Premature babies support group

scarlettohara,
i replied yr email.thanks for your prompt reply

i dun noe whether the umbilitical hernia is it at the belly button and its looks like "popping out"..?

if it is, i think my son used to have it at kkh, the belly button popped out like how shld i say so..like budging out..smthg lidat, is it?i think the neo nat had told me that it wld go back to normal in a couple of months (fm the days in the hospital)..true enough, is back to normal..

wow.. so many posts or is it becos i haven't been logging in last few days. been bz w work cos i'm on leave tmrw!! yeh yeh..

c u mommies next wk .. show u pics then, ok?

li li welcome :) you are far but we are all within reach.

wow..many threads cannot catch up really.

jacelyn -- my boy rejecting all the side dish and just concentrate finishing his porridge. sigh...keke

mich and jac -- ya my boy..erh shshshs haha.

Mich& Jane,
Oh, now my 1st twins back to bottle feeding again, but the hole of teats very big lei, i am so scared as he will kena choke....

Ai ya, my 2nd twins lor, he reject porriage....but, yesterday we go out whole day, never give any porriage, today i give half , he got finish, so lucky, as today i add alot of things inside porriage, have carrot,potato,colliflower,broccoli,pork ribs and chong bai(this very good, i read from the book, good for their digest systeam and porriage very nice smell too, chong bai is , we buy the chong right? the botton got more big one in white colour, use knife to but into half, put in porriage, when porriage cooked, take it out, must try.
mich
that day, i steam and mash the potato and put some frisocream, he reject too, but, he very funny, he eat kiwi,banana,papaya,bread(but i only give little bit only) and he like milk, he can finish 220ml now,sometime drink more than his brother, as now his brother like porriage and other feed much, this two boy very funny one.
ya, shhhhhhh , the party will hold on coming sunday, hope everthing ok.....if you here than will be great, sure i inviate yours.....
share the photo after sunday...

hi jacelyn...wow...so much goodies in your porridge. my that silly little one..just 'qing you to zhong' on the porridge (thou my porridge very well cook with pork, carrot and such)...but cannot be he only eat porrige mah...

i tried fish too..wow...he don't like ler. now even reject veggie (when last week its his favourite).

i think .. they take turns to like certain things one haha.

i will try banana, payapa soon...you dice it?

haha ok ok..looking forward to the pic.

Hi Lili welcome! I am a school teacher too and teaching chinese!!
))

Me sooo tired now. Just brought my kids to swim. Watched them for almost 2 hours... very tired.

Jacelyn think not to worry, babies are smart. They know what they want to eat, and when to eat.

Btw, have fun with your parties!

halo mummies

my first appt w dr agarwal today. omg, i din expect it to be so hectic. B1 for blood test, clinic K for dr's appt, then physio, get homework then want to pay but the admin lady
din known how to harge physio svc charge? so, i went to B1 to meet dietician and SLT at 2.15pm. after that pay at B1, went up to pay at 1st flr, then finally take cab home. wah. i came home almost flat already. son still sleeping now. think he is v tired.

disney, njoy your leave!

lili, my son oso has the balloon thingie at his belly button. but i guess i am not too worried because all the nurses say very common. it already look like it's smaller now but still has sometime to go.

actually at 2mth 2 weeks corrected age, my son is 5.1kg, 51cm and head circumference is 39cm... so i think not too far away from your coco. Dr din comment anything and dietician say by weight, is ok altho ht is below last percentile. so i guess i dun realli worry.

hallo mummies and mummies to be,
thank you so much for the reassurance that 34 wks is actually OK. some of you suggested eating more now so that bb is stronger. Any recommendations? I feel like doubling the fish oil (DHA) but am not sure if it will be good.

I have yet to go for my 5th month detailed scan, so dunno the twins' weight yet. Unlikely that there will be twin twin transfusion cos though they are in same sac with a membrane separating them, they have each got a placenta.. strange right? in the end, i also dunno if they are identical or fraternal.. watever. at last scan, only one allowed us to peek.. think it's a boy. the other one stubbornly refused to budge.

It's very interesting to read about what you all feed the preemies. Gives me a lot of info and prepares me ahead!

lili,

my daughter's inguinal hernia was discovered by the doctors cos at that time she was still in hospital. anyway, i'm a teacher too but i've taken 2007 off. i'll go back to the grind come 2008.

disney,

where are you going?

hi xbliss, hmm about feeding, just a small note to share. other than starting them on smaller hole teats, there after for weaning and such, our warriors is same as full term baby. in fact, do not treat our warriors as too special because they are just baby :)

oh oh, hope you can see the gender of the other twin soon. your gynae did not indicate about the possibility of a boy or gal? that time i remember when i when for my 20 weeks scan, even thou my boy refuse to budge but my gyane could see (from the bone structure) that i am having a boy :p.

boy or gal, most important is good health hum :)
keep us posted again

naddy -- hehe disney gg see minnie mouse in Hong Kong wor :)

My dd will be having her second checkup this thurs. The 'balloon' on my dd tummy is almost 2cm in diameter and can bulge out to about 3cm high when she strains herself. That's why i'm so worried. But I guess I have to learn to laugh over it! Last night we saw this documentary on a baby with extraordinary skill and my hb said that our dd also got a skill - 肚脐神功! I laugh so much and felt a great sense of relief!!

When i was in hospital, a pair of twins was born by c-section at 33 weeks. One was slightly less than 2kg and they stayed in the hospital, no incubator, stayed at the same place with the mother, for about 2 weeks before discharge. My MIL and sister were very amused by them and they provided much entertainment to them instead of juz staring at me! So no worries, xbliss. We are awaiting for the arrival of ur twins...

hi li li, your hb so cute. wow, your dd has already acquired a skill at such tender age..hmm can imagine when she grow up, sure be a pretty swan with wits and knowledge. your hb very cute too.

i guess sometime, we just have to look at the brighter side of things and everything be just ok isn't it?

harlo, lili,
welcome back...yr hb very farni, whilst reading, i was laffing..tink my colleagues tink i m seow...

you still on leave, right?how often do you come back to spore?how heavy was yr dd when born?its not on our chart?

lindah,
understand yr frentic chase around kkh....thgs will get better when the appointments get less..

hehe..mummies i just order this for my boy..cute hor (jane a bit restless today cos my boy coughing hope he ok ah)

913669.jpg

Jane,
ya,sometime i just alot of vegi, than i put a lot in too, ha,,,just want to be more taste for porriage, than they will like it..I hope so lor...later will give porriage, hope 2nd twins bryan will finish some too..my 1st twins no problem at all, he like porraige than brown rice and milk now, but i still give one meal only as milk with brown rice & cereal was more nutrition than porriage.
Ok, if your boy dont like vegi and other than porriage, maybe you put more things inside porriage, at least the nutrition of vegi&pork was more,try the chicken porrige?very good too, must buy kampung chicken,as i know pasar have,if ntuc or supermarket all not kampung one.
Today, i put huai shan , they say very good. i will taste first than let you know nice or not.
Ya, now my boys know to call their daddy, they say pa,pa.so funny, seldom call me, only 1st twins some timw wil say ma....oh,than that enough liao,you know or not,that day he suddenly face me ^& call me ma, my tear come down......very paiseh,never let my maid see,very shy lei,i very touching as last time he was so small, even i think their chance of stay was so slim, (touchwood)but, now they can crawl ,sit infront me, even call me ma.......
And now they know who was who, when we ask them,who was shu shu,who was kakak,ma,pa, they will look at the person...i know sure mummies here understand what i try to say and my feeling too...
ok,papaya and banana?
i only use fork to mash the fruit, very soft and very easy to mash, at the moment my doctor ask me dont give banana first as they have phelgm.

hi jacelyn, ya for now, i just (like you say) put in more goodies into the soup and boil the porridge and meanwhile try to let him take in more of the ingredients other than his favourite porridge keke

i am going to try brown rice soon...i am trying to find brand that is recommended by my collegue (organic)

in singapore...someitme quite difficult to get kampung chicken ler. my mum used to go JB to buy back...its really nice i know.

huai shan in porridge..interesting. u try try let me know ah. cos i know huai shan very good but am not sure how it taste in porridge haha..

hehe..that day when my boy warded in hospital he suddenly start to say lots of pa and mama. when he cry he will kept on mamamamamamam... at one point i happy another is wow...he kept on screaming for me ;-(

i am not sure..for now if my boy can assoicate who is who ler..sometime he can, sometime cannot keke..

but like your twins. he is babbling alot..i call it sing song haha (esp when he wake up in the morning)

here is the thread (cost S$8.90) i order the blue hehe

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/913035.html?1186389588

lindah..just to share. there are times when i have that frantic schedule (flying around KKH) too. but well, as costa say...as your boy progress, there will be less frequent visit and it be just ok...

JAne,
thanks, ok, i want to order, i just follow your writting there, i will buy two, all 100 size, dont know is is it too big? how you think? they will reply by email is it?

hi jac, hehe no problem. just thot its cute so share share here. yup i bought the 100 size too, the seller say is for heighht 100cm :p. i guess buy bigger is better la..can wear longer haha.

yes, you can either PM (via email) or drop them a message on the thread.

jane,
ok, o order liao, by normal postage, sent to my siaogu house, ask her to bring back for me...thanks, must share wth me when got anything cute which you buy, must be cheap too ha, as i am jobless now....ha..at here not such things here.
oh, i try the huai san porriage, very nice, taste good too, my 1st twins finish 1 bowl in 30minit, my 2nd twins by force and cussceful to finish half bowl too, so your boy must like it too, i put, pork rib,colliflower,broccoli and huai san.
oh, when you take off the huai san skin, must careful ha, must wear plastic bag at hand, if not will be intcy after kena the skin.
ya, i buy the bellybelt too, $5.90,quiet useful, as my boys dont like blanket, they always turn here turn there when sleep, blanket all gone after kicking by them, actually i thinking to buy suitai too, i check wth kiddy palace sell in $67 for two, can wear up to 2years old, i read at the magazine as quiet good for baby when night time. did you hear abt that before? how you think? does you boy wear anything? my air-con temp is 25 or 24, fan is low.

hi jacelyn - ok ok no problem. will share if i see anything really different. i brought that because its different design from normal romper plus the price still afforable :p (i too don't really spend much for clothing because normally soon he will outgrown it).

oh....hmm sound easy to prepare the porridge. but you don't let your boys eat the huai shan rite (just for cooking the stock?)

i wanna buy the bellybelt but i tinking...my boy does not sleep in aircon room so..hehe. someone told me, just let him wear longer tops (then tuck in) haha.. i even thought of buying pyjamas but then think again, my boy does not sleep in air con so not feasible haha.

suitai is ???

hi costa,
today not so free. MIL went to the salon to do her hair, so I'm left alone with bb..cannot sit infront of the computer whole time. My girl born at 30 weeks, 1.4kg at birth.
Ya, I'm still on leave. The maternity leave for my contract very terrible one, only one month. But then, since it is summer holiday now, we got two months, so in the end, they have to pay me as well. But I still have to take one month of no-pay leave after my one month confinement before the summer hols kicks in. I'll only go back to work after chinese new year next year..hopefully by then, i can find some help to look after my girl. Prob my MIL and my mum will alternate coming over here to look after.

Jacelyn, the belly belt looks interesting. Wonder if I can use it to tie my girl 'balloon'! Do you think they can send it overseas? Suitai is very common here for babies in the winter. It's better than blanket as it is safer. Babies won't get themselves caught in the blankets. It's like a sleeping bag. Quite useful. Will be getting one for my dd when winter comes.

It's very hot here now. In the heat of the summer. Temp can be as high as 39deg. But i still keep my aircon temp at about 27/28 deg. Scare baby will catch cold. But she is always perspiring at night when i pick her up. wow, you keep the air con to 25/24. Not too cold?

jane,
ok, promiss ha,,,must be cheap cheap one, cos every time i need to buy 2 set lei....ha..ha,and all my personal saving in singapore, i afraid, the little money will be go to giro as i am a crazy shpper..exspecially buy for my twins.
oh, i take out the huai san and pork rib, i only use fork to mash the colliflower & broccoli, than feel together wth porriage. actually easy to prepare, every morning at 9am, i wash rice and put with hot water in pot, after that put hot water in slow cooker, and put the pot in for steam the porriage, after that cut the carrot,etc thrown inside lor, tahn after 2 hour every thing really, actually, use slow cooker to steam the porriage, the porriage taste more nice, i try to cook in slow cooker, i feel the taste a lot of different, you want to try my way?
oh, so good? why never sleep in air-con room, mean that yout hubby and you also never sleep in air-con room? why? you baby cannot tahan or you dont want?
suidai is like lili say, sleeping bag.
lili,
hi,where are you now? look like you at other country? so sorry, never read your previous thread, i am at malaysia now.
ya lor , i feel the bellybelt very useful for my boys, maybe i wont buy the suidai if i buy the bellybelt,and some more here not winter time too, my hubby say malaysia not suistable, some time my 2nd twins whole his head sweaty, now i wear for them 2 ply of pyjamas.so i think 24 and 25 should be ok, and i wear for them sock and hand sock too.
ya, what happen to your girl? is it her tuqi come out like one small grape? my 1st twins like that too, last time during hopital he keeping cry, after that the tuqi come out like a small grape, i am also very worry, every day, i wrap for them belt(we cut the nankin and do as a belt, always wear, even now also wear, as prevent wing go in their stomuch and tuqi, but, njot good is always wet and kena xuxu......so if i buy the bellybelt, than will be very good. your girl is it this problem?

Oops, i post the same message twice..

Jacelyn, yeah, i'm living in shanghai. Yea, but my girl tuqui not like a grape, more like a lime.. hopes it doesn't grow to be like a ping pong ball!!! I think we have the same problem.. so your boy tuqi still like that? my girl always strains herself stretching and makes yi yi ah ah noises as she does that.. like a horse neighing. Dunno why? Are babies always like that? She always exerts strength and stretch. Sometimes during checkup, she will 'perform her act' and the doc says it's normal cos their skin and bones are growing... well, but it doesn't help in her tuiqi when she does that...

MIL is back from the salon.. I'm back to the computer again! hee hee

hi lili,
not to worry, even my boy one more small, but i think is the same problem, his one recover when he turn at 6month. actually doctor say not to worry, if after 1 year still like that, than can op and will be recover, but they will check until 1years, normally will be smaller and smaller, as your girl only 3month right?when my boy 3 month still very big, the doctor always press the tuqi, he say very soft, should be no problem, and i always read the book, all write there take time , a lot of baby will be recover when they turn 1years old.
oh, you must always put some cloth or anything la, when you wear pamper or clot, like me, always wear the cloth belt for my boy, this can smaller his tuqi ballon, some malay nurse told me put 50sen there and wrap wth clot, than will be recover faster. but i never do that.my frind lagi calat, she always press the ballon in when after bath, ehh,,ehhher boy one was kena her press than gone the ballon, very funny ha, for me, i dont dare to touch, his one disapperence itself after he turn 6month, ohhh,,,remember to put sesame oil at tuqi before shower, prevent water and wing go in.
my boys too, last time they always stretching themselves, i am so worry, talk what happen to them, but , a lot of people say will be grow fast and now the time they do that cos they want to grow up liao. this is my experince.

hi jacelyn, some docs also suggested putting a coin over it. My mum also says that. But then, we scare kena infection. I also try to tie the nappy cloth for her sometimes, but it always go out of place. What is a cloth belt? is it like the belly belt? Over here very difficult to get these things. The chinese here have their own version of tuiqi belt. Even their nappy cloth is rectangular in shape one.. so i end up using it like a sarong for my girl. I hope the lady who sells the belly belt delivers to shanghai. She havent response to my request yet lei..

lili,
i think that one not suistable, belly belt, too big, and putting outside too.
ok, you just cut the nappy cloth , maybe 20cm(width) after that saw until 20cm, than will be more hou(sorry, dont know how to write.)nappy cloth quiet long right? after that,every time you wear pamper, you must use the nappy belp to roll all his stomuch, after that wear pamper, than wont run away. if not, you do one button there la. i use last time no problem, if change place, i replace again lor, is the good way, you must do now , sure 6month ok.

hi jac, ok ok. if i see anything cheap and worth buying/investing i jio you keke.... i am quite careful with what i purchase too (don't want duplicate and waste money :p). its like one special design i just purchase one haha...

will try the porridge this weekend :) must buy the huai shan first.

oh...not sleeping in aircon as i grow up not sleeping in aircon :p. so for my boy i don't too..but i am thinking if the haze come, i will let him sleep in aircon.

li li thanks for sharing the pic..now i know its the bb sleepin bag

jane
oh, better la,, actually sleep without air-con is good too, less problem on nose lei. and less cough & flu too. for us , me cannnot tahan, and my boys also like it, now , when 8pm, i bring them upstair their room, they was so happy as cool down there....

ya,,ya,, buy the huai san , if not, really dont know what to cook. try to get kampung chicken too,pasar have.last time when i go bishan, i can get it there, very fresh too.

LILI,
if you dont want to use napy cloth, maybe you go supermarket and find, baby department have the ready one, myside malaysia have, quiet cheap, if you cant get it there, let me know, maybe i buy for you, than sent ot you, will be more cheap, i willing to help you, as i understand your feel, i been that before, so woory, i always teel my boy, must revocer, if not next time cant wear swimming suit, cause will be very ugly, you must tell your girl too, teel her, must recover, if not next time wear bekini will be ugly and cannot go swimming too.ha.ha..very useful ha,,you must try, sure she will recover as she want to be a pretty girl ma...

hi jac, hmmm...dunno about relation abt aircon and not sleeping in aircon. my boy still got nose block ler :-( but i know..if he in aircon lagi jialat...

haha ok ok. really dunno what to cook for him now. i am gg to give him tofu this week. hope to get kampung chicken (have to ask my mum tried the wet market near her place for it - quite rare really)

oh...do u cook 'gan bei' in soup for your boy?

jane,
ya, i got put gan pei , but, not every time, sometime only, i preper pork rib lor,,,i feel the taste for ganpei quiet sin.
i think no air-con better, but no fan facing him too ha..i think block nose is quiet common, maybe you try the gao lishen?
lili,
ok, dont too tight, just gam gam ok liao.

hi jac..oh so u put gan pei too? hmm...i wonder is it ok because gan pei is consider shelf seafood. u meant gao lishen cook in soup for him to drink?

thanks so much Jacelyn. My brother-in-law is coming over in a few weeks time. I'll get him to bring over a few. My in-laws are malaysians too. In the meantime, I'll sew some using nappy cloth first. My MIL and husband always nag at her to keep her tuiqi in or else next time cannot wear revealing clothes!! i'll join in the nagging too...

lili,
ya, must every time nagging on her, sure she feel shy and will be get well soon, remember wear for him every time, sure you see the result after a few month.
jane,
ya, i try before,afetr 3 day they no sensitive at all, so i just give lor.
oh, the gaolishen not cook in porriage or soup.
remember i teach you last time, take one small pc of gaolishen and three dry longan, wash and put into empty small bowl, when cook rice put 3 or 4 more spoon of water fro cook rice, after rice water boil, quicky open the cover and take 3 spoon rice water into the bowm, after that steam together wth the rice, rice ready that mean gaolishen ready, give your boy drink, finish it, good taste too. give a try, good for his cool body, this is the reason he always get cool,cough. good for immune system too.

Wow, jane, me thinking of buying the cute japanese style cloth for my boy too, but then never buy, cause me buy too many clothes for him recently...hee

Lili, it is very normal for premature baby to have the belly button to be potruding. My boy also when he was discharged. We were very concern during that time, but doctors all said never mind. Slowly it becomes less.

I tried using coin to put on my boy's belly too, haha.

Jacelyn, my boy called daddy first, then mummy too. haha.

Btw, think I am frantic buyer. I kept buying this and that from bulk purchase, from online shops or from "want to sell" thread. Die...bank getting poorer each day! I just want to buy and buy...die die.

Btw, me thinking of sending my boy to julia gabriel to learn something...anyone else has other recommendation. I tried baby jumper before but too far. Julia gabriel at orchard, very far also. Anyway, they got this billingual class. quite good, went trial before. Anyone interested to join me? For toodlers 18th months above. Got to be on waiting list though.

hi kkf -- haha. ya, i am trying ot control my buying urge too. now i limit myself to really special design clothing (for my boy) keke. i think we as mummies is all the same haha

oh...hmm not signing my boy on that yet. but thinking of kindermusik thou..but wait a while more hehe

lili,
so nice of yr mil and mum to come and help you to take care of yr bb..but its good tt you can spend some time wif her till next cny before going back to work..

the school is not owned by sporeans?maternity benefits not same as spore?

Ever since last Thurs, I noticed that Caca has been jerking her head from side to side several times a day. Each jerk lasts less than a second, but sometimes there are 3 jerks consecutively.

Brought her to a GP on Sat evening. Doc said she's fine and that it's normal for babies to jerk like that as their nervous system is not matured yet.

Does any of your babies jerk? (not those jerking after urinating).

myfab,
my son is the same.....he jerks also smtimes and his whole body can like jerk backwards....i oso worry it cld be that he cant control his muscles...

but when i asked my frens who got full term babies, they say its normal, wor..now he still does it once in a while....

maybe you ask yr neo nat when you bring them back for checkups?

Tried to call the neo nat just now but he's not in the office. Don't really like to talk to him cos he always brushes me off.

The GP whom I brought Caca to last Sat said I'm too paranoid for the babies' good. He said if I continue to be so paranoid, it would affect the babies to be nervous and uptight.

sigh... I also don't want to be so paranoid. But I can't help itI