Support group - Miscarriages

It's indeed true that one will never know what we are gg thru unless they have the same experience. You ladies speak my mind.

Chrisl, i share your thoughts..i would undergo any tests to minimize any chance of a miscarriage happening again.

Ling, the gyneas must have graduated from the same school of thoughts! My previous gynae from TMC said the same thing to me at 2weeks chit chat session..congratulations! at least we confirm you and ur hb can conceive naturally..try after 2 cycles..ai bia jia eh eya! (in hokkien)

and i remember myself telling my bff that ive no problem getting pregnant, just that i cant see it thru..
Reading your story about NUH is so heartening.
Am glad that you know the possible source of the mishap, i believe with medication and proper care, your next pregnancy will be a successful one ;)

I've been thru quite a number of tests but all came back negative, while i know i shd be happy that all's well with my hb and i, we stand fearful at the thought that we may be third time "lucky". To us, no problem with us means no chance of preventing it from happening with medication or supplement..sigh.. hence I've been trying to ask more abt taking baby aspirin or progesterone supplement..in my heart, i just wish for a chance to let my third baby live..

Mrs R, actually the tests are similar to what Ling's link suggest. You may want to chk with the gynea..
FYI, the tests I did were:

General screen (basically test for diabetes,kidney profile,rubella,Toxoplasma - bacteria from cats and dogs)

Name for 6 other blood tests are Free T3, Free T4,Lupus Anticoagulant,Anti Nuclear Factor, Anti Ro and Anti Cardiolipin Antibody IGG.

These are basically tested for thyroid, blood clotting disorder and antinuclear antibodies.

progesterone test can be done on CD21 while there's another tests for FSH and LH that can be done on CD3 (i think i will go do that)

I've also done 2 detailed scan on my womb and ovaries. Very sad though, coz i was surrounded by many happily pregnant mummies.

that's abt all that ive done.

There's one test for HCG hormones, do you ladies happen to know when it can be done? since hcg is present only when pregnant, so wont be able to do now right?
My hcg was slow rising for my first pregnancy..

Hi Mrs_R; Chrisl; Beanbean - Thanks for sharing. Appreciate your replies

Hi ladies, I had a D&C last Thursday... In week 8...

Would like to check with all if got any good and patient gynae to recommend. Thinking of changing gynae to someone who is more gan chiong one that will cover u will all pre cautious.

Hi lee yen, hugs. Do have a good mini confinement.
If u looking for gynea who are more understanding and professional in handling high risk pregnancy, think chrisl mention tony tan and ling has some good feedback on the team of doctors from nuh.

I'm with dr Peter chew but has found some good feedback for dr Ann tan too.

Recently read from some links that dr Benjamin tham is good. Quite a lot of mummies mentioned his name.

I am glad to find a group here.. I had a DC on monday.. 8 wks, heart just stopped beating..

doing a mini-confinement.. however just cant help crying each time I think of my little one..

Taurus76~
*HUGS* do cry and grieve over..it will help in some ways..good that you're doing mini confinement..it's kinda impt..

Hi I just done my dc on tues. it's a twins with no hb at the 8 weeks.. It was really wrenching n yes I would tear each time I got reminded of my poor babies... I have to b strong in front of my loved ones yet I can't help to feel devastated.. I dun think I can forget this episode till I successfully got pregnant again with a healthy baby...

liang~
i totally understand..even more so in your case as it's twins..I feel so sad for you..

same..don't think ever can forget..just take it that maybe it's really the work of nature and nature has it's way of handling things..do cry and grieve it's very impt to do as it's part of the emotional healing process. Is this your 1st pregnancy? Do a mini confinement as MC is very taxing for the womb/body even more than giving birth i heard..

Chris n tauras: thx alot * hugs back* mom helping me with special confinement yes it's my 1st pregnancy n dc came as a total shock.. Don't know need how long to be pregnant again... Only with a replacement den it will ease the pain n bad memory away

taurus,

i also had a miscarriage on tues...little sac didn't grow n stuck on after all...suspected it when i started spotting and turn to bleeding...didn't take it too hard and went to gynae to check..

after scanning it's still a little sac...just felt abit disappointed this time...well if natural miscarriage can try the next mth according to gynae..as for washing off.need to rest 3mths then can start to concieve again. mummies jia you k.

Hihi..

I also suffer miscarriage in nov 2011 @ wk8..i had mini confinement after DC.I have cyst prior to pregnant but i didn't remove it, so after my MC, i quickly remove..am now recovering from laparoscopy..hope i can get my bb no2 coming..am now trying hard.

hi lasery 2k

my gynae told me can trying immediate one the mense come..no need wait for 3 mth..cos women are most fertile in the coming 6mth

tweetie,

i m not sure which gynae told u tt. but according to the 1 i went to. he indicated these.

natural miscarriage as in body ownself dispose off the sac thru menses..woman didn't undergo the scraping or machine cleaning of the womb lining can concieve right after miscarriage menses. this is because no hurting of the womb is done hence no need for rest n recovery.

going thru washing needs machine to clean/scrap the lining wall of the womb which is not suitable for conscieve right after menses. gynae advice is wait for 3mths for the lining/ wall to grow back then concieve. it would not hurt the womb so much.

woman who just gave birth are most fertile within 1 year and womb provide a condusive enviroment for concieve. but it's very tiring and hurting to the woman body and health as bb is taking most of the nutris from the woman body. tt's y TCM always recommand for 1-2 years for recuperation to "tiao" back the body and prepare for the next baby.

lasery2k.. sad to hear from you in this thread... i think washing off is a bit hard on our womb.. hopefully we can conceive again n meet in the same edd thread .. my low aminotic fluid was due to my body unable to provide enuff nutrients for the little one.. sigh.. its been a hard day coming bck to work after what happen last mon..

tweetie.. i just came bck from tcm.. its advisable to try after 3 mths..

Tweetie and Liang,
do take care and take something nourishing.

After D/C, advisable to wait for 3months or 2 cycles before trying again. But that being said, there were a lot of women who managed to conceive and deliver right after too. So i guess it's up to individual body. But I would wait too, just to play safe..

Mrs R, how was ur visit to sgh last friday?

Hi Beanbean,
As usual, he said nt necessary to do any tests yet. But will be seeing him again after 6 weeks for a scan.
They will only carry out tests if the 3rd one was also miscarriaged, as was I have read up...

i have been avoiding this thread for the past week as i was still feeling very sore and depressed over the m/c. i feel like my body has let me down
it is already so hard to conceive, yet, when it happens, it is taken away so fast.

i see quite a few new ladies from the oct 2012 mtb thread. how are you girls feeling? bleeding stopped for me after about 8 days. shall wait for first AF to arrive before discussing with hub when to ttc again. i will take a break first.

mini confinement is not done thoroughly cos i really gotta bathe after working haha. but i've had pig's stomach soup and black beans soup and have been avoiding cold drinks. hope my body can recover quickly!

hoping for a successful BFP the next round
i am trying for #2.

Hi Mrs R, I c. So the scan in 6days will be in prep for ttc? Chking for ovulation?

Yaataa, hugs. It's true that the memories of our lost baby(ies) will stay and the feelings comes and goes. I thought I was recovering and moving on. But when I saw other new borns or when I see others counting down, I get reminded of the
edd. I'm still missing them.

Don't worry abt the bathing part, as long as it's not cold water.

Hi Beanbean,
scan in 6weeks to check for ovulation I think...

Actually I am yet to get my AF...

Need to go and see tcm Dr Zou soon too after the herbs have finished...

Yaataa...understand wat you are going thru...happened to me twice...but we need to pick ourselves up and move on...Hugs.

yaataa.. *hugs* sorry to hear that it happen to u.. i also tried very hard to conceive n i told my hb its just like a dream lo.. i mc on mon, dc on the same day.. woke up and wonder is everything has been a dream? .... sadly, i m still having brown discharge... n yday nite some blood discharge.. almost 9 days.. i really hope it will stop soon...

beanbean.. same here.. it still hurts me too n i miss the little one..

Mrs R, hope to hear some good news ;) big healthy egg(s)!!
You planning to start ttc after your af comes? or you are ready to go anytime?

i was prescribed folic, fish oil and multi vit, not sure if it's my gynea's way of saying go ahead and try, haa. I'm gg to start 3rd AF, but hb and i still thinkin if we shd jump onto the ship or let nature takes its course..a bit worried.

Taurus76, i had discharge at 7 days and mustard-yellow discharge until first AF. I guess it's better for whatever needs to be out to be out than to keep it in the body.

You seein TCM? i think tcm is awesome. i strongly believe it is the tcm that helps my AF to regulate itself and bleeding/spottin to stop within a week. you may want to consider. take care.

beanbean.. i just seen tcm yday.. n she advised me not to take any tonic till my discharge cleared up.. so now taking her medication n condition seems better but still streaks of discharge.. i do agreed its better to let it out than be in the body..

It's been a week since I dc I'm still having slight discharge getting a lil worried... Usually ovulation comes when? After we cleared the blood fr dc then menses will come if the egg is not fertilized right?

hi ladies..

i wonder if you gals feel fluttering/twitching sensations on the lower tummy/uterus area on and off? I noticed i had them say around week 11 to 12 then as i mc in 12th week then even up till now off and on i feel the strange sensations..they are not painful in any way ... anyone of you have any similar experiences as me?

liang~
sometimes our hormones goes haywire after a mc..depends on individual body, ovulation might range..try ovulation test kits

liang.. i read that it cld take up to 2 wks.. i think its really depends on ur body.. i m worried too as its already 10 days for me.. but as what beanbean mentioned.. its better to ensure its totally cleared up..

if u ovulation is regular.. once ur menses here n ur body is also ready.. u can try.. but its still advisable to try after 3 mths..

it can b quite devastating if *touch wood* it happens again.. however i too heard successful cases where they tried n carry the bb full term... most impt u must b physically n mentally prepared..

chrisl.. no lei.. unless if i accidentally overstrecth myself, i can feel the pull n pain instead...

Hope everyone is doing fine.

Hugs to all the new faces here.

Have anyone hear of Dr Desmond Sim from Sin Nam Medical? A casual friend recommend him cos this doctor help to save her gf's complicated pregnancy (3 times of threatened abortion). Now the gal is in her 3rd trimester. I wanted to find out more feedbacks about this doctor before deciding to see him.

Chrisl, i think the uterus is contracting back to its normal size. I had the feeling for 2 weeks at least. Then after 3 weeks, I went to do a scan to check if everything is cleared and lining is well.

Hello how r u gals doing now? I'm getting much better emotionally
endung my 2 weeks hosp leave soon n going back to work next week..

morning ladies.

Thanks for the comfort and advices.

Just wondering when will the first menses will come after a D&C?

my spotting has stopped for a few days le then suddenly today came back again.. thinking whether isz menses coming....

now going TCM at marine parade to tiao my body back... hope the TCM is good... waited for 6hrs to see him on my 1st visit -_-"

liang.. that so nice of your gynae.. most i heard only 1 wk hospitalisation leave..

similary, i m feeling much better emotionally but sigh.. also dont know lo.. everything seems no mood..

princessleopard.. nvr heard of him before... i m seeing a specialist eys at north bridge rd.. heard shes quite gd in fertility.. n i saw few bb pics on her desk..

yenyan.. i almost wanted to c him.. but i know its a long wait n sometimes his remarks can be quite crude i heard.. can let me know hows ur visit after that?

The area on recurrent miscarriages is not very well covered in singapore and I do felt very lost for a long time. I experienced 4 miscarriages in 4 years, coupled with 2 operations to remove fibroids caused by the pregnancy hormones. I've done so many test but results always come out negative..I tried TCM but still had a miscarriage. Last Feb, my gynae spotted a polyps and suggest I remove it as it prevents me from getting pregnant but just before I could go abt to remove it, I got pregnant!

As all of u know, to most pple they will be filled with happiness but for those who have experienced lost, it is scary coz u wont know if u have to go thru the excruciating pain of handling another loss. After a stressful 38 weeks, i finally got my little bundle of joy...so 5 pregnancies, 4 loss and scored 1! So, don't give up and always believe that we are capable of carrying a baby to full term and never give up hope!

If any of you needs a listening ear, don hesitate to rant out here or u could pm me.

hi little one, congratulations on ur bundle of joy! And thank you for ur encouraging words.
You are spot on to say that there's very information on recurrent miscarriages. i felt lost at times too.

Yenyen, mine regulate itself to my usual AF cycle soon. Was 28days before d/c. First AF reported after 30 days. I remembered was spotting from day28 and i was still sharing with hb that i felt worried that it's spotting from d/c. Thank god it's pre-onset of AF. Maybe it's the same case for you? I think TCM helps in regulating AF for me.

Taurus76, how's ur spotting? cleared?
i am seeing eys too. hope the med will help us! yup, heed the advice of the sinseh, i heard that some tonic may cause more bleeding coz will bu xue.

Liang, hugs. be mentally prepared for the overwhelming concern from colleagues, they meant well, but i spent the first morning after reporting to work, crying..

Princessleopard, not too sure if i heard of him before, do share more if you know ;)

Chrisl, now that you mention, i think i had similar experience, but it's somewhere between lower abdomen and erm, down there. i was telling myself maybe it's the aftermath from the scrapping during d/c. Now, no more. maybe you can check with your gynea on your next visit?

Hi all, I'm 39 been miscarriage twice. 1st miscarriage by D&C, 2nd happened last week pass out naturally. My doc is Dr Fong fr Gleneagles. I was advised to do the blood test, all cleared except my glucose level is high, suppose 7.3 but mine is 7.6. Not sure this is the only problem that caused miscarriage.

i only start TTC last yr, aft 3 mths trying i managed to conceive and after 3 months rest i tried again and managed to conceice but these 2 did not last till 5-6 weeks. 1st one no bleeding, got sac & fetus but no heartbeat. 2nd bleed gradually for 2 days & full pass out when reach 5-6 weeks, got sac only.

Not sure is it that i been taking GNC prenatal so i managed to conceive. My husband did not take any so this time round we both will take vitimins to boost. We were advised by friend gynae in HK that for such case that manage conceive but stopped at week 5-6 is due to weak egg & sperm so needs replenish on Vitamins B, C and E. Will recuperate next 3 months and try again. Let's all dont give up, there's so many success cases after 2nd, 3rd miscarriage out there. Bless that it's our turn soon to have healthy baby.

little_one, happy for you and congrats on your little bundle! thanks for your encouragement

beanbean.. i m hoping my spotting can cleared by end this wk.. yup, that's what I was told and i stopped all tonic immediately.. hopefully can quickly build bck my body, improve overall nutrients and tone my womb.. let's gambatte!

gemini.. sorry to hear abt your lost.. r u taking any medicine to control ur glucose? gynae shld b presribing for you.. i read that high sugar in blood cld affect the lining of our uterus..

thanks Mrs Chris and beanbean..i'll ask my gynae next time i visit him then..it's kinda strange sensation and it's making me paranoid lah that's why..

liang good that you're feeling better

Littleone thanks for your encouraging post..it's good and comforting to know that there are positive cases out there after a loss..

gemini sorry to hear about your loss too.. Yes! try again and do not give up hope..we have cases like 'littleone' to encourage us forward to our goals

Hi Taurus76, doc asked me buy glucose monitor to track. I eat a lot of carbo, noodles but not deserts or fruits so will cut carbo to half see how. And top up with vitamins B,C & E.

Dear all, i also did go Eu Yan Sang (EYS)see Physician Xia Rong before i conceive 2nd x. Took her herbal 2 x a day for 3 months but didnt prevent me fr miscarriage. She was shocked on my miscarriage and asked me back to continue the chinese medication. Her medication got 2 types, 1 is b4 menses come, another type meant for after 5 days of menses. Yes EYS is pretty more expensive than most others. So next round I decided not to take Chinese just vitamins, exercise

Dear all, btw i watched Channel News Asia so got to know Eu Yan Sang Physician @ Paragon Xia Rong and Xu Xi Ming specialise in pregnancy. They have many success stories with high risk pregnancy. But it depends on individual suitable. So as mentioned above next x round let nature take it's course for me, will just take Vitamins B, C & E.

My gynae told me aft D & C or natural pass out for 1-2 weeks dont take herbs or chicken essence, let all spotting, bleeding pass out clear first then 'bu'.

Next Sat I also booked Sharon highly recommended online to do a womb treatment massage. I find my stomach some wind, a little flabby so will try it become better. Also advised if after D & C, rest 1-2 weeks can do, if natural pass out, can do within few days later.

princessleopard.. she was recommended by a friend, whom also had a miscarriage and said she quite gd in fertility.. coz after her mc, she tio her body and was she can go ahead to conceived.. now her boy healthy n strong.... she's a snr physician in eys at north bridge rd..

gemini.. i m now on metformin to ctrl my sugar.. similarly i m cutting down on carbo.. n everything reduced sugar..

the massage u r doing is it jamu massage?

Thanks Taurus76! Can I have her name?

I am now seeing at Chung Hwa clinic. Recommmend by a gf. She ttc for more than 3 yrs, den went to see Chung Hwa & was preggy. Her second preggy has spotting & she got injections everyday from gynae & eat tcm at the same time. Now she is well into her 3rd trimester.

But so many ppl went to see eys, so I am not sure if I should change.

i'm back! i had some light spotting on 13th day after m/c. seeped through my underwear and i was so shocked. but luckily it stopped after a while. beanbean, i agree. i can be feeling very happy but when i see a newborn or a preggie, i just feel very sore about my loss. trying to psych myself back into positive mindset mode.

talking about EYS tcm, there is an outlet at nex that i go to. however, the doc there is not particularly skilled in fertility, from what i have experienced. talking to her about bbt and opk is very hard.

am into 15th day post m/c. waiting for AF arrival!

out of curiosity, did you girls find anything 'off' with the pregnancy that m/c? for me, i found the hpt test line very faint, and it did not really get significantly darker over the next few days.. sometimes i wonder if it was meant to be from the start. and yes, early mc is usually due to chromosomal abnormalities etc (according to my science teacher hub), so i suppose in a way, i'm glad the decision was taken out of my hands.

just yesterday, i heard from a close friend. delivering in april but her son is 'special'. no jaw, eyes are conjoined, basically all the fetus has is a tongue. it is a fatal birth defect so will pass on upon birth. she decided to carry to term as she believes the baby has a soul. very sad case.

Hi yaataa,
Mine was like tat too. Bote three pregnancy test kits and all appeared faint. Did a Hcg at the polyclinic and the urine Hcg showed 25 and above, then MC three days later....

Hi Taurus76, thank u for sharing on u taking Metformin, will try it to control my glucose. Aft blood test result out, the clinic called to brief me but did not further advise. They ask go back run through with doc but I find very drain out as that few weeks been going back to Gleneagles 2 x a week till miscarriage. Since blood test all negative except glucose problem so will not go get consult unless any weird problem pop out. Aft natural pass out, bleed few days then no more bleeding.

Re the massage, she said its womb treatment, I believe it's Jamu massage. I also book at a jamu massage centre at Bugis area to try see got any diff. Hope can strengthen my tummy and rid of bloating & wind.

I've seen Chen Jiu mei at tong ji but still had a mc though I felt her prescription is good to tio the body and after tt I saw xia rong at eys. I found eys to b v exp but din see much difference n stopped seeing her. I guess it's a case by case basis dep on the condition of your body.

Yaataa~
me too, the 2 hptests i took the lines are somewhat faint..not that too dark..

Sigh...i am still waiting for my AF to arrive too..it's over a month since..hormones go haywire already

Princessleopard… her name is He QiuLing..she’s a snr physician.. do expect long wait to see her if on sats.. n fyi, they only operate on weekdays 9-6pm

Yaataa.. sorry to hear abt ur friend… being a mother, all we hoped is to have a healthy bb… that’s most important than anything

chrisl.. now i m worried as well coz my AF has already been irregular, .. my colleague whom has a mc has irregular AF.. after her dc, her AF can come like after 60-80 days kind..

Re: pregnancy.. my pregnancy was def a confirmed one… dark line on the indicator.. gynae concluded that its cld be due to my waterbag.. I had first spotting and quickly went to c her, and she said my waterbag is unusually small, so she adopt wait and see coz bb still growing to its size.. sigh..only god knows what really happen… I check w the chinese physician, she said my body is not supplying enuff nutrients..
.. now i m looking ard for gynae who specialized in high risk pregnancy..

Re: massage.. I came across a term called mayan massage.. this is more specialized to treat the womb problem and infertility however in sg, I cant find anyone who in fact practice it..