TOA PAYOH mummies

Giant Squid, your manual looks just as mouth-watering

My 1001 is just 10 + 991 variations on the 10 basic! Haha! Sounds like alot but actually ain't! :p I just experiment with ingredients at times, take "a" out put "b" in, take "c" out put "d" and "e" in. Like that lor. Soup also the same.

I use to make my own roast pork too, but now TPY place no oven and we were too short of time to shop and fix in an oven. Maybe one day.

Thyme - I think you can get the dried version in NTUC or Cold Storage. Think I saw in NTUC finest. Comes in those small bottled form (like bottled pepper).

Kin, you teach too? Same here, don't really teach that much. No help with the kids. But many think it's a shame cos I have a Masters in Music and I use to teach at NAFA and a couple of gifted music programs in UK as an intern. Use to perform a fair bit too since I specialised in performing. Oh well, with a family and kids, priorities will change. By the way do you teach your gals?

Hi mummies, thanks for sharing recipes!! i only cooked once a week with soup and simple dishes. and the only soup i can cook is potato/carrot/tomato/onion soup. think tat is call ABC soup? Dishes will be steamed egg, fish n fried vege. recently tried ma2 you2 chicken. Now im going to venture into baking and thought of investing in a small oven.. any mummy got any recommendation for oven? my budget is less than $200.. hehe

hey jfoo & rlrenn...

chk out the ovens here. http://www.toyomi.com.sg/products/oven.htm we recently bot the TO-34RC aft much research, comparing different brands. we pick tis cos hubby feels tat ovens with "S" shaped heating bars heat more evenly. we've made roast pork and cookies so far, still waiting to bake muffins (hubby's latest craze) but not bot enuff things yet. the oven is not too big, but can grill, roast, so works out very well for us. less than $150 i think. i oso bot the 1919RC for my parent's place as a simple oven for heating things and toasting. my uncle is a distributor for electronic appliances, so if u wan a toyomi anything, he can get at a better px than retail px!

as u can tell, hubby's the cook @ hm. in fact, i oni started cooking 6-7mths ago. like suddenly "ka qiao", not scared of the fire anymore. for the past 20 years, i oni cook if absolutely necc. i dun even cook noodles, i take cup noodles! hehe... had the sudden 'calling' to start cooking for the ppl i love so am now cooking everyday. i'm @ parent's pl half of the wk, and hm the other half so i got two groups to 'please'. my parents are easy to please cos they basically eat the same everyday - steam fish, sir-fired vege. but hubby harder to please cos MIL is a great cook (typical hokkien) and i compare miserably. here's wat i can manage so far :

- most simple one dish meal - lu3 wei4 (braise) : da4 hua2 chinese braising sauce is my best fren! sometimes i use it to braise chicken feet (pre-fried frm mkt), vegetarian items (like intestines, kidneys), tau kwa/gi, meat, or pig spare parts. juz add 1/3 bottle, some dark sauce and other seasoning, and cook 1-2hrs will do.

- i'm into vege these days so i make sure each meal has at least 1 vege. we like boiled HK kailan (hubby will eat with sambal chili n i mix a lil oyster sauce), broccoli & carrots, fried fresh mushrooms, cabbage w hay bee/tang hoon/tau ki(stewed for an hr), bitter gourd w egg, mao kwa, lady's finger w sambal chili (ang mo has a very gd packet sambal chili, bagus w everything!), poi leng w liver...

- i oso try to cook soup so hubby eat juz a lil rice, bt am nt v gd leh. i can oni do : yu chi kwa, lao huang kwa, bai cai w cuttlefish, lotus root...

- others like the otah dishes - otah wrapped in cabbbage, otah with egg and tofu, minced pork w egg and tofu (i like to use minced bacon, bt v sinful!), stir-fry meats, stewed pork ribs w bottled preserved caixin, stewed chicken w black fungus...

will definitely try out some of the recipes here. thanx ladies!! hehe...

jfoo, today signed up for both girls plus this and that, I spent $630.....
For the 10 sessions - and 4 students have registered including mine....

Ohhh.... you and I in the same shoes....Don;t think its a shame ok, when the kids up big, you can caryy on . Just don't give up. I also don't have help. oh, we can chat about music in PM. I taught full time when I had one child but now, I teach really little . What to do. My big one, I taught her all the basics but I struggle to teach her properly coz I' always busy w the small one. Small one, I pass to my mother to teach. Big one, so moody, ask her to practise, she will get moody.
Where do you use to study in UK? I didn't have the privilege to study overseas, but I've got a great teacher so, I'm blessed that I've completed everything, Just that, I always hoped I can study some more, but nothing here I can enrol myself in...hah.

Orangeymum

I want to get 1 pair too! 50% is such a bargain leh! Mine last me for good 3 yrs and abit torn liao...when are you closing order?

BTW, we have finalised our bday cake with patisier liao. Actually hor, their cakes not brownie leh, you can get a choice of double choco pralines(that janice highly rec) or choco fudge and dono what other flavour.

Only this mini tier that I'm getting on the cake is brownie, covered with fondont. Yummy...but of course not cheap.

Talking abt recipes, wah, you girls put me to shame, coz i duno how to cook! My hb boils soup every morning before he heads to work and every day diff soup, but repeated month after month after month, coz he only know those few soups! ahahahh

I have to find time to start learning to cook, coz my girl is now getting very picky abt food and refuse to eat fish,tofu, dao ge, veg, egg. But she loves carrots and fishballs.

And now son refuse to start learning to eat fruits. When have kids become so picky???

Someone attended ascension orientation liao. How was it ah? Can share what went on ?

Kin, I had a scholarship at Royal Academy so did my practical with them but the academic part I went Uni of Surrey. Wanted to broaden my scope. Uni then had a better curriculum for academic work but practical conservatoires had all the creme a la creme. Masters I went up north to Royal Northern and Uni of Sheffield. Decided to change location for a different environment and also for the topic I wanted to research (one of the lecturers in Sheffield was THE person to go to for the topic I had chosen). If it weren't because of my dad's posting to UK so many years ago, I wouldn't have had the chance to pursue music in such a level and in such an environment, wouldn't have gotten into the piano conservatoire junior section and be exposed to so many top-notch pianists. The junior section was an eye-opener in itself.

Orangeymum, you received my Birk order?

RE: Birken/Papillo

So far jfoo-1 pair, pooh(cutie)-1 pair, myself-2 pairs. Total order is $155. Still short of $139 to get free shipping.

Ivy / Ryes,
let me know ok?

Calling all mummies! I’m selling a few brands of milk powder. EG. Similac 2, Isomil 2 Advance Soy , PediaSure, Similac Mum, Gain IQ Kid, Nan 1 and 2, Nan HA 1 and 2, Mamil Gold 1 and 2, S26, Promil, Progress and ENFA ALL KINDS. As I m working in a clinic, can get direct from supplier. PRICE SURE CHEAPER THAN NTUC!!! SMS 96838123, IF U R KEEN.

orangeymum, juz emailed you my order...

Part time cleaner
Hi, any mommies with good part time cleaner to recommend?

Maid
Well, a recent discovery!. Not sure about this blessing that I kena big time accident and got a no.3! Not sure how on earth I'm going to handle now. Mommies with maid, are they a help or worse? I'm seriously not prepared to have a 3rd. Actually gave away all baby stuff at the start of the year to close shop. Anyone with 3 to advise?

Dolphingal, stew must have a good stock so can be chicken or beef or veg stock. Chicken stock is made up of either a whole chicken or lots of chicken bones and breast. Some will throw in onions and carrots too. Beef is made from tendons. Veg stock from celery, onions, potatoes, tomatoes, carrots, parsnip, basically lots of root veg. So for the stew, whatever meat you intend to stew, you'll need to pan fry first to seal the juices. After that throw into the pot, add your stock plus the veg you want to stew. Slow fire for 2 hours or so and you have your stew.

Bones I get pork bones (tang1 gu3) and chicken bones plus chicken breast. Sometimes get one whole chicken. The shell fish thing I get from Hock Hua, $9 a pack, think there are 8 or 9 pieces inside. Can throw half slice or one full slice. My mum throws only a quarter! Haha!

And yes, I teach piano.

Kin, don't think I can send my daughter for the creative class at YKids, timing a bit difficult to accommodate esp if hubby not around since I will be teaching at my friend's music school.

Babe, congrats!
My SIL has 3 BOYS and she copes well, no help too! And now she's back in workforce PT, FT next month. Janice can probably advice you, she has 3

Re: Birken/Papillo

As of now, jfoo-1 pair, pooh(cutie)-1 pair, myself-2 pairs, my fren-2 pairs, babyship-1pair.

I'M SHORT OF S$0.44... wah pek chek.. lolz

j_foo,
ic. i brought my gal once to one at lavender for her health problem, not sure if that's the one your sil went to. aiyo, i duno if she'll take the chinese med given if i were to bring her there again. she needed a lot of coaxing to take the chinese med. but will give it a try one day. thnx!

cooking: i only boil one soup and stir fry or steam one dish. just me, hb, my gal and fil so 2 dishes is enough for us.

babe,
i know how u feel when i was pregnant with no.2. i guess somehow even though we dun feel we're ready, i think eventually we will be able to cope. when we're placed in a situation where we have no choice, we will be able to survive.
do consider hiring a maid if u feel u can't cope. i'm sure mummies here who have maids can share on that matter cos i dun have maid experience.

littlehx
how much are you selling Isomil 2 Advance Soy?

babe
how many mths are you now?
oh dear, and we still enjoy our once a week cardio sculpt lessons. thank god you are ok!
i remembered before i realised i was expecting #1 (was more than 12 weeks pregnant),
and i had my regular bowling practice, almost every alternate days,
each time was up to at least 4 games.
do hire a helper if you really can't cope, at least she does help you in cooking, daily house chores,
so that you can have more time with your 2 kids and have more rest.

Precious

my price list is @ office. i sms u on mon 4 the price. min order is 12 tins and only comes in 900g. either pick up @ sengkang or delivery @ $15.

Calling all mummies! I’m selling a few brands of milk powder. EG. Similac 2, Isomil 2 Advance Soy , PediaSure, Similac Mum, Gain IQ Kid, Nan 1 and 2, Nan HA 1 and 2, Mamil Gold 1 and 2, S26, Promil, Progress and ENFA ALL KINDS. All milk come in 900g only. As I m working in a clinic, can get direct from supplier. Please state in the sms details of the mik powder, stages or full name. MIN ORDER IS 12 TINS. EITHER SEIF COLLECT @ SENGKANG MRT OR DELIVERY @ $15. SMS 96838123 IF U R KEEN. THANKS…..

orangeymum,
i dont have time to try at the shop.
went to world of sport toa payoh coz its the nearest, but the staff there dun have so much knowledge.
when i wanna try regular or narrow width, they tell birkenstock only have 1 width.. how ah?

anyone can advise me on this?
am wearing size 40 normally, and i can wear charles and keith 'sandal' which imitates birkenstock size 40 nicely, but i dun know is that consider regular or narrow cut..
hope anyone can advise me on this

Thanks mummies for sharing on dealing with phelgm and cough and cooking recipes. Will definitely need the cooking recipes when I am staying on my own next year.

Giant-Squid, how did you manage to persuade your child to take the bao ying dan? My son was down with cough and phelgm for 3 weeks. On western medicine but of no help. Went to buy bao ying dan and gave one tube to him yesternite. He spit out everything. I gather the taste must be awful. He only managed to swallow the last bit after much coaxing with sweets.

Precious, thanks for organising but can't make it.

Babe, congrats! Are you in your initial weeks of pregnancy? Haha, I am like you, give away all the baby clothes cos I think I won't need them.

Orangemum, I am interested in the birkenstock/papilo. When are you closing the order? I would probably need to head down to the shop and check out. Any idea which is the nearest to Toa Payoh?

Eunice, I think the sports shop next to Cash Convertor (nr Courts) carries Birk. Can go there to try for size. They won't have the whole range but can try for sizes of the common designs (ie single strap, double and triple strap or the thong). Nearest Birk shop should be Raffles City basement or Wheelock in Orchard.

Starlight, if I'm not wrong, for ladies, S'pore only carries the narrow cut, think that fits Asian feet best.

Hi Babe,
Just new to this thread. r u FTWM or SAHM?
I'd realised that I was pregnant, accidentally too, when I'd already close shop with 2 and had tendered my resignation to stay home with kids.
It's a dilemma for me too as we'll have 1 income, and an un-prepared parenthood, and it'll disturb the plan of coaching my eldest, who is very weak academically, and going to shift house in 2 months time.
After many weeks/months of pondering, anyway, the timeline just passed and it's already more or less have to continue the pregnancy.
My 3rd pregnancy was not as good as 1st 2, threaten miscarriage, amnio test, high blood pressure... but in the end, it's still a bountiful baby that we dearlly love.
Have a good discussion with hubby, if there's nothing else that is seriously unfavourable to have the 3rd one, do not think of ending it. If u love kids, u will take it as it comes.
Having 3 is difficult, many pple I'd met says they admire my courage, but I think it's what that u want in life...
and the last words, everything have to close 1 eyes when u have 3...

Sue,
when you say close shop with 2, what precaution did you take??

I kind of worried for my sis who has 3 kids liao, she say she did some surgery but not 100%. If she accidentally have 4, i think it will really be too tough for her.

re: birkenstock

hi I've already reached my quota to have free shipping. so if any more ppl interested, maybe you all can pool again to buy? S$295 for free shipping..
thanks ppl who made my free shipping happen..

If there are still people keen to pool, pls include me too. I confirm want to order..

Birkens Spree
1. Ryes - 1 pair

I own a Madrid Regular. Opted for this, coz I have wide feet, wearing size 39. I find regular has much more space as compared to narrow, so is more comfy.

J_foo, thanks. Orangemum, it's ok if the order is closed.

Babyminnie, I dun sterilise milk bottles when on the move. I jsut made sure I bring enough bottles out.

Hi eunice

are you keen to still join in if have enuff pp?
I have friends who may be keen.

1. Ryes - 3 pairs

Precious, when u are done with your 13 bundles, look for me. My price is lower than $5/bundle.

Giant Squid, I usually cook “one dish meal” cos I am a FTWM. On good days, reach home at 6.35pm already. If cook 3 dish 1 soup, the boys can wait till 8.30pm for their dinner lor!

Babe/babyship – I have one to recommend! This lady is my domestic cleaning lady and she comes once a week. $10/hr. She stays in TPY too.

samantha, pls pm me here contacts. Good and reliable? Does she clean house with you in or without anyone home?

Gals, thanks for your well wishes. I think it's real prep for this unplanned event. Just pray now that God leads us through and will come to some sort of arrangements for kids.

Sue, you too have 3? What are their age gap? Mine are like 2 yrs apart. When I wanna relax that comes the accident even with condoms. Think must do op liao..

Precious, ya loh...was so happy I'm back on my exercise routine and discover this.

Eunice, yes very early. Think will wait end of mth to visit gynae and check out.

You know, I was still thinking whether it would be empty sac or ecotopic...my hb said I siao think such thing..hoping it's a false alarm...

Mummies, thanks for sharing the cooking recipe. I find it really essential, even thou I dun cook as often.

Babe,
Congrats!!! If u r getting a helper, advisable to find one earlier so she could settle down and is more prepared when ur no. 3 arrives.

Samantha,
u r good, still manage to prepare dinner after work. i used to do tat but ever since my gal come along i find it a challenge thou.

are,
thanks for sharing your lobang. I bout a toyomi hotpot serves us well so far.

Ryes,
i dun mind joining in the spree, r u organising?

hi mummies, anybody got recommendation for good hair salon at TPY central? thinking of having a hairdo for my fren's wedding.

tks!

Babe(Babyship),
PMed liao. She has been with me for slightly more than 3 months. I think she’s ok although some mummies think she’s good. But give and take la… She quite chin chye. One thing I really like about her is how she thinks that floor rugs and table cloth (for wiping table) should not be thrown into the washing machine to launder. She hand wash all these for me every time she comes.

Dor,
I only started cooking and brewing soup after my boy started on semi solid. Outside food has too much seasoning which we worry may harm his little kidneys, so it makes sense to cook now with him eating adult food too. Things are a lot easier now. My boy loves to see “Mum in action”. He would request to be put on a high chair in the kitchen so that he can watch me cook. Bo pian la, sometimes hubby needs to take conference call at 7pm so I have to baby sit Junior while cooking too.

I spice up the cooking by describing the process, showing him the ingredients and letting him touch the food (e.g. carrot and corn). Sometimes I would carry him so that he can see the boiling in the pots. Then I would ask him to hover his palm over the pot to feel if it’s hot. You know, try to keep the conversation going and show him things then he wont be bored (and I can do my cooking).

ryes,
Sorry.. Ordered last night.. Wat took u so long..

Re: great eastern women's run 1 Nov 5km
Any 1 interested to run for free? My fren got preggy so can't run. So she is willing to give up her number tag while she take the goodies bag. PM me..

Sam,
I also think you are good leh. still got energy to cook and handle your boy after work. Last time when I was working, by the time I got hm, already drained of energy, even found it tiring to talk, not to mention cook and handle kid.

Eunice,
The taste is not too awful. I tried a bit before. I fed my girl since baby so she used to the taste and like it very much. Below 1+ yo, I pour the powder in a bowl, dip my finger in to stick up the powder and swipe into her mouth. Her saliva will help her swallow the powder. After she swallow, swipe again until finish. It's also more difficult to spit out cos powder is dry. When she learns to drink better from spoon or cup, I mix the powder in water for her to drink. Can try to dilute with more water if your son doesn't like the taste.

Babe,
Still got to congratulate you tho it's unintended
How come use condom also can kenna? means u r one of those < 0.1% who got hole in the condom? I also heard of another who did ops to put ring also got pregnant. But maybe she didn't change the ring regular enough - 4.5 yrs for her until she preg with 3rd. Think gynae recommend to change like every 3 yrs?

orangeymum

busy during weekend leh, hardly able to come online..

Orangeymum, need any special credit card to place order etc? I first time leh.

Birkens spree among ourselves:
1. Ryes - 2 pairs
2. Dor
3. starlight
4. Eunice - keen or not?

can you ladies see which design, pattern etc first? heard stock running out fast.

Ryes,
i can help to organise if u dont mind.
otherwise i am okay just tagging along with u.

i ll PM u my order tonight.
now gotta go run some errand

Hey starlight

You've experience placing orders?
Birkens spree among ourselves:
1. Ryes - 2 pairs (May get 3 pairs)
2. Dor
3. starlight

Is there any other additional charges ah? Free shipping is to Spore?

Also starlight, where are you staying at TPY, how are your timing to arrange for self collection like?

Giant Squid,

Things are better day by day. At least now the boys (my hubby and son) will help with house work. I think they enjoy it as Hubby turns the chores into games for Junior. E.g. Hubby will collect the laundry when they are dried. Son will help his papa to bring the laundry (piece by piece!) from the laundry place to our bed. Father and son will then fold the clothes. I think they like matching the socks the best! They would race with each other to see who can sort out the socks the fastest. Hubby invented this game so that he can teach Junior about sorting, matching and colours. He is very good, I have to say! They would match the socks and when done, they are to shout “No more!”

I am also grateful that Junior is not a “Velcro kid” (stick to parent like Velcro). He is contended so long as I or Hubby is less than a few metres away and within vision. He is perfectly fine playing with his toy cars outside the toilet while I scrub the toilet floors. But there are times when he insists in ‘being involved’. Then bo pian, have to ‘involve him’ so that I can get my work done. Even though a cleaning lady comes to our home once a week, I am still doing these (and the cleaning lady doesn’t): sweep/vacuum the floor, change my son’s bedding and washing/scrubbing the toilet. These are on top of cooking/brewing soups/making desserts, packing Junior’s bag, washing the dishes, scrubbing Junior’s soiled clothes and shoes.

Some times I can get disgruntled too. I supposed I asked for it :S Well, I could have hired a maid or order meal delivery or ask the cleaning lady to come more often. But I don’t want any of these. I have heard enough maid problem to decide there wont be maid for my home/family unless there is a change to the family (e.g. parents staying with us or I have 5 kids LOL). I couldn’t afford to have the cleaning lady come more often as that would mean a disruption to my job. So bo pian lor. But I think my hubby appreciates all the extra miles that I am doing for the family and this is a very motivating driving force

Oic. Yes, having a appreciative, understanding and co-operative hubby is definitely more helpful than having a maid.

I'm not as fortunate as you, so require a maid HAHAHA. My hubby is more lavish with his criticisms for me HAHAHA