Support Group - Mid Term Termination Of Pregnancy

Hi ecym, thanks.... btw you mentioned that you and hb did some DNA testing. What is the name of the test, can you share? I am keen to do as well... scared of a repeat incident...
Hi, we were tested for peripheral blood and microdeletion FISH add on at KKH, reports were not out yet but the bill for both of us were SGD 1359.97

today marks one month after my dear son , Kenzie was borne sleeping soundly at Wk 21.2... last one month past in a flash with Xmas Day and New Year holidays come and go, just like that...

guess what I still have patches of blood clots staining my panty liner almost every day... so irritating, when will it stop! Till today, I am hoping to seek answers for my boy's chr report. Anyone knows if there's any linkage on Maternal's Protein S deficiency, IGUR and baby's chr disorder??

Looking at the preggers around me, my mind wandered how I would have looked like if kenzie is still in me. How wonderful it will be if kenzie chr report was normal. How I wish the past 1 mth was a super bad dream and I am waiting to wake up from this bad dream and all is well once I wake up... How I wish...

hi ecym,
Love and hugsss ~~~~~~~~~
I hope you will get over it soon. Be strong as you still need look after the #1.
We always here for you and ready to be your listener..

Am going in kkh for a mtpt tomorrow to terminate pregnancy of my 16 week baby who has defects... Don't know what to expect and scared of procedures and my hb wont be with me as he couldn't take leave... been crying on and off for the oncoming loss of my little girl, and have been researching on procedure and aftercare to take my mind off the loss.

Would really love some advice and info on the procedure itself and the confinement month, like dos and donts and what to eat as I'm estranged with mil and mom (who was abusive in my childhood) and is not on talking terms...

Thank you so much in advance...

Hi donchelsabb,

My AF came exactly one month later of my termination. But lasted for 3 days with no cramp or clotting. 2 weeks later after AF which ard my ovulation. I had another 3 days of bleeding. After termination, mensus will go go haywire. Be prepared. It is advisable to go tcm to nourish back your health. As termination is more invasive than giving birth.

Hi Moonwish,

Sorry to hear your lost. I experienced the same situation as u. I lost my bb at week 16 due to birth defects too. I feel for u. But we just got to accept it and let our babies be our guardian angels forever.

Firstly, I would like to advise u that your hubby company at this moment is very very essential as u will be going thru a very traumatic experience.. at this moment hubby is the closest person to walk this thru with u.

Let me tell u briefly my experience of mtpt. I was admitted tmc. Stayed 3d2n. i went thru a mini labour. I was induced with cyotec which is inserted vaginally in Every 3 hours. Max 5 dosage per cycle.After that must wait for another 12 hrs for another cycle. The number of pill insertion is dependent on how fast your cervix dilate. This was my first preg. That was why it took me so long for dilation. During my 2nd pill, my water bag ruptured. Contraction attacked me. I was injected with morphine. Worried of infection I was on antibiotic drips. Nurse checked on my dilation but bb not out yet. The process was slow and tedious for me. All were just a painful waiting game.

To cut the story short I waited till the 2nd night. I went to toilet and I could feel something at my cerxix opening. Nurse ask me to push a little. My bb simply slipped out and brushed against my inner thigh. The feeling was warm. I had no courage to take alook of my bb but was ard palm size. After that I was sent to ot for uterus evacuation in full anaesthesia. This is to clear the remaining placenta.

Moonwish, pls do take care and do a good confinement.

Thanks mumtobe, am lying in the ward now and my brain is quite blank, not knowing what to do as the first pessary was inserted already.

Not knowing what a confinement consists I'm not actually sure how to do a good one...

Hi mumtobe0813,

thanks for your reply... may I asked at which week was ur MTPT done? Till now (slightly over a month of my termination), there is still no sign of my AF :( SIGH......~:( As for TCM, do you have a contact to recommend???

Hi Moonwish,

please stay strong, both mentally and physically. Its a painful and traumatic period... but you are not alone. All the mummies in these forums have been through what you are going through now. I catered confinement food, bathed using herbal baths and drank longan, red dates and danggui tea through the confinement period. Please do take care....

Just want to update here, my unborn child was a boy, so sensing it might be a girl was so wrong. Either way I still love my bump baby... it was a long and painful wait, they didn't let me see his face, but we are going to cremate him... not sure how to go about doing it yet but we've a week. The heartache has only barely started, drowsy from painkillers and waiting to go for vacuum aspiration..

Donchelsabb, thanks for your concern. I really appreciate it. :)

Hugs to mummies who have just gone thru the traumatic experience :( I have braved myself today to visit this thread again and reading the new stories really upset me...

donchelsabb,
that time my gynae said AF will return in 4-6 weeks time, so dun worry ya. if after 6 weeks it still doesn't come, then better go back to your gynae for a thorough check. In my case, my AF came back after 4 weeks. I went to see Dr. Su from bkt batok Funan TCM, as recommended by some mummies in the forum :)

Moonwish,
Pls take very good care of yourself k. TCM said it's better to do a full confinement even for our case, half way thru pregnancy is treated as normal full term delivery. she recommended 40 days. anyway I did 25 days only. cos I felt that I recovered pretty fast physically, but emotionally, it's been a tough journey. basically eat a lot of gingers (cook vege with ginger, chicken with ginger, boil soup with ginger, etc) drink longan reddates tea in replace of water (I boiled it with bei qi and dang shen and gouji too). I still drink few times a week till now, can "bu qi". and also drink dom every night to keep ur body warm.

it's been 8 month since that tragedy, if you asked me whether I have 'recovered' and let go? I will tell you certainly, no. I don't think I will ever have emotional closure, but it has become a part of me and easier to live with it. I'm the not the same person I'm used to be, sometimes I do miss the cheerful/happy go lucky me before. till today I can still remember how my heart ached. you really feel it physically. I finally understand what it means when ppl say "heartbroken". it aches.

these 8 months I went through a birthday that is sorrowful, a wedding anniversary that is quiet, a Christmas that is saddening. we didn't celebrate any of them. if it didn't happened, we would have celebrated these days together, the 3 of us. but we do celebrate new year, cos we have to move on, and be ready for another new member again.

So mummies, I would say, give yourself time to grieve, be honest to yourselves, cry when u need to, scream when u need to. I still cry, even till today, when I see babies or pregnant ladies and stuffs related. but the frequency is reducing :) everyday I would look out from the mrt and search for rainbows. I'm still hoping that one day I could see them... so please ladies, be brave. we can lose anything but we cannot lose hope. that's what keep me going, hope, and the love for my husband and my babiES :)

Dear greentea12,

thanks for your encouraging words, as I typed I am feeling very sad about what happened to me, but at the same time, draw strength from the rest of the mommies here. My AF came yesterday (first time I saw blood and felt so happy haha) but I do agree with you that its good to start TCM to tiao the body. As for DOM, can you teach me how to drink it? I find the alcoholic content very strong! Also, is it ok to drink DOM when we are having our period? Thanks!

yay! congrates on ur AF! i was exactly like that when seeing AF for the first time after the procedure. like what a relief! but it was a mixed feeling, it also reminded me that i'm no longer pregnant. oh well..

for DOM, i mix 2 spoonful (not tea spoon) of dom and warm water. if u feel it's too strong then mix more water until u feel it's acceptable to u. i have cold feet and hands, but after i drink dom i do feel warm which is nice. oh tcm said do not drink dom during period and better not drink after ovulation, but i din ask why cannot drink after ovulation la. maybe scared will affect the egg quality?

hi greentea12,

thanks for sharing about the dom! i also have the problem of cold hands and feet... after the procedure i started wearing socks to sleep, cut off all cold and raw, spicy stuff etc... turning into a very scary and kiasu person now... its like very scared that wont be able to conceive again... *faints*

hello gals, sad to see this thread being active but at the same time, this is the thread where we found solace which we were seeking for...

donchelsabb - remember i was having on and off spotting after my MTPT for almost 4 weeks, my AF came on 12th Jan, almost 6 weeks after MTPT.

the past one week was a little torturous to me... I met some people who they last saw me in preggy state and so have to dig out the story again... sigh...

Hi ecym,

For me this is the biggest challenge. to blend into the society again, to interact with ppl around you. even till now, I still feel difficult to face those ppl whom I've shared my pregnancy news with. especially those friends/colleagues whose EDD were about the same as mine. I've becoming somewhat anti-social, best not to chat with pregnant ladies or ppl with young kids. haiz... I know it's not healthy keeping myself away from everything, but most of the time I just want to be alone. I just do things that can make me happy, and not to hurt myself. if meeting ur friends with babies would hurt u, then why force yourself rite?

But please dun be disheartened! we will see our rainbow babies soon :)

hi greentea12,

dont worry, you are not alone. even though I already have a son who is 2, i also dont like to hang around friends/colleagues with younger kids or those preggy women whose EDD are around the same time as me. Just the other day, I had one colleague come up to me to say Hi after i come back from leave and rubbed her swelling belly as she did that. at that point, i was on the verge of bursting out into tears! nowadays, i find comfort in my hubby, my son and my family. i dont socialize anymore (i even closed my facebook account- maybe a bit extreme but whats the point in staying in contact with my so-called friends who are just pretentious?) the only people i hang out with are 2-3 close friends who really knows what I went through (one my my friends had a MTPT at 18 weeks as both her twins died in the womb/friends who have had miscarriages or losses in other ways) or dont say hurting things to me.

Let's all have faith and i believe that one day, we will all be cradling our rainbow babies soon.

hi ecym,

sorry to hear that you had a horrible week. i had to repeat my 'tragic story' countless times in the past week that I was back at work. strangely, its sad but i feel that talking about it actually allows me to come to terms with it faster. nevertheless, dont take to heart other ppl reactions and stuff... i believe in kharma in that what goes around comes around. for ppl who genuinely care and are not pretentious, they will have good blessings in future, vice versa for those who are pretentious, gloat over misfortunes. dont worry, stay strong... being alive already means that you can still TTC again...

have faith!

I forgot to share that I saw a very pretty rainbow on my birthday while I was in Taiwan last week. Hopefully we can have our rainbow babies really soon.:)

IMG_3526.JPG

Hi makeawish1314, I am sorry to find you in this thread.

I read that your baby has only 1 kidney. I am not sure what prognosis you are given by the fetal medicine dr, but I want to let you know a human can survive on ONE good kidney! So please consult a urologist if needed.

Typically for a mid trimester abortion, there are two ways

1) D&E (i guess only recommended btw week 16 to 20)
2) Induced and labour abortion plus D&E

For Induced and labour abortion plus D&E

upon admitted to ward, you will be given pessary to induced labour, one pessary given every 3 hrs up to max 5.
If baby still not out by fifth, you will be inserted with luminary sticks to assist in dilation the next morning, the sticks will be expanded and will be removed after 6-8 hours.
then the dr restart the pessary protocol again.

Its a long waiting process but my gynae said is the safest method to abort a mid term pregnancy.

Hi ecym,

Thanks for the info. I know baby can survive with one kidney. The reason why I'm choose to abort is becos not only kidney problem, so easy. There's other problem coming up too. This is what the TMC specialist told me. I was referral to Kk's hospital. Still have to fix appt and consult the senior specialist before going on the procedure. The Kk's nurse told me that the abortion is no longer insert sticks etc. She said that it must be go through by normal delivery. I was shocked. That's why im not sure and ask anybody knows. Mine already 22wks. She say the baby become bigger, so have to do it by normal delivery.

Hi makeawish, I m so sorry to hear that.

Just want to share when I said insert sticks n pressary, it is also to induce delivery too, you still need to push the baby out and you can ask for painkiller every 6hrs. I had my abortion done at 21 weeks in early Dec. I stayed in tmc for 2 days for the procedure.

Hi ecym,

Thank you for sharing. I understand what you said now. Is the pain bearable?
Anyway, hope you are doing well now. Do take good care too.

The labour pain was intense but I have low pain threshold... Minutes before my baby was out even the painkiller did not numb the pain n I cried out in the ward pleading the nurse to call my gynae to get the baby out by c sect (midnight)...soon after nurse urged me to try pushing n the baby was out...the whole procedure was definitely not pleasant...I dun noe how much empathy kkh nurses have but tmc nurses were good to me...

I m doing alright but never my old self ...like you I also opt to terminate the pregnancy because of medical reason... No regrets in my decision just pure sadness that it had happened to us...

if you ever wish to vent, just post here, or pm me...The ladies here share n understand the pain you have gone thru n going to face...

Take care my dear

Hi ecym and Little KF,

Thanks for your care and concern. My MTPT surgery confirm on this coming thurs at KK. I hope I can take it the loss of pain and I know I have to be brave for the whole procedure.

Dear Makeawish1314,

please stay strong, for yourself and for people who care for you. It is not going to be easy, but trust that you are doing what's best for everyone, including your baby. Do know that all the ladies here and more than willing to lend a listening ear, give virtual hugs if you ever need. Take care.

may I know after the MTPT procedure including the minor surgery to clean up the uterus. We still have to go through the confinement period. Anyone has experience constipation after the procedure? Nurse got ask to go for an urine after the procedure and i have no problem with this. Only having constipation. Maybe due to drink those confinement herbal drink everyday to cause heaty. What methods/food/drinks to take in order to clear bowel.

Hello dear, hope you are feeling alright?...

To move bowels, just drink more water or you can also eat prune fruit or even prune juice. Confinement food n drink are very heaty. Also eat more vegetables.

Hello dear, hope you are feeling alright?...

To move bowels, just drink more water or you can also eat prune fruit or even prune juice. Confinement food n drink are very heaty. Also eat more vegetables.

Hi ecym, thanks for your concern. I'm feeling much better now. The procedure was painful. But heart more pain. Still having menses now. Normally when will this stop? By the way, I thought oldies said that during confinement cannot drink water. If to drink, only warm water but little bit only.

We understand when you said heart more pain...

The lochia or menses depends on individual, should be ard 2 weeks, mine on off spotting till 4 weeks then regular menses come 2 weeks later.

As for confinement rules, I believe theres a limit to follow. If your body tells u that u are too heaty u can't possibly ignore its symptoms and continue with the heaty stuff. Listen to your body hor...

ecpost: 6821204 said:
We understand when you said heart more pain...

The lochia or menses depends on individual, should be ard 2 weeks, mine on off spotting till 4 weeks then regular menses come 2 weeks later.

As for confinement rules, I believe theres a limit to follow. If your body tells u that u are too heaty u can't possibly ignore its symptoms and continue with the heaty stuff. Listen to your body hor...

Hi ecym, you mean after that still have menses? I alway thought after the MTPT procedure finish, the bleeding was menses. Thanks for your info. Anyway, when can I drink DOM? Am I able to drink now? I've tried drinking once today. The alcoholic was too strong.

Lochia is the elimination of the blood clots and other residue relating to post partum. See HERE. Once your HCG level is back to 0, you should be on your regular menses cycle.

Yes, you can drink DOM now. Best to drink before you sleep...

By the way, have you experience engorgement on your boobs? If you are experiencing that, get a massage lady to help you to clear the engorgement. Because if you have blocked milk ducts, you may develop fever with mastitis. Cuz I had bad engorgement after 5 days of my MTPT, but that was my 2nd pregnancy.

HI ladies
Need your advise as i will be going for aborting soon next week due to baby having no kidney. I will be induced and would be giving birth naturally thus how long will i be on MC??

thank you was your abortion procedure easy?? i am now in my 22nd week 3 days. I also need to know how much was the cost.
Thanks ladies

mine was pretty long, my initial protocol did not made me dilate. I have to go thru a second protocol on 2nd day before my baby was out. All in all I stayed in TMC for two nights, my cost was $7k plus medisave deduct $1500.

It was a mentally torturous procedure...

I was at 21 wks 2 days

oh now i am scared! thought it will be a simple procedure. Moreover i do not have any water in the water bag, i dont know whether that will make the procedure more difficult. I better prepare myself for the worst :(

Can i know wat was ur problem that u needed to abort the pregnancy?

my baby had chromosome 18p deletion and his growth was 2 weeks behind...

dont think too much prior the procedure... that's my only advice to you

sure i will be going for the counselling tomorrow and by law have to wait till 48 hrs before agreeing to the process. Is tat true?

Almost similar to me...

I tried naturally unsuccessfully for 1.5 yrs...managed to conceive via IVF on first try but need to abort... I do have a 3 yo girl