Premature babies support group

Hi Alicia,
common for bb lost weight for first wk. ur boy won't loss much weight (like my boy) at the beginning coz their 'water content' is not much (skinny mah). My boy also lost like 50-100 g during first wk, but then w catch up later

I heard some stitch no need to be removed, but mine did. so... think is depends on the type of stitching tat gynae did. in any case, i suuppose first wk the wound is well protected so dun worry.

Disney Mickey
Congrats! Another milestone achieved.

Alicia
Drink more fluid and keep pumping.
If you have any question/ problem, ask the nurses to arrange for you to see the Lactation Consultant.

Jane/ Costa
My poster is 50% done.
heee....

KKF
Slowly lah. School work more important. Montage can do later.
How was Dash's first lesson?

Costa
Wah.. envy leh.
I love croaking at Karaoke too. Used to do it very often before the boys arrive.

Jane
Did you bring Siang to Tanglin Mall again yesterday?

Edric is sick again, just bring him to KKH yesterday. His SPo2 initally was 94% but luckily after treatment went up to 97% if not have to be hospitalised again. His sister is also having flu too. Headache....

Wow... so many of you already started doing the Poster already. Me still not yet. Dun know got time to do or not?

Anyone got recommendation of where to get study table and chairs for toddler? Saw some at Toys"r"us but hope to see more before buying.

Chloegal, reminded me of dash when he got bronchitis...his SPo2 also dropped and got to be hospitalised last time, then hooked to the machine (about 1 year plus that time)...me sooo stressed.

Anyway, mich, the lesson was quite good leh. If really got money, I think shichida class is not a bad choice. They really plan a lot of activities for the child, even learn japanese songs!

Have updated in his blog www.ido.per.sg/dash (trying to jio in more viewers again!) hee

Jane, I think I am set on going just batam...haha. Will be staying holiday inn like lindah, but sad, she will be going one week later than me.

Hi chloegal

I got my little tikes bench from bulk purchase last time...but think I still prefer ikea table and chairs
1007293.jpg

Chloegal
Oh dear.... Wishing them a speedy recovery.
Dylan is also down with a bit of running nose and slight cough.

May I check with you, under what circumstance do they check for SPo2?
Was Edric breathless so you asked them to check?

KKF
Good to hear that you like it.
Did Dash enjoy?
D&E were more interested in looking out of the windows. Waste money....

Mich
Thank, really hope he would recover soon too.

Once you bring them to KKH children emergency, the nurse will do all the check like, temperature, pulse and SPO2 etc. It is their procedure. When the nuse find that your case is more serious, they will direct you to the RED DOOR where the doctor will attend to you first.

Edric doesn seem breathless but when he sleep, i could heard the wheezing sound. A chest x-ray and blood test was also done. Luckily all was clear.

KKF
Thanks for the infor. How much did you bought it for? Was quite interested with one at Toys'r' us. It cost around $150+.

Mich,
Harlo, wow you so efficient, done 50 percent...can i have a sneak preview?

I dem jialut, i better get started leh.....hope we can pass up the homework together....

chloegal,
u looking for normal chairs and tables for children or those ergonomical ones?

hi mommies, can I check will teething affect the bb's milk intake ? my younger boy seems to refuse milk now as he is teething, btw can I get him those teething rusks for them ? thanks

hullo mummies...

wah look like the bug is flying ard... how do you mummies know if our bb have bronchitis? cough a lot ah? my son cough a few times a day. Told Dr A and she say a bit is ok, leh. Even the Merlion incident and some vomit incidents the last week, she say should be ok lah... as on and off reflux is common in premmies. Dunno y whole time w Dr A, my son never cough, just wailing on and off.

choegal,
hope Edric's doing fine now. may i know y you brought him to A&E iso GP/PD? just interested bcos till now i dunno how to know when is A&E, and when is GP/PD...

mich,
hope dylan gets better fast, too. did you bring him to GP or PD for his runny nose?

oh ya, mummies, let me whine a bit...
i just came back from neonat appt at KK. Physio says that baby is behind. This cud be because of his tendency to push his head and shoulders back too much - to the extent that it makes it difficult for him to devt into rolling and sitting postions. So next mth, i am seeing the Physio Therapist AND the Occupational Therapist for 45mins each. Seeing Lung Dr too. Seems that Dr A referred me to Lung Dr because just in case (choi) he ends up in A&E, the lung team will know his history. I find this kind of comment from Dr A a bit disconcerting as I realli hope I dun need to bring my son to A&E ever, leh. So on 12 Nov, I am seeing PT, OT, Lung Dr, SLT and dietitian. *sigh*. Another day of annual leave to be burnt.

Feeling a little bad because I hardly do the physio exercises... come home from work, pengsan oredi. Tell my mummy to do, but dunno if she does them or not. If I hardly do, cant expect others to do the exercise for him too... Aiya sometimes wish I can realli put a pro maid full time take care of him. Too bad my maid now is Indon and is more of communal family maid - too much housework to do, and not fully paid by me.

costa,
hami's wt is on 25% percentile now. Dr A ask to see dietitian to put in additives in his milk... eh, but i dun want to see him bloat leh. the MCT they gave him in SCN realli made him bloat lah...

Ah???? lindah! your boy looks heavy? only 25% percentile?

My boy was a lot skinnier last time!

Dun worry, think initial stage, premature babies all fall behind. Now, my boy coming two years old, everybody says he is like any other normal 2 years old.
Btw, our premature kids are supposed to catch up when they are 2 years old.

Just came back from padetrician nearby my house too. Costs me $48 wow say! My boy sometimes will wail and say "pain pain" when we touch his private part. I am not very sure why too. So being worried that it might be swollen or whatever, I brought him to see a padetrician just in case.

Hi Mich, forgot to answer your question. Think dash was engrossed, but whether enjoy...hmm...I cannot tell. My colleague told me her daughter enjoyed a lot, and learnt abc song from the course, went back kept singing.

I was saying, wow! When I asked my son what did he learn, seems like nothing came out. haha...
Oh maybe he already know all! haha(trying to console myself)

kkf,

yah lor. 25% only... he look chubby cos he's only 59cm lah... ht and size same as my SIL's 2mth old son. my son supposed to be 4.5mth old...

$48? quite ex, ah... but I heard some plc $70... eh... does your son get CSC card as your dependent? got subsidy? So did your PD say what's the matter?

didi,
think generally teething make them feel uncomfortable, thus milk intake may be lower & they will tend to b more cranky cos of the discomfort.

i used the teether 4 my ger to chew. will put in fridge, then cold cold, she chew until v shiok, think cooling mah. bought teething biscuit, but she doesn't like

Yup my son got CSC card. But we are entitled to $300 per year only (inclusive of whole family), very quickly used up! I have already long used up.

The PD couldn't see anything wrong leh. She said she cannot feel anything.

So think my son may be just anyhow screaming, as he always doesn't like to change pampers...hopefully.

lindah,
dun b sad ok. my ger oso underweight frm birth haha. last time we still chart her weight & ht growth.. her weight nearly fell off the chart haha. height is ok. the other day when i went gynae & brought her there.. gynae was impressed & say she looks gd. told her she's underweight, she ask me how many percentile, hubby & me say duno haha.. lousy hor??

dun worry la, as long as he eats, sleeps & happy. maybe his metabolism rate high, tat's y he can't put on weight as fast. dun worry ok.. hols coming

kkf,

oic... but 300 if you go private right... if poly cheaper... but waiting time at poly can go nuts.

hehehe. ur son so cute. dun like change pampers. my SIL's son screams when his pampers is slightly wet.

lindah,
maybe the SLT will ask them to put in some more poly vysol etc...doc khoo said my son pbly low birth weight as he non stop action and move around alot...tink as wat i always said, although i sian myself that early intervention is better for our situation..

hope hami can be discharged without further delays...our preemies hv alrady been small to begin and to bring them to this stage is already no small feat...

seeing the lung doctor mayb a good thing due to the CLD thingy...maybe after seeing the lung doctor once would be enough..is hami on any of the puff thingy?

kkf,
dash looks just like any other kid...love his cheeky look and expressions..really cheers me up..

mich,
hows dylan?hope the nasty bug gets away..my frens all also sick with cough etc leh....maybe end of year season coming wif new and stranger bugs...

costa

he on pulmicort from SCN days. just now i ask Dr A for more things for his cough so she gave me ventolin for 'just in case'. honestly i dunno when i should use and when i should just let it be...

ya... hopefully lung doctor can discharge but from what Dr A says seems lung dr will probably check hami once in a while to make sure he's okay. KKH is so confusing because got so many diff types of doctor. actually i know my bb very lucky oredi lah. but still very sian. go doctor so often but dunno if what they are doing is necessary as everytime seems the diagnosis is pretty much the same. It's a check in to report strength thing, you know wat i mean? that said, i guess it's better just to check lah. it feels like how i felt seeing my gynae, go in rpt strength but in the end, my bb wanted to come out early, will still come out early.... no one could stop it... haiz. make me think - am i wasting time and money on this checking in thing or not? sometimes it causes more distress than necessary.

Lindah,
This is wat i understand after speaking to Doc Khoo and the nurses....on using Ventolin..

If i not wrong, my son was discharged wif Ventolin and Pulmicort then later when thgs got better, we were told to use only pulmicort....the Ventolin is used just at the beginning when bb is starting to have cough/runny nose and when he is better, think can stop...and then pulmicort must give also...but when everythg gets better, tink ventolin can stop....but to be doubly sure as every kid is different, maybe next time when you r in kkh..u just do a quick check wif the neo nat...

now we are advised to stop both..only when sick then use both of them...

if different doctors' appointments can go on the same day, it wld be better but alas..its always different day....

hmm, can understand wat you mean..is like checking and checking and yet nothg firmed up and makes us more stressed...

if i not wrong, for coughing, doc khoo says try not to take cough medicine for bbs below one yr old as it causes drowsiness....take ventolin shld be safe but better double check wat i say incase wrong

ah yo..i type and type. then all gone

hi mich, actually i have not sign up siang for the kindermusik class. i tell you why but please don't laff at me. the reason is because next week, siang is to go for his 2nd jab of peunmoccal. i want him to stay safe at home esp now really lots of bugs outside... :p. don't laff at silly jane hor...so shy to tell you the reason.

lindah..wanted to share with you, my boy too is under the care of lung specilist (referal by DR A) at KKH. so far, i really had gotten lots of advise from this doctor. and somehow (shy to say) i am glad i got someone to talk to if i have any thing not sure about my boy lung issue. my boy was referall because that time he had wheezing and was hospitalised twice.

about the motor skill...me too same same like you. at home no one really let my boy do tummy exericse then like now..he still cannot crawl. thou now he can 'walk' around when hold by his arm pit.

like kkf say..one day sure they will catch up
don't feel down. i can understand what you are facing...because me too about same sitaution like you (all my leave is for appointments to see doctors).

* pat pat lindah *

hami does not look like 25%. maybe when he start on solid his weight gain will be better...he is still on neosure? maybe when his grow spurth come...he will put on more. don't worry too much.

hi didi, about teething rusk. i got buy :p but then hor, its really hard ler! really....end up i never let my boy bite cos its so hard (i not saying its not good). i think..i think a good teether would do a good job. shy to say, todate, my boy does not have a favour teether..so when he teething...i will kanna lots of bite :p.

hi lindah...i want to tell you. i got a 'asthma control plan' from this lung specilist. so....(choi) whenever, my boy sneeze or cough...i will open the PLAN and act accordingly. then if i really not sure, i call the nurse team. my boy is like 'potential candiate of asthma' because he wheeze before....

lindah, about Ventolin and Pulmicort. costa sharing is about what the doctor told me. my boy now on pulmicort every morning (one puff)...the rest is see situation.

like costa say, do speak to the lung specilist or neo nat. since, they are available for advise :p

costa

ya, Dr A oso say roughly the same thing. ventolin only when required. can take of when ok. cough mixture not recommended as bb is still young.

to tell you the truth, do all appt on same day oso very challenging. late for one, will be late for all! take my hat off to you for handling this while your hubby is outstation man. I nag my hubby like crazy when i go home and got bad news from the doctor. heheheh. next appt, i am dragging him w me, told him he has to take leave or else i may end up pulling out my hair.

jane,
heheheheh. funny... looks like siang has a favourite teether - you!!!

yeah, he's still on neosure. but i alternate w enfalac AR as lung dr prefer enfalac AR.

physio ask me to make him sit. his head control not up to par yet.

hi lindah... about appointments. for me i always try to squeeze all into one day (if can :p) keke. for all appointments, my husband will drive us there, but all in all, i have to be there :p.

ya lor..so i say. i got lots of bite and i really should find a teether soon :p.

oh i see, that time the physio too let me have homework ... oh, i thot you got the bumbo chair? that help?? i not sure,...

to lighten up your days, just sharing, that time i told my mama that the physio say must let my boy sit, my mama will say "ah yo, he is not ready how to seat???" then she say, let him just roll on the bed ok... seat? how to seat? when he is not ready :p.

some of the exercise the physio introduce really good. like the one..pull them up one. that one really will train neck muscle. then the one roll over, then try to get them to raise their head one? really good and simple too.

we just try our best...don't be too hard on ourself.

Lindah
I didnt bring Dylan to PD this time. We give him some running nose medicine.
Thanks for asking.

I was telling Costa the other day that my boys seem very gong gong (blur blur) during their first year.
Everything was NOT on par as compared to their peers, in terms of motor skills, responses etc.
We were overjoyed when the therapists say : oh... They are doing ok in this area.
It was then followed by but they are lacking behind on this, this, this and that! .

After their second birthday, they catch up. Now, I no longer use their corrected age.

Lung I think it is good to be refer to a lung doctor so that they have a record. My boys did not and when Dylan had bronchitis, I was really worried.
Dietician - We saw them a few times, Er... Selective listening. No need me to say more lah. :p
The exercises try to do them every evening (10- 15 mins).

hi mummies, a rare chance to come in & catch up for a while.

costa, how did yr support talk go?

lindah, not worry too much abt bb's weight & motor skills. remember he didn't hv the proper development chance to start with so give him time to catch up.
most premmies start off ard 25 percentile but he should catch up by 2 years old.
i think a better gauge is bb's own weight/height ratio; as long as he's not too under- or over-weight, is drinking & eating well, bb is definitely growing up healthy & happy.

the exercises suggested by physiotherapist are very effective... try to make time to do it.
the joy of seeing bb gain a milestone is beyond words esp after the tough journey bb has gone through.
i know it's very tiring after a day's work but all u need is 5-10 minutes every evening. bb tires out easily too so can't do too much.

thanks for all your advice, mummies... so i guess for now have to 'loon' a bit until he is 2 yrs old lor. have to try and spend some time each evening making him sit and roll and squeeze his shoulders together (he is always pushing them backwards)

jane,
your mum sounds like my mum. i tell her 'ma, put him on his tummy/side ok.' she will say 'oh, i always do, wat. N he's doing well...' she always see the good side because she nvr hear the physio lor. hehehe.

mich,
hahaha... i shall not worry anymore if hami looks gonggong, then. actually hami responds well to faces, but give him a toy and he doesnt seem to get it that he's supposed to interact w that toy. ya... have to wait patiently then for him to catch up...

hi Yvonne,
the last round he was 50% percentile... so it's a drop this time. but i guess overall he's ok...

disney

how i wish hols coming... my trip to batam is 2 mths away... like so long more. hehehe. wish got leave to clear at end of year but alas... must keep for kkh.
kkf so good, december holidays approaching!!!

okay time to clear some more emails before shutting down. then can go home and break fast. i feel the need to eat my troubles away. jialat. ltr cannot fit into kebaya for hari raya. :d

hello lindah ;p all mother is the same. but then again, its good they see the bright side of it.

my boy never seem interested in toys. more interested in tissue box and shoes keke... but this mummy always want to buy him toys hahaha...

looks like both mich and yvonne all say 5-10 mins is all it takes for the exercise. ok i shall start today :p

Lindah, me counting down to december holidays too!

Now, me counting down to my boy's birthday celebration this saturday! Spend a bomb on it!

thanks costa! Your little bern bern looks very adorable as well with his big round eyes!

Jane you very cute! haha, thats a good reason what. Anyway, no hurry to let siang go for kindermusik. If you staying west, I think why not let him join baby jumper at bukit batok? I really think it is quite good, better than kindermusik. It is too far for me.

As your boy gets older, will have less appointments, not to worry, lindah.

kkf... what baby jumper? do u have details to share? if its about same as kindermusik then the distance would be good for me.

no wonder u can be lao si. your memory super. can remember i live in the west hahaha...

Disneymickey and Jane, ok, I have actually bot the teether will let him try tonite, after I put them in the fridge. Thanks

hi didi - not to mention. glad to share what i know :p (limited as it is keke). but the rusk i tried haha. ok ok, let us know tomorrow how it goes on the teether.

by the way, what brand of teether you buy?

oh ya. abt the bumbo seat, he doesnt stay long in it lah. and he will still throw back his head and shoulders as and when he likes it. fyi in case thinking of buying...

lindah/Jane (neoah)

FYI, pulmicort is a preventive puff for asthmatic attack (just in case, not that your child has asthma, but because they have weak lungs or the doc. always said chronic lungs) it is usually just one puff a day until the respective respiratory or lung doc. ask you to stop. My girl was on it for 2 yrs.

Ventolin puff is to open up the airway pipe during cold/flu/cough. It will help the child to breathe better as airway pipe tends to become narrow or blocked by phlegm. You must know how to administer the puff correctly to be effective.

PM me if you want to know the correct techniques of administering the puff.

Costa, your feast at Garuda seems yummy
have yet to try here in Singapore, I like it when I ate at Jakarta
really makes me drool as usual when I see bern's blog

It focus more on academic, but got music, gym, and academic all inclusive. I think it is good!
I remember there are chinese songs, english songs, dance etc. Then there are story reading, flashcards, motor skills training too!

It is like shichida really, maybe shichida more pro, but I think baby jumper not bad as well. highly recommended. Btw, if you are joining, get the uniform from me hor. i give you free. I got one...now never join liao, wasted.

Lindah, I agree doing exercises with our babies can be challenging especially when they don't cooperate. I don't know about Hami, but my gal will scream and cry during tummy time and it like a war zone every time I do that with her.

But Jane is right, the pull up and the roll, roll is easy to do and for my gal she likes them. It depends on your boy, choose those that he enjoys and you will enjoy the exercise time too.

Tomorrow taking my girl for her follow-up. My turn to be stressed!

lili,

yes it is like war zone during tummy time. he screams. heheheh. pull up he is sometimes ok, but sometimes there is no head control. roll is so-so oso depends on his mood. my fault oso lah coz iam inconsistent one.

good luck for the follow up n dun be too stressed like me.
hope the exercises paid off!!!

precious,
tx for the info. will pm u if hvg issues w the puffs.
the pharmacist did say if need to give both puffs together, give ventolin first, then pulmicort. i shall try that tmr.

Seems like the bug caught my gal too... She was down with fever. Recovered, then now coughing n runny nose. Brought her to a GP today. Hope she recover soon.
She's going for her 2 d echo tomoro... Me Very anxious.... Hope the hole will close. It will be such a relieve for me... Keeping my fingers crossed...
Really envy u guys to be able to post so often. Me din sleep well from the pregnancy almost every nite. Bad skin... itching every nite.. Haiz

Me nothing to do in school. Envy? Haha..no lar, today is last day of psle, tomorrow onwards will get to see my lovely P6 again (yah yah).

Now suppose to having p6 lessons, but they are not in school because today is higher mother tongue paper (my students not higher mother tongue).

Mummylian, hope your gal recovers soon...hope the hole closes. You seeing dr tan right?

hi mummylian

how far along are you now? maybe ask gynae to prescribe something for your itch? good luck for the 2d echo. hope the hole closes.

kkf

wah, your kids take higher mother tongue hah? then must be clever kids... quite lucky right!
enjoy your last day of freedom for now. hehehe. but dun worry, school holidays coming up!

costa del sol (costa)
Looking for normal chairs and table. Like those plastic ones seen in KKH.

lindah (lindah)

Children A&E are all PD. Last time bring him to Private PD and it cost me around $80. Think it is more worth to go KKH as they do all the test for you. Now A&E cost $75.