Support group - Miscarriages

hi ryne, no worries.

glad to be able to share my experience.

the 'mini pool of blood' happened when i woke up from the d/c, its the bleeding from the op. after that its just like having normal period for a couple of days, 4 to 5 days

for the natural m/c, it was also normal cramping, nothing too severe, just a tad more pulling than normal. of course everyone differs. cuz it was so early on, like 5 days after period was due, the period came. although it was positive on the preg test. its also known as a chemical pregnancy.

as you're almost 10 weeks, i think its better to do a clean job, ie. d/c.

i think there's no harm getting a second opinion. so that there are no 'whatifs'.

for my first one, i already started spotting and gynae checked that there was no heartbeat. it was also not at the week 8 stage as it should.

the pain of losing 2 will never go away.. really hope a new one can help to cushion the pain a little.

hope the best for you.

take care

thanks ladies for your support and words of encouragement. I just went to see my gynae for review after the dnc, everything is fine. In fact, I feel quite ok now, don't feel weak. But still have some discharges...really hope I can try for another baby soon...felt so sad to see people with newborn babies when I was at the clinic.

HI Lynn....*hug*... thou time will heal but I think the memory will always be there... that you have lost your foetus... I don't think I can erase it.. it will always be with me for the rest of my life ba...mayb like hb said... since not fated... we have to learn to let go...:)

hi jappooh,
I oso jus had a natural mc on 7th feb and 1st menses jus arrive yesterday. U r my motivation, i want to try my best to ttc this cycle too.. May i know wht did u eat after ur natural mc to bu back ur body and conceive so fast again naturally? Hope u can share ur tips with us who hope to conceive a healthy bb soon.. Thks.

Hi freesia,
I did the chromosome test but my gynae didn't tell methe gender of my baby. Btw, wat test did your gynae did to ensure that your womb is clean?

Hi Ryne,

My experience differed slightly from Twinangels'.

I actually lost the baby at home after a bout of very high fever. Waterbag actually burst at abt 2pm, though i wasn't aware at that time. I felt water coming out but it did ot occur to me.
Then 3 hours later, very heavy bleeding occured until baby came out..i suspected, but couldn't confirm at that time.

2 hours later I was at the A&E waiting for my Gynae. Doc came to check and confirmed BB was gone. Arranged for D&C next morning at 7am cos he said there's still bits of placenta inside.

Not sure if mine can be considered as a combi of natural m/c and D&C. Now looking back, I might have preferred to have D&C than natural cos I was at my 13weeks, and i would rather have my bb extracted out properly. But anyway, it was too late before i know it.

I was put under GA for the D&C, hubby said i was in the OT for an hour. I felt nothing at all, not even after the procedure. To the extent that i asked the doc if i was under GA and that the procedure was really done cos i really felt nothing.

I was admitted for 1 night at Mt E and the bill came up to about $3500.

My D&C was done on a Monday, Gynae gave me MC till Friday, but i asked for another weeks' extension since i was feeling very weak and had to do confinement for 2 weeks.

hi sleepiey & twinangels,

Thks for answering my qns and sharing ur personal experience freely. I'm really grateful for everyone who contributed to this thread here, cos I realised how impt it is to share, so that others like me know that we're not alone in our suffering.

My d&amp;c will be done on Mon morning. Am told to take two pills (called Cytotec) at 11pm on Sun night. This will cause cramps approx. 3hrs later, and bleeding, which can be v heavy. Sounds scary... actually quite upsetting to me. <font color="0000ff">Did anyone take this b4 d&amp;c? Can share what happened? Is it v painful after taking?</font> I thot d&amp;c is jus to go hospital and everythg's done there under GA. Wasn't aware of having to take pills.... Isn't that like inducing miscarriage on myself? (my case is no heartbeat. i've no bleeding so far)

Cytotec is for opening up the cervix. i took both times when i need d&amp;C. first time i was already experiencing some bleeding, so after taking the medicine, there was bleeding like menses spotting.

second time, no bleeding before that, and after Cytotec, did not bleed also till after the d&amp;C procedure was done.

mild cramping can be felt though. what time is ur d&amp;c? how come take at 11pm?

hi Lynn,

So relieved to see a reply here. Am quite panicky now... even re-thinking the d&amp;c if I hv to go thru what I'm told will happen.

Supposed to register at 7am. Procedure will be around 8.30am/9am. Fast from midnight, so one hr before (11pm), I take Cytotec.

Gynae wasn't at clinic when I went to collect the medication. It was the counter lady who gave me instructions. She said I'll experience "cramps/big stomachache" (her exact words), and "don't be surprised if your pad gets quickly soaked thru' with bleeding.. cos it can be v heavy". Isn't that scary?? Esp. when I've not experienced any spotting/bleeding b4 in this pregnancy...

If the bleeding is like spotting or light menses, then I think I can still psycho myself into thinkg I'm having menses like normal. But if it's like severe cramps and heavy bleeding, which may happen at 2am/3am, and I've to endure it all the way till 8am+, I dun think i can go thru it. Sorry to say this, but I'll feel like I jus ate a pill for abortion...

Could tat lady hv exaggerated or given me the worst-case scenario? Actually when I spoke to gynae over the phone the day b4, he only say to take the pills at what time, then to fast, then go hospital at what time, etc. He didn't even say if the pills will cause anything. Think I better call him 2moro morning to clarify, for peace of mind.

Lynn, do u remember what time u ate Cytotec? Is it also a few hours b4 d&amp;c?

Those who've done d&amp;c, were you given any pills like Cytotec to take at home, a few hrs b4 d&amp;c? If don't hv, pls share with me too, as I need to know if the pills are really a must-have. Tks!

I took cytotec at 11pm as instructed the night before the dnc, about 10-15min later, while i was still on the phone tokking to my sis, i cld begin to feel some cramps, so i hung up the phone, quickly go brush my teeth. 1 hour later, bad cramps, very bad....i guess that wld be how a contraction wld feel like, this bad cramp is still tahanable. But 2 hours later, thats when my nightmare began. Very very bad stomache, so bad that I started to vomit and had diarrahoe simultaneously. I get my hb to call the gynae he said take panadol first if really cannot take it anymore, I can go to TMC at 4am and he'll alert the nurse that I might be in earlier. Anyway, then while I was having diarrahoe, i could feel a blop came out as well. Afterwhich, the pain slowly ease off. Sorry if this has scared some of you....but like what my gynae told me the degree of pain varies with individual, maybe I'm just so unlucky...but everything is fine nw.

Hi Lynn (keroppi78),
Thanks so much for sharing! U dun know how relieved I am just to see your post! It's really useful for me. I did read abt pp going thru' quite bad experience w Cytotec, but all non-local websites/forums. The other Lynn (dreamiez) didn't really experience significant effects.

Guess it really affects diff pp differently. But I'm not willing to take the risk myself...

I'm sure there're many in this thread who did d&amp;c... Can someone pls share if it's possible for d&amp;c to be done without having to take Cytotec or any pills? Did someone just go hospital without having to do anything other than fast, then go under general anaesthetic, and when u wake up, it's all done?

It's already distressing losing your bb. Now I'm even more distressed knowing I may hv to make myself bleed out what remains inside me. Sorry if I'm grossing anybody out here. But I'm really grossed out myself!

Ryne: my D&amp;C was done in the afternoon. around 1.30pm. took cyotec at 10.30am in the morning.

I think it varies for individual?

Hi Lynn(dreamiez),
Thanks for replying again. Were u already in hospital at that time, 10.30am? 3hrs seems to be the time the pills will take effect (like what the other Lynn said, and what I'm also told). If I can also take the pills 3hrs b4 d&amp;c, then it may not be that bad, cos I'll probably be knocked out by the time the effects come....

I jus spoke to gynae. He said according to his experience, abt 50% of his patients who took cytotec did not experience anythg, 30% or so get some bleeding, and 10% get very heavy bleeding. 10% doesn't sound much... but I could still be in that 10% right...

Just like when my bb's heartbeat was detected earlier... gynae said that means 90% safe, but 10% possibility that not safe, eg. heartbeat may stop. Well, I fell into that 10% didn't I?

sigh... guess i'm really still v upset abt losing bb. Medically, I can't even call it a bb... or even foetus for that matter. It's an embryo.

I told gynae I didn't want to take cytotec. He respected my decision altho he said cytotec helps to reduce complications. At first he said he'll delay d&amp;c to afternoon, so that cytotec can be first inserted vaginally, but i won't bleed or hv cramps. But later he told me he'll still do d&amp;c at 8am+. He'll use other methods like ultrasound to help. Hope he's not trying to rush thru the procedure cos it's his off day tmr.

If anyone here did d&amp;c without having to take cytotec or any pills, I'm still keen to know. Tks!

hi, ryne.

i took cytotec too. Actually you don't have to be too worried abt taking it. The first time i took, i experienced cramps and bleeding before the ops but it is bearable. It feels like the usual heavy menses cramp.

The second time i took it, i didn't experience any cramps or bleeding at all. My ops was at 8.30am and i took it around 5.30am.

I think it is good to take coz it opens up your cervix... makes it easier to remove the stuff from your womb.

hi, bryest.

If the chromosome test was done on the POC, the results would definitely show the gender. Coz the no. 23 pair of chromosome is the sex chromosome (either XX or XY).

Or did your gynae only test you and hb's chromosome and not the POC?

Re your 2nd qn, my gynae just did the normal ultrascan to check whether the blood clots has all been cleared from my womb.

hi freesia,

Thanks for your encouragement. Guess it's not the pain or physical discomfort I'm worried about. It's more psychological... Cos the last time I had cramps and bleeding (other than the normal menses), it was a couple of years' back, when I was on my way to deliver my perfectly healthy #1 from an entirely smooth, uneventful pregnancy. I'm somehow affected by the irony of it all - this time, the bleeding is due to miscarriage.

Anyway, you do have a point. So I called the gynae again to ask if I can take Cytotec later than 11pm, so that I dun hv to suffer any effects for too long. He instructed me to take only 1 pill at around 1am/2am. I'm comfortable with that. So that's my final decision.

Thanks to all of u who replied. U've been most helpful and comforting!

Ryne: i took it at 10.30am at home and straight away headed to the hospital after that..

Don't think too much about it.

I'm trying to make myself believe that if it's really meant to be mine, nothing will take it away from me.

the dreaded menses came back today.

Hi Joanne,
i didnt take any bu after my MC. I am too sad to do anything. I took clomid cos i have PCOS. my mense is like sometime 3 mths dun come type so clomid help me to ovulate. When i get positve after the MC is a surprise cos usually when i clomind my mense will be on the dote but that cycle i was on biz trip so very upset cos i suppose to be my ovulation period. Think too stress liao so ovulation delay and i strike.

It good if u can bu like taking DOM, black chicken soup? I didnt take any that time cos i was upset and on the other hand have to take care of my elder son.

Hope to hear good news from u soon.

Hi Lynn(dreamiez),
Thanks! U're right. Just don't think too much abt it. It'll be over b4 I know it.

It's approaching midnight, and I'm eating all I can b4 I start to fast. haha... Will try to get some sleep altho' I really doubt it. Will wait 2 more hrs before taking one Cytotec. Cross my fingers nothing major will happen...

Just now even asked hubby to take pic of my tummy. Think half of that bulge is fats, but whatever lah..
It's something I can remember by next time.

I'd like to share about my m/cs.

Just did my 2nd D&amp;C on 27 Feb - no heartbeat @ 11 weeks (it was the same day as my wedding anniversary) ..... my 1st D&amp;C was 18 Jul 2008 - heart beat stopped @ 7 weeks.

I was devasted since I had 2 m/c within a year .....

I did a chomosome test on my 2nd foetus and the casue is Down syndrom ....... it was a girl (we name her Angelina, cos she was our angel who brought us a short 11 weeks of pregnancy joy and hopefully she can rest in peace in heaven now).
She's my lovely bb girl and I'll always remember her - Angelina, mommy love you ........

As I'm not sure of the 1st foetus gender, cant give him/ her appropriate name.

When we go temple, we'll pray that both of them can rest in peace in heaven ......

For Angelina, it could be a blessing in disguise that the heart beat stopped naturally ..... my HB was comforting me that it maybe good this way rather then we've to make the difficult decision to terminate the pregnancy while she's alive when we do the DS test ......

I only hope that I can get back on my health quick and try to get preg asap. Ive been boiling herbal soup (ba zhen, gingseng soup etc) from Yu Ren Sheng twice a week to bu and I drink chix essence and make red dates tea too. I hope I'm doing the correct thing. My both m/cs I didnt tell my mum since I dont want to make her worried. I also abstain from seafood since afraid of inflammation - actually doc said I can eat anything but I just being cautious.

I did both D&amp;C in KKH and a pill was inserted into my virgina to dilate my cervix and have to wait for min 2 hours before the D&amp;C can be performed.
After half hour later, I got cramp and pain but it was bearable - just like very bad mens cramp. The D&amp;C surgery was very short - went in at 1pm and awake from the GA at 2pm and discharge from Day surgery at 3.30pm. My 1st M/c I rested for 1 week but my 2nd one I only rested for 2 days - did it on a Fri and following Mon went to work.

I went to my doc for follow-up last Sat and he said my womb has healed but he would like me to do Saline Test to check the interior since I've been spotting non-stopped for 2 weeks.
He has prescribed to me this hormone pill call Norethisteroine to stop my mens.
He told me to go back to see him 2 months later .....

I hope I can get preg soon and deliver healthy &amp; normal baby successfully.

I also wish all the ladies her a speedy recovery and get preg and deliver healthy baby too.

Best Wishes!

Just to share my sorrow.
My first D&amp;C was done on 7 Nov 08. Baby 10 weeks with no heartbeat. The D&amp;C was done in KK. Thinking to try again after recovery. Unfortnately I need to do a
Second D&amp;C due to uncleared left over tissue. This time round, I ask for a second option from my sister's gyn and done the procedure on 26 Dec 08.
Waiting patiently for my AF. Months by months goes by..till March, there is no sign of my mense until first 2 weeks of march..I got a sever cramp. I decided to go back to my gyn for help. He do a scan on me and tell me to get ready for worst situation if the 2 weeks medicine did not work on me. The worst situation that he mentioned was to go thur another round of surgery and input IUD. IUD? Shocked?

To discuss further, the doctor said it was Hematometra. Blood retained in the uterine cavity probably due to the closure of Cervix. The procedure that the doctor go thur is known as Hydro Thermablotor (HTA). Read this linkhttp://www.permanente.net/homepage/kaiser/pdf/23055.pdf
After this procedure, I need to input in IUD for 3mths. I have my surgery on 14 March 09 and currently resting at home. I have to went thur so many things and now cannot plan for any baby. I'm sad. My body is really very very 'Siong' I need to rest at least one year. To all the ladies out there..Why? Our only wish is to have a bb of our own.. it that so difficult. I just don't understand.

Tang

My heart was aching as I read your post - yes, all we are asking is to be pregant and deliver healthy bb successfully.

I dont understand what is IUD?

Can I ask, immediately after your 1st D&amp;C, were you spotting and for how long? Can you advise who is your doc in KKH?
How about the 2nd one?
Did the doc told you how long you need to rest before you can try preg?

Dont be sad, let's jia you together.
We should be able to attain our goal to be a proud mommy, maybe our path to success is tougher then other girls out there ...... but we should be able to reach "there".

Hi BabyDream,

IUD is a birth control.An intrauterine device is a birth control device placed in the uterus, also known as an IUD or a coil. The doctor mention my canal of the cervix closure hence need to input IUD for 3mths, to let the closure remain open. I was shocked when he mention cos IUD is a birth control device and what make it for another usgage. I was worried.

After my first D&amp;C, I think abt a mth. Doctor in KKH..I think I address him as Doctor Ng. The second D&amp;C, spotting may be a few days then it stop totally. I have not asked the doctor and I believe shld be in 3 mths. The article on HTA did mention after the procedure, need to input the contraceptives.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intrauterine_device
I'm ok but sometime dishearted. I'm worried and the most regret thing to know if I'm not able to bear any child anymore. This will be my greatest regrets in live. You should know.. A woman but not able to give birth.

Hey Tang

Pls dont scare yourself with the childless thoughts.
The IUD is only for 3 months rite?
So just rest and tiao your health this 3 months then you can TTC.
U on hospitalisation leave for how long?

I wonder after your 1st D&amp;C in Nov08, did you go back to your KKH doc to check?
Did he check for you properly that it's "clean" inside?
I wonder how come he didnt detect the "unclear tissue"?

I'm trying to stay cheerful - a happy mind/ body will heal faster, so you should do the same too.
Negative thoughts will only worsent matter ......

i also hope to get pregnant too.. thats my greatest wish. its been a month and the pain can still be felt greatly. if only there''s a second chance. but there's no 2nd chance in life...

does anyone know? i've been having regular spotting/discharge since my delivery on 18th feb.. heavy bleeding for 1t few days, then become light after that. last week, the light bleeding become just 1-2 apots each day. however, i start to bleed again on tuesday. 28 days after my labour. this time is like normal menses. is this normal menses? it should not come so early right??

Hi Cherise

I think the long spotting is unusual.
Pls consult your gynae.
I was spotting for 2 weeks and my gynae gave me hormone pill call Norethisteroine to stop my mens.
He said the bleeding need to stop in oder for the lining to build up.

I also did a D&amp;C on 24 Feb 2009 when i am 8weeks preg. I have bleeding after the operation for one week. Then, stop. Then, on the 3rd week, bleeding again for 2 alternate days. Then, now, on and off and browish discharge till now. Gynae review say the it is clear and she can see the line. But i don't know why i still have spotting (very minimal but irritating). Anyone experiece this?

cherise,
i think it's normal because i think i had the same thing. spot for 2 weeks! and one or 2 weeks later i got my mense. the thing is after my D &amp; C, i had a followed up check up with my gynae as per her instruction. my gynae mentioned everything looks good and clear. so, i just trust her...

i didn't really bother much abt my spotting but i did monitor my own cycle and make sure i do not have exceptional heavy mense, pain and cramp and make sure the cycle is regular the following months.. 3 months later, i got pregnant again (unplanned. we did not take precaution, just let nature take its course) and my girl is coming to 17 mths now

may be i should add my name to the list

Nick: ariajo
Number of M/Cs: 1
Pregnant after How Many Menstrual Cycles: 3
Month of Delivery: Oct 2007

wind,
i think i ever ask my gynae before abt the spotting. she told me it's the healing process of the womb lining. the lining is shedding so that new lining can be formed...

Aria_jo, babydream,

my menses is v heavy... it soaked my maternity pad within 3 hrs today. i am not sure.. could it be: after my delivery, the bleeding is not that heavy. then this menses become v heavy?? my cycle is quite reular.. this heavy menses starts 28 days after my delivery, which is the time menses will come. is it due to this? usually how long will this last?

wind: see what line?

after D&amp;C, the bleeding stopped within 5 days. with abit of spotting a few days later, which my gynae says its just blood that didn't cleared out within the first 5 days.

maybe the spotting is cause of this?

long spotting could be hormonal imbalance? as in your body trying to adjust back.

Lynn,

I went back for my doctor review 3 weeks after the operation the doctor say say can see a line in the womb. I think refer to womb lining. She said if the womb is not clean, you will not be able to see the line. Yes, i saw that one line too. I also inform her about the spotting which at that time stop on last Sunday (before i see her). She say ok. but i didn't expect the spotting continue again on last Friday. The spotting is very minimal ( i just have to wear panty liner). 4 weeks now. Very sianz...
I am eating "bak fong yuen" now, hoping is just hormonal imbalance and i will have normal menses back. My gynae didn't give me any hormone pill to eat..therefore i am a bit concern after reading babydream's comment.

May i ask what is PCOS ?

Hi Ariajo,
I know you ..you are from Oct 2007 mummy. I also have a boy born in Oct. I always read but seldom post.

Hi Freesia,
I just collected my the chromosome results on my baby. It's a baby girl. The results shows that one set of the chromosome is abnormal. It is trisome instead of a pair. Gynae say it's the cause of the stop in baby's heartbeat.
Did ur gynae say anything else on your chromosone results?

Did you do the sperm test? My gynae told me my hubby's sperm test shows only 5% normal sperms, 95% of the sperms are abnormal.

wind: link for more about pcos. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pcos

seek a second opinion about the spotting? I still think it's not normal.

I remember i was spotting when i was ovulating like 2 cycles after the m/c. turns out it was a hormonal imbalance. I turned to tcm and it did help greatly.

Is it neccessary to do a sperm test?

hi freesia,bryest,
just received my n my hb chromosome results,everything is normal.what a relief.I was so worried if anyone of us is a balanced translocation carrier.

bryest,
wat is the diagnosis of ur hb sperm test?athenspermia?was he given any medication to improve his sperms quality?

lynn,
may i noe which tcm r u seeing? It is good to do a sperm test to find out ur hb sperm quality n qty.my hb oso did once.But our current gynae didn't encourage to do sperm test coz he said sperm test is subjective.we're seeking a 2nd opinion

hi,bryest. My chromosome test is also a trisomy.. random occurence.

Did't do the sperm test... did you gynae give any suggestions to improve your hubby's sperms quality? I've asked my gynae abt doing sperm test previously as well, and she said it is not really necessary... coz there are millions of sperms and only 1 (which is usually the strongest) will reach the egg.

hi, avocado... ya, i was also relieved after my chromosome results was out. What sort of 2nd opinion are you seeking? Btw, can i also know which TCM you are visiting currently? Does the doc also assess the hubby? I know you have mentioned in your earlier postings, do you mind giving me the details? Thinking of switching TCM doc. Thanks!

I had a natural miscarriage ard 10 days ago...supposed to be 6 weeks but sac size shows only ard 4+ weeks... can anyone share how long is the bleeding for a natural miscarriage supposed to last?? my bleeding stopped for one day but came back again today heavier...feeling a bit worried...

Hi Freesia,
The gynae say have to examine my hubby. Did ur gynae say anything else on ur chromosome test? Btw, who's ur gynae?

Hi avocado,
How's ur chromosome test?

hi, bryest.

Nope, my gynae didn't say anything else, coz my hubby and my chromosome reports are ok. My gynae is dr. joycelyn wong.

Like to make a request... would you be able to keep me posted (either via this thread or PM) on the follow-up recommended for your hb? Coz i am considering whether to send my hb for the sperm test too after seeing your post...

Avocado has posted -- her hb and her chromosome tests are normal too.

Did you do chromosome testing on yourself &amp; hb?

avocado:
I'm seeing one that's near my office. I greatly see the difference from being on tcm and not being on tcm. based on how my body was recovering from the 1st time m/c and 2nd time m/c.

I don't know if i should get my hubby to do the sperm test not. since it's been found out that i have a balanced translocation. would it affect the chances?

wind

Since you've already consulted your gynae, if she thinks it's ok, you should be fine.
Maybe different doc have different opinion about the spotting .....

Hi Freesia,
Sure. Will let you know after I seek another opinion. Planning to see wat my tcm says 1st.
My gynae only did chromosome on my baby. He didn't mention abt my hubby or my chromosome. Is it a separate test? How did ur gynae do the chromosome test on u and ur hubby? How much did u pay for the chromosome test on your baby, u and ur hubby?

bryest: its a separate test. how was the results for the chromosome for your baby? if it's fine i don't think they will ask for you and your hubby to do the test as well.