TOA PAYOH mummies

HI Eunice

whats the larget size? 40 is it? you tried narrow or regular? During early stage of preg, i could still fit, but towards the end when there's water retention, my feet was really tight infront...

maybe next time round lah.

hey dor,

today is your gal's orientation right?
Can share what happen, etc etc, Bought sch uniform liao? need to buy the sch bag or not?

are, i guess having someone else in the home, keeps you on your toes all the time..

dolphingal, don't want to scare you hor, but ah, abt 6 plus every evening, a group of maids wil gather at our blk at an area next to lift E, with their wheelchair bound amahs, or toddlers.then they will group tog and talk. there was once, i almost fainted when i saw them, with piles of clothes on the chair and them putting on the clothings,posing and taking photos of one another, giggling and laughing loud. you may wanna go scout around donwstairs to check out the "mood" and the timings of other maids around, just in case u meet up w this gp. don't want yr new maid to be "polluted" by those loud ones....
Aiyoh, and yr boy taking piano...no need to think abt that now. still have a while for you to think abt...heh heh, am I right jfoo...

jfoo,have u tried the sensory park near lor 5 hawker centre for the gathering... i've not been there but have heard a lot abt it. Come to think of it, next yr, you, janice and me may be seeing each other everyday if you are sending n picking yr kids fr school.my girl P2 still in afternoon class... Oh,
will you still be taking on students.Coz sometimes I get referrals and may not have the time to teach them.For me,I completed my fellow abt 10 yrs back and then got married and got pregnant.In the midst of working,I slowly switched to more teaching till I quit. hopefully, when my kids are more indepedent, i can do more. Does yr hubby helps you look after yr kids when you busy teaching?

Precious, agree wif wat ur hb said.

Self grooming is important, sometime one gets to be carried away wif all the house chores & taking care of little one/s till she neglected herself.
To look good doesn’t need to wear nice clothing, simple Ts, shorts, jeans, tights or even a sun dress can look as good too, jus need to get those wif nice cutting and design.
I cant speak for the rest but for me I personally feel tat a nice hairdo be it cut/perm/color makes a diff. Next comes the face, shaping of eyebrow is important, if there's any pigmentation do something abt it coz make one looks old.

I do slag a little especially at home over the wkends. After preparing meals, cleaning the hse so shag, sweaty & tired really has no energy and mood. But if we r going out i'll make an effort to doll-up a bit hee! Certainly dun wanna to be seen as my hb aunty or ah jie.

Eunice/Ryes,
Re: Ascension Oreintation, Parents gather at the hall, Principal gave a short intro follow-by VP giving more details abt the kindy and N1 classes. Tods are divided into 3 diff classes, mine was in 'LV' class (I like the name hee!) is actually LAVENDER in short. Trs in charge will gather parents and tods and bring them to separate class room for a self intro session and provide further information. Thereafter, Parents were to proceed to lvl 2 to let little ones try on and purchase uni, as well as, sch bag. I'd chked wif the trs they said purchase of their sch bag is a MUST as they want a uniform look (more like they wanna earn xtra $). But i personally think it is a waste of $ cost $9 for a simple bag sigh! After making the purchases Parents may proceed to the Admin ofc @ lvl 1 to submit the necessary forms (transportation self/sch) etc.

Kin, yup, we should be bumping into each other outside PC. Janice's daughter is going to KC. I've been to Sensory, nice but not many places to sit near the play area... Sitting area further away, a few benches near the play area but may not be enough for so many of us (if all the SAHMs on the thread turn up). Am thinking playground near the basketball ct at blk 96/97? Seems like one can sit around the playground? But no tables.

So mummies who are keen to meet up for "picnic" do let me know and I'll try to get a date together.

Oh yes, Kin, students. Yup, I can take in a few more. A couple of gr 8 (piano and flute) taking their exam in Feb/March so will have slots. Hubby takes the children when I teach. My friend (who also teaches) will just lock up the music room while the kids play outside, and she has 5 kids with a no 6 on the way! I really think S'pore Govt should use her family to advertise, haha! And she has no helper.

And yes, Dolphingal, still early to think about lessons, haha! Wait till he turns 4 or earliest 3, so 2 or 3 more yrs to go.

jfoo,
I SALUTE your friend!!!lock the music room up!! for me, I lock my kids up, and God knows the mess they create when I release them...Now, I teach 4 weekdays, just this Sept,left Sat for my girls after more than 10 yrs of teaching on Sat from 9-6pm... and every weekday too....They r so deprived already. Now, so far I am maybe free on Tues and maybe Fri(depending on time).On top, Pei Chun Pri1 becomes more challenging in this second half of yr... I need to study for Chinese, and learn new things for maths. I expect my girl to do pretty well, so I coach her if I can, so, teaching time must cut down lor.

With just 2 kids, plus teaching, leaves v little time to do so many other things. My hubby don't help in anything as he is a busy man, even on weekends. And I like my place neat and tidy, so like mad women, must look like teacher when yr students come, and after that, change out of "work "clothes and crazily rush to cook, wash clothes or what ever..... how not to be huang lian por... But yet, I aim, for myself, morning wake up, must groom myself, put on some light make-up, dress in clothes that can go out and yet still casual, then go abt with everything else....then at the end of the day, still in the same clothes, last one to bathe, sometimes last one to sleep.

Blk 96/97....must check it out chairs must not be too far from play area, as we all must watch our kids....which blk u staying..?

Char, thanks. Think I will stick to the prescription since it says 1 time for child between1 to 3 years old. If still dun go away, may have to go for houning already.

Ryes, the largest size is 40. I got big feet. need 41. They only have one width leh.

Dor, thanks for the info.

I subscribe to Kin’s “how not to be huang lian po”. I sarong my child wherever we go till he’s almost 18mths (10-11kg). With that kind of weight strap on me, I sweat easily (so cannot make up) and common sense dictates that I should be in flat footwear (so no heels). You know how a pair of heels transforms a female into a lady instantaneously? Junior likes to touch my face and kiss me (so another reason for cannot make up).

Me FTWM in a US MNC, assuming an Asia Pacific role. My job requires me to take conference calls with counterparts in the States and the Asia Pac regions. All of us have to ‘give and take’ so that everyone (all over the world) can participate in the calls. While I no longer needs to wake up in the middle of the night to pacify a crying newborn, you will find me up at 12am or 4am attending 1 or 2 hour long conference calls.

Imagine this – I have to cook/wash/vaccum the floor/handle all my son’s activities and logistics/laundry/marketing AND working full time (no less than 50hous a week). Whatever energy that is left would be channeled to some quiet time to myself to keep my sanity and chit chat with my hubby. Where got time to deal with my panda eyes?! To be honest, sleep also not enough liao, how to look good? Moreover, I am not those born beauty leh. haiz…

Through this forum, I meet up with many mummies thru buy & sell. Some are still great lookers after 2 or 3 child birth. I always ‘complain’ to hubby why they are still so beautiful? I have already reduced to ashes before my child turns 2!!! But hubby is always very comforting, he would say things like,’ look, she got a maid leh… U leh? U are the maid leh, sure cannot look as good mah?!” Or he would advertise himself by saying “ya, she still look good. So you want to look good or you want a good hubby like me?”

Some times when we go out as a family, we see maids staring at me or sometimes chatting among themselves (you know they are talking about me). I would always tell hubby,” there… they are talking why this maid (that’s me) so ‘sud’ ar… can ask Sir to carry ntuc bags!” hahaha

But I think the idea of huang lian po in the modern Singapore society has more or less deviated from the traditional idea.

JFoo,

Can I check what is the right age to introduce piano to young children? I heard 4 is a good age to start...

Also, what's your take about sending kids to piano school like yamaha? I personally like private lessons better (one teacher to one student) but would like to hear from the expert.

Sam,
haha. I think next time i will be like you.
FTWM, running my own small company, must rush back by 7pm to pick daughter from infant care. Then every morning send to infant care again, rush to work, sometimes go for shoot... i think i will age.. and become huan lian po.

i think for Huan Lian Po, this term came from man.
It can happen to both FTWM or SAHM.
and TV keep saying, there is no ugly woman, just lazy woman... they forget.. what about busy and no time woman lolz.

To all of us here, lets try our best lah. Most imptly, at the end of the day, we do a good duty of a mother and wife... so pple dun appreciate too bad.

dor,
i tot abt it... i tot ccc though the care is not personal, but pple should be well train bah.. And as infant, maybe baby will be more independent. When baby can walk, then maybe think of nanny or maid.

Kin,

Oh, then can you also comment on my questions on learning piano for small kids please?

Ivy,

Wah seh, you run a company/business some more ar?

<b>Wah... TPY got a lot of super mum hor? ALready we have 2 professional piano teachers and one business woman! Not to mention the Super of all the Supers - SAHMs!

Samantha, ok, this is my personal take. Good age to start is around 4. Some can start earlier like 3.5 (or some later like 4.5, 5), really depends on the individual - personality, maturity comes into play. Starting at 3.5 or 4 is really more for cultivating an interest in music and not so much the technicality of things. The older ones (say at 5) I'd start on basic technic if fingers are strong enough.

Music school I'd only send if you want your child to be in a group class. This has its advantage as kids can motivate each other and generally most music schools have the resources to expose kids to various types of percussion instruments and that cultivates rhythm in them. However, group classes use keyboards (as oppose to piano) and being in a group class means divided attention. Teacher will go at a standard pace so if the child is slower then he/she won't be picking up much (and vice versa for the faster one). Had a few kids who were learning at Yamaha group but as they couldn't catch up, came to me for extra lessons. The mothers didn't want to stop at the Yamaha side cos they were half way through completion.

When I conduct lessons, I incorporate games for the younger beginners. Games that will spark interest in rhythm or listening, These actually work better in a group but not so easy here in S'pore. In UK when I was teaching, I'd group a few kids who were at the same level back to back. Once a month they'd come in together for a "group lesson" that comprise of games and also playing for each another.

Hope that more or less answers your question. Think it all boils down to the kid and also whether in an individual class, the teacher can keep the attention and interest of the child.

Kin, think you are teaching more than me. Weekdays I hardly teach cos my son's only 2+ and with no help I can't teach (hubby's time schedule difficult to fix and sometimes meetings are arranged). Most of my teaching is done on Sat. Sundays don't teach cos of church and also time for the family as a unit.

Blk 96/97 I think the sitting area surrounds the perimeter of the playground.

I stay at Blk 50.

Blk 96/97 is Lor 3. Near to Braddell MRT.
Blk 44, there is a sheltered playground, and just a very short walking distance, there is a mini cafe/coffeeshop.

samantha,
just a small company, but becos my partner not my husband so we rent a office at chinatown. A lot of design firm or creative line small business.

Hi SAHMommies, I would like to join in the gathering as well and let our children mingle if the timing fits. Pls keep me posted. Thanks.

need some opinion on maid issue. My maid is with me for 1 wk and 2 days.
when she first came, she was very well behave and i felt so lucky to have her.. gradually she started to miss home so i allow her to call home.. slowly she requested to call home n i always grant her..then end up called 5x.. now the card no more value!then she started telling me she wanna go home.. so i advise her.. n tried to keep her.. she ok.. then again n again.. for 4x.. today ultimate.. no matter what i said.. she wanna go home! so i told the agent.. n i left her home a few hours while i brought my son out..

Surprisingly after i came home,she like a changed person. apologise to me n told me she wanna stay n dun wanna go home anymore..
arggh.... 4x said the same thing again. so i told her to talk to my agent.. then after counselling by her own agent (who is also a philipino), then.. she decided to stay n beg for ONE last chance.. OMG! i felt like a fool.. one time said go home one time said wanna stay and work.. then cry here n there when i just reminded her things not done.. really wanna faint.. i so nice to her le.. give her break time to rest.. always give her fruits or snack to eat for her break time.. when she tired i let her rest.. n when she cant finish her work i told her can do tomolo.. then she treat me like this.. =( =(

Now, Should i give her one more chance to change?as she promised she wont call hm n will not cry and will work hard. i very soft hearted.. she is also one with a very glib tongue know what to talk.. so how?wat do mummies here with helper think?

i just told her i'll observe her n i did not promise her anything..

aiyoh.. have maid also headache...=(

thanks mommies for all your well wishes.

Sue, so how you coping with all 3? Got help?

Jfoo, I really admire your fren. How to cope with 6??? 2 I already find no time to plan how to teach them.

Sam, yes singaporean but govt dun give very much if you count. Which ccc your son's in? I think you are very steady to be doing so much. Muz be really good at planning time and have that level of energy. I'm already feeling so tired now.

Ladies, count me in! I wanna meet up too..

Precious, din see u last aerobics lesson...not well?

kin,

really??got maid gathering???!!! okok. i will go down n see see look look one day..
so far i rarely let her leave home.. really dun wan her to be "polluted" haiz.. tks for the information. =)

My friend's kids all 1.5 to 2 yrs apart to start off with, no 4 had a wider gap of 3 yrs after no 3. Again no 5 came 2 yrs after. Now no 6 is a gap of 3 yrs. Siao la, that friend. Haha! But the couple love kids and they live such a simple life. Really simple, almost kampung style. TV is a mere 24 inch sitting on top of a small table! Sofa is a mere 3 seater! Reason? They need the space for the kids. And no tuition or such things for kids. Older ones just learn in school and that's it. Younger ones attend PAP. Older ones are very independent, eldest I think is sitting for PSLE either this year or next. They do their own research and googling. Previously they caught yabby crabs at Upper Peirce and the son (no 2) took responsibility in taking care of the crabs. And because he knew nothing about these crabs, he went on the internet and found out all about them. When my friend passed me a few, he told me how to care for them, what to feed, etc etc. But sadly...all my crabs died...His, on the other hand, still surviving and breeding! Haha! Can tell who's expert and who's not. :p

OK, SAHMs, let's arrange a date for next Fri 23rd? Time 430pm. Venue, let me check out blk 96/97 area, see whether suitable. Weather let's hope it holds up
If majority ok with date and timing we'll confirm. Otherwise, will have to find alternate date.

dolphingal,

Maybe she is really home-sick and really wants to go home but is held back by the fact that she needs to earn the money for her family, thats y she feels so wei3 qu1, always crying.

I mean thats what i think since she is fresh maid and has not been in sg before so shouldn't be too polluted yet to be so cunning.

when my maid first came, she also always cry when I reprimand her. Now she's with me for 1 yr, doesn't cry anymore but black face when I pointed out her mistakes. So now I can't scold her like last time cos she worked long with me liao, will be unhappy if I scold her. So I only gently point out her mistakes. Our handling mtd got to change as time passes cos they change with familiarity to you, which is normal. So far I don't have very big probs, just minor ones like she forgets my instructions sometimes and her black and long face which I do find rather irritating and sometimes feel like giving her up. She always wear a bored and long face in front of my smiley boy...

Altho not so pleasant, but imagine w/o maid, more miserable so ren3 lor. Recently, she snapped out of her long face, donno is it bcos I grant her off day. No choice lah, I don 1 her to be polluted but also don 1 her to be so bored and unhappy working for me. Let her go out lor.

If she turns out a better worker bcos got chance to socialise, then good for me. If she turns bad, then I give her up lor. From what I see, she's not the cunning type... but I cannot 100% trust maid. There's always a little reservation but I do leave my boy with her at home sometimes.

Recently, I went to a Taiwanese couple's 6 yo daughter's BD party. They have a super maid who takes care of everything for them cos they have their own shop, are working 7 days, and staying in their shop and not going home some days. They hardly have time for their daughter.

It is the maid who brings the daughter out on weekends. Who teaches the girl English and Chinese. When she doesn't know han yu pin yin, she approached a Macdonald's chinese staff to write for her so she can coach the girl. The maid can speak chinese.

The BD party was organised solely by the maid. It was a success, she did it better than me. It was fun and interesting. At first I was puzzled - how can it be fun for the BD girl when all the invitees are sourced from the playground? They have no relatives in sg. Then I know why. The girl got along with anybody and is quite independent as her mom later told me. Her mom arrived home from work only near the end of the party. Her dad was there, right from beginning.

Her mom told me: Her husband is a 100-mark husband, and her maid, a super maid. She changed several times before she got her. Wah, very positive hor? Few women will give their husband 100 marks leh. They are working super hard now cos they want to retire early and go enjoy hand-in-hand when their daughter is grown-up.

This is a refreshing side for me. I am attached to my kids the same way they are attached to me. So I can never just leave my kids totally to someone else. But of coz, they got good helper. If lousy helper, will have a lot of disruptions to their work. This kind of helper, ke3 yu4 bu4 ke3 qiu2.

babe,

I do not have any help after I quit job and stay home. all along we do not like the idea of foreign helper. just like jfoo's frenz, as the no. of kids grows, u need to have lesser luxury, but i can see that kids in this family more independent just like what we were last time. and of course, with more kids is more difficult for u to go everywhere, like me, go out without hubby got to think twice cos gotta drag 3 along! Eating out is even worse cos 3 of different taste.

do u all think playpen is necessary?? I got a cot bed liao, and my sister given me her playpen. But problem is - its seems bit faulty and unstable, also its very dirty.. cos its at least 9 yrs old...

Sue, true...it's really learning to live with less. Sometimes I'm juz so worried that my kids will lose out coz they dun get what others have. Dunno if it's occupational hazard of a teacher.

jfoo, I really admire ur fren. How she copes with all 5 and now no.6 on the way with no help n all on her own n teach music! Muz learn man! Ok, count me in next fri!

Babe, I one kid nia... Tell me I very steady again when my second one comes along! hahaha... But seriously, sometimes I wonder how long is my life span without being a mum vs how many years shorter I live being a mum!

On the Govt doesnt give u so much - aiya... lau gong also doesn't give so much la!

Wah seh! Babe, you are a teacher ah!!!! Wah... TPY really has many supermums!

Ivy,

I think you are talking about those play pen that likes like a cot or some calls it "day cot"? Let me share my story. I didnt have one of these as I initially didnt intend to have one.

But eventually I had something like a playpen - it's a big one that can fits a single bed. The pen was a 'hand-me-down' from my brother. His twins were already 12 when he gave it to me. It's the super yard (google to see the pic), still selling in Toys R Us but I actually prefer the Haenim ones.

The hinges were rusty so I had to use towels to cover the hinges so that Junior was 'protected' from biting/mouthing the rusty parts.

It was big enough for hubby, me and boy to stay inside to read, play etc. We used it for about 6 - 7 months before we decided Junior was too old/big for that. We always have one of us inside with him so that he didnt feel he's in prison hahahha

One mum I talked to in this forum has a play pen (big like mine) for years. Her boy was already 3.5yrs and still kenna caged. SHe was a SAHM who did not feel safe leaving the kid roaming freely at home while she cooked.

THank god, Junior likes being with us. Hubby would jar-gar him or he would bring his toys to play at the area where kitchen intersects the hall. So I can cook in peace.

Samantha,
tats what i think, i believe play pen is a area to play, so i tot bigger better so hubby can be inside. Only in the worst scenario that hubby is not at home, im alone cooking, then baby will stay inside and entertain herself, but at least not a too small one. Those playpen which work as cotbed seems small for playing, it feel caged. i go toy r us to see one day, am going to google it now.

<font color="ff6000">Babe</font>
You still continue with the class?
I had something on that day, hence did not manage to attend.

<font color="ff6000">Ivy</font>
Playpen is not necessary, as it is very small and not very stable. Maybe you can consider to invest a play yard instead. At least you can display all the toys for her to play inside, while you are busy etc: mopping the floor.

<font color="ff6000">Gal.dolphin</font>
Let your helper knows that you can understand how she feels.
Give her some time to adapt to the new environment.
Most important, she has a good attitude and is willing to learn.

This morning brought my gal to blk 97 playground and meet one sahm mummy wif her 3yo boy. I'd intro her to this thread and hopefully she'll join in soon.

Are,
this mummy staying the same blk as u too.

Btw, any mummies can tell me which is the famous western foodstall in Blk 95, coz i notice there r at least 2-3 outlets. Thanks!

dolphin... sorrie to hear abt your maid probs. hope shirley is helping you. i've also encountered such maids, a couple of them really go hm aft tat cos no matter how we tried, they wun change their mind. u can try telling her that a lot of maids also like her, leave their children behind and come to sgp to work. when you bring her out, you can point them out to her. one of my previous maid was surprised so many philis in sgp cos they din noe, so they feel less lonely. keep reminding her that she is working hard so that her children will hv a good future. dun be overly nice tho, if she decides to stay, then hard to take bac those "kindness" and be strict! try to keep her occupied with work also, so tat she will not hv time to think so much, instead of asking her to rest. i think your son will be a good distraction as well. hope things work out for you soon!

dor... the restaurant is tim's. they are selling vouchers now, tat you can use on next visit. very good discount. we already got some since can use till next year. dun forget to try the ribs, chicken cutlet, lamb shank!

Dor, the playground at 97, next to basketball court, there are benches or sitting space surrounding the play area, right?

Blk 95 - western place is called Tims. It's a standalone shop. As in not a stall within a coffeeshop.

Went with some friends to Baba King at Expo for lunch today. The owner is so chatty and friendly, carefully explained each dish to us and even shared recipe with us. Of course he didn't go into the detail of how many grams of each ingredient but hey, sharing the technique he uses and the ingredients that go in is already quite something. Food there is good (though not exactly the best peranakan I've tasted) but for the prices and the freshness I think it's good. The penggat is really top notch, very sinful with heavy cream and coconut milk but one bowl shared amongst 4, ok la
Otah is another that stood out. Very fragrant.

Orangeymum, tentatively arranging for Fri at 430pm.

Mummies, ok? Confirmed so far is Babe.

precious,
ya play yard is good idea, bigger area. I think toy'R'Us should have. i go see see after my delivery hehe.

Janice

if you are ard, just wanna say, the d.choco pralines are really nice! But if you take more, it can be slightly too sweet...But very nice lor! hahahah

I dread how much calories I'm gonna put on man!

babe,
yes, they some how will lose out a little esp nowadays kids really compare what they have and what they dun. we tried very best to provide whatever we felt ok and save on ourselves lor, so that's how the huang lian po comes about. for us, it's rather fine as we all along dun spend much on ourselves.

Hi! Help! Do any of you have problem with your child having constipation problems when potty training. My nephew who is 40 months old refuses to pooh pooh unless he is wearing a diaper. He is ok with peeing into the toilet bowl but refuses to do the pooh pooh in the toilet bowl. They have to go to the doctors every 4 days to get the shit out. Done this for 3 times already. They have tried papaya juice, prune juice and even lactose. Any advise from mums out there?

Pam, my son has the same problem, as in he refuse to poo in the toilet bowl, but he's not constipated...he'll either wait till diapers are put on at night, or just do in his underwear, or on the floor if he's not wearing anything (I was hoping he'd tell me he wants to poo by taking off his underwear since that was how I trained him to tell me he wants to pee, but obviously that doesn't work...)

If constipation is a problem, then perhaps put him back on diapers (or don't take off his diapers first thing in the morning) so that he feels more comfortable and not pressured. Give him some time then try training again.

Mummies with young ones under one, it's probably best to start training the poo-ing part early, get them into a "routine", say for example, after breakfast get the child to sit on the bowl and poo. Do it daily until it becomes a routine. Otherwise when older, the poo-ing part a lot more difficult to train.

Now I regret not starting earlier with my son. My daughter had no problem so I THOUGHT my son would be fine too. Haha!

Hi Pam, JFoo

Got my girl sorta potty trained(I thought), but for some reason the past 2 weeks, she doesn't want to sit on the potty. Instead, she gets off the potty and squats on the floor to do her business. Real kampung baby haiz.

Pam, cant help with the potty obviously, but try Neobiotics for the constipation. Can get from Guardian. Really good to stimulate bowel movement.

Precious, will still go but dun jump so much loh..

Sam, where got supermum? Now no pay lehz..Haha..now more white hair...

Sue, so what's ur routine like with your kids? How you plan your meals?

Janice and someone else whom I forgot with twins..

can I ask if your twins are identical or non identical twins? who helped u with confinement?

A close gf of mine is expecting identical twins and is looking ard for CL. Her previous Cl is asking for $3.8K man...