Premature babies support group

Precious_one,

yah, really tired now, just got home to do some pumping before going out and see Jerlynn and do somemore shopping again. Think tonight will KO earlier...but sure wake up at 6-7am again tmr de...Hope dun put on too much weight, cos just now went shopping and even Size L seemed like tight on me liao!!! need XL...

David,

Think I msg u on FB and u already Gan Jiong and Ciaozzz liao... NVM I understand, I was also Gan jiong when jerlynn can't suck well on her teats and I rushed to buy at Mustafa at night hours to buy cheap soft teats to tahan 1st when she was back. Why the salesgirl says the teats cant fit Avent Bottles? Aiyoh, bad leh they all, no knowledge. I was told sure can fit when I was buying them at The First Few Years in Paragon, the sales girl told me that all narrow neck teats fit all narrow neck bottles and all wide-neck teats fit all wide neck bottles...it's like Worldwide Standard de, so no worries abt that.

Anyway more bottles to use is good, as u can sterilise less frequently and don;t have to rush to wash up so often, this way, more relaxed.

Maybe Danya recognised the smell is different from hospital smell, dats why not sleeping more yet...soon she will be able to adjust and sleep more. It's gonna be fun waiting for ur updates on Danya again...

Dunno whether you guys were told abt this, we were advised by the nurses to have a night light. Cause the NICU always dim the lights at night. So if its complete darkness, it sort of scary for the baby, which equates to babies being cranky at night ....

David,

oh dear... i got no one to look after bb for me now.. still wanna say tml go n buy.. sighs.. i also wanna get the pigeon teats that can fit the avent bottles.. cause i bought more than 20 bottles if not wasted..

Hi David,

May I know at wat gestational age Dayna was delivered and the reason for premature delivery? u know,looking at her reminds me of my lost gal.so i'm guessing Dayna was delievered ard 29 wks or so.the 1st tot that came to my mind was my gal looked like a chicken.i don't know y! haha.glad u have ur precious one home with u.i'm sure u'll be happy to be losing sleep over her.

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">David/Sam</font>

Congrats!!! All yr efforts have paid off ya.. Yr little fighters are home with you. I'm sure you wouldn't mind to xchange yr sleep for this day

<font color="aa00aa">Grace</font>

WOW!! I almost choke on my water when I see yr bill size.. How long did yr BB stay in NICU?

Btw.. is yr gynae Dr. Joycelyn Wong too?

<font color="0000ff">Lilac</font>

wow BB Nate already has a tooth.. U mus hv very gd calcium intake.

Dun feel sad ya.. I'm sure good things are coming yr way. GOD will repay watever you've been shortchanged!!!</font>}

Jenifur
hahahaa.. relax.. your bill won't hit that high..
my gyne is ann tan. she's not from tmc. who's your pd? maddy stayed there for 122 days. she's quite famous there. ask the nurses to show you this year's tmc celebrities calender..you will see us
. we are quite close to the nurses there. they still call up now and there..

Hi Hi david and sam congrats on your babies going home! have fun with them!
hee.

dropping by to say hello!

recently a bit no time to post cause in morning session, and handling a batch of low grades kids, so trying hard to think of ways to motivate them as well as to push up their grades.

also, got a few kiddos hard to handle...sigh.

dash also keeps sick and sick...sigh...and everyday got to walk that long road to fetch him back home...

hope like that can slim down. haha!

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">Grace</font>

Baby Jed's PD is Dr. SS Keoy. Oh Maddy is in the calendar.. ok will go check it out when I'm there later.

So far I'm quite happy w e TMC nurses in NICU.. they have been very helpful &amp; nice. Plus they only hv 3-4 bb(s) so e care ratio is almost 1:1. So I'm abit hesitant to transfer him out.

Anyway the cleft support team from KKH will be in NICU to assess Baby Jed's condition. If they feel that TMC NICU is not doing a gd job den they will initiate transfer on our behalf.</font>

gingal and tigger, the dentist will take a look at the tooth on Monday. Chances are they will take it out. Actually it is for the better because the tooth seems a little loose and the nurses are worried that the tooth might come out and its not good if he swallows it.

Jenifur, is Dr. SS Keoy good? He was my firstborn PD at TMC. Seems like Joycelyn always assign Dr. Keoy to the babies she delivers.

Seeking the opinion of mummies here. When your baby was discharged, do you go back to KK and do you always get the same PD for your baby's checkup?

Another thing, is it easy for babies to latch on after they are discharged from the hospital? Although I have been pumping, I really would prefer to latch on my baby when he is out cos' I am more used to latching.

David and Sam,

Congrats on Danya and Mattias home!!

All our great warriors are coming home one by one, thats wonderful!

About teats, I prefer NUK latex teats...I realised that the disposal teats in NUH are NUK latex, thats why i bought them. They are very soft and easy to suck. But the bad thing is they get worn out very easily since continous high temp sterilising doesnt do them any good. Xavier tried Pigeon Peristaltic Nipple too, doesnt work as good as NUK though...

Lilac,
Dont worry, Nate will be home with you before you know! Some of us here went thru very long journey of NICU...some up to half a year (precious_one's Angel right?). Xavier was in NICU for 139 days, i didnt know how I made it but I did

If Nate is trying to wean off CPAP soon, the road to home is really very soon, have faith and be strong!

As for latching on.. that was my plan too. Yet Xavier gets angry after about 10 minutes suck and he will refuse to latch again. At first I thought he got enough, but later I found out he was jus frustrated since it took more effort to suck a breast than a bottle...I guess all the bottle-feed in NICU has spoilt him...And with the respiratory difficulties he is having now, I didnt want to push too hard...so I stay with Bottle feeding my EBM. It is hard work....with all the pumping, sterlising and feeding...

If u really want to latch on, u got to "station" in hospital more often, get him used to latching on before he comes home. Once he is used to bottle feed, it is hard to switch...

Hey Mummies,
Want to seek some advice here ..
Xavier was drinking a lot after he got home, a week after he was home, he started 150ml/4hours, and it carried on for almost 2 weeks. He always seemed very eager to drink and poo everytime he drank. However, jus not too long ago, he seemed to lose interest in drinking...Very hard to get him to drink more than 100ml, and took very very long to finish this 100ml, and even harder to burp. Sometimes, after 60-70ml he refused to drink anymore. Besides, he didnt poo as much, once in a 2 days. The color of the stools are no longer those yellow-greenish, but turned a bit brownish. And the intervals between feedings can drag to 5-6 hours (even normal day time).
Yet,he did not look very unwell apart from looking tired..not fever, no cranky crying...
Have u encountered this? He is now 2 months corrected...

Hi Mums,

Update. Finally, we give up bottle feed. Every time after bottle feed, either me or Diana has to practice Karaoke to make Danya sleep.

Yesterday wee hour feed, try latching. Danya love the natural nipple. Suck till she doze off. No more karaoke.

Everyday, I have to drain Danya STOMA bag at least 2 times. Now her stool smell very much like fragrance to me, sweet. Try to change Danya STOMA bag today. Wah lau, big fight, 3 adult vs 1 baby. Finally, took us more than 30 minutes just to change 1 bag. Very challenging to calm my princess.

Hi Jas,

Milk stool should be yellowish. Is Xavier having extra Iron drop. If yes, the stool will look yellow brownish for 2 to 3 output after feed. Is Xavier lethargic before every feed or not interest in feed? If yes, better see a PD for a second opinion.

Jas,
most bbies have growth spurt esp physical and cognitive growth about 3-4 months and i realised a lot of bbies incl mine and my SIL, milk intake dip about this time. They are distracted and more interested in wanting to play. It's a normal phase, provided you rule out illness or other problems (wind, etc).

Mine had shallow stomach, realised he take longer to digest if he drank a lot. so we changed back to 3 hourly feed. helped him to digest better. some bbies are the many meal kind i guess?!

Jas
It's noraml.He's prob not hungry that day. it could last a couple of days. Maddy had this problem too. Initialy so kan cheong, kept calling the pd and sending her down to pd. Some days, she could last 10 hours without milk. made us panic. Btw, now 17 months old, she still has days like this.. rejecting food.. she just stopped her 1 week of hunger strike.

Jas,

Yeah Don't worry, me too was worried and did asked some mummies here too... and it's really a phase that they will go through...

Visited Doctors for the problem also (Neonat/PD/Chinses Physician), all also say as long as baby has enuff wet diapers a day (at least 5-6 wet diapers), is putting on weight or at least not losing weight (U can weigh urself on the scale and weigh again with xavier), is pooing soft stools (Not hard and black), no fever, no troubles means everything is alright and u can feed him on Demand

Hi lilac,
When your baby is discharged, you will be given a list of appointments to follow up, the first 2 mths or so , the appointments will be very tight, but slowly it will drag longer and longer.

My babies refuse to latch on so I continue to bottle feed.

Hi Jas,

my boy also lost interest in milk abt 3mths+ corrected. Everyday test my patience, was really worried, but when I checked with the dietitian, she mentioned that his intake is still ok .And if I force feed him, its worse, he will merlion out ... so in the end, I just feed him whatever he can take. Now he is better, think its just a phase....

Stools wise, also problem, now poo like 5-6 days. Once, he didn't poo for 10 days, so worried, went to PD, wasted $85 only to be told its ok.... in the end I took prune juice and let him have my milk....he did poo though ... haha ... but I only try once :p

As for the poo color, mine also brown.... I suspect its the iron drops too ... I even take pic to show the dietitian and the neonat, but they seems indifferent, so I presume its ok...

But I always believe that if you are really worried, sometimes spending a little money to visit the PD can rest your mind ..... besides, can take ht and wt .... I'm always very excited to learn abt their progress

Lilac
Yes, Jas is right, my girl was in NICU for 3 days to 6 months. NO SCN, straight home with oxygen support equipment. Nate's gestation is good, so will be home very soon.

Lilac
Yes, Jas is right, my girl was in NICU for 6 months minus 3 days to be exact. NO SCN, straight home with oxygen support equipment. Nate's gestation is good, so will be home very soon.

Jas, thanks for the encouragement. Ya, the journey is long but I reckon most mummies have gone through the journey/is going through the journey n have overcome it. So I will press on. Regarding latching, actually I spoke to the lactation counsultation asking if they could cup feed the baby when he has graduated to that. At least no bottle for him but then also worried that it would mean more work for the nurses tho' she assured me that it is no problem. At the end of the day, I just want the best for Nate. Don't want to push my desire (of latching) and then realized that he is not having enough. As for weaning off CPAP, they are attempting for Nate to try cycling this week. Hope all goes well.

David, wow!! Danya prefers the nipple, eh? That's good =) I am amazed at how you guys are coping. I am really encouraged by how the family is doing. It serves as an inspirational to me.

Tigger, so our premmies will be on a tight schedule when they are discharged, huh? Well, anything to ensure that they are doing well. By the way, for the follow-up appointments, can we pay by medisave or is it all hard cash? Am trying to set aside money now for all these. Don't even know what is our bill now.... ha, ha... but just trying to consolidate all our finances and see what we can do about it.

Hi Lilac,

I paid using the CDA account, so not sure if we can use medisave. But its still subsidised. Don't worry too much abt the cash ... Baby is more impt now ... smile more ok, cause baby can feel your mood for the day

Sam
My girl needed the following then:
1) Oxygen concentrator = to generate oxygen (This machine is big and heavy, very noisy)
2) A humidifier
3) A cpap machine
4) A monitor that shows her SPO2 and pulse rate

I'm sure Josiah will not need any of the above. I know some babies only need the cpap to help push the oxygen in, to ease breathing. CPAP is a pretty small machine that can be placed on side table.

Hi David,

wow,i must say ur parenting knowledge is fantastic.not many men bothers to learn so much abt parenting/caring for a little one.

may i ask wat was the reason Dayna was delivered prematurely? i'm juz mentally preparing myself.how was her growth during gestation? was she average? 590g fpr 26 wks sounds a bit small to me.or is that normal?

Hi Monster Mum,

Diana was diagnosed with severe PE (Pre-eclampsia) which restricted Danya growth (IUGR). I almost lost both Diana and Danya. PE normally develop after week 20. Only few super lucky mama will get it.

Hi David,
it always puts a smile on my face when u call me monster mum.haha.

oh,it's rare to have growth restriction.docs were puzzled abt my stillbirth,as there was no growth restriction.was it discovered during a routine check up? was anything abt the growth restriction detected earlier? or was it juz a one off discovery,then emergency c section? there's usually a trend to all these.it doesn't develop suddenly overnight,right?

Hi Monster Mum,

During the first &amp; second Trimester, the development of Danya is on the smaller 3 percentile. During week 17, Danya was diagnosed with hypertension. Initially, it was only gestational hypertension. During week 23, Diana start to have edema even on hands and face. I don't feel good, went to gynea and a detail protein test was done. The allow limit is not more than 300mg/24hours of protein in urine. Result came back in week 25, the protein in urine is 250mg/24hour. Our gynea felt that there is a high possibility of pre-mature. So I check Diana into KKH with referral letter from polyclinic. The situation took a turn for the worst. Diana developed HELLP which almost kill both Diana &amp; Danya.

<font color="119911">sam</font>,
at least, now u can spend more time with Matthias.better take care b4 yrs another 2 boys coming hm.

re:slp.
maybe Matthias still need time for him to get used to the new environment. just give him some time. HX is also like that. it took 2 wk for him to adjust bck to my hse.we did on the night light only.

<font color="119911">David</font>,
wow, finally await had arrived, princess Danya is hm.err...when can Danya off her Stoma bag...hmm..must be sweating alot when trying to change her....

re:teat.
think only pigeon nipple teat can fit avent bottle but not vice versa.
for me, I just use Avent teat (nb size) then my boy super hungry will guai guai suck.

<font color="0077aa">Grace</font>,
wow, tried 15 teats...ai-yo...a lot wor.

<font color="0077aa">gingal</font>,
haa..u describe "tortured by Jerlynn"...ai-yo...think being a sahm not easy right....

re:feet.
HX dun have this problem except like to scratch his knee till red red.my no#1 last time more jialat. pull her own hair till scream like mad. then tried to get her hand out of hair but she held it very tightly...

<font color="119911">lilac</font>,
oh...a tooth found...u are a second mummy I heard having a bb with tooth. ai-yo..if remove, will it grow again? what's the cause of having early growth tooth? too much calcium?

<font color="0077aa">Jas</font>,
think xavier shd be in a growth spout that time blar....that's why suddenly increase in milk and then after that decrease. jsut like xbliss's bb, HX also like that. have to give more meal.

<font color="0077aa">precious_one </font>,
hmm...lack of sleep = weight gain?me also slp less than 5hrs loh.

am new here. My baby CA now is 4mths.

a little backgrd of what happen to me:
-disgnosed with preeclampsia with no symptoms
- at KKH then realise eyesight, liver, kidney damaged by high blood.
-A&amp;E c-sect

-baby hd hernia surgery on both side before dischrg
-dischrg at 2.3Kg
-now past 5kg @ CA 4mths
-drinking less then 120ml/feed every 4hr

Hi Afcai Mum,

Bingo. You are right. Sweat more than sauna but that is OK. The emotional pain of seeing my princess cry and scream really cut my heart deeply. Every 2 to 3 days, Danya will cry and scream when we change her STOMA bag. I wish that she does not have to go through all this suffering.

Hi WH,

You are on the same boat as my wife Diana. Has your eyesight been fully recovered? Diana is still having some issue on her left eyes.

My princess Danya also went through an ops for twisted intestine. She is having a STOMA after the ops. Once she reach certain weight, KKH will arrange for her STOMA closure.

<font face="Comic Sans Ms">Breastfeeding mummies,

Are you taking supplements? If yes what sort of supplements? I am thinking of getting mulit-vit to eat so that my EBM will be more nutritious for Baby Jed.

And hor.. preemie in NICU cannot take frozen EBM but what about after their discharge? I do hv xcess EBM now &amp; wish to freeze it for future use. But if preemie cannot take frozen EBM at all den I'll just give it to my #2.

<font color="aa00aa">Grace</font>

I saw a yr newspaper cutting in NICU. You've done a very gd job w Maddy..

Yupz I'm from NCC. why leh?

<font color="0000ff">David</font>

Gosh.. Pregnancy was suppose to be something joyous but nearly become a nitemare to you. Glad tt both Diana &amp; Danya are fine now.</font>}

Jenifure,
why preemie canot take frozen ebm?? our ebm are all frozen in NICU leh. When my boy was discharged, i gave him fresh ebm since by then, the supply was more than enough. It will take some time to build up. I took all kinds of prenatal vits, from multi vits, fish oil, to calcium.

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">xbliss</font>

Duno leh.. e NICU nurse said cannot freeze e EBM now leh. Only can put in fridge solast 48hrs.. I've spare so tot of freezing it tt's why ask if it's ok for them to consume when discharged</font>

afcai,

SAHM not easy, Working Mum also not easy...just being a Mum really is not easy! Kekekeke

Jerlynn likes to hit her lap and her head also... we let her hold a rattling toy ytd and she hit her head and lap with it...it seemed so fun for her that she kept on doing it...like no pain de...Hmmmmmm

Hi WH,

Welcome to the thread... Ur baby is at CA 4 months? Means u are also in the March Mummies thread like afcai and me?
My girl will be at CA 4 months too in another 3 days' time...

jenifur,

Me not taking any supplements for BFing... btw, u talked abt Premmie in NICU not taking frozen EBM..Hmmm I think the nurse who told you that very funny leh... Most of us or I should say maybe all of us transported all EBM in frozen form to NICU ... Maybe u wanna check again with the nurse..

A quick update of Jerlynn, she can sleep well at night now... Kekeke She sleeps thru the night for 5 hours everyday since beginning of last week. The timings will be from 2-3am to 7-8am! Hooray... Nowadays she can sleep from 10pm to 12noon and she will still wan her feeds except for the mentioned 5 hours interval, but it is getting easier for me now, as she will be sucking while sleeping and will fall back to sleep immediately after her feeds. Thank God! Cross my fingers and hope this goes on without any change later...I cannot tahan her previous US Timings on sleep and play...

A news to share, read that Kelly Chan gave birth to a baby boy prematurely also. one month earlier than EDD...Kekeke but her boy good weight wor, abt 3kg!!!

jenifur
why the nurse say cannot use frozen ebm? that's weird..why don't you give them to frozen milk and freeze the fresh ones.. first in first out?thought they always ask for your old milk.. mmm.. maybe new policy..

oh.. i from ncc too.. maybe can meet you 1 day..

lilac, like what a SCn nurse told me last time.. when the bb is ready for discharge, it means we can treat them as normal bb (of course some will go back with eqpt etc, but should be almost there).. so dont worry...

jenifur... ehehe.which dr wong? congrats on jedidiah being born and doing fine!
SCN is a less-intensive NICU.. I think only KKH has that (pte hospital does not have a SCN)... my gal was talking thawed frozen ebm since birth till i stopped bf... but she got alot of wind..maybe that's the nurse's concern?

david..ahaha.. i am like u (big and dull eyes) while my hb is like ur wife..guess what? my gal got small, single eyelid and dull eyes!!!! ahahahahahha congrats on danya be home! diana and u must be over the moon!
can try to change her bad when she is zzzing? :p we got a few 'super lucky' mommies here (that give birth early due to PE)... what is danya's wgt now? stoma scheduled when she reaches 2.5kg?

gingal, some men are just so <insert> (ditto for my hb). dont buy too much XL .. cos once u lose the wgt the clothes will go wasted!
great that jerlynn is sleeping 'thruout' now

welcome WH....

2689547.gif
everyone.

Tks for welcoming me!!

Tkx. My eyesights are better now. During the worst time, my eyes played tricked on me…I’ll see part of the tree trunk were missing, lamp post bend, white lines on road are crook!! and for almost 2mths i didnt watch TV and read papers... coz cant see well... after that i still didnt watch TV coz busy with the little one... ha haaaa...

my liver and kidney are recovering. so during confinement i cant take the normal confinement food and it happen to be CNY as well...

Hi David,
I can see much better now but will take long while to fully recover i guess. My eyes are now liked a "spoil printer" when printed some of the pixels are missing. So i cant see tables or anything that is straight line. sometime cant walk properly or bump into something coz the balancing is not there as depend on eyes to judge. Currently am taking TCM to heal my health.

Oh dear! Sayang Danya! What the weight she need to reach? Talk to her in her sleep and tell her everybody loves her and quickly gain more weight!

Hi Jenifur,
When my baby dischrg KKH got me to buy GNC fenugreek to increase BM, i only took 2pill. Coz i realise after that my BP shoot up.

BTW, also 1st time hearing cant give frozen EBM. I always give them that leh. strange..

Hi gingal,
i remember you too!! *-wave

hmmm... may b our babies are neighbour!! How much is yr BB gal drinking now?
2689548.gif

and her weight? my gal is below average. and her milk intake is not that great either... but am not gg to stress over that as long as she's ok and putting weigh.

Congratz, baby can sleep thru the nite.. when my BB was home can sleep thru out at nite but morning can only nap 15min! it took us a super long while to understand and correct her. Lately, for the past few nite she cant sleep at nite, and want to play and to be carry... i super tried.. waking up every 1-2hr to "entertain" her. Not sure izzit due to her 2nd jap on 6-in-1...

<font color="0077aa">gingal</font>,
have u start J on solid food (cereal?). HX seems got the signs wanting to eat cos, my mum when makan dinner, she will carry him with one hand and makan with the other hand. then his mouth will move, saliva drip. when he saw his jie jie taking her plate eating in front of him, he also got the same pattern-saliva drip, mouth move. then we lure him with food, he moved fwd to grab. if we did it several times and not give him, he will scream.

what is CA 4 months?

cheers for J on her slp time. my boy is a pig wor...just throw him his pillow then he doze off. like pillow got charm.

wow, kelly chan eat gd , slp gd mah...

<font color="119911">WH</font>,
eerrr....forgot where I 'meet' u leh...can help me to recall or not?:p. my bb also had hernia surgery. wow. yr bb past 5kg at 4mth?? my last weight at his 5mth for my shao ye is 4.95kg as of 29/5. he shd be now ard 5kg+.

wow, the fenugreekpill super powerfull wor.

u take care and eat more 'pu'. are u sahm?

hmm...yr gar weight gd wor...my shao ye only born 1.7kg at wk 31+3 day.

<font color="0077aa">David</font>,
hmm..do doc mention when Danya can remove her STOMA bag? u just 'chant' on Danya telling her not to cry and Daddy or Mummy changing yr smelly poo poo. that's how we practise chanting since HX discharge. now, he seldom cry until cranky due to unable to slp.

<font color="119911">jenifur</font>,
for me, I ate fruits, veg and lot of fish. no supplements.hmm..why preemiere cannot drink frozen ebm at NICU. heard fr other mummies that can uy caffine free tea fr organic shop or online sprees to booast up bm.

Hi WH,

my babies also CA 4 mths+, come to think of it, maybe my babies are neighbours with gingal, afcai and you ... haha....

Hi afcai,

know u since 2004. when we r planning for wedding!! then at Mar MTB thread...

my girl born in Dec. but CA (corrected age) 4mths. meaning minus off 3mths early delivery.

I'm a WFHM (work fm home mom) ke kee... been working fm home since June after i clear all my leaves. Had a very understanding boss who allow me to WFH. but tml &amp; fri will go back ofc for awhile to show face...

yah, the fenugreek pill super "pu" i cant take "pu" since confinement till now. as kidney is still under maintenance so cant over stress.