Premature babies support group

Still rem me? Its been a long time since I log in to here.. Been bz taking care of little Craydon esp now he is down with a bad cough and flu.. Took him to PD last thu and KKH on sun and he is not recovering yet.. Almost every feed, he will vomit out.. sighzz.. He lost weight from 6.38kg tp 6.33kg.. sighzz..

xbliss, my son also start refusing milk when he was about 3mths+ old.. We also change milk powder, drag the hrs and doesn't improve much.. Till now he has to take about 1hr to drink milk too.. Not only that, he doesn't really like porridge too.. Cereal also can't finish and start whining liao.. :p Really dun know y my boy so fussy..

Now I let him drink Promil Gold (Step 2 of S26), he can drink about 130 - 160ml out of the 180ml I made.. Some slight improvement I can say..

As for his operation, we will hav a 2nd review this Aug to see if he is "big" enough to hav the surgery or a later date..

oh we don't call it child care leave here. we called it parenting sick leave :p

shshshs...maybe they give me extra???? keke - wacky jane. no la. i really have 3 days parenting sick leave per year. which have been utilised liao (becuase early this year, siang warded in KKH for 3 days)

powergal,
i remember you of cse as we were on msn recently
wat did the paedi say about his weight?

fairylander,
take care..guess u wun hv time to log in today....text me if u want to update us on cathrina....u must take gd care of yrself so tt u can care for her well...be strong....we r all rooting for her...

Hi costa,

The PD we went last thu didn't say much about his wt cos he knew Craydon was a small size bb to start off.. But his wt percentile is only 3%.. I m very worried about his wt cos he really need to gain faster as his surgery may start somewhere this yr..

powergal,
me facing same thg as my son vy small size oso..was asked to gv him pediasure...hv exhausted many cans of tis milk and yet lidat...

u seeing the neo nat?maybe see wat he/she says?he is taking cereals as well, right?

powergal,
my ger oso 3rd percentile 4 her weight haha. pd saw her weight, ask me if she eats, i say yes, eat a lot. then he ask if she's active, i say yes. then he continue to talk abt other things haha. guess as long as they r healthy, it's ok?

Costa,
Neo nat appt is this coming Mon, will see what she says.. He is not taking cereal quite well.. at times he can finish all, but most time he will whine after taking half the portion.. What is ur son wt now?

Disneymickey,
My son is also very active and always very eager to flip when I changing his diapers or clothes.. Also the play time he enjoy the most is sitting on a walker and walk.. I notice he doesn't like to sit and always like to struggle to stand when we wan him to sit on our lap..

daec,
thanks, hmm, have been waiting to give them cod liver oil
but got to hold on for my younger boy, pd say he is overweight
and ask me what I feed them jokingly, I told him I feed them with solids and for desserts, usually an extra helping of 'Love', haiz if only he can trf some fats to his abang

mommies, so sad now..juz now over lunch, was talking to colleague. she has a boy who's abt same age as ws.. she always telling me she'll watch tv while her boy play by himself.. so i say, aiya, y u watch tv? no interaction w ur boy..she say, she enjoy watching tv leh..cos she only brings the boy back on weekend, i tot the more she shld value the bonding time, instead of watching tv rt? but prob my tone bit 2 harsh (cos i was like scolding her 4 neglecting her son). think she's angry w me.. how har?? actually we were q gd frens..so now i dunno shld i go n apologize??

disneymickey,

hmmm.. y not u try to find some excuse to tok to her on other things like gossip on boss or fashion etc.. then when she sounded better, u said, hey, just now sorry about the tone k? Let go pantry and eat snake.. something like this? :p

a rather stupid question.. may I know how to post pix here har? I try to follow instruction but can't seem to get it load? I wana post Craydon's pix..

powergal,
maybe you change to another type of cereals or maybe porridge see how?my son also dun really like to take food

he is tiny....weight is about maybe say 9 kg plus minus....the neo nat said hes thin but asked if hes active, i said very and she din say anymore thing..

i more worried abt his fine motor skills and will have the IQ test soon...tts the next hurdle..

dun tink too much and see wat the doc says....

DM,
yup, maybe you could just tell her that you have overreacted ? and shouldn't have use the 'harsh' tone, think it is better to tell her directly you don't meant that way .....

didi

cod liver oil will cause baby to put on more weight??? but i thought it suppose to supplement and make them like more healthy (ie boast immunity??)

hi powergal,

for uploading of picture, you just have to click the upload attachment and select the picture u wish to upload. otherwise, if you think its ok, u email to me craydon picture. i load for you

Costa,

Do u let ur son eat fried food? My sis's son like it so much that he is almost 30kg now at the age of 4yro..

My mum always said premature bb r smarter than full term bb so dun worry about the motor skills.. My niece is a 32weekers and she can walk at 10mth w/o support!! Its all depend cos my fren's bb can walk at 14mth and hers is a full term bb..

powergal,
my son dun like to eat food so i guess even if i want to give fried food, tink he also dun want haha..a bit got give lah but not say the whole chicken wing or smthg, u get wat i mean?

wah, tts quite overweight for a 4yr old kid leh...my primary two son is only thirty plus kg...and i already tink he is quite big sized

thanks, i hope tt his motor skills will improve too....

u managed to noe how to upload..?if too big file maybe need to shrink it first...

Costa,

Yaa.. My nephew is super big size that its really funny to see him queuing up among his nusery classmates..

I m trying to upload my hp pix to my pc now.. keke..

Jane

fish oil boost immunity. At the same time,it got some impt Omega 'fats' so some think it may cause weight gain if take too much. Anywayz its considered good and essential fats. I also read fish oil gd for metabolism, reduce blood pressure. wonder if taking it regularly will help for those who had pre-enclampsia.. hmm..

powergal
sorry to hear Craydon been ill. hope he get better soon.

Didi
me havent start givin fish oil as I'm not sure wat age can give. hehe Nada weight is also borderline overweight.

oh daec

went in nada blog and notice that the format of the blog seem to have change... is there something missing?

hi daec

erh...i let siang take accordingly to what its stated on the box. ie 1-6 years old one table spoon 1.5ml) per day. should not be consider take too much right...

re pre-enclampsia, there is no mention. only mention is good for brain and eye development and immunity..

powergal, you PM me. then send me the pic. i downsize from here
you need to downsize the picture...

Jane
shld be ok I think.

pre-enclampsia - dr say dunno wat is cause or cure. since fish oil said to reduce bld pressure so maybe it can help also somewhat. I took after Nada birth then high blood was ok after few weeks. dunno why my other fren with premmie baby still has her high blood until now. that's nearly one year.her baby was born 1wk after Nada, 32weeks also.

powergal

horray! craydon so cute. eye so big... his size seem good ah. how tall is he now? so boyish look
hehe got spiky hair ler

daec
dunno why, i see nada blog..all in plain writing. no background ler... maybe my lousy network..

oh....actually my mama say fish oil we adults also can eat. but wow i smell it..yeeks :p

Hi daec,

Both the doc didn't say anything about the vomiting, guess its pretty normal esp he is down with alot of phelgm but they did say Craydon's lungs r clear and fine..

Hi Jane,
I manage to get it edited.. thanks!~~

Hi Jane,

He still fall under 3% percentile leh.. Weighing 6.3kg 62cm tall.. We cut his hair during his 4mth and till now 2mth hav pass and his hair still very short.. hahhaa..

Jane
I think something wrg with Nada server. yup I noticed it today. I get hubby check later.

yes, gd for adults too. no worries - there is fish oil capsules version also.

powergal
gd that his lungs are clear! He look so cool and collected like dat.

Powergal

i always heard pple say cut the bb hair at either 4 mth or 1 year and the bb will have nice nice hair. I shave my boy hair when he was one year old (cos i miss the 4th month)

i think if they have phelgm vomit may be a good thing afterall, because the phelgm will also come out.

he very cute ler
i like his big big eye. baby look

daec

ok ok..love to see nada la so i almost everyday go in and look hahahaha!! cannot tahan myself

powergal
alamak ur boy so young, already know how to give killer look make other melt-melt heheh

Jane
glad u enjoy e blog
I try put more clips of my darlin

Hi Jane and daec,
Thanks for ur comment.. Sometimes I really very angry with him for refusing milk but when he smile and give me the "pls dun scold me" look, I will melt.. hahahaa..

powergal
so happy to see you here. visit your blog on and off but din see updates so gather u must be very busy. craydon is such a cool poser! hehe. not easy to capture such moments with my bryan who hates to show expression.

dm,
i know what u mean. I think it's generally the mums with full terms bbs who would not focus so much on their child. For us, our bbs came the hard way and every second with them is so precious. Plus we know we need to do more "homework" to give them a good headstart. No need to feel guilty but perhaps check with your colleague if she felt offended lor.

Hi Jane yah dash did take flu vaccination. Need two shots, he taken one only, then fall sick liao...wonder whether really useful!

Anyway, what fish oil is good? Is it the normal yu gan you selling at ntuc?

Dm, nothing wrong with you saying that to your friend, think you are very right! She got to pay more attention to her boy. Yummy yummy, you want make chicken pie? I ate some apple pies from the marriage instructor's house. His maid baked those apple pies, yummy!

Hi powergal! Nice seeing you here, sorry my memory is always failing me, why your boy needs operation? Your boy looks sosoooo cute!

Yah, daec been visiting your blog, noticed the format changed to plain white too.

Costa, yah yah, premature baby very smart like me! hahahaha. (bu yao lian)dun worry...

Talking about milk refusal and food, sigh, dash is the same now too. He doesn't really take in much rice or porridge. He eats junk a lot. die...
Very sianz to see him sick, esp with cough, cause he will vomit, and threw out. Sigh. I really afraid his cough will affect his lungs. I have went to buy another type of multi vitamin for him (childlife), very ex, thought will help but in the end still the same leh. I think Tui Na is the most effective way to boast immune, I remember last year, when I faithfully brought him to tui na, he really fall sick only half a year...but then hor...me so lazy, weekends already occupied with dash's phonics and music classes, then sunday my own marriage class.

Bloom I am just trying to convince and remind myself my hubby is very good! HAHA.

Looking forward to tomorrow, going to take my own leave to see dr ann tan. She really packed with appointments, finally can see me. (actually my fault, I have pushed back the appointment a couple of times liao).

Recently, I have been quite crazy over books for dash. I have brought a lot of books for him, mostly from overseas spree. crazy! I thought better stock up more books, when i go on no pay leave, then he still have many books to read. Same with clothes, toys. haha. I am crazy!!!
I really hope to be able to try for next one soon!
But I think throughout, I will be very very afraid.

good morning mummies

decide to cook some hot dogs to put in crosiants that i bought yesterday for my lao gong as his breakfast..so long never prepare breakfast for him (reminded by kkf to be nice to my hushand).

didi
hmmm yeah..but i wanted to let siang take the cod liver oil cos wanted badly to build up his immunity ler... (esp lung).

kkf
attached is a picture of what i bought. i bought the smallest size as i am not sure if siang will be ok with it...hehe he taking it quite well and will ask for more :p. it cost me $4.50 nia

i am sure tui na works..but same here, i too lazy to go so far :p just for that 45mins

hope dash recover fast...

no scare. you can have the next baby smoothly...try try..

1359605.jpg

oh kkf, i really look up to you as a premmie who really crave something out of your life. look at dash he is so smart

powergal
hahahah....they really know how to keng so as not to drink milk hor...my naughty boy too...often struggle and end up i have to sing song and talk while he drink that 6 oz of milk...keke

kkf
I am also afraid of being pregnant. heheh I still have not do the prep that I want to before getting pregnant. keep postphoning coz I want to settle something else but hse thang still unsettled

when u going no pay leave ?

daec, kkf

i kept on telling myself i will be ready for 2nd one when siang turn 2 years old (which is in 4 months time opps!).... as time approach, i wonder will i be ever ready? sometime i think should i wait till he is 3 years old?....

lots of thinking..

Jane
Hmm maybe there is no such thing is 100% ready. maybe just ard 90% ? ;) Seeing that there are somethings which are beyond our control. So the other 10% depends on hope, confidence, how u feel or think.

I also dunno if I am ready next yr. my hse stuff still not settled. dun want to stress myself like last preg. but then age is catching up

daec

yeah... there is really no 100% kind of thing. even exam we take 60% as effort 40% as luck haha :p. maybe for me, exam is 50% effort 50% luck opps!

age is indeed a critical factor

xbliss & all mommies,
thanks 4 ur encouragement. i've alrdy sms tat colleague ytd & all seem fine..i felt tat as working mothers, when we reach home & hav dinner, it's alrdy 7+ 8 pm, our kids will prob b zzz ard 9+10 rt? so how much time do we spend w them a day?? somemore, this colleague of mine only brings her son home on fri nite, on weekdays, she'll go visit her son for 1-2hrs, then go home. but this wk, the son is staying with her. so i tot the more she shld make use of this opportunity & spend more time with her son rt?

i know 4 us, hubby will purposely turn off tv, & play or read 2 ws at nite. unless he's eating dinner, then he'll watch tv. after tat, he'll play/read to her. or juz talk to her oso bonding rt?

sigh.. maybe i think 2 much..

like kkf say, i'm oso gg crazy.. went to c doc ytd 4 my ezema, flare up again. doc say dun stress 2 much.. maybe i shld juz relax & dun think 2 much

disneymickey

this week i am a happy person as i can bring my boy home every night (my hubby having class in city area so can drop my boy in the morning to my mama house on the way there).

didi
after the posting from kkf and xbliss, i realised that my hb has put in effort these past few months thou at times he really make me angry and we really had some unhappy talks. time i soften a bit la... anyway, its just simple cooking and stuffing the hot dogs into the bread. my maid is also a happy person this morning as she get to eat western breakfast early in the morning keke..