Premature babies support group

myfab,
i oso worry too much, although we shld just treat them as normal babies..

sigh, tis GP also one kind...he wun understand wat we went thru mah....maybe see if other mummies got any ideas to share...

myfab, costa

yah lor can't help worry tho pp say its normal. mayb just monitor for time being ?

mich
I read generally can continue but also depend on the medication. if its breastfeeding frenly. Norm have to inform dr abt that

mich,

i went to diff GPs and altho they both gave me the same bfdg-friendly medication, RMG told me to continue normally. The other GP told me to discard. so confusing. but if you dun have diarhoae, think you can continue. as diarhoae is a sign of viral infection.

Mich,
I think generally shld be able to let the bb drink the bm..but if got antibiotics in the medicine then better not..the doctor shld be able to advise the mummy

tink if got cold and flu, the medicine may affect the bm supply as got drying effect..thats wat i read but for me, i still continued to let my son drink the bm...

hi, i'm also another paranoid mother here. I'm so glad I found this forum. I used to search the internet for every little changes in my girl and sometimes the internet information will paint the worst case scenario for the condition and it will give me headache for a few days. I think it is better to talk about our babies' condition with other mothers.

babycentre.com is quite a good website though.

I read that jerking movement is common for babies. My girl also like to jerk backwards especially when we are burping her. Myfab, I'm not sure if you are referring to such jerks.

Costa, the school is a privately run school by a singaporean family. Not related to MOE at all, although we follow singapore syllabus. They set their own contract
The employees follow neither singapore law or china law since I guess there are trs from various countries. Well, i guess this is not a major issue with many of the trs as a lot of them are singles coming here for a few years break from MOE or retired teachers. The chinese teachers we employed will follow the china law which i heard is very good one.. marriage got a few weeks off, maternity up to six months..

jacelyn, i did the belt already! I used the 'mummy poko' valcro to fasten the sides.. hee hee. But haven't tried on her yet..

lili,
me same lah...always search the internet and read until scared....thats why i rather discuss thgs here wif other mummies to set my mind at ease...

thanks for the info on the school....guess its a new experience for you altogether..wat subject r u teaching?

As I'm typing this message, I'm experiencing a contraction at the same time. Have not been able to read all your posts in detail, but did see so many encouraging words from all of you. Thank you so much.

I was hospitalised on Monday morning as despite anti-contraction meds, my contractions were coming strong and frequent (can be 2 mins apart). I thought that I will deliver anytime then and quickly admitted myself. My Gynae did a check on me and found that my contractions are very regular but yet I was not dilated and there were no bleeding or water bag leakage. But to be prudent, she admitted me and put me on ventolin drip (salbutamol). Like Mich, I had heart palpitations. I also shivered uncontrollably. Past few days have been incessant CTG monitoring, increasing/ reducing drip dosage, increasing anti-contraction meds, nifedipine, monitor heartbeat, and vaginal scans to check for dilation. The drip did not manage to control my contractions and to-date, it's still frequent and can be quite painful.
My gynae has more or less given up on trying to control my contractions. She checked me this morning for dilation and found that I'm not even effaced yet. She concluded that that my contractions are "ineffective" contractions that do very little to dilate me at this stage, and allowed me to be discharged this morning. Baby is slightly above 2kg and tomorrow is the start of his 34 weeks. I was given 2 corticosteroids jabs to strengthen bb's lungs. I've also been put on maximum dosage of oral sabutamol and niifedepine allowed. As I'm typing now, I feel breathless and heart palpitations and slightly disillusioned as it's been quite a scary week. Really hope that tomorrow will be a better day. Gotta go rest liao.. another contraction is here..dunno how long I can endure this..

Bena,
Was wondering how come din see you here for a few days...dun worry, 2kg is a vy good weight for baby as wat my gynae always say....

relieved tt you hv taken the jabs for bb's lungs...dun stress yrself too much....when did the doctor say you hv to go back to check again.?

dun worry, 34wks is q ok, already...dun tink too much..try to relieve yrself and monitor yr contractions and baby movements...which i think shld be the most important now..

Hi HI bena, wow how you endure??? Contractions are very very painful. I still remember last time when I delivered my boy, the pains were sooo great that I asked doctor whether can Ceserean or not. Ha! I was breathing the stupid gas, with no effect at all!

34 weeks are very good. Think not to worry, just endure as long as you can. Your baby will be just fine.

Jane, me tried kindermusik before. Not very good I will say. I attended one semester on birds. They have different themes for different semesters. They sing, dance etc. But mostly parents are doing all those things. As for the children, dunno how much they absorb. So I quit after 1 semester. Too tiring for parents, cause we got to go round in circles and dance! haha!

Yeah, yeah, me should try control my spending. I am very tempted to put my boy in montosorri childcare...I just find out one month around $800!!! Want my life.

Myfab, (fingers cross), never encounter such thing, so cannot comment.

Lili, me want go shanghai one of these days! Love the big bookstore there! Btw, yah, what subject you teaching??

Bena, yeah, more than 2kg at 34 weeks is no problem. From what i read, 34 weeks is called a preterm baby, not even labelled as premature. You will be fine... we are waiting for the good news...

kkf, if you do come, tell me
I can be ur tour guide... yeah the bookstore here are very big... but mostly chinese books and very cheap. The english books on the other hand are very very expensive. Not worth buying...

I teach in the primary school section. So "bao sua bao hai" But over here better than singapore, maybe don't have to 'bao hai'.. 'bao sua' can oredi.. i mean, i just teach the core subjects like English, Maths and Science. Non-core like art, music, PE are taken by the local chinese. They are much better than us in these area.

hi bena. my waterbag burst when i am 33weeks preggie. and i delievered my baby in week 34. same thing, the doc inject corticosteroids jabs to strengthen bb's lungs. it was numb right? =D eveyday for 10 days i have to take 10 over tablets!!! and also everyday gotta take blood test and also have to drip the antibodtic!!! painful sia. for 10 days you know!!!

but you know what? when i deliever my baby, there is no complication, also i never use any painkiller. when baby is born, his weight is 2.3kg. when i first had to be admitted to hopsital, he was only 1.9kg. now my baby is 10month old, almost 11kg!!!!! can u imagine! everyone cant believe he is a pre-term baby! he is almost overweight now! dont worry and let everything go as normal. hee...

Costa,

I'll be seeing doc twice a week. Next wed then the baby is 34 weeks. Hope can tong till next wed

kkf,

Actually the contraction pain is bearable. On the CTG it shows it's 95 grade. My doc say labour pain is abt 120 grade. So I think it's not real labour pain yet. The ones you experienced must be much more intense!!

Lili,

Thank you..

Winnie,
You must have suffered alot. Did you have any warning signs before your water bag burst? Were you dilated then? Actually I've been on medication for 11 days already and it's the highest dosage my gynae has ever administered. Now my hands shiver uncontrollably due to it. On the first day of admission, I think they didn't do the drip properly so my hand was in so much pain. They gotta take out the drip and poke again in another hand. Then I had to be reduced to using a bedpan, which is quite humiliating for me, cuz not so mobile cuz of the drip. I'm just glad to be home.

Bena,
hang in there...u can do it.....wk 34 is vy good liao....rest more....

lili,
yr life in shanghai sounds interesting....

winnie,
welcome you here....give us more details so we can update you in our table

enjoy the rest of today before hitting work tomorrow...

kkf,
2mr, no need to teach huh...can recharge yrself....

no. i didn't have any warning sign. i just felt that i am like wetting myself uncontrollably, at about 6pm at night but because i am young and ignorant, especially first time pregnant, i just put a pad and didnt think much. the next afternoon i went to supermaket with my mum and told her i wanted to get a adult diaper becuase i am wetting so much! then she got a shocked and immediatly sent me to my gp. and she was right, my waterbag burst and ta ta, without bath, without lunch i went to hospital and stayed there for 11 days! i wasnt dilated then. after 11 days. =) my hospital bill addes up to aboiut 13,000!!! because my hubby was really worried so he admit me to ward a class. =D i also have drip for 11 days. blood test everyday. but seriously class a food is damn nice and i get to choose my own food too! hee. maybe because i am not scare of injection so it is less painful for me. =D

costa del sol (costa), what kind of details huh? pai sei. =D

Hi winnie,
So your son born in sept or oct. My ger also born at 34weeks. Going on to 11 mths on 21 aug. The last time that i weight her, she was only about 7kg. The nurse say is borderline. Which hosp did u delivered you boy in?

oct. =P 08/10/2006. any baby same birth date? =D my baby in kkh.. althought intially i dun really wanted to go there (heard a lot of bad comment), somehow my hubby convinced me to go there. hee. was a great experiance! the staff and nurse treated me like princess and rmb my name. even after that i went back they still did. =) also not sure coz class a different treatment ma. hee.

waht about you chloegal? =)

bena, jia you k. ha. before you know, pop! out the baby! ha. you endure this is small deal.. wait till ya baby comes out. headache ar.. no time watch tv, no time take nap, no computer. ha. u have did well so much! must hang in there!!! we will support ya! =D

costa del sol (costa), oh, i just saw the table, =D
details as follow,
nick: winnielee
baby is 34week-er.
weight at birth: 2035g
in special care. (lucky me, not even in NICU)

well, i just seen the table and some post before. i am so lucky!
1)my waterbag burst for onr day already then went to doc, but after much scan, doc said that my waterbag still have alot of water. if water level low, baby could have die.
2)risk of infection, but no bateria and no infection attack my baby in the womb.
3) he was 1.9kg when i was admitted to hospital but at labour, he was 2.3kg! 2kg and below have to stay in hospital. the baby beside my baby was very small, and only after 3 months he grew to 2kg. gosh! only after 3 months then can discharge! poor thing!
4) baby is very healthy, so far no fever. (maybe that is why he is soooo fat!!) hee...

one questions, so pre-mature baby tend to grow faster and fatter? also so far your pre-mature baby is choosy bout food mahx? my baby eay almost everything. sour, bitter, weird, basically everything. normal? i am so scare his tatse bud is not working!

Costa! Yeah holiday for me!!! :
))))

Boy still zzz now. Later thinking of bringing him to my nearby ntuc childcare for a look. I saw from forum that MMI childcare teaches child to be independent, but child becomes not sociable! Scary!! I saw my own class students, some really very anti social one and all other kids dun like him. I dun want my boy to be like that leh.

Bena, not to worry, you will be fine. maybe your baby if (choy) really comes out early, wun have to stay in special care. Can go home straight away!

Winnie
Me also delivered my ger at KKH. I choose B1 and the experience was great too. My ger was born on 21 Sep. Same here my ger eat almost everything. She only know how to say mun mun and she does not people to carry her. She like to crawl around the house and disturb her brother.

Mich
Have D&E taken the pneumococcal jab? Have to postpond Edric's dental to 31 Aug as he is down with flu after a swim. He is supposed to have his tooth extraction today.

hi winnies...your boy so super cute..wow even can pose liao. haha...

have not been taking pic of my boy..hehe will try to post some updated one later hehe

Wow winnie your baby soooo good weight!!!
))Share my boy's photo too! hee...looks like a big boy now right? Btw, my boy's birthday in october too, 15th! Coming up! How you plan to celebrate yours???
917847.jpg

halo. i cant help myself. want to show off my latest pics also!

from this:
918048.jpg
918049.jpg

to these:
918050.jpg
918051.jpg

Miracles do happen, thanks to the Almighty!

thanks! all he does now is sleep and drink milk. sometimes will smile. but i think he's tired because of all the drinking.

your babies are so adorable! can dress up and pose for photo already.
i'm so impatient for my son to do that! hahahaha!

Wow,

Just had a feast of cute baby photos from you'all. I'm so envious.

Costa,

Today just went to see gynae. Baby is 33 weeks and 3 days and is abt 2.2kg. Doc say to go off sabutomal on Thurs cuz by then baby 34 weeks if wanna come out let him come liao. But so far cervix is still not effaced or dilated. I just wonder why my contractions are so regular lor.

Winnie,

Is special care more expensive than normal nursery?

The caption didnt come out. The first picture is her fifth day in NICU. The second pic is her recent 100th day celebration. We couldn't have any one month cel then as she was still in hospital.

linda, i think my girl resembles your boy.. everyone thinks she is a boy! I must make an effort to make sure she is dressed in pink whenever I take her out.

The people here love to strike a conversation with you when they see babies..and a lot of them says she is a boy.. Can't wait for her hair to grow!!!

Happy 1st Birthday to Jane's boy!

Wow... lovely pictures!
So happy to see the little warriors growing so well.

Bena
Good weight! Keep us posted.

Lindah
I sent u a PM

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO JANE'S BOY TOO! May your boy be always healthy and happy!!!
A birthday cake from auntie kkf
919745.png

good morning...really got a pictures galore here...so nice....

its monday again.....really shagged man after the wkend..monday blues...

winnie,
yr baby so stylo..wear the cap so hip and happening looking

the one wif the spectacles (last picture) vy cute noe how to pose some more...

kkf,
yr boy really looks different everytime....he looks vy ying1 jun4 (handsome) wearing the polo shirt (mummy so good, buy so many clothes for him

jane,
happy belated birthday to yr boy....did he enjoy his birthday?

lili,
yr girl looks so sweet in pink...dun worry, she still looks like girl lah...

lindah,
hows yr boy coping at home?yr maid ok wif him?me q busy so din text you for some time to find out how you are...

bena,
glad to hear evythg okay..34wks vy ok...now hv to be more conscientious of yr contractions...the doctor din give you any reasons?just relax and be ready to welcome yr bb...

so cute ur babies

Lindah,
ur baby looks so happy comfy at home ah

Bena
34wks gd already,my gynae was aiming for minimum 34 wks coz tests show at that stage - baby shld be fully formed. I was guning for that, but didn't get. Good for u ! The weight makes lot diff.2kg,doubt need stay long at hosp. My cousin's wife baby came out on own on 36 weeks, there wasn't any complications before that. Just that baby thot time to come out heheh.wasnt considered premature. That's not tooooo far off. take care ya

good morning mummies

hehe yesterday my boy birthday. had such a hectic day. he woke up really early (as if he know its a special day for him). well, we had the cutting cake event and also 'pick the tools' ;-) he toke the red egg at first (think he hungry haha). the follow by the doctor tools, the calcuator, then dictionary, then pen...never take money :p.

i was joking...well if he has the capability to earn money, he don't need to 'take the money' becuase he will earn it hahaha!!

all in all, had fun yesterday. will load the pic when i have it online hehe

mummies...do you all know...the moment when the guests sing the birthday song for my boy..i wanna cry...cry because...the path has been long and i really think my boy is really the most special one...

kkf - thanks for the cake :))

looking at the pic post..i have here the pic when of my boy when he was still in NICU too...

920576.jpg

oh jacelyn...how did your twins birthday party goes?

mummies...after my boy first birthday..hehe i wonder when my boy be like kkf and mich and the bigger boys..can walk, run...

now he still like cannot crawl..but he cruise very well in walker...

yesterday one of the aunties told me. its better he go thru the standard stage of flip, crawl, sit and stand and walk...else in future some of his developments may be affected... i wonder is there any truth in it :p

thou i often heard of babies skipping some stages.

sorry...now that my boy cross the one year birthday..hehe this kanjong mummies start to have other concerns haha :p

hi, mummies,
good morning to all of yours.....
winnie-wah , your boy so chubby ha...
kkf,
your boy very handsome, he look like a bit of girl girl ha!!!!!ha..ha..dont mind ha, next time you must careful, sure grow up got a lot of girlfriend one..
lindah,
Alamak, really a miracle, your boy very chubby now and healthy too.ya, this is the result that shouls give you, as you was so brave before that, wait for so long than your boy back to home..
lili,
finally can look at your girl photo, she was so pretty, must ask tuqi ballon gone,sure she will be a pretty gorl when she grow up.
Jane,
Happy belated birthday to your boy boy ha..so sorry, as yesterday so busy.
Oh, my boys yesterday mcdonald birthday party very succesful, they was very happy too as no need to drink milk at all, and they never feel tired too, they look around, look like they know was their special day. actually their borthday will on on tomorrow, as yesterday was sunday, i do early for them. YA, you was right, when they sing song for them , i almost cry as i can see my twins can so big now as already 1years old. Wili share the photo after that, my camera only get some photo, the less at my cousin camera.
mUst share your boy photo here too. Oh, i haven give them pick the thinhgs, will do it when he on lunar birthday which will be at my MIL house.
You must let him crawl at floor, sure he know to crawl, now a day, i let them lie at floor, they will crawl around which use their body to go infront only.
dont worry, sure he know how to do after yesterday birthday.

Hi Jane,
Congratulations on ur boy's first birthday. Kudos to his mummy for this entire year of great work! I'm sure he will grow up to be a strong and healthy boy. I also read that some babies skip crawling stages and go on to walking. One of the reason is we let our babies sleep on their back instead of on their tummy. It's not much of an issue i guess.
any birthday parties pictures? can share? i'll like to imagine how my girl first birthday party would be like..

hi jacelyn...wow.. cute PIC! hehe..my boy cake is somehting like your boys too., except got a BIG one written on the cake keke

hey..bryan look like my BOY ler....!!

hmm...is it true when bb is small look like gal, then in future lots of gf? cos my boy look like gal gal :p

hi li li...hmm...ya, am really trying to let him do more tummy exercise...but he erh..like not moving much :p. ya, hope after his one year birthday he will hit another milestone soon... :p

oh jacelyn, just to share about the 'tools' for picking. suggest have,
1. calculator (if not shuan pan)
2. red egg/ang ku gui
3. book ( i use dictionary haha)
4. pen
5. drumstick (chicken roasted drum stick)
6. doctor tools
7. money (i use a $50 notes)

let us know what your boys picked ah

hehe

jane,
ya, i feel, as i told you before my 2nd twins bryan look like your boy right?
hei, yesterday they very guai lei, they like to wear the hat, as i give them their cap they dont want , they want to wear same as theiy cousin and friend.
Now a day, when i look at the photo, i feel my this little small boys grow up a lot lei, they can wear this type of wear alreally, emmm,emm feel like cry, i remember when i carry them at hospital, they cant wear anything clot, but now they wear this type of wearing now. i ready realiss my boys grow up liao. I feel that they was so handsome and cute too, ha..ha.. pai seh ha, how can i say my boys handsome, but i ready happy until want to tell your my hard time been gone, my boys grow up, they one year old liao.
Mich & jane,
SHHHHHHH, after the party, my boys ok lei....thanks for the wishing last week.
ok, i will let you know again after their lunar birtday, see what they pick.