Premature babies support group

Costa, so far I have seen the neo nat, speech therapist for Dylan's feeding issues, cardiac for Darryl.

BOOOOO type halfway, my hand itchy go press dunno what button and lost everything I typed...sob

Now got to retype!!!!

Anyway, was saying, I saw your discussions about where your baby was made. Wow, got japan, melbourne...me singapore like costa, and my boy speak chinese! Ha...he is good in chinese, and I am quite proud (think because his mummy is a chinese teacher). He can speak full sentence at the age of two and describe quite a lot of things in chinese, but when it comes to english...sweat!

I tried hard to read to him more in english, but his interest seems more to be in chinese. When I start reading english, he will say "guan diao guan diao (means close it in chinese)". When I read chinese books, he will be very attentive, die die.

I think because during my bed rest, I read a lot of chinese books, haha (nothing to do mah).

Now, his favorite chinese book is "wo yao la ba ba (i want to poo poo)". He will keep telling me to read "da bian da bian (poo poo)", sigh.

Me mark too many books so now talking about books.

where is jane today?

Anyway, my boy's next appointment will be 18th october iq test. funi thing is I want to change the date, then the nurse lim said cannot change because right now still under sponsored by singapore pools, next time, may have to pay $100, so if i change my appointment, will have to pay $100.

So poor mummies whose babies were borned later, all have to pay?

kkf,
maybe u r a chinese teacher & communicate / read in chinese most of the time during ur pregnancy, tat's y ur boy gd in chinese. but i oso read a lot of chinese books, but my ger ok leh. she likes english boooks, but we mostly buy english books (ABC, 123) 4 her. but my parents will speak mandarin to her. cos i told them to, as we conveniently will speak english to her at home. dun wan her to 'fear' chinese when go to sch (like her daddy).

So good, at least your gal will be good in both language. My son, think will be good in mandarin only, because me and my hubby speak mandarin, and my in laws and my parents speak mandarin...

hello mummies, jane is here.

wow today super duper busy ah. trying to organise some dinner. shack. i did pop in read all the message.

jane is money eye one. KKF. the IQ test is where? wow...then we have to pay $100?

for languages, my mum always speaks hokkien mix mandarin, while my maid speaks malay mix english. me? everything a bit pah keke

kkf,
nev mind la,kids pick up v fast. when he goes to sch,he'll learn english. no need to worry.

jane,
wow,got big dinner coming up>

gg out 4 dinner w hubby tonite. dun feel like eating home-cooked food. gg to leave soon. c all tmrw!

Mich, Jane, thanks for the recommendation... noted.

Costa, no i have not updated my info.. can PM me the info you guys collect? my son's NEC resolved aalready... but he now has a ferocious appetite.... can cry 2 to 2.5 hrs after 120ml and ask for milk... and he's only corrected 6 weeks only.was wondering of its normal....

oh one more qn.... any of your bbs cry alot? mine cry until he can hold his breath.... for a few seconds... recently the no breathe period has become longer and longer... can last for 3-5 sec..... so scary.... change nappy also cry, hungry also cry, warm also cry..... my mil calls him a danger boy... when he cries,... they always pass him bak to me cos only i can stop him.... but that means i cant leave him alone with maids... so scary.... go shopping then come home to hear bad news..... touch wood.

hi disneymickey ... keke planning dinner for office things. wow...so good. enjoy and catch up with you tomorrow

hello mesh, i think individual baby has their own appetite, sometime when they grow spurts (ie they growing up) their appetite can grow a lot (ie it apply to my boy). as for crying. is your boy colic??? i am not sure....hey, don't think like that. i am sure there is a reason why he is crying that much. normally if they cry is because they are not comfortable with something...

maybe mummies here can advise mesh?

mesh

sounds like my SIL son leh. drink a lot altho less than 2 mths old (full term bb tho) and cry when hungry, cry when pee (even if only a little), etc etc, so i think is ok...

mommies, would like to check something with you, my 2 bbs are teething (ie I can see two white teeth gonna 'sprout' out soon) will they have fever or have soft stools ? do I need to bring them to doc if they have fever ? thank you many many

btw, mummies you can access "want to buy" thread? Am I being barred? Why when I click on the "want to buy" thread, it is a blank page?

Sometimes you can just let them drink the fever medicine for babies, then observe if temperature not that high.

lindah just happen to browse around and saw that you going for family studio shot? me also went in september but mine is the studioloft.

alamak yours more worth it leh! mine lousy one, only 1 8R think 4 photos or wat, then got to bring own costume somemore...
$135 (i top up 15 for one more photo)
somemore the photographer very unfriendly like that.

Hi gals! Just a quick update from me.. I delivered my baby boy at 34w2d yest at kkh.. Baby at SCN weighin 1.5kg.. Wil post more when discharge..

He has no complication except low birth weight.. But my heart tear and cant help crying to see him so small.. I hav no breast milk for him now too.

Congrats
. Dun worry at least your bb is healty. Its take time to build up the milk supply. Baby grow very fast too, in no times they will become very chubby. Just keep pumping and pumping and the milk will start coming!!! Which class did you take? Natural delivery? Have you discharged already?

My ger also born at 34+2 wks and weight 2kg. Natural delivery without epidual. Stay at B1 and delivered by my Gynae Dr H C Han. Can request downdrade the class but they need to see your finacial status. I managed to downgrade for my ger to B2. If i am not wrong, your BB will need to stay till 35wks gestation and 2kg.

BuzzBubbly
Any idea where does the proceeds from the sale of " A journey with my child" go to?

Alicia
Congratulations!
Glad to learn that he has no complications.
Weight can be gained.
Continue to pump and stimulate the milk supply. I started with droplets and slowly built up the supply. Drink more fluid.
Tomorrow morning, the mummies here will pop in and give you lots of advices.
You rest well.
Good night!

Didi
My Twin 1 had slight fever during teething. We did not bring him to Doc.

I had c-section cos he stil in breech position when my waterbag burst on wed afternoon.. I wonder if I stil cant express out milk will they scold me? Cos this mornin came a senior nurse sayin I must feed him with BM cos FM is not suitable for him.. I so sad cos I scare they wont giv him anythin to drink..

I m stayin B2+ and a kind worker from Biz came to us for allowin our baby to downgrade to C.. Anyone had c-section too? when can i take a herb shower when home?

me so fed up woke up so early this morning, wanted to mark my p4 kids compo because wednesday is their compo exam, but my red pen ran out of ink...!!! sigh. I shd keep more red pens at home...sianz

Hi dokie.. But e wound cannot touch water rite? This is my 3rd day and I so scare in washing down there, afriad water wil spash onto my wound..

congrats, alicia!
weeeeee!!!
dun worry, bb will be fine. just pump every 3hrly or 2.5hrly and the milk will slowly come out. it took me till the 3rd day to have a proper volume (first two days was droplets too). the nurses will know what to do if need to feed bb before that.
my son was soo premmie, they used an IV drip to put in fluid (not even formula milk) for many many days. not sure what their procedure is for 34 weeker.

kkf,
yes took the funshots one hopefully the svc is okay. i look look at the galleries, seems like the foto-u is quite good but $238-$258 w only 20 pics in CD. I'd rather have full CD so i can pic and choose. plc is in bugis so i figured quite convenient. Anybody know where to get photoshop software and how much? then can fix photos myself. hey kkf, you even better... during dec holidays can fix photos and do misc projects! hehehe... you saw the photobook.com offer in Spree thread. Got good deal now - but I havent purchase because got complaints from some mummies that the pic came out a bit dark. that's the problem w editing the pictures ourselves. we dunno the product...

alicia,

congrats! glad to know tat both mommy & bb r fine. dun worry abt the weight ok. once he started drinking, he'll put on weight. c mesh's case, bb kept crying 4 milk.. btw, tat's a gd sign.

re breastmilk: dun worry. the milk will come abt 3-5 days after delivery. n dun worry la, of cos the nurses will feed ur boy milk. if no breast milk yet, they'll give formula milk 4 preemies. i think wat the nurse was trying to say is, breast milk is gd, so if hav, must give.

i oso delivered via c-section, on a sat morning. discharged on tues morning. went home straight away bathe liao

mesh,
u oso dun worry ok? bb drink is good. means hungry. drink more then will put on weight mah
re crying, maybe colic? dun stress yourself ok? like wat jane say, maybe it's something bothering him (ie. hungry? diaper wet? too hot? too cold?) if still cannot, maybe u can go c doc. doc will b able to advise u more.

didi,
congrats on ur bbs' new milestone. i dun rem my ger having fever or soft stools during teething. but every bb is diff. my colleague's boy's molar juz came out & he had soft stools for almost a wk. if u r afraid, always chk w doc. no need to visit if u hav fever med at home. can call them to ask.

alicia, sorry me no C-section so i dunno, man. but you can ask the nurses there for help. my mum told me when she had C-section w me, she bathed from 3rd day onwards, but i dunno how she protected the wound... maybe you wipe with damp towel instead, to be safe? take care! and enjoy motherhood. your bb will be out of kkh very soon.

mommies,
i hav a qn. do u feed ur bb (those >1yr old bb) milk first thing in the morning then bfast (eg. bread)? cos wat i do is, give her bread (or noodles if go out & eat bfast) when she wakes up, abt 7+ 8+. then abt 10am, give a bottle of milk. wondering if i'm doing things the opposite way?

good morning alicia
congrats!!

about bathing. that time my confinment lady told me its important to keep our private parts clean hence she cook warm herb water and let me wash daily. but then she do it in very special way. she made me sit on top of a pail (inside the pail is warm cook water). like steam my private parts :p

do show us your boy picture when available

about breast milk..don't be stress. like mich say, we all start with droplets. don't worry. the nurses are lovely. there is always premix FM for your boy. just don't be stress. your BM will come...

hi kkf -- gosh don't be sian

hi disneymickey,

i remember jacelyn giving one copy of her schedule for her 2 boys.

for me.. my boy can eat porridge as early as 8am :p. but then he wake up around 5am plus for a bottle of milk...so i really don't know if its right or wrong too :p

any mummies can advise?

Good morning mummies,

Alicia, u can ask the lactation nurse to speak to you...i was at kkh doing the parent support talk and i could hv spoken to you if needed...

u want to text me?i think i did pm you my hp number the other time...

rgding bm,i thot i wldnt have also as my boy was born at 24wks and i cld not start expressing as i was in womans icu for two days and by the time i started, it was like four days after birth, at first it was a few drops then with expression of at least 8 times per day...it built up...

if its any help to you and encouragement, i only stopped expressing in july tis year....my son was born in june last year....

you wld hv the bm..must be perservering and start expressing to build up yr milk supply

if still dun hv, can ask the lactation consultant to ask the doc to prescribe some medicine to boost supply

mich/lindah,
yterday's talk was q okay, when i went into the room, i can feel tears in my eyes leh....but later managed to control myself...there were no micropreemies and the grp was quite an interestg mix of pple...

let me go catch up on work and talk later...

Aiyah. Disneymickey,

No hard and fast rule one lah. As long she drinks her milk and also eats her BF is good liao. Sometimes I give it consectively somemore. But my greedy girl can still finish both! Amazing! Yesterday morning I ate 2 egg sandwiches I want to vomit liao. Can last until dinner. hahahaha...

alicia,
the nurse will use a plastic plaster to protect ur wound. it's waterproof. so it's ok to bathe. after my gynae remove the stiches 1 wk after delivery, i will wash as per normal. but of cos dun scrub the wound la. i buy those cloth plaster (#&$&^ forgot wat they r called, but can b found in pharmacy..white cloth thingy) & cover after bath. cos i scared later itchy fingers go scratch or my clothes hurt the wound. so better cover up 2 b safe. but change everyday.

stressed,
haha. ya lor, sometimes she can eat 1 slice of bread w 1 slice of cheese. then 2hrs+ ltr, can finish 1 bottle of milk. aiyo..but like wat u say, as long as they eat/drink. but juz wondering if i'm weird haha.

alicia,
oso, try to take more soup, it'll help u to produce more milk. i rem taking papaya+fish soup. oso, do rem to drink milk. as u produce milk, u r losing calcium, so need to replace the lost calcium, ok

hi mummies, good morning.

Alicia, Congrats! I am so glad you complied and stayed in hospital. Don't worry too much about birthweight. I know of a friend who delivered at 1.5kg with no complications except low birth weight and a bit of sucking problems so had to be tube fed initially. You must be thankful you can breastfeed cos i can't (health issues). I so wish i can stay B2+ for delivery and then they downgrade my bbies to C class..hhehe. i shall ask gynae if there's any chance of that!

I went for my routine scan yesterday. Smaller twin had a pretty good growth spurt but still small. The gynae told me the paeds are keen to deliver them at 28wks.. which started the panic attack in me again. Maybe i have been too careful with my diet, so i decided this week onwards, i will start whacking all the carbos. I hope that will give them 2 more weight and hold off the delivery til after 30 wks.

costa, so u were at kk yest? u are so brave to relive your experiences by doing the talk. really shows how far along into your own recovery you are. proud of you
it took me a long time to start talking about my first unsuccessful pregnancy last year (had to induce birth at nearly 5 months to terminate pregnancy).. actually even until now, i can't talk about it face to face with anyone except in forums.

would love to meet up with u all at kk, but nowadays the visits are so long!! i will be there like from 7.45am til nearly 12+ or 1pm just to scan and see the doc and by the time it's done, need to rush to buy lunch and get home cos hubby need to go work. haiyoh, so dread the rush. by then, my back starts aching (hate the chairs in KKH!) haha.. i realised i have so much of complaints.

Anyway, just for info. Today straits times advertise sale for infant stuff at both robinson's and john little. include stuff like bumbos (going for $69), strollers, breast pump sets, etc. Maybe the mtbs and new mummies like Alicia can take advantage of it.

dokie, when you leave home your wound will be plastered with a waterproof plaster (water won't get in), as for me I bathed immediately after going home, I am one who couldn't stand not bathing for a day
and as I visit my bbs who is still in ICU then, I might bring germs to them if I don't keep myself clean as I will carry them

Hi Alicia, congrats. Your baby must be healthy enough to be in SCN. So don't worry too much. Yeah, I agree with the mummies. Persevere, persevere, persevere in pumping is the key! Although I didn't had the chance to breastfeed my gal, but I started pumping for about a week after my birth in hope that I can maintain my supply so that I can feed her after she is discharged. And I can feel that it is very difficult especially first few days, but you must persevere, then it will get better. Also drinking soupy stuff helps. But in the end, I still didn't manage to give her any BM.. due to my circumstances which is a long story!! But must persevere!

Mesh, I read the peak of babies crying is at around 6-8 weeks. Some info explain that this may be because this is also the time where colic hits. For my gal, she was also always crying and stretching herself for about 2 mths after she came home. (She came home around her due date). You just have to try all methods to soothe and comfort her. Carrying, swaddling, rocking. It can be very draining on you if she only respond to you alone so try to see if your MIL or husband can take over sometimes. We introduce the pacifier to her and I find that it helps to soothe her a lot. Because some babies just had the urge to be constantly sucking. My gal was also like yours, feeding at every 2hrs interval at the beginning and sometimes I wonder if she just want something to suck or she is really hungry.

Stressed, DisneyMickey and Mich, thanks for the Birthday Wishes. Can't go out to eat as my boys are still young, so might as well eat in, this is the 1st birthday that I will be celebrating as a new position 'Mommy'

Happy Bday Didi!
First Bday as a Mummy! Wee!!!

xbliss,
your bbs ok... that's good news!

my son been coughing more lately and sometimes got hard stools (like lumps, you know). shud i bring him dr? i m seeing Dr A on monday so have been telling myself to wait. i really wonder if i am under kancheong...

Happy birthday didi
last year i spend my birthday in hospital. this year, like you first time i celebrate my birthday as mummy ;)

eat in is also good ah, not much of hassle
enjoy!

hi lindah, my boy seem not well too. think is the weather. he too warm is it (constipation)? hope your boy recover soon...

Thanks, jane.

I dunno man... one day, hard stool, next day ok again, then next day hard stool again. i dunno if it has anything to do with the enfalac AR which i on and off give him. i am lousy tracker (see my filing at work, you wud oso know!) but he's been coughing a bit more lately lor. i lately notice it becoming more often, then my heart wud tug every time he coughs... but my hubby say it's not continuous so dun worry. i think see how tmr... if he cough every hour, will send dr.

me spent my bday crying this year as a first time mummy. his bday 4 feb 07 and my bday is 24 feb. well at least i was on maternity lv then, need not work and my close gal frens came over to celebrate at my house during their lunchtime. but sad lah. he was supposed to come out wayyyy after my bday, not before. i had cake and prezzies for me and for him. haha. at that time, i was more excited looking at his stuff than mine and wishing very hard he'll be able to use those stuff.

anyway that's all in the past.

here's a toast to the future...

May we celebrate many more years in the future as mummies of children who gets stronger every year!!!