference for boy).

talking abt walking/ standing, Irv just doesn't seem inclined so. Not worrisome for me, I'm more worried abt clapping/ vocalisation (which he IS doing more lately so concerns allayed). But MIL always use "LAZY' on him. HB not upset abt it, he's not even intervening, he says it balances out the gender bias.

Going out with 2 boys.

I have to use a doublr stroller. just so that they can both eat and sleep comfortably.

899545.jpg

Kelly,

its v funny how your 2 boys behave similar to my 2 boys. at one time I had to carry one on each arm which I can only do for a short while.

at first WW didnt want his didi to walk. always ask didi to crawl instead. Now my 2nd son can walk steadily. Just potty-trained WW this month. Now he also says didi still a baby use diapers, he big boy use toilet insert. my 2 boys are 1 yr apart so we have 3 dec "babies" in the house inclucing me. the officials always find it amusing that babies and mum has the same birth month.

gender bias in US :p

alot of ah mohs will ask if I am going to try for a girl because they like to have both boys and girls. I just tell them cannot afford to have a girl because all I have is boys clothes and toys. WK (1yr7mth) wwears all his brother's hand me downs and only get 2-3 new sets of clothes for himself. all toys are shared.

Wah can carry both at same time, peifu! I can only hug both at same time.
Today was carrying Irv on hipseat when Athena stumbled. I squatted down to console her, she looked me in the eye and whined, "CARRY". Irvin understood her and started to cling on tightly... she tried to clamber on, he tried to KICK her away (he does this nowadays when we have this kinda both-wanna-carry scenario).

pawprint,

I know what u mean exactly. it happened to me alot of times. they were 11kg and 14kg the last time both wanted me to carry.

when my older boy hurt himself, my younger one will cling very tight so that its difficult to put him down. when my older boy sits on my lap, my younger boy would kick him away so that he gets to sit on my lap instead.

Berry,

I have white and cream Lego duplo. what do u need them for *curious* dont have Lego Penguins but can ask for u when we go to the Lego store.

LEGO Duplo,

Hubby always complain Lego is so expensive at the Lego store but when compared to the Lego prices at ToysRUs SG, its cheaper by quite a bit.

Rochelle,
yah HB noticed they were cheaper in US... waiting for his next trip there to grab! We use megabloks for the big kiddy blocks, but prefer Lego for the really small ones (the ones *I* can play, heehee). I've been taking over Irv's Thomas trainset too, so fun to change track routes! :D

Rochelle, cause Faye is absolutely crazy about penguins, and we do have this duplo zoo set that includes 2 penguins and ard 10 white blocks. She is always using these pathetic 10 white blocks as 'icy grounds' for all her penguins stuffed anomals to stand on. And hor, she has over 10 assorted penguin 'friends' in all(mainly stuffed animals), so imagine them trying to squeeze on the 10 lego duplo blocks.
And I've checked with the lego stores, the duplo blocks cant be bought seperately, and the penguins too. Can only be bought in a set. Since I already have 2 pretty big different lego animal sets, I wont buy one more set just for the white blocks. :p
Thats why hoping to buy seperately from mummies lor. Cause maybe their kids dont even like penguins and white blocks, so no loss to sell to me mah hehe. But then, after I posted my earlier msg, I went Ebay to scout, found a small duplo set gg at a v good price, consists of some white blocks and one penguin (and a seal and wat not). Hope I win that auction.

BTW, a penguin lover can never have too many ice blocks, so if you are willing to sell your white blocks to me (faye only want the white ones hehe), let me know.

Oh, I just won this auction for Faye today, she is gonna be sooo pleased hehe. http://cgi.ebay.com/Surfs-Up-Movie-Cody-Big-Z-Penguin-Plush-Doll-10-New_W0QQitemZ260144334216QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item260144334216

any mummies here whose preschooler is crazy abt penguins/owls too?

Berry,

both my boys like penguins too. they saw the actual one at the zoo. I think might be able to get from Lego's Education store. will check and let u know

Pawprint,

my boys has the Thomas, Toby and the Lego Ville train set. they can play for hours so I got my chance to read the forum. They just lauch the Gordon, Salty and Spencer train sets. Which ones are u playing with

Berry,

near christmas the Lego stores here would sell loose bricks of white, green so would keep a lookout for u. mine came from one of those Lego sets my boys have. dont know which set it came from also.

Rochelle,
oh no I meant we have Thomas Tomy Trainsets, not Thomas Lego set, hehe.
I'm eyeing this huge Lego house set (not duplo or the big blocks but the original lego size bricks?), abt SGD$100 here, but in US converts to abt SGD$70 or 80?

Berry,
went to Jurong Bird Park today and caught the penguin feeding thingy... no leh, Athena not into Penguins lor. Last time when Happy Feet showed, we bought movie tix and had to come out in the beginning of the movie cos she wailed (she found the theatre too dark, and the front portion of the movie wasn't exactly uplifting).

Oooh but she does like the Mac Happy Toy Surf Up penguin toys... I think she likes the wheel thingy below the surf thingy rather than the penguin leh.

pawprint, what a coincidence, we were at Bird park on saturday! Anyway we decided to buy the family membership since we'll have to start paying for Faye soon. Its quite worthwhile for us cause Faye really cant get enough of the penguins and owls, so now that we have the membership, I can easily bring her to the BP just to see penguins/owls without paying for the hefty entrace fees each time hehe. Plus both enclosures are indoors so if raining also can go!

pawprint, I just realised got a missed call from you yest. Paiseh, my phone abit crazy, cant always receive/make calls properly wan.
You drop me an email if u still looking for me okie?

Berry, wanted to ask u abt UTI and yeast in kids while we were waiting at clinic, it's ok saw doc already. Now water-parade the girl with cranberry juice, soups (plus mild antibiotics).

SELF-FEEDING,
those with spirited kids, how did u do it? First time experience a kid who WANTS to topple the bowl of gloopy cereal no matter what, and swing the bowl about. His intent is to do that lor, so no matter how securely I hold the bowl, it won't work, cos he pries away my fingers and screams with FURY when I won't let go of the bowl...

pawprint, oohh okie. Actually I dont really know alot about UTI heh. Glad that Athena ia alright now.

toppling cereal- I'm not sure exactly what happened before he wants to topple cereal. Off the top of my head, I imagine one possibility is that the cereal was the red herring- as in he was already unhappy about something and was deliberately toppling cereal to express anger/displeasure or to get your attntion. In this case, then I would try to find out what it could be and work THAT out with him. After which a gentle reminder about cereal shd suffice. If not then he might just be realy fascinated with the patters of spilt cereal and cant get enough of it. To us adult, you are the one who makes sense in not wanting spilt cereal. To him, he just doesnt get why you keep wanting to stop ths fabulous experiment he is trying to conduct. In this case, try to find out exactly which part of his 'experiment' matters so much to him and ask him questions to find out ("do you want to see how it looks when its spilt?" "is it the pattern that you like?") Then I would try to set up maybe a large piece of majong paper in a corner or even bathroom and line everything nearby with pastic (having a maid helps hehe) and then let him experiment with making patterns by toppling diluted paint from a small container. Basically try and fulfill that need in an appropriate setting. And after that fun experiment and his need is fulfilled, its the best time to gently talk to him about how food is not for toppling, and assure him that if he ever needs to topple liquids, you can help him to do appropriately.

Sorry to write an essay haha. Anyway in my experience with MY spirited child, the more you honour and respect their needs, the more you teach them about respect itself- respecting you and environment ard them. Also, its my experience that they *will* most definitely and constantly have new ideas and antics all the time, and its wiser to make yourself their ally/buddy/helper than the disapproving mum so that they will come to you when they want to carry out new 'experiments' and then you can at least do some 'damage control' hahaha. :p Just my $0.02's.

huh, no lah, not red herring.

He was happy initially, then he wanted to lift up the bowl, i held on at the bottom, he pried my fingers off, i refused to let go, he tugged, getting increasing angry I was not letting him conduct his fabulous experiment, as u put it. I did let go briefly, and caught the bowl before he overturned it lor... a few times. So he got madder with me.

Think will shelf for now, I really am not ready to LET him topple it every meal-time. And he really does seem to treat me a EVIL MOTHER for not letting him do so, so no pt straining the bond, haha.

Parprint, I wouldnt let Faye topple food on purpose either, I think prob few ppl would. What I did was to sit with her and remind her gently over and over again "food is not for toppling, if you want, we can topple other stuff later.". But I think I can understand his anger, just like I can understand why you think his behaviour seems ridiculous.

skyblue n other mummies in my MSN
thousand apologies. i kenna fr another person n was trying hard 2 get rid of it. hopefully e virus is finally gone