TOA PAYOH mummies

Lemme go bk n chk if i hv the disc too hee!

Ling, I feel priority shld be given to nanny/bbysitter if really cant find a good one then go for infantcare. B4 u settle for this bbysitter try to find out more abt her either by talking to her or fm neighbours staying near her. Cleanliness is a must, look at her hse surrounding, kitchen etc. thereafter find out how many family members staying wif her, is her bkgrd complicated etc. she also mus hv the interest in taking care of bby too and not treating bbysitting jus like another job.

Ling, do u have facebook? u can add me and see the pics.. ;) i loaded some yesterday.

my gal has crew cut.. haha.. she looks like a boy.

Miin, thanks!

I learnt this song when i attended the playgroup enrichment programme with my gal when she was younger.

Personally i feel that teaching our child to sing is one of the way which can let them learn faster.

i found the music in youtube - Barney 7 Days In a week
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nQ1q7YhQUv4
scroll to 7.30 mins to listen

cheri u r rite. Barney version is
Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday,
Thursday, Friday,
Saturday

miin
that's one of my ger's fav songs too. She picked up her 'days' easily from this song, no need to teach at all. Just need to attach each day to something special for her to rem & distinguish better...eg, Sat & Sun, Daddy doesn't work. Fri is music class day etc.

ya cheri.. u r rite.. dats wat i wanna teach my son.. cos everyday he just wanna stay home to play. so i wanna let him understand there r 5 days to sat/sun when he can stay home to play.. hehe

maybe i shld just source for the Barney dvd.. hehe

welcomed Dor!

So sleepy... ZZZZzzz...

hi all , now so headache .. want to get a school for my son but couldnt find . Last year June , went to Blk 232 PCF to register , they ask me to come again on Jan 2009 , only pass me a form . So Jan 2009 i went , they told me , long ago is full ! OMG .. and ask me to wait , drag a week and a week , keep asking me to call . and i just call yesterday , ask me to call again on march ... so i give up liao ... cos i cant be waiting n waiting mah ... anyone know around Toa Payoh North / Lor 8 , ,got any not bad pre school for a 2.5 years old .. need english as the main laungage ... thank !

have been out for a long while as my PC has conked out. Waiting for my brother to repair it. Now I am using my sil's pc to catch up on all emails.

I have updated my location. Just curious, what is this for? Gathering?

Lor 1/2
1) Miin (mum’s plc) - Blk 116
2)cutie-blk 236
3) Dor - Blk 121
4) girlizz - Blk 700
5) seveneleven - Blk202 (toa payoh nth)
6) Cherry75- Blk 145 (Lor 2)
7) Euniceyy - blk 155 (lor 1) (wef mar while looking around for a new place)

Lor ¾
1) Miin (new plc) – Blk 96

Lor 5
1) Joyce - Blk 50
2) Precious - Blk 36
3) PW - Blk 36

Central
1) elijah'smummy (jasminechenx)-blk 79A
2) char - blk 79A

Lor 7
1) Rkjk - Blk 8

Lor 8
1) Dor - Blk 215 (mom's plc)
2) Mummy_Tang - blk 216
3) favored - blk 218

Whampoa/Balestier
1) ryes
2) Spiderman

White Lady
There is a Montessori at Toa Payoh blk 85series (can't remember which one exactly)

I thought there is an edufarm at Kim Keat Link but I am not too sure about the standard. And there is an apple tree at blk 86 but also not too sure about the quality.

I think someone along the thread also ask about MWTR. I sign up for it and have attended 3 lessons with my boy. So far so good. As I have not gone for Shichida method nor similar programs, I can't really comment nor compare. However, as this is a home-based program, it could cater specifically to my needs like not having meditation nor ESP element.

Btw, does anyone have any recommendation for a playgroup programme preferrably in Mandarin? I think so far there is only JG Mandarin Playnest. Hope to expose my boy to Mandarin more. When I tried to read chinese books or speak Mandarin to him, he will frown at me, or throw the chinese books away. Alamak...

Hi Eunice, I heard the Spore Hokkien Huay Kuan (TPY Lor 2) has started some playgroup or similar. Not sure if it is in Mandarin. But they have courses like Fun Mandarin for kids aged 2-3yo. Very popular, must register early. My fren enrolled her gal and she really learned to speak good Mandarin and can recognise many chinese characters after a year!

precious.. thanks for the popular info. i found the calendar in tpy popular. oni 1 piece left. still too exp to me. Asking the mummy in the above link to do for me.
since she has chinese dates too.. :p

ling, try out the nuk bottle and let me koe how it goes.. preferably ask ur mum/hubby to do it n u stay out of the baby's radar.. (cant hear/smell u)

seems like the Lor 2 Hokkein Huay Kwan has quite a few interesting programs. my friend purposely drive her daughter from the west to attend enrichment class there on sat.

eunice, the list is more like gathering who's staying where.. so u can arrange smaller meetups if u like..

just for laughs..

last week, i was bringing my son to school. as usual, it's a crowded train and I had to carry my son. When we went into the train squeezing our way, my son suddenly commented loudly, "Mummy, no space.. there's no space." Everyone was so pai seh that they started making space for us. I wish my son will say that every morning.. haha

Miin, your son so smart. Some nasty fellows may think you taught your son to say that!

My mom helping me to feed with the bottle you loan me now...my gal is yelling away! Aiyo 4 weeks training on bottle and she is still not accepting well. My goodness!

<font color="aa00aa">Whitelady, when I went looking for Brightstart montesorri, I pass by this PCF called the Bishan Zone 5 at Blk 145 Bishan st 11, opp my blk 218. Perhaps you can chk it out as it's still very near to Lor 8.

2140576.jpg

Yesterday bought this new toy for Isaac, he loves it so much that that he refused to get his butts off. My hubby jokingly said he can jolly well sleep with it. Haha...

The pix is rather blur cos I'm trying to capture his cheeky facial expression which we have taught him. Now teaching him how to show facial expression of sad
kao_sad2.gif
, cry
, happy
and smile
kao_smile2.gif
.</font>

I have a friend who drives her daughter to the Huay Kwan from Tampines too!

My daughter once said, very loudly, in the train, "Mummy, look, these are the reserved seats for those carrying babies. You're carrying Jayden, you should sit down." BUT nobody "heard" what she said...except those who were STANDING and they were all giggling away. Haha!

favored!!! i wanted to upload a pic like this too.. my gal also loves it.. n she was driving her kor kor around yesterday!!

ling, takes a couple of tries.. dun give up..

j foo, i was saying that to my hubby too.. i was carrying my gal on the sling and swaying in front of everybody but nobody gave up their seats. it's someone from another section who saw me and offer me a seat.. sighz..

wat happen to a gracious society??? Similar case....my nanny brout my gal to Orchard ard 10am in the morning, surprisingly the train still quite pack. She was carrying my gal and my gal was saying quite loudly 'SEAT SEAT' a few times. One of the uncle sitting down heard n perhpas felt paiseh gv up the seat to them. Nowadays pple r gtg less sympathetic liao dun u think.

hi all , thinking of letting my son go to Deerland at Blk 50 , as they also have montesorri teaching , anyone have any ecperience with them ? thank !

Precious, Thanks. Just chk out their website looks pretty promising but the delivery charge a bit at the high side i think.

Btw, I've seen the swing car selling somewhere am wondering is it safe for kids....

Favored ,

do you have more info for the Brightstart @ bishan ? cos i dont seem to be able to find their website or contact thru internet ... thank !

<font color="aa00aa">Dor,
are you looking at buffet or tingkat? Most functions I went use Select. The food taste is good. Not sure of tingkat but I guess should be quite alright. http://www.select.com.sg/index.htm

Swing car..my niece 7yrs old loves to do acute turns which can overturn the car easily. But she's so skillfull as she has been playing since young. Other than that, I think it's quite safe. One thing for sure...it's too BIG for my son to lay his mouth on, keke..

Miin,
does your camera come with a CD Rom for you to install and upload pix from camera to computer?

Priority seat:
We should learn from Korea and Japan where these seats are not being occupied regardless of the crowd. It will be sad if the govt has to set up such rule to educate Singaporeans about gracious behavior! And the SMRT announcement: Instead of keep repeating "No food and drinks are allowed in trains" Can't they alt. "Pls give up your seats to those who need them more than you do"?

I rather my son asks me "Mummy, why aren't these seats occupied?" than "Mummy, why aren't these people giving up their seats for that old lady?"</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Whitelady,
Yia, they don't have a home website. Call them to find out more...don't need to go down unless you are keen to enroll.

Blk 145 Bishan St 11 #01-99 Singapore 570145
Tel : 6253 6982

Anyway, the info they told me is...they open 1030am - 330pm. Playgrp from 18mth is 1030 - 12pm; 2.5 yrs - 4yrs old is 1230pm - 330pm. That's it! I did not ask more in detail for the programme structure cos it doesn't suit my timing.</font>

it's very sad that most s'poreans nowadays lack humanity. sad to say a few of my frens who go to/fro work dun weren't offered any seats on the mrt when they were preggie. their stomachs were so big and yet everyone were either reading newspaper or "sleeping".

dor,
you can try this caterer. they fall into my budget and their food is not bad. best part to me is that their mini buffet caters for a smaller crowd (min 20pax) at a reasonable price. http://www.meihao99.com.sg/default.asp

Catering can go for Kriston, they're consistent. Or Purple Sage (but it's on the ex side). I heard from a friend that there's one called Angeli (I think) that's good and reasonable.

I've enquired about Deerland but they said only provide before and after school care...maybe that's because I asked for kindergarten programme.

dor, Four Season Catering 63833003

favored, usually i transfer the pix from hp to laptop using bluetooth. the photo editor is in the home pc so i cant edit the pic in the office. for some reasons, i can transfer pic but not video in the office laptop via bluetooth.

Favored, Char, Jfoo &amp; Miin, Thank u all so much for the info it really is a great help to me.
Am looking for buffet carter. Actually I've a regular with good price and food however, goijng for a change this time heehee! Think my guests will be happy to try out new caterer too hahaha!

Valentine jus ard the corner, care to share how u'll celebrate or wat r u gtg for ur hubbies?

I dun hv any plan at the moment,it always a impromptu thingy now tat we have the little one heehee!

Dor, valentine day?? what is that?? hahahahaha... we hv never celebrated it b4 i tink.. my hubby is a leap year bb and our anniversary is the day b4 so we ended up oni celebrating once.. :p

so how do mummies celebrate? I ran out of gift ideas for his bday already.. haha

the feeling of celebrating is nice dun u think... find chances, excuses or occassion to celebrate ler..a simple one can be heart warming too.
There's once my hub prepared a western meal @ home with durian pudding as desert. That was stg consider he hardly cook. The effort he made is much more worth then an expensive gift.

Once my pastor said: "Always treat your spouse as you first met him/her, just like the 1st date you make an effort to dress up. That's how you feel you are falling in love with the same person again and again despite of many years of marriage"

Precious, wish i cld practise tat too but sometime is quite difficult due to circumstances kekeke! Somehow one party mking an effort is not enuf nds 2 to clap.

i went to Blk 50 Deerland to take alook , but i find them too small . The school is big , but the area for 24months - 36months is too small ... so headache now ....

dor &amp; precious, we make an effort regularly so every day is a gift... dats y valentine's day is not too special for us.. just have to be appreciative of all the little things we do for each other even tho we hv kids..

WhiteLady, i'd called up b4, one setback they dun provide snack for the students hence u gotta prepare and bring to school.

<font color="aa00aa">Miin,
Wah...I'm not IT savvy, very confusing leh..

Today's topic is valentine's huh...My pastor once said "It's pathetic for either party to emphasize on birthday, anniversary, valentine's, first date/kiss(keke). That means out of 365 days, only by count of fingers, that one feels really loved and special. And you know, wives especially can harp on it for weeks when husband forgot these days"

I find this very true! Just like if children only find time to come together to show appreciation on Mother's day and not any other days, it's disheartening.

For me, it's important that we don't take each other for granted. I'm very practical one...No flowers, no gifts, no candlelight dinner never mind. Words of appreciation, listening ear, quality time together at home and domestic help from hubby are my love language. Oops! too much to ask for? keke...</font>

favored

hahah, same as me... :p

think i will be baking him a mini cake...
(hubby loves opastry)
finally i have our own place with no one to breath down our necks on how i spend.... :p hahah his parents find that even doing things like that is a waste of money and my parents just hate cakes so..... finally just the 2 of us. :p

heheh for me i try to surprise him with a new pastry once a week.

Valentine's for me doesn't really exist anymore. Haha! Ever since we had a child we didn't really celebrate Valentine's. And now with two kids, lagi no celebration. Haha! But I'm not complaining. Like favoured, I appreciate and prefer dayS of being together and little gifts every now and then, more of a surprise sort of thing. Birthdays we'd make it a bit more special but always celebrating as a family ie with the kids too.

Finding opportunity to go out together is not possible cos my younger one wouldn't follow anyone else except us. Even if the sis is there he'd still cry and look for one of us. But I'm ok as long as we have time together alone after the kids sleep. And the kids sleep early by 830pm
Or should I say I make them sleep by then ;)