Support group - Miscarriages

cherise,
how are you? how many days have you bled this heavily? if it bled more than 1 week this heavy, i think you should see your gynae immediately to rule out secondary infection or something..

wind,
oh really? you also oct 2007 mummy??

cynn,
how long was your bleeding already? i checked the internet and apparently the longer you're into your pregnancy, the longer is the bleeding..one mummy cited she bleed for 1 week with painful cramps and spotting on-off for another 1 month. her gynae told her it's normal for a natural miscarriage to last 3-4 weeks. so, don't worry. but if you have prolong heavy bleeding,then may be you want to make appt with your gynae.

Hi Lynn,
My gynae say my baby's chromosome result shows a trisomy. She has abnormal chromosome. Should me and my hubby go for our chromosome test? How is the test done, how much and where can i do the test?

aria,

after my labour, i bleed (not so heavy) fr a few days.. then i had spotting (discharge of blood clots i think) for the next 2-3 weeks.. 28 days after my labour, heavy bleeding starts.. my cycle is 28 days so i am wondering if this is the real menses... cos someone told me its normal for me to be like this..

its been a few days.. my menses not that heavy anymore.. so.. i am not sure... i will be seeing my gynae on the 1st of apr.. think after that i wanna change gynae cos my gynae nv tell me anything...

ariajo: oh i see, I don't know for natural miscarriage, but it should be normal?

bryest: ask you gynae about the test? when your gynae told you the results, never asked you all to do the testing? it's done through a blood test.

Lynn,

Which TCM you are visiting?
I think my case could be similar to your. I suspect i am ovulating now as i have this white discharge like the egg white ( very elastic) and this discharge is with blood/browish color.
What are the medicine you took?
Maybe when i am back in Singapore , i will seek 2nd opinion.

Ariajo,
Yes. I am 2007 Oct mummy. Thinking of having 2nd one and plan my timing to have in Oct again..I think when come to this Oct, i will sure feel "missing".Unlike others here, i am old 35 now. So, i don't dare to try again so soon, maybe 6 months later.

Lynn,

Ok. Now i think i know PCOS. I only know the Chinese word. I think for me too. Last time i only have period every 3-6months. And i had very bad gestational diabetes during my first pregnancy.

Hi Lynn,
I did my D&C and chromosome test on my baby by this gynae which i don't intend to go back to him. I'm now going to another gynae and he told me usually 1st m/c don't need to do any test. How much is the chromosome test in u and ur hubby?

wind:
I'm seeing a TCM near my workplace. I have the brown discharge like egg white during ovulation as well. (this was right after the m/c and before first menses back after m/c) she told me its this colour as the womb is still healing and told me not to worry too much about it.

PCOS can be diagnosed through blood test also. I'm going to take another test in june to see if hormones are back to normal. I'm actually more afraid that when pregnant, certain hormones low which also result in m/c along with the Balanced translocation that i have.

bryest: it cost us $800+ for me and my hubby chromosome test. and yes. 1st m/c they don't push you to get tested.

hi! jus want to update everyone as I had previously posted my concern abt taking Cytotec in preparation for D&C last Mon. I took 1 instead of 2 pills at 2am. (Supposed to take both pills at 11pm. D&C at 8.30am.)

Started having sharp pain and bad stomachache at 2.30am. By 3am, was having diarrhea and continue to hv even after D&C. Guess Cytotec affects pp differently. But really glad I didn't bleed. Gynae said my 1 pill worked like 2 pills, meaning it sufficiently dilated me enough for a smooth procedure.

Only had mild cramps and slight brown discharge for first few days. Didn't need painkillers. But on 6th day, I suddenly had heavy menstrual-like bleeding. Then next day, gone. Gynae said it's normal. Will see him in 6wks' time for pap smear.

Eager to try again once menses return.

cherise,
sounds like a normal mense since you mentioned heavy bleeding for a few days and tapered down..

wind,
try not to think abt trying for baby but rather let it be natural.. you ML because you want to ML and not because you want to make baby. and if strike, then its God's will. Just think along this line so that you dun feel the pressure everytime after ML. But of course after ML, stayed in bed for 15 minutes. Who knows you get lucky that month leh.you know, dun plan..sometimes you plan and you have expectation and it doesn't happen, you'll be doubly disappointed. Let nature takes its course, ok?

Anybody watched Marley & Me? There was one part where Jennifer Aniston's character got pregnant, and she went for scan at 10 wks. Doc broke the news to her tat there's no heartbeat. Gosh, I've never seen this kind of stuff in movies b4. Call me ignorant, but I've never really known this is one kind of m/c. That familiar scene gave me a lump in my throat... sigh... Still, that character subsequently had children successfully.

Hi Lynn,
Why did ur gynae recommend u to do chromosome test on urself and ur hubby? Did u do chromosome test on ur baby? How's the results?
My baby's chromosome result shows that she has a trosimy, abnormal chromosome. So does my hubby and me go for a chromosome test?

Bryest: baby results came back with a balanced translocation. as it was my 2nd m/c. gynae encouraged us to do. and results came back with me having a balanced translocation which the baby inherited. I've yet to find out what are my chances for having a normal baby. need to meet up with a genetist.

your gynae didn't ask you all to do the chromosome test? sometimes all these abnormal chromosome etc can be a one-off thing.

Hi Lynn,
What is a balanced translocation? The gynae who did the chromosome test on my baby also did the sperm test on my hubby. He only told me he need to examine my hubby cos my hubby's sperm result shows a morphology of 5% normal sperms only. But he didn't ask me and my hubby to do chromosome test. However, we did not go back to him as he is very expensive and charges us unnecessarily.

bryest: you can read more about the translocation here. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Balanced_translocation

It's genetic and be passed down to any kids i'm lucky to have. have higher rates of miscarriage also.

it's possible that the abnormal chromosome came from your hubby's sperm? I would suggest you seek a second opinion though. so what does your gynae tells you to do now?

Thanks, avocado... have you tried the reproductive clinic at EYS (paragon)?

Is the queue at thong chai long? I was reading some other threads... there is a dr tan siew lan also? Are they the same or different person?

bryest: nope different. trisomy means 3 copies of one choromosome instead of the usual pair. translocation is more like an exchange between 2 choromosomes.

didn't your gynae explain to you the results?

freesia: my gynae recommended EYS for TCM though.

Thanks, lynn.

Bryest, which pair of chromosome is your baby's trisomy at? Mine is at no. 8. I think the genetic report would indicate whether parental testing is required... Anyway, usually for 1st miscarriage, they will not do chromosome testing. It's more for those with recurrent miscarriages.

Hihi..

How's everyone?? Was bz running ard that I have no time to chat..

Anyone tried again and pregnant...

Share with us your good news... very motivating hehehe..

Hi Sandy,
Me too... busy to log on... has your menses come already?? Hope all of us here will get pregnant again very soon...

Hi Lynn, I had balanced translocation but by God's grace and miracle I delivered a healthy miracle baby gal last month, can I hv ur email add, so that I can share with you more of my experience?

It was my 1st preggy. During my 5th-6th week, i experienced continuous bleeding (like menses) for 1-2 week. Unti1 1 day i experience strange blood clot discharge with sharp pain & cramp,i had gut feeling tat i MC.

Doc did the scan & confirmed it . He mentioned the discharge could be the sac as he couldnt see it anymore. But there's still blood clot left in my womb (which still cause continuous bleeding) & refer me to do D&C.

I did D&C on 31/03. My bleeding stop on the same day & it was painless. Doc gave me 1 week MC to rest at home.

I'm supposed to callback the clinic for followup appt. When shld i book the appt? 1 week of recovery aft D&C enuff?

xltan,
i think 1 week follow up check after D&C is should be ok. The important this abt this follow check up is to ensure that all the blood and residue is really clean from your womb and to get confirmation from your gynae that your womb lining is indeed on the road to recovery..

hi.. i m ard 9 weeks pregnant and the ms symptoms stopped suddenly.. b4 it was v bad.. though no spotting/bleeding, i feel like i m not pregnant and am worried whether baby is ok.. are there any symptoms other than waiting for the scan to find out whether there is still heartbeat? really very worried now.. pls advise.. thanks..

Morning to ALL

Hi veryfatmum.. aiyo.. why give such a nick..keke...

Hm... you entered into your 9weeks ya..mayb you can juz go to any GP where they have the scanning facility to determine whether bb is ok..

No MS doesn't mean you are not pregnant :)... it could means you have passed thru the stage..

No worries ya..

need some advices. yesterday went for my ckup. was told by gynea that bb had stoppped growing. cannot detect heartbeat. did a blood test, goin back on mon for another blood test to test the level of hormones. If no increase of pregnancy hormones, will mean tat bb hv really died inside. =( was told to do a wash off procedure if so. Is this wash off the D&C procedure? can i know how D&C procedure? Can I choose not to hv D&C, but for the fetus to drop off naturally? I really dun want to vaccum my bb out. It feel like i abortin my bb instead. =(

Hi poky..

Yes.. wash off procedure.. will mean wash off...

In my case, I was put to sleep.. don't even know the procedure... and when I woke up.. really don't feel anything... juz loss... and for sure bb is gone..

My gynae did not advise to let bb go naturally... cos quite big liao.. and will take awhile and may not be clean... and may have infection as well... so not advisable... according to him ya..

Discuss.. with your gynae and hb. and decide for the best way..:)

I was also crying very hard at the clinic before I have to do it... cos I also can't bear to bb go..but guess is not up to us..

Hi freesia,
My baby is trisomy 14. Not sure what's the cause. Just know it's some chromosome abnormality and it's random occurrence.

sandy poh,

thx for the reply. may i ask how big was urs when it happened? My bb was 2.5cm yesterday, 9weeks. is it too big also?

my gynea advise was wash off, didnt offer other alternatives... but then, she may hv seen me to distraught, thus did not elaborate much.... i was also cryin too hard to ask details... keep askin if there any possibility of not able to detecting the heartbeat only.... tried searchin forum for cases like me. but happy conclusion that bb stil surviving. but sadly, didnt came across any. thus made me feel the chances r too slim...

i been cryin for the past two days alot, was thinkin, at present, bb is stil inside of me, there might still b a chance. but once the wash out is done. there 0% le. i cant bear to wash bb out. =( thus, really duno how hard it will hit me when i realise the pregnancy is really over...

Hi poky... I understand fully how you feel.. cos I have been thru.. and the decision was very hard.. esp for mummy like us who has been carrying the bb for weeks..

My bb was at 11weeks before conclude no heartbeat.. and I have started to bleed.. my bb was already 11cm... so quite big liao...

I also kept asking the gynae any possibility that couldn't detect heartbear.. but cos he is an experience one.. he was very sure..of the scanning... even thru v-scan also can't detect liao..he wanted to recommend me to another gynae at NUH.. who is also an experienced one.. for a 2nd opinion but hb was against it.. cos he felt we should respect this gynae who has delivered our kids... and he is a catholic.. and wouldn't kill a bb... all the nurses also advise me.. to let go... cos even if bb was to survive.. will not be a healthy bb... and hb felt bb and us were not meant/fated to be as a family.... so I was crying very hard...the decision was made on the spot

My SIL is pregnant almost the same time as me... and now she is into her 5mth liao.. when I see her.. will always remind me of my loss... and I know for sure it will always be with me...

I have now let time heal... but I will always remember this loss...