Support group - Miscarriages

bluebells,
I did biomedical engineering for my masters. Then for my PhD, it's engineering (fluids, optical, aerospace) in UK. Yes, I was on scholarship. From what I see, it's not worth doing a PhD without a scholarship and having to pay on your own. PhD is cheap labour, you know. Maybe your hubby can take a look at University College London. If your hubby has at least a second upper, he can apply scholarship from AStar or EDB. It's not very difficult to obtain, and they look at the honours. Getting a scholarship for a foreigner in the UK is not easy, and usually lower pay than the angmos if can get it. I got my scholarship from a company, so my pay is better than some of my peers

Have both of you consider about the timeframe? A PhD path is not going to be an easy one. Your hubby will need a lot of support from you along the way. I have friends who are pursuing PhD and are a few years older than me (reaching 35 in 2 - 3years) put on hold to their family planning. It's worse if get stuck. It's common to get stuck in a PhD. It's not like in Singapore where you die die must finish in 3 years. Or your supervisor will die die make sure you finish in 3 years. It's not like that in the UK. I have colleagues who took as long as 7 years!

<font color="0077aa">Gd day ladies,</font>
281638.gif

Tis morning a bit bz with work.

Hmm...last nite tested OPK - faint positive. Today got a tiny bit of spotting. I think ovulation is ard the corner right?? I was told to BD the next few days once I see a strong positive on OPK. Tonite test again see whether if there's a strong positive or not. Not easy....so stressful...keep telling myself to relax, but how to leh.....

qwer...
It's really not easy to relax when doing all the tests and the sinseh said you O-ing. If the test line is lighter than the control line, it's not considered positive... The test line and control line gotta be the same color or darker test line then can consider positive... When you see positive OPK, will have to BD asap within 24 - 48hrs le...

<font color="0000ff">Lyn,</font>
Ok thanks. So I've to wait till the test line is as dark as the control line. Aiyoh
.....your 'asap' sounds very kan cheong le.....hee....hee....

hahaha... qwer... sorry sorry... Just BD when you get home on the day you see the dark line. Best if you already BD on the nite before you see the dark line... cos when the egg come out, already got sperm eagerly waiting around there to penetrate... hahaha..
281687.gif

qwer,
we r all getting excited 4 u...

Bring out the music... let the wine flow...Take out the most sheer of all lingerie u have... hee hee..
[hope u dun mind, just trying to help create a more relax environment, than u keep thinking of stress by BD].
281699.gif

lyn,
yah, agreed. PHD not worth doing it on self-sponsor. tat's y looking around (tho not actively yet). I did ask if he wan go bak UK 2 do, but he prefers if can do here.

but we find that it's not easy also to get an overseas scholarship. they usually give to their locals first.

hmmm.. sure hv 2 delay starting family if that's the case. in fact, i cannot b out of job also, cos phd pay is miserable.

tks 4 the info.

bluebells,
If your hubby can get into NTU or NUS for PhD, automatic will have scholarship. Though the scholarship is miserable, but there's teaching opporunities that pay $40 per hour plus CPF. Scholarship was 2.2k when I did my masters. It's not so bad for me and I get to teach also...
I went to the UK for PhD is because my undergrad and masters already in Singapore... I was given a choice then, but I chose UK cos it's "overseas" experience... I feel that our local Universities are good cos we have funds for new equipment. I have paid a high price to go to the UK... cos if I have continued my masters topic, I would only need one to two more years to graduate and do something I really like...
Have a look at AStar's and EDB's website for overseas scholarship. It's not as difficult. Good luck!

lyn,
Is the scholarship an automatic thing if can get into NUS or NTU?
cos i tot must apply 4 NUS/NTU 1st. And if granted a place, need not necessarily mean can get the scholarship. That's y hb didn't try. Tks. will hv a look.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi ladies,</font>
281752.gif

Thank you ladies for 'creating' such a suitable environment for me,
281753.gif
keke....ok, ok, will Jia You!
281754.gif
Btw, also baby dust to u all too!!
281755.gif

My voice still coarse. Juz now lunch time walk out for lunch, sun so strong....now
281756.gif
headache. 1 of my colleague (abt 50 yr old uncle) said I'm like a 'little flower' , sun &amp; rain also can't take it.
281757.gif
Then he started to nag &amp; nag...aiyoh...I switch off my ears.

Btw, I've completed knitting the scarf
281758.gif
(at last!) But my cardigan still hasn't completed yet... At least the scarf I can send it to my fren in oversea now.

281763.gif
halow ladies, Good afternoon.. Its Friday today..

All the best to U qwer.. Dun stress hor.. try to relax ur mind and body and think of other happy things than babies..
281764.gif
Hope U strike soon..

281765.gif
hahahahha Lyn, U're so funnie.. Trying to compete with that guy slower than U in swimming..

<font color="119911">Hey Hamasaki,</font>
I like ur that icon - lying down &amp; LOL! Very cute!
281796.gif

Thanks....hey...u all dun give me pressure leh, keke....I dare not hope much....cos physician ever told me that my egg quality sometimes no good....so I think even if I ovulate &amp; BD, maybe also won't strike. Leave it to fate. If have, good lor, if don't have also can't help it. <font color="aa00aa">Right gals??</font>
281797.gif

<font color="0077aa">Pochacco,</font>
I juz browse thro other threads when I'm free &amp; when I happened to see cute icons, I'll save it lor...

qwer,
You knit in office? Aiyo... the uncle, one ear in one ear out can already... Lot of baby dust to you
281807.gif
Hope you will get positive OPK this long weekend...

hamasaki,
I like that roll on floor laughing icon.. so cute.. hahaha...
It get a bit boring when swimming alone... And other guys all swim so fast... very demoralising. Now found some one slower than me... hahaha... more fun, and boost my confidence to swim more
next time will find someone who swim slightly faster than me.. then i will have the catching up...

qwer,
yalor.. if have then happy, if dun have, cannot force also.

aiyo.. my AF dunno want to come or not. I have been spotting since this morning after the ML session
281811.gif
haiz...

Anyway, I was surfing the web for bubur chacha recipe
This weekend cook for hubby
281812.gif

hahahahhaha Lyn, I find that are a cute and funnie person..
281820.gif

281821.gif
thanks qwer and Lyn.. Yes, i do find the icon pretty cute and funnie..
281822.gif

<font color="0000ff">Catch it liao....</font> thank u ladies for the baby dust. Let's work hard towards our 'goal' together!! Sprinkle bb dust to everyone!!
281847.gif
The more the merrier!!!
281848.gif

<font color="aa00aa">Lyn,</font>
I knit during lunch time....go home no time to knit liao... U really like swimming hor? If I ever swim, I'll take my own sweet time &amp; swim slowly ....I think swim slowly is an enjoyment &amp; relaxation....swim fast no stamina is one reason, 2nd reason out of breath easily, keke.... Btw, did u put on the cap? Since u swim so often, gotta protect your hair...

Wow....long weekend leh.....so happy!!!

yeah yeah
281855.gif
So many tons of baby dust ard.. Soon baby news will be flooding into this thread..

Wow, long weekends.. SO how U gals going to spend them..
281856.gif

hamasaki,
You had your lunch?

qwer,
It takes a while and some practice to swim faster. I swim fast cos I wan to really excercise and burn off the calories from all the potato chips and chocolates! haha...

I used to run as excercise... but now cannot already... so swim is the next best option

My hubby working tomolo till sunday

hamasaki,
sat, my hb's family coming over 4 dinner.
sun, going out dinner with my family.
mon, HB leaves for UK.
haiz.. it's gonna be a sad, long wkend for me.
hope i dun cry buckets.
281867.gif

Bluebells, how long will ur hubby be going off to UK..

Pat pat sayang
281876.gif
, come and chat with us.. then U wun feel so lonely..

sayang sayang Lyn, then U will be quite lonely liao at home.. will U be going out or to ur mum's plc..
281889.gif

ur hubby is really very busy at work or is he a workholic..

hee hee...
i say also shy... 1 month only lah.
But this is the 1st time after marriage that we are apart. Last time pak-tor time different mah. hee hee..

dun be shy shy bluebells.. i understand how U feel..

Me Last time when my hubby went for some overseas course for only 2 wks, both of us cried leh.. Each time he called me, both of us sure sob sob on the phone..

281892.gif

hamasaki,
ur HB so loving one...
eh, don't think mine will cry. so far, he never one leh. only i cry everytime.
hmmm.. i think this time also no exception.

<font color="ff0000">Hamasaki, Lyn,</font>
My hubby also gotta work tomolo, Sun &amp; PH leh.... I'm used to it liao. Lyn u used to it?

<font color="119911">Lyn,</font>
Ya....really need time &amp; practise in order to swim fast. Remembered u hv back injury last time right? So swimming is the best exercise. I've knee problem....some of the soft bone wear out...doc also advised me to swim but lazy lah...must bring barang barang to public swimming pool.....so 'ma fan'.

hamasaki,
My parents will be leaving for Bali. I am not sure exactly when. Maybe I will stay at home and do my work lor...

bluebells,
If you dun wanna cry at the airport, send him to the airport and leave lor... haha... but sometimes "bu ren xing" la... When my hubby goes to UK and meet me, I will send him till Heathrow and take the train back... I dun see him to the gate. Like that wun cry so much lor... cos at Changi, we sure cry... but bobian cos my parents will be sending me off oso...

qwer,
Yalor... I cannot run already cos I will get backache after that, then gotta lie on bed to rest. I think better take care of your knee... cos it's a vital part to walk and move around...

I remembered I still gotta go to the UK for a few more months to graduate
I think I will "bu she de"
. Hubby's aunt was asking how he will cope with housework when I go over to UK...

bluebells, who knows.. maybe he will cried leh.. 1 mth not able to see each other.. sure miss each other like mad..

hi qwer, I'm lucky that my hubby is not working on weekends.. We have to go out to settle some things..

Hi Lyn, Okie sure.. stay at home and try to complete ur thesis asap.. If U're bored, can come to this forum 2 chat chat.. (hehehehhe)

hahahahha Lyn, U can jio me to come in to chat with U.. Just tell me the time and when U be in..

If I can make it, will sure come in to yak with u..
281904.gif

Oh this long weekend will be bz as usual for me.... Bz cooking, preparing meals for my gal &amp; doing all the housework. When bz, u notice time flies super fast!

Half hr more to go &amp; I'll knock off liao. Njoy ur long weekends ladies....chat on Tue liao.
kao_byebye.gif

wah qwer,
u 5pm knock off one ah.. so good.

lyn,
if i am not working, i can't chat with you.
cos i at home no internet connection, tat's y u never see me log in on wkends or holidays.

It's ok.... I guess this weekend you will want to spend more time with hubby also
281925.gif
. I remember last time when I am back for holidays, my hubby will bochap his boss and wun work late and everyday knock off at about 8pm, then we can have dinner togather every nite... now... haiz... weekends also work.

<font color="ff0000">Hello, I'm here again!</font>
281937.gif

Juz pop in again to kpoh a bit b4 I log off my PC. I knock off 5pm on Fridays only. Other days will be 5.30pm.

<font color="0000ff">Thanks Lyn,</font>
Ur HB works but nite time still come home mah....so he still can accompany u at night. Read books or magazine if u feel bored. Else can go shopping lor....I long time never go shopping already
281938.gif

Ok, this time really gotta go....tata!!!
kao_byebye.gif
Njoy your long wkends!
kiss.gif

Lyn, since u're hubby will be busy working these few days, then grab this time to do ur work.. Hope U're able to complete it soon, then U can fully relax and do other stuffs..
281942.gif