Premature babies support group

Jane, lindah, thanks
no choice lah, can only eat in, can't imagine bringing 2 of them out and take turns to eat

Lindah, your gfs so nice, must be VERY close friends

Hi lindah..you know what. i think we had similiar experience. my birday on 7 aug. My waterbag give way on 1st AUg..then i was warded. then my collegues very nice (like your friends) they came to visit me and buy me cakes...then... i was staying in C ward..so all my 'roomates' sing birthday song for me...but deep down i was so sad...

then my boy came out on 12 Aug...

as you say, wipe the tears, toast to the future.

i think for cough we need to monitor closely also. does he have phelgm or only cough on certain time of the days. sometime they just naughty. want to play with the cough sounds.

try to feel hami back (chest there)if there is any sound... its a good way to ascertain if things are ok. that is what i do when my boy cough (this method is taught to me by the lung specilist)

toast to the many many years as our warriors grow stronger and stronger. many happy years to come
to our strong bond in this forum too. cheers

hi didi, imagine...next year or so two of them would sing birthday song for u ;)

this year when i celebrate my birthday, my boy was beside me and we (3 of us) togeter blow my cake candle...it was such sweet moment...at that moment, i tell myself, nothing is too difficult nothing is too tough so long we perservance and hold on to what we believe.

didi enjoy the day because you are special today. maybe your twins is planning something for u tonight hehe...

like stress....may we all be 18 always!! horray!

xbliss,
no pblem lah...to encourage the parents, i told them all the positive news and the parents are very courageous and they seem to be doing vy well...

28wks in my opinion shld be okay lah...dun worry too much...just rest and rest and make bbs grow and grow, any day longer in the womb wld be the best..tt was wat i was told..

mesh,
no lah, we dun need much info, just yr bbs date of birth, how long in nicu/scn...boy or girl thats all lah...not doing research haha but just for information...

didi,
happy birthday....enjoy....

Jane, Costa thanks.... but mommy got no leave leh
when I was working I will take leave to enjoy my day but now 'unapproved leave', the twins can't plan anything yet, but their 'old man' might, just like the past years (I just act act like don't know anything, play along). It will be my ultimate dream if the two boys can sing me birthday song
you and costa got the pleasure, to hear your precious ones sing 1st
(Costa must have heard from her 'dai zai' already).

didi,
you are right, the last time i went to eat w my bb, i end up feeding him and hubby had to feed me. with 2 bbs, i think both of you end up not eating lah lidat...
Have a good one!

ya, these 3 galfrens are my bosom buddies from my secondary school lah. 14 yrs of frenship counts for a lot.

jane, so i pat his back and hear for sound? what type of sound? i dunno how to detect leh. next week will ask Dr A. how to know got phlegm?

he's been very cranky oso lah. yesterday my ma say whole day dun wan to sleep till 5pm. then sleep 5pm to 8pm. Wake up and refuse to sleep till 11pm lidat. Usually he will sleep for 40mins to 80mins after each feed leh. i dunno whether normal or not.

heheh, so you and me same lah... bday same month as our sons!
every year, can celebrate together w our sons!

wah didi,
the old man plan something for you is very good oredi!!!

my hubby, blessed the loving faithful family man that he is, is such a *duh* when it comes to planning bday or romantic surprises.

next year your sons can sing you the song!
twins so double the joy leh!

lindah,
dun worry 2 much ok? since u gg doc on mon, maybe can wait?

ur bday on 24/feb? my ger's bday on 25/feb. tat time gynae juz told me @Wk39 "choose a day next wk, c-section". wapiang. so i chose 25th cos my bday oso on 25th (dec). then in mar, i strike a bit of 4d buying 2525

thanks mummies for the advise... its not colic cos whenever we give him milk, he stop crying and looks satisfied after his burp... i'm just worrie dabout the high milk intake..... he's 4kg and drinking 120-150ml 8 times a day. dr very laid back....said its ok... but that time when we saw her at last appt, he has not started his cry until stop breathing thingy... next appt next fri... will see what she says.

didi, many happy returns of this special day.

hahahah! can even strike 4D, not bad, ah!
so you are a xmas girl, like one of my frens. hehehe. always get 2-in-1 bday present!

actually my ofc got 2 other collegues bdy in feb, one on 23 and the other 25. hehehe. but both are men lah. so not as chummy w them as i may be if they were gals...

didi,
eh, fm my elder son ar?let me tink, i thk not many times as i dun really celebrate my birthday...i never take birthday off also thru out these ten yrs wking in my company..so sad hor...

mesh,
its gd yr bb can drink well leh...my son is vy skinny....the neo nat said a few days ago, he is super active, cant put on much wt. every thing undersized...

lindah,
hami big boy wants to explore the world..my boy doesnt sleep much and got awful purple rings under his eyes leh..dem terok....

mesh,
dun worry. if ur bb wan to drink, go ahead. maybe it's growth spurt.

lindah,
4 my ger, i told my mom must wake her up by 6pm, then at nite, will give last feed @9.30pm, & she shld fall asleep by 10.30pm. if she wakes up later than 6pm, i siao liao..

Happy birthday didi!!! I am borned in november so my birthday coming also! my boy's birthday next saturday! me soooo excited.

Went to rent a slide and fisherprice musical chair for my colleague's children to play and also for my own boy, hope he will have some fun for this entire month!

this time round the discussion is about birthday! haha

btw, have decided not to go desaru...hee...heard my colleague say not good place, might as well go batam, got shopping somemore, so eventually decide to go batam. My mother in law is indonesian, maybe will jio them along...hee

hi mommies, thanks again for the birthday wishes
with all your kind greetings I believe this year and next year will be a nice year ahead
this year is my happiest birthday (ever since I got married) as I have the best gift that is two bbs
with you all as my friends

Costa, maybe this year you can go on leave and relax, your B-day is coming soon rite iirc

kkf, I have been to desaru before and stay 1 nite at the (cannot recall what hotel) yah, boring, what we did all day is watch TV at the room and swim. But I heard that can arrange for some sightseeing with the hotel tour desk. Think Batam is better got 3 S (Sun, Sea and Shopping) suits you hor

Really!!! Lindah, you booking holiday inn? me booking harris resort, heard is owned by singaporean. Anyway, any idea which hotel is nearer to batam centre or shopping area?

didi, yup! I think I still want to shop!

kkf,
both holiday inn and harris quite far from nagoya - the city centre! heehee... but both surely have shuttle to town. do enquire first hor. like holiday inn the shuttle to town ($3 per pax per one way) is on wed, sat and sun only...

1003124.jpg

Hi thanks lindah for the map, think i may choose to book fivestars tour, they have 2 days 1 night with planet holiday hotel..nearer.

no prob abt the map. but kkf, i hear the hotels in centre not as nice as the faraway ones... depends on what you want i guess... i planning to spa at holiday inn and chill indoors for some of the time i am there... but of course, will shop and eat seafood too!

yah hor...i want spa also leh...hmm...dunno what i want too. think will just proceed to book harris resort, then think of how to go batam centre. think my hubby's uncle can drive us there. when you going? me going 8-9 dec

aiya! i miss you by one week. i am booked for 15-17 dec. 3d2n... hope dun get bored.

first day (sat) is go town, jalan jalan (hubby may take chance to do spa in town which is cheaper; while i take care of bb), shop shop, come back, spa at 8pm...
hubby take care of baby. haha. too bad cannot couple spa cos got nowhere to put bb lah
so have to do individual. now got $99 special at the hotel spa... but have to add $130 for room lah.

Package includes per pax:

- 30 minutes body scrub and 60 minutes body massage

- Return Ferry ticket for 1 person

- Return Land transfer from and to ferry terminal

second day (sun) taking city shopping tour, see bridge, go seafood lunch, see village, see city then shop shop and they will send back to hotel. if the spa is ok and i got money and they got space... maybe go again... hahah...

monday is chill out day. maybe let my son dip in the pool if it's clean. but only for awhile. laze ard and do nothing lah...

btw, tea tree spa at holiday inn is a bit more exp than the rest lah... but considering that the ferry ticket is $33, i guess $99 is OK.

batam view spa supposed to be cheap and good. not sure abt harris... think shud be ok too. wither one of these 2 plc had like 3hr spa for $100 lidat. I think worth it lah.

Hi lindah, we discuss thru email...me still not book the date yet, may book same dates! hee

Hi, Mich
Will check it out "where does the proceeds from the sale of " A journey with my child" go to?" and let you know by next week.

didi,
haha, you are right...my birthday is in december...

buzzbubbly,
hw r u?hp u not so busy and taking care of yrself well......see u end november..

didi,
so how u celebrated yr birthday yesterday?

i vy tired..yterday went for karaoke singing or shld i say i was croaking till 12 midnite..by the time reached home 1 am liao....shagged.....

Costa, ok very simple - hb organise a secret party with my family members.

Wow karaoke singing, so long I haven't been to one, I love to 'croak'
you should sleep longer today saturday, lazy me just woke up.

didi,

i din croak tt much haha but q fun lah...to get together wif frens..

cant help but wake up early...used to it after everyday waking up for work

hv u done yr poster?

i better get gg n do it soon....or else i never do it...

Costa, me haven't started on the poster too
like to do last min work, must develop the photos 1st and get materials... then will start

hello mummies

sorry sorry, give me some time to complete the montage,hope you all dun get impatient with me. Next week is my students' compo exams, rushing to mark their compositions now...

Will do so asap. thanks!!!

Hi mesh, my gal was also like a hungry hippo at the beginning. She drinks every two hours and her total intake can be as high as 900-1000ml a day. That time, she was around 3+kg too. There will come a period when they will slow down. Sure enough, she slowly stretches to 3hrs and now 4hrs interval and her overall intake is lesser although she is heavier now. Just let him drink to his hearts' content! But for me, if it is not feeding time yet, and she is crying, I'll try to distract her for as long as possible..or feed some water or give pacifier!! Hee hee, by now, you will realize i'm a pacifier advocate! At first, I m very against the use of pacifier but I succumb to it and realised its benefits!!!

Wow, costa, you so onz eh? Karaoke..I fell in love with karaoke too after I move to Shanghai cos it is so cheap here during non-peak hours. I can sing 4hrs non-stop for 70RMB, which is like S$14!! But now, with the baby, I cannot go so often liao..

kkf, psle period now? stress stress!! never mind, press on and look forward to your escapade with lindah during year end!!

So envious that you all are planning trips out with your kids especially Lindah, you boy boy still quite young, hor? Salute!! Have fun!!

HI Alicia,
Congrates to ur new born. Glad to hear that he's fine.
Maybe i can give u a bit of advise as i gave birth my boy 34wks w weight 1.6kg via c-sect too.
1) Bath: can do right after u reach home. The wound is covered w water proof plastic wrapper so water won't penetrate. However, dun use the water which is too hot as the wrapper can be melted when touch w high temperature stuffs. Immediately after bath, towel pad dry the wound area. After abt 1 wk, u w be gg back hospital or clinic to remove stitch. Then the doctor/nurse w replace another plastic wrapper for u, and it can be removed after 1 wk. So first 2 wks the wound is protected. After that it heals already so can bath like watever u want.

2) Baby at 34wks weight 1.5kg is ok for everything but weight. So basically ur boy stay in the SCN to put on weight. Do visit him when u r ok to go, and bring him milk. At first (maybe ard 1-2 wk), he shall be tube fed, start w very little amount of milk like few ml per feed. Tis w gradually increase in intake. So, dun worry too much abt ur supply. Even few drops on every pumping is sufficient for him for a feed. Like all mums here said, keep pumping n pumping every 3 hrly. The pour down w suddenly come after 4-5days of ur delivery. I was so depress last time due to engourment in the first few days till i went to see a lactation consultant. But it wasn't much help. Eventually after keep pumping n pumping for days the supply suddenly increase. Remember, stress n tireness w reduce the supply significantly. So, dun think too much, juz rest, n pump milk every 3 hr. Although ur baby is not at home w u, but u r still a new mother who is under confinement n need rest, to have enuf to feed baby.

3) Length of stay in hospital. I didn't deliver in KKH so i dunno their scheme. My PD's standard is at least till 'mature term' -ie36 or 37 wks AND 2 kg. So my boy stayed till 37wk gestation (3wks in NICU, Mt E dun differentiate NICU vs SCN),and 2 kg. Won't be a very long stay, dun worry.

Hopefully u can enjoy ur motherhood. Do PM me if u need help, or post here often as there r lots of experinece mums here to help each other.

costa,
i love croaking too... hahah. but in the bathroom only... or in the car...

lili,
ya... hope everything goes well. my son like to jalan jalan... but then... he's so small soooo i reali hope things go well... monday is his 2nd pneumococal jab...
i dunno what other jab to ask for... hihihihi...

hello mommies,

rare tat i got chance to post on weekends.. my ger zzz now.

xbliss,
depends on gynae. some gynae used those which need not remove stiches. but mine did..pain pain

kkf & lindah,
wow, batam..i'm on leave after xmas..maybe shld go oso..u gals make it sound so interesting

oh, something to share. my ger started to "talk" alrdy!! though she can only say 5 words - duck, car, dog, bird & passport, but i'm v happy alrdy. kind of worried, cos she's 19mths, n can only call dad dad, mama, yi-yi & ah -ma. though pd say not to worry, but still..anyway, happy now. i saw she was trying to call "grand-pa" ytd, but can't do it well yet.

enjoy ur weekend...

Hi gals! Thks for ur kind advices! I m at home doing my confinement now.. manage to pump abit droplet out only.. but as u gals said must keep pump! I wil jiayou!

xbliss, mine no need to remove.. the nurse said i can remove e plaster in a wk time to see e wound condition, if ok no need to do anything leh. They cut e knob at e edge before they discharge me..

hi irene, my bb today onwards start w 5ml milk feed but his weight has drop from birth wt 1.5kg to today 1.430kg.. Very very xin tong lorr.. I wonder wil he lose even more?

Hi alicia, common for babies to drop weight in the first to two weeks I think.

Dun worry, soon he will be gaining and going home soon!

Didi, yup psle now. But actually me busy with marking compositions, this wednesday compo exams.

alicia,
dun worry. all bb will hav weight drop initally. even normal birth bb will b lighter when they r discharged frm hospital. ur little 1 will start putting on weight soon. dun worry.

good morning mummies.

saw many holiday plans yeah
good to see everyone planning a big bash for the year end.

kkf .. do share with us what you have planned for your boy birthday
no to worry about the montage. work more important.

i am still trying to craft my poster haha...

alicia - its normal for new born baby weight to drop a bit. not to worry. pump more and soon with the BM, your boy will put on weight very soon
take care while in confinment. keep us posted on your boy gain

mummies, the haze is like back, jane worry... :p

Alicia,
hope u coping well....its common for nbs to lose a bit of weight..tink its the water that they are losing or smthg....the neo nat ever told me...

i remember when my son was born at 750gm and he lost weight at birth and the neo nat said it was common...but once he hit 1kg..va va voom...vy fast and wats more, yr ger started at 1.5kg...vy soon her weight will soar dun worry..they put alot of minerals and alot of ho liao(good stuff) into the milk..so she will put on quickly..

anythg, u can share wif us here..dun worry okay?or u can email or pm me...