Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

Hello Blurqueen,

it feels so odd to call you Blurqueen, hee hee
Welcome here!

Miracle happens around us everyday. Yours is one too. With what the gynae said, only 1% chance of conceiving, you conceived just after 2 months of trying! I think you and your hubby had made the right choice to TTC. It's so nice to have a baby girl now, congratulations!

I had an operation to remove my ruptured cyst in year 2000 and even though I had not much problem ever since, I do not conceive as fast. I'm beginning to wonder if my endometriosis will cause infertility or delay conceiving. I have tried for 5 cycles and now after my menses, I am going to try for the 6th cycle. I'm not sure if I have a blocked fallopian tube or what cause I have never done any laparascopy to have a clear picture of my womb. It was an operation done in a hospital that has no specialisation in gynaecology. Anyway, the doctor told me that my ovary was sewed back but whether it functions well, I'm really not sure. I just pray hard that I can conceive soon as I really want a baby so badly.

I have heard so many stories that gals with endometriosis and fibroids conceive successfully even though text books and gynae said that endometriosis might cause infertility. I am very glad that there are still positive cases around and with patience, I think my dream will come true one day. Wish me luck

By the way, ULN, give me your email address so that I can email you my AD photographer's details and charges and some of my pics. Then, you see if you wanna contact him ok?

Daisylove,
You are right... I topped up $650 for the extra photos. The majority of the photos are outdoor ones. The photographer good at outdoor photos. Another hole... Wa... you selected so many ah... I only selected 40 yesterday. The photographer was kinda sad the first round of selection we eliminated so many liao... haha... It was quite late already and we tired and lazy to eliminate more, so top up lor... So now, I have 100 photos for wedding liao... 60 from China and 40 from Singapore. I will be collecting my wedding cards from the printer tomolo morning
. Hope it will turn out well...

My sis was trained as a graphic designer. I bought a gold pen that match the gold words... Then I just remembered I gotta buy more pens for the envelops and extra pens for my parents to write since they going to give out this weekend.

You know, my menses is late... I am scared to do the test. I will get more anxiety if I tested positive. I am suppose to see my doc on my next cycle meaning on the second day of my next menses, but it is late... I will wait for another week and see. Maybe my menses haywire already after the miscarriage. Hubby asked me to see doc yesterday since I went to his clinic to buy some medication, but I did not have the courage to face reality yet. Hubby's reasoning was if I am pregnant, at least see doc to monitor the pregnancy early. Now I am scared if I really am pregnant and end up with another miscarriage... I think I would be very sorry to hubby...

On the positive side, if I strike... it will prove that still can get pregnant even with endo...

Hi Daisylove, just to let you know that I'm another case who diagnosed with endo but still managed to get pregnant. I tried for abt 9 cycles after my op to remove fibroids. I got abt 8 fibroids and the biggest was abt 12cm big. One mth before I discovered my pregnancy, I was found with 2 cysts. The gynae also puzzled but happy for me that I managed to conceive with endo and 2 cysts on my right ovary. That's why, stay positive and you'll soon get preggie. BTW, my gal already 6mths old now. And the cysts disappeared during my pregnancy.

Dear Giggler,

welcome here
I wasn't diagnosed with fibroids but I was operated in year 2000 to remove my ruptured endometriotic cyst from my left ovary. As it ruptured, my left ovary was sewed back. I'm just worried that it's my right ovary that is functioning only. Nowadays I may not have unbearable menstrual cramps but I still have heavy menses and clots. I just hope that my endometriosis has not worsen although ultrasound scanning did not show any cyst earlier this year.

Your story is a motivation to me. I have tried for 5 cycles and this is the 3rd day of my menses for this 6th cycle. I hope I can be as lucky as you to conceive within a year

Hi ULN,

wow, you have lotsa wedding photos to show off on your big day! Must be very beautiful, a mixture from Singapore and China. Last time I also hope to go overseas to have my album taken but due to budget constraint, I only went to Pulau Ubin and some areas near the Commando camp. I also prefer my outdoor photos. Hubby and I appeared more natural and lively

You are so fortunate to have your sis to design the cards and inserts for you. Remember to get more pens for your guests to sign in the guest book on your Actual Day too. You'll feel so blessed with their well wishes and congratulations. When I feel like it, I always bring out the guest book to admire, hee hee

ULN, think you should visit your Gynae if your menses is late for a week. It's really a blessing if you get pregnant so fast again
At least the gynae can give you a close monitoring and advice.

My gynae ever told me before that cyst grows with menstrual bleeding. Hence, if one gets pregnant, the cyst will be under control or even disappear, so it usually poses low threat to the baby. However, after giving birth, when menstruation continues, cyst may or may not grow back. However, from what you describe about fibroids, I think fibroids is the opposite. You mentioned that when pregnant, fibroid may grow together with baby as it "eats the pu" too. Fibroids and cysts are rather different. It seems that if fibroids are present, you can monitor its growth and it may stop growing but it will not disappear. It seems that if cysts are present, you can monitor its growth and it may stop growing or even disappear. This puzzles me too, may need more research on this. After my operation, the doctor told me that I have some small cysts in my right ovary. However, months later after that, I did a scan in KKH and only found 1 cyst in my right ovary. Two years ago and earlier this year, my ultrasound scan showed that the cyst in my right ovary was gone. I was puzzled. I will need to do another scan next year and most probably yearly to monitor the growth of cyst, if any.

So, have you selected your favourite gown?

Hi Daisylove,jia you, hope your dreams will come true soon
, good luck!

Hi ULN, I also had cyst before but it disappeared by itself after 3 months. According to my gynae, if u have heavy menses, the blood will flow backward which will result in cyst. She prescribed ponstan to me to reduce the heavy flow.

Has anyone taken ponstan to reduce heavy flow? Wonder if there is side effects although my gynae said there isnt.

Hi ULN, I not sure if the cysts will grow back but everything was fine when I went back for my post-preg check-up.

Hi Daisylove, to me, I feel that bai feng pills helped leh. I took the pills once after my menses and it helped to regulate my period. Also, I don't feel very painful for my next menses. Sounds like you do a lot of research on fibroids and cysts hor?

Hi blurqueen, I'm allergy to ponstan. In fact, I'm allergy to lots of painkiller, include panadol.

Hi Daisylove,
Did you receive my email yet?
I have a signature scroll for my guests to sign
From my experience of organising wedding for friends, usually only the first page or second page will be signed, so now, I will use a scroll. I got one from my China package with our photos printed on...
Those photos taken in China was taken more than a year ago, and sometimes I will take out and admire

My menses 1 week late already
. Sigh... I still dare not go see my gynae... I am not prepared to face the truth... But if really strike, sure will keep the baby. In my last pregnancy, I wanted to abort when I found out, then when I decided to keep it, I had to go through lots of medications and injections trying to save the baby becos of the fibroids growth. Then all these failed and I ended up in a miscarriage and it was a very stressful time after that. Then I tell myself having a baby is a blessing... I shouldn't have thoughts of abortion anymore...

Yes, fibroids and cysts are different. Fibroids are solid mass. They are growth of the muscular tissue. They can reduce in size with treatment, but not disappear unless removed by surgery.

Yap, I have selected a gown with lots of lace
My hubby dunno that I went to select new gown... hehe.. give him surprise on my wedding day

Giggler, I am wondering how does bai feng pills helped in regulating menses. Whether is it by regulating the hormones? I became very sceptical about medications that can regulate menses ever since my doc told me evening primrose oil is hormones. EPO also helps in regulating menses and cramps, but no good cos they are hormones and they contributed to my fibroids' growth. So now, I am very careful of whatever vitamins I take.

Hi ULN, I not sure how the bai feng pills regulate our menses leh. But I personally feel that it helps me in building up the health of my womb too.
Having a child is a blessing and god's gift. Must keep a positive mind when you get preggie again, ok? Good luck to you!

Hello gals...
Hope you all are enjoying the Christmas shopping and having a great weekend.. This thread is getting a bit quiet lately.

Daisylove, I have emailed to you as few days ago...

I went for the talk on "Baby under construction". I got a pack of Clearblue...Maybe I will test one week later if my menses still haven't come...

Dear all... Sorry me MIA cos me super duper busy with looking for an ID... Am still looking and reviewing the quotes... problem when u are quite poor... Hahaha...

Welcome Giggler and blurqueen! Glad u found us!

ULN, think u sld try the preg test and go see a gynae if positive. Past experiences makes us stronger, so be brave and welcome the child.. My SIL's boss went thru the same thing u did. She lost her 2nd child cos the fibroids grew too fast. She was devastated but master the courage and went for laparascopy and tried for 3rd time. She is now a happy mother of 2 boys!
So pls dun ever think of giving up...

I dun know abt 'bai feng' pills cos i tried before and my menses was still very heavy, painful and cause me to have fainting spells. I guess tis is individual...

Hi Blurqueen,

Like Giggler, I only know ponstan as a pain reliever and not something that regulates flow but I could be wrong. I have never took ponstan but great that it worked wonders for u! I was prescribed cataflam instead. I went to a company doctor once was questioned why i took cataflam when i asked him for it. He said that it is a very strong painkiller and only prescribed to patients with extreme pain. When I told him that the pain causes me to pass out, he gave them to me. Well...

If ponstan can regulate flow then maybe it contains hormones. If it has high content of oestrogen then long term usage will cause higher risk of breast cancer. This is just my guess.. Guess the medication sld have some info leaflet. Reading it sld give u a beta idea of what u are consuming...

Hi giggler,

Congrats on your baby and goodbye to Cysts!

U give me alot of hope too thou I am not ttc yet. I was very worried when told that I may face problems conceiving but hubby encourage me to maintain a +ve attitude and that he will be there to support me.

After this success, u intending to give your baby gal a sibling??

I aso had a cyst before and it also mysteriously disappeared a week before I was scheduled for surgery as the cyst cause me pain and serious water retention. The doc cld not explain why but nevertheless my parents were very relieve to hear that I need not go thru the op.

Hi Daisylove,

I am super excited these days flipping magazines and cutting the pics of reno that I fancy. I never knew that 'nest building' can be this thrilling!! Its really very exciting to build a love nest together. I am also very tired as there seemed to be 1001 things to do...

Just bot some furniture (bed frame, Dinning set and Coffee table) and cost me almost $5K already, really regret not saving up more in the past. Haiz...

Dun be envious cos your chance will be here very soon! Ur home will be ready sometime next year right? If my ID + contractor good, I will gladly recommend them to u! I can even let u have all my quotations! Hope u cld get your hse keys soon and maybe we might just move in around the same time!

Catch up with u over email.

Hi Flower Power,
I received a pack of ClearBlue pregnancy test kit when I went for the talk. My hubby and me looked at each other when we were given the pack... hehe... just in time for me to do the test... I will test end of this week if my menses still haven't come. I dun have any breast pain like my last pregnancy. But I do feel nausea and diarrhea lately for reason I dunno...

There are really a lot of things to do for nest building. By the time renovation finish, it will be arranging for delivery and then making sure the furnitures come in undamaged. I just went around settling the delivery dates of my electrical appliances and furnitures today. My sofa will be delivered next week, then the rest right after Christmas

Who's your ID? My ID + contractor will be installing everything on Tues
Then I will be busy cleaning during the Christmas weekend. Then get everything delivered then move house liao

One thing to note about ID is that many would ask you to do something you dun really need. That's what happen to me. Everywhere I went, all will ask me to do false ceiling and L-box which I think is not necessary for me.

Hello gals,

Something to share:
Fertility rates in women with mild endometriosis are very high, even without therapy. Enhanced fertility after surgery for endometriosis depends on the extent of the endometriosis.
Pregnancy rates, achieved after conservative surgery in women previously considered to be infertile, are approximately 75% for mild endometriosis, 50-60% for moderate cases, and 30-40% for severe cases.

So we have hope

Hi Blurqueennomore,

finally change your name, hee hee

Thank you, I will jia you!

My gynae has prescribed me ponstan before but I didn't take the medicine. I was afraid of side effects, if any.

Giggler,

think I should try 'bai fong yuan' too. Actually my mum used to buy for me when I was in sec sch but stopped after a while when she found that I was so lazy to routinely consume it
May be too many pills lah

Hi ULN,

yes, I have. So sorry, haven't got time to reply this thread and reply yours as well as Flower's email. Will reply by today
So many weddings and functions to attend over the weekend

I think you have made the right choice to get a signature scroll as the guests will definitely sign and fill up the pages if you get a book instead. Mine also got our photo on it, we didn't go overseas, so it's just our outdoor photo at Pulau Ubin

I really feel that you must do a testing soon and let your gynae know as soon as you find out you are pregnant. Don't think of the past any more, you should be very grateful and happy and very blessed if your second pregnancy comes so fast. Although my endometriosis has not been very problematic ever since my operation in year 2000, I am not able to conceive so fast leh. I also went to the 'Baby Under Construction' seminar and after hearing what they said, I feel more upset. I'm really scared that I'm infertile. You know hah, I haven't gone to your Bintan website to see your photos, so when I was there, I was guessing who might be you but on the other hand, am I going to go up and say 'Hello, are you ULN?'. Ha ha, my hubby said I was funny

It's really generous of Alife and Clearblue to distribute the pregnancy kits to us, wow 3 tests free!

I love gowns with lace and embroidery too. You're gonna look very pretty in Jan 05

Hi daisylove...
So have you guess right? I was with my friends - another couple. We were at the end of the queue during the food queue.

I think you and hubby should take a rest or travel somewhere during your ovulation period. There are many who are not able to conceive even without endometriosis.

During the talk, I learnt that one of the risk of miscarriage is stress. I think I had a miscarriage last time cos I was too stressed mentally. I was really stressed then trying to get to terms that I was pregnant, to trying to convince pple who suggested abortion, to trying to save the baby...

On the bright side, I still can conceive with fibroids and endometriosis... So there's still hope for us all with these conditions
So dun be scared. I think the more scared, the worse it is.... Think on the bright side and dun give yourself too much stress...

I cried yesterday cos I remembered I lost a baby not long ago. You saw that guy who was selling the butterflies? When he came to me, I told him "I have already". I made a donation of $30 at ALife and got one already. After I said "I have already", he asked me "Where?" Then he continued to say "I tot you just come to the talk and so fast have baby already". It immediately reminded me that "I had, but I lost it. And I should be 5 months pregnant with an obvious tummy". Maybe I have been quite emotional and still sensitive to this type of comment...

Anyway, listen to Dr Ang, gotta laugh everyday to look young...
I think he's very innovative in his talk.

Hi ULN,

I was nearing the end of the queue too! My god, I saw you at your virtual tourist website, I might have seen you at the seminar and the familiar incident regarding the butterflies, you were so near me! Did you remember seeing someone with a grey and pink shawl with buttons? I was wearing jeans and was playing with my hubby non-stop, so could have been very irritating
Actually, he just wanted me to cheer up, that's why. Did you purchase the book written by a mother who aborted her child? I didn't.

Well, the reason I'm upset is because my mum had premature menopause and according to Dr Chew, it can be heritable and I must be mentally prepared for it. I'm also afraid that I may belong to the infertile group eventually. Well, think I mustn't think so negative after all, or else I'll be wasting my hubby's effort in cheering me up.

I understand how you felt. There was a moment when I felt so tensed during the seminar that I almost cried. I'm really glad that I've overcome it and still be able to stay positive. I will keep on trying till Jun /July which will make a year of ttc. If I do not conceive by then, my gynae will advise my next step, I just have to have faith in her and in myself

Initially, I found Dr Ang very irritating. How could he make those jokes and being so insensitive to the crowd? After some time of listening to his talk, I understood his intention and he did mean well

You look cheerful, free of worries and young
Your hubby is very caring towards you. I notice that both of you travel to many places, what a good way to enjoy life and relax

I've replied you, go check your email!

Hi Flower,

when are you targetting to get your love nest done? Which ID company do you finally decide? I feel the excitement for you as well. The effort is worth it because the end result will compensate the tiredness. Imagine sitting at the platform (if you have any) beside your living room full height windows, resting and have an afternoon tea with hubby and admiring the view from your love nest! Yes, that's my dream in year 2005

You must have selected very good quality and well designed furniture. It's really a nice experience to shop for furniture with hubby. I'm looking forward to it

Yes, my house is only ready in Nov 2005 and I hope it will be months earlier. Then may be I will be able to get it renovated and move in in time to spend my first Christmas in my love nest, how nice!

It's very kind of you to not mind sharing your renovation details with me. I will love to find out more from you. By the way, I met up a friend yesterday whose ID was from S CREATIVE (I can't type out the full name as this thread SIMPLY doesn't allow, don't know why but I have sent you the website before but do you get the full name of the ID from the 2 words I have capped?). She said that we could actually request the ID to bring us to visit some of the houses they have renovated before we decide whether we wanna engage them. If you do get a renovation loan from bank, do not inform them as they may increase the price, just some tips from her

Sorry, Flower, I've been very busy attending functions, seminar and wedding lunch and dinner, so I have have replied your email. I promise to do it by today

Hi Flower, heehee.. I no intention to give my gal a sibling yet. We're very contented to have my gal at the moment. Anyway, it's not easy to get conceived for myself so don't intend to have any pressure. You so lucky to escape the op.

Hi daisylove, no harm trying the bai feng pills lah. Anyway, you only need to take one or two bottles after your menses every mth.

Hi Daisylove...
Oops.. I did not notice you... Me and hubby were busy catching up with my friends while in the queue. I did not buy the book.

Dun think negative ok? Try to be positive and release the stress. You know, I read about most pregnancy happen during the most unexpected time. My cousin with endometriosis tried for 4 years and finally conceived. She went through manual fertilization twice and failed (the one that they inject the sperm into the womb, but I forgot what it's called). Finally she conceived naturally after that. It was very unexpected. So dun give up hope... and dun put too much stress on yourself...

Yap, my hubby is very caring towards me. We love to travel around. During my 3 plus years in the UK, everytime when he visited me in the UK, we will travel to somewhere in Europe. After my scholarship had stopped, plus the flat and the wedding, we have not been travelling for almost a year already, except to Malaysia and Bintan.

Just some tips about buying electrical appliances. You can actually bargain in Harvey Norman... I did

My initial impression of Mr Ang when he showed those photos was that... "How come so boliao". But he is very funny with lots of jokes. I think psychiatrist gotta be like that... I attended a talk by a psychologist before and he was very funny with lots of jokes too. Maybe they gotta stay like that to be sane.. haha..

Hi Giggler,

hee hee, will heed your advice, thanks

Hi ULN,

thanks, I will stay positive. I hope I won't have to wait so long to conceive, 4 years' time and I'll be 30!

It must have been very enjoyable to have the chance to study in Europe. I hope to visit Europe but the standard of living is really high. Have to think twice about going there as I do have budget constraint now that my house will come next year

Wow, are you sure we can bargain in Harvey Norman? I thought everything is fixed price and if we want, we can choose to pay through credit card monthly instalment? If this is true, I must do so next year, thanks for the tips!

I also conclude that psychiatrists and psychologists must be funny in order to help their patients relax. If they are too serious when explaining patients' condition, the patients may be stressed and the situation will be very tensed. Not a easy job indeed!

How's your wedding preparation? I hope everything is 7788 liao

Hi ULN, must let us know the outcome of your test okie? I wish u all the best! Thanks for sharing the info on fertility and endo cos gave me much hope. I left a room for bb in my new home so I hope I can really have one. Me not greedy, one healthy, blubby one would make my wish!

So envy that your house done liao.. I am looking fwd to that day... Btw, can let me know who is your ID, the company and name of ID? If u face the same problem as Daisylove, drop me a personal email? Thanks in advance!

Hi Giggler,

Thats wat my grandma (she has since passed away)said when she heard the news. She has already prepared chicken essence and birds nest...

When I was begining scanned to determined the final position of the cyst, the radiologist told me he cld not find it! I was with a full bladder and told him rather impatiently to hurry up and look harder..

The operation was cancelled since they failed to locate the cyst. They suspect my body have identify it as a foreign party and killed it!

I think after a while u sld consider giving your gal a sibling. I always find being the only child lonely as some of my friends are. I have my bro to fight with and confide in which makes childhood a whole different experience!

Hey Daisylove,

Have replied your email.

Dun be so polite with me lah. Wat are frens for? I know which company u are talking abt... its a company thats is SIMPLY just very CREATIVE right? I am meeting them this sunday. I am seeing more IDs, will let u know who I eventually sign up with and if they are good. If u happen to be looking for ID next year before my reno is completed, I can let u have the quotations.

No problem abt the email, sometimes i also reply very slowly.

Hi flowerpower, actually I come from a relative big family too lah. I got 3 younger bros and my hubby got 6 elder sis and 3 elder bros. But both of us are very contented to have my only gal now leh.

Hi Giggler,

baby gal is so sweet hor. Yesterday I managed to watch the 'Ah Jie You Xi'. Find that the baby gals are so bubbly and chubby, really feel like hugging them

Hi Flower,

Oh that's great, you caught my hint
Do tell me more about SIMPLY just very CREATIVE after Sunday. I'm putting this company on the list. Will need your guidance next year on reno, I know nothing! Ha ha, Christmas is coming, I'm really excited. Gonna celebrate my anniversary on Christmas Eve!

Hi Daisylove,

No problems at all. For a start, u may wana work out a budget and save towards it. Ard half year before u intend to start reno, can start buying those reno magazines and create cuttings of those concepts u like. U could cut out your favourite wardrobe, toilet, bedroom and TV consol.. This helps the ID know what u like and can design something to your liking. IDs usu need to know your favourite concept and budget. Also good to go house visiting (frens homes) to see what type of tiles u like and if they are high maintenance type. I love white concept but do not wish to be a slave to the home
, so decide to go with Zen and minimalist style instead.

Magazines also cover interesting topics related to home like having a home thats children friendly, fengshui... Some magazines even show the floorplan, amt spent on furniture and reno, floorarea. This is to let u gauage how much u will need to prepare for a certain amt of reno based on floor area. Personally I like Home Concepts (they have articles that cover interesting topics; fengshui and lighting know-how and wea to shop for this and tat) and I-CUBE. They feature homes designed by the various IDs, floorplan, floorarea, amt spent and the ID's contacts. Quite useful info for a new home owner...

Try to scan your floorplan and send emails to the IDs rather than using conventional fax (less obvious if u send email in office)..
I have an email template i use to send to the IDs which to me is comprehensive, so i will let u have it if u want. There are reno terms that will sound foreign @ first like homogeneous tiles, abs trimming, skirting, system door, solid top, post form, timber strip, parque, laminate flooring etc etc... I was so confused in the beginning!
If u not sure, I see if i know. If in doubt, I can always ask my ID...

There are alot of things to do when it comes to setting up a new home. Plan properly and everything sld proceed as intended. This will take out the stress from last minute rush and shabby work... U will be so excited to go furniture, bathroom accessories and tile shopping to set up your love nest! I will let u know my personal experience once I start renovation next March. Mine is medium scale as i am merging rooms and doing feature walls and L-shape false ceilings... Some my frens even re-align walls and replace walls with glass etc.. They spend abt $60K just on reno alone!

Hi daisylove,
You are so young...
It was a great experience to study in UK cos I had lots of opportunities to travel around Europe
. Actually travelling Europe can be cheap, but of course, not as cheap as South East Asia. You just need to know where to find bargains for accommodation from the internet. Paris is very nice and I love it during my last visit. To really enjoy the "romantic" city, or to feel "romantic", I think shouldn't rush through all the places of interests.Gotta take your time to travel around, then it will feel "romantic". Next time if you need advice or help, do drop me a mail, I will see how I can help you to find the budget hotel. I always like to travel free and easy...

Yes, Harvey Norman can bargain one. You can go to other places to find quotes for whatever you want and ask if they can match the price.

My cards just printed. Now contacting people to ask them if they can come for the banquet. Next will be writing and sending out the invitations.

Hi flower,

My ID is in the "CITY" offering "DESIGN" services. People tell me they are expensive, but I find the price ok. I went to other ID and most of them give me quotations more than 10k and ask me do reno that I do not need. I only spent 4.5k for my renovation. Only feature wall for plasma, TV console, shoe rack in store room, 2 shelves in storeroom, a wall-hung cabinet and a display shelf. So far so good with my designer. He does personal projects too.

My sofa has arrived. The carpentry work in the living room all done. I will be busy cleaning during Christmas and then wait for my electrical appliances too arrive on Tues
. Then the bed in early Jan, in time for "an chuang".

I tested "Not pregnant". Actually I was not sad for the negative result and I happily told my hubby "negative". And my menses came...

I just went to see my gynae. He asked me about my decision whether I want to take the injections for the endo and fibroids. I am feeling quite sad now cos my endo condition is quite serious cos it's affecting the fallopian tube...
Then I asked again "is it very serious". Think doc knew I getting a bit sad already and he said "it's not very serious but cannot be left untreated".
sobs... I dun wan injections. He asked me to try to conceive for 3 months and see him again... Then if cannot get pregnant, gotta consider the course of injections again. He told me not to get too stressed up. Even if I get pregnant again, there's no guarantee the fibroids will not come back. The chances will be reduced after the injections, but also no guarantee...
I feel so sad..... I dun wan injections and I dunno what to do now.

I am also afraid if I get pregnant again and the fibroids grow again, I will have another miscarriage
sobs... I will be very stressed...

Hi ULN,

I am very sorry to hear wat he gynae told u. I think the best is to take things one step at a time. Since u are so reluctant on taking injections, have u sought 2nd opinion or tried seeing a chinese doctor? Did your gynae explain why it got more serious?

Did your gynae say what the injection is for? Is it to control the growth of fibroids? Are there medications that can be taken in place of those jabs? My hubby colleague took those jabs and till now (more than a yr liao) and still not pregnant. Why not you consider seeing other doctors to see if this is the only way? My fren went chinese doc when other docs told her and her hubby that they are a hopeless couple. During the chinese doc visit, she took medication and the hubby underwent acupuncture. She got pregnant just after 3mths and gave birth last month..

On the side, have u asked yourself wat causes ur daily stress? Is it from work or it's your outlook of life? If it from work, would u consider working part-time to reduce the stress level to prevent your condition from worsening further? I mean if your hubby earns sufficient to get by, maybe its good to just work part-time to allieviate stress. Some jobs are very stressful, not too sure what line u are in.

Dun worry too much. I know its easy for me to tell u but seriously, worrying will not help your condition and will only cause u more stress. I suggest maybe u could take a week off, see another gynae + chinese doctor, take sometime to consider what u want to do and get treated asap. Only by getting treated that u will have higher chance that the fibroids can be controlled and possibily not affect your future pregnancies.

Be strong girl.. It's hard but u must try..

Hi Flower,
I did not seek a second opinion nor see a chinese doctor. My endo did not get more serious, but it is serious enough not to be left untreated. From the talk, I remember Dr Chew said the egg get fertilized in the fallopian tube before implantation. With my endo at the fallopian tube, it is not a good sign...

The injection is to reduce the endo and prevent the fibroids from growing back again.

I am not working yet. My stress is from my work. I am doing research, pursuing a postgraduate degree from an overseas university. I am now in the last stage to graduate and it's very tuff going... My doc adviced me to give it up
but I am not sure cos I have put in 4 years of my life in it. It's true that there's more to life than paper chase... I have told myself I will give it the last try after my wedding...

Actually nowadays I have been busy running here and there getting the wedding ready and the flat ready. I dun feel sad or angry about doing all these... Doc said I am stressed up, therefore this time my menses late. He asked me not to be too tense up. When he told me about my condition, I became very "sian".

K, I gotta stop here... I will continue tomolo... Thank you Flower for your advice...

Hi there to all,
I'm new here. has dropped by cos recently i suspect i've what is decribed in this heading of the posting thread.
i had irregular menses recently like few months ago. my menses normally lasted for 7 days which, i think it's quite long already. as months go by, it lasted for 8 days and now 10 days. also few months ago, i suddenly have quite bad pimples outbreak. just this yr alone i have lost weight for about 7kg.
do you all think these are the symptoms? i'm planning to see a GP 1st then to be referred to a specialist... sigh.

Hi Mandy,
Welcome to the thread. I think you better go and see a doctor soon. I have read that menses lasting more than 5-7days is not normal. I have not read about bad pimples outbreak being related to endo nor fibroids though.
Wow, you have lost a lot of weight. I have not read that endo nor fibroids will cause weight loss...
Have you been very stressed at work or in life that cause these problems that you have mentioned? Stress can cause irregular menses and pimples too.

Take care...

hi ULN,
few months ago i'm indeed very stress. felt very lost about my directions in life. dun even know why i'm here in the world for... but now i'm better. my pimples are getting better.
about the weight loss, cos' i've read in internet about unintentional weight loss and sudden scne outbreak may be due to endo or fibroids.
actually i lost about 8-9 kgs. but these are graudal ones. i din lose the weight overnight or something. maybe tomolo i'll see the GP from company doc, anyway i sprained my shoulder also. "suai".

Hi ULN, this is what i've gathered from the website,

Call your doctor if:

1.You have soaked through a pad or tampon every hour for 6 hours.
2.Your bleeding has lasted longer than one week.
3.You are pregnant.
4.You have severe pain, especially if you also have pain when not menstruating.
5.Your periods have been heavy or prolonged for 3 or more cycles, compared to what is normal for you.
6.You have a fever or abnormal vaginal discharge, especially if it has an odor.
7.You have bleeding after menopause.
8.You have bleeding or spotting between periods.
9.You have nipple discharge, excessive hair growth, deepening voice, unintentional weight loss or gain, or new acne.

Hi Mandy,
I had experienced that type of stress before when I was in the UK. I had pimple outbreak. So I told my friends, you can see from my face if I am stress... I was stress for more than 2 years. Stress is one of the causes of endo. Two months ago, my doc asked me to think about what I want in life. Getting another degree is not all about life. I was very depressed when I had a miscarriage. I suffered from not wanting the pregnancy, to dealing with people asking me to go for abortion, all these becos I have not completed my studies. By the way, according to my doc, I am not young and past the "ideal" age to have babies already.

I did not know endo or fibroids can cause unintentional weight loss. Anyway, I lost weight after removing those big fibroids...

Take care...

Hi ULN, if you don't feel comfy with what your gynae told you, then maybe you shd seek a 2nd opinion. To me, taking injection is nothing serious as compared to having op or worse case another miscarriage lor.

Hi Mandy, have you see GP abt your condition?

Hi Flower,

actually I hope to get my future home reno done in $20K. If I get a loan from bank, I will pay around $400 per month for 5 yrs. Hubby wants to borrow from his aunt but I really don't like the idea borrowing money from relative, I rather pay the interest to the bank, he says I'm very silly thinking this way, do you think so?

I've been looking thru the magazines too. Have seen a lot of designs I like but can't decide on one theme. I think I may eventually choose minimalist as I like things to be simple and easy to clean
. I will heed your advice to cut out things I like from those magazines. If not, I will have a problem telling the ID what I want for my house, thank you for sharing

Do you believe in Feng Shui and will you be engaging one Feng Shui Master for your new house? My MIL hopes that hubby & I will not be so stubborn about getting one but I really do not like the idea of putting things or painting colours I don't like in my house, sian..... She even wants us to fix window grille at our full height windows in the living room and windows in our bedrooms as it will be safer for children. She has a point there but I don't know why I don't like the window grille to block my view leh.... See already so many differences in our planning.

Could you send me your email template to have a look how it's like? I will be sending my floor plan to some ID companies after Chinese New Year next year
Wow, so many different terms to learn, I only know homogeneous tiles, parque and laminated floors from your list
I think I will get a mixture of homogeneous tiles and parque next time

I may have to knock walls and build fake walls too. Common toilet door faces one of the bedrooms, so we are thinking of sealing it up with a fake wall and knock a hole for the toilet door in the kitchen. Our Master Bedroom toilet door may face our bed, so may have to shift it to the side too. I can send you a soft copy of my floor plan, it's a bit costly to do all these but I hope can be done within $20K lor.

Tell me more as you move along, it's a lot for me to learn.

Did you enjoy your Christmas? I did

Hi ULN,
thank you, I find you young too and excel very well academically

I had always hope for chance to study overseas and tour Europe but I will have to put the Europe tour in my future years' goal now
I took my degree in Singapore and my first time on a plane was during my honeymoon, so that trip to Korea meant a lot to me

I must learn from you on how to travel to Europe cheaply. You give me a lot of hope, I thought I must save a lot before I can ever tour there. I notice that some of your trips are quite short, only a few days but you could enjoy yourself so much. Think I must not be too ambitious to cover so many places of interest in one day. Like you say, must travel to some places and make full use of the time there to enjoy and feel romantic

Actually, hubby and I planned to go to Paris for our honeymoon last year but due to budget constraint, we chose Korea instead. How much in total did you spend in Paris? I also hope to visit Italy one day
I also hope to travel free and easy as package tour is too rushed. I had constipation when I was 8D6N in Korea, only went to clear my bowel once! Time was so tight and we were always rushing for the schedule that it affected my bowel system! However, I am afraid that both hubby and I may get lost in Europe if we do travel free and easy in future

How do you know where to get budget hotels? Must have spent a lot of time surfing the internet
I've tried sometimes but gave up as I usually ended up not knowing where I saw the cheap hotel rates. By the way, do you do online payment and booking for the hotels? Is it safe?

Your wedding is on the 15 Jan 05, right? Wow, it's just around 3 weeks' time!

ULN, you may be enjoying preparing the wedding and could not believe that you are actually stressed preparing for your wedding but it can be true as you are rushing things to get them done in time. You may not know you are stressed but must remember to rest and take time to breathe
If the injection is necessary and does not cause any side-effects, I think it's no harm taking it to get your health back together before trying to conceive again. Have faith in yourself, I do believe you'll conceive again

Hi Mandy,

I also have not heard about weight loss when having endometriosis or fibroids. I think your weight loss may be due to stress. Prolonged menstrual bleeding is not a good sign. I advise that you see a gynae soon and have it checked. Your gynae may do an ultrasound scanning for you and do a PAP smear if necessary. Do remember that stress is the cause of a lot of illnesses and diseases other than fibroids and endometriosis, so we must learn to balance our emotions. We're all trying and let's support one another

Hi Giggler,

it's always nice to hear from you. How have you been? Hope you enjoyed Christmas with your hubby and gal gal