Support group - Miscarriages

nike,

yes i have been seeing YC for quite some time, after my 2nd mc, I went back to her again, she told me that the previous problem that I had, still existing. Then she told me that I could try next month, even though I have taken her med for only about 1 month. I am not convinced about this as I know that tcm med takes a while to have effect.

Read so much about good reviews about Dr Tan, so decided to go and try. He did acupuncture on my ears, tummy & leg, also give some pills and syrup to take.

I really hope my next pregnancy will be a successful one, having 2 mc are really tiring and depressing. Furthermore, seeing people ard me getting preggie one by one, is really stressful.

Hi stephy,
I understand what you mean, i have at least 2 colleagues preggie around me, if i didn't lose my BB in Aug, i'd be around the same stage as them... But the only way out of this is to keep trying.

So hang in there, ladies!!!

Hi Stephy,
I can't imagine fully the pain you go through especially with 2 losses for the past year... Next March when my 1st MC BB is supposed to be due, I'd feel similar pains as you

Did your sinseh mention why you have to suffer 2 MCs? Are the 2 related in anyway like weak constitution or whatever?

Hi Stephy,

I see.

Currently i'm seeing tcm @ serangoon north. His medicine pretty effective. Encountered bad cramps for weeks after my m/c. my cramps almost gone completely after taken his med.

Keep me update on your progress as well!

Hi Sashamama,

If I didnt lose my bb, my bb will also be due nxt Mar.

Are you currently seeing any tcm now?

sashamama,
dr tan didn't mention about the causes. most probably is dued to hormone imbalance and the quality of egg or/and sperm i think. i have been charting my bbt, and i showed it to him, he said it is messy.. asked me to continue with it. supposed to go back to him next week, but his appt is already full and he will be travelling too.

nike,
oic, my friend told me about the tcm that u are seeing too. actually, when i was seeing the ying chuan, my menses is more less under controlled liao. juz when i tot everything is ok, i had 2 mc. or maybe is my age that is catching up. dr tan told me that he sees many patients which are in their 40+, and had successful pregnancy. Though I haven't hit 40, but i think i might be facing high risk pregnancy liao.

re : rasberry leaf tea
btw, gals, I happened to come across some info on this tea, some article mentioned that it can help to PREVENT mc and strengthen womb. also, it can be taken before and during pregnancy. i have bought a packet to try too.

http://www.susunweed.com/Article_Pregnancy_Problems.htm

Hi Stephy,
Thanks for sharing ur experiences and the valuable info on raspberry leaf tea. The article is very useful too
Where did u buy the leaf tea from? Am considering

Hi Nike,
Can share where's ur TCM at Serangoon North? Good? Busy? Am considering to see one and the Clementi one seems quite far. I'm staying at Punggol.

Hi Stephy,

Any feedback from your friend's experience with the tcm I'm seeing now?

Hi Sashamama,

The one i'm seeing now is : -

Ban Choon Wah
Blk 154 Serangoon Nth Ave 1 #01-434
Tel : 62887439

My experience with him so far quite pleasant. He mentioned that i'm too skinny. My chances of getting m/c again might be quite high as my womb do not have enough strength to carry the bb inside. After taking his medicine i gain 3kg in less than 2 weeks. Wohohohohoho........

He is very fatherly & super encouraging.

I found this blog while doing my search on tcm. Hope I wont be sued for copyright! Ha.

http://www.ameliahun.com/Blog/2007/06/men-in-my-life.html

Any Christians here in this group?

I felt I have to share this:
Midweek Services On 5 And 6 November

Pastor Nerida Walker, founder of New Life Ministries and author of God’s Plan For Pregnancy, will be our guest speaker at our special midweek services in November.

She will be sharing on God’s plan and promises for childbearing in two separate messages aimed at helping married couples. Come and discover what God's Word says about barrenness, miscarriage, conception, pregnancy and childbirth — you will definitely be blessed!

Do attend both sessions as they will be different.

Dates: Wednesday, 5 November and Thursday, 6 November 2008
Time: 7.30pm
Venue: Rock Auditorium (Suntec City Level 3, Tower 4)

I had an mc a week after NDP. It's a long story, but it basically ended in me having a d&c.

My question now is when will the bleeding stop? I have been using pads/pantiliners since then and am not sure what's right/wrong. There were times when it was just brown spotting, but there've also been 3 bright red 'period'-like stretches of 4-5 days at a time. Once there was gushing and a clot came out too. I dun think (and I hope it wasn't) that was a 2nd mc coz dh n i only did it once 2 weeks before that.

Gynae called me last monday and said that I shd see him if it doesn't lessen by wednesday. I lessened, but it's still heavy enuff to warrant a slim pad (rather than a pantiliner). What should I do? He's off in China on holiday, so dunno if I should wait for him to come back or just see another gynae.

My mc was because the bb was near the cervix and the site of my old c-sec scar. I really want to try for another bb, but the thought of this happening again is scaring me off. And the unending period is starting to make me seriously worried

nike,
my friend recommended her friend to visit the tcm that u are seeing, after seeing him, her menses cramps has lessen.

claire,
sorry to hear about your lost. when will your gynae be back? if it really disturb u alot, maybe u shd juz go to another gynae.

Hi Claire,

Sorry to hear abt ur loss... I've not heard about prolong bleeding before though. My D&C was on 11th August, 2 days after NDP, then bleeding lasted for 17-18days and stopped. It was bright red for abt a week, then brown til the end. Took 40 days from 11th August for 1st menses to come. And this time is menses cos red and lasted a few days. The only diff is last time my cycle abt 30-31 days.

Maybe u can do some online research on such complications? Did your gynae reassure you that such cases are random or you have a higher risk because of some factors?

Hang in there and be strong!!! Come in here for support anytime

If I'm still carrying my baby, I would be due to deliver him/her this morning at week 38. So sad..yesterday was my elder girl's birthday.. so every year when I celebrate her birthday, it also reminds me of the one I lost.

I hav a question to ask... My D&C was done more than 7 wks ago liao.... My mense is still nt here yet... I was wondering when will my mense be here. Or if there any wrong wif mi... My gynea told mi mense wld come betweeb 6-8 wks... But I read in the web, it is usually between 4-6 wks....Can any1 advise abt the mense thingy? Usually when did ur 1st mense come after D&C?

Hi funny76,

Been sometime since I saw you... My menses came 40 days after my D&C, which is about 5.5 weeks.

I think it may take longer than last time cos lining needs more time to build up.

Hi Sasha,

Oic... so I juz wait for my mense to come loh....Juz tat my cycle go haywire after my preg n my mc...hope I can get back my regular cycle again...

Yeah...been some times liao...glad u r trying again... Jiayou! I juz let nature take it course...dun wan to push myself too hard...dun wan to let myself get upset abt when I am able to conveive again... Thks!

Hi sashamama,

I've a phobia now.. especially since I've been have brown muscus discharge during ovulation every month after the procedure. I've been looking forward to seeing a clear discharge month after month.. but had been disappointed.

I'm not sure what's wrong with my body..gynae didn't say anything when I went for pap smear in june.. I'm really afraid of going thru mc again.

Hi bride0712,

I'm unsure what that means also... Did you bring up the discharge thingy to gynae? The fear of MC is great, but if we dun try, we'd never succeed... Let nature take it's course? BD around ovulation and see how? Are you taking BBT or using OPK etc?

Maybe you wanna join us in the TTC for 2009 BBs thread, the gals there are very positive

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1296508.html?1223967540

Take care & Jiayou!!!

Sasha,

Btw, wat is AF? Wat is D&C? Wat is BBT? OPK? LMP?So chim....many short forms I dunno... Some I can guess but some catch no ball...

TTC Terms
TTC: Trying To Conceive
BD: Baby Dance (Make Love)
LMP: 1st Day of Last Menstrual Period
CD: Cycle Days
O: Ovulate
DPO: Days Past Ovulation
2WW: 2 Week Wait (After O, For Menses To Come Or Not)
AF: Aunt Flow (Menses)

TTC Methodology Terms
FA: Folic Acid (Taken Daily To Help BB's Growth)
EWCM: Egg White Cervical Mucus (Appears When Fertile)
OPK: Ovulation Predictor Strips (Used To Test If Ovulated)
HPT: Home Pregnancy Test Kit (Used To Test If Pregnant)
HCG: Pregnant Hormones (Detected In Urine If Pregnant)
BBT: Basal Body Temperature
BFP: Big Fat Positive (On Pregnancy Test Kit)
BFN: Big Fat Negative

Preggie Terms
BB: Baby
MTB: Mother To-Be
SAHM: Stay At Home Mummy
FTWM: Full Time Working Mummy
EDD: Estimated Due Date
MS: Morning Sickness
BF: Breastfeed
M/C: Miscarriage
D&C: Dilation & Curettage (To remove unwanted pregnancy)

Hehe...

Hi Nike,

Thanks thanks, i compiled this sometime back. hehe...

I'm considering to visit your TCM in the next 2 weeks. 1st visit should be before or after or during menses or doesnt matter?

Sasha,

Thks! Wow...veri detail...Actually shldn't use Curettage(To remove unwanted pregnancy).....Is nt unwanted is juz nt healthy....

My doctor, adrian said i can start to TTC after my first mense which came after 6weeks of my D&C
Hoping to have a baby soon....

Jia you .... all of us... take care

Hi ladies, juz had my D & C done on monday...any idea when will the bloody discharge stop?

Lilian, yes...pls take care

Hi Lilian,

All the best to you, i also started trying right after my 1st cycle

Hi Sporty,

Some gals' bloody discharge ended on the day itself, for me, it ended only about 17 days later. First 7 days red, the other days brown. It depends on how clean the D&C was. If there're still clots, there'd still be discharge. You might wish to do some exercise to try and purge out the blood if the bleeding is quite long, as advised by my gynae. Take care!!!

sashamama, icic...mine's like slowly decreasing already and i'm so tempted to wear panty liners instead...heheh...hopefully it shd end by these few days...what kinda exercise can help to purge out the blood? i read on the previous few posts...great to see tha u are ttc-ing
jia you!! I wonder whether I can still have the mood to ttc...was actually planning to after i settled down moving into the new house, who knos I found out tha i was preggy few days before I moved and had a mc a month after i moved in...sighz...

babyrain, yes...going back for gynae visit next tuesday...hopefully everything's cleared...when did you do ur d & c?

Sasha,
Oic...

My bloody discharge is like straining for few days nia after my D&C...

But since then my 1st mense hav nt come yet....It had been 8 wks liao... Dunno izzit normal
...seem like many of u,the longest time is 6 wks...

Just to share.. the first bleeding aft the D&C i had lasted about 4 days. AF came 4 weeks later but not full flow. Then after another 4 weeks, normal mensus flow came. I had 2 normal mensus flow ever since but have yet to TTC. Reason cos hubby says not yet. Saying that i need more time to recuperate. Im really getting impatient as he doesnt understand the frustrations we're going thru. have i not done enough? i took alot of "bu pin"(hubby bought american ginseng for me to take cos his god-father said it was good for me), im still on folic acid daily and i took evening primrose, boracelle tabs daily. Am i still not well enough to try again?

my colleugue who had her preg with me will be going on her maternity in abt 1.5 mths.. another colleague of mine just got preggy also.. they are both close to me but i got to pretend each time that i'm ok.

ARGH!!!

Hi...

today i went for my first gynae visit.. and was shocked.. cos my baby's heartbeat stopped.. a few days ago.. i actually felt no nausea.. when i had nausea everyday and whole day.. for weeks.. now should be 9 wks old...

Doc recommended me to "wash".. is this considered D&C?

I am quite worried.. as i am scared whether it will be very painful.. can anyone describe to me?

I am very sad.. but have talked to my husband... and we both came to terms with it..

I hope to ttc as soon as i am able.. from the day i first conceive.. i can't believe it.. and then slowly accept.. and now.. no more.. i dunnoe how to describe..

Only that I am now more sure that I want to be a mother.. and my husband is also sure that he wants to be a father...

Wish to hide in my room forever.. but i think no matter what .. must face the world outside...

It seemed like my discharge is "ending" soon cuz today can tahan with 2 panty liners...now is to worry when will the normal menses come after the discharge stopped...haiz

ling, i kno how you feel...i'm sitted in front of 3 preggy ladies in the office...feel really sad looking at their tummies when they walked ard...yes, what u said is rite, have to pretend each time tha i'm ok and everything's alrite...

catechins, sorry to hear it
my case is similar to urs...my bb's heartbeat also stopped when i went for scan at 8 weeks...according gynae it stopped at 6 weeks+...sigh...yes "wash" is D & C, i juz went for mine last week...its not painful as its done under GA...the pain its juz the jab given to you to make you sleep...think we juz needed time to get over it...so when u planning to do the d & c?

Hi catechins,
Sorry to hear abt ur situation... The wash is considered as D&C. I've done a step-by-step process of D&C for gals to know what wld happen, it's very long though, read if you think it helps? I did mine at TMC - Thomson Medical Centre. I didn't even have the chance to see my BB's heartbeat. BB didn't grow beyond 6 weeks, did my D&C in 8th week.

"(1) No food and water minimum 6 hours prior to op, not even water. Get all receipts from your doc, may be able to claim from medisave.

(2) 2-3 Hours before the op, Doc gave me 2 pills to enlarge the cervix so that the tube can enter easier to suck out the waterbag.

(3) I nearly vomitted after abt 10 minutes but I stomached the med or I'd need to take again.

(4) I registered myself at the TMC level 1 admissions, takes about 10 minutes. Be prepared to pay a $500 deposit.

(5) The receptionist walks you to the day surgery ward, your hubby can be with you.

(6) Go toilet to pee (I even shit... :p)

(7) Come back to ward, strip everything, lingerie, jewellery, contact lens, put on the green surgical robe, wear disposable panties and hospital will give you a pad to wear. The nurse will ask many questions abt ur health.

(8) I started having slight cramps about 10 minutes after taking the pills and the cramps will be on off til your surgery.

(9) I started to bleed (not a lot) about 20 minutes after I took the pills.

(10) Just lie in bed to rest.

(11) About 20-30 minutes before your turn, another bed will be wheeled to you, transfer yourself onto that bed, and I smiled a goodbye to my DH, who left to run some errands.

(12) You'd be wheeled to outside the operating theatre and wait there for sometime til the op theatre is available and your doc comes. Another nurse will ask you many questions. If you're afraid of the cold, like me, ask for another blanket.

(13) This waiting time is the one where I succumbed to some tears as I say my final goodbye to my BB, telling my BB to be strong in his/her journey in his/her world and Papa Mama will be strong in our journey in this world too. I try not to over-dwell in this and succeeded, probably because I bawled myself crazy last night, crying non-stop for 1 hour. So my advice is to pour it all out prior to the op...

(14) Then you'd be wheeled into the operating theatre and will transfer to another bed. Your doc will be with you and administer the anaesthesia for you. I fell asleep within 3 mins and the next thing I know, I'm back in the ward and my hubby is beside me.

(15) Actually after the op, you'd rest in the ward right beside the theatre for 20-30 mins before you're wheeled back to the day surgery ward but I have no recollections of that.

(16) My op was at about 3 plus 4pm, and I was wheeled back to my ward before 5pm, very fast. At 615pm, I woke up to have a small cup of milo and some biscuits (from nurse), get changed and left.

(17) During my recovery time, my hubby went to settle payment and gave the cashier all the gynae visit receipts for medisave claim. He didn't pay more than the $500 deposit he paid and the cashier said we might even get back some cash after the claims (via a cheque).

(18) I slept through the car ride home.

(19) As for confinement, my doc says she doesn't believe in it but it's up to us. I guess I'd eat mum-cooked food for abt 5 days and drink some essence of chicken and some DOM and rest a lot at home. Some ladies go through strict confinement, taking lots of ginger, liver, longan and red dates tea, no bathing nor going out but I won't be following 100%, maybe 50%. Do what you prefer.

(20) After this D&C, I'd be bleeding for about 5 days, doc says. I need to take antibiotics and there're some painkillers given, take when nec.

(21) Doc says this is similar to menses and I might ovulate 2 weeks later but wear a condom and not TTC yet, wait til 2 cycles later, so I'd wait til 1st cycle sept, 2nd cycle oct then I'd try again. "

Hi sporty, i did mine on 3sep...
sorry to heard that catechins .. take care... dont think too much... just need to "bu" after the D&C and try again after that...
Eat lot of ginger... to remove wind... that what the old ppl said...

Did the doctor give you 2 weeks to rest at home after the D&C?

Me just finish my mense... it is very heavy compare to my normal mense. But still within 7 days.

sashamama,

Thank you so much for giving such a detailed description.. = )

at least now i know what to expect...

we need time to overcome... i cry on and off..

my husband is very supportive and strong.. so i am feeling better.. we just try again then.

At step 14 do u feel any pain?

my doc at TMC said that it should costs about 1k but 600 can claim from medisave..

can you eat dinner after that? After the op, i will go to my mother's house for confinement food..

Sporty, i will be going for the wash this thurs...

i am really feeling scared.. cos i scared of injection.. and i nv been in op theatre before.. i hope i won't freak out...

mine was a bit different from Sashamama.
I had a terrible time... doctor ask me to take the medicine at 10pm (1 night before operation) to soften the cervix. after midnight no food and drink... plain water a bit okay but not too much as instructed by the doctor.

At 1.15am.. i had a terrible cramp and break into cold sweat... went to shit too to remove all the thing... call the doctor as the pain was unbearable.. take more painkiller but to no valid... at 3am.. doctor ask me to go directly TMC.

Reach there, nurse inject 2 needles, one for painkiller, 1 not sure but very giddy after that.
took some water from nurse as i was too thirsty.

5.30am... push upstair as there is bed for me...
all beds are full that night therefore i have to stay at the treatment room. 6.30am husband went to register and pay $500 deposit.

at 8.40am, wheel to the operation room.. where i meet my doctor.. i was suppose to meet him at 7.30am at the reception but due to the pain, i was admitted earlier.

wake up at 11am... take milo and bread .. and went home... i have discharge for about 2 weeks... but is very mild

sashamama, ur description very detailed...very similar to mine juz tha i had the pills the nite before as my appt was at 7am in the morning, thruout the nite i had bloody discharge and contractions pains...and really cant get to sleep...

babyrain, icic...it had been one mth since urs was done...so ur menses came back after how long after the d and c? I did broil some chicken soup with lotsa ginger and sesame seed oil during my 4 days mc at home...I only took 4 days instead of 2 weeks tha gynae gave as i cant stay away from office for too long...also wanted to go back to work so tha i dun brood over it at home...

my bowels were also loose after i took the pills...i LS like 3 to 4 times tha night till even i reached TMC...was told tha it was the side effects of the pill...

catechins, dun worry...i'm very scared of injection also but i survived...juz painful for tha 1 min and u will be KOed...great tha ur hubby's supportive cuz thas the strength tha we need most...someone we can lean on...the cost of my d & c is abt 900 plus and all claimable from medisave...no cash outlay... after the ops, i felt sleepy like sashamama, once i reached home, i slept for a few good hours...after i woke up, i felt like it was a dream...

What I went through was not quite the same. I was given the one pill to insert into the vagina at home before heading to the hospital... to soften the cervix. There was no cramping nor bleeding.

Hi Catechins,
I didn't feel any pains, just menses cramps, not severe. Could eat porridge after that.

It must have been doubly painful going through the contractions and bleeding over the night...

Morning gals...thot i popped in before i head for my gynae checkup...have a great day ahead!

sashamama, yes...tha night was a loooong nite...cannot get to sleep properly becuz of the pain and kept thinking what will happen tom @ the d & c... n thinking why is this happening to me and my poor bb...anyways, its over now...juz wanna start afresh...

I did nt know can claim fr medisave...How did u all do the claiming? Dunno mine still can claim or nt...Been more than 2 mths liao...

Mine D&C more simple....done at my gynae clinic...no nid operating threater...After scanning check tat no BB heart beat...was told to do the washout the nxt day but I can't due to work commitment...So got to do ard 3 days later...the nite b4 juz pop in the dunno wat pills n was told to take pain killer if I feel any pain....was told nt to drink or take any food after 10pm... Quite scare of any extreme pain..

But still feel okie...The nxt morning 5 min walk fr my hm to his clinic n wait for a while for the operation. Gave mi the injection n I pass out quite immmediate.. The injection quite pain but juz dun look n endure...

After I wake up, everything was done n complete...I can juz go back hm...Was told by gynae tat I cld TTC any time as long as I am emotionally okie!

Was told mense wld come in 6-8 wks time....nt much bleeding after the operation...shld say was straining for ard 5 day nia...

But until nw still no mense...dunno wats wrong...might ask my gynae again if my mense still hav nt come in more than 2 wks fr today onwards.....

My cost for tis operation was less than $500..

my period is delayed, today is day 39 oredi, i am sure i am not preggie coz i did onli once this month and tested with a HPT oredi. i hate the wait of waiting the period to come, i just wanna try TTC the next month.. (but looking at the dates, i think suai suai will coincide with my biz trip). i was due to visit my gynae on oct 4th to make sure everything's alright after the chemical pregnancy, now i regret not taking time off to see her.

Hi Catechins
can understand ur shock, while u were hoping to see a heartbeat, wat greets u was the exact opposite, cry if u must and let ur body slowly heals before u try again.

Mine almost the same as Catechins n sporty. Juz tot everything is okie after the 2nd checkup(coz detected BB heartbeat)...but to mine n my hubby dismay tat no heartbeat n is a twins somemore in my 3rd checkup... But wat to do...life got to go on....