Support group - Miscarriages

Ankh- sigh yes. This am went to see another dr. Still no sign of bb but sac grew. Dr did not suggest termination but to test hcg level. Gg back for review again on Tuesday.

He commented since mine is in the early stages can do a natural miscarriage. There would not be lots of
Blood, slightly more than normal menses.

Thanks for all yr advice ladies. Will make a decision on Tuesday. Sigh!!!!!!!!

Had a D&C done yesterday noon. Am at 8 weeks and heavy bleeding with clots on 29th Dec early morning. Had excessive vaginal discharge and light spotting last Sunday, went for gynae check n sac, heartbeat was still good. The bleeding just came suddenly, it's probably nature's way of telling us this bb is not healthy n not meant to belong to us.

It's my 1st pregnancy and emotions are still on a roller coaster ride. Trying to come to terms with it. Looking on a brighter side,if it's really unhealthy it's better to mc nw than later stages, more heartache by then. But cannot forget how elated we are when we saw the heartbeat the first time at 7wks.

Glad i found this group where I can pour out my experience.

Yes I am glad for this group. Moral support and listening to each other is the best medicine to heal our emotions. I kinda resign to fate although am still going for the second blood test next Tuesday. Just wish this episode will come to a completion soon.

Hi all, be optimistic;) I just had a d&c in oct at week9, and I was absolutely depressed... I cried everyday n kept asking God why me why me.... Sadness was overwhelming.... Until one day I finally stepped out of darkness, I asked myself how it helps to continue crying.... Life still move on.... Would u rather let an unwell foetus to grow a stage where reality is terribly harsh, or would u end it earlier? The answer is
obvious. From my encounter, it is critical to find the root cause of your m/c to avoid recurrence & increase your odds ttc.

lapixiaoxin >> You can actually try ordering confinement food for a couple of weeks, there are a few caterers out there. For me I just took care to always drink warm/hot water or longan red date tea, and stay off the seafood. My sis also bought black kampong chicken for me to make soup, and advised me to eat a lot of threadfin (午鱼), liver, spinach. You'll need to build up your iron after the op.

Thanks tethysea. This afternoon I went to buy red dates, black dates n longan and now it is boiling in the pot, in prep for tmr. I've also fragrant old ginger to be used in the food I will prepare. Thinking of not catering cos I saw for 7 days it is quite exp. Mil will prepare vinegar n pig trotters. I think will just make do with recipes I can find online or frm memory of my confinement when I had my first one.

I've also bgt raspberry tea to drink one month after the procedure. Oh yes for those looking fir the tea, I found another place selling- west coast plaza.

So scared of the d&c tmr... Dun think can sleep well tonight.

Lapixiaoxin,

Yep yep, very fast procedure. Bring along two to three of your own sanitary pads in case hospital only provides non stick ones. Don't over exert yourself for a few days even if no pain. Day after my d&c my 4 yr old climbed me like a tree, and within the hour I was in cramps, cold sweat and nausea. Took nearly an hour after taking painkillers to feel ok.

Apparently red date tea is very nutritious (our mothers are right!) so drink up!

Hugs hugs from me too

If you are considering to purchase OPK/ HPT, Pre-Seed, Conceive Plus, Clearblue Digital OPK/ HPT, basal thermometers and TTC supplements such as red raspberry tea leaves, royal jelly with bee pollen and CoQ10, do check out http://babydustshop.blogspot.com

Recently, Jacelyn Tay (ex Mediacorp Actress) shared one of her success tips in conceiving easily is drinking organic raspberry tea that improves the health of her womb. Do try out this tea which is now available at Baby Dust Shop.

my bb is diagnosed w cystic hygroma + heart failure when i went for oscar & generic scan in aug.. and bb passed on in sep so i did a d&c then..
thot i could try for another one after i started tcm in oct to tiao my body.. who knows i gotten sick - normal cough/flu in nov.. then suddenly on e morning of 25 nov, i woke up w sore joints all over my body, esp hand, feet.. water retention.. like i got feng shi.. zzz..
saw 1st doc & he said it could be reactive arthritis where e immune system mistakenly attacks own body after e cough/flu episode.. after 1 wk, stopped medicine, it came back again.. then saw 2nd doc, did blood test, could not detect anything specific.. doc jus prescribed more aspirin..
so last wk went to see arthritis specialist, drew 8 tubes of blood for testing.. and in e meantime, i'm taking 6 diff kinds of medicine.. 1 of which is a steriod.. test report coming out next tue.. now feeling numbness on left wrist as i'm typing this.. sigh...
when i asked this specialist when can i start to try for bb, he said 3 mths after recovery! sigh..
feel like very suay since end of last year.. sianzz..

I've decided to join this forum in the hope to share and support one another.
I've, unfortunately, been thru miscarriages twice last yr, the last one in dec 2011. I was full of confidence and hope that history would not repeat itself on me, but the sad truth is, God decided that heaven is perhaps a better place for my 2 babies.
Now that I've picked the loose pieces up, I'm wondering what are some of the things I can do to prevent such mishap. Like what hb and I discussed the other day, we have no problem getting pregnant, but we can't keep the pregnancy. Wonder why..
I'll be gg for blood test in mid Jan to check for possible
causes of miscarriages.

Lapixiaoxin: hugs! Did ur gynea give u HL? Have plenty of rest. I was naughty and did not really take good care. Now, lower back will ache like an old lady. Bathe with warm water!

Claramimi: big hugs! Hope u r feeling better now..get well soon!

Hi bean, ask ur hb take sperm analysis test too.... Some men may have poor quality sperms that can't form a healthy foetus....

I also got 2 m/c last year.... Suggest u get a fertility specialist to help u too.... Meanwhile don't try till u find out why....

LPXX: thanks for ur encouragement ;)

Emily: I'm sorry to hear the same encounter. May I know which fertility doc r u with now? Did u go for the various test? I heard if I were to go thru all the tests with hb, will amount to a few k at least.

My hb will be taking the test again. Actually after the first mishap, he went for one already, everything was looking good except the shape is scoring a bit lower on the average range.
We had wanted to do a lab test for any chromosome adnormability, but the cell cannot be grown anymore.

beanbean>tks.. hope u can find out why..

btw, also to share.. my hb is kinda into fengshui stuff.. so after we lost our bb, he went to study e fengshui of our place.. he read tat e "middle-aged" woman staying in e hse will have miscarriage as e "wu gui" position is at e main door in yr 2011.. so happen tat i'm e "middle aged" woman as i'm staying w my in-laws.. so my mil is e oldest & sil is e youngest..
not sure if it is a coincident or wat.. hope in e new yr when e fengshui position change, we can be blessed w a healthy bb..

Emily: Thanks for sharing. Pm-ed u ;)
claramimi: I'm not so into feng shui but my hb believes that it works. For now, guess we will go for the tests first.
Haiz, pregnancy and miscarriages are worrisome!

Hi ladies... I hope everyone is coping well..

I would like to ask... My Af had been very irregular ever since my 2nd mc in August last yr n I was diagnosed with a water cyst for my 2nd mc n it disappear after I loss it

But somehow these two to three months it's either my Af report at day 28 if not late till day 35 and this month it's day 26 and I feel mild sharp pain when I am doing big business in the toilet... I don't know if it's my laxative that cause the sharp pain or it's something wrong with my uterus.. And ever since the 28days cycle my Af bleed isn't a lot n usually my Af last for 5 days but somehow I can spot for another 3 days...

I'm feeling very puzzled my tcm say as long as every month got come is good n no much old blood discharge is good enough

Plus my ovulation period usually will produce sticky white transparent discharge but this month it comes with a bit of blood that shocks me..

I'm pretty worried sometihing is wrong with my uterus.... WAt am I suppose to do???

Hi Christine, according to what my gynea told me, AF and ovulation dates will be a lil off for a few months after miscarriage. I guess as long as it's not too off, like 2-3 weeks, it can be considered normal?

My AF after 1st miscarriage came after 25days, 35days and 29days. 1st AF after 2nd miscarriage came 30days later. I used to have 28-29days cycle.

As for blood stain with discharge, for a peace of heart, maybe u want to chk with ur gynea? I read before that some woman will experience ovulation spotting, can it be that?

Hope this helps ;)

I am glad I found this thread. I just mc days before x'mas, no spotting, no bleeding, no symptom at all. When I went for my checkup at 6th weeks, I saw my bb for the first time & heard the heartbeat. But on the next checkup (9th week), the heartbeat stops & foetus stop growing at 7th week. The impact is very huge for us, as we are still looking forward to see the development of the foetus & hear the heartbeat. We have been TTC for 3 years & finally conceive naturally. It's so devastating.

D&C was done. I bleed for 3 weeks, doc say I have rather slow recovery compare to others. I even start to produce milk days after the D&C. I have to take pills to stop the milk production! Anyone have such experience too?

My MIL cook confinement foods & herbal drink for me everyday, for 2 weeks. Till I have nosebleed & headache then she stopped. Otherwise I am suppose to do "confinement" for a month. Is it really suppose to be like that? After mc, do we really have to follow confinement rules?

Seeing everyone are so supportive to each other, it really gives me a little more strength to move forward.

God bless everyone. Take care!

Princessleopard, your case is the same me i hear the baby hb at ard 6weeks+ but just afew days before my next appt i start to have spotting went to 24hr clinic at TMC the gynea scan and say bb stop growing at 7week+ 2 days later i webt back to my own gynea hopefully theres some "qi ji" but result comes out the same i did the lab test for baby nothing is wrong with her choromosome and is a girl. its very sad but wat can we do get our body in a good shape and try again.

For e confinement i did it for 1 week only and when back to wrk for my bleeding it stop ard 2weeks

do take care ya!!!

lets jia you we all can do it!!!

Thanks piky!! I also went to TMC. Gynae said nowadays seems more mc, perhaps is the lifestyle we are having is different from our parents' generation. Some people told me to go TCM "tiao" my body, but dunno where to go. Are you doing anything to prepare your body?

You take care too! Hope to hear good news again!

Hi princess leopard, sorry to hear abt yr mc. Pl take care. I had a blighted ovum (abt 5+ week discovered). Opted for d&c. Was scared but thanks to the support given at this group. For me I stopped bleeding after 4 days and had spotting thereafter for abt 2 days. I did mini confinement for abt a week.

Hi lapixiaoxin, thanks for the concern. It seems like my recovery is much slower than usual. Hope you are recovering well.

I am not giving up hope so easily cos I always wanted kids. I heard sometimes after mc, will have good news again within the next few months. It's really dilemna, I hope to have good news soon, but also fear of history may occur again.

Do take care!! We can all do it!!

Hi princessleopard,
my case was similar to urs too. D/C in dec at 9th week. HB was detected at 6w, though a lil slow, we were hopeful to see bb's growth at 9th week.

Understand ur fear of conceiving again. I'm constantly worrying too. Getting my test result this fri and I'm feeling v anxious too!

Anyway, I've been seeing sinseh at EYS paragon, bleed and spot for a week and 1st AF came exactly 30days later. I think it's the tiao-ing of body that helps. U may want to consider ;)

Here's wishing u speedy recovery!
And a great dragon yr for all! Huat huat huat!

Beanbean, i D&C on 16dec bleed and spot till 30dec. gynea say menses will come ard early feb. But now im having spotting for 3days shoyld be consider AF hor??? ur 30days counted the day u D&C?

Hi piky, I had my d/c on 13 dec. I counted day one as the day after d/c. I guess urs shd be AF or signs of onset of AF, I had some spotting a day and a half before actual AF reported.
Very heavy flow for 2days. Lasted for ard 6-7 days.
Did u eat some bu/supplement after the procedure? My gynea prescribed me with antibiotics after d/c for 5 days, and gin-vita when I went for review 3 days later. He didnt tell me when will be my expected AF..just told me womb needs abt a month to heal, so I thought maybe TCM and the supplements help tiao my bio clock back.

beanbean >> Does it itch? I had fungal infection after my d/c because the antibiotics prescribed were too strong and messed up the balance of the bacteria that normally live inside the vagina. You can go back to gynae to check, it's a normal occurrence. Drinking yogurt helps to clear it up.

Doesn't really itch and does not have much smell either. Hope it's not bacteria and u r right, maybe shd ask my gynea.
Will definately try yogurt. Thanks tethysea!

Hi, may I know of any recommendation of good TCM in fertility whereby the doctor has proven records, for women who went through MC and after seeing the TCM doctor, will eventually give birth to healthy babies? Saw a recommendation above, and wish to know more of such good TCM. Any advice will be great.

Hi Audiobean, I have a friend who visited a TCM doc in Marine Parade. He's called Dr Ban Choon Chan... My friend conceived again within 2 months after her mc. My hub went to see Dr Ban once too and took his medicine for a month. However, we are not sure whether he is really effective as we also saw Western doctor and took other TCM medicine from Eu Yan Sang. There's a TCM thread which u can check out: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/294863.html

Hi Beanbean, after my D&C, I had a mini-confinement for around 2 weeks. My mother made those confinement herbal longan and red date tea for me. The food she cooked was similar to the usual confinement food (e.g. pork kidney, pig stomach soup etc). I also took essence of chicken regularly.

Have a good rest and may u recover soon!

Princessleopard, I really feel your pain cos I took rather long to conceive naturally.. after 18 months. And I mc at 11 weeks. I guess, it's important to have nutritious meals. After my d&c, I made it a point to eat proper meals (I used to sometimes skip my meals) and if I have time, I'd make chicken soup/pig stomach soup.

Dear Ladies,

I have posted in this thread some time back and I am dropping by to give all of u some encouragement.

I was 33 when I miscarried at 8 weeks in Aug '10. There was no heartbeat & baby stopped growing at 6 weeks.

I managed to conceive 2 months later (I did not go thru TCM). My baby is 6 mths old now and I have a elder boy who is coming to 3 years old.

All the best & don't give up!

Hi beanbean, is EYS paragon expensive? I think a friend did recom before but mention expensive. Not sure if it is the same TCM. My AF just came 2 days ago, its 39 days after d/c. Doc did mentioned it should come a month after d/c. Not sure if its normal, my menses cycle normally is 27-32 days. How's your result? Hope everything is back to normal & you can TTC again. Thanks for the encouragement!!

Hi beowie, 18 months is really a long wait, but you got your precious gem! So happy for you.

Thanks BBpower for you encouragement!

Ladies, we can do it!! Dun give up hope.

After going thro 3 m/c (the last in Sept 11), I'm finally pregnant again now 8.5 wks. After my 3rd m/c, i went to see TCM who recommended me a fertility dr. The moment I missed my period and test kit shows 2 faint lines, I went to the gynea right away. I did blood test and it showed that my hormone was only half of what it should be. Immediately dr prescribe me with Utrogestan 2 x 3 per day, aspirin and 3 jabs a week. 3 days later (after taking the pills), my hormones went up 4 times from the initial level and was good. At 5wk6days, we detected heartbeat but was not optimum (only 105, ideal was 150). So I continued with the pills and jabs (causing me dizziness and nauseous feeling the whole day). 2 weeks later I was due for another scan. I was panicky, worried and anxious... and expecting the worst
However, my scan showed that my bb heartrate has improved to 174 and he/she grew bigger than anticipated and all seems optimistic for now. I'm really praying for miracle and hope that bb will continue to grow well. Right now I'm suffering from dizziness whole day, pain and itch from the frequent jabs but I know I'll have the strength to pull thro' as my focus is on the bb's welfare. My advise to all mummies is to find the right gynea and to consult a dr asap. My previous gynea was good but he just isn't as sharp as this one. All the best to everyone and hoping to hear more good news from all. Jia you!

Hi EiLiYa, so glad to hear good news from you. You are a strong lady. Your bb will be strong too. Everything will be fine. Well, at least the doctor detect early. How I wish I have a chance to fight with my bb for survival. I went for my checkup at 6wks. bb heartbeat & size are normal. I did not think much about it. During the next checkup at 9wks, it stops growing & no more heartbeat. It's just so devastating. I am not prepared for all that. Coz there is no signs at all. My pregnancy symptoms follows me till the day I went for d/c. I was sad that I was not even given a chance to save my bb.

I am going for my checkup this fri. Hope everything is back to normal, & I am going to TTC again!!

Take care!!

Hi Princessleopard, I'm extra kiasu this time cos' it happened to me 3 times before. So I had to take special care. For your case there is really no warning and being your first, so there is basically nothing much you could have done as there was no reason for the dr to suspect any problems. All you have to do is take care of your body. Avoid cooling food, green beans, yellow beans etc. When you conceive again, do be more kiasu. Check with your dr if you need to take the blood test to check your progesterone level etc. Hope to hear good news from you too and God bless!

EiLiYa >> Jiayou! All the jabs, pain and nausea will be worth it! I went thru the same thing as you, for this one my gynae also prescribed me max dosage of everything, now my bb is already 34weeks. Rest lots and don't stand when you can sit, and don't sit when you can lie down!

Hi, if i want to ttc again do i need to go back gynae and do some blood test or any test to make sure next pregnancy will success? alittle confuse on this. anyone can help thanks