Trapped between husband and mother

Help!

My father has been a gambler for decades, and my mother has decided to separate (though not divorced) from him many years ago. In her late 60s, she remains active and try to increase her social circle. However, she has only a handful of close friends who also has busy schedule. As her daughter, I understand her struggles and am supportive of her decision. However, she is a lonely woman who craves for attention from family.

She comes to visit me and my kids twice every week. She comes in the morning and stay still 9pm then she goes home.

For my husband who works from home, he sees my mother quite a lot. And he observes the way my mother speaks to our kids in 'broken' English. He started reminding me to talk to my mother about speaking to our kids in Chinese since she is good at it instead of struggling with broken English. I talk to my mother about it as well, but she keeps forgetting. I guess partly because my kids refuse to respond to anyone when it's Chinese.

More than 6 months passed, and his went on and on between my mother and my husband until one day, my husband and I had a very heated argument about her. He said that he can't stand my mother and prefer if she doesn't come to our house anymore. And we continued to argue almost every few weeks after that, and my mother seems to sense it too. I feel very guilty each time she pretends to b busy or come up with excuse to leave, but I can see that she is v sad when she does that.

At her age, she doesn't have many close friends, and I'm very close to my mother. I get v angry with my husband but also understands his intention with ensuring that our kids don't pick up broken English from my mom. But I also don't have the heart to tell my mom to stop visiting her grandkids. After all, she loves them a lot and always help me look after them when hubby and I not around.

Any advise please.

What about explaining to your mom that it's important to her son in law that she speaks mandarin? ? u can help by getting your kids to respond to her in mandarin. tell your mom that this is important n this is why u are having arguments w him. also reassure her that her presence is very welcome. ur hubby doesnt realise how fortunate it is to hv that extra pair of hands around and your children will greatly benefit from the love of a grandparent.

Besides the points raised by timmerin, you should also communicate more with your kids in mandarin so that they become comfortable to reply in mandarin to you and your mother.

Thanks both for your comments. I actually try to speak to my kids in mandarin and my mum is ok when I'm around. My husband says that the moment I leave the house, my mum goes back to her broken English. And it annoys him more when she and the maid all speak bad English together in front of our kids.

On multiple occasions, I have spoken to my mum and reminded her the importance of teaching our mother tongue to the children. However, she keeps forgetting and seems autopilot to go back to her broken English. I can tell that it wasn't intentional on her part because my kids will not respond to her, even ignore her when she speaks to them in mandarin.

Now, whenever my mum comes visit, I get very stressed out around the house. I feel like I'm on edge all the time, nonstop, and will jump in to correct her once she start to speak in English. I can tell she is trying to be patient but clearly she is getting annoyed at times. On the other hand, my husband keeps complaining to me about my mother. He is so irritated with her now that no matter what she does, everything's just irritate him. I am so scared that it's a matter of time there will be a major confrontation.

I am really stressed out.

Regarding speaking of english/mandarin, i too face similar problem. My #1 is 4yo, my in law visits 2-3x a week, always speak 'huh huh england, la, heyyy', totally cannot linked sentence tat doesnt sound like english! Now wen i talk to my #1, her reply will be 'HUH??' N not 'mummy can u repeat?' Honestly tats how it turned out..
I aso reminded my in law thosand x to speak mandarin or even dialect, but she jus cant, bcause her grand daughter dont want to reply. If not they will use ipad n iphone, candies to lure them to play n again speaks is english. (Which i feel is really ............. But i no choice dun wan my hubby feel centered) ;(

Ultimately, to grandparents, is jus interaction with the grandkids tat they cant c daily 24/7. I give up reminding them, n only hope tat my #1 will pick up proper mandarin in CC since no one in my family can speak/teach her.

I feel u. Stuck in middle... One is ur hub, the other mom. Ur mom dont wan make things difficult for u too. Sigh~
If its ur hubby whose in the middle, things might jus be different :(
Hope ur hubby can be a tad more understanding tat not everyone can speak proper eng, or even mandarin.. At least close 2 eye for 2 out of the 7 days tat ur mom is enjoying her grand kid company!

MIL to my hubby: want to eat leanner? I go by cte now under thunder bery fast leach.
MIL to my girl : u lead the book to me la, my ice not bery good cannot see word small small. Want chu chu water?

Sometimes damn funny wen listen the conversation.... But is really different era now.....

Oh jus to add.. My kid undergoing speech therapy too. So is not about broken english, is the pronounciation is wrong. fish, pish, etc.. No matter wat, kids learn fast.. Most important is HAPPY FAMILY, HAPPY ENVIRONMENT :) hope things turn out fine for u. Jiayou!! Dont stress urself...

Thanks furbee
I agree happy environment = happy family.

My MIL comes every Sunday, same problem, also speak with broken English and my husband will 'scold' her. So he expects me to do the same with my mom. But me and my mother have a different relationship then he and his mum.

Anyways, why does your kid need to attend speech therapy? Was it very serious? Where do you send them?

your mother probably doesn't understand the gravity of the situation yet. just be frank and tell her how much it bothers your hubby to the point that you have been arguing with him frequently. as for your hubby, tell him that u are doing your best and it may be unreasonable to expect complete overhaul of language overnight. try to get him to recognise n appreciate the baby steps.

I grew up in a family where my father is educated and my mother can barely speak English. So if she does speak, then it's probably broken English. But it didn't affect my English.

And since you say your mother speak broken English, has it affected your English as you grow up?

If I were in your position, I'd be angry with my husband. How dare he talk like that about the woman who give birth to me and bring me up? How dare he be impatient with her?

Tell your husband that you were brought up by your mother and you turned out fine so there's no problem with letting your mother interact with your children. There's no need to fight about this kind of things.

We don't know how long more our parents have to live. Let them be happy with their grandchildren. :)

I agree with Spinsterella. Cherishing parents is so important. I lost my mother 3 years ago and till date I feel the void. It is easy to point out flaws, pick fights, get frustrated and argue for things that are not very serious. But is all this worth it? The answer is a big 'no'.
Kokokrunch, if I were in your position, I would tell my husband to not speak ill of my mother. She deserves love, care and affection and not reminders to speak in Mandarin and not in broken English and also told not to come home. She is helping out with the kids which must be a such a relief. Should she be deprived of spending time with her grand kids, just because she does not speak proper English? You know the answer.

Help!

My father has been a gambler for decades, and my mother has decided to separate (though not divorced) from him many years ago. In her late 60s, she remains active and try to increase her social circle. However, she has only a handful of close friends who also has busy schedule. As her daughter, I understand her struggles and am supportive of her decision. However, she is a lonely woman who craves for attention from family.

She comes to visit me and my kids twice every week. She comes in the morning and stay still 9pm then she goes home.

For my husband who works from home, he sees my mother quite a lot. And he observes the way my mother speaks to our kids in 'broken' English. He started reminding me to talk to my mother about speaking to our kids in Chinese since she is good at it instead of struggling with broken English. I talk to my mother about it as well, but she keeps forgetting. I guess partly because my kids refuse to respond to anyone when it's Chinese.

More than 6 months passed, and his went on and on between my mother and my husband until one day, my husband and I had a very heated argument about her. He said that he can't stand my mother and prefer if she doesn't come to our house anymore. And we continued to argue almost every few weeks after that, and my mother seems to sense it too. I feel very guilty each time she pretends to b busy or come up with excuse to leave, but I can see that she is v sad when she does that.

At her age, she doesn't have many close friends, and I'm very close to my mother. I get v angry with my husband but also understands his intention with ensuring that our kids don't pick up broken English from my mom. But I also don't have the heart to tell my mom to stop visiting her grandkids. After all, she loves them a lot and always help me look after them when hubby and I not around.

Any advise please.

Just because your mother speaks broken English to your kids therefore your husband can't stand her? And you also mentioned that your kids doesn't respond to anyone who speaks Chinese, is it because they don't understand? And I guess your husband do know that the kids doesn't respond to chinese, and wants her to speak in chinese? And if you were to be there to translate everything for your mom, wouldn't it be tiring for you? If your husband prefers your mom not to come up just because of her broken english, maybe you can suggest him to start speaking Chinese to your kids. Rather than being so hard to a elder. Lastly, you can bring your kids over her place than her going up to your place.

Try to persuade both party his your mum and your hubby to understand your plight. Tell your hubby that even though she spoke broken English to the children however she had always help out to look after the grandchildren whenever you guys need help. On the other hand, talk to your mum that you wish that she will talk to your children in Chinese so that the children will not face any difficulties in school or studies when it comes to both English and Chinese languages. And of course inform your children that if Granny speak to them in Chinese, they will have to acknowledge and respond back in Chinese as well.

maybe i'm the only one who dun find importance in proper chinese or english. to me, most important is ability to communicate. for proper use of language, eventually they will learn from the school. if your husband thinks language is more important than kinship, i guess there is really no advice that i can give.

when i was young, i cannot pronounce uncle in chinese, i pronounce as "ka ka".. machiam like cockroach like tat.. times go by, my relatives also dun bother to correct me because i just cannot pronounce correctly. but what matters to them is i bother to greet my uncle when i see him. bother to acknowledge him first when i talk to him. many many yrs pass, now i can pronounce uncle, but i still call that particular uncle "ka ka". because it already become a nickname specially for him. even my siblings and cousins call him "ka ka" too. the whole thing become a family tale.

for some kids i seen, they can pronounce uncle or auntie perfectly, but they don't greet people at all. when they want things, they just say "i want this i want that", they dun bother to acknowledge the person when they asking for help... i know alot of parents want their kids to ace in their lives, but they also need to understand what is the most important in life

We only have one mum. 愛屋及烏。if your husband loves you he should care about your mother too. My dad put years into ensuring we speak perfect English when we were young too... After we went into college and Uni, all the singlish comes in anyways. Not that it's not impt, just that something's can let it go. Once your kid goes to school even if at home English is it's perfect, we will not be able to ensure other kids English is perfect...

kokokrunch.. I feel for you as I'm in the same situation as you now..

My hubby had stopped visiting my parents place.. joining (my) family events after a heated argument with my mother since early this year.. Both of them had their wrongs.. but now I'm stuck in between them and even my kids can feel it as they're asking me why daddy's not joining (when we have family gathering)... I (admit) first half of this year I was very annoy with his behavior and also boycott his family event and stop visiting my PIL place... However, I realize now this cannot carry on as it's affecting my kids... Tried talking to my hubby over this matter however it seems that he's still mad over my mum... and he rather not meet with her anymore...

I've spoken to my mum on this (as she also realize) my HB had stopped going over her place.. Told her she need to be more tactful on her conversation as she's those type that just say anything she likes without thinking about other's feeling.. In fact she has been like this since my dating days with HB so I don't totally blame him as he prob had endure my mum since then..

I really don't wish to carry on like this.... but don't have a solution to it..

Thanks everyone for their suggestions and comments. Sorry it has taken a while for me to respond.

Anyway, my husband admits that he is being a prick. He told me that he know I am stuck and he hates to put me in this position but he just cannot 'tahan' my mother now. He says that even the sight of her irritates him. So to avoid any further confrontation, now my husband avoids my mother. So my mother still visits my house as per normal on a weekly basis, and my husband just disappears for the whole day. This includes going out galavanting alone, having dinner alone until my mother leaves the house at night around 9pm. Then he'll return home. But each time he comes home, his face is super black and angry, small issues also want to pick a fight. Ask him what is his problem, he say no issue. Ask him why come back so bad mood, he keep quiet. But all these, I can tell is building up. He doesn't want to tell my mother to stop coming over but yet he doesn't want to see her, on the other hand, he got no where to go so he gets angry for staying out all day while my mum stays in his house.

I think one day we're just going to have a big fight over this, and it's the kind of fight where no one will win.

Sound pretty bad as your husband is feeling frustrated over this issue and he has to leave the house just to avoid your mum. I understand that if one day there will be a big fight over this issue, i think you will be stuck in between and unsure on how to solve this conflict. Maybe you can find one day just to ask your husband and talk to him over this issue outside instead of at home. I feel that you should have a talk with him and understand what is his frustration about.

@kokokrunch sorry to hear about your situation. I believe all parties are trying their best to contain the situation but it just isnt working out. And I think you may be right about that one big fight that's going to erupt some day. I can tell that you are a reasonable person and checking yourself that reciprocal behavior (boycotting his family events) isnt working out. This is great and positive towards the situation.

I am not sure what advice I can offer other than to share my own journey.

As @shoppixe pointed out 愛屋及烏 is key. I make it an extra effort to be nice to my DH folks, even nicer than to my own folks but no choice cuz we are DILs and a happy/harmonious family has a lot to do with good PIL/DIL relationship. Sometimes DH and I take turns to point out the shortcomings in our relationships with our PIL, we are honest about it and we recognize each other's effort in taking care of each other parents. We also affirm each other as sharing this common value of filial piety and say thank you for the little acts of service towards each other's parents (eg DH giving my mom a lift somewhere via detour on his way to work). We also note how having all grandparents in the kids' lives enhances their lives and there are more people to love the kids. With affirmation of the positive, the negative things will be put into context.

Since Day 1 of our marriage, DH and I agreed that we'll each manage our own parents and always portray our partner positively in front of our parents. In your case, I would encourage you to speak with your mom to be more aware of the undesired behavor and explain why. Its not to appease your husband. Fundamentally, it is for the good of your kids. Your mom would also want to support you and your family. Remember that its for the kids, not the husband. With your husband, affirm the same - that you are working with your mom for the good of the kids. I've learnt that even though we think something is trivial, we need to treat it as important if it is affecting the relationship/marriage/family....

I really hope that you can work the situation out with your loved ones...

I dun understand y is ur hb so particular, kids will later pick up singlish in sch too. If so particular in the 1st place shld hv make mandarin the main language to be spoken at home so old folk can communicate with kids. Afterall when kids goes to sch all subject except mandarin are taught in English.

Sorry to say that, your husband is such a rotten ass!! I really can't stand those who have low tolerance to kids and elderly.

So what if you can score perfectly in grammer but don't hold any water in the conversation?
IMO, contents prevail over the language and his behaviour is a negative influence to the kids!

What come around goes around and I hope that the future spouses of your kids doesn't throw him out of the house for being a stubborn old man with poor attitude.

Anyway like what others say, u can bring the kids to her house instead or bring them out for a makan. My parents don't really like to come to my house so I bring my gal to their place for dinner and we will go out during the weekend.

I hope that u will be able to stand up for yourself. If a man want to pick on you over such issues, he can jolly well pack up and get lost instead.

Hi everyone. It's been a long time and I just thought to update you on the latest progress. Hubby and I decided to take a break from the kids and we went for a holiday leaving the children with my maid. For once, we agree to try and work it out and my hubby agreed that my mother will come and help keep an eye while we were away. So I was secretly (super) thrilled and looked forward to this holiday for a long time.

So finally we went and it was a disaster. Everyday when I FaceTime the kids, can hear my mother talking to the kids with broken English. Reminded her many times. And my husband threw a huge temper during our holiday and we quarreled nearly everyday (10days) on our trip. On the flight back Singapore, I was tearing non stop from all the stress and unhappiness. Came home and realized my older son started to speak with 'lah' very often and even my maid noticed. She said she tried to correct the kid too. My husband was so angry he nearly punished my son.

Part of me felt that we shouldn't have gone on a holiday, it didn't help mend our relationship but made us realize we had such big differences in our opinions and values. It became crystal clear that there was no way we can ever agree or compromise. I don't even know where to start mending it. He is stubborn and I feel that I'm the only one trying to work on this. He said he cannot compromise on this matter at all, and he will talk to my mother and tell her about the severity of this matter. He said if she doesn't like what he says, then she can don't visit the kids anymore.

Am I wrong to feel that we're lucky to have my mother being so involved. When we're away, I trust no one but my mother to help look after the kids. If not for here, my husband and I wouldn't have chance to go anywhere alone. But my husband thinks we should just bring out kids with us next time. He say he rather we sacrifice now then the children grow up to speak bad English. He doesn't care if my mother don't understand his intentions.

I am at my wits end, close to a breakdown. I know that my mum will surely b upset as she is so close to me and my kids. But I'm tired of being trapped. Constant argue. Constant fight. Even go on holiday also not happy. Is my marriage not working anymore because we both love the kids too much. I cry everyday, and I can't deal with this anymore.

Please share any advise.

Hugs, I know how you feel.
My parents are Chinese educated whereas my pil are English educated. When my parents speak to kids in broken English, I will tell my parents to speak Chinese to them. My husband also the same like yours, will flare up when hear my parents speak broken English to them. My mil the best expects my gal to speak prefect English when she is just a toddler. In this world, there is no such thing as prefect, only have proper English. Good pronunciation.
Suggest you encourage your mom to take up English lesson so that she can communicate with your children. Also to show your husband that your mum is doing self improvement. For your kids, let them explore to more Chinese, can be through tv program, online games, etc. Tell them the importance of learning Chinese. Regardless of what language they learn they Must always remember their roots.

There's nothing wrong with speaking singlish. Its in our singapore culture. I grew up with parents who have had little education but have made wise decisions in their lives and are now living very comfortably. And we (my siblings n I) have learnt to switch between colloquial n formal language as and when necessary. Our singlish did not hinder us from getting good grades in the English language, entering good schools, getting a gd degree in local uni and later on securing decent jobs. My mother helped to look after my sibling's children. Her love and care is peppered with her unique mix of dialect, singlish and mandarin. Now, 2 out of 6 are in top schools under the GEP.

Lol... ur hubby needs to chill lah...n see the 'light'. He needs to hold the 'pebble' away from his eye so he can understand its not a big issue in reality. Of course, it's easier said than done.

I m sorry if my post did not help you much. I posted a 'helpful' reply earlier on sometime ago and bit my tongue. But now really cannot leh... i feel angry at your hubby for your mother

You know, during GE even politicians intentionally incorporate singlish to win votes... Is singlish the only thing? It almost sound irrational to jeopardize a marriage over... Are there other underlying issues? And there's no perfect English in the world just as there's no perfection in the world. The fact that You are married means one understands there's no perfection in life. No perfect wife, perfect husband, perfect mother in law. I was brought up by my gandma who certainly did not speak perfect English. But you know it's the moments that I remember her stroking my hair as I lay on her lap that I miss so much. Those cannot be replaced by good English and success in life. Sometimes one needs to rise above and see what's truly impt. To grow by being loved (truly) or just cared for by a helper. I grew up with about 10 different helpers. It's not the same. Wld I trade in speaking good English for being loved a few more years? I would. Grandparents are all old le, how many more years do they have? We have to work and only come home in the evenings giving our children that limited number hours of attention. Wldnt a parent want their child to be better loved? Not as if you mother mistreats your child. Try talking to you husband to what really matters in your priorities for bringing up you children.

I agree with bbabyblue. Maybe encourage yr mom to take up some simple English course at CCs. She can learn simple English and at the same time, maybe if the lesson is in the afternoon, she won't have to be at yr hse so often.

My mom also speaks broken English to my kids coz my kids don't speak Mandarin. Worse is she will speak Teochew to them which is total alien language coz I don't speak to them in Teochew at all. She will call my elder girl A-li-sa instead of Larissa. Then we will always have to correct her. Keep telling her to speak Mandarin to them, they do understand but don't speak. Sometimes old ppl is like that. My mom is old. She's 72. Also quite stubborn. She will speak to her Indo maid in Teochew and the maid don't understand and did wrong things and my mom will get super mad....lol...

Is ur hb gng to run for election in future or is he trying to raise a future politician? if nt wat is wrong wif speaking nt perfect English? To say the truth, even if ur speak perfect English so wat? U r still working for people only. I see people nt highly educated cant speak English are successfully businessman lor....y be so hard on a old lady, own wife and own kids!

Your husband seems to be making a mountain out of a molehill. Even if the kids do not pick up Singlish from their doting and kind, albeit linguistically challenged grandma, they will have to learn how to speak Singlish in school. I remember how I was once criticised by my schoolmates for speaking 'with an accent'. All I did was to speak grammatically sound English without any of our lahs and less. I had to consciously incorporate all the embellishments into my speech but after a while, it actually became quite fun and strangely familiar.

Looking deeper into the issue, is it really just an issue with the language or is it about power distance? Does he feel like your mother has become an unfair burden to him? It may well be that this is a resource issue, and the welfare of the kids are used as a smoke screen to justify his territorial behaviour. You alone would be in a position to figure it out. For example, he may be wondering why is it that he has to put up with another person's presence in his home, as it would definitely be inconvenient to some extent. He may not feel 100% at ease and comfortable. However, that would be a petty reason as opposed to saying that he is merely stopping her from coming over because of your children's best interest. Could that be the reason?

Back to the way he has been treating you and your mother. I think it is inexcusable. As you say, your mother has been through tough times. Despite that, she raised a fine daughter like you, who has turned out to be an excellent mother to his children. Your instincts are not wrong, and I do not think you should let him get away with his behaviour. In this drama, the only one who is behaving like a child is him. If I were you, I would call out his behaviour and ask him what exactly is bothering him, beyond the superficial issue of the children picking up Singlish from your mother. It does not have to be a blame game. More importantly, it is an exercise for him to examine his own intentions and conscience, and to work out whatever issues that are giving rise to this ridiculous situation.

At the end of the day, does your husband want to be remembered as one who chose 'perfect English' over a woman who sacrificed her youth and life for his wife?

English, can be worked out by the teachers.

Fillial Piety, on the other hand, can never be practised once the subject person is gone.

Think carefully.

I told my hb abt this n he told me, it must be more than just the singlish. It's ok not to speak proper english. The husband may be unhappy abt many other things n this is just an excuse.

And another thing. It would seem like he has owned up to being the prick. That's great you know. Graciously accept it and say, alright, I'll leave you to sort out your issues.

Do not pander to his pettiness by trying to cater to his whims and fancies. We must all be guided by principles. If your child is spoilt, you will expect him to work out his issues and behave better. I do not see why we have to pander to the spoilt whims of a big boy such as DH.

when i complain to my hubby about some issues, sometimes i will hope my hubby just take it that i am ranting.

maybe sometimes if your hubby nag, u just one ear in the other ear out. if sometimes he is in a bad mood and want u to take action, u just tell your mum a little. to appease him perhaps.

if your mum comes and goes in a breeze when your hubby is around, just take it that your mum is only considering for u. this part u can try to look at a better perspective. i am sure she still gets to see her grandchildren often right?

regarding trips, u tell him u always quarrel with me i am not going overseas with u anymore lol. just kidding. dont argue with him. not for his sake. but for your sake. maybe also take it that he is ranting.

understand that he is like that maybe because that is the way he grew up. so it makes him particular about certain things. u dont have to accept it. u just need to come to terms with it.

because really no choice. he does not understand.

but just to share...i do have some friends who are singaporeans. and they come from wellknown schools. only thing is their english is like from other countries. no offense though. i am surprised in this era, we still have broken english. to be frank i do feel like correcting their english at times.

i am not supporting your hubby. just my opinion.

I think you should speak to your hubby about what is really bothering him.. is it that he doesn't like your mom coming to intrude his life.. or maybe other things. Maybe you should try to spend more time with your mom.. and let your hubby see good side of her

I am sure everyone wants the best for the children so that at least is a common purpose between your husband and mother, it is just that every individual express their love through different actions. I think that the 'root cause' for this matter is more at your husband's end. He needs to accept that there is no 'perfect' way to raise a child. At the end of day, it is up to individual's character (e.g. integrity, honesty, sympathy, determination etc) that shapes his/her life, so have to look far ahead and not just at microscopic matters.

i agree with some members here too, that there is probably a deeper concern than merely imperfect english. For goodness sake, with the time spent by kids at various settings; schools, tuition centres, playdates, etc, can your husband control and ensure a perfectly sanitized environment with only perfect english speakers around your children?

I think there's a deeper issue about him against your mom. Personally, I am in a similar situation as you. Except, it's not just language, but even the way my mom handles situations is an eyesore to my husband. Going backwards to the host of potential root causes, between my husband and I, the issue dates all the way back to pre-marriage days even. In a nutshell, it does not help trying to find remedy that merely seeks a resolution to understand and compromise, delve deeper. There must be a root cause to the unhappiness, remove it before things can fully move ahead. Even if you seek your mom's understanding for the sake of your marital bliss, should anything happen (*touch wood*), you might just turn around and blame yourself for not putting her up at your place more, and defending her rights to to do.

Try and reverse the situation by putting yourself in his shoes. Perhaps he wishes to have a bit of space from his mil. I also doubt it's merely about the language your mother uses. It could be that your husband feels crowded and wishes to have some distance.

Thanks everyone for their suggestions and comments. I've been trying very hard on my part and perhaps like what some of you have suggested, the root of the problem may have started elsewhere. But my husband either doesn't realize it or he doesn't want to talk about it. We are in a state where we are constantly unhappy. Small things become very big matters. And sometimes we will ignore each other for things that I cannot remember.

I might be too sensitive but I feel that my husband don't love me as much anymore. Because things that used to b ok in the past, he can't accept it now. Things that were never a problem, is a big deal now. Sometimes we fight so much and he gets to do all the talking, and I can't even say one thing because he dismisses everything I say, overtime, I also stop talking. And not sure because of this, I get so brainwash by his opinions that I don't know if I'm really right or wrong. All I know is I'm not happy. And I'm sure he isn't, but then how do we move on from here?

Seek a marriage counselor's help, both of you should get talking about everything that's kept within. Dangerous to think that things have changed. I am sure many long-wed couples will tell you that days are never the same, or always lovey-dovey. Priorities shift as family grow. ..