Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

Hi Trustbaby,

How have you been huh? Yeah I m thinking hard what I k do. Racking my brains to try to complete the project. Been faithfully taking dr zuo medicine. The ivf bill came n with grant, no need to pay cash except all the check up.

Mi still thinking of FET. sign. Think my bosses are not going to be happy. But I have set my priority right. how many days MC can FET get huh? Is MC or HL huh?

Hi sunbelle,
Once you are in the mode to TTC pls don't give up. Once u stop u will lose the momentum. You seem on the right path emotionally to conceive. It will be very soon for you.

They will give u leave. HL again. Two weeks! Find a good month n when you totally ready go for it ! Jia you...whatever the outcome is, pls be proud of yourself n give yourself a pat on the back. U hv come a long way nothing will stop until you make the call. So, continue to Jia you!

Hi sunbelle, how r u? Thinking of u.
I m busy now back to work oledi. TTC is currently put on hold.

Hi Jenn, how r u n your little princess?

but the doc keep say the cyst is too small to cause such extreme pain. they keep think the pain is just all in my head. really feel very frustrated.

Hi anggie,

Recently I was given spontan to eat on the first 5 days of my period to reduce future pain. Not sure if u shld try. Ask your doc for remedy or seek second opinion.

Dear trustbaby

Good to hear from you. Been sleeping early these days cos tired at work.yeah also for the fact that been thinking abt babies. My mense still not here yet. Dr Loh did say before it will go heywire. But the tin is the ladies in ivf thread has confirmed that he is joining TMC from Jan nxt year. So I m quite kan cheong now as dec ivf centre closed for massive cleaning. So my chance left with Nov only. can I email dr Loh for menses to come? He did say before if Mense dun come also good for my adeyomoysis.

Consulted dr zuo . She felt that better for menses to stabilize. yeah the tin is dr Loh is moving on so mi hope to do FET under him.

Another difficult tin is my lunch khakis all jus get preggie. Mi really envy. This month by right is the month I m giving birth if I din miscarriage. Sad though but life is unpredictable.

Thanks Trustbaby, the doc keep saying there is nothing they can do. both at kkh & sgh. they just say it's all on my mind. because my depression make it seem like the pain is bad. they don't seem to get it that the pain is not because i'm depressed. they insist that the cyst is too small to cause such severe pain. keep insisting is my depression... feel so fed up. if seek 2nd opinion from another doc at same hospital, they'll just refer to my medical notes & say the same thing. NUH is too inconvenient for me. I can't afford to see private gynea now. how can i not feel depress with this constant bad pain and the docs say there is nothing they can do & insist it's all in my mind.

Hi sunbelle,
Good thing u tell me abt dr Loh. I din know but I could smell it tt he may be going somewhere else. Don't worry about who help u to do FET. Tho He has magic hands I heard but at the end it depends on u n your body n the right timing. At least u let him did the ER. so now take it easy n build your body first n u will be alrite. I m suppose to go bk to him in Oct to do 3rd round. But I m not ready mentally n not sure I will ever be.
I m currently seeing seeing doc fm TMC too on my cyst. Just to monitor my cyst condition. All in control so far no need to do laproscopy. Thank God! Cause the cyst n fibroids still small.
I want u to relax in having baby. It is a journey n do t be stress abt it. Whichever dr it is u will get pregnant. Don't let your body know u stress hor.
Just take one day at a time. Dr zuo is rite tt u shld relax your body first. Maybe exercise will help u to speed up your menses. Take good care.

Hi anggie,
Who can tell tt u hv no pain where they dont own your body. If u feel pain means u r in pain. Even if u r feeling depress u still feel pain cause they r physical. Seriously y not u see private dr to relieve your pain first be it it is your mind or actual pain u need remedy. U may not need many visits. Just a couple to diagnose your prob n the private doc will give u med to relieve. It will help your overall being n indirectly help u to feel good abt yourself n slowly n hopefully u will recover fr depression
Depression is common among women. I know tt I hv a tendency. So long u aware n keep busy n try not to focus too much on the pain u r on the road to recovery on well being. Take care. Remember too tt mind over body. Don't let body take over our mind.

Thanks trustbaby, tot of going back to private but really can't afford. lost my job in 2008, only recently found a part time job getting abt $100+ a month if no holiday. savings are slowly going down. see private doc is not what i can afford for now.

Hi anggie,
Is ok I understand. Take a step at a time. Try exercising occasionally it will make a difference. I realize that tt sharing is a form of well being as well.

Hi Trustbaby & sunbelle,

Since I back to work, I have been very busy... every day rushing to finish my work within the office hour so that I don't have to stay OT. When I am back home, got to feed my princess, change diapers and entertain her until she falls asleep... It becomes quite routine for me and also quite tiring. But when I see her smiling face, I know all these "sufferings" are worthy.

My gal is 6 months old already, time really flies. I'll be sending her to the infant care centre next week, the current nanny's place is really too far for us. My hb has been complaining very tired for him to travel 1 hour to and fro every day. Hopefully she is alright to go infant care.

I still want to tell you gals, don't give up! No pain no gain. Wish all of us here will get pregnant soon!

Hi Jenn,
I know not easy. U seem to be handling it well. Good on u.

Thanks for the encouragement. I m not sure whether I hv given up. Just taking a break n who knows I come ard again. Using different strategy.

Can anyone tell me whether if a person hits 40 shld she still be thinking of having children? I need supportive answers n am open-minded abt it.

Hi Jen,

Glad to hear from you. It is great to see their adorable face. Yeah mi din manGed to lose so much weight like you. However I m eating healthily n exercise regularly. Are u goin for second one now huh?

Hi Trustbaby,

Dun give up. The last eu REN Shang show on sat night show a lady with our problem gave birth to a baby boy at age 41.this is so promising for all of us here. So dun give up. Let jia you together heheeheee

Happy to see my khakis getting preggie but sad that unable to carry thru 9 mths. is really heart saddening at times. If not, really think my second baby will be due this month haha

Guess we jus have to look forward for greater positive pregnancy hehee . I m very sure we k be great parents one day. Soon hehee as long as we dun give up hope

Hi Sunbelle,

Thanks for the encouragement too...i want ppl like us to get pg fast. Unlike me i hv drag this for a long time. Not so healthy too and i hope i dont menopause soon.

i dont know why Dr loh going to TMC. i thot they hv bad reputation there due to last major newsl on the ivf mixed up? maybe he go there to boost the confident of the patient again. not sure.

Hi Trustbaby,

I think dr loh has this plan all along. Maybe waiting for the right chance to come along. yeah I oso believe sometimes we mus have the luck with the doctor. I felt skills n luck are equally important

Let's jia you together hehee

Hi Sunbelle,

I totally agree with you. There was a nurse in kkh said i shld try another doctor coz maybe i dont hv the right connection with dr loh. I dont know what to think at that time after i fail 2nd time. i truly believe dr loh has the required skill in ivf. just see your luck i agree w u.

that is why i just move on first and work first and see how things come along. further more, i was having a little health issues since my last ivf...not sure why maybe i think too much on why i fail and what is next strategy for me...we will see.

Yes we both jia u la no matter what status we are now.

Hi Trustbaby,

What health problems u have huh? Mi jus realized I put on lotsa of weight . Exercising only maintain think maybe is my diet lor . Working hard to lose another 5 kg. Actually lose Liao but gain back lately cos take dinner late too.

Have to strive to lose some more weight

Hi sunbelle,, I felt like heart palpitation. I happen to be in china recently for holiday n happen to visit a tcm there. The Chinese doctor said I hv gone through a lot in Ivf until I hv mental health issue. He said I need to relax. U know it is not easy when u ttc. We will tend to feel anxious of the whole process. Now I m better coz I kept busy at my work. Slowly my anxiety will be lessen. I hope. Cheers to good health for all of us.

i went for my internal scan ie transvaginal scan and found there were still cyst and fibroid visible though they were small. later i was asked to go for ultrasound right after my period to check on the cyst and fibroid again. It seem they are not visible at all. It is deduced that the cyst i had earlier was a temporary cyst. even though i still suffer with endometriosis, it is at its low.
i was advise to continue to try to conceive after giving myself a good break. Exactly what i m planning now. I m not giving up yet in my heart....

How are u Sunbelle and Jenn? For all u know i may go back to Dr Loh when he goes to TMC next time....see how. My plan is one year later. hehe!

Hi Trustbaby,

Very happy to hear that the cyst is not permanent.
yeah continue trying. Last Friday when I was at Dr Zuo, a 43 yrs old concieved her second child. yeah so dr zuo is sharing with me to encourage me cos lately I m feeling dwn after keeping high hopes for long.

Mi waiting for my menses to report after failed ivf cycle. After one menses in aug, I have missed the menses for more than two months. Wanted to see dr Loh yesterdae but he is packed til 20 Nov. wanted to see got chance to do FET during Xmas period so that collegues will not notice my absence. But really how long do u think we need to rest for FET huh? Dr zuo say 5 days are enough.

Now feeling so bloated n always having headaches . Guess is the lack of menses. Tested negative.also wishing n praying hard is positive hahaha

Right now I m feeling low as my lunch khakis is preggie now. Seeing her sometimes with envy n also got reminded of my loss. If I din miscarry in march, my baby is born in oct this month.

Hi Sunbelle,

FET is a very straightforward. Dont give yourself too much pressure cause i used to look at things like i need to be super careful after i put the fertilised eggs in. In actual fact, you just need to be yourself.

i have a fren whom did the SO iui, similarly situation of another type of fertility treatment. Of course not as stress as IVF. Right after the treatment, she went to work and did OT and stood all day at the seminar, and came home tired and exhausted. When she told me i freaked out and told her how could she....she said no choice...work is work she cant escape.

She did her treatment in KKH. Soon after was CNY, she went back her hometown and did a scan to check if she is conceive not even do the blood test first and found out that it is negative...strange to use this method to diagnose if u r pg or not. So she thot not successful again cause this was her 2nd attempt. She went to drink wine and ate raw salmon (yee sang) and jump here and run there.

later when she came back to spore she went for her blood test which was scheduled on the 17th day and was found she was pg!!!!!....i totally flipped. how can this be and how could this hv happened. she was surprised herself...later during her pg, she fell on her stomach while crossing the road...aiyo...terrible things to happen...and what is worst for me is she flew to overseas during her 2nd tri for work in China for a few days and continue to work.

after seeing her, sometime i feel, take things easy in life. ignorant sometime is a bliss. if we focus to much, the body will know and this will eventually add stress to our system and may cause undue stress. Not sure if u understand where i m coming from. i remember i was super kiasu and overly careful until i was so stress over the whole cycle and not enjoying it.

if it is meant to be it will be, dear....dont worry...even if u only hv 5 days to rest...if u hv to go back to work...go! life has to move on..u did your best to plan the best time the rest is up to God or nature to take its course....

what happen in the past u cant control...however, if u can u would hv known how to rectify....we hv to learn to move on so that what is in the past especially the sad part has to be in the past. bring along with u the good memories that will help u be better. try...n u will be happier...not a good time to be sad and think back your loss while u trying to move ahead with your FET...have a clear mind and a brave heart and a calm state. you know you hv us here to see you thru...we are on the same boat...n hv experienced before the route. i personally want the best for you...so jia u!!!! u can do it.

Hi Trustbaby,

I m deeply touched n moved to tears as I read your post.
U have exactly the same mindset as I do not. I guess for the 1st IVF cycle I focus too much on the Embbies n don't dare to do this and that. That causes lots of uncessary stress to my body i believe.

Yeah I have plan to lead a happier lifestyle starting today. Went for a good morning swim n then to maxwell mkt to have good raw fish. Last time I will avoid all these but I guess all these are good omega 3. I strongly believe everything Is destined. ESP for babies too. My children room is long ready for them.

Now i m preparing for Xmas n Chinese new year. Lots of tins to be done at work. But after what i gone thru, to me, work dun really matter now cos I have put in Too much in the past but yet no returns. I have learned to leave on the dot which last time I will feel guilty doing so. Guess being mature also means know our priorities . Yeah mi strongly believe that we have babies pretty soon.

I m willing to go diffrent temple to pray too
haha let's jia you together

Dear Trustbaby & sunbelle,

I have been very busy with my work since I went back to work after my maternity. Every day like not enuf sleep, so tired when I get back from work.

I know it's difficult but sometimes really need to relax your mind... go for spa... go shopping... do something you like... I remember during my 2ww, I was also very nervous and worried, then my husband got me a lot of TV programs to watch. I was watching Top Gear, it was so funny that I laughed until my tummy pain. Then when I went for my blood test, I told Prof Wong will it affect the embryo when I laughed too much... who knows, the blood test was positive, I couldn't believe it at first... may be laughing actually helped, I don't know.

Dr Zuo always tell me she got this patient, that patient, all above 40 yrs old, try ivf a few times, and finally succeed. So, trustbaby, don't give up. I'm trying natural now, if next year March still no news, then I'll do ivf again.

Jia You! Jia You!

Dear Jenn,

Thanks for the encouragement. Its good to hear that you know....though above 40 is not ideal to hv children well...who knows...i m not trying madly but just try when i hv the chance and not forgetting that i m still a women whom naturally will want to hv a kid....

My mum kept on encouraging me to adopt...i dont know why i m not ready to adopt tho i shld be thinking hard at this point....even adoption is not advisable to prolong.....i m taking this one year to consider...

i hvt had enuf sleep since i went back to work too....somehow i kinda feel it is better than not able to sleep in the past....As for your case, it is a natural thing for new mum. You probably hvt strike a good balance yet in your routine...Once your kid grows up it will all be worth it. Hope to hear your good news soon...keep on trying and continue to give us the inspiration we need on this thread hor...best wishes!

for lap surgury (key hole), is there a need to remove the stitches. I was told tat when i go for my follow up check need to remove the stitches. feeling so afraid. is it painful?

Hi Bluesblue,

Yes, I just did. My stitches were removed during my 3rd day after discharged from hospital.

I went back to Dr. Peter Chew's clinic to remove the stitches. His nurses were very careful and yes, it is painful to me cuz my pain tolerance is very low.

I have tumbled onto this thread as I was hoping to look for support group on endometrosis.

I was diagnosed to have this condition in Year 2009 during my medical check up. I went through a surgery by Dr. Peter Chew in Year 2010 when the pain become unbearable.

Subsequently, I was put on a GnHR therapy for 6 months and was told that it will help to prevent the recurrence of endometrosis.

Last Tuesday, I was admitted again and underwent an emergency lap surgery. After the surgery, Dr. Chew said that my condition belongs to a much severe case. Endometrosis has recurred after 1 year.

I was advised to go through another round of GnHR therapy and to be reviewed frequently for the next 5 years.

Anyone here can share about any alternatives I can consider as Dr. Chew mentioned that GnHR is my only option instead of another round of surgery.

Anyone here can give some comments on KKH Endometrosis centre as well as the gynae specialists there?

Will appreciate anyone can share.

Hi Diamond
my was at kkh. I'm really afraid of removing the stitches. i was given abt 2 weeks apt after discharge to remove the stitches (which is next week). I'm really afraid of the pain. my cyst recur every year. althought it's small (abt 2+cm) it always give me alot of pain. & the docs always refuse to remove it say it's too small to cause so much pain. i was told i hv mild endo but the cyst is not blood cyst as what was tot base on the ultrasound. i was told the cyst contain some kind of liquid/mucus... right now my pain is relieve quite a bit but i think in 1 or 2 months time it will get worst again. the last time after abt 5 mths after lap at SGH. I went to KKH & they did a scan showing a 2+cm cyst again. this time round i don't know how long it will last.

Hi blue,

Can I know who is yr gynae?

What I can shared with u here is a little trick that Dr. Chew nurse taught me.

1. Breathe in deeply when they going to cut the stitches.
2. Hold yr breath till they are done.
3. Breathe out after they are done.

It helped me in the pain although it was still painful after that.
Dr. Chew asked me to remove the stitches 2 days after my lap surgery.

Yours is 2 weeks so don't worry too much!

Any other option for u to cope with yr condition?

Hi Diamond
I under sub case so it's any doc on duty. Thanks for the tip. they say tat jab or hormonal therpy all of which i can't take, fear of the side effects especially mood swings, depression. this was my 3rd lap for cyst. previous lap don't need to remove stitches. don't know how come this time need. so really scared.

1 doc say to remove my womb to stop all the pain. but..... for these past few years i'm 100% sure the pain will be back in no time.

Hi blue,

Removal of womb is for extreme case of endo.
My suggestion is that u try to seek 2nd opinion.

Repeated Lap surgery is no good for us and even Dr Chew don't want me to go thr another round of lap.

Hormone therapy do hv a lot side effects especially the hot flushes, weight gain as well as mood swings.

I suffered and reacted very badly especially on mood swings.
I can't control myself at all. It was affecting everyone ard me including my work.

If u are able to afford, go and see another gynae on yr case.
I had my cysts ard 3 & 4 cm and was with KKH as subsided patient till early 2010. Each visit in year 2009, I was seeing different doctors. Once, I was told I may hv cancer. Other visits, they were telling me to review quarterly and asked me to hv surgery to remove the cysts. I was scared of pain so I refused.

It was only I got frustrated with KKH in early 2010 that I switched to Dr. Chew. He was the one whom diagnosed that I have endo. And he was very honest with me that if I don't use GnHR therapy, my endo will relapsed. Even with the therapy, he can't promise me that my endo will be cured.

At that time, I didn't know KKH has an endo centre. So I went for my first lap with Dr. Chew and so on with the therapy.

It was after last tue that I google and found out KKH has set up an endo centre. Hence I am considering to seek a 2nd opinion while I continue my treatment with Dr. Chew.

Dr. Chew has given me a list of foods to avoid:
1. EPO
2. "Ba zhen"
3. "da GUI"
4. "ling zhi"

The reason why I want to seek 2nd opinion is becos I want to manage my endo in a more holistic manner instead of just relying on GnHR therapy.

i'm tag to this team of doc at KKH. tat week i admitted bec of PH & the Sr Doc of tat team on leave. other Sr Doc came to see me. 1 say remove womb, than no more pain, no more cyst...., when the sr doc of my team of docs came back the following week & my pain showed no improvement she finally agreeed to do the lap & remove the cyst for me. I can't afford to go back to private gynea now bec of financial issues.

Hi blue & diamond,

I went thru 2 times of lap to remove my cysts. As I have mentioned in this forum before, I really think that people having cysts should avoid chicken wings. When I removed my cysts the first time, I had chicken wings almost every day... I love chicken wings. Then the cysts recurred within 1 year, cos I want to do ivf, so gynae removed the cysts for me before I started the treatment.

Just sharing my experience...

Hi Jenn,

Thank you for your reply. I was hoping to have some advices on Endo.

I love chicken wings too but I did not have it daily.

Hi Blue,

I understand. Private is indeed expensive.

Removal of womb is extreme case of Endo as mentioned earlier.

Since you are with KKH, why not you ask can you be assigned to the Endo centre under subsidised patient?

Hi Trustbaby,

Sometimes it will just come naturally. I heard some people after their failed ivf, they decided to take a rest, then they went holiday... subsequently found out they were pregnant. There are also people suddenly pregnant after giving up. I guess this is just God's will... no matter which religion you believe in, don't stop praying.

If you believe in fengshui, why not give it a try? I actually engaged a fengshui master to alter my home's fengshui before I do ivf. I hope to have more luck...

Hi diamond,

Oops, I thought you do lap is to remove cysts... anyway, I also have endo, it is not curable. It will improve when your menses stop, such as when you are pregnant, or you have the jab to stop menses for a period of time. I visit TCM, Dr Zuo @ AMK, her herbs can help to ease the pain, may be you want to try.

Hi Diamond
according to doc my edno is mild & cyst is small but my pain very bad. the docs also keep on saying cyst too small to cause so much pain. but i read tat it is possible to have extreme pain even with mild endo & small cyst. some with extreme endo & big cyst no symptomss. don't know maybe i unlucky 1 & docs just kssp saying cyst very small, etc.... i try everything - pain team, mental wellness all at kkh. all no help, no improvement...

Hi Jenn,

Can give me more information about Dr. Zuo.

Yup, KKH diagnosed me as having fibriod and cysts. Went to Dr. Chew then was diagnosed as having endometriosis.

So I ended having 1st Lap removal of fibriod and cysts - classified under endometriosis accordingly to Dr. Chew.

Hi Blue,

I have this condition since 1999 and have no pain till 2009.

Hence i guess it varies between individual as well as when the endo want to be active.

Dr. Chew did mentioned that stress will worsen the condition. And I was indeed very stressed in 2009 till now at work.

my pain started around mid 2006. it wasn't until a few visit than the cyst was discovered. tat time under private. the cyst was small but having alot of pain. the doc than mention lap. since than pain all the time. every single day.

Hi Diamond,

I have also seen Peter chew before cos he is an endo specialist. Jus that the charges quite xiong n plus waiting time.

Try to go for TCM like what Jen says. It is effective in curbing growth. Are u all trying for baby?

Please avoid soya bean drink n dun eat too Often the beancurd. Chicken cos of the injections they get.

Hi Jenn,

Good to hear from you also. So u working in a new firm now huh? If civil service they will be more prone towards lady whom have baby.

Hi sunbelle,

Yup..he is very expensive but I hv to stay with him for now as he did the first surgery. And with my current condition, I need a gynae who can be decisive.

I am hoping to get more advices here on how can I manage my condition better and try to prevent another recurrence.

My job don't allow me to keep resting or take leave. Plus the dept culture, bosses and colleagues are equally nasty. And worst of all, most of them are females yet they are not understanding. Comments like "last time when I gave birth, had C-section also can return to work very soon. Why must she rest so long?"

All these negative comments are adding onto my stresses.

I used to go for TCM before surgery but it did not work for me.
But with what is happening now + Dr. Chew advice, I will like to seek for TCM, pain management etc. I hope to try other alternatives to manage my condition.

So I will appreciate all suggestions/ advices/ comments.