Support group - Miscarriages

linda / xuanting

I am 5 weeks old and since i know that i am pregnant i already having spotting which is very dark brown and afew times fresh blood. But i can say is very light spotting as i only use panty liner.

I went to do a pregnancy kit test again and found that the line became lighter. My gynae arrange for me to go for blood test and i will get the result today. since is only 5 weeks old, you think she will need me to go for D&C. Is it advisable.

Hi Crazy
If the line become lighter, means the HcG in your blood is lower. means the pregnancy might not be viable. However, have you gynae do a ultrascan or a vaginal scan, to confirm the pregnancy is not viable. Then see what she advise.
Going thru a d&c or not is very personal, for me I like to get over it asap. For others, they prefer to stay home and wait for the m/c to start automatically.

Hi xbliss,
Stay positve.

Hi redTea,
yes, stress is a sure big sperm killer. But Singapore, work is not easy lor... what to do?

hi crazy, i've heard that a lighter line means a lower hcg level (ie not stable) too, but let's wait for your blood test result. i m/c-ed at 5 wks too; my doc gave me duphaston to try to 'save' it during my first visit but it didn't work. i bled a lot and by my second visit, everything was gone and there was no need for a d&c.

i'm not sure if a d&c is better; my mom and friends all think that it is better to have everything cleaned out but i don't really want to insist on it since doc already said no need plus i don't really want to go through the procedure.

you take care ok!

xbliss,
asking u not to worry too much is probably cliche..but it is the golden rule not to stress n worry too much during preggie. things will work out for you...just enjoy n relax the preggie...ask yr hubby to pamper u alot!

have a safe 9 months

linda,
i try my best lor..will definitely "bu" myself more this round..afterall being healthy is the most important..lesson learnt after 3 rounds of mc. been going for holidays...it definitely helps to get yr mind off negative thots.

Hey thanks linda/xuanting

today i went for the blood test and the result of the hcg is lower than yesterday result thus i am really having a miscarriage.
Having a miscarriage is not a happy thing for me but as i have ectopic not long ago, i really dont wish it turn out to be another ectopic. Thus now i am feeling ease and much happier after seeing the result.
As for D&C, i probably has to wait for my gynae to call me as today she is on half day. My hcg is 17 as of today and i think it is going slowly so prob my gynae might wants me to go for it.

By the way, i would like to recommend my gynae as i can really feel she put in her effort to help her patient. Yesterday when i went to see her, i was telling her about my doubt for ectopic and you know what she said: "I am very sure i have checked very thoroughly during the laproscopy and believe you have a good tube and ovary thus i believe it could be miscarriage. As for your miscarriage, it might cause by the scraping during the laproscopy. As it is barely 2mths after the laproscopy, you are pregnant again." This is actually quite assuring because she keep telling me she didnt miss anything during the laproscopy. I have went to see other gynae and none of them actually dare to assure us. I think she deserve my compliment. If you thinking to get a gynae, you may consider her, yvonne soong from tmc.

Hey gals, finally my AF is here, today 3rd day. its been 5 weeks plus since my DnC... so glad everything is ok so far...

Hi Piggy mummy, my hub and I alternate between withdrawal and condom.

Hi Xuan ting and Crazy, take lots of rest... and do things that make u happy...

applemuffin, I am happy for u... jus wondering how to prep the longan/ginger/reddate drink? mus boil?

hey irene,

for me longan and red date, i just place it in a thermo flask with hot water. After awhile, i just drink it.
For ginger tea, i will boil with brown sugar.

hi crazy, it's definitely not easy to find a gynae that we are comfortable with. Those with bad bedside manners.. can be quite devastating. Nonetheless, i like gynaes who are direct and firm since i tend to be more easy going and think everything's ok. sometimes, reality bites do wake me up a bit.

i also boil the red date tea like you do, except i do not put longan in. The red dates "stem" need to be removed according to my mother in law. is that right?

irene, i usually boil ginger slices/longan/red dates in slow cooker at nite b4 i sleep. when wake up, u can have a nice supply of longan tea for the whole day
I dont put sugar cos i scare of diabetic...i was diabetic during 2nd preggie.

I am with Prof Wong - NUH. He is very direct with his consultation & is usually busy so consultaion is fast. But I think he did a good job with the last D&C as in, i had my AF 6 weeks shortly after D&C. Unlike another gynea i saw at gleneagles, I didnt have my AF and he wanted to have another D&C done to "clear" passage...to me, kinda crappy gynea. Read my previous postings if u keen. But i wont recommend him.

I simply de-stem the red dates, throw them into a metal flask with longan and add boiling water. next day, can drink le. I dun boil.
Lazy.

I had light watery yellow-ry discharge, no smell on Tues. Then today, it was creamy yellow, could this be ovulation? Now only 2 weeks+ after d&c. hmm...

Hi Crazy
A good gynae is impt to us...Glad you found someone you are comfy with. I also like my gynae, Kowa from Mt E. It matters a LOT and comforted me a LOT when after i wake from my d&c, he came by my resting bed, and held my hand while telling me tt it's ok. He assured me he only saw a lot of stale blood, no sight of life liao. (cos I was hoping prior to d&c tt maybe my foetus can be saved). I dunno, but when he held my hand, I cried... cos he is like a big daddy lor...

Linda,
from ur description, yes u should be ovulating. Coz actually the day D&C is like the day u complete ur AF..then the cycle starts.. so u say it's after 2weeks.... Thus, u should be ovulating now.
btw, that was what i experienced too. that time, so happen i had appt with my gynae, i asked him and he explained.

xbliss
Yah remove the stem so it will not be so heaty. Actually can get those without stem but my mil said it will not be very sweet.

Everyone:

Can i checked with you, what is the D&C charges. My gynae called me and ask me to do the scraping. She said the gynae cost is $1200. To me WOW, cause this exclude the usage of the operation theatre. And also you think is a must to do scraping as ever since 4 weeks pregnant, i have spotting and 5th weeks my hcg went lower. Just yesterday, i started having heavy menses. My gynae did not give me any option but just call me to arrange my appt so thus i thought if it is necessary. Firstly i felt if it is going to hurt me physically as two months ago i just had a scraping due to my ectopic. And also the cost is quite high.

thanks, irene. coming in here to chat and share thoughts with you guys really helped. i mean, who else would be able to put up with hearing me go on and on about how i feel about/after the miscarriage. i think we understand and empathise with one another best here.

linda, i'm also getting this runny, slippery discharge since yesterday (m/c exactly two wks ago) and been wondering what it is; it seems quite similar to the ones we get during ovulation and from what mulberry has shared, i think we're ovulating already?

a few nights ago, i dreamt that i gave birth. it was very real (to me then; i've never given birth before) i could feel the baby's shoulders, hands and legs slipping out. i was only like one month plus pregnant in the dream, but baby was already fully grown and ready to be born. it was weird lor. i wonder what it symbolises. i think i've gotten over the m/c; the only thing on my mind now is how i can improve my chances of having a smooth pregnancy the next time so i can't quite link the dream to my mental state now.

Hi Xuanting, u r most welcome... that's y we are all here to share and listen to one another. My husb now also dun wana listen to my sharing on this matter anymore, sometimes, i also dare not cry in front of him, he will get frustrated... sigh... As for your dream, I wonder if u can look at it postively? mayb it sybolises a new life awaiting u to care for him/her...

crazy.. my dnc charges were about $1200 after about 30% discount, its like a discounted price cos it was a recommendation from my gynae to this other gynae. but he was quite good and assuring, i would say he did quite a good job, his nurse was also helpful and pleasant, she held me hand during the injection of the GA. it was kinda safe feeling. somehow i hv this phobia of not waking up after a GA. i had the same fear when i had my ovarian cyst removed 3 yrs ago.

applemuffin & xbliss, is it any quantity, jus agar agar mix can right?

thanks..

my 2nd AFafter D&C will come in this few days, but juz now i c some brown discharge on my panty, and i wipe it has red blood, but nt much. I thoght AF come.but after 2 hr, i pee, and wipe din have any blood, then i sit on toilet bowl for a minute, and i wipe again, got fresh blood come out.But after an hr, i wipe again no more.Have anyone experience it?

Hey irene thank you for your advice. My hubby called my gynae to ask if necessary because i am bleeding heavily now. My gynae said in that case, i just need to take anti-biotics and go for hcg test again on monday. As she said is a must to see the hcg drop below 10.

irene, any quantity...i usually put more red dates...

my D&C work out to be about $900++ after medisave deduction, i paid abt $700 still...

Hi xuanting
Yah, maybe it is ovulation? Hmm... So we can expect to see AF in another 2 weeks?
Dreams - I think it is a symbol tt you will have a healthy baby to hold soon!!

Hi Irene
Yeah... my hb also NEVER mentioned abt this. I thot he quite heartless lor, after all I am the one who had to go thru the ops. But he told a close fren tt he didnt know what to say and how to say, cos he scare he say liao, I get worst. But honestly, I doubt he likes to talk abt it. So to me, I go find other source of comfort lor.
Glad tt we have each other here.

Hi Crazy
My gynae does it at his clinic, he charges $450 + GST, the anethetist (spell??) is $150. Cash or Nets. In all $622.50, at first I thot my gynae quite ex liao, now I see actually cheapest lor. kekeke... if you interested, he is based in Mt E, 16th Floor, Kowa Nam Sing. Very kind and assuring doc.

hi linda and the rest of the gals here,

i'm sorry to hear about your losses. its sad to know how mc are so common nowadays. i can totally understand what you gals are going thru now as i've 'been there, done that'. i had my mc at yr 2004 at week 6. never had i felt so devastated before, it felt like the whole world had collapsed on me just as i was elating on my preg. the only comforting news was, i didn't had to go thru D&C as my body had aborted the foetus naturally. we ttc shortly after and i didn't conceive after 15mth of ttc. and that was when i knew something wasn't right. i made an appt with kkh and did some blood test and scan and finally figure out the problem. it turned out i had blocked fallopian tubes. i had to undego a laparoscopy to clear the tubes, it was a painful process but i must say its all worthwhile coz i conceived my boy 1 mth after the op and he's now 14mth old. my advice to all you of you is, allow yourself to grieve, cry your heart out, find an avenue to channel your sorrows, dun keep everything to yourself. i find this forum a very gd place for pouring out my sorrows then, it really helped me along the way and i made some friends here too
last but not least, i hope all of you succeed in realising your baby dream soon!

linda, i want to say a big thank you to you for starting this thread. if not for this thread, i wouldn't have know how to pull thru the ordeal then. pls take gd care of yourself.

my 2nd AF was also v much delayed. Was previously 30 cycle consistently and the 1st AF after D&C was also 30 days but my 2nd one was abt 35 days. Went for v scan and was told everything ok.

but now trying to ttc but think everything has gone haywire. still tested -ve using the ovulation kit though is Day 18 already. hope my 3rd AF is not further delayed. unlike my 1st time using kit, i was able to get +ve results on 1st test and ttc successfully but ended mc. but now don't know how to estimate my cycle already.

Hi missy
Happy for you for your boy.
We are all here to share.

Hi Piggymummy
I had the same thots as xuanting, could it be implantation? It is supposed to appear roughly around the times we are due for our menses namely, the 4th week, 8th week, etc. Were you TTC-ing?

Hey Linda

sometimes guys won;t know how to say it, my hub is the very sensitive kind, but he also find it hard to talk to me about it. i guess he does not want me to dwell in it any longer.. thankfully we have each other here..

piggy and eunice, would it help if u let the cycle stablise first? cos my gynae say can ttc after 2 cycle, but i also heard some say after 3 cycle, but i guess all of us are different, so mayb can let the overall body hormones work go back to normal first?

i m not sure if this is known to u gals, I learnt that our mensus would come on the 14th day after the day of ovulation. so for those who can predict the day your menses will come, jus back count 14 days, and it would be the day u should ttc liao..

btw, what is implantatin bleeding?

Hi Crazy
AF = menstrual flow

Hi irene
yeah, women can talk abt it and share or just rant out our thoughts abt trying again...and then changing our minds... :p But u r right... men find ut harder to share emotions.

I used to use the 14 days thingy. but hor it is true only if you hv very accurate cycle. Some of us 28, some 30, some 45.. and most of us not every cycle same. I tried tt when my menses was more accurate but hor, still missed for 6 mths. End up, I realised, my ovulation is not on the 14th day. Mine normally around 16- 18 days even my cycle is 28 days - 30 days. I normally judge by cervical discharge.

Implantation bleeding is the light bleeding caused by the fertilised ovum burrowing itself and attaching to our womb wall lining. Not all women experience it though.

Thanx linda

Can i check if for miscarriage at 5th week, how long will we have our menses. It seems like i have heavy bleeding on 23rd and now 26th, it seems stopping.

Linda... IC !!! not wonder!! now I remb long ago my first preg got spotting, and i thought it was my menses.. now finally i know why!! Thanks!!

Anyone ever had this problem...On 10/05 I had done an UC. It showed that my sac was 5wks but very small. I went back to my gyn on the 17/05 to had another UC done and also blood test. The UC showed that my sac did not seem to grow and was told to come on 21/05 for another bloodtest and UC. On 21/05 my bloodtest result on 17/05 showed beta hcg level 4765 and 21/05 hcl was 5870 but from UC still can't see the fetus heart beat. My gyn said that this is not very good sign as the hcg shld increase by double for normal pregancy. I was told to come again on the 25/05. Yesterday, 25/05 I had another blood test and the result showed that it dropped to hcg 4693 and still no sign of heart beat. My gyn ask me to go for DC. Till date I have no sign of cramping or bleeding. Note: I have irregular mens and my cycle average to 35 - 38 days cycle. My DC is scheduled on Monday 28/05....I am at loss

hi Cindy,
i'm sorry to hear abt ur situation. I'm not a gynae but from ur description, ur pregnancy does not seem optimistic. Coz now should be ur week 7, right? Normal cases, ur hcg level should be increasing (as ur gynae mentioned) and shoud be able to hear heartbeat. Thus, i think high chance ur fetus has stop growing. Tat's y ur gynae ask u to go for d&c.
Perhaps to double confirm and also to put ur mind at ease, you should seek a 2nd opinion.
Take care ya.

cindy, sorry to hear about your tricky situation. I do agree with mulberry that it may be helpful to get second opinion. For my first pregnancy, due to late ovulation, the dates were all wrong so we only got to see the fetus quite late.. about 1 wk later than usual. In the end, the pregnancy failed.

I just saw gynae... and got another shock. The empty sac at wk 5.5 few wks back are now holding a pair of identical twins. I did not even feel happy cos the risks involved are even much higher.. about 4 fold as compared to a singleton. sigh.. dunno how come life is such a joke. I have to go through the amnio as a result of the previous failed pregnancy. If that is not positive, i have to end 2 lives this time round. sob. this really puts me in a very cruel position, right?

Hi crazy
Were you refering to your menstrual flow after m/c or are you refer the bleeding when m/c? I didnt have menses after m/c yet. And cos I went thru d&c and not natural m/c, I am not too sure abt how long would be the process leh. Can try check out other websites like www.americanbaby.com

Hi Irene,
No mention lah, we here to share.

Hi cindy,
Sorry to hear abt your situation. No heartbeat seen is not a good gauge to judge if the pregnancy is viable. Some women had foetus developing a late heartbeat cos of miscalculation of dates.

However, as the girls mentioned, with HcG dropping, it is not a good sign.

Alternatively, you might wish to postpone the scheduled d&c and see how it goes. If really is not viable, you prob experience spotting soon. Then schedule for one also not late. At least give yourself some second option tt it might be due to mis-calculation of dates.

Hi Xbliss
Stay calm, focus on happy thoughts. Life is such tt we have no choice but to go forward. Think positively, you might not lose them in the end isnt it? We will help you in your prayers. I dun know if you agree with my idea, but I would pretend it is still a singleton, go thru the process of tests. When everything is stablised, then HOORAY!!!! We will all be cheering for you girl!!!
Do come in and chat with us and keep your mind off things yah?

hi Cindy,
when u say it was wk 5 on the 10/5, was it by calculation or was it ur gynae did a scan and see the development/size of the sac?
if it's just by calculation, then as the ladies mentioned, u definately should wait coz the calculation may be wrong.

hi xbliss,
pls do stay positive. Don't think too much ya. Just treat it as a normal single pregnancy. Pls don't put pressure on urself.
Btw, how many weeks r u in now? (I'm quite superstitious now, i won't congratulate u until after u passed ur 1st tri

xbliss... stay POSITIVE, it can really be a double blessing, so think about all the good things, and be sure to stay high spirited, it won;t hurt right? your foetuses would feel be able to feel your happiness too!

mulberry, i think u r right, if i get preg again, i won;t breath a word till i pass my 1st tri!

cindy, i support the other gals, pl get a second opinion if u are not convinced... meanwhile, take gd care of yr health and have plenty of rests..

hugz

hi crazy, i had a m/c at 5 wks and my bleeding was something like 5 days.

hi cindy, i agree with the others. could you call your doc on monday and let him know about your concerns? it's only right for a mtb to want to be very, very sure before a procedure like that is carried out.

hi xbliss, not sure if i read your previous posts correctly; are you now having two separate sacs, one of which contains a pair of twins, meaning you're expecting three babies?

thanks gals for the support. shall have to try lor. xuanting, it's one sac with two, which is already a big shock. i can't imagine if it's 3.
btw, i hope my recent posts have not offended anyone. i was just wondering if it is very offensive for some of us who just had a loss, so pls accept my apologies if any.

xbliss,
i don't think the ladies here are offended (well, i dont). I personally feel it's very nice & comforting to hear success cases. Thus, pls do keep us posted of your updates. Wish u have a successful full term pregnancy ya. Jia you!

thanx linda / xuanting

Then i think it is quite close. I have light spotting and heavy bleeding which comes to about 2 weeks. So i should wait for my menses to come next month.

My gynae charged me $800 for the d and c but I could actually use all the receipts that I have and claim for pre-natal reimbursement up to $450. Hence, I actually paid $1000 from Medisave and never fork out a single cent but I even got back $150 cheque from TMC

hi xblis
Dun worry so much, treat it as a double blessing! happy for you

ya lor, xbliss. don't worry about offending anyone la. i also think hearing good news from anyone of us here is a relief and encouragement for the rest of us still hoping and trying, ie it shows that despite our unfortunate experiences, we are still able to ttc with success, and that good things also can happen to us one lor.

pls take extra good care of yourself and take lots of slow, deep breaths whenever you feel worried ok. i also hope i can come in and announce my good news to everyone here soon too!

go go jia1 you2!

agree...
maybe as we all take turns to graduate from this MC thread, we can form our own MC-turn-Preggie thread...afterall we walked this journey, experienced difficulties along the way, no one understand better than those who had rough it thru...

Xbliss, dun worry, we all happy for you!!! I remember when I first conceived my girl and 3 mths later, I told the girls in this thread, they were all jumping with joy!
It was a booster to their spirits and tt we can succeed eventually.

You boost our spirits too Xbliss.
Hang on there!

hi crazy
When pregnant, we can claim up to $450 from Medisave. Just submit the original receipts to the hospital when delivering. In our case, we can also claim though we had a miscarriage. So for me, I submitted the receipts to TMC for the d&c. Actually d&c can only claim $550 but with the additional $450 pre natal claims, I deducted $1k from medisave and hence got back a cheque from TMC... Everyone is entitled to this reimbursement when pregnant....

roxyz,
the nurse din tell me can claim from medisave, i pay cash..and now don know where i put the receipt(i thk i tear it off and throw)..

u mean u submit the reeipt to TMC main receptionist??