Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

Hi sunbelle,

I'm still working in the same old company that has allowed me to take all my hospitalisation leave and annual leave before I was due...I am kinda "paying back" their kindness now...

Perhaps you were too stress previously, relax and let it come naturally... did you check why are you so prone to m/c? is it your lining not enough? or do you think you should bed rest once you are pregnant? did the gynae give you those hormone jabs to support the pregnancy previously?

I think I've mentioned before that I went for jab twice a week to support my pregnancy that time... my gynae is quite KS... but it did help I guess...

Hi diamond,

usually TCM takes at least 3-6 months to see the effect... do you still want to give it a try? not all TCM works, I have tried at least 3 TCM before I go to Dr Zuo.

i agree with that who knows after a good rest for me good thing may come out of it...

What is in the soya bean that encourage endometriosis? I love soya bean curd and its drinks...i hv been drinking it quite often.. a good source of protein for me.

Does anyone here take CA125 (Cancer marker 125) i recently took and i got a scare that it was above the range...0-36 being normal and i was 42. Gosh! It was a bad news for me. Worst was i needed to wait one mth before i head back to the doctor to do ultrasound....Of course i was told that ppl who have endometriosis and fibroid, tend to hv higher CA125 reading....as long as it stays that way and not mutiply...thus the next year Feb i will do the test again....i feel since all of us do hv abnormality in our uterus, best to do CA 125 (Ovarian cancer test)....

Hi jenn,

I don't mind as long as it can help me. Do let me know Dr. Zuo address etc can?

Hi Trustbaby,

I did. Mine was ard 49. But pls don't worry as endo do causes a spike in CA125.

Usually, the doctor will ask u to retake.

I am also a fan of soya bean and bean curb. Usually to drink daily however I hv stopped. Cakes are also my favourite!
Yet, I read that we are supposed to avoid cakes, bread etc.
It was stated as Endo diet.

Intend to clarify with Dr. Chew on sat.

Hi Jenn,

Mi n my hubby have discussed that no point finding out what happen cos all gynaes say happen by chance. I have known ladies whom spent few thousands dollars at some kyoto testing only to find out they have 30% chance of having healthy baby . But the tin is they will still try cos to hit the 30% chance.

One of my frens went thru all these. Spent tonnes of money n lotsa of emotions n energy but end up not getting any answer. Now she has a beautiful daughter this year delivered by dr Loh.

Wow your company is very good. At least they reserve your position for u

Yeah happen to see a 42 year old lady concieved at dr zuo. She was there to take the an tai Yao frm dr zuo. Did u also take huh?

Now dr Loh is leaving. Guess a lot of people are thinking whether to follow him or not.

Yeah Trustbaby, dont be alarmed by the CA125 reading . Mine hit 646 before n I was in great pain monthly. But this reading will fluctuate everytime u take the blood test. Now mine is about 125 I think so. The higher is no good. I think for me, exercising does help
are u still seeing dr zuo huh?

As for Peter chew, there is a thread on him. You cam
Decide after reading the thread.

Hi !

Good to know i m not the only one who did the test...good for you girls!...

Sunbelle, your went up to 600 +...i feel high tho...but thank God it went down to 100 +, good outcome. Did your doc ask you to take this test again?

Sad to hear Dr Loh is leaving KKH....well when i m ready as mentioned earlier i may go back to him wherever he is...i kinda like KKH coz since i m used to the procedure there. Not sure whether my body is ready to go thru another ivf....i feel weaker now compare to the past before ivf. If i m ready to do i will do.

i din go to Dr Zou since i fail my last 1st ivf n FET in Dec last year...so the 2nd cycle i din go to her...i decided to try without...but still fail....after the 2nd ivf failure i went to a TCM indirectly recommended by Dr Loh. He said try this to tiao for 4 mths and i was supposed to go back in Oct for 3rd rd...but i couldnt. Not ready yet mentally and physically and financially too!
I stop TCM now to concentrate on my work....and hope i can resume TCM to tiao....it is good to tiao even tho not TTC...for keeping a good general health.

I didn't take CA125, so far no doc had asked me to test...

Trustbaby,
I still think you should try somewhere else, since dr Loh is going TMC, then you go there to try lor.

sunbelle,
ya, no point spending if no result, might as well spend on ivf.
the job market now is quite good, my boss hopes to retain staff as far as possible. and I'm thinking of trying 2nd one, if go to new company, may be too stress and also difficult to apply leave, so might as well stay until I have 2nd one.

Hi Jenn,

I was only asked to test when i went to oncology gynae to follow up on my cyst condition. In past no le.

Is TMC fertility clinic open? My concern is whether the facility there is up to standard since the shock incident. I do hv sceptical...

Hi Gmummy,

I was referred to Dr. Chew by my sister. Frankly speaking, before I see him, I did read up on him via the forum and was quite put off by what I read.

However, my sister highly recommended him and at that time, I was considering both Dr. Benjamin Tham and Dr. Peter Chew.

I ended up with Dr. Peter Chew mainly for two reasons:

1. My sister
2. He is known as an Endometriosis expert and have a very high success rate in Lap surgeries, very good stitching skill etc etc.

During my first visit with him, we were kinda of unhappy with him as he was seeing another patient while we were asked to go in waiting for him in another room.

Yes, he have two consultation rooms. However, he impressed us with his quick diagnosis and decision.

And through the repeated visits, he was very detailed and patient with us.

After my surgery, he was able to advise me further on what are the chinese tonics to avoid.

To me, it is better to visit the gynae yourself and then gauge based on your interaction with him/ her.

I have seen Dr. Peter Chew losing his temper with one of his patients for delayed in her review and resulted in her condition worsening.
And in that incident, what I saw was a gynae concern of his patient and not a gynae who is impatient, bad bedside manner or money orientated.

I do agreed his charges is high. Shop around for your gynae.

Just done a lap on my endo w peter chew recently.
And I took the gnrh shots that he recommended. I am going for my 2nd jab soon, just wondering how menses can b affected by the jab. Because I basically have very short n light spotting and backaches after the first jab, is this normal?

Ttc journey is very tough & full of uncertainty.... The only way is persevere n be strong....

Baby dust to all out there ttc.....

Hi Emily,

I am with Dr. Peter Chew too.

In fact, this is my 2nd round.

Shall we discuss more offline? Or you still prefer to discuss here?

Cuz I have very bad backaches and very heavy bleeding this round.

A very different experience from my first round of GnHR with him in 2011.

My first round is very short and light spotting and backaches plus severe mood swings.

Can email me at [email protected]?

Hi Diamond & Emily,

My gynae is also Dr Peter Chew. I did a lap with him more than 2 weeks ago. I did the lap as my hsg result showed that my left tube was swollen. After the lap, doctor told me my left tube is badly damaged and nothing can be done. He cleared some adhesion on the outer right tube. He also cleared some polyps. He found that I have endometriosis as well.

Last Tuesday I took the jab- Gnrh agonist and add back therapy. Today, two days later, I have some dark brown spotting and menses cramp. Did you all experience this? At this moment, i do not have backache. Before my lap, I had bad backache one week before menses and it went on for a year after my d&c - had a miscarriage.

So I'm here to find out from you all your experiences with the jab. Thanks!

Hi Mel,

For my first GnHR therapy with Dr. Chew, I had dark brown spotting and menses cramp.

Subsequently, I will have this intermittent spotting.

For me, I am onto 2nd GnHR therapy and for my 1st jab, I faced brown spotting and menses cramp.

I am into the 2nd jab now. 17 Jan is my 3rd jap.

What i am experiencing now is severe back aches and pelvic aches.

He sent me to CT scan yesterday, waiting for result.

Hi Diamond,

I understand the misery of having backache. Hopefully nothing serious with your scan result.

I think I am starting to have full menses flow. Did the jab stop your menses or you just have spotting throughout?

Are you also ttc or just seeing gynae to curb endo?

Hi mel
Dark brown spotting is okay....I asked dr chew; he said menses vwill be v messy-either u have normal menses flow, spotting, light flow or no menses at all.... And my menses really come on n off n I feel so inconvenient;( stop 3 days, then come again then stop again.... Dunno when to put a pad... I got cramps like diamond too... On n off; can be short or last few days.... In short, u feel v haywire;)
But I do read that the gnrh does affect bone density, I m taking calcium supplements.... What add back therapy he gives u? He only gives diamond n I gynera-the birth control pill.

Dear sisters,

Happy Chinese New Year!
Hope that Dragon year will bring all of us luck to make more babies!
All the best!

I just had my cyst removed through surgery in end Jan 2012. My cyst was 10cm in size n the other one is 6 cm. My doctor advised me to rest well for the next three months before starting to get conceive.

My doctor advised me to take oral contraceptive pill to suppress the hormones in me so as to prevent the cyst from reccurrence for the next three months before I am ready to try to conceive.

My doctor also advised me to take the jab to enter menopause stage in order to balance my hormones before planning to conceive. I did not go for this idea as I m not ready to accept the side effects of entering menopause stage.

I m not sure whether I want to take contraceptive pills as I do not favor in pills or medicines as I m worried about the side effects.

Especially right now I wan to conceive three months later at the same time worried that by having contraceptive pills for
the next three months will cause side effects that may delay my plan and at the same time if I m not taking it, the cyst will be back.

Can anyone share any similar experience here with me? Thank you!

Hello ladies! I just want to share my story here. Hope it brings some light n hope for you!

I just heard that a couple of others had conceived naturally after repeated miscarriages/ or unsuccessful ivfs/ iuis. . One even had a mental breakdown after her miscarrige. My healer say thanks for your support and she is glad to hv helped us in realising your dreams! I myself also managed a bfp under her help together with Ivf my last resort. My next one will be natural!

I'm stilling seeing her but less frequently now - I'm in my 17 weeks doing well but also keeping my fingers crossed.

If u r keen to know more about her, i have written about her previously and can read more at Facebook / search for Yoga Inn. She is Mdm Valencia Tan( based at Waterloo Street). There are some testimonials there!

Jia you everyone! My little story here:

http://mybfpstory.blogspot.com/?m=1

Hellooo!

Not sure if some of you remembered me. Just to share my success story. I did lapro under Dr SF Loh to remove cysts in late Oct 2010. Thanks to all the lovely ladies here who helped tide through the ops and the after ops healing. I managed to conceive 2 months after the lapro and delivered my little angel in Sep 2011.

Windyleaf, just to share, my gynae knew i was trying to conceive so he decided that no jabs to suppress hormones for me. I was already planning to start IVF in Mar 2011, 5 months after lapro as gynae say must try to conceive within 6-9 months after lapro. Good luck! All the best!

Can I join you girls?

I have endo.. Went for a lap in Mar 2011 to remove 2 cysts.. 8cm and 6 cm.. My gynea asked me to takr the Lucrin jab for 3 months to let my ovaries rest. I took for the first month and was bad.. I got constant bad headache and always hot flush.. Thus, I decided that I will not take the 2nd and 3rd jab. My gynea was OK with it.. But he told me to conceive fast.. But I did not manage to for the past 1 year.. =(

i did my CA 125 and the level was 35. i have fibriod of 1.5cm and cysts. my gynae advised me to go for lap due to i experienced bad menses cramp usually first day of my menses, i will need to take a painkiller to subside the pain. But my gynae were not 100% sure that i have endo and asked me to conisder for lap to check for any endo cysts.

i am single and i still do not wish to go for lap. am seeking for second opinion such as turning to TCM to "tiao" my body .

Any recommended TCM which could helps in endo, fibriod and cycts?

Hi Trust baby and Jen n Dophy,

Happie new year ! Happie to share that after so much effort, have a 18mths gal now. Trying for 2nd one.
Jen : your toddler should be two years plus or three now huh?

Trust baby : went to read all the past postings today when I woke up early. Wonder why leh.
How are you huh? been travelling huh?

I'm one of the unlucky ones who was diagnosed with endometriosis last year. I went for my laparoscopy surgery last August at KKH but till now my menses is still not back to normal yet.

For example,
- Early menses - like a 8 days earlier than normal or
- menses comes right on the dot, but only comes for 3 days

Its been half a year since my surgery, I am feeling so miserable whenever menses comes. The pain and emotional trauma.

I tried to go back to KKH to get some advise from Dr Khong (he did my surgery for me), but sadly he's rather impatient and unhelpful - just brush me off saying that my tube is fine, prescribe me with some hormone pills then sent me packing.

Me and my hubby have been actively trying for a bb since.

Anyone knows of any gynae/ doctor to recommend?

Sorry for venting. No one else really knows what we are going through. :(

I'm one of the unlucky ones who was diagnosed with endometriosis last year. I went for my laparoscopy surgery last August at KKH but till now my menses is still not back to normal yet.

For example,
- Early menses - like a 8 days earlier than normal or
- menses comes right on the dot, but only comes for 3 days

Its been half a year since my surgery, I am feeling so miserable whenever menses comes. The pain and emotional trauma.

I tried to go back to KKH to get some advise from Dr Khong (he did my surgery for me), but sadly he's rather impatient and unhelpful - just brush me off saying that my tube is fine, prescribe me with some hormone pills then sent me packing.

Me and my hubby have been actively trying for a bb since.

Anyone knows of any gynae/ doctor to recommend?

Sorry for venting. No one else really knows what we are going through. :(
There are many fertility specialist in kkh. Dr Tan heng Hao, dr Matthew lau, dr jerry etc.
Dr khong? Never hear before. Since he so unhelpful don't go to him anymore.

Glad i also found this thread. Like some here, i also have endo and recently did a 2nd lap to remove an endo cyst in left ovary and a fibriod from the uterus.

i did my first lap in 2009 after a medical health check with unusually high CA125 marker (70+ range). Ultrasound results showed right ovary had cysts around 2cm. I recalled i had bad menses cramp to the extent i feel faint and breakdown into cold sweat since secondary school days and all the times i try to endure or pop a pink panadol to curb the pain. The cause for endo remains unknown and i heard this condition has no cure and will recur. Like some of you here who have the same concern, i did not listen to the advise of my gynae to go thru hormone injections to stop my cycle and my endo recurred. As for those who are married, many gynaes advise will be to get pregnant fast. Ironically, endo is also known to reduce fertility..so most of us here are really caught in a chicken-and-egg situation.

As we were ttc for some time, we planned to see DR Loh. An ultrasound scan revealed a suspicious endo cyst at the left ovary. Two options were placed to us: do another lap to remove the cyst and ttc naturally or proceed with IVF. Decided to seek tcm's help and keep IVF as the very last option as hormonal injection is still too intimidating for me.

Recently after 3 month with Dr Zou, i managed to conceive with an endo cyst in the left ovary, around 6cm. However, due to chromosome abnormalities, DH and I took the decision to terminate the pregnancy. My gynae suggested at the same time to remove the endo cyst and also a fibriod so that it increase my chances of the next pregnancy.

TCM advise is such that we should not be going for lap so often and frequently.

I am trying to read up as much as possible on what other possible methods to slow endo from recurring...
So far, these are what i have gathered from reading and from people suffering from similar conditions:

1. On diet, try to reduce or avoid intake of the following:
a. meat (chicken, especially chicken wings as we know the growth hormones are injected for poultry esp chicken to grow faster and fatter)
b. dairy products like milk, cheese, soybean products
c. wheat products, like bread, cakes, pastry
d. Evening primrose Oil

Do include more vegetables & fruits, fish in your diet.

Note: i know of one who cut down 100% from meat altogether in their diet, and has seen drastic improvement to the cyst and fibriod condition after 5 years.

2. Exercise regularly, try to be stress free.

3. Hormonal treatment and contraceptive pill to preserve the womb/ovaries (if not ttc)

4. TCM and accupuncture to slow growth

i hope this little bit of knowledge helps...pls do share with fellow forumers if you have other pointers to add on.

Also don't take those 白凤丸(baifengwan) or 乌鸡白凤丸 (wujibaifengwan) sold at TCM shops. It's very bad for the ovaries and eggs according to doctors. I took some myself last time and they had a bad effect on my menses, think they aggravated my endo as well.

i recalled when i had very bad cramps in the past, pple always recommend me 白凤丸(baifengwan)....and after taking the flow become very very heavy.......i guess one man's meat is another man's poison! i am currently reading a book on endo.....give me lots of insights...and the more i refused to accept any hormonal treatments! scary~~~~

hi porky_pig, may I know what is the book that you are reading?
does it mean that ivf teratment is out since it involved hormonal injections??

hi sayap,

this is the book, "living well with Endometriosis", by Kerry-Ann Morris.

pls do not misunderstand, by hormonal treatment, is not referring to any particular IVF treatment.
i was referring to hormonal treatment that are usually prescribed if you do not plan to conceive or wish to preserve your fertility.
these hormonal treatments can lead to the various complications and other side effects, and does not guarantee you a cure to endo.

basically what i gathered so far is still, no cure for endo... hormonal treatment and getting pregnant only reduces your endo activity. Once treatment stops, endo may/can recur.

Hi Sea Turtle, yes, like you last time I took bai feng wan n realise that it worsen my menses pain. When stop taking them now, seems like damage already done.

Porky pig, besides diet n exercise, anyone of u have any recommendation for acupucture to make the monthly affair less painful? I also have adeyomosis so usually quite dreadful of the time of the month coming.

Can share what u have read on the book huh? So glad this thread is alive again cos only people on the same boat can understand

Hi Sea Turtle, yes, like you last time I took bai feng wan n realise that it worsen my menses pain. When stop taking them now, seems like damage already done.

Porky pig, besides diet n exercise, anyone of u have any recommendation for acupucture to make the monthly affair less painful? I also have adeyomosis so usually quite dreadful of the time of the month coming.

Can share what u have read on the book huh? So glad this thread is alive again cos only people on the same boat can understand

Yes girl I totally understand what u mean. I thought stopping it will reverse back the issue but no. After a few months of waiting I decided to go for lap surgery. The results quite good for me cos my menses went back to almost normal in the month of surgery and next month I conceived by His grace!

I was also contemplating hormonal treatment but decided against it after seeking second opinion as it's necessary for more severe cases, and I wanted to continue to ttc.

Actually for endo n adeyomosis I think lap surgery is better though it's not a perm solution. I went to see TCM but they said it's v slow. I did go to Hua Mei Acupuncture to help warm the womb. They are at Bukit Merah area - can google n go and have a look :).

hey Sunbelle,

Perhaps the "RIGHT" TCM acupuncture can help to slow growth ...but not sure to what extend. i have only been to Dr zou at AMK but she specialises more in fertility and for pple who are ttc. Thing about tcm is how do we measure and know whether a certain treatment is effective..?! For me, i am always very result oriented and impatient...so after a while, i will give up or move on to next one if i don't see improvement...

As for the book, i am still halfway "in progress"...it shares in some level of detail stuff doctors don't usually tell us (like the various methods surgeons use during laporoscopy, pros and cons of each method ...) and also have some write up/commentary from people suffering from endo, their experiences on the various type of treatments, etc etc.

four parts of the book, i just done part II only. ...if anything interesting/worth sharing, i shall update.

part I: understanding endo
part II: endo treatment options
part III: diet, body, lifestyle, herbs & supplements for healing
part iV: your endo repair plan

sigh..i still got many many more menses cycle to go....must be prepared for the next and the next and the next lap.....i heard some ladies very young already did many lap surgeries....during the follow up at the gynae last week, overheard yet another patient diagnosed with endo and scheduled to do key hole lap ...seems like endo is really common these days...guess this is the only comfort one can find...

Hi Seaturtle, I did one lap before in 2009 n conceived but sadly miscarriage. Yeah so far have been relying on TCM.
Only to drain one cyst last jun cos TCM doc do not advise lap cos it means lesser eggs available.

I m in midst of having menses n quite painful cos blood flow haven't fully come. Tmrw still got a presentation. Hopefully by later can be well liao. How do u all ladies force the blood to quickly come out huh?

Quite Sian when yesterday the PD ask me again when u trying second one haha

Hi hi ladies!
Im a mild to moderate endo patient!
Had my lap last year oct 2012. now im doin my treatment (stop menses).

I jus went for my IVF counselling.
Anyone goin thru IVF??
I've failed 1cycle of IUI(before ops) n failed SOIUI (after removing cyst w/o treatment)
Then gave up and decided to stop mens cos doc insist on it.

Have anyone stopped their menses bcos of endo?

Hey Jude, dun give up. Faith n praying is super impt.
I have went thru so much before getting my baby too. 2 miscarriages is no joke.
Now having bad menses cramps plus a presentation tmrw.
Frankly I hate time of the month. It jus drains me out both mentally n physically.

Wish to have a 2nd one n at least can spare from the pain :)

Hi @sunbelle I don't know if can force out blood during menses, maybe u can ask ur gynae? I tried TCM method, even went to a Eu Yan Seng and spent $300 a month to get medicine from Xia Rong to force it to flow out ... with limited success.

Hope urs will flow out soon!