Premature babies support group

Valc,
i din rec yr pm maybe becuz my co server ting tong one...

can pm me again...i did pm you but you din reply me also...

hi bena.. :) no problem. drop by say hi and stay cheerful, enjoy relaxing and don't worry be happy ;-) that should be all about it when Pregnant ah.

we are all here to care and provide info (if can). costa and the rest of the mummies really lots to share...

hehe, i learn how to cook porridge here too keke

Mich,
ok, actually i am very luan, me feel not comfortable if never celebrated for them on august one, but if celebrate also uncomfortable...ai....dont know how lei...how abt your last time?I am so afraid as if i celebrate wth them follow my way, i afraid pangtang too,and not good for them after celebrate, as now they very guai, eat well & sleep well.....

Jane,
How about you? your boys birthday soon right? how you celebrate for him?
Ya, now very headache, my 2nd twins dont like porriage lei, dont know why? my 1st twins like it....but my 2nd twins like milk, he can finish whatever we give him,,,is it because last time he dont like milk, now turn another way? Hows your boy taking the porriage? did you try chicken porriage? my 1st twins like it so much, oh, if you steam fich for him, try to buy wuyu, very good for them, exspeacially for dark hair...ha..

hi jacelyn...talk abt pangtang ya...my boy soooonnnnn... shshshhshshs...cannot talk ah. :p (his ear very soft one). shshhshshshsh. but ya. a plan is there defintely... i tell you after the big day can.

but if u ask me..for his lunar b'day..i will have a small simple one for him. actual shld be big bash...

oh for my boy. now wow porridge is his favourite. funny is he don't like egg yolk (which he must try in case got allergy). he is ok with spinach, carrot. now letthing him eat bread too. soon maybe try kway diao or wat. fish he ok ok only. but i don't know why, he like don't like to drink water now (sigh...).

chicken i think my mum don't intend to introduce him until much later. how you cook the chicken porridge?

wuyu?? is what??

jac.. now you know why when u post the birthday celebration question...i no answer..pai say ah...i want to answer badly because my boy coming soon mah (so near yours)...but i just have to 'ren' and keep quiet (which is not my normal self)

Costa,
Yesterday, I went to GNC to buy fenugreek pill, guess what! the staff said it is out of stock. I'm scare tat my BM just reduce and stop. Is it true tat as long as we pump daily(X 4 times), it won't stop?

Kkf,
Thanks for sending me the link to this forum.

Mich,
Puppp is a kind of rashes tat cover ur body, neck, hand and leg, it is unbearable kind of itch, no medicine for it but will only recover when u give birth. I used to buy a lot of cream, lotion and bath oil to apply, but no use. Need to wake up middle of the night and bath with cold water. So in the end, I took TCM medicine from Ma Kuang.

My medical bill came up to $3K+++ and my boy's bill arn $13K+++.(subsidised)

I'm supposed to deliver at TMC but due to my waterbag burst sudduly, my gyne advised me to go straight away to KKH and ask for C ward. Luckily, still got bed for me tat night.

all mommies,
How long did u all BF ur child?

jess,
me onli pumped milk, din managed to bf directly as my boy's sucking was weak and was discharged fm kkh wif tube feeding..

i stopped expression last saturday so that means i pumped for about 1 yr 1month?

i oso not sure but the lactation consultant said that if you established the supply well early on, it wld be easier...So even if reduce the pumping sessions...bm wld still maintain...

for me, slowly it went down and it was really pathetic and i stopped as my son had started taking semi solids and he is more than six months corrected age..

u can buy the fenugreek seeds from those supermarket like sheng song and then take some to make tea to drink..

i bot both.....the GNC i always forgot to take and the seeds also....

if not you can use goats rue...i bot also but as usual lah, after eating a few times, i din eat liao...

u can get dom perigone fm the doctor to stimulate the brain to produce more......

jane, wu yu is it ngor hee?suitable for babies....or called ma yau fish in cantonese?

Jane,
Ok,shhhhhhh,that mean you only do once only la?
the wu yu, is one type of fish,maybe when go market, you just tell them want to buy wuyu, than they know, is a type of good fish, the petan like red fish(angcho)can cut in slide one, but wuyu the colour more dark, maybe you ask your mum than she know. Oh, the chicken porriage? ok, you just buy the chicken breast, than cook a while with boil water, take out and wash with cool water, after that put in slow cooker together with rice, the delicious porriage will be ready....very sweet lei, i like it too, oh, ya, now i buy the organic potato which i cook with carrot and rice, after that use fork to mesh the potato, very nice too. Today i cooked misua to my boys, 1st twins finish one bowl, 2nd twins only take abt 10small spoon, he now a day dont like porriage and misua too,..
. but , my friend say misua very hot, ask me try dont give, she ask me to give mee or tongxinfen. the egg york, i haven give yet,how to do? thinking to give them too.
Very funny ha, yesterday i give them yellow kiwi,they share share, they finish all....but when i try, very suan, dont know why they like it????
Water, not too worry, when he thirty,he will drink, last time my boys dont like it too, but now still ok, take time, maybe when give porriage or cereal, try to feed more water. sometime i give them feizaishui too, they like it.

Bena,
Yup, ur gyne can't come in for the delivery, it will be the KKH gyne. Last time, I also dun know the name of the doctor who perform c-section for me. :p

Costa,
me too pumped out my milk to feed my boy cos it seem tat my boy suck for a long time but still hungry, so dun know whether did the milk come out or not.

Bena,

my ger was born @34wks. she stayed in NICU for abt 2.5wks & nursery for 0.5wks. altogether i paid abt $10k.

sorry, i din read ur earlier posts,y must u eat more to pile on bb's wt? cos i oso like tat. discovered i had pre-eclampsia @Wk30. bb was only 1.4kg. so gynae told me to eat more, more meat. tong until wk34, but bb only 1.5kg when born.

jane,
ur boy dun like egg yolk is it becos 2 dry? u can mesh it up until v fine & mix into the porridge. he may not b able to detect. as for chkn, i'll use chkn breast meat (less oily). put in the soup to cook then peel it to small pieces (like the adult kind of chkn porridge).

disney,
can i check with you how come now my 2nd twins reject porriage, sometime only take a few spoon than cry, if not, he sometime he vomit out as he never swallow..but, when i give full milk he finish all.. last month he still like it, my 1st twins like the porriage. is it the baby like that? they wont stick in one food long?
ya, chicken breast less oil and very sweet too when cook wth porriage, i just put whole pcs in and never give my boys to take,they now 11month, can i give them like you say just now? peel in smmal pcs and give together wth porriage?

hi costa..ya ya my mum give my boy the ngor he..

jac - i will do twice. but for the lunar one, no cake..just maybe pray or wat...simple one.

i don't understand...why need to wash the boiled chicken breast meat? :p. oh i intend to introduce potato soon too. mee sua is another thing can try. tong xin feng too hor.. think perhaps your 2nd twin like milk better...

disneymickey..hmm..egg yolk too dry. but my mum put in with the porridge and my boy 'make the vomit' sound :p. but you could be right..he cannot detect perhaps (egg yold shld be very nice). after peeling, you put the chicken breast meat into the rice and cook??

bena

my gynae came in to inspect me while i was in A&E. but she went off very quickly.

however the person who did the delivery (very young! i think either MO or registrar) was very good. so i think nd not worry.

if case is special, i'm sure they will drag the snr doctors in. like for my son, they had to prep his arrival so got snr doctors (but i dunno how snr, just look snr, lah)

Jane,
Oh, i see, than i no need to worry liao, since got someone same wth me do twice, ok, i will go and celebrate wth cake and do small party at mcdonald on english birthday, the lunar one only pray and no cake.ke..ke... i am so relax now. hope everthing ok afetr celebrate.
OH, boil chicken breast or pork ribs need to wash away wth cool water before put into slow cooker cos can wash out the oil, and smell too. you must do it ha...dont lazy.

hi lindah,

for my case, i arrive in hospital with waterbag leaking. my gynae check me...then after that i was warded in C class (presumely i cannot chose any gynae) but my gynae still come everyday to see me once.

during delivery, it was done by a MO. but all the very senior doc/consultant see me regulary (when i was in the ward) and the Neo Nat team (from NICU specilist) was on standby when i delivered for my boy arrival.

hi jacelyn .. haha. i think no standard practise. but for me..because..i think english so is cake. chinese so its praying (when he bigger give him eat mee sua with egg in the chiense form of celebration but no cake) haha...i very simple minded one keke

oh i see...hmm...i shall do that. thanks for the tips :)

Disneymickey,

I need to pile on weight on baby cuz my gynae says that if baby is > 2kg, chances of needing NICU will be greatly reduced. Btw, which class were u in at Mt A?

Thanks, Jess and Lindah.

Jane your gynae so good. See u everyday.

I see the food you'all are preparing for baby they all sound so delicious. Feel hungry just reading abt them.

Lindah,
I only know my gal had blood transfusion once coz of of low platelets. wah our bill is similar ah.

Bena,
my gal bill come to $33k for abt 48 days. Had one operation. She was in C-Class all the way so the subsidy is $25k. In the end, paid $7k+ thru medisave. from what I know, use hubby and urs medisave first then family members then cash if not enuff.

Very hard to say how much the bill will be coz there are variable costs like medicine, treatment required which will depend on ur baby.

I was from Thomson. My dr transferred me to KKH before gave birth.she used to work at KK so had connections in KKH. I dunno how she do but she got her fren dr to attend to me and I stay her in C-class ward.So like choose gynae lah, Mine was Dr Irene Chua at KK. bit more expensive but I feel better that way.

Hope it helps in making ur decision. After making ur decision, best if not think abt it anymore. pls focus on urself and baby care. money somehow can workout ah, ur health and baby health most impt.

anybody use metoclopramide ? that what neo dr gave me. I breastfeed direct mostly during the day and sometimes at nite. I would like give more but worry how much I have. Also my gal tend to snack, just feed 5-10min then dun want. Then later cry like not enuff, I feel guilty so resort to FM to ensure sure enuff milk. Past few days at nite my gal insist on breastfeed. Thk not enuff, she still suck anyways for long time like 30min to 1hr then later hungry can't sleep, have to give her bottle milk tho she crying and dun wan. feel bad..

daec
my bill was 30+k after subsidy... without subsidy, it was like 90k or something.

at first i was so surprised tt you say the same, cannot be since my son was there so much longer.

cannot advice on bfdg. i gave up a few weeks ago. my pump was too ineffective and son too old (almost 6 mths old) to latch properly. ;). keep on bfdg, the milk powder is costing me a lotttt of $$$$!

Lindah,
oh I c, its after subsidy. Yeah gd pump very impt. I realised now during the early days after birth my pump motor broke down but I thot its my milk that is not enuff. By the time, I realise its late.hai.. I am still relying on FM primarily though.

lindah,

Yes...I will always remember that Sunday's afternoon, your little warrior decided to take a look of the world earlier...I was with the resus team with our senior consultant standby for him.

:>

Hi mummies...

SOOOOO sad, got to wake up sooo early again on a saturday!!!!!! I am going to school for p6 prelim oral! Sianzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Half a day gone.

Bena, I am kkf not kkh, haha! I dun want to be kkh! hee.

Anyway, I used to stay single bed at raffles, and my baby was there for around 3 days, total bill $8000 for 3 days. Very expensive right? Ha! So the gynae advised me to transfer my boy to kkh. I dun have much problem downgrading there leh. They allowed me to downgrade my boy to C class at kkh, I think. The social worker there helped me a lot.

I am really not sure of the anti contraction pills I ate. I ate too many pills haha. The gynae mentioned will make heartbeat faster as well. I tell you hor, won't have side effect lar. For me, I just FEEL that my heart is not as strong as before, as well as my whole body after delivering.

Jacelyn, I feel that celebrate once enough. Twice a bit funnie. Also, may not be so auspicious also. Seldom people celebrate birthday twice. Can make it on same day?

My boy's birthday coming, printed invitation cards, and bought decorations from overseas spree liao though his birthday in october, haha.

Mummylian, maybe you shd stop breastfeeding leh. Dun stress yourself, now the important thing is to keep your baby till full term.

buzzbubbly,

ya man... lovely sunday afternoon indeed. haha. incidentally my son was discharged on a lovely sunday afternoon as well.

tt time i cannot even concentrate on anything other than the pain, the worry and squeezing my hubby's hand. i cant even remember who is the sister who talked to me after the birth. part of the problem was that i wasnt wearing my precious spectacles! i only saw a lot of pple waiting for my baby.

so bena, nd not worry even if you deliver in C class. but i hope you stick it out to 34weeks +, then may not need to transfer at all...

I'm just registered myself recently. Had to search for a few minutes to find out how to post a message! Hi stressed, I m Lili who emailed you regarding my girl whom I suspected had GERD a few days ago.
Anyway, juz like to say i'm very encouraged to read all your postings. I'm currently residing in shanghai and feel rather alone coping with my new girl and more so, when she is a preemie. She stayed in the NICU in the children hospital here in Shanghai for about 6 weeks and I must say there is really a lot of culture shock we had at the beginning. But overall, the doctors and nurses are very professional and friendly. Just that with the sheer number of babies in the hospital, we can't expect the personalised touch with the doctors and nurses like in KK. Well, i'll slowly share about my experience in other postings.

My girl is now back with us. She is 3 months 2 weeks now. Corrected age is 1 month. She is now 4.34kg at 51cm. I'm worried about her head circumference though, it's about 36cm. Both her weight and head circumference is slightly off the chart for a one month old baby. Any mummies out there with babies of similar size??

kkf,

Hahaha.. so sorry.. must be thinking too much abt transferring to kkh. Feel a bit silly now
Actually my heartbeat became faster too after taking the medication, though my medication seems different from yours. My gynae says that there are some side effects on baby too but weighing the risk of a preterm labour, no choice but to take it. I will ask her what are the side effects when I see her again and hopefully they are not long term.

Daec,

Ya I think you are right. I should make a decision based on the situation then and stop thinking about it and start focussing on baby.

Lindah,

Thanks for those comforting words.. I also hope so. I guess situations changed a little too fast for me cuz just last week I was in my normal active and happy self physically prepping myself up for a normal delivery, shopping for baby's nursery and even writing a birth plan, and this week suddenly I'm reduced to being an invalid as I am confined at home due to this threatened preterm labour and can't exercise, can't do anything for baby except rest and don't even know if my birth plan is realistic anymore. My hubby suffers along with me as now he has to bear the burden and stress of a hectic work schedule, plus take care of me and prepare for baby's arrival (wash all the laundry, buy baby's stuff) in case he comes early.

I'm sure all mummies here can empathise as you have been through similar or worse situations than me.

bena,
ya, i know what you mean.

my baby came out so quickly, and tt time i was from jb. so, no diaper bag, nothing! not even a change of clothes for myself! my mum had to bring them for me. then no pt hvg a diaper bag since son din go home w me. very difficult to adjust to it. it was esp sad cos i went home without my baby.

i bought so many things for baby and then baby came out early and had to stay at the hospital for so long. by the time he comes out, almost cannot fit the newborn stuffs.

dun worry too much. things will work out. you not getting a maid to help you w all this?

Lili,
welcome to the board! you can always pop down here for pple to talk to. I dunno what is GERD. but my son is also small. at corrected 2 mths, he was 4.6kg. but i am not too worried. will worry if neonat tells me to worry. hopefully they will catch up. ;)

Lindah,

That's why I'm very kan cheong now cuz baby may come anytime but I'm as good as beddriden. The spirit is willing but the flesh is unable.

Things happen too fast cuz I only found out that I might be preterm this Monday. Need to get a part-time cleaner to come and do the housework.

Any mummies here have any good recommendations for part-time cleaners? I stay in Hougang and probably will need her to come on a long term basis once a week 3-4hrs. I know there are other threads on part-time cleaners but some are hoaxes..

halo everyone,
how r u all doing? have not been logged on for long time. i was juz transferred to a new department n got piles of work to learn n complete.
linday, congrates tat ur baby has discharged n w u at home.
Jac n Jane, wow, 1 yr celebration for ur babies soon. i didn't do much for my boy when he turned 1 YO coz he's very 'petty type' (xiao qi) according to my mil. so cannot anyhow praise him, talk abt him and celebrate for him somehow. wat we did is juz family get together n buy him a cake n place lots of things at floor for him to pick (eg: pen, fruits, ruler...) n eat out together. simple one.

bena neo,
welcome to join this thread. costa n other mums are very helpful n encouraging here. if u need any info can ask around here. coping till 34wks to give birht w be a great milestone as after 34wks the baby is more 'matured'. i was giving birht my boy at 34 wks too. apparently besides small size no other complication. but be prepare mentally, still need at least drip n tube feeding. last time i was so blur w/out knowing anything. when seeing him on tube here n there, i cried non stop. usually premies need to stay in hospital till full term, ie: at least 37wks. my boy stayed 3 wks in NICU Mt E. Bill was 10K+

talk to u all again. hav a great weekend.

i wish mine can wait til after 34 weeks too. My gynae initially said deliver on 36 weeks but later said 34.. as it's a pair of twins, she decided not to take the risk of stillborn or watever. sigh.. i really do hope there isn't a need for NICU but i do think the chances are slim.

Irenelovej,

Oh no. After reading what you wrote, I have to up my goal to 37 weeks. I thought if I can tong till 34 weeks then maybe baby just need 1 week's ICU and maybe no need tubes sticking out. Now I know that's so unrealistic. But so hard to stick it out till 37 weeks.. everyday eat nifedipine and worry if the side effects on baby will be bad. Tomorrow I start my 33rd week. Endure endure endure.. baby please stay put where u are now.. Can I ask you the birth weight of your boy?

xbliss,

Did your gynae tell you why there would be risk of still born for your babies if they are not delivered at 34 weeks? What's their weight now?

kkf,irenelovej
Thanks for the advice, but i already plan the gardening.......i laeady ask some friend and sis gardening at mcdonald for english one, we will cut cake too and actually wanna to treat all the peoson who been help my baby before , than for the lunar one we only pray, no cake & celebration, i think should be ok la.... hope my boys not xiaoqi.....Ya, on lunar day i will let them pick some thing at floor, see what they take, must be very funny ha...
will share their photo after celebration.
Ya, irenelovej.
can i check wth you , last month my 2nd twins still enjoy the porriage which wi prepared, but now he dont want, he never open the mouth, when i put in his mouth, he never swallow, after few spoon he will vomit out, and some time scream and cry when i give him, but, he still taking a lot of milk & cereal? what happen? do i need to stop first? 1st twins very like the porriage, is it i need stop and prepare one person one first? let the 2nd twins stop porriage?whatelse porriage can prepared for them, as know i got cook, chickem ,porkrib wth carrot & potato, colliflower and broccoli,pumkin, ikan bilis wth vegi....can you teach me?

bena,

in kkh, not sure if the info helps but doctors say minimum requirement for discharge is 35 weeks AND wt 2kg.

maybe diff hospital diff?

Table Time!
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender </TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Length of Stay </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf's mom</TD><TD>15-Nov-78</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1000g+</TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>02-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>775g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU-3mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>mich</TD><TD>31-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>600g&720g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU&SCN-3.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf</TD><TD>15-Oct-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU+SCN-2mths 3 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>disneymickey</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1450g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2.5wks, SCN-0.5wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>stressed</TD><TD>31-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1890g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>NICU-13days </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-14wks, SCN-8wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheaky</TD><TD>05-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1900g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>jacelyn tey</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1510g&1190g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>57 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummylian</TD><TD>07-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1034g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-38days SCN-20days </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>21-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2000g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN- 5 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>13-Dec-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2185g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>myfab</TD><TD>14-Dec-06</TD><TD>Girl&Girl</TD><TD>1118g & 780g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>3mths&4mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>lindah</TD><TD>04-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>680g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5mths 18 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1520g & 1610g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>4.5wks&9wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy&Girl</TD><TD>1500g & 1700g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-6wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>adeline lee</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>815g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>daec</TD><TD></TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1015g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>48days </TD></TR><TR><TD>lili</TD><TD></TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>6 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Lili, welcome! I just posted a reply to you in the umbilical hernia thread. Do update us with all the necessary info for the table!

Bena, What's the estimated weight of your baby now? I also delivered at 34 weeks but I'm a worst-case scenario for you, I believe. My baby wasn't growing well in the womb. However, there are other moms like chloegal who delivered at 34 weeks but as her baby's birth weight is 2kg, she only spent 5 days in hospital.

Hi Naddy,
Here are the info for my girl, Coco.
Born on 30 Apr 2007, weight 1400g at birth, born at 30 weeks.
Thanks for the collation. It's an encouragement to mummies whose babies are still in NICU. There is a possible date of discharge that they can look forward to. U know, when my girl was admitted, the only other person I know who delivered prematurely at the same hospital as me was this French lady. Her boy was still staying in NICU (he was there for about 5,6 months already) when I delivered Coco and at that time, I was very discouraged as I am afraid that Coco will also have to stay there for an indefinite period. I hope that he is ok now, as when we left the hospital, he is still there. But I must say that her mum is a very optimistic and strong lady and she even encouraged us. We must stay strong for our little ones.

Bena, hang in there! Don't worry too much about the medication. Did docs manage to find out the cause of the threatened labour?

I'm not really sure why the doc suggests 34 wks.. maybe they have seen too much? cos just before deciding, she witnessed her gynae friend of hers delivering a pair of twins at 35 wks, and 1 is stillborn.. ??? I'm really not sure, but because i have not gotten to that stage, i don't intend to ask. Take things one step a time. U take care there k?

Hi xbliss and bena,

At 34 weeks, most of the organs would be fully developed so babies born after 34 weeks will generally (hopefully!!) not need as much intensive care as babies born earlier.

The gynaes told me that 34 weeks is considered 'acceptable prematurity' so if a baby has to be born premature, they would like to wait til week 34, if possible.

Hi xbliss and bena
my ger was born 34+2 weeks, weighting 2kg. She was fine and does not need any tub feeding or drips. She is required to stay at SCN for 5 days to meet KKH discharged requiremant. Think is all depent on th bb's conditions. Try to take all the nutrients now so that the BB will be strong when born.

Lots of post to read. Can't catch up already.

xbliss and bena,
I think the number of weeks is only a gauage. The baby's condition and weight would be the impt factor on how long the baby is going to stay in NICU. My boy born at 32 week but the nurse said that he's only marginally premature. Just try to put on weight and rest well.

Talking abt anti-contraction pills. I was on the drip and on oral medication last time to stop my contraction, But gynae stopped my drip and said that it's bad for my health but continued with the oral medication. Unfortunately, it did not help. After the drip was stopped, few hours later my contraction came and I delivered prematurely.

Scarlettohara,
welcome to this thread....are you still in shanghai? hope you coping well...let us noe more about yrself..

irenelovej,
welcome you back..hp u not overstressed wif yr new department..must take care of yr pregnancy first and foremost...

Good Morning Mummies
I hate Mondays!!

Jacelyn
Your Twin 2 eating ok now?
I guess all kids go through a stage of rejecting milk or solids. Did you try to give him something else besides porridge, such as mee swa, potatoes, bread etc?
Mashed Potatoes my 10 mth old niece is eating it mixed with frisocreme. Very nice and fragrant.
Pantang - oh yes... my twin 2 can be quite. Shhhhh.... :p

Chloegal
Got your mail.... Thanks!

Bena
Hope the advices you get from this thread help you in one way or another.
Rest and eat well for now.
Part time cleaners I think some there are some agencies which provide such services. I dun have any good contacts on this.
Still born - ai yah.... This may happen to full term bb also. Dun think about such things now lah... Must have positive thoughts.

Lili
Welcome!
Head circumference and wieght does your child go back to the hospital for follow ups/ reviews? Raise your concern to the doctors.
Babies grow very fast. So, dun worry.
Is this your first child?

Naddy
Thanks for updating the table.

Xbliss
Are you expecting twins? Gender?
My boys had twins to twins transfusion syndrome and my gynaes target was 28 weeks!
One neonat said for a 28 weekers and above, chances of survival is 90 over percent!

I'm still in Shanghai. Move here about 2 years ago. I was a teacher back in Singapore. Read in the thread that there are some school teachers too.
I teach in the Singapore International school here after moving over with my husband.

MIL is here to help me. She has been a great help. My girl is growing up slowly but surely by the day. However, she has this umbilical hernia which stresses me everytime I look at it.
Seems like non of you on this thread has this problem. When I visited the 'ang-mo' support group website, it's a common problem. My sis and MIL says that it is due to the way the umbilical cord is cut and the 'ang-mo' docs will cut 'more' so it leaves a protruding belly-button which results in an outie for them. I don't know how far it is true, but I sure hope it will close up as what the doctors claim. It is really big...

Telly, how did you discover that your girl has an inguinal hernia? I thought it will only affect boys.

Bena, do rest a lot. I was bedridden for two weeks after my waterbag broke. I had to sleep at an angle with my hip prop up. It's a miracle that I can keep the baby for two weeks in me. Every day counts
Sometimes I think back and wish that baby could have stayed inside longer. But I trust that God has his plan and in His time, He made all things beautiful. All our babies are delivered in God's timing and He has made them perfect and beautiful.

scarlettohara,
i got smthg to ask you but its not related to this board...can i pm you..but i see that you din enable yr pm....

can you pm me inside..click on my user name and give me yr email address if convenient..wanna ask you smthg about schooling in shanghai...thanks..

Hi Costa,

Just send a PM to you but not sure if it is successful cos I didn't see the 'mail sent out successfully message'

Anyway, I have undone the ticks regarding the PM and displaying my email add on my profile. Didn't realise I have to do that
You can now PM me.

Lili