Support group - Miscarriages

hi pipertan,

so sorry to hear abt ur loss..it mus be reali tough on u, esp when no symptoms at all. did u have a d&c or natural? i had bleeding for up to 2 mths for my 1st m/c - natural delivery. whilst 2nd m/c by d&c, bleeding stopped after 1 week. but heard that it can take up to 2 weeks or more, depending on individual..do take alot of rest and a mini-confinement if can..my mum says its the best time to bu the body with tonics and avoid cooling stuff to keep the womb warm for at least 2 weeks..rest well and take care.

Thanks puipui..yes it was tough. Everyone was telling me its common to m/c nowadays, but the pain of losing own flesh n blood is juz too much to bear. I had d&c. Yesterday went back to clinic to follow up after op, so far so good after the scan. But need more iron pills for my aneamia. I actually come back to work today, guess better than staying at hm nothing to do, n start to recall again. Have been taking confinement foods n staying away from cold stuffs. I will monitor the bleeding part closely. I'm really glad that we can share info here in this thread.
It must be tough on u too to go through 2 m/c rite?

Hi pipertan,

Sorry to hear about that. Be strong yeah. Miscarriage is god's way of taking back unhealthy babies from us. We will be blessed with a healthy baby. I'm finally finishing my dosage of iron pills. Are you taking folic acid? good to continue taking them.

hi volf20 (volf20)
mm..go for review har.Okay, maybe I discuss with hb, maybe go after my 2nd af reports.

Hi Ryes,
Thanks for tat..certainly hope so too.
My gynae asks me to continue my folic acid for future pregnancy too.
I read from the previous posting most of the gynaes advise to try after 2-3mths. But the assistant in my gynae's clinic actually ask me to try after the first cycle. She said many old folks believe after 6mths, but to them after 1 cycle the womb is clear n clean ready for another try. Really puzzles me...

hello ryes,
i guess volf is rite...my gynae juz said tat go back to him after 3mths which is due this mth...so probably will see him ard end of the mth...

volf,
ic....i was worried leh....haf slight symptoms of AF coming but den still no sign of it.....dunno when it will turn up..todae oreadi CD36....itz getting longer..i tink itz gng haywire...i went to KKH for pre-conception checkup....did a pap smear test as it is in the package....moreover, i din do any pap smear in my life....find a bit uneasy at first den then it was over very quickly...the waiting time is damn long..i nearly "DIE" while waiting.....so got some blood drawn as well...will be gng back for ultra scan too.....will keep u update....
oh ya, wat hormone pills is tat? izzit clomid? so r u ready for TTC again?

pipertan,
sori to hear tat....as wat ryes said, itz god's will....meanwhile take good care of urself now to prepare for the next preganacy....

hi D_woof

ahah.. gynae waits are usually rather long ... what to do? My gynae put me on 2mths of Stri Nordette. Prob will ttc again after check-up and all clear when I see him again early June..

Hi ryes..Im fine..Jus came back from Tasmania & Sydney for holiday..Was a good break..Tasmania is very beautiful. Waiting for my 3rd cycle..should be anytime these few days..unless pregnant lah..haha. But dont think so..Actually want to wait after 3rd cycle b4 ttc.

Hi babymaking..

Im so sorry..Dont worry abt the D & C..Jus have a natural miscarriage..Anyway yr gynae also advised u not to. I had a natural m/c..It took almost 2 weeks after gynae said he couldnt hear heartbeat b4 I discharge out everything..b4 that I was jus bleeding. Take care.

Babymaking..Its true..repeat D&Cs can be very invasive on the cervix & womb. Pls dont it..Jus wait..Many women in the west opt for natural m/c..& turn out fine.

i had an early miscarriage last week (my memses late for one week, chk with my gynae, oledi miscarriage). So now my menses came. But what worried me is usually my menses only last for 4 or 5 days. But now already 6 days, i still have flow(not heavy), and it is red blood, no brownish discharge. May i know izzit normal?

i read in mind ur body that there are some supplements that we can take for 3 mths before trying to conceive..example- folic acid, evening primrose oil, uncontaminated fish oils, b-complex vitamins or multivitamin..i guess while waiting, i can strenthen my body with these vits before trying again.

pipertan, i think its more advisable to wait at least 3 mths. my gyne said its due to letting the lining build up after d&c..if we try to early, we can a very high chance of miscarrying again. so its better not to take the risk..tis time i will be trying again in aug, both my pregnancies were by ivf. realli need a break now.

piggymummy, sorry to hear abt it..maybe u can check with ur gyne to ensure that ur womb is clear and let him know abt ur concerns. do update us. take care now.

charis,

i am abit worried cause up to now only got very slight spotting but bad cramps, will wait a few more days and then see how.

if by 1 week, the bleeding dun start, most prob will opt for d & c.

i did a progestrone blood test and the progesteorne level has drop significantly yet still no shedding of the lining...that's a bit worrying.

D woof,thanks..i guess i need to take a break b4 ttc again.

puipui, this is wat my colleague told me too. She asked me to wait for 6mths. U r right, maybe while waiting we should build up our bodies first. Where u usually buy ur supplements? GNC?

pipertan,

my gyne told me that 6 mths are for 2nd trimester m/c whilst 3 mths are sufficient for 1st trimester m/c.. i waited till 4 mths before getting pregnant again and tot it was caused by getting pregnant too early..tat could be 1 of the reasons though 3 gynes told me it was the baby abnormal and nothing to do with the womb and lining..but i will wait at least 4 mths tis time, just to be sure lor.

yup, i usually buy them from gnc..im oso taking chicken essence on a daily basis, every 3 days to build up my strength and oso ginseng with birds nest 2 times a week.

they oso put tat its good to avoid excess refined carbs and eat at least 6 to 8 servings of vegetables with some exercise..i think i will follow lor, to give my body some good nutrients and lose the excess 7 kg i put on recently, haha.
i oso read tat our hubbies should follow tis regiment to improve sperm quality as well.

hmm puipui, some gynaes say 3 mths to TTC again after 1 st trimester m/c, but got other gynaes who say the cycle after the return of AF can start TTC again.

hi babymaking,

i oso not sure, i like to try as soon as possible as well. infact i have 5 embryos on hand tat i can use..all i need to do is put in..but i saw numerous gynes like ann tan from mount e, henry cheng from gleneagles, dr kee and even dr loh frm kkh..all advise the min 3 mths period..they say if i dun wait for at least 3 mths, the lining may not be built up sufficiently and the baby can have a lack of nutrients and oxygen which can cause the baby to not grow or implant normally..thus the risk of m/c is very high..

they said if i try, i can do so, but the risk is there..they told me tat they have paitients who try after 1 mth and manage to kana but end up taking alot of hormones, which act like fertiliser to help embryo grow..but its not good for me or the baby..and not all the time will work, so they advise to be paitient and built up strenth these 3 mths instead.

im oso very itchy to try very soon but they dun allow me to do that so no choice, have to wait lor. actually i didnt follow the 6 mth rule after my 1st m/c and my lining was quite thin when i got pregnant..i took alot of hormone jabs, etc..but baby didnt grow normally and heartbeat eventually stopped..so tat why i dun dare to take the risk, though they say it may not be the main cause and most likely a sperm defect.

ok, if you have thin lining, then better to wait for a while for the lining to build up.

another alternative is to take estradiol before ovulation to build up the lining.

i used to have thick lining but after a d & c, plus clomid thins the lining, so in the end was advised to take estradiol to increase the lining.

Hi Pipertan (pipertan)

Har, your gynae said 1 cycle then try? erm, I personally highly say no to that. Coz my friend's friend gynae said the same thing, she tried and had 2nd miscarriage coz her womb is still weak. But then, every woman's body is different, some may recover faster than the other, but then would you want to take a risk? For me, I wont lor. Even for me trying at 2nd cycle, I'm abit worried too. my gynae actually recommended me a 6 months rest, but I short cut till 3 cycles one.

And like you said all the gynaes you saw all adviced min 3 months. 3 months pass very fast one. come in often chat with us day by day, just take precaution when ML very fast you can have your bb. and moreover, after 3mths, you wont worry much abt this and that also..

Hi Charis
wah sey, not bad har, go relax relax abit. Who knows, u may have to wait 9 months later for ur AD to report leh. *wink wink*

puipui, actually i would like to take a break before ttc but seems like my hubby is eager to try, though he keeps assuring me tat we shall wait till i'm ready. But i can tell after this miscarriage,he is more eager to have our own kids.
Chk with u, what bird nests r u taking? brew or those instant bottles types? they said bottles types not so gd wo...

babymaking, thanks, i will ask abt the estradiol to my gyne when i see her in june.

pipertan, yeah my hubby oso more keen on having kids now..esp after my 1st m/c cause the babies look so much like us. he say its like making a mini-me. but after the 2nd m/c, im not as keen as before cause all the nausea and headache. and my hubby is very open to adoption. i understand tat he doesnt wan me to suffer so much. we are not those who must insist on our own flesh and blood and our familes from both sides are very open as i have a few aunties who are either adopted themselves or have adopted children. but as long im fertile, im willing to try till the doc advise me not to anymore..well, my gyne advise me to try 1 more time and if i still dun succeed, they say i should consider adoption, as its better for me and the child. so we will wait till end of tis dec to decide.

as for birds nest, i either brew or take those bottled types.but do listen to ur body cause when i get too heaty i stop. u can ask ur chinese medicinal shop for help.

hey gals,

just wondering for those who waited for natural miscarrige, do you gals go back to work and yr usual activity?

and for pain relief, do you take panadol or pain killers?

puipui, yeah my hubby oso vr open for adoption. He wont mind at all. Actually its me n his family against it.But if really not fated to hv own, guess no choice but to adopt.
U r right,Just keep on trying until doc advise not to, dont give up now. Wish u good luck in ur next round to be a successful one!!!
I will ask the medical hall for help. My MIL has been cooking the confinement foods for the past 1 wk, i scare to trouble her further on the bird nest stuff..
Good news, my bleeding has stopped though still hv a bit of spotting..hope it will clear completely by tmr...

hi pipertan,

thanks, i wish u the same too. actually we should be glad tat we can at least get pregnant, it means we can succeed again..

good to hear tat ur bleeding stopped, your discharge will go off very soon..now all we have to do is to wait for your periods to come..hahha
u dun give up too, once u past the emotional stage, u will be eager to try again.

if u scared to trouble her, u can brew urself on the weekend. the shop can teach u wat to do..its quite easy actually. there isnt a need to hurry, its jus for extra nourishment and not a necessacity.

Hi babymaking, sorry to hear this. *hugs*. Do take good care of your health. Maybe you should ask gynae if it's ok for you to continue to work. I know my fried did when she was waiting for her natural m/c, but she told me it was rather painful when it happened, so I'm not sure if it's ok for you to be at work. Take care of your health.

hi puipui
thanks for the encourgement! we will try together then! same goes to everyone here in this thread!
Just now i forgot n play with my dog run here n there, have been neglecting her since then..who noes slight bleeding comes back...how careless i am ... guess need to be more careful loew.

Ryes, sorry i miss ur posting n only saw it now .. ya think will follow the 3cycles strictly to avoid any disappointment n sadness again. Baby dust to everyone here!

thks coral for replying my question.

come to think about it, i totally forgot to ask my gynae.

i am torn between wanting to stay home and just sit and cry or going to work and not doing anything but msning and posting in the forum. :p

hi babymaking,

i knw how u feel..im not working so it can be tough to jus sit ard and do nothing, thoughts usually run wild while u are at hm..but it seems tat ur cramps are quite painful. why dun u try giving ur gyne a call..im sure he wun mind ans ur enquiries esp when it comes to painkillers.

actually if i am home, can seek consolation in tv and sleeping or reading...but at work the mind cannot focus.

puipui, u are a full time homemaker or are you still on mc?

Hi babymaking..

Pls dont worry..if the baby is gone, there will be a natural expulsion..it has to come out right..If u having a fever, then u better get to yr gynae..But if not..u r fine.

Like someone here said..gynaes mayb wrong..So jus wait..I waited 2 weeks u know..that's pretty long..it wasnt easy..but things turn out fine..I didnt do a D & C at all, didnt even see the gynae until 2 weeks later. To me, as long as an m/c dont happen, the baby may still be alive..so jus rest as much as possible. For my situation, i wasnt working at that time..but i did continue some activity..I went shopping too, but short hours..Jus to take my mind off things..Go out with yr frens, watch a movie, etc..but better not be alone jus in case. My m/c happen at home..but i was outside having dinner when the painful cramping began..somehow I knew the m/c was going to happen..so my hubby & i rush home immediately.

So let life go on as usual first..Take care.

Hi ryes..Haha..I not prepared if im pregnant now..But it would be a nice surprise..but will be quite fearful..i dont want another m/c..nobody wants right..We all hope to have a successful pregnancy.

Hey babymaking..Panadol should be fine..But i didnt take any..cos i wanted to monitor the pain..More intense pain may mean an m/c coming.

i didnt even take painkillers when i had the m/c at home..i jus endure..but let u know..jus be prepared..may be very painful in fact it should be painful..but it will be over..dont worry..but jus be prepared ok. I give u this website..it was very useful for me. www.pregnancyloss.info

hi charis,

not necessary true that there will be a natural explusion.

usually bleed will start when progesterone level drops drstically, my level has already dropped drastically but still no shedding.

hence the worry, but anyways there is nothing i can do now. so just wait till monday and then see how.

i think being pro natural is very good but then with a haywire body system like mine, going the natural way is prolonging the agony.

delaying the physical agony as well as the emotional pain.

anyone here on msn during office hrs? do you gals chat on msn?

i think there is no right or wrong way of miscarriage..it really depends on wat u want..for me, i oso wanted a natural m/c but knowing tat my baby is oredi not living inside me, i couldnt take it, esp after seeing 3 gynes to confirm..

in a way, the doc say d&c will be better for me otherwise i will left dangling in the air, not knowing when the bleeding will start. i jus wanted to get on with it and carry on so tat i can make plans for the future.

babymaking, ur case is more unique since ur doc advise against another d&c so soon. did he give u any medicaton o\to help with the process? charis is right abt the fever..u must seek help cause it could be an infection. im a full time home maker cause i wanted to concentrate on my ivf. i have stopped work for more than a year now. i dun tink i can go back anymore, i find it very hard to focus and concentrate. im giving ivf 1 last shot, if not, we will do adoption. so since i have always yearn to be a full time mum, i wun be working anymore. now jus learning my driving and go for holiday during this 4 mths.

Hi babymaking,

I agreed with puipui, yes, there's no right or wrong way of miscarriage...

Waiting is the most painful period we were not want to have if given the choice... but somehow... hai... Anyway, I'm sure you are able to cross this hurdle soon..

If u do have any fever, pls seek help soon,... that's the sign of infection... Do take care!

Hi puipui, can see that you are getting on the road of recovery and can tell that u've cope well... glad to see u being better... I'm sure one of these days u can be a mother soon... and glad that u've such a strong family support...

To all gals, do take care of your own health... and move on with life...

Hi babymaking..

Ya its somehow true wat u say..but since the pregnancy hormone has dropped..then i think the m/c should happen anytime soon..If not, we dont know that jus maybe miracles can happen. Like what u say..you have a so called haywire body system..then although the hormone dropped but the womb still holding on to the pregnancy..which is quite medical also..that sometimes it takes a while for the body to respond to hormone changes..Hormone says pregnancy is not viable but yr womb lining mayb pretty strong & intact..but it should dispel soon..I read that Vit. E can cause the womb lining to be too strongly attached.

Anyway, did the gynae locate yr baby in the womb? Im sure yr gynae did tell u how long u should wait or may have to wait till m/c happens.

hi ryes,
have a good trip! It's been a while...I'd taken med to induce my mense at 6 weeks after D&C. This time my AF lasted longer than my usual, but I felt more normal as my AF has always been irregular and very little. I've taken my dosage of Clomid pills along with Metformin to help me to ovulate.

Hi D-woof,
dun be dishearten, at least your AF is 30-36 days, its still predictable. Mine can be 2/3/4 months, so i rather not wait.

thanks puppy, im much better now..looking at the more positive side of things lor..certain things jus cannot force to belong to us

the wife, i didnt knw can take meds to induce meds..im alittle worried tat my menses wun come oso..mine are always ard 3 mths apart as well..i guess i will wait for a mth and see how..

HI Charis,

Well, I sure hope the best for you and everyone here too.

Hi thewife, thanks thanks. I'm getting very anxious liao, since tomorrow gonna fly and I have yet to pack! I read lots of girls are taking the clomid pills. Does it really help? I am so so sick of taking my daily dosage of folic acid and iron pills that I am scare to take pills now...

Hi ryes..Clomid pills may help to regulate menses..BUT it reduces cervical musus considerably..hence reduces fertility level. U should check with yr gynae if uts suitable for u..Anyway, menses after m/c is usually quite irregular..its normal.

hi charis,

oh, reduce the CM? then need to have lubricant to help right? Today is my CD28 liao, duno when 2nd af coming. Travelling somemore, I scare the whole time change would affect too. sigh.

Hi ryes..

Lubricant helps penetration..But thing is the sperm needs enough CM to survive n to swim up the uterus to the egg..less would mean less chance of sperm surviving..

Ryes..Yr 2nd AF may come around CD 30-35..based on my own experience..but some women get it even later..mayb 2 months once..Hmm..but if u do get yr AF during yr 1st week of hol..then yr fertile time is around 3rd week of hol..u my want to TTC..hehe.

Hi jolene..

I dont know if anyone answered yr query..But AF usually comes after 4-7 or even 8 weeks after D & C or m/c.

Maybe u can seek for 2nd opinion..is the polyps affecting yr chances of conceiving?

pui, good to take time of work and fully focussed on becoming a mother. the ttc process is hard enough as it is, having to work adds another pressure on it.

after these 2 attempts of iui and then miscarriage, i find it really hard to perform 100% in my work. and that leads to additional stress.

puppy..u are rite waiting is the most painful period, one can't help but still harbour some hope that the foetus will grow in the waititng period for the miscarriage to happen.

charis
the gynae said it can take up to one week for the bleed to start and one week for it to stop. if it doesn't start by monday, then have to consider othr options.

Hi babymaking..I guess that should give you a rough guide..Lets say u wait till mon but no m/c yet..i suggest u see yr gynae for a scan to confirm the state of the baby..and do vaginal scan to see if cervix has dilated slightly..or if there's some evidence of bleeding at the cervix opening..then an m/c should be coming..anytime soon..so dont worry ok.

Hi piggy-mummy.

Im sorry for yr loss. Do take care.

Did u have a D & C? Im not too clear on yr condition..u said u had an early miscarriage last week..did u bleed with clots/tissue etc? So now the bleeding is yr 1st AF(menses)? But the 1st AF should not come till at least 4 weeks. I believe its normal to have bleeding for up to 1 week during an miscarriage..it doesnt count as yr 1st cycle though. But bleeding should taper down..prolonged & heavy bleeding for more than 1 week is not a good sign.

Hi Charis,

thanks thanks of info. Since is bet 30-35 days, so sld be my 1st week of holiday...come fast fast! but dun come while I'm on touring around..

Hi babymaking (babymaking),

Sorry to hear about your loss....I had a D&C early this year and is currently suffering some effect from it. Please check with your doctor and ensure everything is ok before you proceed else the process of waiting for recovery can be long.