TOA PAYOH mummies

Sam, good that your hubby is so appreciative and supportive. I am already struggling with my boy as my hubby just read newspapers, watch TV and sleep early, doesn't really involve himself with the kid or housework. Sigh!

Ryes, let me check out the size tomorrow and come back to you.

Ryes,
am staying at tpy central.
i asked a fren who bought from footshopping, she said very straightforward one.
i am okay either u or me who do the purchase

hi ryes,
so the birkenstock is sandals..
okok.. when u closing?tink i'll try to go n try out the sandals within tis wk?

btw how much is ur cake?
me headache now.. still havent chosen my cake! haiz..

samantha, thks for the contacts. Will call. Can I ask if u let her do the cleaning when you are home or in your absence. ie give keys to the cleaning lady to come in herself. How old is your kid? How you manage with all the cooking and housework and FTW?

Giant squid, seriously, I dunno how come. Always use during unsafe period coz I very regular. Now juz have to wait to see gynae to meet the little one.

Wow I muz copy down all the cooking stuff and try out cooking more tasty stuff. Seem to just use oyster sauce as wonder sauce.

jfoo,
thanks!! i'll go n grab some shellfish to try! thanks alot for the tips.. m ready to make yummy soup esp now with my helper here.. =) hehe..

oh.. when my son is old enuff, can i ask either kin or jfoo to teach piano?? =)

eunice,
i also bring two bottles out.. just thinking what if need more than two feeds then how... cos so far i only go out for awhile then rush home..

Hey starlight

will liase with you via email okay?
Would you be keen to help with ordering, since you are staying at TPY central and would be easier to meet up with other tpy mummies.

I'm staying at whampoa, and meetup must be my hb to do it lor. He would have to bring the boxes to work in the morning..hee hee.

Birkens spree among ourselves:
1. Ryes - 2 pairs SGD 41.34 and SgD36.16
2. Dor
3. starlight SGD 36.16
4. Eunice
5. Dolphingal

babyminniee,
i brought more bottles out. if really no choice then rinse the bottle out and pour hot water to rinse the teat and inside the bottle.

eunice,
my fren came up with a good idea to feed bao yingdan to her gal - she mixed it with some nutella and her gal asked for more, haha!

sam,
really salute you for being super hardworking!

Ivy,
I'm just like Babe, condom only, but too bad lor...

Babe,
My 3 are all 4 yrs apart. 1st 2 purposely plan that way so that I can done deeal before 35, then too bad after 35 still need opoen shop, LOL. They r now 10/6/2 and B/G/B.

Sam,
Good that u hv such a nice hb. The only thing abt mine is he doesnt like to do housechores sigh, other then that he's ok.....so i made him pay for the PT Cleaner kekeke!

Ryes,
okay i ll help on placing order.

but so far we only have 3 pairs confirmed,not enough to enjoy free shipping of SGD 295.

Dor, u still keen?
pls PM me ur order if so.. i heard stuff go OOS fast due to 50% off.

Anybody else still keen on sharing birkenstock order?

starlight,
yeap still keen, but 1st i need to chk out the sizes.
btw, notice the order both u and ryes din state the model, so far i can only view pappilo's bargain as i dun see any birkenstock on sales.

Dor,
we are buying from bargain corner..
yes i think we all choose papillio
u click bargain, then u fill in size and width, then press go.
they show u which item are on sale.

sue, at least urs 4 yrs apart...mine all 2 yrs. Dunno how le...got tips? Now v scare...U stay home now or who looks after ur kids?

Don’t start think so highly of my hubby! He knows it’s a better option to help out. I try to make him understand we need to ‘work together’ to have synergy. E.g. help me to babysit the kid so that we can have dinner earlier. It also helps that he loves the idea of MUM – someone who takes care of the family/cook/wash/sew and best is still bring out for entertainment and can hold decent conversations with his ang mo colleagues/bosses.

Hubby does make noise, but time has proven that my instincts/decisions are good for the family. E.g. initially he cant understand why I have to go to the supermarket (from different chain) as many as 4 times a week. When he realizes how prices of a same item (e.g. MP pull up) can differ by $2/unit, he shuts up. LOL….

Babe,
Hey so sorry, keep forgetting to say this – CONGRATS!
You Singaporean? If yes, on behalf of our Government, I thank you for being a good citizen (by having more kids)

Either myself (most of the time) or hubby will be around when the cleaning lady comes. I don’t like the idea of leaving her (or anyone) the keys and let her come in herself. Partly due to security/privacy reasons, partly due to I have special requests every week. Such special requests are e.g. clean the aircon/wipe the gate, polish the dining table and chairs (mine is a solid maple wood set).

I have only one boy nia (if you count my hubby, then I got 2 boys) and he’s 20months. How I managed ar….? Aiyah, no big deal la – 1 boy nia. I think SAHM then superstud!

Many things can happen concurrently e.g.
1. While the stove heats up dessert, I bath boy. When bath is done, dessert is ready too.
2. While rice cooker cooks rice, I can put on a steamer rack and steam egg/fish.
3. I wash the dishes, boy plays in the kitchen (babysit & washing)
4. The TV is on while I pack boy’s bag/fold laundry/hang wet laundry (keep up with current affair/entertainment & doing chores)
5. When I pat boy to sleep, I plan for next few days’ dinner/trips to supermarkets/ weekend go where (Junior doesn’t really needs pating, but he wants company)

There must be sacrifices of cos e.g I can’t remember when was the last time I went for movie/facial/hair treatment/drinks with friends and I cant shop slowly. I also dont have the time to do things like flash card to son. The only 'coaching time' I have is during car rides.

My hubby always complain I fall asleep so fast that before he can finish counting to 10, I am in Lala land liao!

sam,
try not to let ur boy read or focus on letterings while on the road is bad for eyesight.
and shall i start u off like meeting up for fascial, drinks hee! start clearing leave liao coming to end of the year soon.
btw, who looks after ur son while both of u at work? or did u mentioned he's in studentcare?

Thanks Dor on the "dont read on the road". I will remember that. Junior doesnt 'read' yet. He only look at the pictures in the books during bedtime.

He watches dvd like Barney/word world during car rides. If I am not driving, then I will sit with him and guide him along the show so that he understands what's going on. Otherwise, we will do 'on the road training' - he needs to 'search' whatever I say. E.g. where's the yellow bus? Where's the trees? Or we do singalong session. I am like the 'juke box' keke. He would say "mummy, spider" if he wants me to sing Inncy Wincy spider or "mummy, winkle" if he wants Twinkle Twinkle little star.

Junior goes to ccc while hubby and I 'fought the battles' in office.

Sam
My hubby comes back home after 930pm.
And sometimes weekends, he also have to work.
As long as he plays with the children, I am happy.
Before I have #2, I had a part time helper.
Now having a FT helper.
Pros and Cons.
Now there is no more privacy etc.
I'm glad I am a SAMH, at least I am always there to discipline and guide my children,
especially there are times when my elder is rude to my helper.

Precious,

People like u (SAHM) earn my respect lor. SAHM not easy... Have to give up A LOT for the sake of children.

It's nice to hear this - I am always there to discipline and guide my children,
especially there are times when my elder is rude to my helper. Nowadays, kids can be nasty without them realising it and their parents some times dont bother to deal with them. haiz...

Once, a little girl shouted into my son's face, "you are a ugly baby!" The mother heard her but just whispered,"girl, why u so rude!?".

@&(!&^#

Sam
When my daughter shouts at my helper, and my helper just smiles back at her.
Many time I have to step in, though I have given the authority to my helper.
FTWM, are much difficult, not easy to manage career and family.
I used to be a workaholic. Hence cannot imagine if I were to return to workforce :)
That was also why my hubby encourages me to be a SAHM.

Precious,

hee... my hubby wants me to stay as FTWM! He thinks I will turn huang lian po if I stay at home!

Does your elder child go to some form of 'school' or classes or u home school her?

Sue... so condoms really ineffective hehe.

SAHM, i think really tough to be, cos give up freedom and time, maybe also less social life to be a SAHM. I dunno if i can... but if i can, i will try, cos good to spend time with children.

Precious,
tats what my gf say to me that day. She say no matter what, friends must have. I sort of got her hint, she scare after i have my 1st child, i too into her, and neglect frenship or social life. She feels thats unhealthy.

Ivy
Yes, friends are important.
When our children grow up, they will have their own friends too.
One of my girlfriends who have 2 children, now aged 13 and 15, they no longer want to go out with her, except to church/family meals gathering.
Hence, we always keep in touch with old friends, and make new friends too!
Perhaps that is why most SAHMs go back to workforce when their children go to secondary.

Talking about "huang lian po", about a month ago, my neighbour downstairs, an elderly lady, was not well, so I thought I'd just pop in to say hello with a bag of apples. I pressed the doorbell and her son-in-law answered the door. I asked whether his MIL was around, he said "Oh she was admitted into hospital". So I passed him the bag of apples and asked him to send her my wishes. A week later, I met the old lady downstairs at the void deck and she thanked me for the apples and my well wishes. She said "My son-in-law said A LADY IN HER FORTIES came with a bag of apples, said she was our neighbour from upstairs..." FORTIES??!!! Ahem, I'm not even 35 yet!! When I told some of my friends, they laughed and said "see, you're turning into huang lian po!" Haha!

Babyminniee, it's ok just to rinse with hot water, do it a few times. Most important is the teat and also make sure there's no milk residue left in the bottle.

babe,
i hv been SAHM for 2.5 yrs, b4 that my kids were looked after by MIL. 4 or 2 yrs have diff pros and cons. for me, my 2nd gal can help me in some looking after lil bro but not the eldest.

ivy,
yes frenz are important but now i depend on FB as there's not much time that i can meet up with frens...

Starlight >>

Eunice just smsed me today that she will go and check the sandals out at the shop sometime this week and get back soon.

Dolphingal is also keen, but need to check as well this week.

jfoo... *LOL* pls lah, u where got look like 40s!!! aiyo, tat guy muz be two eyes da stamps lah! but i do agree tat once we SAHM, we tend to neglect how we look. once, i was in sch w ah ger, and a malay grandma asked me if i'm maid or mum! *faintz* for a while, i was really contented w simple clothes, even when we go out with frens. then aft a while, i realise i look really bad beside them (cos they usually in nice work clothes), so decided to buy more "decent" clothes than cheap t-shirts and 3/4 pants. anyways, nowadays clothes v cheap, $15 can get very nice shirts liao, so i relegate my $3 song & song t-shirts to house clothes! hehe... am recently into buying taiwan clothes from sprees too. am waiting for my 1st batch of clothes to arrive. hope they are good cos so cheap!! hehe...

sue... i'm also using FB to keep in touch! its amazing lor. my old frens met up aft a year, but we dun feel out of touch cos we always see updates via FB. the power of internet!

re frens... last time i so lazy i rejected my frens' invitation to gatherings, rather watch tv at home, or go out with hubby and ger oni, so "lost touch" for a while. i realise how bad i was when i was forced to take mrt one day and i actually felt scared!! i realised mild depression has set in and luckily, my frens insisted i go out often with them so i was able to snap out of it eventually. getting a maid brings a ton of problems but also solves another ton cos i'm pretty obesessed with housework and like to push myself very hard. i will be very upset if something is not done, and even if hubby helps, i will be angry if not done in a certain way. (i'm very anal w procedures one) now w maid, i close two eyes lah. as long as i dun see wats wrong, then dun care how she do lor.

Ryes,
i am going away this weekend, till next week.
i am thinking of tag along with prettycloud - at the overseas thread (coz i dunno need to wait the rest till when, and i wont be in town for almost a week)
let me know if u okay with this. i can help u to collect from her.
otherwise, i just tag along my personal order, and u can wait for the rest of mummies here.
let me know hor, thanks

ivy,
me too salute to those SAHM, not an easy task. perhaps i'll be joining the club soon haa!

Agree wif the rest tat keeping-in-touch wif frenz r impt. however, do 'warn' your circle of frenz and ask for their understanding tat u'll probably be busy for few mths when bby arrives, as u need time to do a lot of adjustment.
i took abt 8mths to settle dwn b4 i started mtg up wif them and went out for occasional drinking session. but if u hv ample help perhaps is much faster and easier.

HI starlight

okay, let's tag along with prettycloud if you are able to help collect from her.

Her location doesnt seems convenient for me, so let me know if you are able to self collect for us or not before I proceed to place order with her.

let me know if you are able to place order for us or you want me to place on my own.

Calling SAHMs, meet up for coffee/tea and chat? Would be nice if can find a playground with tables and chairs too so that kids can play while "mummies chit-chat" (that's what my daughter says when I tell her my friends are coming over). Then all of us just bring some finger food and mingle.

I'm ok for Tue, Fri afternoons, say 430pm then not so hot.

Hihi mummies!
did not pop in to this thread for quite sometime.
I'm getting my keys in early nov. Now busy arranging renovation and packing my house.
Just realise i'm pregnant with #2 also.
This month will be a tiring and a busy month for me

are, and all mummies with maids, really must close not one but 2 eyes right. I was thinking, if I were to have one more child, i really need to get a maid, and must really close 2 eyes. Managing a maid is like running yr own mini company, just that u have one employee. Then you also stress, at home must dress bit more proper, if not maid also will not respect you.

I think, even for me,if I wear better clothes, still look quite huang lian por coz can never be compared to FTWM. don't have time to basically "groom" myself, my eyebrows, go for facial, and for me, coz I send my girl to and from school under hot sun everyday, become dark...sianz...But still try to dress myself up at the beginning of the day.not just t-shirt and shorts.

dolphingal,how you getting along with the maid???

jfoo, good idea. see if the timings fit.

jfoo
Fri afternoon, at 530pm ok?

are
Is it the same as IUD birth control? I wanted to have the IUD but my gynae advised me to stop till I stop breastfeeding.
Is IMPLANON a new product? How much did you pay?

Ryes and Starlight, I went to try out the shoes at WOS today. Very sad, my feet are too big, guess they are growing with my pregnancy, so I can't fit into the biggest size.... Got to miss this shopping spree liao....

Jfoo, keen to join in if timing is good.

Dor, how's the orientation today?

wow, cvhar, your gf is very brilliant in coming up with the idea to feed her child with bao ying dan using nutella. Now is getting better. I just mix baoyingdan in very little water and ask him to drink it, alternte with water followed by sweets. However, the phelgm dun seem to be going leh. When he coughed esp at nite, I can hear very think phelgm in his lungs, aIYOyo....

babyzrainbow,
congrats to you!

eunice,
ya lor she's very creative. hmmm....like one of the mummies here said, can give 2-3tubes of bao ying dan a day until phlegm is cleared. or you can try to give him hou ning whc is supposedly very good for clearing phlegm but its very ex.

Dor, no need to salute to us.. being FTWM is also not easy.. come home still need to coach the kids.. i salute those FTWM also.. dunno if i can handle.. haiz..

me still trying to source for my son's 1st bday cake which is next mth!!! oh my.. haiz..

jfoo,
sounds good but tink my son is too young to join in? =(

kin,
like u mentioned.. it's REALLY not easy.. i'm still "looking after" her as she is still trying to adjust to my schedule.. and well.. missing home n cry.. haiz.. problem manz.. then also i have to cook n look after her n my son at the same time!! hope she can slowly adjust n take over the cooking soon.. but so far she is quite obedient.. will do wat i say.. just tat abit slow in action.. but i'm quite happy with her work.. except preparations... hahaha.. must give n take.. n also close 1 eye.. =(

Kin
Was telling my hubby about "huang lian po"
And he replied:
Even some FTWM do look like "huang lian po", and it is not about SAHM or FTWM,
is about if you want to look good, you will make an effort to "groom" yourself

kin... aiya, i then dun care her. since day one, we already tell her we dress simply @ hm, my hubby shirtless, she has to get used to it. i'm still in my $2/$3 t-shirts and shirts. i go out nearby also t-shirt and shorts. sometimes she dress better than me when we go out! haha! but u r rite lor, muz stress abt managing her cos she is staying w us mah. we are so happy at times when we drop her at my mum's place, feel so at ease.

precious... tot IUD can oni do wen menses come? implanon is a few years old. it is a stick implanted in your arm. think i paid $450, excluding consultations. there is a thread in forum on diff types of contraceptives.

dolphingal,

hard to catch you online. I left a msn msg to you, try catching glad to see if she is able to bake a cake for your son bday. She cancelled her europe trip in nov and able to bake now leh.

Have just fwd you emails, check it out.