Support group - Miscarriages

Most ppl cook the ba zhen in watery soup type, which is bitter and not nice. My MIL boil it till very thick e.g. 2 bowls of water become 1 bowl. And she added meat (duck is better, chicken also ok), and the black dates. The black dates can cut it before put into the soup, so that the sweetness will blend into the soup. Put according to your preference.
Last time I always thought Ba Zhen is very difficult to drink, but after drinking my MIL Ba Zhen, I found it to be really nice.
Give it a try!

jhw,

I see. I thought u put in the meat whole day as well. I will try put meat.

Musicbox,

I think perhaps its the meat that add the sweatness. Cos Fu Hua bazhen has black dates in there also but no sweetness though. Maybe I will try to put meat in this weekend.

musicbox
thanks for your encouraging story..though sometimes i emo also..like asking myself if it will eventually happen to me not..

Serene
sorry to hear that..im also ivfer..are you also with dr zou? She told me my problem lays with my lining that i miscarry and told me to drink more LRD tea, eat more red bean soup and stay away from liang foods..you might want to take note..meanwhile, stay strong..your turn to be a mother will soon come!

mavis

Celestine/jhw
regarding the bazhen, you gals can add egg instead of chicken if you don't eat the meat..

jhw
ehhh? bazhen got bottles one meh? which brand? where got sell?

Chris
Egg is new to me too... if can add , i dun mind too... egg is nice !! i love eggs.
Yes, fu hua got instant bottle bazhen. My colleague is taking and i also took before... quite nice to drink... i checked the ingredients, all pure ingredients and no added stuffs...

6 bottles for $20. Usually she took one bottle per week.

princess

Cheers ~ let me know how you feel after adding meat

Musicbox

thanks for sharing your method..
I remember elderly told me Duck is "toxic" food
so better dun add duck.... add chicken instead

Yes, the meat will add taste to the soup, but even without meat, the soup will be nice also, the secret is the soup must be thick, and must put black dates and the black dates must cut it out.
Can also put eggs, i.e. hard boil the egg first, then take the shell off and put into the soup, taste like the tea eggs.

Princess leaopard,
The black dates given in the bazhen package is not enough, must add more, also most ppl just dump everything into the soup, without cutting the black dates, if you don't cut, the sweetness will not blend into the soup.

Musicbox,
i rem zhonghua doctor got mention to me before abt cooking egg in bazhen and eat like 茶叶蛋!!!
I suddenly rem!!!... thanks for telling us !! I love 茶叶蛋!!!

Ya, taste like 茶叶蛋.

Btw just to share not to wash the herbs, coz when you wash the herbs the good ingredients will be washed away too. I know most of you must be concerning the hygene, so best is to buy those quality herbs, where the herbs are very fresh and clean. If you must buy lower grade herbs, make sure is just a quick rinse, don't wash too detail.

You can use lean meat (pork). It does not go nua and I used slow cooker to cook it, i just drink the soup only and discard the meat (for long hour cooking ones). Usually herbal soup without meat is quite bitter. Egg is something new I am hearing too ;) JMHO.

yup princessleopard, as what musicbox said hard boil the egg and shell it then add into bazhen soup
hehe..im thinking of going to stock up later too

eh? I tot I saw jhw message but can't see here?

duck is very nutritious and tonic, duck is the only animal that can transform 硫磺 from toxin to normal. The old ppl said duck is poisonous probably is because duck can eat 硫磺, in many tonic soups are made using duck meat, the Taiwanese like to eat 姜母鸭during the winter, while the Korean like to eat 硫磺鸭 which is very expensive and tonic.
Duck meat is prefered in making bazhen soup, but good kampung duck is hard to find, so I normally use chicken.

Chrisl,

I see.

musicbox,

Till now I still dunno how to see good or bad quality herbs. At Fu hua, I just buy the most expensive ones. I do a quick rinse before boiling.

Hi chris, yes, I'm with dr Zou... have been following all these strictly so far

See you ladies talking about Ba zhen.. Hmmm... taking it is good? what it is for? I have Eu Yan Sang one... taste horrible... but I think I should cook the soup and drink it now right?

Thanks ladies for all your support. So far I have seen 2 doctors in China, 1 is American and the other is Chinese, so the diagnosis is pretty firm I guess. But I would still want a final scan from the doc back home before I pop any medicine to kickstart the bleeding. I'm flying back tonight, so far I dont have any fresh red bleeding yet, only some old blood discharge which are brown in color. I would rather be home for this ordeal with my close friends and family than be stuck here in China, esp since my hubby cant speak mandrin at all
Mum is already planning to "bu" me with a vengence.

I'm so sorry that we all have to go through this. Thanks Musicbox for your story, it gives me a lot of hope. It is especially hard since this is our first and we have been trying for months before finally succeeding. Hugs to all of you and hopefully we will all have good news soon.

Serene my TCM Dr Su ask me to take 十全大补汤 every 2-3days for 1month. Maybe u can take this 1st before taking ba zhen.

Jhw,

Think you can get those pre packed 'shi quan da bu tang' from eu yan sang.. I prefer their herbs cos all vacuum packed.. I feel it's fresher

Jhw, like wat min81 say u can get pre-pack or go fu nam or those chinese medical shop (yao chai dian) to ask them help u pack and cook it the way u cook ba zhen. "shi quan" can share with hubby and is good for them. Guys cant take ba zhen hor. :D

Thanks Piky and Min81

Piky,

一言驚醒夢中人, you are right, you just reminded me that the 十全大補湯 can Let my Hubby drink also… Good Idea !!!!

by the way, today i started drinking 蟲草泡生精 because it is a gift from my colleague and i don't want to waste it... I asked Dr Su if i can drink, she said it is very good for me....

Saw that you were talking about those bottled ba zhen.. I actually have a pack of 6 bottles.. The brand is Eversky.. It was given to me by my insurance agent 2 mths ago when she knew about my mc.. But i don't think i wanna take it cos had allergic reaction to the fresh ba zhen.. If any of you interested, can pm me k.. The expiry is 2014.. I don't wanna waste it..

Hi hi sisters, u gals talking abt ba zhen. May I know when to take it? During af can't take isit? I saw ntuc got pre packed ba zhen with other herbs leh, that type can? Or must buy from med hall better?

GBOB,

Bazhen can be taken any time except AF period. Take once a week is fine. So, u can take up to 3 times in a month. I saw the NTUC ones as well. I think buy from medical hall better. Cos we are concern about the freshest of the herbs.

Princess leopard, medical hall also got pre packed herbs in one pack right? Like ntuc kind. Cos I hate it if they po lo so me buy more ex herbs. Hehe...

GBOB,

I am not very good in this, I dunno how to differentiate good herbs. So, I went to Fu Hua and buy the $8 bazhen. They have $3, $5 and $8. They say the different is quality of herbs, so I get the most expensive ones.

I think my AF shd b Akan datang le... My bbt dropped from 36.68 to 36.56 this morning. Shd b telling me evil witch is on the way.... This month failed again...haha. Once I try the bazhen (which shd b 2 weeks later), I'll post here dear

Today was very tired of a drama between a close fren with us.
Wish to burst out my tension here. Before i start, need say sorry girls.

Last 2 week ago, is my BBF bday. Suppose a group of 4 frens are going to USS to celebrate wit her.
Due to the changes of job, bday girl could not cfm the date wit us. So no choice we have put the plan a hold until she able to cfm with us. We waited nearly 1 mth, still no news. So i assume she could not apply for the leaves, which i totally understand. Still we put tat date on pending.

Here come the drama,
Out of sudden this bday girl told us tat she able to get her leaves. It left us less then 3 days of working days to apply for the leaves. Prevent her from any disappointment, i quickly apply for the leaves and inform the bday girl it was a short notices which my office could not approve me. At the same time, another fren was at Texas for holiday, which could not get into her company email to apply leaves too.

Suddenly she blow at us. Keep saying we broke our promise and disappoint her & causing her to nearly cry in the office.
Saying we should apply our leaves before hand until she able to cfm with us.
On the actual day, Bday girl and another fren of mine continue to go USS. Since we could not apply leaves before hand. Before the actual day, me and my other fren Jio them for dinner aft the USS. Sadly waited the whole day, end up she push us away by saying we given too short notices and dun wish to have dinner with us. It been more then 2 weeks, no matter how we talk and explain to her, still she could not understand us.

I truly treasure this 5 to 6 year of friendship of mine.
Can't imaging bcos such a celebration it causes such a crack into the friendship of mine.
On her actual bday, is my 12 days of scan after my Clomid. Which is so imp to me. I cancel the appt away to wait for her calll and join her for dinner but end up she doesn't wish too. Now she saying i shd hv cfm the dinner with her before canceling the appt. Not tat i didn't, is the other fren whom went USS with the Bday girl saying they can't cfm bcos might be tired aft whole day in USS. Trying to let Bday girl feel tat i care for her, yet im like hitting the wall wtith my head. Not tat i dun wish to apply for leaves. i need to hear her cfm of date bcos i dun wan to waste my leaves. For this year, i have took alot of leave bcos of my MC and parents matter. Which tat bday girl hv seen all this with me. Yet she behaving this way bcos i could not attend one bday celebration.

She been thru Clomid etc before..
Shd able to understand how much rest i needs, so my egg will grow better. But cos of a celebration our friendship went down hills.

Sorry girls.... I need to let out my tension to feel better.
Sorry for the long post...

Celest,

i feel your bbf abit childish
how old is she?
Since she been thru clomid, she shld understand what u are going thru, even tired and still u take time to want to meet her for dinner, shld be more understanding towards u...
or is she very stress with her life tt she behave like tt?
I feel tt best friend shld not ji jiao so much since in.the.first.plc, she is the one who cannot confirm first

Jhw,
She already had pass 30.
Every year she been complaining how her hubby been negating her bday etc. But I can see her hubby already pulling all effort to make her happy. Somehow it alway doesn't works. Bday is alway a big expectation for her. Expecation is so high n cause so much tension on ppl ard. She use to be such a bubbly n caring friend. While im in the hospital for D&C, she n other fren was there for me. Im truly thankful for wat they did for me n that make me more cherish this friendship. Knowing her for past few years, i have nv miss out any celebration or gathering before. Sadly can't imaging such one celebration can cause hurt in the friendship.

Maybe she is facing some difficulties in life that changed her character .. how about asking her out for a good talk one day, instead of keeping a 心结 inside both of your hearts... maybe sometimes u see her good, but her actual life differs?