Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

kidz,
what time did u get home? I got a ride from my dad to his place, but no jam leh. didn't hear any boom boom either...

CSI - Detonation went off at 5:30pm, we were home about 5:45pm. B1's fever seems to have broken, but I gave her a 2nd dose of Plaximol at the end of the 6hrs JIC. Hopefully not viral and thus won't come back tonight...

Wintercupid - one of my friends sent children to the Talent Plus Playgroup operating @ Dover Community Centre (Blk 1 -- next to FM Sec). Think it's 3hr prog but very reasonable price.

Btw, I'm gonna order NB & S sizes from Nepia instead of buying through the diapers BP I listed earlier. Nepia only needs min. 4 pkts for free delivery, all priced @ $15/pk. Also NB = 60pcs and S = 54 which is slightly cheaper than the BP for MP & Huggies Ultra

Anyone wants to tonbang for delivery to my plc and pick up at flexi timing, let me know
. I can wait another 2wks before ordering since EDD is 15 April (income tax closing date!)

Hi kidz,
Thanks for sharing, i will check out there.
By the way Nepia have L size? i only know there are Newborn and S size. If have, i'm interested to get 1 pack.

Wintercupid: Nepia has NB to L diapers. Diaper pants are in L & Big Sizes. L size diapers is for 9-14kg and has 42pcs. You can chk out www.nepia.com.sg for details -- but seems only the Jap-language page is working. However can still view the contact no. and the no. of pcs per size. If you want to ride on my order do note that my plc is near the mosque @ Clementi

kidz
poor B1 :S is she feeling better now?

hey, the blocks they building near you is part of some SERS scheme right? any idea which old/en bloc blocks are moving there?

kidz
poor B1 :S is she feeling better now?

hey, the blocks they building near you is part of some SERS scheme right? any idea which old/en bloc blocks are moving there?

Wintercupid: Wheno ordering direct from Nepia, it's $15 for all sizes.

Iso: Thanks, seems it's a one-off bout of fever. Now she's coughing though
. The SERS blocks are those along Ave 1 all the way till NUS High -- same side as the church.

kidz,
oh...i see. I got ur sms at ard 6 plus (it was u who SMS-ed me right? haha). I was at that area at that time...so was wondering, what happened in that area? like nothing leh. hahaha

It's like wow...the bomb has been in there all these years and I've been walking past that side sooooo many times since primary sch days, to go to church. There used to be some housing (houses) and lots of trees on that plot of land. Then they cleared it all and it was flat ground for quite some years.

iso,
the blocks that are moving over are blks 40X.

CSI: Yeah, I smsed Iso, Angeline and you. That area had mostly single storey detach or bunglows (similar to those small ones at Thomson). As a teenager, I used to bring our family cat to the vets there. Think the road was called Goodwood Ave or something. And after those got cleared, they leveled the land. Now they start digging and they find the bomb. My hubby says after that discovery, the SAF probably need to go over the whole area with metal detector or something to check if got more... if not more boom-boom.

ohh that area! was it in the news after that? i cldn't find anything on asia1. so drama!
i remember the old vet - it was such a quaint little area!

Iso: Yeah, the area was nice and quiet. Think there were two vets then coz my mom ever made me bring the cat here and there...

Wintercupid: No prob. I found out from the April MTB thread that if you have unopened packs of Nepia, can call them and exchange for the size e.g. when baby has outgrown S size, can exchange for M when you next place order. Order must always be min. of $60 i.e. 4pks @ $15/pk. Not a bad arrangement.

yah yah...that area was really quaint and nice...I used to wonder who are the kind of pple living there, get to enjoy peace and quiet, though the road was just next to it. But the trees...wah...they provided nice shade. I remember the vet. Used to wonder what will happen if I roll down the slope in front of the vet. hahaha. It's quite a steep slope...

Was there a steep slope? I don't remember so well. Only remember what the houses were like. Probably would remember the slope if I had rolled down it accidentally

CSI: I used to have a Jap girlfriend (school mate) who lived there. I visited her house once during & it certainly feels like 'out of this world' cos it was really peaceful & quiet & the shade made the place really cooling... feels as if I were in another place... that was a long time ago... must have been in P3 or P4 then...

I dunno much abt the vet though... cos I've never had a pet.

<font color="0000ff">Ordering Nepia...</font> Okay, I'm ordering for delivery next Thu or Fri. So PM me your order + HP no. if you want to ride on my order and collect fr my plc near the mosque. I'm gonna get at least 2 pks of NB size. Btw, it's a flat fee of $15 per pk regardless of size when ordering directly from Nepia.

Talking about out of this world places, my sec sch netball teacher (caucasian) lived in one of those double-storey bunglows @ Portsdown. We had a bbq at her plc one evening and at the end she took us out via a trail across a field which lead to this Indian temple along the railway track -- just before Q'way Fire Station. She lead with a lone torchlight and all the furious dogs living in the different houses were barking madly at us. Made all of us so scared, worried that one would get loose and come after us... Actually I don't rmbr how we got to her plc but very vividly rmbr this is how we left. Only recently I realised it was one of those houses in Portsdown...

<font color="ff0000">Isetan Private Sale 2mr</font> -- anyone going? I plan to and hoping to get a toy chest for B1 to keep her overwhelming collection of toys (mostly given by friends and family...) Praying there won't be a queue to go in like last Dec - which was 1st time I had to queue to go in when I reached at 9:30am. Didn't happen the previous times I went to the sale. 2mr can see how bad the economy really is

Kidz: Good, share with us what are the good deals at Isetan. There's also a BB Fair at Taka. I'm planning to go tomorrow afternoon cos going back to work today &amp; tomorrow morning. Considering to go for the Avent bottles exchange.

Do you happen to know if the cutting for Nepia diaper is big? I'm wondering if I should try NB or S. BB is 2mths now &amp; I think abt 5kg ba.. cos at 1mth was 4+kg &amp; they put on abt 1kg/mth at this stage.

what bottle exchange???? i also want! :D

EmQ
i think better go for S!

i'm thinking of getting a thermos lunch thing for bb, i saw a good deal in the isetan mailer for $49 down from like $166 or something!
i used to put his porridge into an avent cup but these days we're out for longer so it gets cold. he's already 13 months though, so i'm also wondering how much longer i might want to bring food out for him? any advice?

Kidz: I think I'll give Nepia a pass. I was checking out the website on the size, etc., then realise many mummies complain that the diaper not as good as it used to b, many complain that it leaked for their babies... hmmm..

Kidz: Ok, maybe buying direct fr website still ok, cos most complains were abt Nepia bought fr NTUC. I wonder why? Does NTUC get them from a different source or Nepia passes old/ inferior stock to NTUC during their sale????? But still general complain is that quality has gone down... sigh, it seems the case for most of the premium diapers le... pampers also not s good s before.. think I'll stick to cheap diapers which seem to b improving instead...

me too! or rather, my bb - it leaked for him, that's why i was thinking that i'd rather spend my money on Pampers, or something cheaper like PetPet

how much is nepia per piece these days?

Iso: Really? I tried (sample piece only) Nepia for #1 many years ago, when they first enter the Singapore market, but did not use it eventually, cos #1 has sensitive skin &amp; pampers worked fine for her. At that time, Nepia wasn't much cheaper, &amp; I found it much thicker &amp; bulkier than pampers.... so did not change.

Thankfully, both #2 &amp; #3 are ok with cheap diapers. I've been using Drypers for #2 &amp; #3 without much problem. However, #3 drinks alot &amp; Drypers can leak if I do not change by 9am... so thinking to try a better diaper for nights... Pampers disappoints... I find that for both #2 &amp; #3, pampers leak! Strange, but yes! &amp; I was using the yellow packaging, NB &amp; S sizes...

EmQ: Can't rmbr about Nepia's cutting coz B1 only uses their diaper pants now. But may be right to say it's smaller since I had to upgrade her from L size diapers to L size diaper pants. But I know for sure GOO.N's cutting is bigger.

Er, I didn't know abt complains. I always buy when promo on @ NTUC and so far no complain. Still soft and absorbent.

Surprisingly the Isetan Private Sale didn't hv a long queue like in Dec when Angel and I went. I managed to buy the "pony" for B1 and also grabbed some Combi wipes ($9.90 for 3 packs of 80pcs each). Grabbed some Pigeon ones too. Didn't buy the $89 I'm Toy toy storage bench tho... But ended up grabbing a 32" inch Samsung LCD TV that came with free Samsung DVD player (got for relative). Happened to walk around and realised they still had some sets available so I got it. Then left with my friend who had to pick up her girl... But I proceeded to Taka's Baby Fair next. Stocked up on baby bath foam, Huggies Ultra diapers and also managed to find a cute Benbeni receiving blanket for B2 (coz the ones we hv are pink!)

Actually wanted to buy cot set (bumper, mattress cover, etc) bt the designs were nt nice... I posted a WTB thread for this but thus far also nothing that nice or complete sets...

@ Taka I only noticed the Pigeon trade-in. Didn't notice Avent...

Btw, 2mr Isetan's Little Tots Fair starts (13 Mar to 5 Apr) -- it's a public sale. http://www.isetan.com.sg/newsletter/media/m4-littletots-01-highres.jpg

ya, their warehouse is at tagore area. i bought some cot bumpers cos the ikea ones are pretty crap, and E was moving a lot in his sleep and always bumping his head. also got some pillows and bolsters.

just wondering, if I plan to send my bb to cc, when shd I let her have the pneumococcal jab? Like, how long in advance before she starts cc?

Any idea? The time frame between each vaccination (eg. MMR and pneumococcal) is usually 1 mth right? If bb went for MMR 2 weeks ago, pneumococcal jab shd be 1 mth after that (if didn't take on the same day)?

CSI: Yeah, it's best to give your bb a month's break before another jab. When's the start date at cc? Rotavirus vac is also impt for kidz going into group care. I gave my gal both. Now only left with Chicken Pox vac -- nt sure yet if want to give her...

Just like to share this important information with all who are living near Strathmore Ave/Commonwealth/Queenstown. This is what happened to my neighbour and I would like to bring to your attention and create more awareness of the situation. If you know anyone staying ard the area, please spread the word ard. There was a molest case in Strathmore area according to the RC member. So please be on high alert!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
<font color="ff0000"> WARNING!! </font>

Suspicious male spotted on 18 march, Wed, 11pm.
Description: Chinese male, very fair, muscular, ard 1.7m height
Attire: Cap, singlet, jeans, haversack

His cap covering most of his face. This guy may not be standing around the lift lobby. He may even appear to walk past you &amp; dun look like he will enter the lift. But when the door opens, he dash in after you. He may have time himself well enough to walk past you just seconds before the lift door open. Please stay alert at all time.

Queenstown police station has been informed &amp; will send patrols in the area. Please dun go home alone. Get someone to escort you from lift lobby is the best solution.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

<font color="aa00aa">HUGGIES ULTRA - XL Size:</font> I've overstocked on this recently at the Taka Baby Fair -- in order to hit the $200 total for free home delivery... Anybody wants? I got 3 pks of 30pcs each to let go @ $14/pk. But I've snipped out the barcode... Gotta collect from my plc.

This wk's my last @ wk than I'm starting leave. Last Fri's chkup shows Sebastian's 2.9kg @ 36wks. It's really getting very uncomfortable with him regularly punching up my ribs and pushing down on my bladder. Can see his little hands popping up all over my tummy too. Wld like it to be over soon but don't want him out too early coz there's still tonnes of prep to be done!!!! Arrrgggghhhh!

Hey Kidz,
was planning for May....so I think just nice lah. hehs.

Rotavirus vac is for below 6 mths right? She's now 1 yr already leh...still got Rotavirus vac to take?

today my hb on reservist. So it's me bringing my gal to my mum's place. wah...she wun let me go. She koala-bear me and refuse to let go. Finally managed to bribe her with raisins (her "rei rei"), and got her to sit in her chair for breakfast. But then she heard me open the door!! And then she cried and cried. I left anyway. Had to get to work! But according to my sister (who hasn't left for work yet), my gal cried till she fell asleep. Refused to eat. Then 15 min later, woke up again and cried. Then went back to sleep. Then 20 mins later, thunder. So woke up again. but she looked so sad and tired.

so sad...so poor thing. I dunno how manz, when it is time to send her to cc...hehs.

CSI: Yeah, sorry -- Rotavirus for younger kidz, I 4got

The thunderstorm also startled my girl. She kept telling me 'thunder, baby scared'. Then use both hands to cover face or clung onto my leg.

Parting's always hardbreaking... So sad, yours cry till tired... Yeap, yeap, more to come when she enters CC.

Some mornings mine also like that when I say 'bye-bye' at the CC. But when pick her up in the afternoon, she's always smiling and will run to hug me. Makes me feel so good inside.

Today PM getting PT helper to come clear out baby room which is now storeroom, than clean the necessary as I sort and pack the unnecessary... Tonight hoping can go Carrefour and stock up on household detergents, toiletries, Friso + look for bedding set and ask for free delivery (we don't hv license to drive). Need to top up for 3M at least coz hubby won't hv time to buy when I'm on confinement -- he needs to pick up B1 from CC after work... So many things still outstanding: wrapping Sebastian's presents to his jiejie, packing my hospital bag, buying nursing bras, hunting for my PJ to wear for nursing in hospital... Alamak, I'm beginning to feel like Chicken Little -- that the sky's falling on me!

But B1's such a joy -- happy and cheeky tod -- so she really helps us relax when home. That and taking up so much of our time to play. Last night her daddy played various songs for her on the guitar, after that she also strummed it herself and sang 'Baa Baa Black Sheep'. At one point demanding that we sang along with her. @ 2 she's really got her own mind already, telling us what she wants or don't want to wear... But lately she keep offering me her hand to help me get up (when I'm seated), even counting 1,2,3 for me. Or patting my back when I cough... Somemore I've been teaching her to cover nose and mouth when she sneezes/coughs so when I 4get she'll 'scold' me "Mommy, cover mouth!"

CSI
usu your hb will send her to your mum's place? maybe she's just not used to this routine

kidz

so exciting!! you're very organised, don't worry too much
and if you ever need help, do give us a shout

sounds like sebastian's going to be a good size! but i'm sure he's getting harder to carry..

what is the present that sebastian got for B1? you'll be giving it to her when he's born, is it so that B1 won't feel too left out? does she know if he's coming? sorry for all the questions, just curious cos i'm wondering what a good age gap would be. i know people say 2 years but i'm thinking maybe depends on kids also - if my son is as tempremental as his cousin (who's now 25 months), i don't think i could handle 0 as well as 25 month old babies at the same time..

B1 sounds like such a cutie pie, gosh
any photos to share?

Iso: Am really stressed coz starting to wake at 4am again... also to pee but can't go back to slp after that
Y'day I just issued cheque to pay 2M's fee in advance coz I know hubby will be too busy for such things.

Talking abt this, my colleague was sharing her hubby sometimes has mtgs start at 6 or 7pm. One season he so busy what she said he couldn't register. He actually requested that she email him! LOL

Yeah, Sebastian's heavy. I'm wearing a maternity support belt nowadays. Forgot to on Mon and by 12noon my tummy was aching already. Worst is that he's given me so many new stretchmarks. The last time I complaint was coz there were 3 big red ugly marks shooting up above my belly button. Y'day I had a good look and realised my belly now look like a piece of wagu beef (marbled...)

Presents wise I prepared the following presents:
1) Fr jiejie to didi:
a) Stuffed toy doggy rattle to give at hospital --> she can use this rattle to play with him (already given her a pink bunny one at Christmas)
b) Boy's blanket to give Sebastian when he arrive home --> will teach her to help cover him

2) Fr didi to jiejie:
a) Bag of books --> to give her when she visit didi, hopefully keeps her occupied at the hospital
b) 'Bang On Door' soft toy --> to give her when didi comes home, so she can hug and lug around and bang on door where necessary
c) Rocking pony (grabbed @ Isetan sale) --> this is the grand finale, to present to her a few days after didi's home so she'll be further occupied/distracted
Also got a stash of new Hi-5 VCDs to bring out when necessay...

Hopefully this grand masterplan of mine works!
For Christmas we already got a doll that came with stroller, baby rocker and highchair. But only let her play with some of these items. Lately been training her how to 'rock rock' baby doll and that it is the same way she can carry didi. She's already agreed she wants to 'rock rock' didi and feed him milk even. I've also been telling her she can sing to didi which she currently does through my belly button or by pressing her lips against my belly. Colleague also taught me to get her involved like take diaper for him, pick out clothes (since she already so picky abt her own...), ask her to help throw diaper away, etc.

Still will nd to do reality chk when time comes and update you all when I have time -- to see what works and what doesnt'
She's really a lot of fun to spend time with nowadays and we hope Sebastian's arrival don't upset her world at all or too much. It's already good that she's adjusted wanting daddy to carry her more than me. In fact for the past 3M she wakes up and straight away asks 'Where's daddy'... But end of day, daddy's not the one around on maternity leave leh...

When I start leave next wk I'll upload some photos and maybe start a Facebook acc and share with you all

yes, do keep us updated so we can share in your experience

is B2 going to sleep in his own room?

with #1, he has his own room, but sometimes sleeps with us. but if i have #2 who sleeps in my room (i think for #2 i might do that for convenience, but in his own cot in my room), i think #1 will get jealous and not want to be in his own room alone?

Planning to put baby cot in our room 1st. B1 still slps in our room, there's a mattress for her. She started as a baby sleeping in the middle, then abt 6M back she asked to slp at the side (my side) so can see she also growing and her preference changing. May not be long for her to decided to slp in her own room. The plan is to prepare the room very nicely for her with her own own bed, cupboard, etc. While B2 can stay in that same room in the cot that's convertible into toddler bed. Having baby slp with us is for convenience of breastfeeding -- I was too tired to trudge between rooms and even when I slpt with B1 in her rm when we were discharged, I cldn't hear her -- dog tired!

One thing abt her slping with us is that when she has high fever in the mid of the nite (which always seems the case), we wld know coz her hands touch me or her head against my arm. It's happened >4x this way. So that's a big plus about letting her slp with us. I can't imagine if she's on her own in another rm coz all this episodes of high fever, she just slept through -- no sound -- only that she was leaning against my arm, etc. that I woke up coz of the heat

yah, think i'll be too lazy when #2 arrives to be shutting to and fro rooms too. B1 sounds like she's really such a mature girl!

wow! Kidz, seems like you are quite prepared already...everything all thought out and put in place...like, leaving no stone unturned.
That's good...

and yah, B1 sounds like she'll be a wonderful jie jie. I like the way you prep her. Shall keep these tips in mind for future. hehs...

JTS, we've signed up L for GUG classes. She enjoyed herself so much...so we decided to sign up for it. hehs. They have a "Refer-A-Friend" programme, whereby the referer will receive $50 credits (if referee signs up for weekend classes) and $80 credits (if referee signs up for weekday classes). If any of you plan to send your babies to GUG for classes, do quote me okie? can PM me for more details lah...

CSI
ooh i went there for a trial recently, u went to the united sq one or the suntec one? i thought the class was quite nice, plus got high teacher-student ratio, it was 3 teachers to 5 kids at the session i attended. i think E quite enjoyed himself - i quite liked the snack/water break, they all looked so grown up sitting there feeding themselves.

but the thing i don't like about it is that the other parents were SOOO snooty! once when a boy was kind of playing with E, the mother was just looking at them from the corner of her eye!!! OMG. buay tahan.

Sori to sound blur - what's GUG?

Juz had PT helper come for 2hrs. Thank God managed to clear out the clutter in the 'baby room' and sort out 3/4 of those things into the right collections. I'm so relieved and as usual, found some things that has been missing for quite a while

Doing one load of laundry: cot bumper and bedding, breastfeeding cushion cover, etc. Thankful too there was hot sun for at least 30mins so managed to sun the cushions. Now sky so dark and raining heavily. May not be able to go Carrefour afterall... was hoping to shop for Toyogo drawers, etc. today and hv things delivered by wkend so I can continue packing...

<font color="ff6000">Hello Mummies,
I over-stock some diapers and still hv 2 brand new pack of Huggies diapers which I bought on 3/3/09.
- 1 pack of Huggies Dry, size L (blue pkge)
- 1 pack of Huggies Dry Comfort, size L (red pkge)
Let me know if you are keen. Letting go at $14/pk but must collect from my block @ Clementi.
Thanks</font>